Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Office
Business

Как добавлять видео в презентации в PowerPoint 

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Presentation Fundamentals.
Creating Motion Paths in PowerPoint
How to Make a Better Presentation Without PowerPoint (+Top Alternatives)
This post is part of a series called How to Use PowerPoint (Ultimate Tutorial Guide).
How to Make a Timeline in PowerPoint With Templates
How to Convert Your PowerPoint (PPT) Presentation Into Video

Russian (Pусский) translation by Olya Misuraghina (you can also view the original English article)

Видео делает презентацию более интересной, не говоря о том, что это идеальный способ включить в корпоративную презентацию ваше последнее демо или рекламный ролик, вместо того чтобы во время презентации переключаться туда-сюда между PowerPoint и программой для видео. Казалось бы, добавить видео должно быть просто, не труднее, чем добавить фото, но, тем не менее, всё немного сложнее.

В любой современной версии PowerPoint есть возможность добавлять видео с жёсткого диска, с iMovie на Mac или из Интернета и проигрывать их во время презентации. Кроме того, прямо внутри PowerPoint вы можете настроить яркость, контраст и цвет, обрезать начало или конец видео и сделать много чего ещё. Вы даже можете вставить видео в презентацию напрямую с YouTube с небольшим количеством дополнительных надстроек на Windows.

В этом уроке я покажу вам, как добавлять видео в свои презентации, настраивать их, чтобы они выглядели так, как вам нужно, устанавливать автоматически повтор и так далее. Вот всё, что вам нужно знать об использовании видео в презентациях PowerPoint.

Нужна помощь?

Если вам нужна помощь в дизайне презентации, свяжитесь с одним из опытных создателей презентаций из Envato Studio. Они могут изменить дизайн ваших слайдов, создать шаблоны и многое другое, и ваша презентация будет выглядеть блестяще и профессионально.

Скринкаст 

Следите за ходом этого урока со своей собственной презентацией в PowerPoint 2007 и выше на компьютере или Mac. Заметьте, что некоторые советы из этого урока будут работать только для PowerPoint 2013 на компьютере.

Также вы можете использовать свой видеофайл совместимого формата. Либо загрузите архив из этого урока с двумя образцами видео: swirl.mov и swirl.wmv. Файл .mov подойдёт для Mac, .wmv — для Windows, но будет работать и тот, и другой.

Теперь давайте добавим видео в презентацию.

Вставляем видео в слайды PowerPoint 

Перед тем как начать настраивать видео, сперва его надо добавить на слайд. Вот лучшие способы добавить видео в презентацию на Mac и Windows: 

Добавьте видео с помощью слайда «Оглавление» на Mac или Windows

Вставьте в свою презентацию PowerPoint слайд с заполнителем «Оглавление». Теперь нажмите на последнюю из шести иконок в середине слайда. Появится меню с командой Insert Video. Иконка станет выглядеть по-другому, в зависимости от версии PowerPoint, которую вы используете.

Content slide layout
Последняя иконка в макете слайда «Оглавление» — для вставки видео.

Если вы используете PowerPoint 2011 или старше, нажав на иконку, вы вызовете диалоговое окно Insert Video (Windows) или Insert Movie (Mac), затем можно двойным щелчком нажать на нужный файл.

Если вы используете PowerPoint 2013, появится экран с вопросом, хотите ли вы вставить видео с компьютера, из локальной сети или с облака, например, с Microsoft OneDrive.

Insert Video screen
PowerPoint 2013 позволяет вставлять видео напрямую из облачных хранилищ.

В добавлении видео из облака нет ничего необычного. Просто ещё одно хранилище. Когда вы нажмёте на одну из кнопок Browse (их может быть больше, чем две), появится обычное диалоговое окно для вставки.

Добавляя видео таким образом, вы можете выбрать любой стандартный видеофайл, который проигрывается на компьютере. По умолчанию для Windows следует выбрать видео в формате .wmv, а для Mac — .mov, либо видео в формате .mp4, которое должно работать на обеих платформах. Заметьте, что для PowerPoint не подойдут ни видео Flash (.flv), ни анимация Shockwave Flash (.swf).

