Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Values
Business

النزاهة؟! +7 من أسباب أهمية هذا الأمر في مجالات العمل

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Amr Salah (you can also view the original English article)

إذا كنت تريد فهم معنى "النزاهة" في العمل ، فكر في السيناريو التالي.

قبل إطلاق منتج رئيسي ، يخبرك رئيس قسم تقنية المعلومات بحدوث انتهاك طفيف للأنظمة التي تحتوي على بيانات العميل. الإعلان عن الحادثة سيدمر إطلاقك ويخيف الزبائن والمستثمرين. إلى جانب ذلك ، أنت متأكد تمامًا من عدم وجود بيانات حساسة في أيدي المتسللين. لذلك ، أليس من الافضل الحفاظ على الصمت حيال ذلك ، على الأقل في الوقت الحالي؟

why is integrity important
إذا كنت تتصرف بنزاهة ، فسيثق الناس بك. (مصدر الصورة: Envato Elements)

ومن المغري قدر الإمكان وضع غطاء على الأخبار السيئة ، يعني التصرف بنزاهة أن نكون صادقين بشأن ما حدث والتعامل مع التداعيات. بعد كل شيء ، وثق الناس ببياناتهم الشخصية ، لذا فأنت مسؤول عن إخبارهم ما إذا كان هناك احتمال ضئيل لذلك.

في هذا المثال ، الشيء الصحيح الذي ينبغي عمله واضح تمامًا ، لكن هذا ليس دائمًا. سواء أكنت تدير نشاطًا تجاريًا أو تعمل مع شخص آخر ، فغالبًا ما تصادف مواقف يصعب عليك فيها التصرف بنزاهة أو إذا لم تكن متأكدًا من الدورة الصحيحة.

لذلك ، في هذا البرنامج التعليمي سنحاول تقديم توضيح للموضوع من خلال دراسة معنى "النزاهة" بالتفصيل مع أمثلة النزاهة (وعدم وجود نزاهة) في العمل. ستتعرّف أيضًا على سبعة أسباب وراء أهمية النزاهة في النشاط التجاري ، وستحصل على بعض النصائح حول كيفية التصرف بنزاهة في مواقف العمل الصعبة.

ما هي النزاهة في العمل؟

لنبدأ بتعريف "للنزاهة" ، خاصة عند تطبيقها على عالم الأعمال.

تُعرف قواميس أكسفورد النزاهة على النحو التالي:

"جودة الصدق ووجود مبادئ أخلاقية قوية."

من المهم ملاحظة أن هذه المبادئ الأخلاقية غير محددة وتختلف من شخص لآخر. كما رأينا في مقالنا الأخير حول القيادة الأخلاقية ، يمكن أن يكون لدى الناس أنظمة ومعتقدات قيم مختلفة.

المفتاح إلى التصرف بنزاهة هو فهم ما هي قيمك الشخصية ومن ثم أن تكون صادقاً مع تلك القيم. الأمر يعود إلى الصدق ، ولهذا السبب كان المسار الصحيح للعمل في المثال السابق هو قول الحقيقة حول خرق البيانات بدلاً من محاولة التغطية عليها.

في هذا المثال ، كان من الممكن أن يؤدي العمل دون نزاهة إلى نتيجة أفضل على المدى القصير ، لكنه خلق مشكلات أخرى على الطريق. تُعد هذه المقايضة موضوعًا شائعًا للنزاهة في مجال الأعمال ، وسنعود إليها لاحقًا في هذا البرنامج التعليمي.

ضع في اعتبارك أيضًا أن المعنى الثاني للقاموس "للنزاهة" هو "حالة كونها كاملة وغير مقسمة" ، كما هو الحال في "السلامة الإقليمية". وهذا المفهوم للكمال ، من الجذر اللاتيني "للعدد الصحيح" الذي يعطينا أيضًا كلمات مثل "دمج" و "كامل" ، أمر مهم.

عندما تتصرف بنزاهة ، فأنت نفس الشخص في جميع السيناريوهات ، سواء كنت تتحدث مع رئيسك أو بوابك. لا تقدم وجوهًا مختلفة أو تخبر قصصًا مختلفة لأشخاص مختلفين.

