7 days of PowerPoint templates, graphics & videos - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Finance

كيفية إدارة التدفق النقدي أكثر كفاءة

Scroll to top
Read Time: 10 mins

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Ratnawati (you can also view the original English article)

إدارة التدفق النقدي وجود البديل البيسبول الكمال مثل: كل شيء عن التوقيت.

تدفقات الأموال إلى والخروج من الأعمال التجارية الخاصة بك على أساس يومي، كما يمكنك الحصول على المدفوعات من العملاء وتسوية الفواتير مع الموردين والموظفين. ثم هناك النفقات العامة، والضرائب، وألف مدفوعات أخرى لتعقب.

توقيت مهم لأنه حتى إذا كان عملك مربحة، يمكنك تشغيل في مشاكل إذا كانت المدفوعات من العملاء في اليدين ببطء شديد، ولديك عدد كبير جداً من التدفقات إلى الخارج في حين كنت في انتظار التدقيق التي أنت كنت قد وعدت في البريد.

هذا أمر بالغ الأهمية لا سيما للشركات الصغيرة، التي غالباً ما تكون صغيرة الاحتياطيات النقدية والائتمانية لتراجع. حسب Dun Bradstreet &، سببها 90% فشل الأعمال الصغيرة الفقيرة التدفق النقدي.

لذا في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، سنقوم استكشاف التدفق النقدي بالتفصيل، وتعطيك بعض الأدوات التي تساعدك على التنبؤ بالتدفقات النقدية الخاصة بك بدقة لل 90 يوما القادمة. ثم سوف نعطي بعض النصائح العملية على تحسين التدفق النقدي للشركة الخاصة بك، أما عن طريق تسريع التدفقات إلى الداخل أو تباطؤ التدفقات إلى الخارج.

بنهاية هذا البرنامج التعليمي، عليك أن نفهم لماذا توقيت التدفقات النقدية مهم جداً للأعمال تجارية. كنت سوف تكون قادرة على إدارة وتوقعات التدفق النقدي الفعال، وسوف نعرف ما هي الخطوات التي ينبغي اتخاذها إذا كان النقد يبدأ تشغيل قصيرة.

1-ما هو التدفق النقدي؟

أولاً وقبل كل شيء، دعونا الحصول على مسح على التدفق النقدي ما هو.

التدفق النقدي ببساطة يشير إلى الطريقة عمل يتلقى المال وتدفع عليه. بينما ينظر الربح عندما تم إجراء عملية بيع أو المصروفات، يبدو التدفق النقدي في عند الشركة فعلا تلقي الأموال أو تدفع عليه. وهما يمكن أن تكون مختلفة تماما، كما سنرى فيما بعد.

وهما يمكن أن تكون مختلفة تماما، كما سنرى فيما بعد.

ولكن سنة فترة طويلة في مجال الأعمال التجارية. حتى إذا كانت شركة لديها وجود تدفق نقدي إيجابي على مدار السنة، أنها قد تواجه الأعمال التجارية ما يعادل تلك الأشهر حيث الثلاجة يحتاج استبدال، الرهن العقاري الواجب، وهناك تأخير استلام الراتب الخاص بك. حتى في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، سنقوم بالبحث بمزيد من التفصيل في انحسار وتدفق النقدية على مدى فترات أقصر.

2-كيف يمكن التنبؤ بالتدفقات النقدية

إذا كنت تريد أن تفهم شيئا وإدارة ذلك بشكل فعال، عليك أولاً قياس ذلك. في العالم التدفق النقدي، وهذا يعني تتبع الرصيد النقدي الحالي الخاص بك، والتنبؤ بكل المال الذي كنت تتوقع تلقي وكل ما عليك أن تدفع في الأسابيع والشهور المقبلة.

ووفقا لهذه الورقة، و "بنك أوف أمريكا" قد الشركات القيام بتخطيط التدفق النقدي الشهري معدل بقاء 80 في المائة، مقارنة بنسبة 36% لأولئك الذين يخططون فقط مرة واحدة في سنة. عدم وجود تقدير تدفقات النقدية محدثة بانتظام هو العمل مكافئ للطيران الأعمى.

