Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Freelance

دليل المستقل إلى التأمين

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Freelance Financial Bootcamp.
A Freelancer’s Guide to Handling Debt Responsibly
A Freelancer’s Guide to Basic Bookkeeping

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Walid R (you can also view the original English article)

ما هو النوع التأمين الذي ستحتاجه كمستقل؟

قد تختلف الإجابة بشكل كبير، وذلك حسب نوع العمل الذي تعمل فيه، نوع العملاء الذين تملكهم، عدد المعدات التي تملكها، حالتك المالية، أين تعيش، إضافة إلى نطاق واسع من العوامل الأخرى.

لا أستطيع أن أخبرك ما هو مناسب لك على وجه التحديد، ما أستطيع أن أفعله هو أن أطرح عليك الخيارات المتاحة لك، وأعرض عليك أمثلة عن أنواع التأمينات ومتى ستستفيد منها.

ذلك ما أشرحه في هذا الدرس، ستعلم أنواع التأمين المختلفة، من التأمين ضد المسؤولية المهنية إلى التأمين على على الملكيات، ومن التأمين الصحي إلى أمور أكثر تخصصًا مثل التأمين ضد التحقيق الضريبي، ستملك عند نهاية الدرس صورة أوضح عن الخيارات المتاحة لك وكيف تختار أنسبها.

لكن أولا، لنتحدث قليلا عن المخاطر.

ما هي المخاطر التي ستواجهك؟

عندما تدخل عالم الأعمال، هناك دائمًا احتمالية أن خطأ ما سيحدث، هناك الكثير من المخاطر التي قد تواجهك، كأن يدمر سقف راشح معداتك أو أن تكتب تغريدة قد تُقاضى على إثرها بتهمة التشهير.

الخطوة الأولى قبل أن تقرر نوع التأمين الذي تحتاجه هي أن تفهم ما هي المخاطر التي أنت معرض لها، ما تفعله عند شراء بوليصة تأمين هو نقل الخطر، ستدفع علاوة، ومقابل تلك العلاوة توافق شركة التأمين على التعامل مع خطر الدعوى القضائية أو السقف الراشح أو أيًا كان ما تغطيه بوليصة التأمين.

إن أردت أن تعرف أكثر عن هذا الموضوع فيمكنك قراءة سلسلة كاملة عن إدارة المخاطر كتبتها سابقًا، لكن الموجز هو التالي:

  • افهم جميع المخاطر التي تواجهك.
  • رتبها وفق الأولوية من حيث احتمالية حدوثها والتأثير الذي ستحدثه.
  • ضع استراتيجية للتعامل معهم.

التأمين هو إحدى استراتيجيات إدارة المخاطر، لكنه ليس الإستراتيجية الوحيدة، ربما تفضل أن تتفادى الخطر (بعدم الإنخراط في أنشطة خطرة) أو قد تفضل أن تخفف من احتمالية حدوث الخطر (ربما عن طريق استعمال ضمانات أو بنود أكثر لتقليل احتمالية حدوث المشاكل)، أو ربما تتفضل أن تتقبل الخطر (إذا كانت احتمالية حدوثه ضعيفًا وكذلك التأثير الذي يحدثه قليلا)

ستكون لديك فكرة أوضح عن التأمين المناسب لك بعد أن تدرج جميع المخاطر التي تعارضك وترتبهم من حيث الأولوية وتخرج باستراتيجية للتعامل معهم، ما عليك اﻵن هو أن تعرف أنواع التأمين الموجودة وكيف يعمل كل نوع منها، هذه هي الخطوة التالية.

أنواع التأمينات المناسبة للمستقلين

توجد العديد من أنواع التأمين المختلفة، وأسماء كل واحدة منها تصيب بالحيرة، السيئ أنه كثيرًا ما قد توجد أسماء متختلفة لنفس نوع التأمين، وما يزيد الطين بلة أن أسماء التأمينات قد تختلف باختلاف البلدان.

سأوضح في هذا القسم بعض أنواع التأمين وسأشرح طريقة عمل كل واحد منها ومتى قد تحتاجها.