على الرغم من أن العمل بنزاهة أمر صعب في بعض الأحيان ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى تداعيات قصيرة الأجل ، إلا أنه يتمتع ببعض الفوائد المهمة ، والتي سننظر إليها لاحقًا.

7 أسباب عن أهمية "النزاهة" في العمل

وفقا للمتحدث التحفيزي والمؤلف بريان تريسي:

"كلما عقدت جلسة تخطيط استراتيجي ، فإن القيمة الأولى التي يتفق عليها جميع المدراء التنفيذيين هي النزاهة. يعلم القادة أن الأمانة والنزاهة هي أساس القيادة. إن القادة يقفون على ما يؤمنون به."

وهذا مدعومًا ببحث من Robert Half Management Resources ، والذي وجد أن كل من العمال والمديرين الماليين (الرؤساء الماليين) قد اعتبروا النزاهة أهم سمة في شركة رائدة (تم الاستشهاد بها من قبل 75 ٪ من العمال و 46 ٪ من CFOs) .

ولكن لماذا هي بالضبط أهمية النزاهة في العمل؟ هنا سبعة أسباب.

1. سمعة أقوى

في عالم الأعمال ، السمعة هي كل شيء. يجب على الموردين الوثوق بك لدفعهم مقابل البضائع التي يسلموها. يحتاج المستثمرون إلى الثقة بك لوضع أموالهم في الاستخدام الجيد وتقديم أعمال مربحة ومستدامة. بالنسبة للموظفين ، والعملاء ، وشركاء العمل ، وكل الأشخاص الآخرين الذين لديك اتصال بهم ، فإن الثقة ضرورية.

إذا كنت تتصرف بنزاهة ، فسوف يثق الناس بك ، وسوف تنتشر الكلمة بشكل أسرع من أي حملة إعلانية يمكن أن تصل إليها. وبالمثل ، فإن عدم وجود نزاهة سوف يفسد سمعتك.

لذا فإن التصرف بنزاهة سيسمح لك بجني الفوائد من العلاقات الأفضل مع الأشخاص الذين تتعامل معهم.

2. رضا الموظف

يرغب معظم الناس في القيام بعمل جيد ، وسيكونون أكثر سعادة في العمل من أجل شخص ما يتمتع بالنزاهة ، بدلاً من شخص يطلب منهم تقديم تنازلات عن مبادئهم الخاصة.

ووجد البحث الذي أجراه ديفيد ج. بروتاس من "جامعة أديلفي" أن تصورات الموظفين عن النزاهة السلوكية لمديريهم "مرتبطة بشكل إيجابي بالرضا الوظيفي والمشاركة في الوظائف والصحة والرضا عن الحياة".

لذلك إذا كنت تريد موظفين أكثر سعادة ، وأكثر صحة ، وأكثر انشغالاً ، فإن التصرف بنزاهة هو وسيلة مقومة بأقل من قيمتها ولكن قوية لتحقيق ذلك.

الجودة

غالباً ما يعني العمل بالسلامة إنتاج منتج أو خدمة أفضل للعملاء. على سبيل المثال ، لنفترض أن الاختبارات تكشف عن ضعف خطير في منتجك الرئيسي ، تمامًا عندما يتم بيعه مثل الكعك الساخن. قد تميل إلى الاستمرار في بيعه على أي حال ، ولكن هذا سيعني تغيير عملائك عن طريق تقديم منتج أدنى.

سيشرح القائد ذو النزاهة الموقف ويحل المشكلة ولن يشحن المنتج إلا عندما يكون ذا جودة مقبولة. هذا مثال واحد فقط ، ولكن بشكل عام ، من المرجح أن يؤدي التصرف بنزاهة إلى منتجات وخدمات أفضل جودة لأنك تتصرف وفقًا لقيمك ومبادئك ، وقليل من الناس يؤمنون حقاً بإخراج أعمال رديئة.

4.التوقعات على المدى الطويل

كما رأينا ، هناك موضوعًا تتطور فيه عادةً مفاضلة بين الانتصارات قصيرة المدى والنجاح على المدى الطويل ، وتتصرف عادة مع النزاهة مع التوقعات على المدى الطويل.