لحسن الحظ، تتبع من التدفقات النقدية الخاصة بك ليست صعبة. مماثل تماما لما تفعله مع أموالك الشخصية كل شهر، العمل بها عند الراتب الخاص بك سوف يأتي ومتى يتم الدفع بطاقة الائتمان، والتأكد من لديك ما يكفي في حسابك في جميع الأوقات. حسابات الأعمال تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر تعقيداً، والتدفقات النقدية لا يمكن التنبؤ بها أكثر، ولكن المبدأ الأساسي هو نفسه.

وهناك أدوات لمساعدتك على كذلك. برامج المحاسبة التجارية الصغيرة مثل قراء قد بنيت التنبؤ بالتدفقات النقدية، أو يمكنك استخدام تطبيقات إدارة التدفق النقدي المتخصصة مثل النبض أو عدد عشري أو بلانجورو.

إذا كنت لا تريد أن تستثمر في برامج مخصصة، سيتم أيضا جدول بيانات Excel القيام بهذه المهمة. وقد شمل Microsoft Excel تدفق النقدي التنبؤ بقالب في كافة الإصدارات من عام 2007 فصاعدا. قوالب أخرى متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت، على سبيل المثال هذا قالب Excel من الأعمال التعليم نقاط غير هادفة للربح.

هنا تدفق النقدي المتوقع لشركة خيالية، شركة كولجادجيت، مقتبس من القالب الذي يأتي المجمعة مع Excel. يمكنك أيضا تحميل هذا المثال كجدول بيانات.

كما ترون، كولجادجيت خطط للبدء في شهر شباط/فبراير مع 5,000 دولار في حسابه، ولكن سوف يكون رصيد إيجابي ضئيلة فقط 1000 دولار في نهاية الشهر. كما قرأنا لأسفل في التفاصيل، يمكننا أن نرى لماذا. وتتوقع الشركة تلقي دولار 15,000 خلال هذا الشهر، ولكن دفع مبلغ 19,000.

ثم يأخذ هذا التوازن 1,000 دولار وانظر ماذا سيحدث لأنه في آذار/مارس، ومن ثم في نيسان/أبريل. في آذار/مارس، الإيصالات النقدية أعلى بقليل من الأموال المدفوعة، حيث الرصيد النقدي بوصة تصل إلى 1,250 دولار. ولكن في نيسان/أبريل، سيتم إسقاط الشركة إلى اللون الأحمر. ترتفع مبيعاتها، ولكن تنفق الدعاية مخططة من $5,000 أكثر مما يمكن أن تحمل الشركة الآن.

هذا هو السبب المهم التنبؤ بالتدفقات النقدية. يمكن تشغيل الشركات في مأزق حتى عندما ترتفع المبيعات، ببساطة لأنهم لا يستطيعون الاستثمارات. كولجادجيت يحتاج إلى تأخير بعض من هذا الإنفاق، أو في محاولة للحصول على الأموال القادمة في أسرع.

كما قد يكون من الضروري للشركة لبدء التنبؤ على أساس أسبوعيا أو حتى يوميا، لأنه حتى في شباط/فبراير وآذار/مارس هو الإبحار جداً قريبة من الريح. ينتهي الشهر برصيد إيجابي ضئيلة، ولكن إذا كان توقيت المدفوعات غير مواتية، يمكن أن تراجع إلى الأحمر خلال الشهر الجاري.

إذا كنت تجد نفسك بحاجة للتنبؤ بشكل أكثر تكراراً، يمكنك استخدام نفس القالب الأساسي، ومجرد تغيير العناوين الموجودة في الجزء العلوي من الشهور إلى أسابيع. قالب استخدمنا يسمح للتخطيط الشهري للأشهر ال 12 المقبلة، ولكن يمكن بسهولة تغيير التي لتخطيط أسبوعية خلال الأسابيع المقبلة 12. يمكنك أيضا تغيير الفئات الجانب السلبي لكل ما يجعل أكثر إحساسا للأعمال التجارية الخاصة بك.