Когда вы вставите видео, у него будет две кнопки Play внизу, а на панели управления будут две вкладки с инструментами для видео: Format и Playback. На Mac будет только одна вкладка — Format Movie.

Нажав на кнопку Play внизу, можно запустить предварительный просмотр видео. Вам это пригодится во время редактирования и представления презентации.

Video tabs on the ribbon
Когда вы выберете видео, на панели управления появятся две дополнительные вкладки 

Вставляем видео с помощью панели управления в Windows

Что если вы хотите вставить видео на слайд, у которого нет заполнителя «Оглавление»? Вот ещё один способ.

На вкладке Home нажмите на стрелку вниз на кнопке New Slide и выберите пустой макет (Blank). Не нажимайте саму кнопку, потому что так вы вставите ещё один слайд с заполнителем «Оглавление». Нужно нажать на стрелку.

Insert a slide with a blank layout
На слайде Blank больше всего места для видео

Теперь, когда у нас есть пустой слайд, мы вставим на него видео. Для этого перейдём на вкладку Insert на панели управления. Справа нажмите на кнопку Video. В зависимости от версии PowerPoint, у вас появится выбор между Online Video и Video on My PC (2013), или Video from File и Clip Art Video (2010 и 2007).

Не радуйтесь раньше времени: Online Video не значит YouTube! Это лишь ещё одна ссылка на облачное хранилище. Выберите Video из File, и у вас появится ещё одно стандартное меню Insert. Найдите то же видео, что и раньше (или другое, если хотите), а потом нажмите по нему двойным щелчком. Теперь, когда видео вставится, оно займёт весь слайд.

Video takes up the whole slide
Когда вы вставляете видео с вкладки Insert (Windows) или меню Insert (Mac), видео занимает весь слайд 

Вставляем видео с панели меню на Mac 

В версии 2011 года у PowerPoint для Mac нет вкладки Insert, но есть меню Insert. Нажмите на меню Insert, выберите Movie и увидите два варианта на выбор: Movie Browser и Movie from File.

Insert menu on the Mac
В версии для Mac используйте меню Insert, чтобы вставить видео на слайд 

Вставляем видеоклип из обычной папки на Mac 

Выберите Movie from File, принцип работы тот же, что и с Windows или другим диалоговым окном Insert. Найдите файл swirl.mov, который вы загрузили с этой страницы, или свой собственный видеоклип, потом нажмите по нему двойным щелчком, и видео, которое вы вставили, отобразится на весь слайд.

Вставляем видеоклип через Movie Browser 

Через Movie Browser можно работать не только с фильмами. Это небольшое всплывающее окно, с помощью которого можно загружать фильмы, звуковые файлы, фотографии и другие файлы из папок Movie, Music, iMovie, iPhoto, iTunes, Photo Booth и некоторых других мест.

Создайте ещё один пустой слайд, как раньше. Теперь нажмите на меню Insert, выберите Movie и в этот раз выберите Movie Browser. Заметьте, что вкладка Movies в нём уже выбрана, и вы можете сразу перейти к местоположению файла. На моём Mac есть файл в папке Movies, и вы видите его уменьшенное изображение внизу. Если вы хотите сделать предварительный просмотр файла, либо нажмите по нему двойным щелчком, либо нажмите кнопку Play. Снова нажмите кнопку Play, чтобы вернуться к уменьшенным изображениям. Чтобы вставить видео, перетащите его уменьшенное изображение на слайд. Затем можно закрыть окно Movie Browser.

Movie Browser on the Mac
В версии для Mac Movie Browser позволяет вставлять видео и другие файлы из iMovie, iTunes и других специальных папок 

Изменяем цвет и добавляем другие эффекты 

Хотя у PowerPoint нет возможности редактировать видео, вы можете откорректировать цвет и внести другие изменения в видео. Это работает в основном одинаково в любой версии.

