Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Careers
Business

كيف تمارس ما تحبه (اسعى خلف شغفك) في 2018

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

سنة جديدة سعيدة! إليك إحصائية جديدة تمنحك بعض الحكمة لكي تبدأ 2018 معها: فقط 13% من الموظفين حول العالم منجذوبون لوظيفتهم، وفقاً لـ Gallup.

ماذا عن الـ 87% الباقيين؟ لا يكرهون جميعاً وظائفهم. قد يكون بعضهم حتى ماهراً إلى حد كبير فيما يقوم به. لكن، ذهنياً وعاطفياً، هم شبه أموات. يعملون دون اهتمام كبير بعملهم، ويقومون بما يجب القيام به لكي يحصلوا على مرتبهم الشهري، وينتظرون طوال الوقت عطلتهم التالية.

إذا بدا هذا مألوفاً بالنسبة إليك، فلا تقلق -- أنت في المكان الصحيح. هذه المقالة ستساعدك على تصميم نوعٍ مختلف من الحياة في 2018: حياة تشعرك أكثر بالرضا، وتمارس فيها العمل الذي تحبه.

Do what you love
يمكنك السعي للقيام بما تحبه عن طريق اتباع خطوات عملية. (مصدر الصورة)

لكي أكون واضحاً، هذه المقالة ليست حول تحقيق أحلامك عن طريق الاستفادة من قانون الجذب. أنا لا أكن شيئاً تجاه هذه المقالات، لكنني أعتقد أن لدينا ما يكفينا منهم الآن، وحتى كونٌ شاسع لا يحتاج إلى مقالة أخرى من هذا النوع.

هذه المقالة عملية أكثر. إنها تريك ما هي الخطوات التي يمكنك اتخاذها حالاً، في بداية شهر يناير (كانون الثاني) في 2018، لكي تصل إلى الوظيفة التي تحبها. إنها تظهر لك كيف توازن بين السعي خلف شغفك وبين مسؤولياتك المالية تجاه نفسك وتجاه أي شخص آخر يعتمد عليك. وحتى لو لم تكن تعرف ما هو شغفك بعد، فإنها ستساعدك على اكتشافه.

في نهاية المقالة، ستكون قادراً على رؤية "القيام بما تحبه" كشيءٍ جدي ممكن يمكن السعي إليه من الآن، بدلاً من رؤيته كقفزة مخيفة أو مستحيلة إلى المجهول.

لذا، إذا كنت جاهزاً لبداية جديدة، فدعنا نبدأ.

1. ما هو شغفك؟

إذا كنت تعرف من الآن وبوضوح شديد ما ترغب القيام به في الحياة، فإن بإمكانك تجاوز هذا القسم والانتقال إلى القسم التالي. لكن بالنسبة للكثيرين منا، لا نمتلك إجابة واضحة ومحددة على سؤال الشغف. قد يكون هذا بسبب:

  • أنت تعرف ما لا تحبه، لكن لا تعرف بالضبط ما تحب القيام به.
  • أنت محتار بسبب وجود الكثير من الإهتمامات المختلفة.
  • لديك شغف تجاه شيء يبدو من المستحيل أن تكسب لقمة عيشك إذا عملت فيه.
  • لقد أمضيت الكثير من السنوات وأنت تقنع نفسك بأن تكون عملياً أكثر إلى أن تم دفن شغفك الحقيقي تماماً.
  • لديك شيءٌ تهتم به، لكن لا تشعر باهتمام قوي يجعلك تطلق عليه اسم "شغف".

قبل أن تتمكن من السعي خلف شغفك، تحتاج أولاً إلى فهم ماهيته.

عرف الشغف

حسناً، دعنا نوضح الأمر أكثر. أولاً، لكن واضحين حول ما نعنيه تماماً بعبارة "شغف". يمكن للكلمة هذه أن تكون مخيفة إلى حد ما بسبب ارتباطاتها مع الحب والرومانسية. إذا كان لديك شغف تجاه شيء، فهل يعني هذا أن عليه شَغلَكَ ليلاً ونهاراً، وأن لا تعود قادراً على النوم أو التفكير بشيء آخر غيره؟

باختصار، لا. انسى روميو وجولييت -- في مجال الوظيفة، "الشغف" يعني ببساطة الاهتمام القوي أو الحماسة تجاه موضوعٍ أو نشاطٍ معين. لذا، لا تفرط في التفكير أو تتوقع الكثير -- إذا كنت تستمتع بشيء وتحب أن تمارسه كوظيفة، فإن هذا هو شغفك، حتى لو لم يكن يسبب لك خفقاناً في القلب أو رعشة.

