Unlimited PowerPoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Small Business

كيف تزيد من أرباح عملك إلى أقصى حد: 7 نصائح سريعة

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

الأرباح هي شريان حياة الأعمال الصغيرة. وعندما تزداد أرباحك وتصبح متوقعة أكثر، فإن فرصة نجاة عملك الصغير ستزداد -- ومعظم الأعمال لا تنجو. في الواقع، فقط ما يقارب نصف الأعمال تميل إلى البقاء أكثر من خمسة سنين، وفقاً للبيانات من مكتب إحصاءات العمل في الولايات المتحدة.

Business Failure Rates
إحصائيات نسب فشل الأعمال من مكتب إحصاءات العمل

وبسبب معدل النجاة هذا، كل يوم يعتبر مهماً عندما يتعلق الأمر بكسب وزيادة أرباح عملك الصغير.

معظم الوقت، مالكو الأعمال الصغيرة لا يمكنهم تحمل انتظار نتائج التغيرات طويلة الأمد، واسعة النطاق التي تجري على نموذج عملهم. متى ما أمكنك، إذا رغبت بكسب ربحٍ أكبر كمالك عملٍ صغير، فإنك كلما قمت بذلك بشكل أسرع، كلما كان ذلك أفضل. التغييرات البسيطة التالية يمكن أن تساعدك على البدء بزيادة أرباحك إلى أقصى حد من هذه اللحظة.

7 استراتيجيات بسيطة لزيادة أرباحك إلى الحد الأقصى

1. قم بتحويل عملاء المرة الواحدة إلى عملاء متكررين

هنالك العديد من الأسباب لكون تحويل زبائنك إلى عملاء متكررين أمرٌ يمكنه زيادة أرباحك بسرعة. يميل الزبائن المتكررون إلى قضاء وقتٍ أكثر وشراء منتجاتٍ أكثر من الزبائن الجدد.

أظهرت دراسة أجريت من قبل Rosetta، وكالة استشارية، أن "العملاء المرتبطون" -- المشترون المتكررون الراضون عن الخدمة والذين يدعمون العلامة التجارية بشكلٍ علني -- هم الزبائن الأكثر قيمة التي يمكن لأي عمل امتلاكهم. فهم لا ينفقون مالاً أكثر بـ 300% من الزبائن التقليديين، بل أيضاً احتمال ارتقائهم بالصفقات أكبر بمرتين واحتمال تجربتهم لمنتجات جديدة من عملك أكبر بستة مرة.

Customer Engagement Statistics
المصدر: "تفاعل الزبائن من وجهة نظر الزبون" من قبل Rosetta

الزبائن المتكررون يشاركون أيضاً في طول عمر عملك. أظهرت دراسة من مواقع التجارة الإلكترونية أنه بحلول السنة الثالثة للعمل، تصبح الإيرادات معتمدةً في المقام الأول على الزبائن الذين يعودون بشكل متكرر وعلى الإحالات*. بشكلٍ آخر، الإيرادات المتكررة تساعد الأعمال على الحفاظ على أرباحٍ متوقعة وتساعدها ربما على تجنب مصير الأعمال التي تُغلَق قبل الوصول إلى السنة الخامسة.    (*المترجم: الإحالات أو Referrals، عندما يقوم شخص ما بإرسال شخصٍ آخر إلى أحد ما كي يساعده أو عندما يقوم بتعريفه على خدمة مفيدة أو منتج يستعمله.)

