Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Finance

كيف تقيس ربح العمل الخاص بك

Scroll to top
Read Time: 11 min
This post is part of a series called Key Metrics Every Business Should Track.
Pivotal Liquidity Metrics to Help You Avoid Insolvency

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

انت ما تقيس.

الكثير من الاعمال مقادير كبيرة من الإحصائيات، المقاييس ومؤشرات الاداء الرئيسية، ولكن اذا لم تكن تقيس الاشياء الصحيحة، فإنك لن تحصل على النتائج الصحيحة.

فالهدف من قياس الأداء، بعد كل شيء، ليس لترى كيف كنت في الماضي، بل لتستعمل هذه المعلومات ليكون اداؤك افضل في المستقبل. وجدت دراسة حديثة من Gartner أن اقل من نصف الاعمال التجارية لديها مقاييس تساعدها على فهم كيف يشترك عملها في تحقيق اهدافها الاستراتيجية.

لذا في سلسلة الدروس هذه المكونة من أربعة اقسام، سنقوم بالاطلاع على المقاييس الحاسمة التي يحتاج العمل الخاص بك لتعقبها في الأماكن الأساسية: الربح (Profitability)، السيولة (Liquidity)، الفعالية (Efficiency) ورضا\اكتساب المستهلكين (Customer acquisition/satisfaction).

اولاً سنلقي نظرة على مقاييس الربح. وكجميع المناطق الأخرى في العمل، يوجد عدد من المقاييس الممكنة التي بإمكانك تعقبها، لكننا سنركز على أربعة ذات اهمية قصوى، وسننظر بشكل مفصل في كيفية حسابها، ما يمكن للنتائج ان تخبرك به عن سلامة العمل الخاص بك، والأكثر اهمية من كل ذلك، ما الفعل الذي يمكنك القيام به لتحسين نتائجك في المستقبل.

الكثير من الأرقام التي سننظر اليها في هذا الدرس ستأتي من وثيقة الإيرادات الخاصة بشركتك (بالإنجليزية Income Statement). اذا اردت تذكيراً بمعنى كل من هذه الأرقام أو أين يمكنك ان تجدهم، فاطلع على درسنا الحديث عن قراءة وثيقة الإيرادات.

1. هامش الربح الاجمالي Gross Profit Margin

لماذا يعد مقياساً مهماً

هذا الرقم هو مقياس بسيط وجيد عن مدى فعالية شركتك في التصنيع وتوزيع المنتجات. يساعدك هذا الرقم على توجيه اهتمامك على التكاليف، وكم تستهلك هذه التكاليف من أرباحك.

كيف تقوم بحسابه

الصيغة لهذا الرقم بسيطة جداً:

هامش الربح الاجمالي = (الإيرادات - تكاليف البضائع المباعة) \ الإيرادات

على سبيل المثال، لنقل ان شركتك باعت 1000 تي شيرت بسعر 10 دولارات لكل منها. إن دخلك لهذه السنة سيكون 10000 دولار. لكن كل تي شيرت كلف 6 دولارات لتصنيعه وتوزيعه، لذا فإن تكلفة البضائع المباعة هي 6000 دولار. نعوض الارقام ونجد:

هامش الربح الاجمالي = (10000 - 6000) \ 10000 = 40%

كيف تقوم بتقييمه

في هذا المثال، تقوم شركتك بالاحتفاظ بـ 40% في المئة من المال الناتج عن كل عملية بيع كربح صاف، والذي يعتبر مؤشراً جيداً على سلامة العمل. هذا يعني ان هنالك الكثير من المال المتبقي لتغطية تكاليف اخرى، كالبحث والتطوير، الضرائب، وتكاليف الادارة العامة.

