Unlimited PowerPoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Careers

如何每天都按时下班 (不管发生什么)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Laura (you can also view the original English article)

你经常在办公室呆到很晚吗?你可能会认为这是一个富有成效的和事业进步的事情。但实际上, 你不必牺牲自己的个人生活来成为一个有效率的员工。

盖洛普2014年对1000多名美国雇员的调查显示, 其中10人里有4个每周工作超过50小时。许多员工还会在下班后回复电子邮件和电话。

Always at work
如果看起来你总是在工作, 统计表明并不只是你一个人。(图片来源: Envato Elements)

但忙碌并不总是等于生产率。事实上, 《经济学人》对经济合作与发展组织 (经合组织) 国家的研究表明, 投入更多工作时间的国家的生产效率反而较低。

虽然灵活的工作计划和与无具体地点的工作让更多的员工可以控制工作地点和工作时间, 但同样这种灵活性会阻止许多员工在上班时中断或结束工作。

不加遏制地, 这种始终在线的工作态度总是把那些可以满足你的身体和精神的活动切成了碎片。社交聚会, 锻炼, 你的个人时间, 甚至你需要照顾你的家人和办事的时间, 虽然不是故意的, 但却常常被推到一边, 因为我们许多人很难按时下班。

在本教程中, 你将发现如何始终按时下班, 并仍然可以完成工作。按时下班可以为那些重要的个人任务留出时间。

一个能平衡工作和生活的员工的思维模式和习惯

本指南将向你展示如何用较少的时间完成更多工作, 以及为什么每周工作40个小时以上不会提高效率。

阅读这篇文章也会帮助你养成关于工作时间, 以及它如何与你的效率和福利相联系的正确思维模式,。在实践中, 在家办公你将不再感到有压力, 或者不会因为按时下班而内疚。

1. 每日清单的开始和结束

你有过一整天没有完成任何重要的事情吗?当你没有清单任务时,生活, 就像工作一样, 发生在你身上。

清单可以让你掌控你的一天时间, 这样一来你就不会被卷入收件箱, 琐事, 和去满足周围人的需要之中。

每日清单开始事项示例

1. 计划你的一天。拿出备忘簿或者日历坐下来, 决定那些完成了将会使你的一天都很圆满的任务。 把重要的任务放在优先地位, 这将会促进你的目标, 但是考虑每天的时间有限, 你要完成的工作得是切实可行的。

2. 锻炼。让你的心跳加速。 在上班前锻炼, 会降低你的压力水平, 让你精力充沛, 这样你在一天的开始就不会感到无精打采。

3. 小心注意力分散。在别人打扰你之前就避开“已知干扰”。 如果你有一个健谈的同事, 用买一个好耳机的方式巧妙地告诉他们你很忙。如果你邻近同事坚持聊天, 你也可以找另一个地方坐。

来源内在的分心, 比如需要喝杯咖啡, 检查一下 Facebook, 或者使用手机, 作为你工作时间的奖励。例如, 你可以与自己做一个交易, 如果你在上午10点之前完成一项任务, 就可以跑去自动贩卖机前买点零食。 这个 "如果-然后" 奖励机制会让你的大脑把来源内在的分心看成是在你掌控的某种东西, 而不是把它们当作不可避免的时间浪费。

4. 评估会议,在可能的情况下拒绝。阅读会议议程, 看看是否需要你的出席, 或者是否是为了不让任何人离开而被邀请的观察员。 如果主题与您的任务无关, 请礼貌地拒绝, 或者推荐一个可以更好为此做出贡献的同事。如果你必须去, 设立会议任务, 并在明确截止时间内完成。

有些会议是每周完成的, 并由不同的小组组成, 所以如果是这样的话, 你可以参加与你相关的会议, 一旦谈话中在你的范围之外就可以失陪了。

每日清单结束事项

把这看成是一个逐步结束工作的事项, 让你自己和你的同事们知道你即将在几分钟内下班。

  • 保存你正在处理的所有文档, 并关闭浏览器上的所有选项卡。
  • 回顾完成的任务, 并注意需要列入明天议程的未决项目。
  • 回顾哪些工作进展顺利, 哪些出了问题, 以及可以做些什么来避免将来出现同样的问题。
  • 是否有几天都没做的任务?把它分解成可管理的工作块。
  • 可选项: 为明天创造一个容易搞定的任务。
  • 关机, 整理办公桌。