هنالك العديد من الطرق لتحويل عملائك إلى عملاء مرتبطين ومتكررين بشكل أكبر مما يساعد على زيادة أرباحك إلى أقصى حد. إليك بعضاً من هذه الطرق:

  • قم بتوفير عروض يتم دفع فواتيرها بشكلٍ متكرر. طريقة أخرى لكي يعود الزبائن لك هي عن طريق تحويل الصفقات الصغيرة إلى صفقات طويلة الأمد. قد يتضمن هذا الصيانة المجدولة، مثل أعمال الاعتناء بالمرج التي تقدم عناية شهرية بالحديثة، أو مطور مواقع ويب يوفر فحوصاً أمنية شهرية لموقع الويب. يمكنك أيضاً أن توفر خدمات تعتمد على الاشتراكات ذات صلة بعملك. على سبيل المثال، إذا كان عملك هو صالون حلاقة، فإن بإمكانك منج الزبائن فرصة الاشتراك بعملية إعادة ملء شهرية لمنتجات العناية بالشهر مع توصيلها إلى منزلهم، ويمكنك حتى أن تضيف تذكيرات بالتحسينات الخاصة بقصات شعرهم.
  • تواصل بشكلٍ مستمر مع الزبائن. لا تجعل أبداً العملية التجارية آخر نقطة تواصل بينك وبين الزبون. طريقة للقيام بذلك هي إرسال سلسلة من رسائل البريد الإلكترونية التلقائية، والتي يمكنك جعلها ترسل رسائل منتظمة إلى الزبائن بعد شرائهم منك على الإنترنت أو بعد اشتراكهم بقائمتك البريدية. يمكنك أيضاً أن تستعمل رسائل مكتوبة يدوياً مثل ما قامت به GreenPal، خدمة اعتناء بالمرج. بعد ثالث عملية شراء يقوم بها المستخدم، فإن يتلقى بطاقة "شكراً لك" مكتوبة باليد من الخدمة، وفقاً لـ Kissmetrics. وكنتيجة لذلك، انخفض معدل ترك الزبائن لهم.
  • قم بتوفير حسومات على التوصيل، وليس على المنتجات. خطأ شائع يرتكبه مالكو الأعمال الصغيرة هو أنه يوفرون حسومات لتشجيع الزبائن الجدد والمتكررين على الشراء. المشكلة في هذا المنهج أنه يقتطع من أرباحك ويجعل الناس يتوقعون أسعاراً منخفضة لمنتجاتك وخدماتك. وجدت دراسة من جامعة فلوريدا أن توفير "توصيل مجاني" يشجع على طلبات متكررة أكثر و"هو الخطة الأكثر فعالية عندما يتعلق الأمر باكتساب زبائن جدد". لذا بدلاً من توفير حسومات على منتجاتك أو فترات من التخفيضات، قم بشكلٍ متكرر بتوفير حسومات على التوصيل أو اجعل التوصيل مجانياً.

2. شجع على الإحالات

وفقاً لإحصائية شملت ما يقارب 1000 من مالكي الأعمال الصغيرة، الإحالات هي المؤثر الأهم في الأعمال الجديدة. إذا كان هنالك قناة تسويق واحدة يمكنها أن ترفع أرباحك إلى أقصى حد، فإنها ستكون الإحالات.

Customer refferals
المصدر: تقرير عن التسويق للأعمال الصغيرة من Constant Contact.

الإحالة الجيدة غالباً ما تكون تكلفتها بسيطة جداً أو دون تكلفة، بالإضافة إلى أن الزبائن المحتملين يميلون إلى إعطاء وزن لآراء الناس الذين يعرفونهم سابقاً. في الواقع، أظهر بحث من Nielsen أن 84% من المستهلكين يثقون بتوصيات المنتجات من عائلتهم، زملائهم، وأصدقائهم.

مثال على حملة إحالات كبيرة المستوى هي حملة تم تنفيذها من قبل Bomgar، والتي تقوم بتوفير برمجيات لسطح المكتب البعيد (بالإنجليزية Remote Desktop). لقد بحثوا عن أكثر الزبائن حباً لهم وقاموا بتصميم برنامج دعوة للعملاء والذي سمح لعملائهم بسكب نقاط عن طريق إحالة الناس إليهم وعن طريق تقديم شهادات رضا وإعجاب بمنتجاتهم. هذه النقاط يمكن تعويضها بامتيازات وهدايا. وكنتيجة لهذا البرنامج، شهدت Bomgar زيادة في الإحالات قدرها 700%.