ولكن ابقي في ذهنك أن هوامش الربح الاجمالي تختلف بشكل كبير بين الصناعات المختلفة. الاعمال المبنية على الخدمات مثل الشركات القانونية والمحاسبين غالباً يكون لديها هوامش ربح اجمالية مرتفعة (50% واكثر)، بينما الخاص بالمصنعين وبائعي التجزئة يميل الى ان يكون في مدى 20% الى 30%.

هذا الموقع يعرض متوسط هوامش الربح الاجمالي لصناعات مختلفة، ويمكنك ايضاً ايضاً الاتصال بالمنظمات والهيئات الصناعية في مجالك الخاص للحصول على المزيد من المعلومات. حالما وضعت حداً اساسياً للهامش، انظر كيف هو وضعك مقارنة به، وكيف تتغير النسبة بمرور الزمن.

كيف تقوم بتحسينه

اذا كان العمل الخاص بك يعاني من هوامش ربح إجمالية منخفضة عن تلك الخاصة بمنافسيك، فيوجد عدد من الامور التي يمكنك القيام بها. الطريق الأكثر وضوحاً هو ان ترفع اسعارك. زيادة اكبر في سعر كل عملية بيع ستترجم نفسها إلى هامش ربح اجمالي اعلى، ومع ذلك عليك ان تكون حذراً من ان تبعد المشترين عنك، لذا قم بالبحث لمعرفة كم سيتحمل السوق الخاص بك. حل بديل هو ان تلقي نظرة على مزيج المنتجات الخاص بك، وتنفق معظم اموال التسويق الخاصة بك على دعم المنتجات ذات الهامش الاعلى.

أو يمكنك ان تستهدف طرف التكاليف من المعادلة. هي يمكنك ان تتحول الى موزع ارخص، أو ان تتفاوض على نسبة افضل مع الموزع الحالي؟ اذا كنت في هذا العمل من مدة وتشهد نمواً، قد تكون قادراً على التفاوض للحصول على حسم حسب الحجم، وبالتالي ستقلل التكاليف وتزيد الهامش. أو ربما تكمن المشكلة في العمليات التي تقوم بها. تحقق من كل تفصيل من تفاصيل عملية التصنيع والتوزيع لترى اذا كان هنالك فرص لجعلها فعالة اكثر.

2. العائد على رأس المال المستثمر Return on Invested Capital

لماذا يعد مقياساً مهماً

واحد من أبسط الامور التي تقوم الشركات بها هي اخذ المال الذي استثمرته (بالإنجليزية Capital أو رأس المال)، وتحويله إلى ربح. العائد على رأس المال المستثمر هو مقياس لمدى فعالية الشركة في القيام بذلك، وانه لأمر اساسي ان تتعقبه.

كيف تقوم بحسابه

ايجاد العائد على رأس المال المستثمر قد يكون بسيطاً جداً او معقداً جداً، اعتماداً على كمية التفاصيل التي تريد وضعها فيه.

لنلقي نظرة على الطريقة البسيطة اولاً. الصيغة المبسطة هي:

العائد = الإيرادات الصافي (بالإنجليزية Net Income) \ (الديون طويلة الامد + صافي قيمة الممتلكات بعد دفع الديون (بالإنجليزية Equity))

يمكن Yيجاد جميع هذه الارقام بسهولة في وثائق عملك المالية. الدخل الصافي هو آخر سطر في وثيقة الدخل، والدين الكلي وصافي قيمة الممتلكات بعد دفع الديون تجدها في وثيقة الموازنة (بالإنجليزية Balance Sheet).

جوجل، على سبيل المثال، جنت 12.2 دولار بليون كدخل صافي آخر سنة، ودينها طويل المدى وصافي قيمة الممتلكات بعد دفع الديون وصل الى 89.5 بليون دولار.

لذا يكون العائد على رأس المال المستثمر الخاص بها هو 13.6 بالمئة (12.2 مقسومة على 89.5).