انسى التطبيق العملي (فقط لبعض الوقت)

أعرف أنني قلت أن هذه هي مقالة عملية، لكن تحملني قليلاً. في هذه المرحلة، من المهم أن تنسى الجانب العملي من الأمر لوهلة. وهذا بسبب كون الكثيرين منا قد تم تدريبنا على الإيمان بأن بعض الوظائف المعينة (مثل فن الكتابة) هي وظائف "غير عملية" وأن وظائف أخرى (مثل المحاسبة والصيانة الكهربائية) تعتبر "عملية". هذا قد يقودنا إلى نبذ إمكانيات فعلية بسبب عدم أخذها بعين الاعتبار كما يجب.

لذا يجب أن ننفصل عن معتقداتنا السابقة وأن نكون أحرار وقادرين على القيام بعصف ذهني دون أي قيود. لاحقاً، سنعود إلى الجوانب العملية المتعلقة بكسب المال وإيجاد الوظائف. لكن في هذه المرحلة، تظاهر بأنك فزت باليانصيب للتو وأنه ليس عليك أن تقلق حول المال. ما الذي ستقوم به في هذه الحالة؟

اسئل نفسك أسئلة محددة

إذا كان السؤال "ما هو شغفك؟" يجعلك غير قادرٍ على الإتيان بجواب، فربما عليك ببساطة أن تسأل أسئلة مختلفة. الإجابة هي في مكانٍ ما هناك، ولكنها قد تكون مدفونة في عقلك الباطن، أو ربما لست قادراً على تكوين اربتاط مع هذه المصطلحات.

اسئلك نفسك أشياء مثل:

  • ما الذي كنت تستمتع القيام به وأنت طفل؟
  • ما الذي كنت سراً تحلم بالقيام به أثناء نشئتك؟
  • ما هي الجوانب الحالية في عملك أو وظيفتك والتي تمنحك أكبر قدرٍ من المتعة؟
  • ما الذي كنت ستقوم به لم يكن عليك أن تكون مسؤولاً بدرجة كبيرة طوال الوقت؟
  • اذكر خمسة أشياء مجنونة تحب أن تجربها في يومٍ من الأيام.

يمكنك أن تجد المزيد من الأسئلة المشابه في القسم الثالث من مقالتي حول إنشاء عملٍ صغير مربح.

عندما تنتهي من الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة، ابحث عن أنماط معينة في إجابتك. هل هنالك نوع نشاط أو عمل معين تكرر عدة مرات؟ مجدداً، لا تصدر إحكاماً على إجاباتك ولا تهمل أي شيء. حتى لو بدا شغفك لا يبدو عملياً كوظيفة، فقط اكتبه الآن. إن كل هذا جزء من عملية الإجابة على سؤال، "ما هو الأمر الذي أحبه؟"

اسمح لنفسك بأكثر من واحد

بعض الناس لديهم شغف واحدٌ واضح، بينما لدى الآخر عدة أمور يشعرون بالشغف تجاهها. استرخِ - لا بأس بكلا الأمرين. فقط اعصف ذهنياً دون قيود، ولا تحاول أن تسعى للحصول على عدد معين من الإجابات.

في بقية هذه المقالة، سأتكلم عن "الشغف" بالصيغة المفرد، فقط لأن هذا أسهل من كتابة "شغفك أو الأمور الشغوف بها" في كل مرة. إذا كان هنالك العديد من الأمور التي تعتبرها شغفك فإنه ما يزال بإمكانك متابعة قراءة هذه المقالة واستعمال العملية نفسها.

2. ابحث عن الأمور الممكنة

حسناً، يمكننا الآن أن نرجع إلى الجوانب العملية. أنت تعرف ما هو شغفك. كيف يمكنك جني المال منه؟ كيف يمكنك القيام بما تحبه؟

كن منفتحاً فكرياً هنا. بعض الإمكانيات قد تبدو بعيدة أو لا يمكن الوصول إليها الآن، لكن لا بأس. سنقوم بالمزيد من العمل لاحقاً لكي نعرف كيف تصل إلى ما تريد. فقط اكتب كل الوظائف الممكنة.