Убедитесь, что видео выбрано, как и вкладка Format на панели меню справа. Нажмите на кнопку Corrections на панели меню слева и выберите нужную опцию. В Windows появится временное превью для видео с изменениями. На Mac нужно выбрать какую-нибудь опцию, чтобы увидеть эффект, его можно всегда отменить (Command-Z на Mac и Ctrl-Z в Windows).

Adjusting video brightness and contrast
На вкладке Format можно настроить яркость и контраст для видео

Если вам нужны более тонкие настройки, нажмите на Video Correction Options внизу выпадающего меню Corrections. Отобразится либо панель задач со слайдерами Brightness и Contrast и кнопкой Recolor (2013), либо диалоговое окно с этими опциями (2010 и Mac 2011).

Так же и с регулировкой цвета. Выбрав видео, нажмите кнопку Color, так вы сможете изменить общий цветовой оттенок. Если вы выберете Video Color Options, отобразится та же панель задач или диалоговое окно, как описано выше.

Выбираем обложку для видео 

Обложка для видео — это изображение на видео, которое видно до того, как вы начнёте его проигрывать. По умолчанию обложкой для видео будет первый кадр этого видео, но её можно поменять двумя способами:

  • Выберите определённый кадр из видео 
  • Выберите изображение на компьютере 

Во-первых, обратите внимание на то, какой кадр отображается в виде обложки для видео по умолчанию: когда вы нажимаете на фон слайда при том, что видео не выделено, вы заметите, что обложка — первый кадр. Когда вы нажимаете кнопку Play, первый кадр мгновенно переходит во второй, и видео начинает проигрываться.

Давайте поменяем это. Внизу видеоклипа нажмите на временную шкалу в том месте, где находится нужный вам кадр. Затем на вкладке Format в панели меню нажмите кнопку Poster Frame и выберите Current Frame.

Когда видеоклип не выделен, видно изображение кадра, которое вы только что выбрали. Нажмите на кнопку Play, и видео перепрыгнет на первый кадр и начнёт проигрываться с него.

Теперь давайте выберем в качестве обложки для видео любое изображение. Снова выделите видео и нажмите кнопку Poster Frame, но в этот раз выберите Image From File (тот же снимок экрана, выше).

В версиях 2010 и Mac 2011 появится обычное диалоговое окно для выбора, двойным щелчком можно выбрать нужное вам изображение. В PowerPoint 2013 больше вариантов на выбор: файл на компьютере, клипарт Microsoft Office, поиск изображения с помощью Bing, импорт из облачного хранилища или имеющихся социальных сетей.

Inserting a picture for the poster frame
В качестве обложки для видео можно использовать любое изображение 

Можете использовать своё изображение или, если вы загрузили архив из этого урока, можете использовать файл, который называется rainbow.jpg.

Теперь на видео отображена выбранная вами картинка. 

Result of a picture for the poster frame
Изображение на обложке для видео может полностью отличаться от самого видео

Когда вы нажимаете кнопку Play, картинка исчезает и начинается обычное проигрывание видео. Если позже вы решите, что хотите установить обложку по умолчанию (то есть первый кадр видеоклипа), выберите Reset из выпадающего меню Poster Frame.

Обрамление и форма видеоклипа 

Кроме того, на вкладке Format из панели меню можно выбрать рамку для видео, одну из длинного ряда стилей, но действительно классно то, что можно сделать маску для клипа любой формы.

Выделите видео и вкладку Format, нажмите на Video Shape. Выберите форму, и на видео наложится маска в виде этой формы!

Frames and shapes to mask a video
Видео не обязательно должно быть прямоугольным!

Изменяем параметры воспроизведения 

Во всех версиях PowerPoint можно настроить параметры воспроизведения видео, хотя в версии Windows существует больше опций.

Изменяем параметры в Windows 

В Windows, выделив видео, нажмите на вкладку Playback в панели меню. Слева есть кнопка Trim Video, которая позволяет поменять время начала и конца видео (параметры In и Out).

