Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Pricing
Business

7 من أفضل بنى التسعير لمساعدتك على زيادة أرباحك

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

في درسٍ حديثٍ لنا، اطلعنا على الاستراتيجيات الأساسية للتسعير ضمن عملك الصغير. واطلعنا على ثلاثة استراتيجيات رئيسية:

  1. التسعير اعتماداً على التكلفة
  2. التسعير اعتماداً على الزبون
  3. التسعير اعتماداً على المنافسين

فكر بهذه كأساس لوضع الأسعار الخاصة بك. لكن مهما كانت الاستراتيجية التي اخترتها، فهناك الكثير من الطرق المختلفة التي يمكنك أن تقدم فيها هذه الأسعار لزبائن.

يمكنك أن تستعمل حزم الأسعار، على سبيل المثال، أو كشط الأسعار، أو نموذج الفريميوم (المجاني جزئياً)، أو أي من النماذج الأخرى. إن بنى التسعير المختلفة هذه هي التي سنطلع عليها بشكل مفصل في هذا الدرس. ستتعلم خصائص سبع من أشهر بنى التسعير، مع أمثلة لمعرفة متى يكون كل منها فعالاً.

Which pricing structure should you use for your small business
ما هي بنية التسعير التي يجب أن تستعملها لعملك الصغير؟ (مصدر الصورة)

حالما تنتهي من قراءة هذا الدرس والدرس الآخير، فإنك ستكون واثقاً لمعرفتك بكيفية تحديد الأسعار لعملك الغير بالطريقة الأكثر فعاليةً وربحاً.

1. حزم الأسعار (بالإنجليزية Price Bundling)

زوجتي تكره ذهابي إلى المتجر. دائماً ما أعود بحقائب ممتلئةٍ بالأشياء التي لا نحتاجها. عندما تنظر بتعجب إلى الاثنا عشر حبة من الأفوكادو التي أقوم بإخراجها من الكيس، فإنني أقول مدافعاً عن نفسي، "لقد كان هنالك عرضٌ خاص! ثلاث حبات بسعر حبتين."

حسناً، أعترف بذلك. لا أستطيع مقاومة حزم الأسعار.

لكنني رغم ذلك لست الوحيد. حزم عدة عناصر مع بعضها وتوفير سعر مغري لهذه الحزم هي طريقة مجربة لزيادة المبيعات. يحب الزبائن شعور أنهم حصلوا على قيمة جيدة، أو أنهم حصلوا على شيء مجاني ("اشتري واحدة، واحصل على واحدةٍ مجاناً!).

الجانب السيء من حزم الأسعار، بدون شك، هو أنك تخفض من متوسط سعر البيع لكل عنصر، وبالتالي فإنك تقلل من هوامش ربحك. لكن إذا وصلت إلى أفضل بقعة، فإن بإمكانك مع ذلك الحصول على ربح جيد. هذه البنية فعالة على وجه الخصوص إذا كنت تمتلك مستودعاً كبيراً من البضائع التي تحتاج إلى تقليلها. يمكن لحزم الأسعار أن يخلصك من بضائع المستودع وأن يجلب لك دخلاً بسرعة.

وبالرغم من مثال الأفوكادو خاصتي، فإن هذا النوع من التسعير يمكن أن يكون جيداً بشكل حقيقي لزبائنك. إن بإمكانه منحهم صفقةً جيدة على بضائع يرغبونها حقا و\أو بحاجة إليها، واحتمالية الحصول على مثل هذه الصفقات مستقبلاً يمكن أن تجعلهم يعودون إليك بشكلٍ مستمر.

2. نموذج الفريميوم (مجاني بشكل جزئي وبالإنجليزية Freemuim)

إذا أمضيت أي مقدار من الوقت على الإنترنت، فإنك على الأغلب تألف هذه النموذج. في الواقع، إنك تختبره الآن.

