Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business Intelligence
Business

ما هو ذكاء الأعمال؟

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

في درس حديث اطلعنا على فوائد البيانات الكبيرة (بالإنجليزية Big Data) لعملك الصغير. لكن حتى لو لم تستطع شركتك التعامل مع حجم البيانات هذا، فإنه ما زال بإمكانك الاستفادة من منهجٍ تحليلي.

وكما هو الحال مع البيانات الكبيرة، كانت أنظمة ذكاء الأعمال* يوماً ما حكراً على الشركات الضخمة مع ميزانيات تقنية هائلة. لكن بفضل المنافسة الزائدة وتطور تقنيات مثل الحوسبة السحابية والبرمجيات كخدمة (بالإنجليزية Software as a Service)، بدأت المزيد والمزيد من الشركات الصغيرة بالاستفادة من من الخيارات المتوافرة اليوم والتي يمكن تحمل تكلفتها.     (*المترجم: أنظمة توفر القدرة على تحليل بيانات العمل للقيام بعدة مهام مثل تحليل وضع العمل الحالي أو التنبؤ بتطوره في المستقبل)

وجدت دراسة من Oxford Economics في عام 2013 أن أكثر من نصف الشركات التي لا تتجاوز مبيعاتها 100 ألف دولار تخطط لاستعمال ذكاء الأعمال من الثلاث سنواتٍ القادمة -- قفزة مقدارها 43%.

كن حذراً قبل اتخاذ قرار استعمال ذكاء الأعمال. بين 70% إلى 80% من مشاريع ذكاء الأعمال المؤسساتية تفشل، وفقاً لبحث من Gartner تم الاستشهاد به في هذه المقالة من عالم الحاسوب.

لذا في هذا الدرس سناعدك على وضع نفسك في مكان مناسب لاستعمال ذكاء الأعمال بشكل جيد. ستكتسب فهماً قوياً لمعنى ذكاء الأعمال، ما فوائد استعماله في عملك، وكيف يمكنك تطبيقه بنجاح. كما سنطلع أيضاً على بعض الأمثلة التي تبين كيف تستعمل الشركات أنظمة الأعمال هذه الأيام لمساعدتها على اكتساب المعلومات حول العمليات التي تقوم بها واتخذا قرارات أفضل.

Data Sharing Graphic
العمل من أنظمة ذكاء الأعمال. (رسم توضيحي)

1. ما هو ذكاء الأعمال؟

الأمور الأولى أولاً. ما الذي نعنيه بذكاء الأعمال؟

وفقاً لشركة الأبحاث التقنية Gartner:

عبارة ذكاء الأعمال هي مظلة ينضوي تحتها التطبيقات، البنية التحتية والأدوات، وأفضل الممارسات التي تمكن من الوصول إلى وتحليل المعلومات لتحسين عملية اتخاذ القرار والأداء إلى أقصى حد.

بعبارات أبسط، الأمر يتعلق بالقيام بقرارات أفضل ضمن عملك عن طريق تحليل المعلومات. عادةً ما يأخذ هذا شكل قاعدة بيانات أو أي برنامج آخر يقوم بسحب الحقائق والأرقام من عدة أقسام داخل عملك ومن ثم يقوم بتوليد المخططات البيانية، التقارير، وأي وسائل أخرى تساعد على الفهم.

يمكنك استعمال حلول ذكاء الأعمال لتحليل أي جانب من جوانب عملك. يمكنك مراقبة فعالية الجهود التي تبذلها لكسب المبيعات، على سبيل المثال، أو فعالية العمليات ضمن مصنعك، أداء أفراد طاقم عملك المختلفين، والكثير غير ذلك.

