Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Branding

Как определить основные ценности вашего бренда (и почему стоит это сделать)

Scroll to top
Read Time: 11 min
This post is part of a series called Small Business Branding.
7 Steps to Building a Head-Turning Personal Brand
Online Brand Development: 7 Web-Savvy Steps to Growing Your Business

Russian (Pусский) translation by Olya Misuraghina (you can also view the original English article)

Основные ценности вашего бренда – это компас, указывающий на север, к успеху вашего бизнеса. Это значит, что они чертовски важны.

Но что это такое - основные ценности вашего бренда, как их определить и что делать с ними дальше?

Давайте начнём с того, что установим связь между брендом и его ценностями.

Внимание: вы можете бесплатно скачать PDF-форму "Ценности брэнда" и заполнять её по ходу этого урока.

Core Brand ValuesCore Brand ValuesCore Brand Values
Определяем главные ценности вашего бренда (графический источник)

Бренд и ценности: как они соотносятся друг с другом?

Ценности расположены в самой сердцевине вашего бренда. Они – это центр с исходящими из него лучами, такими как внешний вид вашего бренда (дизайн), послание (голос) и отношения (обслуживание клиентов).

Я уверена, вы уже знаете, что вокруг бизнеса нужно создать бренд – если только вы не жили в пещере без Wi-Fi доступа (что в наши дни маловероятно).

Если вы не знаете, как начать думать о бизнесе как о бренде или как наличие бренда может помочь вашему бизнесу, в следующей статье вы узнаете об этом всё. (Подсказка: всё дело в единорогах!) 

Если вы уже владеете основами, тогда вы, возможно, знаете, что брендинг может быть довольно сложным процессом. В отличие от того, что представляют себе многие владельцы малого бизнеса, брендинг включает в себя гораздо больше звеньев и он гораздо глубже, чем просто логотип на вашем сайте и товарах.

Если вы ещё не настолько хорошо знаете брендинг, вы можете изучить его более глубокие аспекты здесь:

В общем, два основных "внешних" аспекта, из которых состоит брендинг, это: 

  • Зрительный образ, включающий в себя логотип, цвета и стиль шрифта. 
  • Голос бренда, включающий в себя слоган, тон и стиль общения. 

Но чтобы бренд был цельным и устойчивым, существует важный третий "внутренний" аспект, к которому должен обратиться каждый владелец бизнеса ещё до того, как он начнёт разрабатывать логотип или придумывать слоган, которые он прилепит на все видимые поверхности. И это – ценности вашего бренда.

Они помогут вам очертить три "П" вашего бренда: Предложение, Персональность и Предназначение. Без руководящих ценностей ваш бренд не будет отчётливым и узнаваемым, а будет похож на любой другой бизнес, и в результате этого пострадают ваш рост и продажи. 

Ценности и Ценность: одно и то же? 

Интересный вопрос. Влияют ли друг на друга понятия "ценность бренда" и "ценности бренда"?

Не торопитесь сказать "нет"! И не торопитесь сказать "да"! Давайте сперва разберёмся, как они соотносятся друг с другом.

Говоря "ценность бренда", мы обычно имеем в виду денежную сумму. Сколько стоит ваш бренд? Например, безымянная пара джинсов может стоить 19 долларов, а джинсы "Levi’s" могут стоить 119 долларов. Совершенно ясно, что разница в стоимости зависит от бренда.

Levis Levis Levis
Оригинальные джинсы "Levi’s 501" 

Сет Годин дал прекрасное определение, написав

"Ценность бренда – это просто общая сумма того, сколько люди готовы переплатить, или как часто из всех они будут выбирать именно этот бренд – связанные с ним ожидания, воспоминания, истории и отношения." 

Как вы можете заметить, это уже глубже. Ценность бренда – это не просто то, сколько люди готовы переплатить (100 долларов за джинсы Levi’s , в отличие от безымянных), но и то, как часто они будут выбирать этот бренд и по каким причинам.

