Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Marketing
Business

如何撰寫精煉的營銷計劃

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Shu Wu (you can also view the original English article)

大多數企業領導至少在理論上,瞭解市場營銷的重要性 。 然而,一般情況下,營銷是企業主已經完成的計劃的最後一步。 考慮到這個挑戰,這篇文章將引導您完成一項簡約,迭代的營銷策略,該策略適用於運行小型企業。

Minimal Writing Strategy
最簡方法 (插圖)。

小企業市場營銷的障礙

雖然市場營銷是企業的一個重要因素,但是這裡有幾個原因小公司不能將其放在首要位置:

缺乏時間

阻礙企業家規劃和執行營銷任務的一個關鍵點是他們經常受困在時間上。 根據Sage北美調查對美國600萬中小企業的調查,47%的小企業主每週工作時間比五年前多,其中大多數工作時間較長,大部分週末還工作。 由於企業主比以往任何時候工作時間都長,他們越來越難以擠壓日常運營時間給其它方面,而這裡也包括市場營銷。

有限的經費

小企業主不只是缺乏時間來作市場營銷,他們也通常不能有到位的資金。 辦公室供應鏈斯台普斯的一份調查顯示,三分之一的小企業沒有營銷的預算,而那些在做營銷的小企業,平均每月花費2000美元左右在營銷上。 雖然這個花費可以包括一些基本的營銷資料和工具,這遠遠不夠雇用額外人力專注於做市場營銷。

3.DIY營銷是困難的

上述挑戰經常強迫企業家自己做市場營銷。 通常情況下,他們沒有額外的資金來雇用市場營銷人員。

根據 Infusionsoft 的調查,五名或以上雇員的公司最有可能將市場營銷的人物外包出去 但即便是企業擴張了,有十多個雇員,通常掌管市場營銷的還是企業的擁有者。

Infusionsoft Survey Resulsts
SMB 市場營銷的責任(資源)

4.缺乏興趣

從 Infusionsoft的調查報告顯示,小企業主更傾向於做客戶服務或產品開發而不是做市場營銷、 廣告或銷售。 這個有意義。 小企業家一般開創一個他們有興趣的公司來銷售他們的產品或是服務。 這使得營銷似乎更像可有可無的工作,而不是一個有意義的工作。

Infusionsoft Survey - Business Areas
SMB 擁有者的偏好 (資源)。

如果這些阻礙聽起來很熟悉,你就知道你不是一個人。 很多小企業主正在面對相同的問題,但前路是清晰的。

為小企業精煉市場營銷計劃的原則

鑑於你在經營小企業時可能遇到的許多障礙,所以對你的營銷計劃進行精簡或採取極簡主義的方法很重要。 如下是你開始之前,牢記的原則︰

1.只投資於最關鍵的地方

人們很容易對每個營銷策略或戰術都採取。 不管你的技術有多強,你不可能面面精通。 每當你將營銷任務添加到待辦事項列表中時,請仔細考慮你在上面的努力和資源是否可以更好地用於其他方面。

2.掌握"小賭注"的藝術

根據企業家和作家彼得 • 西姆斯的概念,"小賭注"是"採取低風險的行動來發現、 開發和測試想法的概念"。不是聚焦在大勝或巨大回報,而是更好地降低成本和節省人力來測試渠道或戰術是否合適。

例如,與其花好幾天頭腦風暴為公司的博客寫十篇新的文章,倒不如你列出幾個你想要覆蓋的主題,並將他們通過電子郵件或社交媒體傳達給讀者。 讓他們選擇的哪些想是他們想要讀的。 這樣有助於你選擇正確的主題,然後再花時間在寫作上。

3.快速扔掉不適合的東西

每當小企業主不得不花費這麼多的時間,金錢或精力去做一項不起作用的策略,久而久之失敗會找上門。 這使我們會繼續投資于一個糟糕的決定,即使它已經讓我們損失了,但我們擔心已經投入了資源被白白浪費。 所以即使沒有人“讚”或是分享你的公司Facebook的帖子,這種不想失去的感覺會讓你持續停留在的不活躍的Facebook頁面上,只是因為你已經擁有了這個頁面兩年的時間。