وبصفة عامة، أكثر هشاشة الموقف النقدي الخاص بك، وأكثر تفصيلاً ينبغي أن تكون التوقعات الخاصة بك. أنه هو نفسه كما هو الحال مع الشؤون المالية الشخصية: إذا كنت تناضل من أجل تغطية نفقاتهم، لديك للميزانية لكل رحلة للسوبر ماركت، بينما عندما يكون لديك رصيد بنك أصح كنت تستطيع أن تكون أكثر قليلاً من كف اليد.

3-نصائح لتحسين التدفق النقدي

ذلك ما يمكن أن تفعله إذا، مثل كولجادجيت، تشاهد هذا النبأ اللعين من الحبر الأحمر على تقدير التدفق النقدي؟

تذكر، كل شيء عن التوقيت. إذا كان مشروع تجاري صحي المبيعات والأرباح لكن ضعف التدفق النقدي، عموما نظراً للتوقيت معطلة، والمال الخروج بشكل أسرع مما هو قادم. لتحسين التدفق النقدي، تحتاج أما إلى الحصول على الدفعات القادمة أكثر بسرعة، أو تأخير دفع المال.

لنلق نظرة على بعض الطرق العملية للقيام بذلك.

تسريع التدفقات إلى الداخل

جعل شركات المبيعات بطرق مختلفة، فكيف يمكنك التعامل مع هذا يعتمد على نموذج الأعمال التجارية الخاصة بك. الأعمال تجارية التي تواجه المستهلك مثل مطعم أو مقهى يأخذ المدفوعات من العملاء مباشرة، حتى أخذ المال أسرع فإنه يحتاج إلى زيادة المبيعات، وربما بتقديم ترقية المحدودة-الوقت خاص.

ولكن العديد من الشركات لا تحصل على الدفع الفوري من عملائها. هذا هو الحال بصفة خاصة للمعاملات التجارية لرجال الأعمال. كولجادجيت، على سبيل المثال، لا تبيع مباشرة إلى المستهلكين. بدلاً من ذلك فإنه يرسل قفص من الأدوات لتجار جملة لالكترونيات، وأن الشركة سوف ترسل سداد مبلغ متفق عليه للوقت، مثل 30 يوما.

وحيث المشكلة يأتي للعديد من الشركات. وأظهرت دراسة استقصائية 2012 "الاتحاد الوطني للأعمال المستقلة" أن 64% شركات الصغيرة أن الفواتير التي كان قد ذهب غير مدفوعة الأجر لمدة 60 يوما على الأقل. يمكن أن تضر هذه التأخيرات حقاً التدفق النقدي للشركة.

وفي هذه الحالة، الطريقة الأكثر فعالية لتحسين التدفق النقدي عن طريق جمع المال أسرع. يمكنك القيام بذلك في عدد من الطرق:

ألف أفضل الفوترة

العديد من الشركات الصغيرة عرض الفواتير كمهمة إدارية شاقة، ولكن الحصول على ذلك الحق عنصر أساسي للنجاح. أنت بحاجة إلى إرسال فاتورة فورا بعد لقد زودت بالبضائع، وتتضمن جميع المعلومات اللازمة، لا سيما دفع عبارات مثل ما في وقت متأخر من الرسوم ولكم الفائدة سيكون المسؤول، ومن أبرز تاريخ الاستحقاق.

وجدت إحدى الدراسات الاستقصائية أن 25% شركات الصغيرة 5,000 دولار على الأقل في الشهر في الإيرادات التي تأخرت بسبب أخطاء الفوترة. هذا هو حقاً منخفضة شنقاً الفاكهة. إرسال فواتير دقيقة في أقرب وقت ممكن طريقة مباشرة لتحسين التدفق النقدي في الأعمال التجارية. قراء، البرمجيات المحاسبية المذكورة سابقا، ويشمل وظيفة الفوترة، أو يمكن أن تحاول خدمة على إنترنت مثل FreshBooks أو إينفويسيابل.