Например: брендированная пара джинсов может стоить 119 долларов. Но если люди выбирают их только единожды и только потому, что это престижно, и больше никогда не купят, ценность этого бренда невысока. Ни один бизнес не сможет выжить на одноразовых покупателях.

Но если, скажем, джинсы другого бренда стоят 79 долларов, и люди, купившие их однажды, снова и снова делают выбор в их пользу, ценность этого бренда будет гораздо выше, чем первого. "Спасательный круг" любого бизнеса – покупатели, которые возвращаются.

И повторные сделки тесно связаны с ценностями бизнеса.

Говард Шульц, генеральный директор "Starbucks", прекрасно подытожил эту связь, когда сказал:

"Если ценности людей совпадают с ценностями компании, люди будут преданы этому бренду."

Вы не выбираете между "Coca-Cola" и "Pepsi" в пользу одного из напитков только потому, что его вкус лучше, чем вкус другого. Это не так. И бесчисленные исследования показали, что разница между ними – в нашей голове!

Вы покупаете один из них потому, что вы купились либо на "счастье", которое транслирует один бренд, либо на "молодость", которую транслирует другой, в зависимости от того, что для вас важнее.

Чтобы ваш бренд был ценным, вам необязательно предлагать самые дорогие товары или услуги в своей отрасли. Ваша ценность увеличивается каждый раз, когда покупатель возвращается к вам, делает выбор в пользу сделок с вами, а не с другим бизнесом в вашей отрасли, и рекомендует ваш бренд друзьям.

Все эти выборы, которые покупатель делает в вашу пользу, тесно связаны с ценностями вашего бренда.

Так что если вы хотите создать глубокие и конструктивные отношения со своими покупателями, длящиеся годами, приносящие вам повторные сделки и поднимающие стоимость вашего бренда, вам нужно чётко определить его ценности, чтобы ваша аудитория могла почувствовать с ним связь. Что-то, что поможет им оставаться верными ему. 

Как определить ценности вашего бренда (и поднять его ценность)

1. Найдите свои истинные ценности

Возможно, самый очевидный способ – это, думая о ценностях бренда вашего бизнеса, составить список того, что важно лично для вас. Но в этом подходе есть опасность: многие вещи могут казаться "милыми" или "благородными", когда мы размышляем о них в теории.

Такие стандартные ценности, как "актуальный", "заслуживающий доверия", "надёжный", не помогут вам заметно выделиться из толпы. Эти слова красиво звучат, но за ними не стоит никакого настоящего чувства или эмоции. Вас не выберут, а только проигнорируют – из-за "красивого звучания".

"Слишком многие компании хотят, чтобы их бренды отражали какой-то идеализированный, усовершенствованный образ их самих. В итоге их бренды не имеют ни фактуры, ни характера." - Ричард Брэнсон

Как же копнуть глубже, выйти за пределы идеализированной версии вас самих и не ограничивать себя только тем, что "красиво звучит"? Забудьте об идеальном и безупречном. Мы говорим о том, как найти настоящие, подлинные чувства, которые создадут связь между вами (а также вашим брендом) и миром!

Для этого начните с того, что вам не нравится, потому что зачастую мы сильнее переживаем отрицательные эмоции, нежели положительные, и мы гораздо понятнее объясняем, почему нам что-то не нравится, чем почему нам что-то нравится.

Подумайте о бренде, который вам неприятен. Возможно, вас ужаснуло обслуживание покупателей. Или проект не был закончен вовремя. Или, возможно, он был закончен вовремя, но неаккуратно. Может быть, это была вполне среднестатистическая компания в плане сроков и качества, но у вас осталось ощущение, что вы пожали руку холодному, бессердечному роботу.

Скачайте эту бесплатную форму и запишите свой негативный опыт в первую колонку в упражнении 1.

Brand Values Worksheet - Exercise 1Brand Values Worksheet - Exercise 1Brand Values Worksheet - Exercise 1
Опросник "Ценности бренда" – упражнение 1 

Во вторую колонку запишите отрицательные эмоции или ценности, которые вы пережили при этом. Другими словами, чего бы вы сами хотели избежать?