هنا على Envato Tuts+ نقوم بمنح آلاف الدروس المجانية، ونقدم أيضاً خيار اشتراكٍ شهري بقيمة 15 دولار في الشهر على دورات الفيديو الحصرية. الفكر هي أن الدروس المجانية تقدم قيمةً للناس وتشجعهم على استعمال هذا الموقع ونصح الآخرين به، ومن ثم تقوم نسبة من هؤلاء الناس بالتسجيل في النسخة الحصرية. هذه هو نموذج تسعيرنا الكلي. الدروس "مجانية" (بالإنجليزية Free) والدورات "حصرية" (بالإنجليزية Premium)، ومزج هاتين الكلمتين يعطينا نموذج الفريميوم (بالإنجليزية Freemium).

Envato Tuts premium pricing
تسعير دورات Enavto Tuts+ الحصرية

فائدة هذا النموذج هو أن بإمكانك اكتساب زبائن جدد بسرعة كبيرة. الناس غالباً ما يجربون المنتج إذا كان مجانياً، وإذا أعجبهم، فإن احتمال نصح أصدقائهم به يصبح كبيراً. "مرحباً، تحقق من هذا التطبيق المجاني!" هي عبارة نحب جميعاً أن نقولها.

في الأيام الأولى لـ Skype، أتذكر كم اندهش الناس عندما أخبرتهم أن بإمكانهم التحدث للناس على الجانب الآخر من العالم، وفوق ذلك بشكل مجاني! بالرغم من أن ملايين الناس استعملوا فقط القسم المجاني منه، فإن ذلك لم يكن مهماً، لأنهم كانوا بمثابة مندوبي مبيعات لـ Skype. عدد كافٍ من الناس سجلوا في النسخة الحصرية مما أقنع eBay بشراء Skype مقابل 3.1 بليون دولار في عام 2005، فقط بعد سنتين من بدئه. هذا ليس بالأمر السيء!

بالرغم من أن هذا النموذج يمكن أن يؤدي إلى نمو هائل في المستخدمين، فإن النموذج الفريميوم لا يعمل دائماً. هذه المقالة من صحيفة Wall Street Journal تعطينا بعض الأمثلة التي تبين أن نموذج الفريميوم قد يفشل، كما أنها تستشهد بديفيد كوهن (David Cohen) مؤسس حاضنة الأعمال وهو يقول بأنه غالباً فقط 1% أو 2% من الزبائن سيقومون بالتحديث للنسخة الحصرية.

لكي يعمل النموذج الفريميوم، فإن على عملك أن يكبر في الحجم بشكل كبيرٍ جداً، وتحتاج إلى أن تكون قادراً على تغطية تكلفة الكثير من المستخدمين المجانيين، وستحتاج أيضاً إلى الوصول إلى التوازن الصحيح بين العناصر المجانية والعناصر الحصرية. القسم المجاني يجب أن يكون ذا قيمة، لكن القسم الحصري يحتاج أيضاً إلى توفير شيءٍ مختلفٍ بشكل كلي وجدير بالاهتمام كي يقنع الناس بالتحديث.

إذا لم تكن حذراً، فقد ينتهي بك الأمر مع عدد كثير من الناس الذين يستعملون منتجك ويكلفونك المال، لكن القليل منهم فقط من سجلوا بالنسخة الحصرية.

3. التسعير الديناميكي

عندما تذهب إلى متجر الحي، فإن هناك سعراً واحداً لكل عنصر، مطبوعاً بشكل واضح على المنتج أو على الرف.  تخيل كم ستغضب إذا دفعت 10 دولارات مقابل علبة البيتزا المجمدة الخاصة بك، بينما الشخص الذي خلفك مباشراً عند صندوق الدفع حصل عليها مقابل 5 دولارات.

