Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Diversity

10 ميزات رئيسية لدعم التنوع في مشروعك

Scroll to top
Read Time: 9 mins
This post is part of a series called How to Improve Diversity in Your Business (Essential Guide).
What Are the Important Dimensions of Workplace Diversity?

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

التنوع في العمل موضوع مثير حاليا. هناك مكافآت للتنوع وعمليات مسح حول التنوع، كما قامت العديد من الحكومات بتضمين أو دعم التنوع وتشريع المساواة لضمان تكافؤ الفرص في مكان العمل.

لكن لماذا عليك بالضبط دعم التنوع في مشروعك الخاص؟ لنتحدث بصراحة، ما هي الفائدة المرجوة من ذلك بالنسبة لك؟

الكثير، كما يبدو. هناك كمية متزايدة من الأبحاث التي تدل على أن المشاريع الحاوية على تنوع أكبر بالقوى العاملة ستؤدي أداء أفضل من كافة المعايير، من الحصول على مال أكثر إلى القدرة على الابتكار بشكل أكبر.

في الحقيقة، في هذه المقالة، ستتعلم 10 طرق رئيسية يمكن لمشروعك الاستفادة بها من وجود المزيد من القوى العاملة المتنوعة. سأتطرق لبعض الأمثلة لأبين لك لماذا، وذلك على مدى أكبر من مجرد "أنه أمر جيد يجب القيام به"، كما أن هناك حالة قوية من العمل لزيادة التنوع.

دعم التنوع في مشروعك أسهل نظريا وتحقيقه أصعب، وفي مواضع لاحقة من هذه السلسلة، سنتطرق لكيفية تحقيق التنوع. لكن حاليا، دعنا نركز على كلمة لماذا.

Why promote diversity in your businessWhy promote diversity in your businessWhy promote diversity in your business
لماذا عليك دعم التنوع في مشروعك؟ (مصدر صورة)

(بالمناسبة، "التنوع" قد يعني العديد من المواضيع المختلفة. سنتطرق لهذه المواضيع في المقالة التالية، لكن حاليا، دعنا نتذكر أن لها الكثير من الأبعاد – قد تكون بخصوص العمر، العرق، الجنس، الميل الجنسي، الدين، الجنسية، الإعاقة، وغيرها.)

1. الحصول على المزيد من المال

لنبدأ من الأساس. لنعبر عن الأمر ببساطة، بينت الدراسات أن الشركات ذات تنوع قوى العمل الأكبر قادرة على الحصول على المزيد من المال. الكثير من المال، حقيقة. 

على سبيل المثال، وجد البحث الذي أجراه مكينزي أن الشركات في الربع الأعلى من ناحية التنوع العرقي والقومي 35% أكثر احتمالا للحصول على عائد مالي فوق المتوسط. من ناحية التنوع الجنسي، كان الرقم 15%. وكانت الشركات في الربع الأدنى من ناحية التنوع أقل احتمالا لتحقيق نتائج فوق الوسط.

وجد البحث في الولايات المتحدة أنه من أجل كل زيادة بنسبة 10% في التنوع العرقي والقومي في الفريق التنفيذي الأعلى، ارتفع العائد قبل الفوائد والضرائب (EBIT) بنسبة 0.8%. كانت هذه الزيادة أكبر (3.5%) في المملكة المتحدة.

اذا كنت صاحب مشروع، فأنت تعلم مدى صعوبة تحريك الدخل في ملفات عملك. لذا فنتائج كهذه هي حتما نتائج ذات معنى.

وتذكر بأن بحث مكينزي هو عبارة عن مثال واحد فقط. هناك العديد من الدراسات الأخرى التي توصلت لنتائج مماثلة. ألق نظرة على تقرير كاتاليست هذا للحصول على ملخص جيد لأبحاث من حول العالم، ركزت غالبتها على التنوع الجنسي، حيث أظهرت مرارا وتكرارا أن الشركات ذات التنوع الأكبر تميل للتفوق في أدائها على المنافسين.