هل يمكنك بدء عملك الخاص؟ الحصول على وظيفة لدى شركة حالية؟ أن تعمل بها بشكل حر (بالإنجليزية Freelancing)؟ أن تعمل في مجال ذا صلة ويعطيك القدر نفسه من الرضا؟ ما هي أنواع الوظائف المتوافرة؟

على سبيل المثال، إذا كان شغفك هو الكتابة، فإليك بعض الوظائف الممكنة:

  • روائي (تقليدي أو ينشر ذاتياً)
  • مدون يعمل بشكلٍ حر
  • مراسل صحفي
  • كاتب في مجلة
  • كاتب مسرحي
  • محرر
  • مالك لشركة نشر خاصة بك
  • كاتب لدى شركة معينة (كتاب مواد مطبوع خاصة بالأعمال)
  • كاتب مواد إعلانية

هذه فقط قائمة قصيرة جداً لكي تعطيك فكرة -- يمكنك بسهولة توسيعها. لاحظ أن بعض هذه العناصر قد يبدو مثيراً أكثر بالنسبة لك، بينما ستبدو العناصر الأخرى كخيارات وظيفية أكثر "عمليةً".

الأمر نفسه سيكون صحيحاً في أي مجال قد تختاره: سيكون هنالك خيارات أكثر أماناً وخيارات جامحة أكثر. لاحظ ردات فعلك، لكن لا تتخلص من أي شيء في هذه القائمة خلال هذه المرحلة، حتى لو كان مملاً جداً أو غير عملي إلى حدٍ كبير. امنح نفسك أكبر مدة ممكن.

3. ارسم خريطة

أنت تعرف الآن شغفك، وأصبحت محدداً أكثر وذكرت بعض الوظائف أو المهن الممكنة. اختر الوظيفة التي تثيرك بأكبر قدر. هذه هي وجهتك.

مع ذلك، لن تكون على الأغلب قادراً على الوصول إلى وجهتك مباشرة من المكان الذي تقف فيه حالياً. قد تكون محظوظاً وقادراً على التقدم ببساطة إلى وظيفة أحلامك ومن ثم الحصول عليها، لكن من المتوقع أكثر أن يأخذ هذا بعض الوقت، وستحتاج إلى خريطة لكي تجد الطريق المؤدي إليها.

مثلا، دعنا نختر مثالاً آخر ولنقل أنك رغبت في أن تصبح جراح أعصاب. العملية نفسها ستختلف بحسب البلد، لكنها ستبدو شيئاً مشابهاً لما يلي:

  1. احصل على شهادة طبية جامعية.
  2. أكمل بعض الأعمال التي تلي التخرج.
  3. اعمل كمتدرب
  4. قم بإتمام بعض التدريبات المسندة إليك وتخطى إختباراتك.
  5. احصل على شهادة جراحة الأعصاب.
  6. جد وظيفة في مشفى وابدأ العمل كجراح أعصاب.

العملية كلها ستأخذ سنوات. وبالاعتماد على النقطة التي تبدأ منها، قد تحتاج إلى إضافة خطوات إضافية، مثل الحصول على المؤهلات المدرسية الضرورية التي تسمح لك بالتقدم للشهادة الطبية، في حال لم تكن متوافرة لديك من الآن.

إذا لم تكن متأكداً من الكل الخطوات حالياً، فلا تقلق -- فقط قم ببعض الأبحاث الأساسية. يمكنك أن تعرف المزيد من التفاصيل لاحقاً. الفكرة هي أن تحصل فقط على فكرة عامة عن نوع الرحلة التي ستقوم بها.

ولا تتردد في أن تكون مبدعاً في طريقة رسمك للخريطة -- انا استعملت فقط قائمة بسيطة مرقمة، لكن يمكن رسم خريطة فعلي إذا كنت تحب، مع إظهار التضاريس التي ستمر بها والمخاطر التي قد تواجهها. جعل الخريطة مرحة ومرئية يمكن أن يساعد على جعلها تبدو واقعية أكثر.