خذ في اعتبارك أن أنواع وثائق التأمين المدرجة تحت "معروف أيضًا باسم" تختلف أحيانا وبعض الشيء في التفاصيل ومستوى التغطية، فعلى سبيل المثال، يحميك تأمين المسؤولية المدنية public liability insurance في الولايات المتحدة ضد الدعاوى القضائية المرفوعة من العوام، لكنه لا يحمي ضد القضايا المرفوعة من الباعة أو المستثمرين، في حين يقدم تأمين المسؤولية العامة General Liability Insurance تغطية أكبر، لكنني أضعهما في نفس المجموعة لأنهما يغطيان نفس نوع الخطر.

تأمين المسؤولية المهنية Professional Liability Insurance

معروف أيضًا باسم

تأمين التعويض Indemnity insurance، تأمين السهو والخطأ Errors and Omissions insurance.

ماذا يغطي

يغطي هذا النوع من التأمين بشكل أساسي على أخطائك، وأكثر تحديدًا، يغطي هذا التأمين على تكاليف عواقب أخطائك، وكذلك على القضايا المحتملة من العملاء الغاضبين، قد تُقاضى في حالة قدمت عملا غير كامل أو سيئ، أو فشلت في الوفاء بالتزاماتك التعاقدية، أو قصرت في عملك، فإن بوليصة التأمين هذه تغطي عنك إلى حد معين، وكما هو الحال مع التأمين: كلما حصلت على تغطية أكبر، كلما ارتفعت أقساط التأمين.

متى ستحتاجه

على جميع المستقلين النظر في الحصول على هذا النوع من التأمين، حتى إن كان حجم العمل صغيرًا ولا يوجد الكثير من المال على المحك، لن يجري كل شيء على ما يرام.

إذا كنت على سبيل المثال مصور أفراح فيمكن أن تُقاضى من قبل زوجين غاضبين في حالة لم يعجبهما عملك، إذا كنت تبرمج أو تصمم موقعًا، يمكن أن تكون مسؤولا قانونيًا إن لم يعمل الموقع كما هو مُعلن عنه وسيخسر العميل المال كنتيجة لهذا.

إذا كنت مصممًا، قد تُقاضى إن استخدمت صورة خاضعة لحقوق التأليف والنشر، هل تتذكر مُلصق "HOPE" الذي أصبح رمزًا غير رسمي لحملة باراك أوباما الإنتخابية الأولى سنة 2008؟ رفعت وكالة Associated Press بسببها مطالبة بالتعويض.

تأمين المسؤولية العامة General Liability Insurance

معروف أيضًا باسم

التأمين ضد خسائر العمل، التأمين على المسؤولية التجارية، تأمين المسؤولية المدنية، أو مجموعة من نفس الكلمات (مثال: تأمين المسؤولية التجارية العامة)

ماذا يغطي

بوليصة التأمين هذه تغطي أمورًا كإصابات أو أضرار في الممتلكات حصلت لشخص آخر، أحيانًا يطلق عليها تأمين "الإنزلاق والوقوع".

متى قد تحتاجه

هذا التأمين مهم جدًا إن كنت تتواصل كثيرًا مع الناس وجهًا وجهًا، أو في حوزتك عدد كبير من المعدات أو العقارات التجارية.

على سبيل المثال، إن كنت مصورًا، ويومًا ما سقطت المنارة (Light Stand) على رأس الزبون، فقد جنيت على نفسك، أو إن كنت مصمم ويب وتدعو عملاءك بشكل متكرر للقدوم إلى استوديو عملك فستكون عرضة للمساءلة القانونية إن تعرض أحدهم لإصابة في مكان عملك.

تحمي بعض وثائق تأمين المسؤولية العامة ضد أمور مثل دعاوى التشهير، سيكون من الجيد لو تحققت من هذا بالرغم من أن السيناريو أعلاه لن يحدث، وقد يُلزمك بعض العملاء المهمين أن تملكه.

التأمين على الملكيات

ماذا يغطي

هذه فئة واسعة تشمل الأضرار التي قد تلحق معدات عملك، ربما تملك مسبقًا التأمين على المسكن وتأمين الإستئجار وبوليصات تأمين أخرى تغطي على ممتلكاتك، لكن كن حذرًا لأن بوليصات التأمين الشخصية أحيانًا لا تغطي المعدات المستخدمة في الأنشطة التجارية، الأمر يعتمد على بوليصتك، ربما ستحتاج أن تعلم شركة التأمين الخاصة بك، أو ربما تحتاج أن تشتري بوليصة جديدة مخصصة للمعدات التجارية.