В третьей колонке запишите противоположную ценность, которой должен обладать ваш бренд, чтобы создать связь с аудиторией.

Например: скажем, вы остановились на выходные в глянцевом гламурном отеле. И, хотя сам отель был довольно мил, а обслуживание было хорошим и своевременным, вам не понравился снобизм обслуживающего персонала. Поэтому вы запишете в первую колонку: "Проживание в глянцевом чванливом отеле".

Причина, по которой вам не понравилось проживание, – чувство пустоты, отсутствие связи с отелем. Вам не понравилось, что этот отель ничем не отличался от других. Кроме того, вам показалось, что им были интересны не вы, а ваши деньги. И вы запишете эти отрицательные эмоции во вторую колонку упражнения.

А теперь наоборот: какими положительными ценностями вы бы хотели делиться вместо этого? Это может быть "домашнее" чувство, чувство, что вы приехали в гости к друзьям, а не на безличный курорт. Или "дружелюбие", чувство, что вы дорогой гость, а не просто клиент, который платит. Или даже чувство "уникальности", потому что вы цените переживания, которые выделяются на фоне других.

Этот пример не полностью выдуманный, возможно, именно так компания "Airbnb" придумала концепт и ценности своего бренда, предлагая остановиться в гостях у местных в уникальных местах по всему миру.

Airbnb unique homey and friendlyAirbnb unique homey and friendlyAirbnb unique homey and friendly
Airbnb: уникальный, домашний и дружелюбный.

Составьте свой список, начиная с отрицательных переживаний, с которыми вы сталкивались или с которыми не хотели бы ассоциироваться, превращая их в особые положительные ценности, которые вы хотели бы развивать в своем бренде. В вашей форме есть пять строк для заполнения, но вы можете сделать список длиннее.

После этого выберите три самые главные ценности, которые больше всего значат для вас и на которых вы бы хотели сосредоточить свои усилия. 

2. Отстаиваете какую-нибудь идею.

Если попросить ваших покупателей описать ваш бренд в двух-трёх предложениях, что бы они о вас сказали? Что бы вы хотели, чтобы они сказали о вас?

Как владельцы бизнеса, мы часто пускаемся в сложные и изощрённые объяснения, пытаясь описать то, за что мы выступаем и во что мы верим. Но никто не сможет запомнить или повторить их, говоря о вашем бизнесе.

Когда вы каким-то образом продвигаете свой бизнес (с помощью сайта, обслуживания покупателей, рекламы и так далее), вы должны убедиться, что вы ясно сообщаете две-три ценности, которые будут ассоциироваться с вами.

Подумайте об "Apple". Что приходит вам на ум?

  • новаторство 
  • мыслить по-другому 
  • перемены
  • классные товары 

И нам не случайно приходят на ум эти слова.

В 1997 году во время презентации работникам "Apple" Стив Джобс дал им следующий совет:

"По-моему, маркетинг основан на ценностях. Наш мир очень сложный и шумный. И у нас нет шансов заставить людей помнить о нас слишком много. Никакая компания этого не может. Поэтому нам нужно предельно чётко объяснить то, что они должны знать о нас."
Ipad Pro AppleIpad Pro AppleIpad Pro Apple
Apple - iPad Pro

В той же презентации он продолжает: 

"Мы не производим коробки, чтобы кто-то другой мог выполнять свою работу... "Apple" – это нечто большее. Сердце "Apple"… его основные ценности… в том, что мы верим, что страстно увлечённые люди смогут изменить мир к лучшему."
  • страсть 
  • перемены 
  • лучший мир

Это то, во что верит "Apple", и они стараются продвигать эти ценности со всех сторон своего бренда.