請記住,當你取消不起作用的策略(無論是博客,社交媒體還是傳單)時,你還可以避免數百小時的任務和決策,這些都不會為你帶來任何實際的結果。 更重要的是,你可以將這些資源轉移到實際得到回報的戰略中。

儘管你的時間,金錢和興趣受到限制,遵循這些原則可以助你推進你的營銷。 了解這些聽起來很容易,但如何將他們轉換為具體的營銷行動?

如何寫一份營銷計畫

制定營銷計劃的方法有很多種,適用於與業務關係的投資者,員工和其他人員或組織。 然而,精煉營銷計劃的目標是幫助正在努力發展業務的新企業主。 如果這個適合你,讓我們開始吧!

此計畫旨在真實世界的測試,而不是滿足正式的商業準則。 正因為如此,最好將你的精煉營銷計劃控制在一個頁面,並去適應隨著時間的推移,根據你的測試結果調整你的營銷計畫。

下面是你應該包括在你計劃內的東西︰

1.你的目標客戶

盡可能具體的描述你的目標客戶。 包括他們的人口、 地理位置和他們所處的行業 (如果有)。 在你選擇適合你的聽眾的營銷策略時,此資訊會派上用場。

2.客戶目標和問題

作為你創建的營銷信息的小提醒,請記下你的目標客戶的主要目標和問題。 你的公司如何協助他們達到他們的目的? 你可以幫他們解決什麼問題? 將這些寫入你的營銷計劃可以讓妳傳遞消息參考使用。 下面是一篇文章,對你的客戶針對的目標有所幫助︰

3.集中營銷渠道

你重新認識自己與你的目標客戶和他們的需求後,直接選擇一個針對他們有效的一個或兩個行銷渠道。

請記住,他們絕大多數都是可能是無關或不重要的給你,所以不要害怕拋出一些想法。 你需有針對性的方法。

在此清單中,可能只有一個或兩個渠道,為你投入的時間和金錢帶來很好的回報。 你需要將你的資源集中在那些高回報的渠道中。

只選擇一個或兩個渠道開始工作。 下面是可供選擇的營銷渠道清單︰

通過社交媒體網路

一個社交媒體等於一個渠道︰

  • Facebook臉書
  • LinkedIn領英
  • 推特
  • Instagram
  • snapchat
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube

評論網站

一個網站是一個通道︰

  • Yelp !
  • InsiderPages
  • Citysearch

你自己的網站

下面的每個方法都可以作為一個單一的通道︰

  • 博客
  • 白皮書
  • 電子書
  • 播客
  • 案例研究

如下是一些關於有用的教程

其他線上渠道

這裡有一些教程教你如何成功撰寫電子郵件和來賓文章

其他線下渠道

  • 電話
  • 報紙分類廣告
  • 電話簿分類廣告
  • 當地電視廣告
  • 當地電臺廣告
  • 傳單
  • 海報
  • 直接郵寄
  • 子公司
  • 引用
  • 公眾演講

再次,要牢記現在只是選擇一個或兩個渠道來完全專注製作他們。 一旦你已經取得了成功,可以花時間研究其他的戰略,那就是你擴大你的策略的時候了 — 在一段時間內嘗試更多的渠道和戰略。

但這麼多營銷渠道,你應該先試哪個呢? 下面是一些需要考慮的問題︰

你最有可能達到的目標受眾是哪些管道?