بغض النظر عن نشاطك التجاري ، غالبًا ما تُمنح الفرصة لكسر الجوانب و / أو تجنب المشكلات من خلال التصرف بشكل غير شريف. من ناحية أخرى ، قد يؤدي فعل الشيء الصحيح إلى المزيد من المشاكل في البداية ، لكنه عادة ما يؤتي ثماره في النهاية. لقد رأينا بعض الأمثلة على ذلك بالفعل.

العمل هو مسعى طويل الأجل ، وعادة ما تكون الشركات الناجحة تلك التي لديها رؤية قوية وطويلة الأجل. لذا فإن التصرف بنزاهة قد يساعدك في التركيز على الحصول على أفضل النتائج بعد خمس سنوات من الآن بدلاً من خمس دقائق من الآن.

5. التركيز بشكل افضل

كما كتب السير والتر سكوت في عام 1808:

"أوه، ما هذا التعقيد نحن نسقط
عندما نمارس الخداع أولاً! "

قد يستغرق الكذب والغش الكثير من الطاقة والوقت. إنك تعرض وجوهًا مختلفة لأشخاص مختلفين ، ويجب عليك تتبع القصة التي أخبرتك بها وكيفية الحفاظ على كل ذلك متناسقًا ، وبعد ذلك عليك إخبار المزيد من الأكاذيب وتصنيع المزيد من الأدلة للاحتفاظ بنسخة احتياطية كذبك الأصلي ، وما إلى ذلك.

من ناحية أخرى ، فإن التصرف بنزاهة ، يحرر كل هذه الطاقة ويتيح لك التركيز على ما هو مهم بدلاً من قضاء الوقت في تغطية مساراتك.

6. أفضل ثقافة للشركة

إذا كنت قدوة للمثال والتصرف بنزاهة ، فسوف ينتشر ذلك في جميع أنحاء الشركة. لقد رأينا بالفعل أن النزاهة أمر جيد لرضا الموظفين ، ولكن فكّر أيضًا في أداء موظفيك.

إذا كان لديك ثقافة للنزاهة في شركتك ، فسوف يتخذ الموظفون قرارات أفضل ، مع مراعاة مصالح العملاء والشركة على المدى الطويل. سيكونون قادرين على الثقة ببعضهم البعض ، والتي سيكون لها فوائد كبيرة للتعاون والعمل الجماعي وستقلل من النزاعات المكلفة.

كيف تنشئ مثل هذه الثقافة؟ سننظر في ذلك في القسم الأخير ، ويمكنك أيضًا التحقق من هذا البرنامج التعليمي:

7. مبيعات أقوى

الاعتبارات الأخلاقية مهمة للعديد من العملاء في هذه الأيام. في المملكة المتحدة ، بلغت قيمة سوق المشتريات الأخلاقية 38 مليار جنيه استرليني في عام 2015 ، بزيادة قدرها 8.5 ٪ عن العام السابق ، وكانت هذه السنة هي السنة الثالثة عشرة على التوالي من النمو في الإنفاق الأخلاقي.

Ethical spending in the UK chart
المصدر: المستهلك الأخلاقي

إنها ظاهرة عالمية أيضًا - وفقًا لدراسة استقصائية أجريت عام 2012 ، وافق 70٪ من المستهلكين في البرازيل والهند والصين على العبارة التالية: "غالبًا ما أشجع الآخرين على الشراء من شركات مسؤولة اجتماعيًا وبيئيًا".

حاولت العديد من الشركات الاستفادة من هذا السوق من خلال الإعلانات اللامعة.  إن الطريقة الأكثر فعالية هي تضمين السلوك الأخلاقي في شركتك ، والعمل بحق بنزاهة ونشر هذه الثقافة في جميع أنحاء عملك. افعل ذلك ، وستجذب عملاء جدد ، الذين بدورهم سينشرون هذه الكلمة إلى أشخاص متشابهين في التفكير.