قد يستحق الأمر إتمام عدد من الخرائط المختلفة لكل وجهة. مثلاً، كبديل عن كونك جراحاً عصبياً فإن بإمكانك أن تصبح ممرضاً للأمراض العصبية (بالإنجليزية Neuroscience Nurse)، اختصاصي بالأشعة (بالإنكليزية Radiologist)، عالم أعصاب أكاديمي يمارس الأبحاث دون جراحة، أو مجموعة أخرى من الإمكانيات المتنوعة. ارسم بعض الخرائط الأخرى، لكي ترى فقط كيف تبدو.

ابدأ بإنهاء الخريطة التي تحب أن تمشي عليها كخيارٍ أول. يمكنك أن تخبئ الخرائط الأخرى للاحتياط حالياً.

4. اطلب المساعدة

والآن وبعض أن أصبحت وجهتك واضحة قليلاً وصرت ترى كيف تبدو الرحلة، فإن الوقت قد حان لكي تطلب المساعدة خارجياً.

لا يمكن أن تطلب من أحد أن يقوم بالرحلة بدلاً عنك، بدون شك، لكن يمكنك أن تطلب بعض النصائح والتوجيهات. اكتب قائمة بالأشخاص الذين حققوا ما ترغب أنت القيام به، وتواصل معهم واطلب النصح والمساعدة. الكثير من الناس يحبون أن يمدوا يد المساعدة لشخصٍ يبدأ حديثاً.

مثلاً، هل كنت تعلم أن مارك زوكربرغ (Mark Zuckerberg) طلب المساعدة من ستيف جوبز (Steve Jobs) في أيامه الأولى في فيسبوك؟ استعمل زوكربيرغ مؤتمر Macworld السنوي كإلهام لمؤتمر F8، كما استراتيجية التوظيف الخاصة بناصحه والتي تقوم على التعرف على الموظيفن الجدد المحتملين عن طريق المشي معهم لمسافات طويلة في الطرقات المحاطة بالأشجار قرب مكتبه.

طبعاً، بعض الناس سيكونون مشغولين. لا تطلب الكثير سلفاً -- فقط اسئل بضع أسئلة معينة حول الأمور التي تحتاج مساعدةً فيها. وستستفيد أكثر في حال كنت على علاقة مسبقاً مع الشخص أو كان صديقاً لصديقك، أو إذا كان بإمكانك القيام بشي لطيف تجاه الشخص، مثل شراء كتابه وكتابة مراجعة رائعة عنه (على افتراض أنك أحببته) أو مدح عمله على وسائل التواصل الإجتماعية.

مع ذلك، يمكنك توقع أن بعض الناس لن يستجيبوا على الإطلاث، والآخرون قد يرفضون بطريقة مهذبة. لكن إذا تواصلت مع عدد كافٍ من الناس باستخدام رسائل إلكترونية لبقة تطلب فيها مساعدة محدود، فإنك على الأغلب ستحصل على رد واحدٍ إيجابي على الأقل. لا يوجد ما هو أفضل من التعلم من الأشخاص الذي خطوا مسارك، والاتصالات التي تكونها معهم قد تجلب لك فوائد غير متوقعة لاحقاً.

5. جد توازناً

بالرغم من أن بعض الناس اصحاب الإمتيازات سيكونون قادرين على التركيز 100% على شغفهم دون الاهتمام بالمال، إلا أن معظمنا عليه دفع أجور وفواتير. بعضناً لديه ديون متراكمة. الكثير منا لديه مسؤوليات أخرى هامة، مثل الاعتناء بأعضاء العائلة. هذه المسؤوليات قد تجعل القيام بما تحب يبدو أكثر صعوبة، لكنك ما يزال بإمكانك الوصول إلى هناك.

إذاً كيف يمكنك أن تجد توازناً بين تلبية إحتياجاتك الملحة والسعي خلف أهدافك طويلة الأمد المرتبطة بشغفك؟

في هذه المرحلة قد تحتاج إلى إجراء تعديلات على الخطة التي رسمتها سابقاً. حتى لو لم تختلف نقطتا البداية والنهاية، سيكون على بعض الناس السير في طرقٍ مختلفة بالاعتماد على ظروفهم الخاصة.