第一次專注于您的客戶在哪裡最有可能收到您的消息的渠道。 當向特定地點的人進行營銷時,傳單和海報要放置在你目標客戶最有可能看到位置。 如果你在不同的社交媒體網站之間進行選擇,請熟知他們用戶客戶的統計信息,以了解你的受眾群體。

請注意,你可以在我們GraphicRiver市場上的常用印刷範本裡裡購買諸如專業業務傳單

皮尤研究中心發表了一篇不同社交媒體用戶分析,Sprout Social從Pew和其他來源收集數據,創建主要社交網絡的用戶統計信息的圖表。 例如,我們學習到LinkedIn的使用者至少是大學畢業生。 從商業內幕的另一份報告顯示,大多數的Snapchat使用者年齡往往在18到24歲之間。 它表明,針對受過良好教育的專業人士,需要使用LinkedIn,而 Snapchat則針對年輕群體。

哪種渠道你更易上手?

是那些你經熟悉的渠道,因此,他們需要最少的時間或金錢開始。 你不需要成為這些渠道的專家,但至少有一些現有的知識可以幫助你了解在何處尋找更多信息和教程。

但如果你不熟悉大多數這些渠道呢? 那麼可能你需要和你的員工,營銷專家或任何一個可以為你的業務提供幫助或建議的人交談。 如果他們對這些渠道有一定的掌控能力,也許可以幫助你脫穎而出,或者至少讓妳在使用這些渠道的時候可以得心應手。

4.為每個渠道制定具體營銷策略

針對你選擇的作為營銷計劃每個渠道進行測試,你應該制定一個易於執行的簡單策略,並可幫助你快速的做出決策。 這個策略之所以具體化,是因為在每個月的月底,你應該能夠看出來,明確瞭解到他們是否成功。 下面是你應該包括的要點︰

  • 營銷渠道。 在上一節中挑選清單和問題的給出的行銷管道。 您不必堅持這個列表,但選擇適合你的觀眾的渠道是理想之選。
  • 戰略。 有一個具體的,可衡量的目標,並制定目標的最後期限以及實現目標的方法。
  • 測試。 有哪些你會一直使用的"小賭注",讓妳以最小的努力與成本來實現你的目標? 這些小小的勝利會為妳指出正確的前進方向。
  • 活動和任務。 涉及到哪些任務? 哪些會重複做? 如果你有其他人幫助你,這也有助於確定每項任務的負責人員。
  • 優先事項。 看看上面的工作清單。 哪些任務你應該避免做,因為他們不會帶來回報? 哪些任務必須做,因為他們直接影響到你的目標? 當你趕時間和資金匱乏的時候,事先瞭解你的優先次序,可以讓妳做出快速的決定。
  • 成本. 當然,你的策略將花費多少錢(如果有的話)以及每天或每周你的營銷任務分配多少時間,這些都要包括在其中。 這可以幫助你更加專注你的策略,而不是超時問題。 如果你發現投資於此策略的金錢和時間都超過你願意付出的代價,你可以快速就下一步做出具體決定。
  • 後備計劃 在不能滿足你的目標的情況下,你會做什麼? 無論你是測試新的目標,嘗試完全不同的渠道,還是將精力集中於其他業務,下一步具體怎麼走,對妳來說也是至關重要的。 否則,你會陷入沒有成效的策略輪迴的陷井。

精煉市場營銷計劃的行動

這裡是詳細的精煉營銷計劃的案例︰

經營範圍︰

Acme狗美容公司

目標客戶︰

狗主,年齡在 25 到 40 歲,生活在商店 20 英里內。 他們的狗基本上都有長毛。 這些狗的主人至少是中產階層,以及專業人員,每月至少花 50 美元為他們的狗來購買配件,玩具和其他產品和服務。

目標和問題︰

他們希望他們的狗保持清潔,有美麗的毛髮但通常他們並沒有時間親自做這件事情。 他們希望他們的狗在有經驗的美容師那放鬆,不想他們在美容的時候被激怒。 當他們出門在外的時候,他們也希望他們的寵物有一個安全、 友好的地方。

營銷渠道 #1:

Yelp

策略︰

在Yelp上有準確和更新的信息,而且在兩個月內至少有4.5顆星是。

測試︰

如果在一週內,首五個光顧的客戶並沒有留下任何評價,在他們下次來的時候,考慮問他們為什麼,然後相應地調整我們的方法。

活動和任務︰

重審我們的Yelp列表,更新我們的個人資料的詳細信息,添加優質的照片,寫一個誘人的描述,回應所有評論(積極或消極),將評論導出為電子表格供以後分析,分析所有現有的評論,並尋找改善機會,鼓勵我們現有的滿意的客戶在Yelp上評價我們。

優先事項︰

重審我們的Yelp列表,更新我們的個人資料的詳細信息,並鼓勵對我們有好評的客戶在他們下次光顧的時候在Yelp上寫上好評。 搜索商店內現有的高品質照片,至少上傳兩張。 一個接一個回復現存評論,但不急於一個時間回答所有評論。 其他任務是可選擇性完成。

費用︰

2小時來更新你的個人主頁和照片,一週1小時來恢復客人評論。

後備方案︰

如果我們不能從滿意的客戶那在兩個月內達到4.5顆星星,查看那些低分的評論,然後嘗試處理這些問題。

營銷渠道 #2:

傳單

策略︰

在獸醫診所附近20英里範圍內的派發傳單。 在派發傳單後,至少在90天內,有20個新的預約客戶。 在每個傳單放入折扣優惠券來看傳單是否成功。

測試︰

在一個地點,看看哪些優惠券得到更大的客戶回應︰ 第一次使用寵物美容服務10%的折扣券還是"買 1 送 1 交易"。 回應較好的優惠券,將在其餘所有派發地點的宣傳單上出現。

活動和任務︰

研究傳單打印服務的價格,設計傳單,設計“折扣10%的優惠券”和設計“購買1送1的優惠券”,指派員工派發測試傳單。

優先事項︰

搜索現有的漂亮的傳單範本線上優惠券範本 (儘量減少設計時間),設計合理的優惠券。 避免花費太多的時間來自己設計或挑選一個印刷服務。

費用︰

最多200美元預算來做這些事情,2小時來設計傳單和優惠券,最多花30分鐘來在網上尋找廉價的打印服務商。

備選計劃

如果目標沒有實現,嘗試投遞郵件。

精煉你的營銷計劃

當你採取精煉營銷計劃的行動時,你會學習新的東西,幫助你制定更好的目標,並選擇能夠獲得最佳回報的渠道。 這個過程中,你會犯一些錯誤,而且路上有不少失敗的任務 —但這並沒什麼。

只要你保持小賭注,不斷測試你的營銷內容,迅速放棄那些沒有成效的渠道,你會離成功越來越近的。 所有這一切都意味著你的每一個你的新營銷計劃都會比上一個更有效和準確。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Marketing
Business

How to Write a Lean Marketing Plan

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Most business owners understand the importance of marketing—in theory, at least. Usually, however, marketing ends up being an afterthought to a business owner's already-full schedule. With this challenge in mind, this guide will walk you through planning a minimalist, iterative marketing strategy that works with the turbulent, unpredictable ride that goes with running a small business.

Minimal Writing Strategy
A Minimalist Approach (illustration).

The Obstacles to Small Business Marketing

While marketing is an essential element of business, there are a few reasons why small business owners have a difficult time making it a priority:

1. Lack of Time 

One key obstacle that prevents entrepreneurs from planning and executing their marketing tasks is that they are often strapped for time. According to Sage North America's survey of 6 million SMEs in the United States, 47% of small business owners are working more hours per week than they were five years ago, with the majority of them working longer days and most weekends. Since business owners are working more than ever, it's getting harder for them to squeeze in tasks that are outside their day to day operations—and this includes marketing.

2. Limited Budgets

Small business owners don't just lack time for marketing, they usually can't commit the funds either. A survey from office supply chain Staples shows that one third of small businesses don't have a marketing budget, while those that do average at around $2,000 per month. While this amount can cover some basic marketing materials and tools, it's not enough for hiring additional help dedicated to marketing.