متى قد تحتاجه

نملك كمستقلين بعض المعدات، حتى لو كان هذه المعدات هي مجرد حاسوب وهاتف، فكر فيما ستفعله لو تعرضت تلك المعدات للتلف وكيف ستدير هذا الخطر، الأكيد أنك كلما اعتمدت على معدات غالية الثمن، كلما كان التأمين ذو فائدة.

التأمين على السيارات Auto Insurance

ماذا يغطي

بوليصة التأمين هذه هي نفسها التي تستخدمها في حياتك الشخصية، يغطي ببساطة عن الضرر التي قد تسببه للآخرين أو الملكيات أثناء سياقتك، تشمل بعض السياسات الشاملة أمورًا مثل الحرائق والسرقة.

متى قد تحتاجه

كما هو الحال مع تأمين الملكيات، عليك أن تتحقق إن كان التأمين الحالي الذي تستخدمه يغطي عنك في حالة كنت تستخدم السيارة كثيرًا للعمل، عليك أن تعلم شركة التأمين خاصتك، وربما يتوجب عليك أن تدفع علاوة إضافية أو تغيير بوليصة التأمين إلى بوليصة أكثر تخصصًا، لا تفترض أن تأمين السيارات خاصتك يغطي عنك.

التأمين الصحي

ماذا يغطي

أنا متأكد أنك على معرفة جيدة ببوليصة التأمين هذه: يدفع هذا التأمين تكاليف الرعاية الطبية الخاصة في حالة أصبت بالمرض.

متى قد تحتاجه

هذا النوع من التأمين ضروري لكل المستقلين إلا إذا كنت تعيش في دولة بنظام رعاية صحية شامل، يحصل موظفو الشركات على هذا النوع من التأمين كمزايا وظيفية، لكن المستقلين لا يحصلون عليه، لذا يُعد بالغ الأهمية، يمكن أن يكون مُكلفًا، لكن على الرغم من ذلك يجب أن يكون ذا أولوية عالية وأن تحصل عليه متى استطعت تحمل نفقاته، وإلا فإن ضربة واحدة من الحظ السيئ ستضعك خارج الخدمة، تُعتبر التكاليف الطبية المسبب الأول للإفلاس الشخصي في الولايات المتحدة.

التأمين ضد العجز Disability Insurance

معروف أيضًا باسم

تأمين حماية الدخل Income Protection Insurance.

ماذا يغطي

يغطي التأمين الصحي تكاليف الرعاية الصحية، لكن ماذا لو كنت غير قادر على العمل لمدة طويلة؟ دخلك سيقل، وستجد نفسك في مشاكل مالية كبيرة، يقدم لك تأمين العجز دخلاً منتظمًا في حالة كنت عاجزًا عن العمل سواء بسبب إصابة أو مرض أو غير ذلك.

متى قد تحتاجه

من المستحيل تبنؤ متى ستحتاج إليه، يمكن أن يصيبك السوء حتى لو كنت صغيرًا في السن ومُعافى وعملك ليس محفوفًا بالخطر، لذلك من الأفضل أن تاخذ الحصول على هذا التأمين بعين الإعتبار، خذ بعين الإعتبار أيضًا ضُعف وضعك المالي بشكل عام، وفكر في كيف ستواجه نفاذ دخلك، راجع آخر دروسي "كيف تتعامل مع المرض كمستقل" لمزيد من المعلومات.

تأمين مسؤولية رب العمل Employers’ Liability Insurance

معروف أيضًا باسم

تعويضات العاملين Workers’ compensation

ماذا يغطي

إذا كنت توظف أناسًا آخرين في عملك فسيوفر هذا التأمين تغطية على أي إصابات قد تصيبهم، بالإضافة إلى العناية الطبية وكذلك تعويضات لدخلهم بينما هم عاجزون عن العمل.

متى ستحتاجه

لن يحتاج لهذا التأمين إن كنت تعمل وحيدًا، لكن إن بدأت التوسع وتوظيف اﻵخرين، فمن المهم جدًا أن تضمن حمايتهم، هذا شرط قانوني في بعض الولايات القضائية، لذلك تأكد من معرفتك للقوانين حيث تقطن.