وبالرغم من عدم حاجتك إلى تصميم شيء معقد بقدر هذا البرنامج، فإن هنالك على الأغلب أموراً أبسط يمكنك القيام بها لتشجيع زبائنك الراضين عن العمل على إحالة معارفهم إليه. فكر بتجربة الأمور التالية:

  • برنامج إحالة مع خصومات وامتيازات في مقابل الإحالات، شبيهٌ بمثال Bomgar في الأعلى.
  • قم بتصميم تجربة زبون تتطلب منه أنه يشاركها مع الآخرين. مثال على ذلك هو بائع الأزياء Everlane، والذي يشجع الزبائن على مشاركة صور منتجاتهم على وسائل التواصل الإجتماعي.  بحث بسيط عن هاشتاج #everlane على Instagram سيظهر الكثير من المحتوى الذي أنشئه الزبائن ويعرض منتجات Everlane.
  • شجع الزبائن الراضين على ترك مراجعات وشهادات رضا عامة. بعد شرائهم منك، يجب تشجيع الزبائن على نشر مراجعاتهم على وسائل التواصل الإجتماعية. يمكن لهذا أن يكون خطراً في حال كانت تجربة الزبون سيئة، لذا تأكد من أن خدمة الزبائن خاصتك وجودة منتجاتك في أعلى مستوى.

3. قم بالتخلص من المنتجات ضعيفة الأداء

لكي تكتشف ما هي المنتجات أو الخدمات التي يجب أن توقف العمل عليها، عليك تحضير وثيقة إيرادات (بالإنجليزية Income Statement) لكل مصدر إيرادات موجودٍ لديك. هذا سيتيح لك معرفة مقدار الربح والنفقات الخاص بكل منتج أو خدمة في عملك.

بببساطة، لكل منتج لديك، ستقوم بذكر المقدار الإجمالي للمبيعات وستطرح كل التكاليف المرتبطة بتصميم وبيع هذا المنتج. ستكون الصيغة البسيطة بهذا الشكل:

الإيرادات الصافية من المنتج = المقدار الكلي للمبيعات - المقدار الكلي لتكلفة المنتج

(إذا أردت المزيد من التفاصيل حول كيفية حساب هذا مع أخذ التكاليف الثابتة والمتغيرة في عين الاعتبار، تحقق من هذا الدليل المفصل.)

حالما انتهيت من حساب إيراداتك الصافية لكل منتج وخدمة تقدمها، اعرف ما يلي:

  • ما هي المنتجات والخدمات التي تجلب أقل قدراً من الإيرادات الصافية؟ هذه هي المنتجات والخدمات التي تؤدي أدائاً ضعيفاً.
  • هل هنالك منتجات أو خدمات تخسر المال عليها فعلياً؟ هذه هي منتجاتك وخدماتك غير المربحة.
  • بالنسبة لهذه العناصر غير المربحة أو ضعيفة الأداء، هل التخلص منهم سيخلصك أيضاً من النفقات المرتبطة بها، أو أن هذه النفقات ستنتقل إلى المنتجات الباقية؟
  • بالنسبة للمنتجات والخدمات الغير مربحة أو ضعيفة الأداء، هل التخلص منها سيؤثر على المنتجات الباقية؟ على سبيل المثال، إذا كان الزبائن عادة يجربون عملك عن طريق شراء المنتجات ضعيفة الأداء، لكنهم يتبعون ذلك بشراء منتجاتك الأكثر ربحاً، عندها سيؤثر التخلص من المنتجات ضعيفة الأداء على منتجاتك الأخرى بشكلٍ سلبي.