مع ذلك، بعض الناس يحبون أن يجعلوا الامر معقداً اكثر. يقومون بالكثير من التعديلات على الدخل الصافي، بشكل اساسي لإزالة اي عناصر منه لن تتكرر على الاغلب، وبالتالي يصلون الى ما يسمى ربح التشغيل الصافي بعد الضرائب (بالإنجليزية net operating profit after tax أو NOPAT).  ومن ثم يقومون بتعديل الديون وصافي قيمة الممتلكات للحصول على صورة ادق لما تم استثماره فعلياً في العمل، على النقيض مع أمور مثل فائض السيولة النقدية.

هذه التعديلات يمكنها ان تسبب اختلافاً جوهرياً. عائد الاستثمار على رأس المال المستثمر الخاص بجوجل يصبح، وفقاً ل Marketwatch، هو 14.9%. Morningstar جعلته 15.1%.

الأمر الصحيح بالنسبة للعمل الخاص بك يعتمد على مدى العمق في التفاصيل الذي تريد الوصول اليه. فقط تذكر ان الفكرة هي ان ترى كم من الربح تقوم بتوليده من رأس المال الذي استثمرته، وانك اذا قارنته بشركات اخرى، فإنهم ربما يستعملون منهجيات مختلفة.

كيف تقوم بتقييمه

كالمقاييس الاخرى، اهم شيء هو ان تنظر الى العائد الخاص بك بالمقارنة مع نتائجك من السنوات السابقة، وايضاً بالمقارنة مع منافسيك.  للشركات العامة، يمكنك بسهولة ان تجد النسبة في حسابات الشركات او على مواقع الويب المالية. انظر الى بعض الامثلة ضمن الصناعة الخاصة بك لتأخذ فكرة عما يجب ان تسعى إليه. وبحكم التجربة، عائد بمقدار 15% او أكثر يدل على مقدار ربح سليم، ولكنه يختلف بين الصناعات المتنوعة.

كيف تقوم بتحسينه

يمكنك رفع العائد الخاص بك بعدد من الطرق. يمكنك ان تركز على القسم العلوي من المعادلة، الدخل الصافي. اقتطاع النفقات سيعطيك دفعة مباشرة لدخلك الصافي، وبالتالي دفعة للعائد الخاص بك، ولكن كن حذراً ان لا تقوم بذلك بشكل مفرط وتحرم عملك من الاستثمارات الضرورية. يمكنك ايضاً ان تقوم بحملات تسويقية لزيادة الربح الخاص بك، او ان تحاول نقل مزيج المبيعات الخاص بك الى المنتجات الاكثر ربحاً.

يمكنك ايضاً ان تختار التركيز على القسم السفلي من المعادلة، الدين وصافي قيمة الممتلكات بعد دفع الديون. هل تستفيد بأقصى حد من رأس المال الخاص بك؟ اذا كان الجواب لا، فيمكنك اذاً أن تختار دفع الديون المتراكمة عليك او أن تعيد المال الى المستثمرين، والذي سيزيد بدوره من العائد الخاص بك.

3. نسبة المال المنفق على تشغيل العمل Overhead Ratio

لماذا يعد مقياساً مهماً

تكاليف تشغيل العمل يمكن ان تشكل عائقاً حقيقياً على ربح العمل. اذا كنت تنفق حصة كبيرة من الدخل فقط لكي تبقي الانارة تعمل، فإنك ستعاني حتى تنمو. لقد القينا نظرة على التكاليف المرتبطة بالمبيعات في قسم "هامش الربح الاجمالي"، وهنا سنلقي نظرة على القطعة الاخرى من الأحجية: نفقات تشغيل العمل الثابتة.

كيف تقوم بحسابه

يمكنك ان تحسب هذه النسبة باستعمال الصيغة التالية:

نسبة المال المنفق على التشغيل = تكاليف التشغيل \ (دخل التشغيل + دخل من الفائدة (بالإنجليزية Interest Income))

مجدداً، جميع هذه الارقام هي سطور في وثيقة الدخل. تكاليف التشغيل هي المال المنفق لشتغيل العمل، امور مثل استئجار المكاتب، الخدمات العامة كالكهرباء والماء، صيانة الآلات وامور غيرها. هذه الأمور ضرورية لعملك، لكنها لا تولد دخلاً بشكل مباشر.