3. DIY Marketing Can Be Difficult 

The above challenges often force entrepreneurs to do all the marketing tasks themselves. Often, they can't afford to hire extra help to focus on marketing tasks alone. 

Companies with five or more employees are the most likely to outsource marketing tasks, according to a survey by Infusionsoft. But even when businesses get big enough to have more than ten employees, it's still usually the owner who takes the helm for marketing responsibilities.

Infusionsoft Survey Resulsts
SMB marketing responsibilities (source).

4. Lack of Interest

The same survey from Infusionsoft reports that small business owners prefer to do customer service or product development more than they care to do marketing, advertising, or sales. This makes sense. Entrepreneurs often launch a business because they are passionate about the product or service they are trying to sell. This makes marketing seem more like grunt work rather than a rewarding task in itself.

Infusionsoft Survey - Business Areas
SMB owner preferences (source).

If these obstacles sound familiar, know that you're not alone. Many small businesses owners are working against these same problems, but there is a clear path forward.

Guiding Principles to Lean Small Business Marketing

Given this many obstacles that you might face when running a small business, it's important to adopt a lean or minimalist approach to your marketing plan. Here are the principles to keep in mind before you get started:

1. Invest Only in What Matters Most 

It's tempting to say "Yes" to any and every marketing channel or tactic that comes your way. But no matter how skilled you are, you can't fit everything in. Whenever you're adding a marketing task to your to-do list, consider carefully whether your efforts and resources could be better spent on other opportunities that could bring in better results.

2. Master the Art of "Little Bets" 

According to entrepreneur and author Peter Sims, who popularized the idea, a "little bet" is "a low-risk action taken to discover, develop, and test an idea." Rather than focusing on big wins or huge returns, it's better to conduct low-cost and low-effort tests to see if a channel or tactic will work. 

For example, instead of spending days brainstorming and writing ten new articles for your company blog, you can list a few topics you want to cover, and send the list to your readers via email or social media. Ask them to choose which ones they want to read about first. This helps you make the right choice for topics before you spend time on writing.

3. Be Quick to Drop Things That Don't Work

Whenever small business owners have to spent so much time, money, or energy on a strategy that doesn't work, loss aversion can sometimes kick in. This leads us to keep investing in a bad decision even if it's better to cut our losses, because we're worried about wasting the resources we've already invested. So even if no one seems to be "liking" or sharing your company Facebook posts, loss aversion can keep you hanging on to your inactive Facebook page just because you've had it for two years. 

Remember that when you eliminate a strategy that doesn't work—whether it's blogging, social media, or sending out flyers—you also eliminate hundreds of hours, tasks, and decisions that aren't going to bring you any tangible results. More importantly, you can divert these scarce resources into strategies that will actually pay off.

Following these principles can help you move forward with your marketing despite the limitations on your time, money, and interest. Understanding these ideas is simple, but how can we turn them into action when it comes to planning our marketing activities?

How to Write a Marketing Plan

There are many different ways to create marketing plans intended for investors, employees, and other people or organizations that you'll have a business relationship with. The goal of a lean marketing plan, however, is to help new business owners who are trying to grow their business. If that's sounds like you, then let's dig in! 

This plan is designed for action and real-world testing rather than meeting formal business guidelines. Because of this, it's best to keep your lean marketing plan on a single page and just adapt it over time as you test your results.

Here's what you should include in your plan:

1. Your Target Customer

Describe your target customers and be as specific as possible. Include their demographics, location, and the industry they are in (if any). This information will come in handy as you choose the marketing strategies that will fit well with your audience.

2. Customer Goals and Problems

As a reminder for the marketing messages you're going to create, write down your target customers' main goals and problems. What are the goals your company is helping them accomplish? What problems are you solving for them? Writing these items into your marketing plan can provide you with a reference you can use when planning your messaging. Here is an article that will help you with client targeting:

3. Focused Marketing Channels

After you reacquaint yourself with your target customers and their needs, go straight to selecting one or two marketing channels that you will use to reach out to them.