2. المزيد من الابتكار

من المزايا الأخرى: يميل الفريق الأكثر تنوعا لكونه أكثر ابتكارا. وجدت دراسة في ديلويت أنه عندما يعتقد الموظفون "أن منظمتهم ملتزمة وداعمة للتنوع ويشعرون أنهم مضمنون،" هناك زيادة بنسبة 83% بقدرتهم على الابتكار.

هذا منطقي، على كل حال. تميل الأفكار الجديدة للظهور عندما يواجه الناس آراء مختلفة ويجبرون على إعادة التفطير بفرضياتهم. إذا كنت راغبا بكونك على حدود التطور، فوجود العديد من الموظفين الذين يفكرون بالطريقة نفسها ليس وصفة جيدة.

هل ترغب بالمزيد من الأدلة؟ وجدت هذه الدراسة لفترة 30 سنة حول براءات الاختراع في صناعة تكنولوجيا المعلومات في الولايات المتحدة أن الفرق المكونة من مزيج من الرجال والنساء قد أنتجت براءات اختراع حصلت على شهادات من قبل باحثين آخرين بنسبة 30-40% أكثر من الوسطي (تستخدم الشهادات أحيانا كمدلول لقيمة البحث). استنتجت الدراسة أنه من الممكن أن تكون "الأصالة والتفكير المتنوع" المسؤولين عن ذلك، على الرغم من ضرورة المزيد من البحث لتأكيد هذا السبب.

3. اتخاذ قرارات أفضل

كما أشار المدير التنفيذي لتويتر جاك دورسي في احتفال غريس هوبر للنساء في مجال الحوسبة 2015:

"في كل مرة تجلب فيها منظورا متنوعا، فإنه يقوم بتوليد مجموعة من الإمكانيات لم تكن تتوقعها فعليا."

يمكن أن يقود هذا لقرارات أفضل، حيث تحصل على فائدة وجود شريحة واسعة من وجهات النظر والخبرات. يلقي بحث مذهل من جامعة الشمال الغربي المزيد من الضوء على هذا الموضوع. وجد الباحثون أن:

"مجرد وجود التنوع في مجموعة يؤدي لتوليد شعور بالغرابة، وتؤدي الحاجة لإلغاء هذا التوتر إلى حل المجموعة للمشاكل بشكل أفضل."

في هذه الدراسة، أعطيت مجموعات من الطلاب مهمات لإكمالها. كانت بعض المجموعات متجانسة (كان كامل الطلاب من نفس أخويات الشباب أو البنات)، بينما كان في مجموعات أخرى "وافد جديد" من أخوية مختلفة. شعرت المجموعات الأكثر تجانسا بالمزيد من الثقة بقرارهم الجماعي لكنهم كانوا مخطئين غالبا. أما المجموعات التي استفادت من وجهة نظر خارجية فقد أكملت المهمات بدقة أعلى بكثير.

4. توسعة حوض المهارات

قد يكون توظيف الشخص المناسب أمرا صعبا. فمشروعك بحاجة لمجموعة معينة من المهارات، وإيجاد الناس الذين يمتلكونها، والمتوافرين للعمل، والذين يعيشون في المنطقة المناسبة والذين يتمتعون بالشخصية والتحفيز المناسبين للانضمام لشركتك أمر ليس بالسهل.

تخيل الآن أنك أقصيت نصف المهارات المتوافرة. كم ستزداد صعوبة إيجاد الناس المتمتعين بالمهارات التي تلزمك؟

هذا بالضبط ما تقوم به العديد من الشركات عندما تقوم بتوظيف الرجال فقط في المناصب المهمة. كما يقومون بإنقاص خياراتهم بشكل أكبر عندما يستقصون الناس مثليي الجنس، الناس المعاقين، الناس أصحاب خلفيات عرقية أو قومية معينة، وهكذا.