من ثم نقوم بتقسيم هذا الرقم على دخل التشغيل (والذي تجده في وثيقة الإيرادات) بالاضافة الى الفائدة القادمة من حساب عملك في المصرف او من الاستثمارات الخاصة بك.

على سبيل المثال، Microsoft كان لديها 30.8 بليون في تكاليف التشغيل، وفقاً لتقريرها السنوي لعام 2013. حصلت الشركة على 26.8 بليون دولار كدخل تشغيل و 0.7 بليون دولار كدخل من الفائدة. وبالتالي تصبح العملية الحسابية هي:

نسبة المال المنفق على التشغيل = 30.8 \ (26.8 + 0.7) = 1.1

كيف تقوم بتقييمه

من الأفضل أن تنظر الى هذا المقياس مع هامش الربح الإجمالي. Microsoft لديها هامش ربح اجمالي قوي وهو 74%، وبالتالي لديها الكثير من المال الباقي لإنفاقه على التكاليف الاخرى. وبالتالي نسبة المال المنفق على التشغيل لديها يمكن تحملها لفترة طويلة.

من ناحية أخرى، اذا كان للعمل الخاص بك هامش ربح اجمالي اصغر فإنك ستحتاج الى أن تبقي النفقات تحت السيطرة بشكل كبير.

وكالنسب الأخرى، الرقم الصحيح يعتمد كثيراً على الصناعة التي أنت فيها، وما الذي تقوم به الشركات الاخرى في نفس المجال. اطلع على حسابات الشركات العامة في مجالك، الشركات التي ترغب بمحاكاة النجاح الخاص بها، وانظر كيف تقارن نسبتك مع نسبهم.

كيف تقوم بتحسينه

هذا المقياس يمكن تحسينه بشكل بسيط: خفف من نفقاتك. ولكن يجب أن تكون حذراً. بالرغم من أن نفقات تشغيل العالم لا ترتبط مباشرة بتوليد الدخل، فإنها مع ذلك تبقى مهمة للعمل الخاص بك.

بعض نقات التشغيل، على سبيل المثال، قد تكون تكاليف الابحاث والتطوير، او تكاليف الاعلانات. الاقتطاع من تكاليف اجرة المكاتب عن طريق الانتقال لبناء اصغير في حي ارخص قد يكون حركة ذكية، ولكن تخفيض ميزانية التسويق الخاصة بك قد يضر بمبيعات شركتك المستقبلية. طرد الموظفين الإداريين سيوفر عليك النقود على المدى القصير، لكنه قد يتسبب بدفعك للمزيد من المال إذا ادى ذلك الى عملية تسليم طلبات غير فعالة او الى تضييع طلبات من المستهلكين. لذا يجب عليك ان تقتطع من تكاليف التشغيل بحيث ما يبقى يكفي لضمان المنافسة، لكن دون التفريط بالجودة.

4. دوران الأصول Asset Turnover

لماذا يعد مقياساً مهماً

هناك عدد من الطرق المختلفة للحصول على المال، بعض الاعمال التجارية مثل Walmart وغيره من متاجر التجزئة التي تعتمد على الحسومات، تمتلك هامش ربح إجمالي منخفض ولكن حجم مبيعات مرتفع. دوران الاصول يقيس مدى فعالية العمل في استخدام الاصول (بالإنجليزية Assets) الخاصة به لتوليد المبيعات.