2. فوائد ذكاء الأعمال للأعمال الصغيرة

يمكن لذكاء الأعمال أن يكلف الكثير من المال والوقت كيف يتم تجهيزه وإعداده للاستعمال. فما فوائد القيام به إذاً؟ ما الذي تقدمه أنظمة ذكاء الأعمال لعملك الصغير؟

وجد تقرير في عام 2014 من قبل Dresner للخدمات الاستشارية أن السبب الرئيسي لاستعمال الشركات الصغيرة لذكاء الأعمال هو "القيام بصناعة قرارات أفضل". الأسباب المهمة الأخرى تضمنت:

  • نمو الإيرادات
  • زيادة أفضليتهم على المنافسين
  • تحسين فعالية العمليات
  • تحسين خدمة الزبائن

سنطلع على بعض الأمثلة المحددة لكيفة اكتساب الشركات لهذه الفوائد في القسم التالي، لكن من الآن تبدو هذه القائمة مثيرةً للإعجاب. فهي تلامس تقريباً معظم العوامل التي تحدد نجاح شركة ما.

معظم الشركات تقوم بتحليل البيانات هذه الأيام أصلاً، لكن غالباً ما يكون ذلك عن طريق استعمال عدد من جداول البيانات في Microsoft Excel. يمكن لهذه الطريقة أن تستهلك الوقت بشكل كبير، والنتائج لا تكون دائماً ما تبحث عنه. برنامج Excel رائع للقيام بالكثير من الأمور، لكن أحياناً تحتاج إلى أداةٍ مختلفة لحل مشكلة مختلفة.

"عندما يتم القيام بالأمر بالشكل الصحيح، فإن تحليل البيانات يمكن أن يوضح لك النزعات والميول في عملك التي لن تتمكن من رؤيتها بطريقةٍ أخرى"، هذا ما قاله دان لنستيدت (Dan Linstedt) في مقالة على مجلة Inc، رئيس Empowered القابضة الواقعة في سانت ألبان، فيرمونت، الولايات المتحدة. "يمكن لذكاء الأعمال أيضاً أن يبين ويوضح تكلفة اكتساب زبائن جدد مع مرور الزمن، وكيف ترتبط هذه التكاليف بخسارة أو ربح الزبون".

3. أمثلة

إذا كيف تستعمل الشركات ذكاء الأعمال هذه الأيام؟ إليك بعض الأمثلة.

لزيادة المبيعات

بدون شكل، الزبائن هم شريان حياة أي عمل، ويمكن لنظام ذكاء الأعمال أن يساعدك على فهم الزبائن بشكل أفضل.

متجر البيع بالتجزئة على الإنترنت Glit Groupe هو مثال ممتاز على ذلك. كي يوم يقوم بإرسال رسالة بريد إلكتروني إلى زبائنه في الساعة 11:45 قبل الظهيرة، يعرض المبيعات اليومية، ويقوم بالزبائن بالذهاب إلى موقعه لكي يشتروا (أو لا). بشكل واضح، مع نموذج عمل مثل هذا، فإن معدل تحول الزوار إلى مشترين هو أمرٌ بالغ الأهمية.

الشركة كانت تجمع البيانات حول تصفح زبائنها وسجلهم الشرائي وغير ذلك، لكنها كانت تبحث عن طريقةٍ أفضل لتحليل كل هذه البيانات وتوليد نتائج يمكن العمل بناءً عليه.

قامت Gilt بتجهيز نظام ذكاء أعمال من SAS، يسمح للشركة بدمج المعلومات من مصادر مختلفة وإنتاج تقارير ساعدتها على توجيه رسائلها الإلكترونية بشكلٍ أكثر نجاحاً. البيانات المولدة سمحت لـ Glit بالتنبؤ بشكل دقيقٍ أكثر بكثير حول أي من الزبائن سينجذب إلى أي من العروض، وتخصيص رسائلها بشكل يزيد المبيعات إلى أقصى حد.