على سبيل المثال، لنتفرض وجود شخصين يعملان حالياً في وظائف البيع التجزئة، لكن لديها شغف تجاه الفنون المرئية. الفرق هو أن نيكولا في العشرينيات من عمره ووالداه ثريان وليس عليه مسؤوليات، بينما سارة هي أمٌ لولدين صغيرين ولديها زوجٌ يعاني من مرضٍ مزمن يمنعه من العمل.

ستبدو خريطة نيكولا مشابهةً لما يلي:

  1. ترك وظيفتي الحالية.
  2. السفر إلى توسكانا (Tuscany) في إيطاليا والإقامة هناك سنة أو سنتين ورسم ما أجد نفسي أرغب برسمه.
  3. الاستفادة من علاقاتي العائلية لكي أعرض لوحاتي في معرض SoHo في نيويورك (New York).
  4. اعمل كفنان بدوامٍ كامل.

خريطة سارة، من ناحية أخرى، قد تبدو اكثر شبهاً بالخريطة التالية:

  1. تخصيص ساعة من كل صباح للعمل على رسوماتي قبل الذهاب إلى العمل.
  2. الانضمام إلى برنامج تدريبي بدوامٍ جزئي للحصول على شهادة فنية.
  3. استعمال هذه الشهادة للحصول على وظيفة متعلقة بالمجال الفني، مثل التدريس، إدارة معرض أو متحف، إلخ.
  4. متابعة الرسم، واستخدام علاقاتي التي أكونها في وظيفتي الجديدة لكي أبني مجموعة عرض.
  5. البدء ببيع بعضٍ من لوحاتي لكي أدعم دخلي.
  6. عند بنائي لمجموعة كافية من الأعمال الفنية وعندما أتمكن من بيع أعمالي بشكلٍ منتظم وبأسعار مرتفعة بما يكفي، فإنني أسعى أخيراً لترك وظيفتي ولأن أصبح فنانةً بدوامٍ كامل.

هذه أمثة مبسطة طبعاً. مسار نيكولا قد لا يكون سهلاً جداً فعلياً، بالرغم من وضعه المادي الجيد وعلاقته، ومن المحتمل دوماً أن تكون رسومات سارة جيدةً جداً بحيث لا يكون عليها أن تخطو الطريق الطويل في نهاية الأمر.

الفكرة التي أريد توصيلها هي أن ظروف الناس مختلفة، وبالنسبة للعديد منا، القفزة إلى ما هو غير معروف ستكون غير ممكنة. لكن ما يزال بإمكاننا السعي خلف شغفنا وتحقيق أهدافنا، بالإضافة إلى المحافظة على توازن وتلبية إلتزاماتنا.

الشيء الهام الذي يجدر بك تذكره هو أنه وبالرغم من أن خريطتك قد تتطلب بعض التعديل، فإن وجهتك ستبقى نفسها. ليس عليك أن تتخلى عن شغفك لأن لديك أولاداً صغار أو لأن هنالك ديوناً متراكمة عليه، أو لوجود والدٍ مريض يجدر بك الاعتناء به. قد يون عليك السير في طريقٍ أطول قليلاً، لكن طالما أنك تبقي عيونك ثابتةً على وجهتك، فإن بإمكانك الوصول إلى هناك.

خاتمة: اخطُ الخطوة الأولى اليوم

الحقيقة هي أن الكثير منا لا يسعى خلف شغفه. نقرر ترك شغفنا، ونعتبر أنفسنا أناساً أنانيين جداً أو غير عمليين، أو ببساطة يصيبنا الإرباك والخوف بسبب كل الأمور الأخرى التي تجري في حياتنا.

لكن يمكنك أن تكون مختلفاً. لقد بينت لك في هذه المقالة أن السعي خلف شغفك ليس حلماً غير قابلٍ للتطبيق، بل مجرد مجموعة من الخطوات التي عليك السير عليها لكي تصل إلى وجهتك المرغوبة. الرحلة أمامك قد تكون رحلةً طويلة، لكن من المعروف لدى الجميع أن رحلة الألف ميل تبدأ بخطوةٍ واحدة.

لذا اخطُ الخطوة الأولى اليوم. إذا قرأت هذه المقالة دون أن تقوم بالتدريبات، فارجع إلى الوراء وقم بها. اكتشف ما هو شغفك، ابحث عن الوظائف الممكن في هذا المجال، وارسم خريطة للأمور المطلوبة لكي تنتقل من مكانك الحالي إلى المكان الذي ترغب أن تكون به.