كيف تقوم بحسابه

هذا المقياس بسيط وسهل لكي ننهي الدرس فيه. ببساطة يمكن حسابه كالتالي:

دوران الأصول = الدخل الكلي \ كامل الأصول

طبعاً الدخل الكلي هو السطر الأول من وثيقة الدخل الخاصة بك. ويمثل العدد الكلي للمبيعات التي حققتها على مدى السنة. كامل الأصول هو مجموع كامل عقاراتك، معداتك، مخازنك، وما شابهها، ويمكنك الحصول عليه من قائمة الموازنة.

من خلال نظرة على تقرير Walmart السنوي لعام 2013 يمكننا أن نرى انها حصلت على دخل يقدر ب 469.1 بليون دولار وتمتلك من الأصول ما يساوي 203.1 بليون دولار. وهذا يعني دوران اصول بقيمة 2.3.

كيف تقوم بتقييمه

من المهم أن تقارن الشبيه مع الشبيه. لنعد إلى Microsoft. إن دوران الأصول الخاص بها كان فقط 0.5 وهو أقل بكثير من الخاص بـ Walmart. ولكن مع ذلك يبقى عملاً مربحاً، والفضل في ذلك يعود الى هامش الربح الإجمالي المرتفع الذي رأيناه سابقاً.

لذا انظر إلى الارقام مع النسب الاخرى التي اطلعنا عليها في هذا الدرس، وشاهد كيف ينسجمون مع بعضهم. ومن ثم فكر في نموذج العمل الخاص بك، الصناعة التي تتواجد فيها، وحدد هدفاً لمعدل دوران الاصول يكون مناسباً لك.

كيف تقوم بتحسينه

حتى لو لم تكن تشغل عملاً بحجم كبير من نمط Walmart، فإن تحسين معدل دوران الاصول الخاص بك سيحسن ربك بدون شك. كيف تقوم بذلك؟  هذه هي النسبة الوحيدة التي اطلعنا عليها ولم تكن التكاليف جزءاً من معالدتها، لذا في هذه الحالة يتعلق الأمر كلياً بدفع نمو المبيعات نحو الاعلى. فكر بأمور مثل الحملات الإعلانية، أنشطة تسويقية خاصة، برامج دعم، التفوق على منافسيك عن طريق اقتطاع السعر، أو دفع حوافز خاصة لطاقم البيع الخاص بك.

ايضاً فكر بالسرعة. تذكر، دوران الاصول يتعلق بتحول الأصول الى ربح بأكبر فعالية ممكنة. لذا مهما كان نوع العمل الخاص بك، ابحث عن طرقٍ لتحسين العمليات الخاصة بك وإيصال المنتجات الى السوق بسرعة اكبر.

الخطوات القادمة

إذا نظرت الى واحد من هذه المقاييس بشكل منفرد، فليس له سوى استعمال محدود. لكن بالنظر الى المقاييس مع بعضها ستكون لديك صورة واضح للربح الخاص بعملك.

لقد تعلمت الآن ما هي هذه المقاييس وكيف تحسبها، وماذا تخبرك هذه النتائج عن سلامة العمل الخاص بك.

لذا فإن الخطوة القادمة هي البدء باستخدامها بشكل دوري. ابدأ بالإطلاع على أرقامك في السابق، يمكنك العودة خمس سنين الى الوراء مثلاً. واحدٌ من الفوائد الاساسية لتعقب المقاييس هي رؤية التغييرات الخاصة بعملك مع مرور الزمن. هل نسبة نفقات التشغيل تزداد سنة عن سنة؟ ربما هذه هي السنة التي يجب أن تتحقق فيها من نفقاتك. هل هامش ربحك الاجمالي يتناقص؟ ربما يجب ان تتفحص مزيج المنتجات الخاص بك وتدفع المنتجات التي يمكن رفع سعرها بشكل أكبر.