تأمين التحقيق الوظيفي Tax Investigation Insurance

معروف أيضًا باسم

تأمين الحماية الضريبية

ماذا يغطي

الضرائب أمر معقد بالنسبة للمستقلين، فعلينا أن نصرح عن دخلنا عن طريق مصادر مختلفة وإضافة نفقاتنا بشكل دقيق والمطالبة بالخصومات الصحيحة في المجالات الصحيحة، وغير ذلك كثير، إذا حصل وتم التدقيق أو التحقيق في دخلك من قبل مصلحة الضرائب، ستكون العملية مؤلمة ومكلفةً أحيانًا، هنا يأتي دور بوليصة الحماية الضريبية حيث تحميك ضد تكاليف التعامل مع عملية تفتيش الضرائب.

متى ستحتاجه

الكل مُعرض للتحقيق، لكن راعي كيف أن أمورك المالية معقدة، إذا كان وضعك المالي سهلا وكنت تبقي على سجلات مالية باستمرار فلن يكون التحقيق الضريبي بتلك الصعوبة ولن يكون التأمين على ذلك ضروريًا، لكن كلما زاد حجم عملك وزادت أمورك المادية تعقيدًا كلما سيكون التعامل مع تحقيق ضريبي مكلفًا، إذا كنت ستحتاج إلى دفع مال كثير لمحاسب حتى يقوم بحل هذه المشكلة، فربما سيكون التأمين ذا فائدة.

الخطوات التالية

اﻵن أنت تفهم بعض أنواع بوليصات التأمين المتاحة لك كمستقل وتعرفت كذلك على بعض الحالات التي قد تحتاج فيها إلى كل بوليصة.

الخطوة التالية هي أن تملك صورة واضحة عن المخاطر التي تواجهك، أدرك المخاطر المعرضة لك، ثم بعدها تستطيع أن تقرر نوع التأمين المناسب لك للتعامل مع بعض أو كل هذه المخاطر.

بعدها ابحث عن بوليصة التأمين المناسبة لك، توجد في بعض الدول بوليصات تأمين موجهة خصوصًا للمستقلين، كذلك يوجد وسطاء متخصصون في مساعدة المستقلين، إن لم يكن هذا متوفرًا حيث تقطن ربما الأنسب لك أن تبحث عن بوليصات موجهة للشركات الصغيرة.

من الجيد مراجعة الجمعيات المهنية لمعرفة إن كانت تقدم منافع تأمينية، كثيرًا ما تكون هذه الجمعيات في موقف يتيح لها التفاوض على الأسعار المناسبة لأعضائها، فعلي سبيل المثال، أنا ككاتب مستقل بريطاني، أنا عضو في جمعية المؤلفين Society of Authors (والتي تكلف 95 جنيه إسترليني سنويًا)، كما أنني مؤهل لعروضهم التأمينية الخاصة للمقدمة للأعضاء، أستطيع الحصول على تأمين الحماية الضريبية مقابل 12 جنيهًا سنويًا فقط، وتأمين المسؤولية المدنية مقابل 16 جنيهًا، بالإضافة إلى تخفيضات على العديد من بوليصات التأمين الأخرى، صفقة رابحة! راجع ما هو متوفر في بلدك وصناعتك.

إذا وجدت أن أقساط التأمين عالية جدًا حتى بعد مقارنة مزودين عدة وراجعت الجمعيات المهنية، يمكنك حينها أن تقرأ سلسلة إدارة المخاطر، وتحقق إن وُجِدت طريقة أخرى يمكنك التعامل بها مع المخاطر على نحو فعال، فالتأمين في النهاية ليس الإستراتيجية الوحيدة في إدارة المخاطر، لكنك في حاجة إلى إيجاد استراتيجية ما، سواء بتقليل احتمالية حدوث الخطر أو تجنبه أو تقبله أو نقله، لكن رجاءً لا تتجاهله.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Freelance
Business

A Freelancer’s Guide to Insurance

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Freelance Financial Bootcamp.
A Freelancer’s Guide to Handling Debt Responsibly
A Freelancer’s Guide to Basic Bookkeeping

What kind of insurance do you need as a freelancer?

The answer can vary widely, depending on what type of business you’re in, what kind of clients you have, how much equipment you have, your financial situation, where you live, and a range of other factors.

Although I can’t tell you specifically what’s right for you, what I can do is lay out the options available to you, and give some examples of when each type of insurance could be useful.