ومع ذلك فإن أمراً مشابهاً تماماً لهذا الأمر يحصل في كل الأوقات ضمن صناعات محددة. إنه شائع على وجه الخصوص في أمورٍ مثل حجوزات الفنادق ورحلات الطيران. يتغير السعر طوال الوقت بناء تقلب العرض والطلب، لذا من الممكن بشكل كبير أن يكون الشخص الجالس بجانبك قد دفع نصف تكلفتك.

نموذج التسعير الديناميكي يبدو ملائماً للشركات أيضاً. تعلم الشركات أن طائرة فارغة تطير عبر الأطلسي سيكون لها تكلفة ضخمة مرتبطة بها، لذا فإن أولويتهم هي ملء أكبر عدد ممكنٍ من المقاعد.

لذا في حال كان الحجز بطيئاً، فإن الأسعار ستنخفض للتشجيع على المزيد من الحجوزات. من ناحية أخرى، غذا كان هنالك الكثير من الناس الذين يقومون بالحجز وعدد الركاب يزداد فإن الأسعار سترتفع كي تحصل الشركة على أقصى ربحٍ ممكن على كل زبون جديد. غالباً، يحدث كل هذا بشكل أوتوماتيكي بناءً على خوارزميات حاسوب معدةٍ مسبقاً.

يمكنك بسهولة أن تستعمل النموذج نفسه في عملك الصغيرة. إذا استأجرت قاعة اجتماعات للقيام بمؤتمر أو حدث ما، على سبيل المثال، فإنك قد توفر تذاكر رخيصة أولاً كي يمتلئ المكان. ومن ثم، تقوم بزيادة الأسعار مع انخفاض عدد المقاعد -- أو يمكنك أن تقوم بتخفيضات في الدقائق الأخيرة في حال كان هنالك الكثير من المساحات الفارغة.

يمكنك أيضاً أن تستعمل نموذج التسعير الديناميكي للمنتجات والخدمات الرئيسية. على سبيل المثال، استوديو تصميم ويب يمكنه أن يزيد الأسعار عندما يكون هنالك الكثير من العمل حالياً، وأن يخفضها عندما لا تبطء وتيرة العمل.

فقط لا تنسى مثال البيتزا. لا ترغب في إرباك زبائنك أو إغضابهم عندما يرون أن الناس الآخرين يحصلون على أسعارٍ أفضل. التواصل الصادق والمباشر هو أمر أساسي، بحيث يفهم الناس المنطق المتبع خلف عملية تسعيرك.

4. تسعير الاشتراك

بدلاً من بيع المنتجات أو الخدمات بشكل منفصل، لما لا تنشئ نموذج اشتراك، حيث يقوم الزبائن بالوصول إلى مدى واسع من هذه المنتجات والخدمات مقابل اشتراك شهري أو سنوي متكرر؟

شركة Envato، التي تشغل هذا الموقع، قامت حديثاً بتوفير خدمة تعتمد على الاشتراك وتدعى Envato Elements. تبيع هذه الخدمة أموراً مثل التصاميم المرئية، الخطوط، وقوالب الويب -- النوع نفسه من المنتجات الموجودة في متجر Envato الحالي.

Envato Elements subscription pricing
تسعير اشتراك Envato Elements.

الشيء المختلف هو أن متجر Envato بيع العناصر بشكل فردي، بينما يوفر Evnato Elements وصولاً لامحدوداً إلى كامل المكتبة مقابل اشتراك شهري وحيد. هذا مثال حي عن هذا النموذج.

الفائدة الأساسية لنموذج الاشتراك هذا هو أنه ينشئ سيلاً من الدخل المتكرر والذي يمكن التنبؤ به نسبياً. وإذا تم تنفيذه بشكل صحيح، يمكن أن تكون قيمة الزبون طوال فترة الحياة (بالإنجليزية The Lifetime Value of a Customer) أعلى من نماذج أخرى.