أو، في حال كنت قد نفذت كل ذلك، فاخطُ خطوةً أخرى. أرسل بريداً إلكترونياً، تقدم لبرنامجٍ تدريبي، ابدأ مدونة، سجل في صفٍ تعليمي.

ومن ثم عد إلى خريطتك وابدأ بإضافة تواريخ إلى كل مرحلة فيها. إذا كان ضرورياً، أضف خطوات فرعية أصغير -- كلما كان بإمكانك تجزئة الأمور إلى كتلٍ يمكن إدارتها، كلما كان من الأسهل تعقب تقدمك. اسمح لخريطتك أن تنمو وأن تتطور.

التزم كل يوم بتنفيذ خطوة صغيرة تقربك إلى هدفك الكبير كل يوم. حتى لو كانت مجرد كتابة منشور مدونة أو العمل نصف ساعةٍ على شيءٍ إبداعي، قم بشيءٍ صغيرٍ واحد كل يوم يقربك قليلاً إلى هدفك النهائي، ألا وهو القيام بما تحب.

ومن ثم استمر في المشي على هذه الخطوات الصغيرة حتى يصبحوا، قبل أن تعرف، رحلة من ألف ميل. يمكنك ممارسة ما تحب ممارسته إذا بدأت بالتوجه في الاتجاه الصحيح.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Careers
Business

How to Do What You Love (Pursue Your Passion) in 2018

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Happy New Year! Here’s a sobering statistic for you to start 2018 with: only 13% of employees worldwide are engaged in their jobs, according to a Gallup survey.

What about the other 87%? They don’t all hate their jobs. Some of them may even be quite good at what they do. But, mentally and emotionally, they’ve checked out. They’re going through the motions, doing what needs to be done to get their paycheck, and marking time until the next vacation.

If that sounds familiar to you, don’t worry—you’re in the right place. This article will help you to design a different kind of life in 2018: a more satisfying life, in which you get to do what you love.

Do what you love
You can work towards doing what you love by following practical steps. (Image Source)

To be clear, this isn't an article about manifesting your dream life by harnessing the law of attraction. I’ve got nothing against those articles, but I think there are enough of them out there already, and even an abundant Universe doesn’t need another one.

This article is more practical. It shows you what steps you can take right now, at the start of January 2018, to work towards a career you love. It shows you how to balance pursuing your passion with financial responsibility to yourself and anyone else who depends on you. And if you don't even know what your passion is yet, it will help you to work that out.

By the end, you’ll be able to see “doing what you love” not as a scary or impossible leap into the unknown, but as a serious possibility that you can begin working towards right now.

So, if you’re ready for a fresh start, let’s begin.

1. What Is Your Passion?

If you’re already very clear about what you want to do in life, you can skip ahead to the next section. But for many of us, the question of passion isn't so clear-cut. This could be because:

  • You know what you don’t like, but aren’t so clear about what you do want to do.
  • You’re torn between lots of different interests.
  • You've got a passion for something that seems impossible to make a living from.
  • You’ve spent so many years convincing yourself to be practical that your true passion has become completely buried.
  • You've got an interest, but don’t feel strongly enough about it to call it a “passion”.

Before you can pursue your passion, you need to first understand what it is.

Define Passion

OK, so let’s untangle some of that. First, let’s be clear about exactly what we mean by “passion”. The word can be quite daunting because of its associations with love and romance. If you've got a passion for something, does that mean you need to be consumed by it day and night, unable to sleep or to think about anything else?

In a word, no. Forget Romeo and Juliet—in the context of a career, “passion” simply means a strong interest or enthusiasm for a particular subject or activity. So, don't overthink it or expect too much—if you enjoy doing something and would love to do it as a career, then that's your passion, even if it doesn't make your pulse race or your heart skip a beat.

Forget Practicality (Just for Now)

I know I said this was a practical article, but bear with me. At this stage, it’s really important to forget practicality for a while. That’s because many of us have been schooled to believe that certain careers (e.g. art or writing) are “impractical” and others (e.g. accountancy or welding) are “practical”. That can lead us to discard certain possibilities without considering them properly.