بدون شك لا يجب أن تنظر الى أي من هذه الأرقام بمعزلٍ عن البقية. إذا كان هنالك سبب جيد لكون دوران الاصول الخاص بك أقل من المنافسين -- ربما لأنك تمتلك هوامش ربح اعلى -- فمن ثم لا داعي ان تحاول مطابقتهم فقط لمجرد المطابقة. إذا كانت نفقات تشغيل العمل لديك مرتفعة، ولكن بسبب إنفاقك المال على الأبحاث الاساسية التي ستفيدك على المدى الطويل، فمن ثم ليس من المنطق القيام باقتطاع النفقات لأن ذلك سيسبب الضرر لك.

عند أخذ هذه المقاييس في السياق الصحيح، وتعقبها بشكل مستمر، فإن بإمكانها أن تساعدك على رؤية المكان الذي يكون فيه عملك مربحاً، أين تتواجد المشاكل، وما الافعال التي يجب إتخاذها لجعل الربح يزداد.

في بقية هذه السلسلة الرباعية، سنلقي نظرةً على عدد من المقاييس الأخرى لتعقبها في أماكن مختلفةٍ من عملك، بدءاً مع بعض مقاييس السيولة الأساسية في الأسبوع القادم للتأكد من امتلاكك ما يكفي من المال لدفع الديون الخاصة بك.

مصادر

الرسوميات: Line Graph مصممة من قبل سكوت لويس (Scott Lewis) وAbacus مصممة من قبل بركاي سارجن (Berkay Sargin) من Noun Project.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Business tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Finance
Business

How to Measure Your Business's Profitability

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Key Metrics Every Business Should Track.
Pivotal Liquidity Metrics to Help You Avoid Insolvency

You are what you measure.

Many businesses generate reams of stats, metrics and key performance indicators, but if you’re not measuring the right things, you won’t get the right results.

The point of measuring performance, after all, is not to see how you did in the past, but to use that information to do better in the future. A recent Gartner survey found that less than half of businesses have metrics that help them understand how their work contributes to achieving their strategic objectives.

So in this four-part series of tutorials, we’re going to look at the critical metrics your business needs to track in key areas: profitability, liquidity, efficiency and customer acquisition/satisfaction.

First up is a look at profitability metrics. As with all the other areas, there are dozens of possible metrics you could track, but we’re going to focus on four of the most important ones, and look in detail at how you calculate them, what the results can tell you about the health of your business, and most importantly, what action you can take to improve your results in the future.

A lot of the numbers we’re looking at in this tutorial will come from your company’s income statement. If you need a refresher on what any of them mean or where to find them, check our recent tutorial on reading an income statement.

1. Gross Profit Margin

Why It’s Important 

This number is a good basic measure of how efficient your company is at manufacturing and distributing its products. It helps you zero in on your costs, and how much they’re eating into your profits.

How to Calculate It

The formula for this one is quite simple:

Gross Profit Margin = (Revenue – Cost of Goods Sold) / Revenue

For example, let’s say your company sold 1,000 T-shirts for $10 each. Your revenue for the year would be $10,000. But each T-shirt cost $6 to manufacture and distribute, so the cost of goods sold is $6,000. We plug in the numbers and get:

Gross Profit Margin = (10,000 – 6,000) / 10,000 = 40%

How to Evaluate It

In this example, your company is keeping 40% of the proceeds of each sale as profit, which is pretty healthy. That means it has plenty of money left to cover other costs, like research and development, taxes, and general administrative costs.

But keep in mind that gross profit margins vary widely by industry. Service-based businesses like law firms and accountants usually have high gross profit margins (50% and up), whereas manufacturers and retailers tend to be more in the 20% to 30% range. 

This website shows average gross profit margins for various industries, and you can also check with industry associations in your particular field for more information. Once you’ve established a benchmark, see how you compare against it, and how the percentage is changing over time.

How to Improve It

If your business is suffering from lower gross profit margins than your competitors, there are several things you can do. The most straightforward is to raise your prices. A bigger markup on each sale will translate to a higher gross profit margin, although of course you need to be careful not to drive away customers, so do your research to see how much the market will bear. An alternative is to look at your product mix, and spend most of your marketing dollars on pushing the high-margin products.