الجانب السلبي هو أن هذا النموذج أحياناً ما ينفر الزبائن الجدد لأنه يتطلب التزاماً أكبر. وهناك دوماً خطر أن يشترك الناس لفترة قصيرة، ومن ثم يحملون كل ما تقوم بتوفيره، وبعدها يتركونك.

لكي تحافظ على اشتراك الزبائن على المدى الطول، فإما عليك أن تضع شرطاً جزائياً على إنهاء الاشتراك، الأمر الذي يكرهه الزبائن (هل تتذكر اشتراك النادي الرياضي الذي ما زلت تدفعه حتى الآن؟) أو تحتاج إلى أن تقدم إليهم المزيد والمزيد من الأمور القيمة كي تعطيه أسباباً مقنعة للبقاء (وهو المنهج الذي يتخذه Envato Elements)

5. كشط الأسعار (بالإنجليزية Price Skimming)

يتضمن كشط الأسعار امتلاك سعر أولي مرتفع لمنتج جديد، ومن ثم تقليله مع مرور الزمن.

الفكرة خلف هذا النموذج أن الزبائن المختلفين يرغبون أو يقدرون على دفع أسعار مختلفة للمنتج نفسه. بهذه الطريقة، يمكنك أن تراه كتنويعة للتسعير الديناميكي. لكن كشط الأسعار محدد أكثر: السعر يكون دوماً مرتفعاً في البداية ومن ثم ينخفض لاحقاً.

كشط الأسعار غالباً ما يستعمل مع الأدوات الحديثة "الواجب امتلاكها" أو مع عناصر الرفاهية، حيث يكون هنالك زبائن محددون مستعدون لدفع سعر مرتفع لكي يكونوا من أوائل من يحصلون على المنتج. كما أنه شائع أيضاً في مجال الكتب، حيث يتم أولاً نشر الكتب ذات الغلاف القاسي باهظة الثمن، ومن ثم تأتي النسخ ذات الغلاف الورق الأرخض سعراً بعد عدة شهور.

إذا قمت بالأمر بالشكل الصحيح، فإنك ستحصل على أفضل الأمور من كلا العالمين: هوامش ربح كبيرة من المشترين المبكرين ومن ثم زيادة في المبيعات عندما تقلل الأسعار لاحقاً من أجل الزبائن الذين يراعون التكلفة.

Pricing structure ipnone price skimming
Apple تستخدم كشط الأسعار عند إصدارها لمنتجات جديدة.

هذا المنهج يعمل بأفضل شكل عندما تطلق منتجاً تعرف أن الناس ينتظرونه بحماس وسيقدرونه بشكل كبير. إذا استطعت عمل الكثير من الإثارة والحماس فإن الناس قد يرضون بدفع الأسعار المرتفعة الأولية.

الجانب السلبي هو أنك إذا سعرت المنتج بسعر مرتفع، فإنك قد تبعد الزبائن المحتملين عنك. وهؤلاء الزبائن قد لا يعودون إليك أبداً، حتى عندما تعود وتقلل السعر لاحقاً. أو كما هو الحال مع التسعير الديناميكي، فإنك قد تحصل على ردة فعل سلبية من الزبائن عندما يرون أن الآخرين يحصلون على نفس المنتج بسعرٍ أرخص. لاتباع هذه الاستراتيجية بشكل صحيح، فإنك بحاجة إلى بناء الكثير من الثقة في جاذبية منتجك، ومجدداً، إيصال سياسة التسعير للناس بشكل واضح جداً.

6. البيع بالخسارة (بالإنجليزية Loss Leader Pricing)

كمالك عمل صغير، لماذا قد تفكر يوماً ما ببيع منتج معين بنفس سعر شرائك له أو حتى بسعرٍ أقل؟ هذه وصفة مؤكدة للإفلاس!

نعم سيكون الأمر كارثة إذا اتبعت هذه الاستراتيجية بشكل متكرر. لكن الأعمال تقوم بتنفيذها على منتجات مختارة كوسيلة لجذب الزبائن إليهم.