(لاحظ أنني عندما أقول "يستقصون"، لا أعني بالضرورة بشكل علني وواع. قد تضع بضعة شركات حاليا علامات تقول أن مجموعات محددة غير مرحب بها. لكن لو كان مكان العمل لديك لا يؤمن الوصول للناس ذوي الإعاقة، فأنت تستقصيهم فرضيا. من السهل استقصاء مجموعات أخرى دون قصد أيضا. سنتطرق لهذا الموضوع لاحقا في السلسلة.)

وكما شرح لوك فيسكونتي، المدير التنفيذي لدايفرسيتي إنك، على قناة CNBC:

"إذا كان الناس قد خلقوا متساوين، فمن المنطقي افتراض أن المهارات قد خلقت بالتساوي. هل يمكنك اختيار مهارة من مجموعة متجانسة لإدارة شركة بشكل جيد؟"

5. زبون أكثر سعادة

احزر ماذا؟ زبائنك متنوعين أيضا. فهم كبار وصغار، وهم من دول ومجموعات قومية مختلفة، وهكذا. لذا ألا ينبغي على قواك العاملة أن تعكس هذا التنوع؟

إذا كنت مناصرا للتنوع، فقد يكون لذلك منافع مهمة من ناحية رضى الزبون وحتى المبيعات. وجدت دراسة في صناعة الأزياء أن النساء السود في كندا والولايات المتحدة كن أكثر بمرة ونصف رغبة بشراء منتج على الموضة إذا قامت عارضة سوداء بالترويج له. النساء البيض كن ميالات للشراء، بغض النظر عن عرق العارضة. ذكرت المشاركات البيض: "يعتقدون أن العلامة تدعم القيم التي يطمحون لها، مثل التقوية والتضمين."

6. تحسين الجذب والاحتفاظ بالطاقم

وجود سمعة التضمين لديك أمر مساعد على جذب الموظفين والاحتفاظ بهم. انظر لهذا المسح من شركة التوظيف غلاسدور، الذي وجد أن 67% من الناس قالوا أن "القوى العاملة المتنوعة كانت عاملا مهما عند تقييم الشركات وعروض العمل." وجد المسح ذاته أن أكثر من نصف الموظفين يعتقدون أن على مشغليهم القيام بالمزيد من الجهد لزيادة التنوع في القوى العاملة.

على الرغم من أن المستويات كانت أعلى لمجموعات الأقلية التي ستستفيد من هكذا سياسات، إلا أن التنوع كن عاملا مهما لكافة الناس من مختلف الخلفيات. بالرغم من أن الكثير من الذكور البيض أصحاب الميول الجنسية العادية سيشعرون بالتهديد من مبادرات التنوع، إلا أن الآخرين يرحبون بها. من خلال دعم التنوع، ستجذب ناس موهوبين يشاركون هذه القيم.

7. الوعي للميول في الديموغرافيات المختلفة

من الضروري أن يكن المشروع قادرا على فهم وتوقع حاجات الزبون. لكن كما رأينا سابقا، زبائنك مجموعة متنوعة من الناس. هل تفهم كل حاجاتهم؟

إذا كانت لديك قوة عاملة تعكس التنوع في قاعدة زبائنك، ستكون واعيا على الأغلب بما هو مهم لهم وستكون قادرا على التسويق بفاعلية أكبر.

وغالبا ما ستكون قادرا على عدم الإساءة لهم. دائما ما تجذب الأعمال عناوين سيئة في الصحف بخصوص عد الحساسية للثقافات – اتهمت شركة جين كندية، على سبيل المثال، عام 2016 باستخدام كاريكاتور غير دقيق لشعب إنيويت في تسويقها.

إذا ضمنت ناسا من خلفيات متنوعة في مشروعك، ستكون أقل عرضة لمشاكل التسويق الصماء المحرجة، وأكثر احتمالا للتحدث مع زبائنك بصوت يفهموه ويحترموه.