الاتصال ب تأخر دفع العملاء

وهذا يمكن أن تكون خادعة، لأنك ترغب في علاقات جيدة مع العملاء. ولكن إذا كان يتم دفع، تنصح "إدارة الأعمال التجارية الصغيرة" يجري مهذبا ولكن ثابتة. إرسال فاتورة جديدة، بما في ذلك الرسوم المتأخرة والفائدة. الدعوة وتحقق من أنه قد تم استلام الفاتورة، وأسأل ما إذا كان أي شيء غير واضح. الاحتفاظ بلهجة ودية، ولكن لا يتعطل حتى تحصل على موعد سداد المتفق عليها، التي يمكنك ثم تأكيد عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني أو كتابة.

جيم إعادة التفاوض بشأن شروط الدفع

ومن الناحية المثالية، تريد أن تتفاوض على شروط الدفع مع العملاء التي تساوي على الأقل، ويفضل أن يكون أقصر من تلك التي لديك مع الموردين الخاصة بك. على سبيل المثال، إذا كان لديك لتسوية الفواتير الخاصة بك في غضون 30 يوما، تريد الخاص بك العملاء بالدفع في غضون 30 يوما جداً، أو ربما حتى أقل. ومن المؤكد لا تريد أن يكون تسديد المدفوعات في غضون 30 يوما، وتلقى منهم في غضون 45 يوما.

يمكن أن تكون صعبة للأعمال التجارية الصغيرة، لا سيما عند التعامل مع الشركات الكبيرة التي لديها موقف مساومة أقوى. لكن يمكنك أن تبدأ بأن تكون واضحة حول ما الشروط الخاصة بك، ومع الاهتمام بصياغة العقود والفواتير. هناك بعض النصائح المفيدة حول شروط الدفع في هذه الورقة حقيقة حكومة المملكة المتحدة.

تبطئ التدفقات إلى الخارج

فضلا عن جعل المدفوعات تأتي في أكثر بسرعة، طريقة أخرى لزيادة التدفق النقدي الخاص بك إلى إبطاء التدفقات إلى الخارج. وفيما يلي بعض الخيارات:

الاستثمارات تأخير أ

إذا كان عملك تقوم بعمل جيد، أنها مغرية الاستثمار في معدات جديدة أو التسويق في محاولة لتعزيز النمو أكثر. ولكن أحياناً حتى استثمار الذي سيكون مربحاً على المدى الطويل يمكن أن تشل الأعمال تجارية في الأجل القصير.

مع هذا المثال كولجادجيت، كان دفع إعلان دولار 5,000 التي انقلبت الشركة إلى اللون الأحمر. على الرغم من أن هذا الإعلان ربما جلب المزيد من المبيعات وأن تكون جيدة لصحة الشركة في الأجل الطويل، فإنه يحتاج إلى تأجيلها لمدة شهر أو شهرين، حتى أن الشركة لديها ما يكفي من النقود لتغطية الإنفاق.

ب إعادة التفاوض على شروط

كما يمكنك إعادة التفاوض بشأنها مع عملائك، يمكنك أيضا محاولة مع الموردين. انظر إذا كان يمكنك الحصول عليها للموافقة على نافذة سداد أطول، ويقول 45 يوما بدلاً من 30. يمكن أن يكون مجرد النقدية وسادة احتياجات العمل الخاصة بك.

حتى إذا كان لا يمكنك الحصول على ملحق، يمكنك التأكد من كنت أخذ أطول فترة ممكنة على الدفع. عليك أن تكون حذراً هنا، لأنك لا تريد أن الإخلال بأي من المواعيد النهائية التي كنت لقد اتفقنا مع الموردين. أن يضعهم في صعوبات السيولة النقدية الخاصة بهم، وهو سيء لسمعة الخاص بك. وأنت بالتأكيد تريد للتأكد من أنك دائماً تدفع الموظفين الخاص بك في الوقت المحدد.