رائدة الأعمال التي تخلصت من المنتجات ضعيفة الأداء بشكل ناجح هي سارة جيلتشر (Sarah Gilcher) من PerennialPlanner، والتي تبيع أدوات ودفاتر التنظيم المطبوعة. بحسب مقابلة مع Brilliant Business Moms، باعت جليتشر في الأساس منتجات الأطفال ومطبوعات يمكن تحميلها من الإنترنت. وبما أن منتجاتها المطبوعة كانت تبيع أكثر، وكانت هذه المنتجات تستغرق وقتاً أقل لكي تصممها وتبيعها، قامت سارة بالتخلص من منتجات الأطفال وركزت على المطبوعات. هذا أدى إلى ما لا يقل عن 3000 عملية بيع في السنة.

تفحص الأداء الخاص بكل منتج وخدمة بهذا الشكل يمكن أن يساعدك على معرفة كمية مشاركة كل منتج بمقدار ربحك النهائي -- وما إذا كان من الأفضل أن تركز على المنتجات القليلية التي تؤدي أداءاً قوياً.

4. قم بتوفير عروض للارتقاء بالصفقة أو للبيع العابر للعناصر المشهورة لديك

يمكنك أن تركز جهودك على بيع زبائنك منتجات أخرى (بيع عابر وبالإنجليزية Cross-Sell) أو على منحهم خياراً أعلى سعراً (الارتقاء بالصفقة وبالإنجليزية Upselling) عند شرائهم شيئاً منك. هذا سيزيد من متوسط الربح الذي تحصل عليه من كل عملية تجارية أو من كل زبون.

الارتقاء بالصفقة سيعني أن الزبون عندما يشتري منتجاً ما، فإنك تعرض عليه خياراً أعلى سعراً من خط الإنتاج نفسه. مثلاً، توفر FreshBooks، شركة لإرسال الفواتير عبر الإنترنت، اشتراكاً شهرياً قدره 19.95 دولاراً، لكنها تعرض أيضاً حزمةً سعرها 29.95 دولاراً كالخيار المنصوح به، وهو عبارة عن حزمة أعلى من ناحية السعر لكنها تحتوي على ميزات أكثر.

Freshbooks upselling example
مثال على الارتقاء بالصفقة

مثال على بيع عابر بسيط هي الإضافات والملحقات الخاصة بمنتجات Tumbleweed Houses، شركة تبيع مخططات بناء للبيوت الصغيرة جداً*.  في المثال المذكور أدنى، عندما تضيف مخططات البناء الخاصة بهم إلى سلة مشترياتك، سيكون لديك أيضاً خيارٌ سريع لإضافة DVD يتعلق بالبناء وسعره 59.95 دولار -- وهو جزءٌ صغير مما ستدفع للمخططات. وبالرغم من وجود روابط لملحقات أخرى مثل لأكواخ العمل والمقطورات الخاصة بمنزلك الصغير، فإن الـ DVD هو فقط ما يمكنك إضافته بسهولة إلى سلة مشترياتك أثناء تسوقك وإطلاعك على مخططات المنازل.    (*المترجم: البيت الصغير جداً أو Tiny House، هو منزل بحجم صغيري يقارب الـ 50 متراً مربعاً في الغالب، وهنالك توجه نحو السكن في هذه المنزل بسبب بعض الحركات الاجتماعية الأمريكية التي تدعو إلى بساطة العيش.)

Cross-selling example
مثال على البيع العابر

يجدر بنا أن نذكر أنه وفقاً لدراسة أجريت من شركة الأبحاث PredictiveIntent، فإن أداء الارتقاء بالصفقة أعلى بـ 20 مرة من أداء البيع العابر. لذا إذا كنت تفكر في الاستراتيجية التي ستجربها أولاً، فانظر ما الذي يمكن للارتقاء بالصفقة أن يوفر لمنتجاتك الأكثر شهرةً.