8. تحسين سمعتك

تعيش الشركات من مختلف الأحجام وتموت وفقا لسمعتها. إذا حفزت علامة شركتك مشاعر إيجابية في قاعدة زبائنك، سيكونون أكثر رغبة في الشراء منك، وغالبا ستحصل على المزيد من المال.

هل ترغب بكونك معروفا بأنك اكثر تضمينا وأنك فزت بجوائز تنوع، أو بأنك قديم الطراز ومستقص؟ أحيانا، قد تحصل الشركات على انتباه سلبي من الإعلام لقلة التنوع فيها، كما حصل في الصناعات التقنية – للمزيد، ألق نظرة على المقال التالي:

بدلا من الحصول على عناوين سلبية، لم لا تضع عملك في مقدمة التنوع، وتحسن سمعتك؟

مرة أخرى، هناك بعض العلم خلف هذا. وجدت دراسة في 2009 منشورة في مجلة دراسات الإدارة "هناك علاقة إيجابية بين التنوع العرقي في الإدارة وكلا من سمعة الشركة وإبداعها." هذا ما ساعد بدوره على تحسين الأداء في الشركات ذات التنوع الأكبر في مجالس إدارتها.

9. تجنب الدعاوي القضائية

من بين كافة أسباب دعم التنوع في العمل، قد يكون هذا السبب أسوأها. الخوف من المقاضاة ليس حافزا جيدا لاتخاذ قرارات العمل، خاصة عندما تكون هناك العديد من الحوافز الإيجابية.

لكن تهديد المقاضاة أمر واقعي جدا. في الولايات المتحدة، تلقت مفوضية تكافؤ فرص التوظيف 91503 تهمة للتمييز في أماكن العمل في 2016.

كما ذكرت في المقدمة، تمتلك العديد من الدول قوانين تكافؤ الفرص في كتبها، وبعض الدول دعمت أو وسعت هذه القوانين في السنوات الأخيرة. الدعم الفعال للتنوع في إجراءات التوظيف لديك وفي كل جانب من جوانب مشروعك طريقة عظيمة لضمان التزامك بهذه القوانين.

لا يمكنك إلغاء خطر المقاضاة بشكل نهائي، طبعا. لكن بعرضك التزاما صادقا بالتنوع، يمكنك تقليل فرص وجود موظف، متقدم لعمل أو زبون يشعر بالتمييز ضده، كما تعطي نفسك الفرصة بالدفاع الجيد عن نفسك في أي قضية قد تتعرض لها.

10. إنه الأمر الصحيح الذي يجب القيام به!

كما رأيت في هذا الدليل التدريبي، هناك العديد من أسباب العمل المتينة لدعم التنوع في مشروعك. لكن إضافة لكونك صاحب عمل، فأنت إنسان أيضا، وأغلبنا يرغب بالقيام بما هو صحيح. لذا لم لا تقوم بمساهمة إيجابية لمجتمعك بتحسين الدعم؟

قد تحصل زيادة التنوع أحيانا على إعلام سيء، حيث قد يقول البعض أنها تهدف لتفضيل مجموعات معينة أو نوع مقيد من "الإصلاح السياسي". إذا تم تنفيذ استراتيجية التنوع بشكل ضعيف، قد تكون هذه الانتقادات صالحة أحيانا – قد تتحول لمجرد نشاط مشابه لوضع علامة صح في المربع الصحيح أو نظام توزيع حصص غير معقد.

لكن هذه الحالات نادرة، ولا تنطبق على التنوع ككل. في بقية هذه السلسلة، ستتعلم كيفية تحسين التنوع بطريقة مناسبة لمشروعك. عندما تقوم به بهذه الطريقة، لن يكون هناك أي ظلم أو تقييد بخصوصه – بل على العكس تماما.