2. 设置不可妥协的下班时间

当你的同事们还在努力工作时, 很难按时下班。雇主的公司文化可能会让你觉得按时回家会影响你的职业生涯。

按时下班不是罪过, 也不是特权。除非你的工作合同规定你必须定期加班, 否则没人能阻止你回家。 早点下班并不意味着你工作得比同事少。这只是一个感知问题。

重构关于下班时间的想法或感觉。不要想着你在 "下班", 而是想着下一步你要做什么, 把你的注意力转移到其他和工作一样重要的任务上。

例如:

  • "我和我的朋友们有个活动。"
  • "我要回家做饭和我的家人吃晚饭。"
  • "我要去健身房, 因为锻炼使我身体健康."

更好的是, 在你戒烟后立即安排预约, 迫使自己走出家门。

完成重要任务, 这样你就不会被迫加班了。

当然, 如果你没有完成任何重要的任务, 上面的所有策略都不会有效。如果你要交付的报告没有完成, 你的经理不会允许你提早下班。 如果你在浪费时间, 那会使你无法完成工作。下面的策略将帮助你优先考虑哪些事项, 而不是将时间浪费在非必需的任务上。

3. 优先级

下面是确定任务优先级的简单方法:

1. 列出当天的所有任务。不要担心列表或者命令中的项目数量, 在决定后它就会被完成的。

2. 确定紧急、重要、紧急且重要的任务。紧急任务是那些需要你立即注意的事情, 比如在一天结束时候或早应完成的项目。 重要的任务是那些为你的职业目标做出贡献的事, 或者没有完成对你、你的老板或公司会有严重的后果。

不紧急的任务可能会在第二天被取消或委派给其他人。只专注于完成紧急且重要的任务, 然后继续完成紧急任务。

3. 评估任务对您的职业和雇主的价值。有时候, 你的所有任务都是紧急的、或者紧急且重要的, 这使得你很难选择一个任务。 这是帮助为特定项目分配值或权重的时候。

在大多数情况下, 客户的任务比内部工作更重要, 因为这些客户付钱给你的雇主并有一定的期望。一般来说, 高价值的任务会影响更多的人, 公司的收入和声誉。

4. 减少不重要的任务。要么以后再做, 找一种方法自动化方法解决他们, 要么将它们委派给其他人。

根据如上方法立项你的列表, 然后只关注高利益和紧急项目进行工作。当你有额外的时间时去做繁忙的工作, 或者是在一些日子里, 当你投身做更深入、更复杂的工作之前, 做个热身任务会让事情更容易。

4. 重新集中精力

设置闹钟, 每90分钟响一次。当它响时, 站起来深呼吸排出浊气, 或者在办公室里走动几分钟来清醒头脑。这样做三到五分钟。

利用这段时间来评估你目前的工作情况。你是否高效度过了最后一个小时, 或者是你老板发的电子邮件分散了你的注意力? 不管怎样, 用这个短暂的休息时间来重新校准你的工作清单, 并保证把注意力集中在接下来的90分钟内你将要做的事情上。

每工作90分钟就停下来, 并不浪费时间。做的好的话, 这个快速的五分钟的休息会阻止你胡思乱想或走神, 即使你正在做某件事, 这种事有时也会发生。 它还可以帮助你后退一步, 在你分心之后集中精力到重要事情上。

5. 开始就好

开始是最难做的事情, 但是当你做的时候, 它会变得更容易。斯坦福大学研究员 B.J.Fogg 围绕这个概念创造了微小习惯计划。 根据他的计划, 如果你只是专注于初始步骤, 开始一个习惯 (或工作中的任何任务) 不需要是意志的战斗。设置低杆是最简单的方法, 以消除你对不想做的工作的任何摩擦。

例如, 不要强迫自己阅读整篇视频拍摄的创意简报, 告诉自己, 只要阅读一个段落-如果你喜欢, 哪怕一个句子也是可以的。Fogg 的实验表明, 一旦你开始, 你就更有可能继续下去。