النتائج:

  • المزيد من الزبائن انجذبوا إلى أقسام بضائع جديدة لم يشتروا منها سابقاً.
  • ازدياد قدره 100% في معدل التحويل للنساء الذي تم تحديد بأنهم على الأغلب سيتسوقون على موقع الرجال، لكنهم لم يقوموا بذلك بعد.
  • زيادةٌ كبيرة في معدل التحويل للأعضاء الجدد (أي عدد الأعضاء الذين قاموا بعملية شراء بدلاً من مجرد التسوق).

للتحكم في بضائع المستودع

كما رأينا في الدروس السابقة، التحكم في مستودعك من البضائع هي طريقةٌ هامة لجعل عملك أكثر فعالية، ولتحسين سيل العمل والأرباح. أنظمة ذكاء الأعمال يمكن أن تساعدك على تحقيق هذا.

"التخلص من فائص البضائع -- وبالتالي التقليل من التكاليف اللازمة للحفاظ عليها -- هو واحدٌ من أسهل التغييرات التي يمكن لشركة ما أن تقوم بها لكي تؤثر مباشرةً على أرباحها"، هذا ما أخبره دوايت دي فيرا (Dwight deVera)، نائب المدير لدى مزود أنظمة ذكاء الأعمال Arcplan، لموقع CIO.com. ونظام ذكاء أعمال مع لوحة مراقبةٍ جيدة، "والذي يوفر لبائعي التجزئة نظرةً أفضل على بضائعهم، سيمكنهم من القيام بقرارات أفضل حول ما يجب طلبه وعند القيام بذلك فإن البضائع لن تقبع على رفوف المخازن لمدة طويلة."

يمكنك أن تجد عدداً مع الحلول التحليلة الجاهزة للعمل على متجرنا CodeCanyon. مثل Analytics Dashboard Utility لـ WordPress. أو يمكنك أن تأخذ قالب إدارة مواقع ويب مع لوحة مراقبة سهلة الاستخدام من على ThemeForest، مثل القالب الأفضل مبيعاً Metronic - Responsive Admin Dashboard Template مع لوحة مراقبةٍ جذابةٍ جداً -- حل جاهزٌ لتحليل بيانات موقعك.

بائع النبيذ بالتجزئة The Wine House نفذ ذلك فعلياً، وحرر ما يصل إلى 400 ألف دولار من المال عن طريق استعمال برنامج تحليل جديد من SAS لتحديد العناصر التي يمتلكها ويخزنها ولم يتم نقلها منذ أكثر من سنة.

النبيذ الجيد لا يفسد، لكنه بدون شك يأخذ مساحة ويكلف مالاً طالما أنه مخزن. قام The Wine House بتنفيذ عملية بيع للفائض، وقام باستعمال البرنامج من ذلك الوقت لتحديد الزجاجات التي تنتقل ببطء وللتشجيع على التخلص منها.

استعملت الشركة أيضاً هذه المعلومات للتأثير على قرارت شرائها المستقبلية. على سبيل المثال، أظهرت البيانات أن الزبائن كان يشترون الكثير من زجاجات الـ 20 دولاراً، لكن عدداً قليلاً من زجاجات الـ 100 دولار. لذا انتقلت الشركة نحو توفير المزيد من البضائع منخفضة السعر التي رغب بها الزبائن.

اتبعت شركاتٌ أخرى منهجاً مشابهاً، مثل شركة الاتصالات Asurion Asia Pacific، والتي استعملت برنامج QlikView لتحليل وتحسين إدارتها لبضائعها، مما زاد عائدها على الاستثمار في ستة شهور فقط.

لتحليل حركة الزوار لموقع الويب

بعض أنظمة الأعمال بسيطة ومعروفة بشكل جيد، وأنت على الأغلب تستعملها في هذه الأوقات.

توفر جوجل الكثير من التحليل لزوار موقعك من خلال خدمات مجانية مثل تحليلات جوجل (بالإنجليزية Google Analytics) وأدوات مشرفي محركات البحث (بالإنجليزية Google Webmaster Tools)، وتخصيص بعض الوقت لاستعمالها بشكل فعال يمكن أن يساعد على جذب المزيد من الزبائن وتحسين موقعك كي تشجعهم على الشراء.