ببساطة، التنوع قائم على منح كل شخص فرصة عادلة. فهو يعني ترحيب مشروعك وانفتاحه على كافة أشكال الناس. يعني دعم الكفاءة. يعني معاملة الناس كأفراد والنظر لما هو أكثر من الاختلافات السطحية. من لا يريد القيام بذلك؟

لذا على الرغم من أنني بدأت هذه المقالة بالقول أن هناك العديد من الأسباب لدعم التنوع أكثر من "القيام بما هو صحيح"، سأنهي بقولي أنه الأمر الصحيح للقيام به، وهو سبب جيد للقيام بذلك أيضا.

خلاصة

في هذه المقالة، اطلعت على عشرة أسباب جيدة للبدء بزيادة التنوع في قواك العاملة اليوم.

لكن كما أشرت في المقالة، تحقيق قوة عمل أكثر تنوعا موضوع أصعب مما يبدو عليه. لكي تبدأ، يجب أن تكون واعيا للعديد من الأبعاد المختلفة للتنوع – أمور مثل العرق والجنس قد تبدو واضحة، لكنه متعلق أيضا بالعمر، الميل الجنسي، الدين، الإعاقة، وغيرها.

قد يلزمك القيام بالمزيد من التغييرات في طرق التوظيف لديك بهدف الوصول لناس من خلفيات متنوعة، ومن ثم قد تضطر للنظر بجدية لثقافة مكان العمل لديك والقيام بالتغييرات لضمان أن الوافدين الجدد سيشعرون بالترحيب وسيرغبون بالبقاء. ولا تنسى قواك العاملة الموجودة أصلا – قد يلزمهم المزيد من التدريب أو المساعدة لتخطي أي تحديات قد تظهر من هكذا نوعية من التغييرات التي قد تقوم بها.

سنلقي نظرة على كل هذه المواضيع في بقية هذه السلسلة، لذا من فضلك ألق نظرة أخرى قريبا، أو سجل برسائلنا الإخبارية لكي يتم إبلاغك بآخر الإضافات في مكتبتنا المجانية لتدريبات العمل.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Business tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Diversity
Business

10 Key Advantages of Promoting Diversity in Your Business

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Improve Diversity in Your Business (Essential Guide).
What Are the Important Dimensions of Workplace Diversity?

Diversity in business is a hot topic right now. There are diversity awards and diversity surveys, and governments in many countries have implemented or strengthened diversity and equality legislation to ensure equal opportunity in the workplace.

But why exactly should you promote diversity in your own business? To put it bluntly, what’s in it for you?

Plenty, as it turns out. There’s a growing body of research indicating that businesses with more diverse workforces perform better on a whole range of measures, from making more money to being more innovative.

In fact, in this article, you’ll learn ten key ways in which your business can benefit from having a more diverse workforce. I'll go through some and examples to show you why, beyond just being a “good thing to do”, there's also a strong business case for increasing diversity.

Promoting diversity in your business is easier said than done, and later in this series, we’ll look at how to do it effectively. But for now, let’s concentrate on the why.

Why promote diversity in your business
Why promote diversity in your business? (photo source)

(By the way, “diversity” can mean a lot of different things. We’ll look at those in more detail in the next article, but for now, just keep in mind that it has a variety of dimensions—it can be about age, race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, nationality, disability, and more.)

1. Make More Money

Let’s start with the bottom line. To put it simply, studies have shown that companies with more diverse workforces make more money. Quite a lot more money, in fact.

For example, research by McKinsey found that companies in the top quartile for racial and ethnic diversity are 35% more likely to have above-average financial returns. For gender diversity, that number is 15%. And companies in the bottom quartile for diversity were less likely to achieve above-average results.

In the U.S., the research found that for every 10% increase in racial and ethnic diversity on the senior-executive team, earnings before interest and taxes (EBIT) rose 0.8%. That increase was even higher (3.5%) in the U.K.

If you’re a business owner, you know how hard it is to move the needle on your profits. So results like this are definitely significant.