الفكرة هي أنك تقدم منتجاً واحداً بسعرٍ مذهل، رخيصٍ إلى درجةٍ لا يمكن للزبائن مقاومتها. سيحتشدون عند متجرك، وبينما هم هناك، سيلاحظون بعض الأمور الأخرى التي تبيعها (بسعر عادي)، وسيشترون بعض هذه الأشياء أيضاً.

غالباً ما تستعمل هذه الطريقة في متاجر البضائع الفيزيائية، لكن يمكن للأعمال التجارية الصغيرة على الإنترنت أن تستعملها أيضاً. الزبائن كثيراً ما يقارنون المتاجر على الإنترنت، وإذا رؤوا أنك تبيع المنتج الذي يرغبونه بسعر رخيص، فإنهم قد يختارون متجرك بدلاً من ذهابهم لمكانً آخر. وبينما هم على موقعك الإلكتروني، فإنهم قد يشترون المزيد من الأمور -- خصوصاً إذا صممت عملية الشراء الخاصة بك بحيث تقترح عليهم منتجات أخرى مشابهة وذات صلة عند عملية الدفع، أو ربما عن طريق استخدام حزم الأسعار.

الخطر في البيع بالخسارة هو أن الناس قد لا يقومون بعمليات الشراء الإضافية هذه. يأتون ويشترون المنتج الرخيص ومن ثم يغادرون. في هذه الحالة، كل ما قمت به هو الخسارة ببساطة.

7. التسعير عن طريق الفخ

هذا النموذج مثيرٌ للاهتمام -- يتضمن هذا النموذج أن توفر خياراً شرائياً غير جذابٍ بتاتاً. لماذا قد تقوم بذلك؟ طبعاً لجعل الخيار الآخر يبدو أفضل!

لقد ناقشت هذا الموضوع في درسي حول علم النفس والتسعير. لقد ذكرت مثالاً شهيراً للتسعير عن طريق الفخ تم الإشارة إليه من قبل الخبير الاقتصادي دان أريلي (Dan Ariely). وفرت مرة مجلة The Economist ثلاثة خياراتٍ للاشتراك:

  1. النسخة الإلكترونية فقط: 59 دولاراً
  2. النسخة المطبوعة فقط: 125 دولاراً
  3. النسخة الإلكترونية والنسخة المطبوعة: 125 دولاراً

هل يمكنك ملاحظة الفخ؟ إنه الخيار الثاني بدون شك، حيث تحصل فقط على النسخة المطبوعة بينما يمكنك بنفس السعر أن تحصل على كليها. إنه سعرٌ سيء بدون شك.

إليك الجزء الممتع. في تجربة، وجد أريلي أن وجود الفخ هذا جعل احتمال اختيار الناس للخيار الثالث أكبر، خيار النسختين مرتفع الثمن. والسبب أنه بدا صفقةً جيدة مقارنةً بالخيار الفخ رقم اثنان.

لكن عندما تمت إزالة الخيار الثاني، تغير سلوك الناس. لقد واجهوا خيارين، وهم في معظم الأحوال اختاروا الخيار الأرخص. لذا فإن إضافة خيار غير جذاب بتاتاً أدى فعلياً إلى المزيد من الإيرادات.

إذا أردت استعمال التسعير عن طريق الفخ في عملك الصغير، فإن الشيء الأساسي للقيام به هو توفير خيار شراء قريب في السعر للخيار الذي ترغب أن يختاره الناس، لكن سعره سيء بشكل واضح.  إذا كانت بنيتك صحيحة، فإن الفخ يجب أن يجعل السعر الحقيقي يبدو جذاباً أكثر مما يؤدي إلى المزيد من المبيعات.