Or you could target the cost side of the equation. Can you switch to a cheaper supplier, or negotiate a better rate with your existing supplier? If you’ve been doing business for a while and growing, you may be able to negotiate a volume discount, lowering your costs and increasing your margin. Or perhaps the problem lies in your own processes. Examine every detail of your manufacturing and distribution processes to see if there are opportunities to make them more efficient.

2. Return on Invested Capital

Why It’s Important

One of the most basic things that companies do is to take money that’s been invested (capital), and turn it into profit. Return on Invested Capital is a measure of how effectively your company is doing that, and so it’s crucial to keep track of.

How to Calculate It

Working out ROIC can be either very simple or very complicated, depending on how much detail you want to go into.

Let’s look at the simple method first. The simplified formula is:

ROIC = Net income / (Long-Term Debt + Equity)

These are all numbers you can find easily on your business’s financial statements. Net income is the “bottom line” number on the income statement, and total debt and equity are on the balance sheet.

Google, for example, earned $12.2 billion in net income last year, and its total long-term debt and equity came to $89.5 billion.

So it’s ROIC would be 13.6% (12.2 divided by 89.5).

Some people like to make it more complicated, however. They make lots of adjustments to net income, mostly to take out any items that are unlikely to recur, arriving at a figure called NOPAT (net operating profit after tax). And they adjust debt and equity to get a more accurate picture of what’s actually invested in the business, as opposed to things like surplus cash.

Those adjustments can make a significant difference. Google’s ROIC, according to Marketwatch, is 14.9%. Morningstar makes it 15.1%.

What’s right for your business depends on how deep you want to get into the details. Just remember that the idea is to see how much profit you’re generating from the capital you’ve invested, and that if you’re comparing with other companies, they may be using slightly different methodologies.

How to Evaluate It

As with the other measures, the important thing is to look at your ROIC in comparison to your own results in earlier years, and also in comparison to your competition. For public companies, you can easily find the ratio in the companies’ accounts or on financial websites. Look at a few examples in your industry to get an idea of what to aim for. As a very rough rule of thumb, an ROIC of 15% or higher indicates a healthy amount of profit, but it varies for different industries.

How to Improve It

You can drive your ROIC higher in a number of ways. You could focus on the top part of the equation, the net income. Cutting expenses will give an immediate boost to net income, and therefore to ROIC, but be careful not to take it too far and starve your business of necessary investment. You could also do a sales drive to increase revenue, or try to shift your sales mix to more profitable products.

You could also choose to focus on the bottom part of the equation, debt and equity. Are you making the maximum use of all your capital? If not, then you can choose to pay down debt or return money to investors, which will also boost your ROIC.

3. Overhead Ratio

Why It’s Important

Overhead costs can be a real drag on a business’s profitability. If you’re spending a big portion of your income just keeping the lights on, you’ll struggle to grow. We looked at costs associated with sales in the “gross profit margin” section, and this is the other piece of the puzzle: fixed overheads.

How to Calculate It

You can calculate your overhead ratio using the following formula:

Overhead Ratio = Operating Expenses / (Operating Income + Interest Income)

Again, these are all lines from the income statement. Operating expenses are the “overheads,” things like office rent, utilities, machinery maintenance and so on. They’re necessary for your business, but they don’t directly generate income.

We’re then dividing that number by operating income (which you find on the income statement) plus interest income from your business bank account or investments.

For example, Microsoft had $30.8 billion in operating expenses, according to its 2013 annual report. It earned $26.8 billion operating income and $0.7 billion interest income. So the calculation would be:

Overhead Ratio = 30.8 / (26.8 + 0.7) = 1.1

How to Evaluate It

It’s best to look at this in conjunction with gross profit margin. Microsoft has a strong gross profit margin of 74%, so it has plenty of money left over for other costs. It’s overhead ratio, then, is sustainable.