And remember that this McKinsey research is just one example. There are plenty of other studies that have come to similar conclusions. Check out this Catalyst report for a good summary of research from around the world, mostly focused on gender diversity, showing again and again that more diverse companies tend to outperform their competitors.

2. More Innovation

Another key advantage: more diverse teams tend to be more innovative. A Deloitte study found that when employees “think their organisation is committed to and supportive of diversity and they feel included,” there’s an 83% increase in their ability to innovate.

It makes sense, after all. New ideas tend to come about when people are confronted by different opinions and forced to rethink their assumptions. If you want to be on the cutting edge, having lots of employees who think the same way is not a good recipe.

Want more evidence? This 30-year study of U.S. patents in the IT industry found that teams with a mixture of men and women produce patents that get cited by other researchers 30-40% more often than average (citations are often used as an indicator of value in research). The study concludes that it’s possible that “originality and diverse thinking” are responsible, although more research is necessary to prove the causation.

3. Better Decision-Making

As Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey remarked at the 2015 Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing:

“Any time you bring together diverse perspectives, it just creates a bunch of potential that you weren’t really expecting.”

That can lead to better decisions, as you get the benefit of a wide array of viewpoints and experiences. Some fascinating research from Northwestern University sheds further light on why that is. The authors found that:

“The mere presence of diversity in a group creates awkwardness, and the need to diffuse this tension leads to better group problem solving.”

In the study, groups of students were given tasks to complete. Some groups were homogenous (all the students were from the same fraternity or sorority), while others had a “newcomer” from a different fraternity or sorority. The more homogenous groups felt more confident in their collective decisions but were more often wrong. Those that benefited from an outsider’s fresh perspective completed the tasks with far greater accuracy.

4. Expanded Talent Pool

Hiring the right employees can be tough. Your business needs a certain set of skills, and finding people who possess those skills, who are available to work, who live in the right area and who also have the right personality and motivation to join your company is tricky.

Now imagine that you exclude half of the available talent. How much harder would it be to find the people with the skills you need?

That’s exactly what many companies are doing when they hire only men for key positions. They cut their options even further when they exclude gay people, disabled people, people of certain racial and ethnic backgrounds, and so on.

(Note that when I say “exclude”, I don’t necessarily mean in an overt, conscious way. Few firms these days would put up a sign saying that certain groups are not welcome. But if you have a workplace that’s not accessible to people with disabilities, you’ve excluded them by default. It’s easy to exclude other groups without intending to, as well. We’ll look at that later in the series.)

As Luke Visconti, CEO of DiversityInc, explained to CNBC:

“If people are created equal, then it is logical to assume that talent is created equally. Can you select enough talent from a homogeneous group to run a company well?"

5. Happier Customers

Guess what? Your customers are diverse too. They are old and young, they are from different countries and ethnic groups, and so on. So shouldn’t your workforce reflect that diversity?

If you champion diversity, it can have important benefits in customer satisfaction and even sales. One study of the fashion industry found that black women in Canada and the U.S. were 1.5 times more likely to purchase a fashion product advertised by a black model. White women were just as likely to purchase, regardless of the race of the model. The white participants said: “they believed the brand upheld the values they aspired to, such as empowerment and inclusion.”

6. Improved Attraction and Retention of Staff

Having a reputation for inclusiveness can also help you attract and retain employees. Consider this survey by recruiting firm Glassdoor, which found that 67% of people said a “diverse workforce was an important factor when evaluating companies and job offers.” The same survey found that more than half of employees think their employer should be doing more to increase the diversity of its workforce. 

While the rates were higher for the minority groups who would benefit from such policies, diversity was an important factor for people from all backgrounds. Although some heterosexual white males may feel threatened by diversity initiatives, many others welcome them. By promoting diversity, you’re attracting talented people who share those values.

7. Awareness of Trends for Different Demographics

It’s key in business to be able to understand and anticipate your customers’ needs. But as we saw earlier, your customers are a diverse bunch of people. Do you understand all of their needs?