Playback options
Вкладка Playback в Windows позволяет настроить параметры того, как и когда должно воспроизводиться видео

Нажмите на кнопку Trim Video и в появившемся диалоговом окне перетащите зелёный указатель вправо, чтобы изменить время начала видео, либо перетащите красный указатель влево, чтобы изменить время его окончания. Либо вместо этого вы можете просто ввести время начала и конца видеоклипа.

Trim Video dialog
Диалоговое окно Trim Video позволяет установить время начала и конца видео 

Нажмите OK, и длина видео станет короче. Обратите внимание, что вы ничего не удаляли: если позже захотите изменить точки начала и окончания видео, просто снова нажмите кнопку Trim Video. Вам будет доступен весь видеоклип.

Справа от кнопки Trim Video можно настроить время, когда видео будет появляться и пропадать, хотя, возможно, вам не всегда понравится результат.

Секция справа на панели меню предлагает параметры того, как и когда должен начинаться видеоклип.

Изменяем параметры на Mac

В версии 2011 Mac кнопка Playback Options расположена слева на вкладке Format Movie в панели меню. В ней есть только четыре параметра, как видно на снимке экрана ниже. Время начала и окончания видео ограничено двумя опциями на выбор: начать по щелчку (start on click) и начать автоматически (start automatically). Выберите одну из них в выпадающем меню прямо над кнопкой Playback Options.

Playback options on the Mac
На Mac установите параметры воспроизведения с помощью выпадающего меню на вкладке Format Movie 

Вставляем видео с YouTube 

В Windows можно использовать инструменты «Разработчика» PowerPoint, чтобы вставить видео с YouTube. Мы это делаем, вставляя Flash-объект, так что большинство вышеуказанных параметров нам будут недоступны.

Сначала вставьте новый пустой слайд или слайд только с названием, как мы делали выше. Теперь нужно открыть доступ к инструментам «Разработчика». Нажмите правой кнопкой мыши в любом месте панели меню и из всплывающего меню выберите Customize the Ribbon.

Customizing the ribbon to display the Developer tab

Отобразится экран PowerPoint’s Options, в секции Customize Ribbon. Справа поставьте галочку на строчке Developer. Затем нажмите OK.

Clicking the checkbox for the Developer tab
Убедитесь, что видно вкладка Developer на панели меню 

Существует три шага, чтобы вставить Flash-объект, в который мы поместим видео (смотрите на снимок экрана ниже): 

  1. Нажмите на новую вкладку Developer в панели меню.
  2. В секции Controls нажмите на последнюю кнопку в группе. Она будет выглядеть как отвёртка или гаечный ключ и называется More Controls.
  3. Прокрутите вниз появившееся диалоговое окно и выберите Shockwave Flash Object, а потом нажмите OK.
Choosing
Три шага для того, чтобы вставить Flash-объект 

Курсор станет похожим на крестик. Перетащите его по экрану, чтобы нарисовать прямоугольник, а когда отпустите, в этом прямоугольнике появится большая X.

Flash object is a big rectangle with an X
Flash-объект будет в виде прямоугольника с большой X, пока вы не привяжете к нему URL 

Делаем ссылку на видео в YouTube 

Откройте YouTube и найдите видео, которое хотите вставить. Для этого урока я буду использовать свой предыдущий урок с TutsPlus о том, как вставить мастер-слайды в PowerPoint. Это видео находится по адресу: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muoSYIpPJvY

Нажмите на строку Address, чтобы выбрать URL, а потом либо нажмите правой кнопкой мыши и выберите Copy из всплывающего меню, или нажмите Ctrl-C.