So that’s exactly what I’m going to do in this tutorial. You’ll learn about different types of insurance, from professional liability insurance to property insurance, health insurance, and even specialized things like tax investigation insurance. By the end of the tutorial, you’ll have a clearer picture of the options available to you and how to choose between them.

But first, a word about risk.

What Are Your Risks?

Whenever you go into business, there’s a risk that something could go wrong. There are lots of risks, in fact, from a leaky roof destroying your equipment to a critical tweet getting you sued for libel.

Before you decide what type of insurance you need, the first step is to understand what risks you are exposed to. When you’re buying insurance, after all, what you’re really doing is transferring risk. You pay a premium, and in return the insurance company agrees to take on the risk of the lawsuit, the leaky roof, or whatever that policy covers.

I wrote a whole series about risk management for Tuts+, so check that out if you want to understand more about the topic. The super-condensed version is:

  • Understand all the risks you face.
  • Prioritize them in terms of likelihood and impact.
  • Come up with strategies for managing them.

Insurance is one strategy for managing risk, but it’s not the only one. You may choose to avoid the risk (by not engaging in a particular risky activity, for example), reduce the risk (perhaps by introducing more safeguards or contract clauses to make problems less likely to occur), or accept the risk (if it’s an item with low scores for “likelihood” and “impact”, and you’re OK just living with it).

When you’ve listed all your risks, prioritized them, and come up with strategies for managing them, then you’ll have a much clearer idea of what you need insurance for. Now you just need to understand what types of insurance are out there, and how they work. That’s what we’ll look at next.

Types of Insurance for Freelancers

There are so many different types of insurance out there, and the terms can be confusing. To make things worse, there are often several different terms for basically the same type of insurance. And to make things even more confusing, they’re often called different things in different countries.

So in this section, I’ll demystify some of the terminology, explaining how each one works and when you might need it.

Note that sometimes the types of policy given in “Also known as” may differ slightly in their details or levels of coverage. For example, a public liability insurance policy in the U.S. may protect you against lawsuits from the public, but not from vendors or investors—a general liability insurance policy often provides broader coverage. But I group them together because they cover essentially the same type of risk.

Professional Liability Insurance

Also Known As 

Indemnity insurance, errors and omissions insurance.

What it Covers 

Essentially, this type of insurance covers your mistakes. More specifically, it covers you against the expensive consequences of your mistakes, and potential lawsuits from angry clients. If you provide incomplete or shoddy work, fail to meet your contractual obligations, or provide a negligent service, you may get sued. This policy covers you up to a certain amount; as usual with insurance, the more coverage you get, the higher your premiums.

When You Might Need It

All freelancers should at least consider this type of insurance. Even if you only work with small clients and there doesn’t appear to be much money at stake, things can go wrong.

If you’re a wedding photographer or videographer, for example, you may get sued by an angry couple if they’re not happy with the results. If you’re coding or designing a website, you could be liable if the site doesn’t work as advertised and the client loses money as a result.

If you’re a designer, you could get sued if you use an image that’s subject to copyright. Remember that “HOPE” poster that became an unofficial symbol of Barack Obama’s campaign in his first run for the U.S. Presidency in 2008? It was also the subject of a compensation claim from the Associated Press.

General Liability Insurance

Also Known As 

Business liability insurance, commercial liability insurance, public liability insurance, or various combinations of the same words (e.g. commercial general liability insurance)!

What it Covers 

This covers things like an injury or property damage to someone else—it’s sometimes called “slip and fall” insurance.

When You Might Need It

This is particularly important if you have a lot of face-to-face contact with people, or have a lot of equipment or a commercial property.

For example, if you’re a photographer, and your light stand topples over and hits your portrait subject on the head, you’ve got a problem. If you’re a web designer and frequently invite clients over to your studio to work on a project, you could be liable if one of them gets injured on your premises.

Some general liability policies also protect against things like libel claims, so it’s also worth checking into it even if the above scenarios don’t apply. And some large clients may require you to have it.

Property Insurance

What it Covers 

This is a broad category covering damage to your business equipment. You may already have homeowners insurance, renters insurance, contents insurance or other policies that cover your stuff, but be careful: sometimes personal insurance policies don’t cover equipment used for business activities. Depending on your policy, you may need to at least let your insurance company know, or perhaps take out an entirely new policy for equipment you use for business.