6. 停止尝试多线任务

不管你怎么想, 你的大脑并不擅长多任务处理。加利福尼亚大学欧文分校的一项研究发现, 一个人在切换任务后重新集中注意力平均需要23分钟。 多任务可能会让你感到高效, 但切换你正在做的事情会减慢你的速度, 影响你工作的质量。

但并非所有分心或任务切换都是坏的。这项研究指出, 如果分心只需要几分钟的时间, 比如签署一份文件或去洗手间, 而不是你必须仔细考虑的事情, 这不会导致你的思维过程发生重大的中断。

如果你一次专注于一个任务, 你会节省更多的时间 (和脑力)。你也将产生更好质量的工作, 并避免所有想法在头脑中混乱的风险。

7. 关掉分散注意的网站和应用程序

如果你不能远离让你分心的网站, 那么使用网站或应用程序拦截。如 StayFocusedSelfControl 这样的扩展名限制或阻止在工作时间使用娱乐但会浪费时间的网站。 关闭无法卸载的应用程序通知, 或者至少让它们保持沉默, 这样他们就不会打扰您了。

还在分心?在你的电脑旁边放一个 "分心便签", 这样你就可以记下让你分心的思考、想法、事件或其他任何事情。 这样做把让你分心的事情从你的大脑中移到了纸上, 所以它在你脑海深处并不重要, 就像一个随机的想法, 当你忙于重要的任务时不断涌现。

8. 每天只检查几次邮件

你知道普通员工检查收件箱高达每小时36次吗?无论你相信与否, 我相信你检查你的收件箱次数比必要的多。 您甚至可能会出于习惯而这样做, 因为您的电子邮件帐户总是在浏览器中打开。

只在特定的时间检查电子邮件, 以节省时间和避免分心。如果可能的话, 仅仅在你完成了至少一项重要的任务之后, 检查你的电子邮件, 这样你的注意力就不会被转移到非必要的任务上。

对那些不需要你立即关注的邮件做出立即反应的冲动进行抗争。您还可以通过提供选择或者有关您前面对话主题尽可能多的信息来防止电子邮件之间的讨论。 例如, 在设置预约时, 给出两到三个时间安排, 而不是仅有一个日期和时间, 因此你的通讯员可以轻松地选择适合日程安排的时间。 在选择会议场地时, 同样的逻辑也适用。当谈论任何类型的任务, 在接受方问之前,就想到谁, 做什么, 何时, 何地, 如何做, 以及每一个相关的信息。

4 设置关于下班时间期望的建议

不管你完成了多少工作, 你的办公室文化依旧迫使你熬夜, 下面列出的策略将会有所帮助。

1. 告诉人们你打算什么时候下班

当你打算提前几个小时下班时, 不经意地告诉你的同事和经理。当你们谈论一天的工作时,巧妙地把谈话引导到下班时间, 像

"我今天必须在下午5点之前下班, 所以如果还有什么我需要尽快完成的事, 下午2点前告诉我。

上面的脚本完成了三个目标:

  • 它设定了你会准时下班的期望, 所以同事们不会觉得你没有通知他们就离开了。
  • 迫使您的经理或同事优先考虑他们将交给你的任务
  • 防止最后一分钟的任务, 并为你提供拒绝此类请求的有效理由

你可能会担心你的同事会怎么想你提早下班离开。如果是这样的话, 那就提一下你今天完成的重要任务, 同时宣布你打算提早下班, 以避免潜在的指责,比如懒惰或没有团队精神而提前离开。

2. 在下班前至少一小时开始会议

当然, 如果你在会议日程上有发言权才会奏效。但是, 如果你有发言权, 请趁此机会在回家前至少一小时开始会议。 如果你的会议只有30分钟长, 那在下午4点开始会议时间是一个好主意, 如果你打算下午5点回家. 并且你认为至少要持续一个小时, 就把会议时间提前30分钟。