"Marie Forleo" – это ещё один великолепный пример бизнеса, который начинался как маленький онлайн бизнес. В графе "О нас", говоря о предназначении и ценностях своего бренда, Мэри пишет следующее:

"Я здесь для того, чтобы служить. В самом корне моей компании – любовь, страсть ко всему и посвящение себя непреодолимым силам добра.
С помощью нашего бесплатного содержимого, платных обучающих онлайн-программ и всего, что мы предлагаем, мы меняем мир к лучшему. Мы помогаем вам построить жизнь, которую вы полюбите по-настоящему. Единственную в своём роде, уникальную жизнь, блестяще скроенную для вас.
Начинаете ли вы или развиваете свой бизнес, или собираетесь значительно изменить свою личную жизнь, мы здесь для того, чтобы помочь вам достичь высот творческого потенциала и подключиться к глубочайшей мудрости внутри вас."

Это прекрасно для страницы "О нас", где компания подробно рассказывает о том, во что она верит, и о своём бренде. Но это не то, что аудитория сможет дословно запомнить или рассказать об этом бренде.

Может быть, сделать что-то короче? Мэри свела ценности своего бренда к этому яркому предложению на домашней странице:

Marie Forleo brand messageMarie Forleo brand messageMarie Forleo brand message
Послание бренда "Marie Forleo"

И это суть её бренда: Вдохновляем других претворять их мечты в жизнь.

(Если мы вернёмся к нашему первому упражнению, мы увидим, что эти ценности могли родиться от отрицательных переживаний и недостатка системы поддержки, которая помогала бы людям открывать их уникальные таланты и дарования.)

Какую идею отстаивает ваш бренд?

Сперва подробно опишите свои мысли во втором упражнении вашего опросника: что именно значат для вас две-три ценности, которые вы выбрали, и почему. Стремитесь написать такое же длинное послание, как у Мэри на странице "О нас", но наполненное вашими ценностями.

А потом постарайтесь сократить всё до одной короткой и яркой фразы, охватывающей суть вашего бренда.  Какую идею вы отстаиваете?

3. Будьте последовательны

После того как вы нашли свои основные ценности, самое главное – быть последовательным. Цвет, логотип, язык – во всём должны отражаться основные ценности бренда.

Логотип – это ещё не бренд. И слоган не бренд. И цвет. Даже реклама – это ещё не бренд.

То, что помогает создать бренд, – это последовательность.

Если вы хотите создать бренд, вы должны быть верными своим ценностям и быть последовательными. Всегда.

Гэри Вайнерчук – предприниматель, создавший успешный персональный бренд и с его помощью запустивший всемирно признанный маркетинговый бизнес. Гэри – откровенный человек и большой сторонник упорной работы и непрерывной деятельности.

Только посмотрите, как выглядит его бренд в Интернете:

Gary Vaynerchuck homepageGary Vaynerchuck homepageGary Vaynerchuck homepage
Домашняя страница Гэри Вайнерчука

Сила и энергия личности Гэри видна через тёмные цвета и напряжённые шрифты, которые он использует. Глядя лишь на его профили в социальных сетях, можно сказать, что он сосредоточен на предпринимательстве, лидерстве и непрерывной деятельности.

Gary Vaynerchuck on FacebookGary Vaynerchuck on FacebookGary Vaynerchuck on Facebook
Гэри Вайнерчук на "Facebook" 

Тем не менее, его каналы в социальных сетях не похожи друг на друга. И это очень важно заметить, говоря о последовательности. Быть последовательным – не означает быть одинаковым по всем каналам или на протяжении многих лет. Это значит, что образ, который вы транслируете, должен последовательно отражать основные ценности вашего бренда. 

Gary Vaynerchuck on SnapchatGary Vaynerchuck on SnapchatGary Vaynerchuck on Snapchat
Гэри Вайнерчук на "Snapchat"

На самом деле, если вы посмотрите на его ранние записи, вы увидите, как внешний вид и образ его бренда с годами превратился в то, чем он является сегодня. Возможно, внешний вид поменялся, но бренд всегда оставался последовательным относительно основных ценностей – предпринимательства, лидерства и непрерывной работы.