خاتمة

في هذا الدرس، تعلمت سبعة بنى تسعير شائعة يمكنك استعمالها في عملك الصغير. لقد رأيت كيف تعمل، حصلت على فكرة عن محاسن ومساوئ كلٍ منها، ورأيت بعض الأمثلة لتعرف متى قد ترغب باستعمالها في عملك.

التسعير هو مجالٌ واسع، لذا في هذه الدروس حاولت أن ابسط الأمور من خلال الالتزام بتعطية أشهر الاستراتيجيات والبنى. إذا كان هنالك جانبٌ آخر من التسعير وترغب في أن أغطيه في درس مستقبلي، أرجو أن تترك تعليقاً في الأسفل!

الخطوة التالية الجيدة حالياً هي الغوص في علم النفس المتعلق بالتسعير. قام الأكاديميون بكمية ضخمة من الأبحاث حول استجابة المستهلكين لأنواع الأسعار المختلفة، وبعض النتائج كانت معاكسةً للحدس. الدرس التالي سيعلمك كيف تربح من بعض الانحيازات المعرفية المثيرة للاهتمام:

وإذا وجدت أن هذه الأفكار الجديدة المتعلقة بالتسعير تتطلب منك رفع أسعارك، فإليك كيف تقوم بذلك دون خسارة الزبائن:

أخيراً، لا تنسى أن تتحقق من درسي السابق حول استراتيجيات التسعير إذا لم تطلع عليه بعد.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

New! Unlimited audio, video & web asset downloads! Unlimited audio, video & web assets! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Pricing
Business

7 Top Pricing Structures to Help Boost Your Profit

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

In a recent tutorial, we looked at the main pricing strategies for your small business. We looked at three main strategies:

  1. Cost-based pricing
  2. Customer-based pricing
  3. Competitor-based pricing

Think of that as the foundation for setting your prices. But no matter which of those strategies you choose, there are many different ways in which you can present those prices to your customers.

You could use price bundling, for example, or price skimming, or a freemium model, or many others. It’s those different pricing structures that we’re going to look at in detail in this tutorial. You’ll learn the ins and outs of seven popular pricing structures, with examples of when each one might be effective.

Which pricing structure should you use for your small business
Which profitable pricing structure should you use for your small business? (graphic source)

By the time you’ve finished reading this tutorial and the last one, you’ll be confident that you know how to set prices for your small business in the most effective and profitable way.

1. Price Bundling

My wife hates it when I go to the supermarket. I always come back with bags full of things we don’t need. When she looks questioningly at the twelve avocados I’m unpacking, I say defensively, “They were on special offer! Three for the price of two.”

OK, I admit it. I’m a sucker for price bundling.

I’m not the only one, though. Bundling multiple items together and offering an enticing price for the bundle is a tried and tested way of increasing sales. Customers love to feel that they are getting good value, or something free (“Buy one, get one free!”).

The downside of price bundling, of course, is that you reduce the average selling price of each item, and so you cut into your profit margins. But if you hit the sweet spot, you can still make a good profit. It’s particularly effective if you have a large inventory of products that you need to reduce. Price bundling can clear inventory and bring revenue in quickly.

And, despite my avocado example, this kind of pricing can also be genuinely good for your customers. It can give them a good deal on products they actually want and/or need, and the possibility of getting similar deals in the future can keep them coming back to your business.

2. The Freemium Model

If you’ve spent any time on the internet, you’re likely familiar with this model. In fact, you’re experiencing it right now.

Here at Envato Tuts+, we give away thousands of free tutorials, and we charge people $15 a month for premium video courses. The idea is that the free tutorials give people value and encourage them to use and recommend the site, and then some percentage of those people will sign up for the premium version. Here’s our full pricing structure. The tutorials are “free”, and the courses are “premium”, and the combination of the two words creates a “freemium” model.

Envato Tuts premium pricing
Envato Tuts+ premium courses pricing.