5. تخلص من أو فوض المهام غير الأساسية

مالكو الأعمال السيئة معروفون بقيامهم بالكثير من العمل، فهم غالباً ما يغطون أموراً مثل دعم الزبائن إلى إنتاج المنتجات وحتى التسويق. إذا وجدت نفسك تقوم بالكثير من المهام الإدارية، فأعد التفكير فيما إذا كانت هذه المهام أساسية للحفاظ على أو لاكتساب الزبائن.

يمكنك أن تفوض بعض المهام التي تمنعك من قضاء الوقت على العمل الذي يولد ربحاً أكبر. مثلاً، خدمة الزبائن الجيدة يمكن أن تقود إلى المزيد من المبيعات وإلى قيمة زائدة لكل عمليات البيع، وفقاً لتقرير من McKinsey. إذا كانت خدمة الزبائن تأخذ من وقتك عدة ساعات في كل أسبوع -- ساعات يمكن أن تقضيها بشكل أفضل على مهام عالية المستوى مثل التسويق والتخطيط للعمل -- فإن تفويضها قد يفتح المزيد من فرص النمو أمام عملك.

عدا عن التفويض، لا تنسى التخلص من بعض المهام بعضاً. بالنسبة للمهام التي تقوم بها بشكلٍ متكرر ويبدو أنها لا تؤثر على ربحك النهائي، قد يكون من الأفضل أيضاً أن تزيلها من قائمة المهام التي يجب القيام بها. هذه المهام قد تتضمن قضاء الوقت على قنوات التسويق التي لم تجلب لك أي نتائج، أو اللقاءات الطويلة على أرض الواقع والتي تتناول قضايا كان من الممكن التعامل معها عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني.

6. توسع وقم بالوصول إلى سوق أكبر

إذا نجحت في الوصول إلى عدد أكبر من الناس، فإن أرباحك ستزيد. ما هي المناطق -- سواءً مناطق جغرافية أو ديموغرافية (سكانية) -- التي يمكن أن يبلي فيها عملك بلاءً أفضل؟ مثلاً، إذا كنت تبيع المنتجات بشكل جيد في مدينتك، لكنك لم تستفد إلى أقصى حد من الفرص في المدينة المجاورة، فربما حان الوقت لتوسيع السوق الخاص بك والوصول إليها.

مثال على التوسع هو عن طريق زيادة وصول رسالتك التسويقية. Groove HQ، والتي تنتج برامج دعم تقني للأعمال، تكتب منشورات مدونة لكي تصل إلى جمهور أوسع بكثير من السوق الذي تستهدفه. بمعنى آخر، هم لا يركزون فقط على الوصول إلى زبائنهم المحتملين، بل إلى جمهور عام أكبر. هذا سمح لها بالحصول على المزيد من الإحالات، وببناء شراكات، وبالحصول على تغطية إعلامية أكبر.

عندما تركز على جذب قطاع محدد من السوق، فإن نظرك سيغيب عن كل الناس الآخرين الذين من الممكن أن يكونوا مهتمين بمنتجك، أو الذين يعرفون أشخاصاً يمكن أن يكونوا زبائن محتملين لك.

7. تخلص من الاختناقات في قُمعِ الزبائن الخاص بك

طريقة أخرى لزيادة أرباحك إلى أقصى حد هي أن تنظر بشكل دقيق على قُمعِ المبيعات الخاص بك وأن ترى أين يمكنك تحديثه. اذكر كل الخطوات التي يخطوها المستخدم لكي يعرف عن العمل خاصتك ولكي يتشري شيئاً فعلياً. هذه الخطوات يمكن أن تحدث على الإنترنت، حيث يجدون موقعك الإلكتروني، يقومون بتصفحه، ويشترون شيئاً من متجرك الإلكتروني. قُمع المبيعات على أرض الواقع قد يتضمن تجول الزبائن في متجرك، اتصالات مندوبي المبيعات، والاتصالات القادمة من الزبائن.