بدأ بوب شيريلا (Bob Shirilla) بعمل الصغير بعد قضاء عقدين من الزمن في شركة IT تستعمل برامج تحليل البيانات بشكل مستمر. أخبر Inc Magazine بأن مواقعه على الإنترنت، Keppsakes-etc.com وSimply-bags.com، "تبلي بلاءً جيداً جداً في بيئة منافسةٍ بشكل كبير. ويعود الفضل لهذا إلى قرارات العمل التي اتخذتها عن طريق استعمال أدوات جوجل لتحليل البيانات."

تعلم المزيد حول العمل مع تحليلات جوجل على نطاق واسع، تجارب أ\ب *، والمتغيرات المخصصة عن طريق هذه الدروس:    (* المترجم: تجارب أ\ب أو تجارب الانقسام وبالإنجليزية A/B Testing، هي اختبار إحصائي لعينتين، وفي مواقع الويب يستخدم لمعرفة أي تغيير جلب الزوار بشكل أكبر)

لكي تقدم خدمة زبائن أفضل

كان لدى الشركة البريطانية الناشئة SureFlap فكرة قوية منذ بدئها: باب قطط* يستعمل تقنية الرقائق الدقيقة لكي يسمح بدخول حيوانات الأليفة ولمنع بقية القطط من الدخول. لكن كما قال مؤسسها الدكتور نك هل (Nick Hill)، "امتلاك منتج رائع ليس كافياً، عليك أن تحيطه بخدمة زبائن رائعة أيضاً."    (* المترجم: باب القطط أو Cat Flap هو الفتحة الصغيرة التي تكون في أسفل الباب والمخصصة للحيوانات الأليفة كي تدخل وتخرج دون مساعدة من الإنسان.)

لذا استعملت الشركة أداةً تدعى Service Cloud من Salesforce.com لكي ترسل مئات استطلاعات رضا الزبائن كل أسبوع وقامت بتحليل النتائج بشكل مستمر. هذا سمح لـ SureFlap بتحديد ومعالجة المشاكل، مما أدى إلى معدلات رضا تزيد عن 90%.

يمكن للنظام أيضاً أن ينبه فريق خدمة الزبائن بأي نتيجة منخفضة لاستطلاع ما، بحيث يمكن لهم التواصل مع الزبون ومحاولة حل أي مشاكل عالقة.

4. تنفيذ نظام ذكاء أعمال

رأينا الآن فوائد ذكاء الأعمال وبعض الأمثلة التي تبين كيف يمكن للأعمال الصغيرة أن تستعمله. إذا كنت مقتنعاً بقيمته، فإن الوقت قد حان لكي تقوم بتنفيذ واحد في شركتك. في هذا القسم سنطلع على عملية بسيطة يمكن اتباعها، وعلى أمثلةٍ لبعض البائعين الشهرين الذين يمكنك التحقق منهم.

ما هو هدفك؟

السؤال الأول الذي يجب أن تطرحه على نفسك هو ما الأمر الذي تطمح إلى تحقيقه.

كما رأينا، ذكاء الأعمال مظلة تنضوي تحتها عددٌ كبير من الحلول، في كل منطقة من مناطق العمل من إدارة العلاقات مع الزبائن وحتى الفعالية الإدارية.  إذا ما هي أولويتك؟

هل ترغب مثلاً بزيادة المبيعات، أو بتحسين معدل رضا الزبائن الحاليين؟ هل ترغب بالحصول على المزيد من الفعالية في عملياتك أو من طاقم عملك؟ كن واضحاً حول الأولويات الإجمالية وخطتك طويلة الأمد لعملك، وفكر كيف ستساعد أنظمة ذكاء العمل على تحقيق هذه الأهداف.