The advantage of this model is that you can acquire new customers very quickly. People are more likely to try a product if it’s free, and if they like it, they’re more likely to recommend it to their friends. “Hey, check out this free app!” is something we all like to say.

In the early days of Skype, I remember how amazed people were when I told them you could talk to people on the other side of the world, and it was free! Although millions of people only ever used the free part, it didn’t matter, because they acted as salespeople for Skype. Enough people signed up for the premium features to convince eBay to buy Skype for $3.1 billion in 2005, just two years after it started. Not bad!

Although it can lead to explosive growth, the freemium model doesn’t always work. This Wall Street Journal article gives some telling examples of freemium fails, and it also quotes startup accelerator founder David Cohen as saying that typically only 1% or 2% of customers will upgrade to a premium version.

For the freemium model to work, you need to achieve significant scale, you need to be able to cover the cost of a lot of free users, and you also need to get the right balance between the “free” and “premium” elements. The free part needs to be valuable, but the premium part also needs to offer something clearly different and worthwhile to convince people to upgrade.

If you’re not careful, you can end up with a lot of people using your product and costing you money, but very few of them ever signing up for the premium version.

3. Dynamic Pricing

When you go into your local supermarket, there’s one price for every item, printed clearly on a label on the product or the shelf. Imagine how angry you’d be if you were charged $10 for your pack of frozen pizzas, but the person behind you in the checkout line got the same pack for only $5.

Yet a very similar thing happens all the time in certain industries. It’s particularly common with things like airline and hotel bookings. The prices change all the time based on fluctuating supply and demand, so it’s quite possible that the person sitting next to you paid half your fare.

The dynamic pricing model makes sense for the companies, though. They know that an empty plane flying across the Atlantic has a hefty fixed cost attached to it, so their priority is to fill up as many of those seats as possible.

So if bookings are slow, the prices will go down to encourage more bookings. On the other hand, if lots of people are booking and the flight is filling up, the prices will rise so that the company gets maximum profit out of each new customer. Usually, all of this is done automatically, based on preset computer algorithms.

You could easily apply the same model in your small business. If you’ve hired the local town hall to run a seminar or other event, for example, you might offer cheap tickets early on to get the place filled up. Then, later, you could raise prices as seats are becoming scarce—or run special last-minute discounts if you’ve still got too many empty spaces.

You could even use dynamic pricing for your main products or services. For example, a web design studio could raise prices when it already has a lot of business, and lower them if things get slack.

Just don’t forget that pizza example. You don’t want your customers to be confused or angry when they see other people getting better prices. Clear, honest communication is key, so that people understand the rationale for your pricing.

4. Subscription Pricing

Instead of selling products or services individually, why not create a subscription model, where customers get access to a wide range of them in exchange for a regular monthly or annual fee?

Envato, the company that runs this site, recently introduced a subscription service called Envato Elements. It sells things like graphics, fonts, and web templates—the same kind of products as Envato’s existing marketplace, Envato Market.

Envato Elements subscription pricing
Envato Elements subscription pricing.

The difference is that, whereas Envato Market sells items individually, Envato Elements offers unlimited access to its entire library for a single monthly fee. It’s the subscription model in action.

The main advantage of the subscription model is that it creates recurring, relatively predictable revenue stream. And if it’s done right, the Lifetime Value of a Customer can be higher with the subscription model.

The downside is that it can sometimes be off-putting to new customers because it involves more of a commitment. And there’s always the danger that people join for a short time, download everything you’re offering, and then leave.

To keep customers subscribed for the long haul, you either need to have a punitive cancellation policy, which customers hate (remember that gym membership you’re still paying off?) or you need to keep offering them more and more value and giving them reasons to stay (which is the approach Envato Elements is taking).

5. Price Skimming

Price skimming involves having a high initial price for a new product, and then reducing it over time.

The idea behind it is that different customers are willing or able to pay different prices for the same product. In that way, you could see it as a variation of dynamic pricing. But price skimming is more specific: the price always starts high and goes down later.