Последовательны ли вы в посланиях своего бренда? 

Как только вы ясно определите основные ценности своего бренда, вам будет гораздо проще быть последовательным и продвигать свой бренд по всевозможным каналам.

Каковы основные ценности вашего бренда?

Выполните эти упражнения в опроснике, узнайте, какую идею по-настоящему отстаивает ваш бренд, и поделитесь основными ценностями своего бренда с нами!

Мы хотим знать: Какую идею в мире отстаивает ваш бренд? 

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Business tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Branding
Business

How to Define Your Core Brand Values (And Why You Should)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Small Business Branding.
7 Steps to Building a Head-Turning Personal Brand
Online Brand Development: 7 Web-Savvy Steps to Growing Your Business

Your core brand values are the compass that points to the true North of your business success. Which means, they’re pretty darn important.

But what exactly are they, how do you define them, and what do you do with them once you have them?

Let’s start from the very beginning by taking up the relationship between a brand and its values.

Note: We have a brand values PDF worksheet you can download for free and work with alongside this tutorial.

Core Brand Values
Defining your core brand values (graphic)

Brand and Values: How Do They Relate?

Values stand at the very core of your brand. They’re the center from which everything radiates—including your brand’s look (design), message (voice), and relationships (customer service).

And unless you’ve been living under a rock with no wi-fi connection (which is pretty hard to find these days), I’m sure you already know that you need to create a brand around your business.

If you’ve got not idea how to start thinking of your business as a brand or how having a brand can help your business, you can find out all about it in the following article. (Hint: It involves unicorns!)

If you’ve already got the basics of branding covered, then you may already know that branding can be quite an involved process. Contrary to what many small business owners tend to think, branding includes a lot more elements and goes way deeper than a simple logo you display on your website and products.

In case you haven’t gotten that far on your branding knowledge yet, you can learn all about the deeper aspects of branding your business right here:

On the whole, a brand consists of two main “external” aspects:

  • Your visual identity—which includes your logo, colors, and typography.
  • Your voice identity—which includes your tagline, tone, and communication styles.

But for a brand to be complete and substantial there’s an important third “internal” aspect that every business owner needs to address before even thinking about designing a logo or coming up with a tagline to stick on every visible surface, and this is your: Brand Values.

Your brand values will help you capture the three Ps of your brand: Proposition, Personality, and Purpose. Without values to guide you, your brand will seem like just any other business—rather than a distinct and recognizable brand—and your growth and sales will suffer as a result.

Values Vs. Value: Are They the Same?

Interesting question. Does the value of your brand have anything to do with your brand values?

Don’t be too quick to say no! And don’t be too quick to say yes, either! Let’s break things down first so we can see how the two relate.

When we say brand value, we usually think about a monetary sum. How much is your brand worth? For example, a no-name pair of jeans could be worth $19 while a Levi’s branded pair of jeans could be worth $119. Clearly there’s a difference in value based on the brand.

Levis
Original Levis 501 jeans 

Seth Godin gave a nice definition when he wrote:

“A brand’s value is merely the sum total of how much extra people will pay, or how often they choose the expectations, memories, stories and relationships of one brand over the alternatives.”

As you can tell, now we’re getting into deeper ground. A brand’s value is not simply how much extra people will pay ($100 more for a pair of Levi’s jeans over an unbranded pair), but also how often they choose that brand and for which reasons.

Example: A branded pair of jeans may cost $119. But if people choose them only once for a matter of prestige but never buy again, then the brand doesn’t have much value. No one can survive on one-time customers.

But if let’s say, another brand of jeans costs $79, but the people who buy once choose to buy again and again, then this second brand has a far greater value than the first one. Repeat customers are the lifeline of every business.

And repeat business is tightly tied to values.

The CEO of Starbucks, Howard Schultz, nicely summarized the connection when he said:

“If people believe they share values with a company, they will stay loyal to the brand.”

You don’t buy Coke over Pepsi (or vice versa) because it tastes better. It doesn’t. And countless studies have shown that the difference is all in our brains!