Remember that most of them are likely to be irrelevant or unimportant to you, so don't be afraid of throwing out some of these ideas. You need to get targeted with your approach.

Only one or two of the channels on this list have potential to give good returns on your invested time and money. You want to focus your resources on those high return channels. 

Pick just one or two channels to start working on. Below is a list of marketing channels to choose from: 

Via Social Media Networks 

One network is equal to one channel:

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Snapchat
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube

Review Sites

One site is one channel:

  • Yelp!
  • InsiderPages
  • Citysearch

 From Your Own Website 

Each method below counts as a single channel:

  • Blogging
  • Whitepapers 
  • Ebooks
  • Podcasting
  • Case Studies

Here are a couple of helpful tutorials to on writing case studies and white papers: 

Other Online Channels

Here are tutorials to help you write successful email pitches and land guest posts: 

Other Offline Channels

  • Cold calls
  • Newspaper classified ads
  • Phonebook classfied ads
  • Local TV ads
  • Local radio ads
  • Flyers
  • Posters
  • Direct mail
  • Affiliates
  • Referrals
  • Public speaking

Again, keep in mind to select just one or two channels for now and focus on them exclusively. Once you've found success and can afford to spend on other tactics, that's when you broaden your strategy—one more channel and strategy at a time. 

But with this long list of marketing channels, which should you test first? Here are some questions to consider:

Which Channels Are You Most Likely to Reach Target Audience? 

Focus first on the channels where your customers are most likely to receive your messages. When marketing to people in a specific location, flyers and posters might work well if they're placed in areas your target customers are most likely to see. If you're choosing between different social media sites, familiarize yourself with their diverse user demographics to see where your audience fits in. 

Note that you can purchase popular print templates on our GraphicRiver marketplace, such as professional business flyers.  

Pew Research Center published an analysis of different social media users and Sprout Social collected data from Pew and other sources to create infographics displaying the demographic details for each of the major social networks. For example, we learn from this data that LinkedIn users tend to be at least college graduates. Another report from Business Insider shows that most Snapchat users tend to be between 18 to 24 years old. It shows that when targeting educated professionals, LinkedIn is the way to go, while Snapchat is aimed at a younger audience.

Which Channels Have a Low Barrier to Entry for You? 

These are the channels that you are already familiar with and because of this, they will require the least amount of time or money to get started. You don't need to be an expert in these channels, but at the very least, some existing knowledge will give you an idea of where you can look for additional information and tutorials as you go along.

But what if you're not familiar with most of these channels? Then it might help to talk to your employees, a marketing professional, or anyone else who has been helping or advising you with your business. They can tell you if they have some competence on some of these channels and can help you get off the ground, at least while you get more comfortable with the tools.

4. A Specific Marketing Strategy for Each Channel

For each channel you choose to test as part of your marketing plan, you should lay out a simple strategy that is easy to execute and can help you make quick decisions. This strategy should be so specific that at the end of the month, you should be able to look at it and unequivocally say whether you've been successful or not. Here are the points you should include:

  • Marketing Channel. Pick a marketing channel given the list and questions in the section above. You don't have to stick to the list, but it would be ideal to pick a channel that fits your audience.
  • Strategy. Have a specific, measurable goal, a deadline for the goal, and the method you'll use for achieving it.
  • Tests. What are the "little bets" you'll take along the way that can make it easier for you to accomplish your strategy with minimum effort and cost? These are the small wins that will help point you in the right direction.
  • Activities and Tasks. What are all the tasks involved? Which ones are recurring? If you have other people helping you out, it will also help to determine who is responsible for each task.
  • Priorities. Take another look at the task list above. Which of these tasks should you avoid doing because they won't bring in returns? Which of the tasks are must-haves that directly affect your goal? Knowing your priorities in advance can help you make quick decisions when you're pressed for time and funds.
  • Costs. It's also important to include how much money your strategy will cost, if any, and how much time per day or week you can allot for your marketing tasks. This can help you be more mindful about whether you're investing more time than you initially bargained for. If you find that both the financial and time invested into this strategy ends up being more than what you're willing to pay, you can quickly make concrete decisions about what to do next.
  • Backup Plan. What will you do in case you don't meet your goal? Whether you'll be testing a new goal, trying a completely different channel altogether, or focusing your energies on another aspect of your business, it's important to be specific about what the next step is. Otherwise, you risk getting caught in a loop of reinvesting in strategies that don't work.