Используйте скопированный URL как источник для видео 

  1. Убедитесь, что объект Flash выделен, а потом нажмите кнопку Properties на вкладке Developer, чтобы отобразилось окно Properties.
  2. В пустую строку справа от графы Movie вставьте URL, который вы только что скопировали (с помощью правой кнопки мыши или клавиш Ctrl-V).
  3. Отредактируйте URL. Измените /watch?v= на просто /v/. URL, который я использую, теперь выглядит так:
    http://www.youtube.com/v/muoSYIpPJvY 
  4. По желанию: чтобы видео проигрывалось автоматически, добавьте в конец &autoplay=1, вот как будет выглядеть URL:
    http://www.youtube.com/v/muoSYIpPJvY&autoplay=1
Editing the Properties box
Вставьте скопированный URL в поле Movie и отредактируйте его 

Теперь включите слайд-шоу, и видео воспроизведётся. (Совет: нажмите Shift-F5, чтобы проиграть текущий слайд.) Возможно, придётся проиграть его пару раз, чтобы видео подгрузилось на ваш компьютер и хорошо воспроизводилось. 

Заключение 

В PowerPoint есть много возможностей для того, чтобы вставлять и изменять видео в презентациях. Можно вставить видео с компьютера, из локальной сети, из облака и даже с YouTube, если вы пользуетесь Windows. Как только вы вставите видео, вы найдёте большинство инструментов, необходимых для его настройки, на вкладках Format и Playback в Windows и на вкладке Format Movie на Mac.

Добавлять видео в презентацию немного сложно, но далеко от невозможного. Если у вас возникнут какие-то загвоздки с добавлением видео в презентации, оставьте комментарий ниже, и мы постараемся вам помочь.

Источники 
Изображение: Иконка видеопроигрывателя, Мурад Мокрейн из «Noun Project»

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Office
Business

How to Add Videos to Your PowerPoint Presentations

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Presentation Fundamentals.
Creating Motion Paths in PowerPoint
How to Make a Better Presentation Without PowerPoint (+Top Alternatives)
This post is part of a series called How to Use PowerPoint (Ultimate Tutorial Guide).
How to Make a Timeline in PowerPoint With Templates
How to Convert Your PowerPoint (PPT) Presentation Into Video

Adding a video to your presentation is a great way to make it more interesting, not to mention the perfect way to incorporate your latest demo or ad in a corporate presentation instead of switching back and forth between PowerPoint and your video player during the presentation. It should be simple enough to add a video—no harder than adding a photo, it'd seem—and yet, it's actually a bit complicated.

In any modern version of PowerPoint, you'll be able to insert video clips from your hard drive, iMovie on your Mac, or online sources, and play them during the presentation. You can then adjust brightness, contrast and color, trim the beginning and end points, and more on your videos, right inside PowerPoint. You can even insert YouTube videos directly in a presentation with a bit of extra tweaking on Windows.

In this tutorial, I'll show you how to do add videos to your presentation, tweak them to look the way you want, get them to playback automatically, and more. Here's everything you've needed to know about using videos in your PowerPoint presentations.

Need Help? Download Our eBook on Making Great Presentations (Free)

We also have a helpful compliment to this tutorial. Quickly grab it before you read on. Download our FREE eBook: The Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations, which will help you write, design, and deliver the perfect presentation. 

Free eBook PDF Download Make a Great Presentation

Add Videos to Your PowerPoint Presentations (Screencast)

In this screencast, add videos to your powerpoint presentations. Watch the complete video below or read on for the written tutorial that follows.

In this tutorial, you'll need to follow along with your own presentation in PowerPoint 2007 or newer on your Mac or PC. Also, note that some of the tips in this tutorial will only work in PowerPoint 2013 on a PC.

If you want to follow along with this tutorial using your own video file, you can do so, if it’s a compatible format. Or if you prefer, download the free zip file included with this tutorial, which contains two sample videos called swirl.mov and swirl.wmv. The .mov file is best for the Mac and the .wmv is best for Windows, but either will work.

Now, let's get started adding videos to your presentation.

Inserting Videos Into Your PowerPoint Slides

You'll first have to add a video to your presentation slides before you can start tweaking it. Here's the best ways to add a video to your presentation, on Windows and Mac:

Add Video Using a Content Slide on Mac or Windows

In your PowerPoint presentation, insert a slide that has a content placeholder. Now click the last of the 6 icons in the middle of the slide. The icon will have a popup showing Insert Video. The icon will look somewhat different, depending on which version of PowerPoint you’re using.