You buy it because you “bought” either into the “happiness” brand or the “youthfulness” brand, depending on which value you consider most important.

For your brand to be valuable, you don’t have to have the most expensive products or services in your industry. Your value gets multiplied every time a customer chooses to come back to you, chooses to do business with you over all the other brands in your industry and chooses to recommend your brand to a friend.

And that choice is tightly connected to your values.

So if you want to create deep and meaningful relationships with your customers that last for years bringing you repeat business and raising the value of your brand, you need to clearly define your brand values so that your audience can have something to connect to. Something to stay loyal to.

How to Define Your Brand Values (And Raise Your Brand’s Value)

1. Discover Your True Values

The most obvious way, perhaps, to start thinking about your business brand values is by thinking what’s important to you and make a list. But there’s a danger to this approach: A lot of things sound “nice” or “noble” when we think of them in theory.

But choosing standard values like “timely,” “reliable,” or “trusted” won’t help you stand out from the crowd in any significant way. There’s no real feeling or emotion behind these words other than that they sound “nice.” But “nice” won’t get you chosen; it will only get you ignored.

“Too many companies want their brands to reflect some idealized, perfected image of themselves. As a consequence their brands acquire no texture, no character.” - Richard Branson

So how can you dig deeper with your values so you can go beyond an idealized version of you in a way that goes beyond “nice”? Forget about idealized perfections. We’re talking about discovering the real and raw feelings that connect you (and your brand) to the world!

The best way to do this is to start with things you don’t like. That’s because we often experience negative emotions more intensely than positive ones, and we can often articulate far better why we don’t like something than why we like something else.

Think about a brand experience you had that you hated. Maybe the customer service was terrible. Maybe the project wasn’t done on time. Or maybe it was finished on time, but it was done in a sloppy way. Maybe the company was very typical both in terms of time and quality but left you feeling like you just shook hands with a cold, heartless robot.

Download this free worksheet and fill in your negative experience into the first column of exercise one.

Brand Values Worksheet - Exercise 1
Brand Values Worksheet - Exercise 1

In the second column write the negative emotions or values that the specific experience communicated to you. What are the things, in other words, you like to avoid doing yourself?

In the third column, write the opposite value that you’d like your brand to project instead as a way of connecting to your audience.

For example: Let’s say that you stay in a glitzy glam hotel on a weekend getaway. Although the hotel is nice and the service good and timely, you didn’t like the snobbery of the staff. So you write in column one “snobby glitzy hotel stay.”

The reason you disliked the experience was that it left you feeling empty and disconnected. You didn’t like how the place looked like every other hotel you’ve ever been to. Plus, you felt like no one there was really interested in you but only in your money. And you write these negative emotions in the second column of your exercise.

So what are the opposite and positive values you’d like to project instead? It could be “homey,” feeling like you’ve visited a friend’s house and not a faceless resort. Or “friendly,” by being made to feel like a valued guest, not simply a paying customer. Or even “unique” because you value experiences that stand out from the ordinary ones.

And this example isn’t entirely imaginary, but it could be how Airbnb came up with brand concept and values of offering unique places to stay with local hosts around the world.

Airbnb unique homey and friendly
Airbnb: unique homey, and friendly.

Make your list here starting with the negative brand experiences you’ve had or would hate to be associated with and turning those into specific positive values you’d like to cultivate in your brand. There’s room for five on your worksheet, but feel free to experiment around with even more values.

Once you have a list of possible candidates, pick your top three values that mean the most to you and that you’d like to focus your energies on.

2. Stand Up For Something

If your customers were asked to describe your brand in just 2-3 sentences, what would they say about you? What would you want them to say about you?

As business owners, we often get into fancy and elaborate explanations of what we stand for and what we believe in. But no one will be able to remember or repeat that about our business.

When you’re promoting your business in any way (through your website, customer service, advertising, etc.), you need to make sure you clearly promote the 2-3 values that you want customers to know about you.

Think about Apple. What are the words that come to your mind?