So, we need to detach ourselves from preconceptions and be free to brainstorm without any constraints. Later on, we’ll get to the practicalities of making money and finding jobs. But at this stage, pretend that you just won the lottery and don’t have to worry about money. Then what would you do?

Ask Yourself Specific Questions

If the question “What's your passion?” leaves you coming up blank, maybe you simply need to ask different questions. The answer is in there somewhere, but it may be buried in your subconscious, or perhaps you simply don’t relate to the terminology.

Ask yourself things like:

  • What did you enjoy doing as a kid?
  • What did you secretly dream of doing when you grew up?
  • What aspects of your current job or life give you the most pleasure?
  • What would you do if you didn’t have to be so responsible all the time?
  • List five crazy things you’d like to try doing one day.

You can find more questions like this in section three of my article on making a profitable small business.

When you’ve finished answering the questions, look for patterns in your responses. Is there a particular type of activity or work that keeps recurring? Again, don’t judge your answers or discount anything. Even if your passion seems impractical as a career, just write it down for now. It's all part of the process of answering the question, "what do I love?"

Allow Yourself More Than One

Some people have a single, clear passion, while others have multiple passions. Relax—either possibility is fine. Just brainstorm freely, and don’t try to aim for a particular number of answers.

In the rest of this article, I’m going to talk about a “passion” in the singular, but that’s only because it’s easier than writing out “your passion or passions” every time. If you've got multiple passions, you can still follow the article and use exactly the same process.

2. Research the Possibilities

OK, now you can get practical again. You know what your passion is. How could you make money from it? How can you do what you love?

Be open-minded here. Some of the possibilities may seem distant or unreachable right now, but that’s OK. We’ll do more work later to figure out how to get there. Just write down the possible careers.

Could you start your own business? Get a job for an existing company? Do it freelance? Work in a related field that would also give you satisfaction? What kinds of jobs are out there?

For example, if you've got a passion for writing, here are some career possibilities:

  • novelist (traditional or self-published)
  • freelance blogger
  • newspaper reporter
  • magazine writer
  • playwright
  • editor
  • owner of your own publishing company
  • corporate content writer
  • advertising copywriter

That’s just a very short list to give you an idea—you could easily extend it. Notice that some of them may be more exciting to you, while others may seem like more “practical” career choices.

The same is likely to be true of any field you’ve chosen: there will be safer choices and wilder ones. Notice your reactions, but don’t eliminate anything from the list at this stage, either because it’s too boring or too impractical. Give yourself the widest possible range.

3. Draw a Map

You now know your passion, and you’ve gotten more specific and have listed some possible jobs or careers. Pick the one that most excites you first. That’s your destination.

However, it’s unlikely that you’ll be able to reach your destination straight away from where you are right now. You might be lucky and be able to simply apply for your dream job and get it, but it’s much more likely that it’ll take some time, and you’ll need a map to find your way there.

For example, let’s pick a different example and say you want to be a neurosurgeon. The exact process varies by country, but it'll look something like:

  1. Get a medical degree at university.
  2. Complete some post-graduate work.
  3. Become a trainee.
  4. Complete some prescribed training and pass your exams.
  5. Get full certification as a neurosurgeon.
  6. Find a post at a hospital and start working as a neurosurgeon.

The whole process will take years. And depending on your starting point, you may need to add additional steps, such as getting the necessary school qualifications to allow you to do the medical degree, if you don’t already have them.

If you’re not sure of all the steps right now, don’t worry—just do as much as you can with some basic research. You can find out more of the details later. The idea is just to get a general idea of the kind of journey you’re looking at.

And feel free to be creative in how you draw the map—I’ve just used a simple numbered list, but you can draw an actual map if you like, showing the terrain you've got to cross and the hazards you may encounter. Making it fun and visual can help to make it seem more real.

It may be worth completing a few different maps for different destinations. For example, an alternative to being a neurosurgeon could be becoming a neuroscience nurse, a radiologist, an academic neuroscientist who does research but not surgery, or a range of other possibilities. Draw a few other maps, just to see what they look like.

Finish by picking one that you’d like to pursue as a first choice. You can keep the others in reserve for now. 

4. Ask for Help

Now that you've got some clarity about your destination and what the journey looks like, it’s time to reach out and ask for help.