Content slide layout
The last icon in a Content layout slide is for inserting videos

If you’re using PowerPoint 2011 or earlier, clicking the icon will display an Insert Video (Windows) or Insert Movie (Mac) dialog box, and you can double-click the file you want in your file browser.

If you’re using PowerPoint 2013, you’ll get a screen asking if you want to insert a video from your computer or local network, or from a cloud location like Microsoft OneDrive.

Insert Video screen
PowerPoint 2013 lets you insert videos directly from cloud services

There isn’t anything special about inserting a video from a cloud location. It’s just another file storage area. When you click either of the Browse buttons (you may have more than two), you’ll get a regular Insert dialog box.

When you add a video this way, you can choose any standard video file that'll playback on your computer. By default, on Windows you'll likely want to choose .wmv videos, and on a Mac you'll want to use .mov videos, or perhaps .mp4 which should work on both platforms. Note that PowerPoint will not accept Flash video (.flv) or Shockwave Flash animation (.swf).

When the video is in place, notice that it has Play controls at the bottom, and the ribbon bar is showing two tabs for video controls: Format and Playback. On the Mac, the ribbon will have a single tab, called Format Movie.

You can preview the movie by clicking the Play button on bottom. It will work when you’re editing the presentation and also when you’re running the slide show.

Video tabs on the ribbon
When you select a video, two additional tabs appear on the ribbon

Insert Video from the Ribbon Bar in Windows

What if you want to insert a video onto a slide that doesn’t have a Content placeholder? Here’s another way.

From the Home tab, click the Down Arrow on the New Slide button and select the Blank layout. Don’t click the button itself, because that will insert another slide with a Content layout. You need to click the arrow.

Insert a slide with a blank layout
A slide with the Blank layout has the most room for inserting a video

Now that we have a blank slide, we’ll insert a video by going to the Insert tab on the ribbon. On the right side of the ribbon, click the Video button. Depending on which version of PowerPoint you have, you’ll get choices for Online Video and Video on My PC (2013), or Video from File and Clip Art Video (2010 and 2007).

Don’t get too excited: Online Video doesn’t mean YouTube! It’s just another link to cloud storage. Choose Video from File, and you’ll get another standard Insert box. Find the same video clip as before (or use another one if you like), then double-click it. Now when the video gets inserted, it covers the whole slide.

Video takes up the whole slide
When you insert a video from the Insert tab (Windows) or Insert menu (Mac), the video covers the whole slide

Insert Video from the Menu Bar on a Mac

Through the 2011 version, PowerPoint for the Mac doesn’t have an Insert tab on the ribbon, but it does have an Insert menu. So click the Insert menu, choose Movie, and you’ll see two choices: Movie Browser and Movie from File.

Insert menu on the Mac
In the Mac version, use the Insert menu to insert a video onto a slide

Inserting a Movie from a Regular Folder on Your Mac

Choose Movie from File, and it works just like in Windows or any other Insert dialog. Find swirl.mov that you downloaded from this page, or find your own video clip, then double-click it and it gets inserted to fill the whole slide.

Inserting a Movie from the Movie Browser

The Movie Browser isn’t just about movies. It’s a small popup window that will let you browse for movies, sound files, photos and other types of media in your Movie folder, Music folder, and in iMovie, iPhoto, iTunes, Photo Booth and a few other places.

Create another blank slide as you did before. Now click the Insert menu, choose Movie, and this time choose Movie Browser. Notice that the Movies tab in the Browser is already selected, and you can go to the file’s location. On my Mac, I have the file in the Movies folder, and you can see the thumbnail at the bottom. If you want to preview the movie, either double-click it or click the Play button. Click the Play button again to return to the thumbnails. To insert the video, drag the thumbnail onto the slide. Then you can close the Browser window.