ما الذي تمتلكه؟

حالما حصلت على فكرة حول المناطق التي يجب التعامل معاه، قم بالتفكير بالبيانات التي تمتلكها حالياً. ما هي المعلومات التي تجمعها في الوقت الحاضر، وما الذي يمكن جمعه بسهولة في حال توافرت الأنظمة الصحيحة؟ واحدةٌ من المهام الأساسية لذكاء العمل هي جلب المعلومات من أقسام مختلفة ضمن عملك ومن ثم تحليلها.  لذا فكر بنوع البيانات المتوافرة لكي تجمعها، وهذا على الأغلب سيؤدي إلى النتائج المرغوبة.

أيضاً فكر في الحلول الحالية التي تستعملها، مثل الجداول البيانية البسيطة أو قواعد البيانات. في بعض الحالات، قد تكون هذه الحلول كافية.

"يجب أن يكون هنالك ما يكفي من البيانات المتوافرة بحيث لا يمكن فهمها بسهولة دون مساعدة" هذا ما قاله بول ماسي (Paul Massie) المدير الأول للعمليات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات في شركة YouSendIt. "لا مغزى من تنفيذ نظام ذكار عمل إذا كانت أحجام البيانات صغيرة بيحث يممكن لشخص واحد أن ينظر إلى البيانات ويصل إلى استنتاجات دقيقة منها."

ما الذي تحتاجه؟

حالما قررت المنطقة التي ستركز عليها وعرفت ما تمتلك، فإن الوقت قد حان لاتخاذ قرارٍ دقيق حول ما تحتاجه.

إذا قررت أن تركز على فعالية طاقم العمل، على سبيل المثال، ولديك منذ الآن بيانات حول حضور الموظفين، ساعات عملهم، تقييمات الفعالية، واستعمال الحاسوب، ففكر ما الذي يجب أن يقوم به النظام الذي ترغب بتنفيذه وبالشكل المثالي.

هل ترغب منه أن يدمج جميع البيانات الحالية وأن ينتج رسوم بيانية وتقارير تعرض الموظف الذي يؤدي أفضل أداء؟ أو ترغب بتحديد مصادر بيانات جديدة وطرقاً أفضل لقياس أداء الموظفين؟

هل ترغب بشراء برنامج بسيط، أو ترغب بشيء مخصصٍ لك؟ هل تفضل نظاماً مبيناً على السحاب، برنامجاً مخدمة، أو حزمة برمجية تقوم بتنصيبها وتشغيلها بنفسك؟ هل ترغب بشيء متوافقٍ مع أنظمتك الحالية، أو شيء يستبدل ما تستعمله الآن؟

حالما حصلت على إجابات واضحة لكل هذه الأسئلة فإن بإمكانك البدء بالتسوق بحثاً عن نظامٍ ما.

أمثلة عن الحلول

هناك الكثير من المزودين حالياً، لكن إليك بعضاً منهم كي تطلع عليهم. الأسماء والتصنيفات الحالية مأخوذة من تقرير حديث من Dresner للخدمات الاستشارية.

الأقوى والأكثر نجاحاً

  • IBM
  • Microsoft
  • SAP

بائعون كبيرون ويركزون على منتجٍ واحد

  • Actuate
  • Information Builders
  • Qlik

بائعون ينمون بشكلٍ كبير

  • Logi Analytics
  • Pentaho
  • Tableau
  • Tibco

بائعون متخصصون

  • Dimensional Insight
  • Dundas
  • Jinfonet
  • Klipfolio
  • Phocas
  • Targit

بائعون ناشئون

  • Adaptive Insights
  • Birst
  • GoodData
  • Jaspersoft
  • Jedox

هذه القائمة ليست شاملة بدون شك، وهناك الكثير من المزودين الآخرين في السوق. لكن تصفح عروض هذه الشركات سيعطيك فكرةً ممتازة حول أنظمة ذكاء العمل المتنوعة المتوافرة لكي تختار منها.