You can’t ask anyone to take the journey for you, of course, but you can ask for some advice and pointers. Make a list of some people who have achieved what you want to do, and reach out to ask for help and advice. Many people love to give a helping hand to someone who's just starting out.

For example, did you know that Mark Zuckerberg asked Steve Jobs for help in his early days at Facebook? Zuckerberg used the annual Macworld conference as the inspiration for Facebook’s F8 conference, and also followed his mentor’s recruitment strategy of getting to know potential new employees over long walks on the wooded trails near his office.

Of course, people are busy. Don’t ask for too much up front—just ask a couple of specific questions about things you need help with. And it helps if you've got some existing relationship or are a friend of a friend, or if you can do something nice for the person, like buying their book and giving it a great review (assuming you liked it) or praising their business on social media.

Even so, you can expect some people not to respond at all, and others to respond with polite refusals. But if you reach out to enough people with courteous emails asking for limited help, you’ll probably get at least one positive response. There’s nothing better than learning from people who have walked your path, and the connections you make may also have unexpected benefits later on.

5. Find a Balance

Although the privileged few can focus 100% on their passion without worrying about money, most of us have to pay rent and bills. Some of us have debts to clear. Many of us also have other important responsibilities, such as taking care of family members. These responsibilities can make it seem harder to do what you love, but you can still get there. 

So how can you find a balance between meeting your immediate needs and pursuing longer-term goals related to your passion?

This is where you may need to make modifications to the map you drew earlier. Even with the same start and end points, different people will have to take different routes depending on their circumstances.

For example, let’s consider two people who currently work in retail jobs, but have a passion for visual art. The difference is that Nicola is a twenty-something with rich parents and no responsibilities, while Sara is a mother of two small kids and has a husband with a chronic illness that prevents him from working.

Nicola’s map may look something like:

  1. Quit my job.
  2. Go to Tuscany for a year or two and paint what I’m inspired to paint.
  3. Use my family connections to get exhibited at a SoHo gallery.
  4. Become a full-time artist.

Sara’s map, on the other hand, may be more like:

  1. Carve out an hour every morning to work on my art before work.
  2. Enroll in a part-time degree program to get an art qualification.
  3. Use that qualification to get a job related to art, e.g. teaching, curating, etc.
  4. Keep painting, and use the connections I make in my new job to build up an exhibition history.
  5. Start selling my paintings to supplement my income.
  6. When I’ve built up enough of a track record and following to sell my work reliably and at high enough prices, eventually aim to quit the job and become a full-time artist.

These are simplified examples, of course. Nicola’s path may not actually be so easy, despite her wealth and connections, and it’s always possible that Sara’s paintings will be so good that she doesn’t have to take the long road after all.

The point I’m making is that people’s circumstances are different, and for many of us, a leap into the unknown just isn’t possible. But we can still pursue our passions and reach our goals, while also keeping a balance and meeting all of our commitments.

The important thing to remember is that although your map may need to be altered, your destination remains the same. You don’t have to give up on your passion because you've got young kids, or are in debt, or have a sick parent to take care of. You may have to take a slightly longer route, but as long as you keep your eyes firmly fixed on your destination, you can still get there.

Conclusion: Take the First Step Today

The truth is that many of us never pursue our passion. We talk ourselves out of it, we decide we’re being too selfish and impractical, or we simply get overwhelmed by all the other things going on in our lives.

But you can be different. I’ve shown you in this article that pursuing your passion isn't an impractical dream, but a set of steps that you can take to reach your desired destination. The journey ahead of you may be a long one, but it’s a well-known fact that a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

So, take the first step today. If you’ve read this article without doing the exercises, go back and do them. Figure out your passion, research some possible careers in that field, and draw a map of what it would take to get you from where you are now to where you want to be.

Or, if you’ve done all that already, then take another step. Send an email, apply for an internship, start a blog, sign up for a class.

Then go back to your map and start adding dates to each stage of it. If necessary, add smaller sub-steps—the more you can break things down into manageable chunks, the easier it will be to keep making progress. Allow your map to grow and evolve.

Make a point of taking a small step towards your ultimate goal every day. Even if it’s just writing a blog post or doing half an hour of creative work, do one small thing every day that inches you closer to the end goal of doing what you love.

Then keep taking those small steps until, before you know it, they become a journey of a thousand miles. You can do what you love if you start moving in the right direction.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.