كيف تتصرف بنزاهة في العمل

الآن بعد أن رأينا سبب أهمية النزاهة ، دعنا نلقي نظرة على كيفية تنفيذها على المستوى الشخصي ، في فريقك ، وعبر الشركة بأكملها. إليك ستة أساليب يمكنك استخدامها للتأكد من أنك شخص يتمتع بالسلامة:

1. تحديد المبادئ الأخلاقية الخاصة بك

وكما رأينا في البداية ، فإن النزاهة تدور حول صدق مبادئك الأخلاقية. لكن الكثيرين منا لا يفكرون في هذه المبادئ في كثير من الأحيان أو يحددونها بوضوح تام. لذا فإن الخطوة الأولى هي القيام بذلك. ما هو مهم بالنسبة لك؟ ما هي المبادئ التي تريد أن تعيش بها؟ ماذا تعني النزاهة بالنسبة لك؟

لمزيد من المساعدة حول هذا الموضوع ، راجع المشاركات التالية:

2. انظر الى الوراء بصدق

حسنا كيف حالك الان؟ هل ترتقى إلى تلك المبادئ؟

إذا لم يكن كذلك ، لا تضغط على نفسك. بدلا من ذلك ، حاول تحديد الأنماط. هل تميل إلى أن تتأثر شخصيات أقوى؟ إغراء المال السهل؟ ضغوط من قبل رئيسك في العمل؟ قم بعمل جرد غير قضائي من نزاهتك أو عدم نزاهتك في العمل. فكر في أن تسأل الزملاء إذا كنت بحاجة إلى وجهة نظر موضوعية.

نحن نتطلع إلى بعض الاستراتيجيات العامة للتصرف بنزاهة هنا ، ولكن هذا المخزون الذاتي قد يساعدك على وضع خطة عمل شخصية تستند إلى مواقف محددة تعرف أن بإمكانك تحسينها.

3. تعامل مع كل الاشخاص بأسلوب واحد

في العمل ، يعامل الكثير من الناس الآخرين كأدوات لتحقيق مكاسبهم الخاصة. يعطون العملاء الكبار معاملة السجادة الحمراء بينما يستهزئون بأصحاب المحافظ الصغيرة. انهم يفضل التعامل مع رئيسه في حين تجنب المتدرب.

لكن تذكر أن النزاهة تتعلق بالكمال والصدق وأن تكون الشخص نفسه في جميع المواقف. إذا كان شخص ما يعمل في شركتك ، فإنهم يقدمون مساهمة مهمة ويستحقون الاحترام ، بغض النظر عن درجة رواتبهم. يستحق العميل معاملة جيدة ، حتى لو لم يكن في استطاعته شراء سلع التذكرة الكبيرة في الوقت الحالي.

يتذكر الناس كيف تعاملهم ، ويلاحظون كيف تعاملوا مع الآخرين.

4. مكافأة الصدق

التصرف بنزاهة لا يعني فقط أن تكون أمينا بنفسك ، ولكن أيضا تشجيع الآخرين على أن يكونوا صادقين معك. بهذه الطريقة ، يمكن أن تنتشر ثقافة النزاهة في جميع أنحاء المنظمة ، مع الفوائد التي ناقشناها للتو.

ولكن ، إذا كنت مديرًا ، فعليك أن تتذكر أنك تتمتع بقدرة هائلة على الأشخاص في مؤسستك ، أي القدرة على تحسين أو تدمير وظائفهم وسبل عيشهم. هذه القوة قد تمنع الناس من أن يكونوا صادقين معك. علاوة على ذلك ، بعض المديرين عن غير قصد يثني عن الصدق. يمكن أن يركزوا على جعل الفريق يبدو جيداً أنهم يرعبون أو يثبطون أولئك الذين لديهم أخبار سيئة.

لذلك إذا كنت تريد أن يكون الناس صادقين وأن يتصرفوا بنزاهة ، فإنك تحتاج إلى مكافأة هذا السلوك علنًا وبشكل متكرر ، حتى تغرق الرسالة مع موظفيك بحيث يصعب عليك أن تكون صادقًا معك.

5. تحمل المسؤولية

في العمل ، تكون النتائج مهمة ، وغالباً ما يتم الحكم على الأشخاص والشركات من خلال ما يقدمونه. يمكن أن يكون هناك ضغط كبير لتغطية أو تقليل الأخطاء ولجعل النتائج تبدو أفضل مما هي عليه.