يمكنك أيضاً أن تصمم حلولاً خاصةً بك.  تعلم كيف تتعامل مع خوادم الويب وكيف تصمم لوحة مراقبة للتحليلات في دورتنا الشاملة عن التحليل والإحصاء أو كيف تبدأ باستضافةٍ ذاتية لخادم التحليلات الخاص بك في هذا الدرس:

الخطوات التالية

في هذا الدرس، وصلنا إلى تعريفٍ بسيط لذكاء الأعمال، ناقشنا فوائده، ورأينا بعض الأمثلة التي تبين كيف تستعمله الشركات الأخرى لتحسين أدائها.

الخطوة التالية بالنسبة إليك هي أن تقرر ما إذا كان مناسباً بشركتك، وأن تبدأ بالبحث عن أحد الحلول البرمجية. اتبع الخطوات الموضحة في القسم الأخير من هذا الدرس لكي تعرف بوضوح ما تبحث عنه بدقة، ومن ثم ابدأ بالقيام أبحاث حول العروض المختلفة من بائعين مختلفين.

هناك الكثير من الخيارات لكي تختار منها، لذا قد يربكك الأمر في البداية، لكنك على الأغلب ستجد شيئاً مناسباً لك ويمكن أن يساعدك على أخذ عملك إلى المستوى التالي.

مصادر

الرسوم: أيقونة Data مصممة من قبل كريستوفر هولم-هونسن (Christopher Holm-Hansen) من Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business Intelligence
Business

What Is Business Intelligence?

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

In a recent tutorial we looked at the benefits of big data for small businesses. But even if your firm doesn’t handle that volume of data, you can still benefit from an analytical approach. 

Like big data, business intelligence systems were once the preserve of large companies with lavish IT budgets. But thanks to extra competition and the advance of technologies like cloud computing and software as a service, more and more small firms are taking advantage of the affordable options on offer today.

An Oxford Economics study in 2013 found that more than half of firms with sales under $100,000 were planning to use business intelligence within three years—a jump of 43%.

But be careful before taking the plunge. Between 70% and 80% of corporate business intelligence projects fail, according to Gartner research cited in this Computer World article.

So in this tutorial we’ll help you position yourself to make smart use of business intelligence. You’ll get a solid understanding of what business intelligence means, what benefits it can bring to your business, and how you can implement it successfully. We’ll also look at some examples of how companies are using business intelligence systems right now to help them get information about their operations and make better decisions.

Data Sharing Graphic
Working with business intelligence systems. (Illustration)

1. What Is Business Intelligence?

First things first. What do we mean by business intelligence?

According to technology research firm Gartner:

Business intelligence (BI) is an umbrella term that includes the applications, infrastructure and tools, and best practices that enable access to and analysis of information to improve and optimize decisions and performance.

In simpler terms, it’s about making better decisions in your business by analysing information. Usually that takes the form of a database or other software that pulls together facts and figures from various parts of your business and produces charts, reports and other insights.

You can use business intelligence solutions to analyse any aspect of your company. You could monitor the effectiveness of your sales efforts, for example, or the efficiency of your factory operations, the performance of different staff members, and much more.

2. Benefits of Business Intelligence for Small Businesses

Business intelligence systems can be costly and time-consuming to put in place. So what’s the benefit of doing it? What can business intelligence systems do for your small business? 

A 2014 report by Dresner Advisory Services found that the main reason small companies use business intelligence is for “better decision-making”. Other important reasons included:

  • growth in revenues
  • increased competitive advantage
  • improved operational efficiency
  • enhanced customer service

We’ll look at some specific examples of how companies get those benefits in the next section, but that’s a pretty impressive list already. It touches on most of the key factors that determine a company’s success.

Most companies already analyse data anyway, but it’s often in the form of pulling together a few spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel. That can be very time-consuming, and the results aren’t always what you’re looking for. Excel’s great for a lot of things, but sometimes you need a different tool to solve a different problem.