A Lean Marketing Plan in Action

Here's an example of a detailed lean marketing plan:

Business:

Acme Dog Groomers, Inc.

Target Customers: 

Dog owners, aged 25 to 40, living within a 20-mile radius of the shop. Their dogs primarily have long coats. These dog owners are at least middle class, are employed professionals, and spend at least $50 per month on accessories, toys, and other non-essential products and services for their dogs.

Goals and Problems: 

They want their dogs to maintain a clean, beautiful coatbut they don't have the time to do it themselves regularly. They want their dogs to have a calm, relaxing experience at the groomers and don't want them to be agitated while grooming. They also want a safe, friendly space for their pet to stay in whenever they need to go out of town.

Marketing Channel #1: 

Yelp

Strategy: 

Have an updated, accurate Yelp profile that's at least 4.5 stars in two months.

Tests: 

If the first five customers we ask don't leave a review within 1 week of their last visit, consider asking them why the next time they come in and then tweak our approach accordingly.

Activities and Tasks: 

Claim our Yelp listing, update details on our profile, add good quality photos, write an enticing description, respond to all reviews (positive or negative), export the reviews to a spreadsheet for later analysis, analyze all existing reviews and look for opportunities to improve, encourage our existing satisfied customers to review us on Yelp.

Priorities: 

Claiming our Yelp listing and updating our profile, encourage our existing satisfied customers to review us after their next visit. Search for existing high-quality photos of the shop and upload at least two. Reply to all existing reviews one-by-one, though there's no rush to reply to them all in one sitting. The other tasks are optional.

Costs: 

2 hours total for updating our profile and photos, and 1 hour a week for responding to reviews.

Backup Plan: 

If we don't reach 4.5 stars in two months from the satisfied customers, see the concerns of those with low reviews and address these problems in the business.

Marketing Channel #2: 

Flyers

Strategy: 

Distribute flyers near vet clinics within a 20-mile radius of the shop. Have at least 20 new walk-in clients within 90 days as a result of the flyers. Track the success of the flyers by including a discount coupon in each flyer.

Tests: 

In one location, see which coupon people will respond more to: 10% off their first grooming or a "buy 1 take 1 deal". The winning coupon will be printed on the rest of the flyers for all the locations.

Activities and Tasks: 

Research flyer printing service prices, design flyers, design the "10% off" coupon, design the "buy 1 take 1 coupon", assign staffer to distribute test flyers.

Priorities: 

Search for existing elegant business flyer templates and coupon templates online (to minimize design time), design the coupons. Avoid spending too much time on customizing the design or on picking a printing service.

Costs: 

$200 budget maximum, 2 hours total for customizing the flyer and coupons, 30 minutes maximum for searching for an affordable flyer printer online.

Backup Plan: 

If the goal isn't met, try direct mail instead.

Refining Your Lean Marketing Plan

As you act on your lean marketing plan, you'll be learning new things that will help you set better goals and pick the channels that give you the best returns. This action-oriented process means that you'll make some mistakes and have failures along the way—and that's fine. 

As long as you keep making little bets, keep testing your marketing materials, and quickly drop the channels that don't work, you'll be on the right path. All this means that each new iteration of your marketing plan will be more effective and more accurate than the last one.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.