ولكن إذا كنت تريد أن تتصرف بنزاهة ، فسوف تحتاج إلى مقاومة هذا الضغط. لا تخف من الاعتراف بالأخطاء أو الأهداف التي لم يتم الرد عليها. اشرح لهم بوضوح وصراحة ، والناس في معظم الأحيان لا يحكمون عليك بقسوة كما تعتقد - في الواقع ، سوف يفكرون أكثر منك.

6. التوازن الصحيح

هل تذكر فيلم كاذب ، كذاب؟ شخصية جيم كاري ، كاذب معتاد ، يجد نفسه فجأة مجبرا على قول الحقيقة في كل موقف. إنه يطمس الحقائق المؤلمة والمربكة التي تسيء وتغضب من حوله.

على الرغم من كونها مجرد كوميديا ​​هوليوودية ، إلا أن هناك درسًا مهمًا في مجال الأعمال هناك. يتطلب التصرف بنزاهة أن تكون صادقًا ، ولكن لا يتطلب منك إطلاق العنان لكل أفكار ورأي خاص ، خاصة عندما يؤدي ذلك إلى إيذاء الآخرين.

كيف تقدم الحقيقة هي أيضا مهمة. عند تقديم تعليقات صلبة لأحد الموظفين ، عليك أن تكون حساسًا لكيفية تلقي ذلك الشخص ، ومحاولة الموازنة بين النقد والإقرار بإنجازات الشخص. لمزيد من المعلومات حول هذا ، راجع البرنامج التعليمي التالي:

الاستنتاج

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، تعرفت على معنى النزاهة وسبب أهميتها. لقد شاهدت بعض الأمثلة على النزاهة وعدم نزاهة اتخاذ القرارات في مجال الأعمال ، وتعلمت كيفية التصرف بنزاهة أخلاقية في حياتك المهنية الخاصة ، مع تشجيعها في موظفيك وزملائك.

ماذا بعد؟ لماذا لا تأخذ واحدا من الاقتراحات في القسم الأخير ، ووضعها موضع التنفيذ اليوم؟ دعنا نعرف كيف تسير الأمور من خلال ترك تعليق أدناه.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Values
Business

What Is Integrity? +7 Reasons Why It’s So Important in Business

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

If you want to understand the meaning of integrity in business, consider the following scenario.

Just before a major product launch, your head of IT tells you there’s been a minor breach of systems containing customer data. Publicising the incident will ruin your launch and scare off your customers and investors. Besides, you’re pretty sure that no sensitive data actually got into the hackers’ hands. So wouldn’t it be OK just to keep quiet about it, at least for now?

why is integrity important
If you act with integrity, people will trust you. (Image source: Envato Elements)

As tempting as it would be to put a lid on the bad news, acting with integrity means being honest about what happened and dealing with the fallout. People trusted you with their personal data, after all, so you've got a responsibility to tell them if there’s even a small chance that it was compromised.

In this example, the right thing to do is quite clear-cut, but that’s not always the case. Whether you run a business or work for someone else, you’ll often run into situations in which it’s very difficult to act with integrity or you’re not even sure what the right course is.

So, in this tutorial we’ll try to bring some clarity to the subject by examining the meaning of integrity in detail with examples of integrity (and lack of integrity) in action. You’ll also learn seven reasons why integrity is important in business, and you’ll get some tips on how to act with integrity in difficult business situations.

What Is Integrity in Business?

Let’s start with a definition of integrity, especially as applied to the business world.

Oxford Dictionaries defines integrity as:

“The quality of being honest and having strong moral principles.”

It’s important to note that these moral principles are undefined and vary from person to person. As we saw in our recent article on ethical leadership, people can have different value systems and beliefs. 

The key to acting with integrity is to understand what your personal values are and then to be true to those values. It comes down to honesty, which is why the right course of action in the earlier example was to tell the truth about the data breach rather than trying to cover it up.

In that example, acting without integrity would probably have led to a better short-term outcome but created problems further down the road. That trade-off is a common theme of integrity in business, and we’ll come back to it later in this tutorial.