If you have a workforce that reflects the diversity of your customer base, you’re more likely to be aware of what’s important to them and to be able to market to them effectively.

You’re also more likely not to offend them. Businesses are attracting bad headlines all the time for cultural insensitivity—a Canadian gin company, for example, was accused in 2016 of using inaccurate caricatures of Inuit people in its marketing.

If you include people from diverse backgrounds within your business, you’re less likely to come up with tone-deaf marketing clangers, and more likely to speak to your customers in a voice that they understand and respect.

8. Improve Your Reputation

Companies of any size live and die by their reputation. If your firm’s brand provokes positive feelings among your customer base, they’re more likely to buy from you, and you’re more likely to make money.

Would you rather be known for being inclusive and winning diversity awards, or for being old-fashioned and exclusionary? Sometimes, companies can get negative media attention for their lack of diversity, as happened in the tech industry—for more, see the following articles:

Instead of getting negative headlines, why not put your business on the cutting edge of diversity, and improve your reputation?

Again, there’s some science behind this. A 2009 study in the Journal of Management Studies found “a positive relationship between board racial diversity and both firm reputation and innovation.” That, in turn, helped to drive improved performance by companies with diverse boards of directors.

9. Avoid Litigation

Of all the reasons to promote diversity in your business, this is perhaps the worst one. Being afraid of getting sued is not a great motive for making a business decision, especially when there are so many positive ones out there.

The threat of litigation, however, is very real. In the U.S., the Equal Opportunity Employment Commission received 91,503 charges of workplace discrimination in 2016.

As I mentioned in the introduction, many countries have equal opportunity laws on the books, and some countries have strengthened or extended those laws in recent years. Actively promoting diversity in your hiring practices and in every aspect of your business is a great way to ensure you comply with all the laws.

You can never eliminate the risk of litigation, of course. But by demonstrating a genuine commitment to diversity, you can reduce the chances of having an employee, applicant or customer feel that they’ve been discriminated against, and you also give yourself a better chance of successfully defending any case that is brought.

10. It's the Right Thing to Do!

As you’ve seen in this tutorial, there are plenty of solid business reasons to promote diversity in your business. But as well as being a businessperson, you’re also a human being, and most of us like to do the right thing. So why not make a positive contribution to your society by improving diversity?

Increasing diversity sometimes gets bad press, with people claiming it’s about favouritism for particular groups or a restrictive kind of “political correctness”. If a diversity strategy is implemented poorly, those can sometimes be valid criticisms—it can become little more than a box-checking exercise or an unsophisticated quota system.

But those cases are rare, and they don’t apply to diversity as a whole. In the rest of this series, you’ll learn how to improve diversity the right way in your business. When you do it that way, there’s nothing unfair or restrictive about it—quite the opposite.

Quite simply, diversity is about giving everyone a fair chance. It’s about making your business welcoming and open to all kinds of people. It’s about meritocracy. It’s about treating people as individuals and seeing past the surface differences. Who wouldn’t want to do that?

So although I started this article by saying there are more reasons to increase diversity than just feeling it’s the “right thing to do”, I’m ending it by saying that it is the right thing to do, and that’s a good reason for doing it too.

Conclusion

In this article, you’ve seen ten good reasons to start increasing the diversity within your workforce today.

But as I’ve alluded to within the article, achieving a more diverse workforce is harder than it sounds. To start, you have to be aware of the many different dimensions of diversity—things like race and gender may spring to mind, but it’s also about age, sexual orientation, religion, disability, and more.

You may also have to make a lot of changes to your hiring practices in order to reach out to people from more diverse backgrounds, and then you may need to look seriously at your workplace culture and make changes to ensure that your new arrivals feel welcome and want to stay. And don't forget your existing workforce either—they may need more training or help to overcome any challenges that come from the changes you make.

We’ll look at all of these topics in the rest of this series, so please check back soon, or subscribe to our newsletter to be notified of the latest additions to our library of free business tutorials.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.