“When done properly, the analytics can provide insights into trend analysis that otherwise can't be seen,” said Dan Linstedt, president of Empowered Holdings in Saint Albans, Vermont, in an Inc Magazine article. “BI can also provide insights into the cost of acquiring new customers over time, and how those costs are related to ‘customer gain or loss.’”

3. Examples

So how are companies using business intelligence right now? Here are a few examples.

To Boost Sales

Customers are the lifeblood of any business, of course, and a business intelligence system can help you understand them better.

Online luxury women’s goods retailer Gilt Groupe is a prime example. Every day it sends out an email to its customers at 11:45am, previewing the daily sale, and customers then click through to buy (or not) from its website. Clearly, with a business model like this, the conversion rate from each email is absolutely critical.

The company was already collecting data on its customers’ browsing and shopping history and more, but was looking for a better way of analysing all that data and producing actionable results.

Gilt implemented a business intelligence system from SAS, enabling the firm to combine information from different sources and produce reports that helped it target its emails more successfully. The data produced allowed Gilt to predict much more accurately which customers would be attracted by which offers, and customise its emails to maximise sales.

The results:

  • More customers were attracted to new merchandise categories where they had not purchased before.
  • A 100% lift in conversion for women who were identified as being likely to shop on the men's site, but had not yet done so.
  • A significant increase in the conversion rate of new members (i.e. the number of members making a purchase rather than just browsing).

To Control Inventory

As we’ve seen in previous tutorials, controlling inventory is an important way to make your business more efficient, improving cash flows and profits. Business intelligence systems can help you achieve that.

“Cutting excessive inventory—and thereby the cost to maintain it—is one of the easiest changes a company can make to immediately affect its bottom line," Dwight deVera, senior vice president at BI provider Arcplan, told CIO.com. And a BI solution with a good dashboard, “that provides retailers better visibility into inventory, enables them to make better decisions about what to order and when so goods don't sit idly on warehouse shelves.”

You can find a number of ready to work with analytic solutions on our CodeCanyon marketplace. Such as this Analytics Dashboard Utility for Wordpress. Or grab a website admin template with easy to work with site dashboard from ThemeForest, such as the best selling Metronic - Responsive Admin Dashboard Template with a really attractive dashboad—ready to plug into your sites analytics.

Wine retailer The Wine House put this into practice, freeing up $400,000 in capital by using its new SAS analytics software to identify inventory items that hadn’t moved in more than a year.

Good wine doesn’t go bad, of course, but it does take up space and cost money to store. The Wine House held a sale to clear the excess, and has been using the software since then to pinpoint slow-moving bottles and promote them to move them out.

The company also uses that information to inform its future buying decisions. For example, the data showed that customers were buying plenty of $20 bottles of wine, but not so many $100 bottles. So The Wine House shifted to offer more of the lower-priced merchandise its customers wanted.

Other companies have followed a similar approach, such as telecoms company Asurion Asia Pacific, which used QlikView software to analyse and improve its inventory management, delivering a return on investment in just six months.

To Analyze Web Traffic

Some business intelligence systems are simple and well-known, and you’re probably using them already.

Google offers lots of analysis of your website visitors through free services like Google Analytics and Webmaster Tools, and taking the time to use them effectively can help you attract more customers and optimise your website to encourage them to buy.

Bob Shirilla started a small business after spending two decades at a large IT company that regularly used data analysis software. He told Inc Magazine that his sites, Keepsakes-etc.com and Simply-bags.com, “are doing very well in a very competitive product space. I attribute their success to the business decisions made by using the Google Analytical tools." 

Learn more about working with Google Analytics at scale, split testing experiments, and custom variables:

To Provide Better Customer Service

British startup company SureFlap already had a strong idea: a cat flap that uses microchip technology to let in your beloved pet and keep out other cats. But as founder Dr Nick Hill says, “Having an amazing product isn’t enough; you need to wrap it up with amazing customer service too.”