If your business has a smaller gross profit margin, on the other hand, you’ll need to keep a much tighter lid on expenses.

As with the other ratios, the right number depends a lot on which industry you’re in, and what other companies in your field are doing. Go through the accounts of public companies in your field, companies whose success you want to emulate, and see how your company’s overhead ratio compares with theirs.

How to Improve It

This is a simple one to improve: simply cut expenses. But you need to be careful. Although overheads don’t contribute directly to generating revenue, they can still be important for your business.

Some operating expenses, for example, could be research and development costs, or advertising spending. Cutting office rental costs by moving to a smaller building in a cheaper neighborhood may be a smart move, but slashing your marketing budget could harm your company’s future sales. Laying off admin staff will save money in the short run, but might end up costing you more if it leads to inefficient invoicing or missed customer calls. So you want to trim overheads enough to be competitive, but without sacrificing quality.

4. Asset Turnover

Why It’s Important

There are different ways of making money. Some businesses, like Walmart and other discount retailers, have low profit margins but a high volume of sales. Asset turnover measures how efficiently your business uses its assets to generate sales.

How to Calculate It

This is a nice simple one to end with. It’s simply:

Asset Turnover = Total Revenue / Total Assets

Your revenue number, of course, is the top line from your income statement. It’s the total amount of sales you brought in over the year. Total assets are just the sum of all your property, equipment, inventory and so on, and you can get that number straight from the balance sheet.

A look at Walmart’s 2013 annual report shows that it had revenue of $469.1 billion and total assets of $203.1 billion. That means an asset turnover of 2.3.

How to Evaluate It

It’s important to compare like with like. Let’s go back to Microsoft. Its asset turnover is just 0.5, much lower than Walmart’s. But it’s still a profitable business, thanks to that high profit margin we saw earlier.

So look at the numbers together with the other ratios we’ve looked at in this tutorial, and see how they fit together. Then think about your business model, and the industry you’re in, and decide on a target asset turnover that’s right for you.

How to Improve It

Even if you’re not running a Walmart-style high-volume business, improving your asset turnover will still improve your profitability. How to do it? This is the only ratio we’ve looked at where cost is not part of the equation, so in this case it’s all about driving top-line sales growth. Consider things like ad campaigns, special promotions, loyalty programs, undercutting your competitors on price, or paying special incentives to your sales staff.

Also think about speed. Remember, asset turnover is about converting assets into revenue as efficiently as possible. So no matter what type of business you run, look at ways to streamline your processes and get your products to market more quickly.

Next Steps

If you look at one of these metrics on its own, it’s of limited use. Take them all together, and you have a clear picture of your business’s profitability.

You’ve now learned what these metrics are and how to calculate them, and what the results tell you about the health of your business.

So the next step is to start using them on a regular basis. Start by looking at your historical numbers, going back perhaps five years if possible. One of the main benefits of tracking metrics is in seeing changes in your business over time. Is your overhead ratio creeping up year by year? Maybe this is the year to get those costs in check. Is your gross profit margin declining? Perhaps you need to examine your product mix and push the ones that carry a higher markup.

Of course, you shouldn’t look at any of the numbers in isolation. If there’s a good reason why your asset turnover is lower than your competitorsperhaps because you have higher profit marginsthen you don’t have to try to match them just for the sake of it. If your overheads are high, but that’s because you’re spending money on essential research that will pay off over the long term, then there’s no sense in making damaging cuts.

When taken in the right context, though, and tracked consistently, these metrics can help you see where your business is profitable, where any problems lie, and what actions you need to take to boost your bottom line.

In the rest of our four-part series, we’ll look at a range of other metrics to track in different areas of your business, starting next week with some key liquidity metrics to make sure you stay solvent.

Resources

Graphic Credit:  Line Graph designed by Scott Lewis and  Abacus designed by Berkay Sargın from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.