Price skimming is often used with new “must-have” gadgets or luxury items, where certain customers are willing to pay a higher price to be among the first people to own them. It’s also common in the book industry, where expensive hardcover books are published first, and a cheaper paperback edition comes out months later.

If you do it right, you get the best of both worlds: higher profit margins from the early adopters, and then a bump in sales when you reduce the prices later on for the more cost-conscious consumers.

Pricing structure ipnone price skimming
Apple uses a price skimming structure with the release of it's new products.

This approach works best when you’re launching a product that you know people are anticipating eagerly and will value highly. If you can create a buzz, then people may be willing to pay those higher initial prices.

The downside is that if you price your product too high, you may turn potential customers away. And those customers may never come back, even when you reduce the price later on. Or, as with dynamic pricing, you may get a backlash from customers who see others getting the same product more cheaply. To follow this strategy successfully, you need to have a lot of confidence in the appeal of your product and, again, communicate your pricing very clearly.

6. Loss Leader Pricing

As a small business owner, why would you ever sell a product at the same or even a lower price than you bought it for? Surely that’s a recipe for bankruptcy!

Yes, it would be a disaster if you followed that strategy on a regular basis. But businesses do it all the time on selected products, as a way of getting customers in the door.

The idea is that you offer one product at an amazing price, so cheap that customers can’t resist. They flock to your store, and while they’re there, they notice some of the other things you’re selling (at regular prices), and they buy some of those too.

It’s commonly used in physical shops, but small online businesses can use it too. Customers often comparison shop online, and if they see you selling the product they want cheaply, they may choose your store when otherwise they would have gone elsewhere. And while they’re on your site, they may buy more—especially if you design your sales process to offer them other, related products during checkout, perhaps incorporating price bundling.

The danger of loss leader pricing is that people could end up not making those extra purchases. They come and buy your loss leader, and then leave. In that case, all you’ve made is a simple loss.

7. Decoy Pricing

This is an interesting one—it involves offering customers a buying option that is completely unattractive. Why would you do that? To make another option look better, of course!

I touched on this in my tutorial on the psychology of pricing. I mentioned a famous example of decoy pricing highlighted by behavioral economist Dan Ariely. The Economist magazine at some point offered three subscription options:

  1. Web only: $59
  2. Print only: $125
  3. Print and web: $125

Can you spot the decoy? It’s option 2, of course, where you get only the print magazine but for the same price as both print and web. It’s clearly bad value.

Here’s the interesting part. In an experiment, Ariely found that the existence of that decoy price made people more likely to choose option 3, the expensive print and web option. That’s because it looked like a good deal compared to the decoy, option 2.

But when option 2 was removed, people’s behavior changed. They were faced with just two options, and they mostly chose the cheaper one. So including a completely unattractive buying option actually resulted in more revenue.

If you want to use decoy pricing in your small business, the key is to offer a buying option that’s close in price to the one you actually want people to choose, but is clearly worse value. If you structure it right, your decoy should make the real price look more attractive, resulting in an increase in sales.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you’ve learned about seven common pricing structures you can use in your small business. You’ve seen how they work, you’ve got an idea of the pros and cons of each one, and you’ve seen some examples of when you might want to use them in your business.

Pricing is a huge area, so in these tutorials I’ve tried to keep it simple by sticking to a few of the most popular strategies and structures. If there’s another aspect of pricing that you’d like us to cover in a future tutorial, please leave a comment below!

A good next step at this point would be to delve into the psychology of pricing. Academics have done a huge amount of research into how consumers respond to different types of prices, and some of the results are distinctly counter-intuitive. The following tutorial will teach you how to profit from some interesting cognitive biases.

And if your newfound insight into pricing means you now need to raise your prices, here’s how to do it without losing customers:

Finally, don’t forget to check out my previous tutorial on pricing strategies if you haven’t seen it yet.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.