So the firm uses a tool called Service Cloud from Salesforce.com to send out hundreds of customer satisfaction surveys every week and constantly analyse the results. This allows SureFlap to identify and address problems, resulting in satisfaction scores of over 90%.

The system also notifies the customer service team of any individual survey responses with low scores, so that they can follow up with the customer and try to resolve any outstanding issues.

4. Implementing Business Intelligence

So now you’ve seen the benefits of business intelligence, and some examples of how small businesses can use it. If you’re convinced of its value, it’s time to look at implementing it in your company. In this section we’ll look at a simple process you can follow, and some examples of popular vendors you could investigate.

What’s Your Objective?

The first question to ask yourself is what you’re hoping to achieve.

As we’ve seen, business intelligence is an umbrella term for a wide range of solutions, in any area from customer relationship management to operational efficiency. So what’s your priority?

Do you want to boost sales, for example, or improve satisfaction among existing customers? Do you want to squeeze out more efficiency from your operations or your workforce? Be clear about the overall priorities and long-term plan for your business, and then consider how business intelligence systems can help you reach your objectives.

What Do You Have?

Once you’ve got an idea of what area you want to address, consider what data you already have. What information are you collecting right now, and what could you easily collect with the right systems in place? One of the main functions of business intelligence is to pull together data from different parts of your business and analyse it. So consider what kind of data you have available to feed in, as that will likely drive the results.

Also consider existing solutions you’re using, such as simple spreadsheets or databases. In some cases, these may be enough.

“There has to be enough data available so it can't be readily understood without assistance,” says Paul Massie, senior director of operations and IT for YouSendIt. “There's no point in implementing a BI if the data volumes are so small a person can look at the data and reach accurate conclusions.”

What Do You Need?

Once you’ve decided on an area of focus and identified what you have, it’s time to make a more specific decision on what you need.

If you’ve decided to focus on workforce efficiency, for example, and you already have data on employees’ attendance records, work hours, performance appraisals and computer usage, consider what the system you want to implement would ideally do.

Do you want something that integrates all your existing data and produces charts and reports showing you who’s performing best? Or do you want to identify new data sources and better ways of measuring employees’ performance?

Do you want to buy a simple software program, or have something customised for you? Do you prefer a cloud-based system, software as a service, or a software package that you install and run yourself? Do you want something that’s compatible with your existing systems, or something that replaces what you already have?

Once you’ve got clear answers to all these questions, you can start shopping around.

Sample Solutions

There are many providers out there, but here are a few to check out. The names and categories are taken from a recent report by Dresner Advisory Services.

Titans

  • IBM
  • Microsoft
  • SAP

Large Established Pure-Play Vendors

  • Actuate
  • Information Builders
  • Qlik

High-Growth Vendors

  • Logi Analytics
  • Pentaho
  • Tableau
  • Tibco

Specialized Vendors

  • Dimensional Insight
  • Dundas
  • Jinfonet
  • Klipfolio
  • Phocas
  • Targit

Emerging Vendors

  • Adaptive Insights
  • Birst
  • GoodData
  • Jaspersoft
  • Jedox

This is not an exhaustive list, of course, and there are plenty of other providers out there. But browsing through the offerings of these companies will give you a great idea of the various business intelligence systems available to choose from.

You can also roll your own custom solutions. Learn how to work with web servers and create an analytics dashboard in our End-To-End Analytics course or how to start self hosting your own analytics server in this tutorial: 

Next Steps

In this tutorial, we’ve arrived at a simple definition of business intelligence, discussed its benefits, and seen some examples of how other companies are using it to improve their performance.

The next step for you is to decide whether it’s right for your company, and start researching solutions. Follow the steps outlined in the final section of the tutorial to get clear on exactly what you’re looking for, and then start doing your research on different offerings from different vendors.

There are lots of options to choose from, so it can be confusing at first, but you’re also more likely to be able to find something that’s right for you and can help you take your business to the next level.

Resources

Graphic Credit: Data icon designed by Christopher Holm-Hansen from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.