Keep in mind, also, that the dictionary’s second meaning for “integrity” is “the state of being whole and undivided,” as in “territorial integrity.” That concept of wholeness, from the Latin root of “integer” that also gives us words like “integrate” and “entirety,” is important. 

When you act with integrity, you’re the same person in all scenarios, whether you’re talking to the boss or the janitor. You don’t present different faces or tell different stories to different people. You're whole.

Although acting with integrity is sometimes difficult and can lead to short-term fallout, it's got some important benefits, which we’ll look at next.

7 Reasons Why Integrity Is Important in Business

According to motivational speaker and author Brian Tracy:

"Whenever I hold a strategic planning session, the first value that all the executives agree on is integrity. Leaders know that honesty and integrity are the foundations of leadership. Leaders stand up for what they believe in.”

This is backed up by research from Robert Half Management Resources, which found that both workers and CFOs (Chief Financial Officers) named integrity as the most important attribute in a corporate leader (it was cited by 75% of workers and 46% of CFOs).

But why exactly is integrity so important in business? Here are seven reasons.

1. A Stronger Reputation

In the business world, reputation is everything. Suppliers need to trust you to pay them for the goods they deliver. Investors need to trust you to put their money to good use and deliver a profitable, sustainable business. For employees, customers, business partners and everyone else you have contact with, trust is essential.

If you act with integrity, people will trust you, and word will spread faster than any advertising campaign you could ever come up with. Similarly, a lack of integrity will scupper your reputation.

So acting with integrity will allow you to reap the benefits from better relationships with the people you deal with.

2. Employee Satisfaction

Most people want to do a good job, and they'll be happier working for someone with integrity than for someone who asks them to compromise their own principles.

Research by David J. Prottas at Adelphi University found that employees’ perceptions of their manager’s behavioural integrity were “positively related to job satisfaction, job engagement, health, and life satisfaction.”

So if you want happier, healthier, more engaged employees, acting with integrity is an undervalued but powerful way to achieve that.

3. Quality

Acting with integrity often means producing a better product or service for the customer. For example, let’s say that tests reveal a serious weakness in your flagship product, just when it’s selling like hot cakes. You might be tempted to keep on selling it anyway, but that would mean short-changing your customers by providing an inferior product.

A leader with integrity would explain the situation, fix the problem, and ship the product only when it’s of acceptable quality. This is just one example, but in general, acting with integrity is likely to lead to better quality products and services because you’re acting in accordance with your values and principles, and few people really believe in putting out shoddy work.

4. Long-Term Outlook

As we’ve seen, there’s a theme developing in which there’s often a trade-off between short-term wins and long-term success, and behaving with integrity is usually aligned with the long-term outlook.

Whatever business you’re in, you’re often presented with the chance to cut corners and/or avoid problems by behaving dishonestly. Doing the right thing, on the other hand, can lead to more problems initially, but it usually pays off in the end. We’ve seen a few examples of that already.

Business is a long-term endeavour, and successful companies are usually those with a strong long-term outlook and vision. So acting with integrity can help you to focus on getting the best results five years from now instead of five minutes from now.

5. Clearer Focus

As Sir Walter Scott wrote back in 1808:

“Oh, what a tangled web we weave 
When first we practise to deceive!”

Lying and cheating can take up a lot of energy and time. You’re presenting different faces to different people, and you've got to keep track of which story you’ve told and how to keep it all consistent, and then you've got to tell more lies and manufacture more evidence to back up your original lie, and so on. 

Acting with integrity, on the other hand, frees up all that energy and lets you focus on what's important instead of spending time covering your tracks.

6. Better Company Culture

If you lead by example and act with integrity, that'll spread throughout the company. We already saw that integrity is good for employee satisfaction, but think about your employees’ performance too. 

If you've got a culture of integrity in your company, your employees will make better decisions, with the long-term interests of your customers and the company in mind. They'll be able to trust each other, which will have huge benefits for collaboration and teamwork and will minimise costly disputes.

How do you create such a culture? We’ll look at that in the final section, and you can also check this tutorial:

7. Stronger Sales

Ethical considerations are important for many customers these days. In the UK, the Ethical Purchases market was valued at £38 billion in 2015, an 8.5% increase on the prior year, and this was the 13th consecutive year of growth in ethical spending.