3. 向经理询问他们的优先事项

有些管理人员不擅长排列优先级, 这就是为什么当他们被要求或需要时, 他们只是把任务交给你。因此, 由你来要求他们将所有待定的任务从最重要的级别开始分级。 如果你的经理在排定任务的优先级时遇到问题, 请先询问每个任务的截止日期, 或者使用上面描述的优先顺序方法。

4. 说 "不"

如果你任务都排满了, 拒绝需要帮助的请求或任何不需要你专长的任务。 当有人要求你做某事时, 不要立即同意。先考虑所有未决的、反复出现的和将来的任务, 以免等下后悔。

明天你还有工作要做

无论你工作多努力, 总会有电子邮件要答复, 有需要你去灭火的事情和你的任务清单上的项目。不管你是在办公室还是在家里, 这都不会停止, 所以你最好按时下班, 给自己充电。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Careers
Business

How to Always Leave Work on Time Every Day (No Matter What)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Are you regularly staying late at the office? You might think it's the productive, and career-advancing thing to do. But in reality, you don't have to sacrifice your personal life to be a productive employee.

Gallup’s 2014 survey of more than 1000 U.S. employees revealed that 4 in 10 of them worked more than 50 hours a week. Lots of employees also answer emails and calls after hours.

Always at work
If it seems like you're always at work, statistics show you're not alone. (Image Source: Envato Elements)

But busyness doesn’t always equal to productivity. In fact, The Economist’s study of Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) countries revealed that countries that put in more hours at work are less productive.

While flexible work schedules and location-independent jobs allowed more employees to control where and when they worked, it’s the same flexibility that stops many employees from disconnecting or logging off at work. 

Unchecked, this always-connected attitude chips at the time you need for activities that feed your physical and mental being. Social gatherings, exercise, your personal me-time, and even the time you need to take care of your family and run errands are often, though not intentionally, pushed aside because it’s hard for many of us to quit work on time.

In this tutorial, you'll discover how to always leave the office on time and still get your job done. Leaving work on time makes time for those important personal tasks. 

The Mindset and Habits of a Well-Balanced Employee

This guide will show you how you can accomplish more with less, and why working 40+ hours a week isn’t going to increase your productivity.

Reading this will also help you develop the right mindset about the hours you work, and how that relates to your productivity and well-being. With practice, you'll no longer feel pressured to take work at home with you or feel guilty for leaving work on time.

1. Start and End of Day Routines

Have you ever had a whole day go by without accomplishing anything of importance? Life, much like work, just happens to you when you don’t have a routine.

A routine gives you control over your day, so you don’t get tangled up in your inbox, busywork, and the needs of everyone around you.

Example Start of the Day Routine

1. Plan your day. Sit down with your organizer or calendar and decide on the tasks you'll complete to make this day successful. Prioritize important tasks that will further your goals, but be realistic in what you can accomplish given the limited time you've got each day.

2. Exercise. Get your heart racing. Exercising before you go to work lowers your stress level and gives you an energy boost, so you won’t feel sluggish at the start of your day.

3. Take care of distractions. Avoid the “known distractions” in your office before they actually disturb you. If you've got chatty co-workers, invest in a good headset that subtly tells them you’re busy. You can also find another place to sit in if your desk buddy insists on chatting. 

Internal distractions, such as needing a coffee break, checking Facebook, or using your phone can be used as a reward for the time you spend working. For instance, you can make a deal with yourself that you can run to the vending machine for a quick snack if you finish a task before 10 AM. This “if-then” reward system conditions your brain to look at internal distractions as something that’s within your control, instead of accepting them as unavoidable time wasters.

4. Evaluate meeting invites and decline when possible. Read the meeting’s agenda to see if your presence is required, or if you’re an observer invited for the sake of not leaving anyone out. Politely decline the meeting if the topic isn't related to your tasks, or recommend a co-worker who can better contribute to the conversation. If you must, cite a task that needs to be completed within a certain deadline.

Some meetings are done weekly and comprised of different groups, so if that’s the case, you can just attend part of the meeting that’s relevant to you then excuse yourself once the conversation has moved outside your scope.

End of Day Routine

Think of this as a wind-down routine that signals to yourself and your co-workers that you’re about to leave work in a few minutes.