حالما ذكرت كل الخطوات، اسأل نفسك وأي شخص من الطاقم ذا صلة بما يلي:

  • ما هو القسم في عملية البيع الذي يترك فيه معظم الزبائن؟ هل هو رؤيتهم للسعر، تواصلهم مع خدمة الزبائن، أو قضائهم للأسبوع التجريبي؟ اكتشف التسربات في قُمع المبيعات خاصتك واعرف ما هي التصرفات التي يمكنك اتخاذها لمنع الزبائن المحتملين المؤهلين من أن يفقدوا الاهتمام بعملك.
  • هل هنالك طريقة لتبسيط قُمعك؟ كلما ازداد عدد الخطوات التي يجب على الزبون القيام بها قبل القيام بعملية شراء، كلما ازدادت فرصة تركه لقمع المبيعات خاصتك بشكلٍ كلي. إذا كان بإمكانك جعل النقلة من القرار وحتى الشراء أسهل ومرضية أكثر بالنسبة للزبون، كلما كان ذلك أفضل. كمثال، مدونو الطعام دستين ولايسي باير يمتلكون عملاً يعرض الإعلانات على موقعهم ويبيعون كتاب طهي. عن طريق تبسيط قمع مبيعاتهم من خلال التركيز على قائمة المشتركين في بريدهم الإلكتروني، كانوا قادرين على زيادة مبيعاتهم عشرات الأضعاف.

الطريقة البسيطة للمزيد من الأرباح

الوسائل المذكورة في الأعلى تظهر أنك لست بحاجة لإعادة هيكلة كاملة عملك أو للقيام بتغيرات جذرية لزيادة أرباحك. وبالرغم من إمكانية تخطيطك لتغيرات طويلة الأمد، فإن هذه التعديلات البسيطة يمكن أن تساعدك على الحصول على النتائج السريعة المطلوبة لكي تجني المال بالمقدار الذي تطمح إليه.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Small Business
Business

How to Maximize Your Business Profit: 7 Quick Tips

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Profits are the lifeline of small businesses. As your profits increase and become more predictable, your small business has a greater chance of surviving—and most businesses don't. In fact, only around half of businesses tend to make it past the five-year mark, according to data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Business Failure Rates
Business failure rate statistics from Bureau of Labor Statistics

Because of this survival rate, every day counts when it comes to turning and increasing your small business profits. 

Most of the time, small business owners can't afford to wait for the results of long-term, large-scale changes to their business model. As much as possible, if you want to turn a bigger profit as a small business owner, the quicker you can do it, the better. The following simple changes can help you get started maximizing your profitability right away.

7 Simple Strategies to Maximize Profit

1. Convert One-Time Clients Into Recurring Clients

There are many reasons why converting your customers into repeat clients can quickly improve your profitability. Recurring customers tend to spend more and purchase more frequently than new customers. 

A study conducted by Rosetta, a consulting agency, showed that "engaged customers"—satisfied repeat buyers who advocate for a brand—are the most valuable customers a business can have. Not only do they spend 300% more than typical customers, they are also two times more likely to buy upsells and six times more likely to try new products from your business.

Customer Engagement Statistics
Source: "Customer Engagement from the Customer's Perspective" by Rosetta

Repeat customers also contribute to the longevity of your business. A study of e-commerce sites showed that by their third year of business, revenues are mostly dependent on returning customers and referrals. In other words, recurring revenue helps businesses maintain the predictability of their profits and possibly helps them avoid the fate of businesses that close before reaching year five.