  • innovation
  • think different
  • change
  • cool products

And it’s not by accident that we think these things.

During a 1997 presentation to his employees at Apple, Steve Jobs gave the following advice:

“To me, marketing is about values. This is a very complicated world, it’s a very noisy world. And we’re not going to get the chance to get people to remember much about us. No company is. So we have to be really clear on what we want them to know about us.”
Ipad Pro Apple
Apple - iPad Pro

In the same presentation, he goes on to say:

“What we’re about isn’t making boxes for people to get their job done… Apple is about something more than that. Apple at the core… It’s core values… is that we believe that people with passion can change the world for the better.”
  • passion
  • change
  • better world

That’s what Apple believes in, and they make sure to promote those values through every aspect of their brand.

Another great example from a business that started off as a small, online business is Marie Forleo. In her “About” section, Marie writes the following about the purpose and values of her brand:

“I’m here to serve. My company is built on a bedrock of love, a passion for what’s possible and a commitment to be an unstoppable force for good.
Through our free content, our paid online training programs and anything else we might offer — we’re in this to make a difference. To help you build a life that you truly love. A life that is one of a kind, unique and brilliantly tailored for you.
Whether you’re starting or growing your business or looking to make a big change in your personal life, we’re here to help you reach the highest levels of your creative potential and tap into the deepest wisdom within you.”

And that’s all great for the About page, where a brand gets to elaborate on who it is and what they believe in. But that’s not something her audience will remember verbatim or be able to say about the brand.

So what about something shorter? Marie has boiled her business brand values down to this powerful sentence on her homepage:

Marie Forleo brand message
Marie Forleo's brand message

And that’s the essence of her brand: Encouraging others to reach for their dreams.

(Which, going back to our first exercise, could have been born out of negative experiences with a lack of support system that helped people discovered their unique gifts and talents.)

What does your brand stand for? 

Start by elaborating your thoughts in the second exercise of your worksheet on what the 2-3 values you’ve selected really mean to you and why. (Aim for something like Marie’s longer message on her About page, but packed with your values.)

And then try to condense everything into one short and powerful phrase that captures the essence of your brand. What do you stand for?

3. Keep it Consistent

The most important thing after discovering your core values is staying consistent with them. Everything about your brand, from the colors you use to the logo you choose to the language you speak, have to represent those core values.

A logo isn’t a brand. Neither is a slogan. Neither is a color. Nor even an ad.

Consistency is the true brand builder.

If you want to build a brand, you need to stay true to your values and consistent with them. Always.

One entrepreneur who’s built a successful personal brand and has then leveraged it to launch an internationally-recognized marketing business is Gary Vaynerchuck. Gary is an outspoken person and a great proponent of hard work and constant hustle.  

Just take a look at what his brand looks like across the internet:

Gary Vaynerchuck homepage
Gary Vaynerchuck homepage

The intensity of Gary’s personality comes through both the dark colors and intense fonts he uses across his brands. Just by looking through his profiles you can tell that he’s all about entrepreneurship, leadership, and hustle.

Gary Vaynerchuck on Facebook
Gary Vaynerchuck on Facebook

Yet, none of his social media channels looks identical to the other. And that’s a very important note to make about consistency. Consistency doesn’t mean you have to be the same across all channels or throughout the years. It means that the image you project must be consistent with your core brand values.

Gary Vaynerchuck on Snapchat
Gary Vaynerchuck on Snapchat

In fact, if you scroll back enough into Gary’s social media channels, you can see how the look and imagery of his brand have evolved through the years to what it is today. The look may have changed, but the brand always remained consistent to core values of entrepreneurship, leadership, and hustle.

Are you staying consistent in the messages your brand puts out? 

Once you clearly define your core brand values, it will be much easier to do so and much easier to promote your brand across various channels.

What Are Your Core Brand Values?

Do the exercises on the worksheet, discover what your brand really stands for, and share your core values with us!

We’d love to know: What does your brand stand for in the world?

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.