  • Save all the documents you’ve been working on and close all the tabs on your browser.
  • Review the tasks you completed and take note of pending items that need to be included in tomorrow’s agenda.
  • Review what went well and what went wrong, and what could be done to avoid the same problem in the future.
  • Do you have one task that you’ve been avoiding for a few days? Break it down into manageable chunks.
  • Optional: create an easy win task for tomorrow.
  • Turn off your computer and tidy up your desk.

2. Set a Non-Negotiable Quitting Time

It’s hard to leave the office on time when your co-workers are still hard at work. Your employer’s company culture may make you feel that going home on time may affect your career.

Leaving work on time isn’t a sin or a privilege. Unless your job contract states you’re required to work overtime regularly, no one can stop you from going home. Leaving early from work doesn’t mean you worked less than your peers. It’s just a matter of perception.

Re-frame what you think or feel about quitting time. Instead of thinking you’re “leaving work,” think of what you’re going to do next to shift your focus to other tasks just as important as your job.

Examples:

  • “I’m going to an event with my friends.”
  • “I’m going home to cook and eat dinner with my family.”
  • “I’m going to the gym because exercising keeps me fit and healthy.”

Better yet, schedule an appointment immediately after your quitting time to force yourself out of the door.

Get Important Tasks Done So You’re Not Forced to Work Late Hours

Of course, all of the strategies above won’t be effective if you don’t get any of your important tasks done. Your manager won’t allow you to leave work early if the report you’re supposed to deliver isn’t finished. If you're wasting time that can keep you from completing your work. The strategies below will help you prioritize and focus on what matters, instead of wasting time on non-essential tasks.

3. Prioritize

Below is an easy way to prioritize your tasks:

1. List all of your tasks for the day. Don’t worry about the number of items on the list or the order it will get done as that will be decided later.

2. Identify urgent, important, and urgent AND important tasks. Urgent tasks are those that need your immediate attention, such as items due at the end of the day or those already overdue. Important tasks are those that contribute to your career goals or will have serious consequences for you, your boss or the company if not completed.

Tasks that aren’t urgent may be left off for the next day or delegated to someone else. Focus only on completing urgent and important tasks then move on to urgent tasks afterward.

3. Assess the task’s value for your career and employer. Sometimes all of your tasks will be urgent or urgent and important, making it hard for you to pick one task over another. That’s when it helps to assign a value or weight for a particular project.

In most cases, tasks for clients are more important than internal work because those clients paid your employer and have certain expectations. In general, high-value tasks affect more people, the company’s revenue, and reputation.

4. Cut unimportant tasks. Either do them later, find a way to automate them, or delegate them to someone else.

Itemize your list according to the system above, then focus only on the high stakes and urgent items and work your way from there. Leave the busywork from when you've got extra time or on days when it’s easier to start with a warm-up task before diving into deeper, more complicated work.

4. Refocus

Set your alarm to ring every 90 minutes. When it does, stand up and take a deep cleansing breath, or walk around the office for a few minutes to clear your head. Do this for three to five minutes.

Use this time to evaluate how you’ve been doing your work so far. Did you spend the last hour productively, or did an email from your boss distract you? Either way, use this short break to mentally re-calibrate your to-do list and commit to focus on what you’re going to do during the next 90 minutes.

Stopping from work every 90 minutes isn’t a waste of time. Done properly, this quick five-minute break will prevent you from daydreaming or spacing out, which sometimes happen even if you’re working on something. It can also help you take a step back and focus on what’s important after you got distracted. 

5. Just Start

Getting started is the hardest thing to do, but when you do, it gets easier from there. Stanford University Researcher B.J.Fogg created his Tiny Habits program around this concept. According to his program, starting a habit (or any task at work) doesn’t need to be a battle of wills, if you just focus on the baby steps. Setting the bar low is the easiest way to remove any friction you feel against working.

For instance, instead of pressuring yourself to read the whole creative briefing for a video shoot, tell yourself it’s okay to just read one paragraph—or one sentence if you like. Fogg’s experiment shows you’re more likely to keep going once you get started.