There are many ways to convert your clients into more engaged, repeat buyers that help maximize profit. Here are some of them:

  • Have offers with recurring billing. Another way to get return customers is to turn your small deals into long-term billings. This might include scheduled maintenance, such as a lawn care business providing monthly garden care, or a website developer offering monthly website security checks. You can also offer subscription-based services relevant to your business. For example, if your business is a hair salon, you can offer customers the chance to subscribe to a monthly refill of hair care products delivered to their door, and even include reminders on touch-ups on their haircuts.
  • Keep in touch with customers. Never let a transaction be the last point of contact between you and your customer. One way to do this is through an email autoresponder sequence, which you can trigger to automatically send regular emails to your customers after they purchase online or subscribe to your email list. You can also use handwritten notes such as GreenPal, a lawncare service, did. After a customer's third transaction, they receive a handwritten "thank you" card from the service, Kissmetrics reports. As a result, they've seen a decrease in customer churn.
  • Give discounts on shipping, not products. One common mistake that small business owners make is that they give away discounts to encourage new and repeat purchases. The problem with this approach is that it cuts into your profits and sets a lower price expectation on your products and services. A study from the University of Florida found that offering "free shipping" encourages more frequent orders and "is the most effective policy in terms of customer acquisition". So instead of discounting your products or having sales, regularly give discounted or free shipping.

2. Encourage Referrals

According to a survey of over 1000 small business owners, referrals are the number one driver of new business. If there's one marketing channel that can maximize your profits, referrals would be it.  

Customer refferals
Source: Constant Contact small business marketing report.

A good referral often has minimal or no costs, plus potential customers tend to give weight to the opinions of people they already know. In fact, research from Nielsen shows that 84% of consumers trust product recommendations from family, colleagues, and friends. 

An example of a sophisticated referral campaign was conducted by Bomgar, which provides remote desktop software. They sought out their most avid customers and created a customer advocacy program which allowed their customers to earn points by creating referrals and providing testimonials. These points can be redeemed in exchange for perks and gifts. As a result of this program, Bomgar saw a 700% increase in referrals.

While you don't have to create something as complicated, there are probably simple things you can do to encourage your satisfied customers to refer your business to their contacts. Consider testing out the following:

  • A referral program with discounts and perks in exchange for referrals, similar to the Bomgar example above.
  • Create a customer experience that demands to be shared. One example is fashion retailer Everlane, which encourages customers to share photos of their products on social media. A simple search for the #everlane hashtag on Instagram reveals a lot of customer-created content featuring Everlane products.
  • Encourage public reviews and testimonials from satisfied customers. After purchasing from you, customers should be encouraged to post reviews on social media. This can be risky when it comes to bad customer experiences, so make sure that your customer service and product quality are in top shape.

3. Drop Low Performers

To figure out which of your products or services should be discontinued, you have to prepare an income statement for each of your income sources. This will let you know how much profit and expenses each of your products and services bring in to the business.

Basically, for each product, you'll list the total gross amount of sales and subtract all the costs associated with creating and selling that product. A simple formula would be the following:

Net Income from Product = Total Amount of Sales – Total Product Costs

(If you need more details on how to compute this while taking both fixed and variable costs into account, check out this thorough guide.)

Once you're done computing your net income for each of your products and services, find out:

  • Which products and services give you the lowest net income? These are your underperforming products and services.
  • Are there products and services that you're actually losing money on? These are your unprofitable products and services.
  • For those unprofitable or underperforming items, would getting rid of them also get rid of the expenses associated with them, or will these expenses be passed on to your remaining products? 
  • For those products and services that are unprofitable or are underperforming, would getting rid of them affect the sales of your remaining products? For example, if customers usually try your business by buying your underperforming products, but then they follow up by purchasing your more profitable products, then getting rid of your underperforming products might affect the sales of your other products negatively.

An entrepreneur who has dropped low performing products successfully is Sarah Gilcher of PerennialPlanner, which sells printable organizers. According to an interview with Brilliant Business Moms, Gilcher originally sold baby products and downloadable printables. Since her printable products were selling more, and these products were less time consuming to create and sell, she dropped selling the baby products and focused on the printables. This led to at least 3,000 sales in a year.

Going through the performance of each product and service in this way can help you find out for certain how much they contribute to your bottom line—and whether you're better off focusing on the few that really deliver.

4. Offer Upsells or Cross-Sells on Popular Items

You can also focus your efforts on selling customers other products (cross-selling) or offering them a higher priced option (upselling) as they are transacting with you. This raises the average profit you get per transaction or per customer.