When You Might Need It

As freelancers, we all have some equipment, even if it’s just a laptop and a phone. Think about what you’d do if that equipment got damaged or destroyed, and how you’d manage the risk. Of course, the more you rely on expensive equipment, the more worthwhile an insurance policy will be.

Auto Insurance

What it Covers 

This is the same vehicle insurance that you’re used to from your personal life. At the most basic level, it covers you for damage you cause to other people or property while driving. Comprehensive policies also cover things like fire and theft.

When You Might Need It

As with property insurance, you need to check whether you are covered by your existing policy if you use the vehicle a lot for business. You need to inform your insurance company, and may need to pay an additional premium or take out a specific business policy. Don’t assume you’re covered by your personal auto insurance.

Health Insurance

What it Covers 

I’m sure you know this one already. If you get sick, the insurance pays for private medical care.

When You Might Need It

Unless you live in a country with a comprehensive state healthcare system, this one is a must for freelancers. Company employees often get it as a benefit of employment, but freelancers don’t, so this is a major expense. It can be expensive, but it should definitely be a high priority for you to take out as soon as you can afford it. Otherwise, a single stroke of bad luck can put you out of business. Medical expenses are the number one cause of personal bankruptcy in the U.S.

Disability Insurance

Also Known As

Income protection insurance

What it Covers 

Health insurance may cover your medical expenses, but what if you’re left unable to work for a long period of time? Your income will dry up, and you’ll be in serious financial trouble. Disability insurance provides you with some regular payments if you’re unable to work because of injury, illness or other incapacity.

When You Might Need It

Honestly, this one is impossible to predict. Even if you’re young and healthy and not engaged in particularly risky work, the worst could still happen. So it’s worth at least considering this type of insurance. Also consider how fragile or secure your general financial position is, and how you’d cope if your income dried up. For more information on this, see my recent tutorial on dealing with illness as a freelancer.

Employers’ Liability Insurance

Also Known As

Workers’ compensation

What it Covers 

If you employ other people in your business, this form of insurance provides coverage for any injuries they may suffer, giving them medical care and compensation for lost income while they’re unable to work.

When You Might Need It

If you’re a solo operator, of course, this one doesn’t apply to you. But if you start to expand and take on employees, it’s important to ensure they’re protected. In many jurisdictions, it’s a legal requirement, so be sure you know the rules where you live.

Tax Investigation Insurance

Also Known As

Tax protection insurance

What it Covers 

Tax can be a complicated area for freelancers. We have to declare income from a range of different sources, add up our expenses accurately, claim the right deductions in the right areas, and lots more. If you get audited or investigated by the tax authorities, it can be a painful and sometimes expensive process. Tax investigation insurance offers protection against the costs of dealing with a tax inspection.

When You Might Need It

Anyone can get investigated, of course, but consider how complicated your affairs are. If your situation is simple and you keep good records, an investigation may be relatively painless, and this insurance may not be necessary for you. But the larger and more complicated your business and financial affairs become, the more costly it could be to deal with an audit. If you’d have to pay an accountant lots of money to help you sort the mess out, it’s probably worth considering insurance.

Next Steps

So now you understand some of the main types of insurance available to you as a freelancer, and you’ve seen some situations in which you might need each kind.

The next step is to get clear on your risks, if you haven’t already. Understand clearly what risks you’re exposed to, and then you can decide whether insurance is the right option for managing some or all of those risks.

Then shop around for the right insurance product for you. In some countries, there are particular policies aimed at freelancers, or brokers that specialize in helping freelancers. In other cases, you may have to go with something aimed more at small businesses.

It’s well worth checking professional associations to see if they offer any insurance benefits. Often they are in a position to negotiate favourable rates for their members. For example, as a British freelance writer, I am a member of the Society of Authors (which costs £95 a year), and so I qualify for their special insurance offers for members. I can get tax protection insurance for just £12 a year, public liability insurance for £16 a year, and discounts on lots of other types of insurance. Bargain! See what’s available in your country and your industry.

If you find that the premiums are too high, even after you’ve compared several different providers and checked professional associations, then return to the risk management series, and consider if there’s any other way you can deal with the risk effectively. Insurance, after all, is not the only risk management strategy. But you do need to have some strategy in place. Reduce the risk, avoid it, accept it, or transfer it. Just please don’t ignore it.

Resources

Graphic Credit: Insured icon designed by CO. Department of Health Care Policy and Financing from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.