6. Stop Trying to Multitask

Your brain isn’t good at multitasking, despite what you think. A study from the University of California Irvine found that it takes an average of 23 minutes for a person to regain focus after switching tasks. Multitasking might make you feel productive, but the context switching what you’re doing is slowing you down and affecting the quality of your work.

Not all distractions or task switching is bad though. The study notes that if a distraction takes only a few minutes, and isn’t something you've got to carefully think about, like signing a paper or going to the bathroom, it won’t cause a major disruption in your thought process. 

You’ll save more time (and brain power) if you focus on one task at a time. You’ll also produce better quality work and avoid the risk of ideas getting all mixed up in your head.

7. Block Distracting Sites and Apps

Use website or app blockers if you've got trouble staying off distracting sites. Extensions like StayFocused and SelfControl to limit or block use entertaining but time-wasting sites during work hours. Turn off notifications for apps you can’t uninstall, or put them on silent at least so they don’t disturb you.

Still getting distracted? Put a “distraction pad” beside your computer, so you can jot down thoughts, ideas, events, or anything that distracts you as they come. Doing this offloads the distraction from your brain and into the paper, so it’s not weighing at the back of your mind like a random thought that keeps popping up when you’re busy with important tasks.

8. Check Your Email Only a Few Times a Day

Did you know the average employee checks their inbox a whopping 36 times an hour? Whether you believe that or not, I’m sure you check your inbox more than is necessary. You might even do this out of habit because your email account is always open in your browser.

Check your email only at specific times to save time and avoid distractions. When possible, check your email only after you’ve finished at least one important task that day, so your attention doesn’t get diverted to non-essential tasks.

Fight the urge to respond immediately to emails that don’t require your immediate attention. You can also prevent back and forth email discussions by providing choices or as much information about the topic of your conversation up front. For example, when setting appointments, give two to three schedule options instead of just one date and time, so your correspondent can easily choose a time that also fits the schedule. The same logic applies when choosing a meeting venue. When talking about any type of task, including the who, what, when, where, how, and every relevant information you can think of, before the recipient asks for them.

4 Tips for Setting Expectations about the Time You Leave Work

The strategies listed below will be helpful if your office culture pressures you to stay late regardless of how much work you finished.

1. Tell People When You Plan to Leave Work

Casually tell your co-workers and manager when you intend to leave hours ahead of your quitting time. Subtly steer the conversation towards your departure time as you talk about the day’s work, like 

“I have to leave work by 5 PM today, so if there’s anything else I need to finish ASAP, let me know by 2 PM.”

The script above accomplishes three goals:

  • It sets the expectation that you'll leave work on time, so co-workers won’t feel that you left without notifying them.
  • Forces your manager or coworkers to prioritize the tasks that they'll hand over to you
  • Prevents last-minute tasks and gives you a valid excuse to decline such requests

You might be anxious about what your peers will think of you leaving early from work. If that’s the case, mention the important tasks that you’ve accomplished for the day while announcing your intent to leave work early, to ward off potential allegations that you’re lazy or not a team player for leaving early.

2. Start Meetings at Least One Hour Before the Official End of Day

This will only work if you've got a say in meeting schedules, of course. But if you do, take this opportunity to start meetings at least one hour before you go home. Starting the meeting time at 4 PM is a good idea if your meetings are only 30 minutes long and if you intend to go home at 5 PM. Move the meeting time 30 minutes earlier if you think it’s going to last at least an hour.

3. Ask Your Manager for their Priorities

Some managers aren’t good at prioritizing that’s why they just hand you tasks as they're requested or needed. So, it’s up to you to ask them to rank all of your pending tasks from most to least important. If your manager is having trouble prioritizing the tasks, ask for the deadline of each task instead or use the prioritization method described above.

4. Say "No"

Decline requests for help or any task that doesn’t require your expertise if your plate is already full. Don’t immediately agree when someone asks you to do something. Think about all your pending, recurring, and future tasks first to avoid regrets later. 

You’ll Still Have Work to do Tomorrow

No matter how hard you work, there will always be emails to answer, fires to put out, and items on your to-do list. It doesn’t stop whether you’re at the office or at home, so you might as well leave work on time and recharge yourself. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.