Ethical spending in the UK chart
Source: Ethical Consumer

It’s a global phenomenon too—according to a 2012 survey, 70% of consumers in Brazil, India and China agreed with the statement: “I often encourage others to buy from companies that are socially and environmentally responsible.”

Many companies have tried to tap into this market with glossy advertising and self-serving “greenwash”. A more effective way is to embed ethical behaviour in your company, truly acting with integrity and spreading that culture throughout your business. Do that, and you'll attract new customers who will in turn spread the word to like-minded people.

How to Act With Integrity in Business

Now that we've seen why integrity is important, let's look at how to put it into practice on a personal level, in your team, and across your whole company. Here are six techniques you can use to make sure you're a person of integrity:

1. Define Your Moral Principles

As we saw at the beginning, integrity is about being true to your moral principles. But many of us don’t think about those principles very often or define them very clearly. So the first step is to do that. What’s important to you? What principles do you want to live by? What does integrity mean to you?

For more help on this, see the following posts:

2. Look Back With Honesty

OK, so how are you doing? Are you living up to those principles? 

If not, don’t beat yourself up. Instead, try to identify patterns. Do you tend to be influenced by stronger personalities? Tempted by easy money? Pressured by your boss? Make a non-judgmental inventory of your own integrity or lack of integrity in business. Consider asking colleagues if you need an objective viewpoint.

We’re looking at some general strategies for behaving with integrity here, but this self-inventory may help you to come up with a personal action plan based on specific situations in which you know you can do better.

3. Treat Everyone the Same

In business, too many people treat others as instruments for their own gain. They give big customers the red-carpet treatment while scorning those with smaller wallets. They curry favour with the boss while shunning the intern.

But remember that integrity is about wholeness, honesty, and being the same person in all situations. If someone works in your company, they make an important contribution and are worthy of respect, regardless of their pay grade. A customer deserves good treatment, even if they can’t afford the big-ticket items right now.

People remember how you treat them, and they notice how you treat others. 

4. Reward Honesty 

Behaving with integrity means not just being honest yourself, but also encouraging others to be honest with you. That way, a culture of integrity can spread throughout the organisation, with the benefits we just discussed.

But, if you’re a manager, you need to remember that you've got huge power over the people in your organisation—the power to enhance or damage their careers and livelihoods. That power may well inhibit people from being honest with you. On top of that, some managers inadvertently discourage honesty. They can be so focused on making the team look good that they intimidate or discourage those who've got bad news to bring.

So if you want people to be honest and behave with integrity, you need to reward that behaviour publicly and repeatedly, until the message sinks in with your employees that it’s safe to be honest with you.

5. Hold Your Hands Up

In business, results are important, and people and companies are often judged by what they deliver. There can be huge pressure to cover up or minimise mistakes and to make the results look better than they are.

But if you want to behave with integrity, you’ll need to resist that pressure. Don’t be afraid to admit to mistakes or missed targets. Explain them clearly and honestly, and for the most part people won't judge you as harshly as you think—in fact, they’ll probably think more of you.

6. Find the Right Balance

Do you remember the movie Liar, Liar? Jim Carrey’s character, a habitual liar, suddenly finds himself forced to tell the truth in every situation. He blurts out painful and embarrassing truths that insult and anger those around him.

Although it’s just a Hollywood comedy, there’s an important business lesson there. Behaving with integrity requires you to be honest, but it doesn’t require you to unleash every private thought and opinion, especially when doing so would hurt other people. 

How you deliver the truth is also important. When giving difficult feedback to an employee, be sensitive to how that person will receive it, and try to balance criticism with acknowledgement of the person’s achievements. For more on this, see the following tutorial:

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you’ve learnt about the meaning of integrity and why it’s important. You’ve seen some examples of integrity and lack of integrity in business decision-making, and you’ve learnt how to act with moral integrity in your own business life, while encouraging it in your employees and colleagues.

What’s next? Why not take one of the suggestions in the last section, and put it into practice today? Let us know how it goes by leaving a comment below.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.