An upsell would mean that as a customer is buying a product, you offer them a higher priced option from the same product line. For example, FreshBooks, an online invoicing company, offers a monthly subscription worth $19.95, but they highlight a package worth $29.95 as the recommended option, which is a higher-cost package with more features.

Freshbooks upselling example
Upselling example

An example of a simple cross-sell are the add-ons in the products of Tumbleweed Houses, a company that sells plans for tiny homes. In the example below, as you add their building plans to your shopping cart, you also have a quick option to add a Construction DVD for $59.95—a small fraction of what you're already paying for the plans. While there are also links to other add-ons such as workshops or trailers for your tiny house, it's only the DVD that you can easily add to your cart as you're shopping for house plans.

Cross-selling example
Cross-selling example

It's worth noting that according to a study from research firm PredictiveIntent, upselling tends to perform 20 times better than cross-selling. So if you're considering which tactic to try first, see what upsells you can offer on your most popular products.

5. Remove or Delegate Non-Essential Tasks

Small business owners are notorious for taking on too much work, since they often cover everything from customer support to product creation to marketing. If you find yourself doing too many administrative tasks, consider if those tasks are essential to keeping or acquiring customers. 

You can delegate some tasks that take your time away from doing more profit-generating work. For example, good customer service can lead to more purchases and increased value of purchases, according to a report from McKinsey. If customer service takes several hours out of your week—hours that could be better spent on higher-level tasks such as marketing and business planning—then delegating it might open up more opportunities for your business to grow.

Apart from delegating, don't forget to eliminate as well. For tasks that you repeatedly do that don't seem to affect your bottom line, it might be better to take them off the to-do list as well. These might include spending time on marketing channels that haven't brought in any results, or long real-time meetings that address issues that could have been dealt with via email.

6. Expand Your Reach to a Broader Market

To increase your profits, you might also do well to increase your reach. Which areas—whether demographic or geographic—can your business do better in? For example, if you're selling your products well from your city, but you haven't maximized your opportunities in the next city, perhaps it's time to expand your market and reach out there.

One example of expanding is by broadening the reach of your marketing message. Groove HQ, which makes helpdesk software for businesses, creates blog posts to reach a much broader audience than their target market. In other words, they don't just focus on reaching out to prospects, but to a more general audience. It has allowed them to get referrals, build partnerships, and get more media exposure.

When you're focusing on attracting just a specific segment of the market, you lose sight of all the other people who might possibly be interested in your product, or who might have contacts who can be potential prospects for you.

7. Eliminate Bottlenecks in Your Sales Funnel

Another way to maximize your business profits is to take a critical look at your sales funnel and see where it can be improved. List all the steps it takes for a customer to find out about your business and actually purchase something. These steps could take place online, where they find your website, browse, and buy something from your online store. An offline sales funnel might include customer walk-ins to your store, sales calls, or incoming customer calls.

Once you have all the steps listed, ask yourself and any relevant staff the following:

  • In which part of the sales process do most potential customers drop off? Is it when they find out the price, get in touch with customer service, or use up a one-week trial period? Spot the leaks in your sales funnel and see what measures you can take to stop qualified leads from losing interest.
  • Is there a way to simplify your funnel? The more steps a customer has to go through before a purchase, the more chances they have for dropping out of your sales funnel altogether. If you can make the transition from decision to purchase easier and more satisfying for your client, the better. As an example, food bloggers Dustin and Lacey Baier have a business running ads on their site and selling a cookbook. By simplifying their sales funnel through focusing on their email opt-in list, they were able to increase their sales by more than a multiple of ten.

The Simple Way to More Profit

The above methods show that you don't have to restructure your entire business or make drastic changes to increase your profits. While you can still make plans for long-term changes, these simple tweaks can help you get the quick results needed to keep your cash flow on track. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.