Movie Browser on the Mac
The Movie Browser in the Mac version lets you insert videos and other media from iMovie, iTunes and other special folders

Applying Color Changes and other Effects

Although PowerPoint doesn’t have the ability to edit video, you can make some color corrections and other changes to an inserted video. This works mostly the same in any version.

Make sure the video is selected and the Format tab on the right side of the ribbon is active. Click the Corrections button on the left side of the ribbon, and choose one if you want. In Windows, the video will show a temporary preview of how the change will look. On the Mac, you have to click one of the choices to see the effect, and you can always undo (Command-Z on the Mac and Ctrl-Z in Windows).

Adjusting video brightness and contrast
On the Format tab, you can adjust the brightness and contrast of a video

If you want more fine-tuned control, click Video Correction Options on the bottom of the Corrections drop-down. That will display either a task pane with Brightness and Contrast sliders and a Recolor button (2013), or a dialog box with these controls (2010 and Mac 2011).

Similar to brightness and contrast is color adjustment. With the video selected, click the Color button, and you can change the overall color cast. Choosing Video Color Options will display the same task pane or dialog box as above.

Setting a Poster Frame

The poster frame is the still image that’s displayed before you play the video. By default, the poster frame will be the first frame of the video, but you can change it two ways:

  • Choose the frame that’s displayed at a specific time index
  • Choose a picture on your computer

First, notice the default poster frame: when you click the slide background so that the movie isn’t selected, you can see that the poster frame is the first frame. When you click the Play button, the first frame immediately transitions into the second, and the movie plays.

Let’s change it. On the bottom of the movie, click somewhere along the progress bar until you see a frame that you want. Then on the Format tab of the ribbon, click the Poster Frame button and select Current Frame.

When you deselect the movie, the still image you see is the frame you just selected. Click the Play button, and the movie jumps to the first frame and plays from there.

Now let’s use a picture as the poster frame. Again select the video and click the Poster Frame button, but this time choose Image From File (same screen shot, above).

In the 2010 and Mac 2011 versions, you’ll get a regular selection dialog box, and you can double-click a picture that you want. In the 2013 version, PowerPoint gives you more choices to get a picture: a file on your computer, Microsoft Office clipart, search for an image with Bing, or import a picture from your cloud storage or social networking sites if you have any set up.

Inserting a picture for the poster frame
You can use an image file for a movie's poster frame

You can use a picture of your own, or if you downloaded the zip file for this tutorial, you can use the included file called rainbow.jpg.

The movie now displays the picture you chose.

Result of a picture for the poster frame
An image file for a poster frame can look completely different from the video

When you click the Play button, the picture disappears and the movie plays normally. If you later decide you want the default poster frame (i.e. the first frame of the movie), choose Reset from the Poster Frame drop-down.

Framing the Movie

Also from the Format tab of the ribbon bar, you can choose a picture frame for the outside of the movie by choosing one from the long bar of video styles, but what’s really cool is that you can mask the movie with a shape.

Make sure the video is selected, and on the Format tab, click Video Shape. Choose a shape, and the movie will be masked inside it!

Frames and shapes to mask a video
A video doesn't have to be rectangular!

Changing Playback Options

In all versions of PowerPoint, you can set options for how the video plays, though there are more options in the Windows versions.

Changing the Options in Windows

In Windows, make sure the video is selected, then click the Playback tab on the ribbon. On the left side of the ribbon, we have a Trim Video button, which allows us to change the In and Out points of the video.

Playback options
The Playback tab in Windows lets you set options for how and when the video plays

Click the Trim Video button, and in the dialog that appears, drag the green bar to the right to set a later start time, and drag the red bar to the left to set an earlier end time. Or instead of dragging the bars, you can set the numbers directly.

Trim Video dialog
The Trim Video dialog lets you set In and Out points

Click OK, and the video will play for this shorter time. Note that you haven’t deleted anything: if you want to change the points later, just click the Trim Video button again. The entire clip will be available.

To the right of the Trim Video button, you can set timings for the clip to fade in and fade out, though you might not always be pleased with the results.

The section on the right side of the ribbon gives you options for how and when the movie should start.

Changing Options on the Mac

In the 2011 Mac version, Playback Options is a button on the left side of the Format Movie tab on the ribbon bar. It has only four options, as you can see in the screen capture, below. The start and stop options is limited to only two choices: start on click and start automatically. Set those with the drop-down button just above the Playback Options button.

Playback options on the Mac
On the Mac, set playback options using the drop-down on the Format Movie tab

Embedding a YouTube Video

In Windows, you can use PowerPoint’s developer tools to embed a YouTube video. We do this by inserting a Flash object, which means you won’t be able to use most of the options from earlier in this tutorial.

First, start by inserting a new slide with a blank layout or title-only layout, as we did earlier. Now we need to make the developer tools available. Right-click anywhere on the ribbon, and from the popup menu, select Customize the Ribbon.

Customizing the ribbon to display the Developer tab

This displays PowerPoint’s Options screen, in the Customize Ribbon section. On the right, enable the checkbox for the Developer tab. Then click OK.

Clicking the checkbox for the Developer tab
Make sure the Developer tab of the ribbon is visible

There are three steps to insert the Flash object that will be the container for the video (see screen capture, below):

  1. Click the new Developer tab on the ribbon.
  2. In the Controls section, click the last button in the group. It looks like a screwdriver and wrench, and the popup label calls it More Controls.
  3. In the dialog box that appears, scroll down and select Shockwave Flash Object, then click OK.
Choosing
Three steps to insert a Flash object

The mouse pointer becomes a crosshair. Drag on the screen to create a rectangle, and when you release the mouse button, the rectangle will have a big X in it.

Flash object is a big rectangle with an X
The Flash object will be a rectangle with a big X until you give it a URL

Getting a link to a YouTube video

Go to YouTube and find the video you want to embed. For this tutorial, I’ll use a previous TutsPlus tutorial I did, on embedding PowerPoint master slides. This video is at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muoSYIpPJvY

Click in the Address bar to select the URL, then either right-click and select Copy from the popup menu, or press Ctrl-C to copy.

Use the Copied URL as the Source for the Movie

  1. Make sure the Flash object is selected, then click the Properties button on the Developer tab to display the Properties window.
  2. In the blank box to the right of the Movie property past the URL you just copied (right-click or press Ctrl-V).
  3. Edit the URL. Change /watch?v= to simply /v/. So for the URL I’m using, it’s now:
    http://www.youtube.com/v/muoSYIpPJvY
  4. Optional: to make the video play automatically, add &autoplay=1 to the end, so the URL will look like:
    http://www.youtube.com/v/muoSYIpPJvY&autoplay=1
Editing the Properties box
Insert the copied URL into the Movie field, and edit it

Now run the slide show, and the video will play. (Tip: press Shift-F5 to play just the current slide.) You might have to run it a couple of times for the video to be cached on your computer so it plays well.

Make Great Presentations (Free eBook Download)

We have the perfect compliment to this tutorial, which will walk you through the complete presentation process. Video helps your presentation stand out, but there is a whole lot more to master. Learn how to write your presentation, design it like a pro, and prepare it to present powerfully. 

Download our new eBook: The Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations. It's available for free with a subscription to the Tuts+ Business Newsletter. 

Making Great Presentations eBook Free Download

Conclusion

PowerPoint has many features for inserting and modifying videos in your presentations. You can insert videos from your computer, from your local network, from the cloud, and can even embed YouTube videos if you’re using Windows. Once you've inserted a video, you'll find most of the tools you need to tweak it in the Format and Playback tabs in Windows and in the Format Movie tab on the Mac.

Adding a video to your presentation is a bit involved, but it's absolutely not impossible. If you hit any snags in adding videos to your presentations, leave a comment below and we'll try to help you out.

Get Expert Help From a Pro Presentation Designer

If you need help with your presentation design, try one of the expert presentation designers on Envato Studio. They can redesign your slides, create templates, and more, making your presentation look slick and professional.

Resources
Graphic Credit: Video Player icon designed by Mourad Mokrane from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.