ولكن إذا كنت قد أعطيت 30 يوما الدفع لبعض السلع، يستغرق 30 يوما كاملة. تسمح هذه الأموال للجلوس في الحساب الخاص بك لأطول فترة ممكنة، مما يتيح لك أكثر من شبكة أمان في حال وجود نفقات غير متوقعة أخرى.

جيم تقليل المخزون

مع شركتنا خيالية كولجادجيت، اكتشفنا من ميزانيتها العمومية بمبلغ 100,000 في المخزون. وهذا قيمة 100,000 دولار من الأدوات غير المباعة مجرد الجلوس في مخزنها.

بطريقة أكثر كفاءة لإدارة التدفق النقدي هو الاحتفاظ بالمخزون إلى أدنى حد ممكن. تريد أكثر من كافية لتلبية الطلب، ولكن لا. إذا تراكمت كولجادجيت إلى قائمة جرد معقول أكثر من 20، 000 دولار، من شأنه أن يترك مع 80,000 دولار إضافية لتغطية نفقات أخرى، وستكون أكثر صحية بالتدفق النقدي.

دال الاقتراض

الشركات التي لديها صعوبات في التدفق النقدي قد تجد من الصعب على اقتراض الأموال، ولكن يجدر استكشاف أية إمكانيات. حتى إذا كنت لا تستطيع الاقتراض أكثر، فإنه قد يكون من الممكن إعادة تمويل الديون القائمة لمدة أطول مع انخفاض المدفوعات.

إذا كان يمكنك التفاوض خط ائتمان أو حتى بنك سحب على المكشوف بأسعار فائدة معقولة، التي يمكن أن تعطيك بعض المرونة الإضافية في الأشهر التي يعاني فيها مصروفات غير متوقعة، أو دفع تأخير العميل الرئيسية الخاصة بك.

4-التوازن الصحيح

مع كل من هذه التقنيات في إدارة التدفق النقدي، من المهم تحقيق التوازن بين الاحتياجات القصيرة الأجل والطويلة الأجل للشركة الخاصة بك.

لضمان الصحة القصيرة الأجل، سيكون حيلة أفضل رصيد نقدية ضخمة يجلس في الحساب الخاص بك، جنبا إلى جنب مع القروض وخطوط الائتمان فقط في هذه القضية.

ولكن يمكن أن يكون سحب طويلة الأمد على نمو الأعمال التجارية الخاصة بك. النقدية الزائدة غالباً ما طرح لأفضل استخدام، على سبيل المثال عن طريق الاستثمار في معدات جديدة للأعمال التجارية الخاصة بك، وإنفاق الأموال على الدعاية والتسويق، أو سداد الديون.

التعلم للتنبؤ بالتدفقات النقدية بدقة وإدارتها بكفاءة يساعدك على الحفاظ على الحق في المبلغ من النقود في جميع الأوقات. باستخدام أدوات التنبؤ لقد تعرفنا في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، يمكنك مشاهدة عندما كنت تستطيع أن تستثمر في الأعمال التجارية الخاصة بك، وعندما كنت في حاجة إلى أن تكون أكثر حذراً. يمكنك أن تلعب مع الافتراضات، رؤية ما يمكن أن يحدث في إطار سيناريو "أسوأ حالة". الأهم من ذلك، يمكنك اتخاذ خطوات لتفادي حدوث مشكلة تدفق نقدي ممكن، قبل أن يصبح أزمة تهدد مستقبل الأعمال الخاصة بك.

بإدارة التدفقات النقدية بكفاءة، يمكنك ضرب التوازن الصحيح بين الأجل القصير والأجل الطويل. يمكنك أن تشعر بثقة باستثمار الأموال في المستقبل، لأن كنت تعرف أنك كنت أبقى أيضا ما يكفي من النقود من ناحية لإدارة التقلبات القصيرة الأجل.

مراجع

الائتمان الرسم: مصب صممها لويس برادو من "المشروع اسماً".

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Business tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Finance
Business

How to Manage Cash Flow More Efficiently

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Managing cash flow is like having the perfect baseball swing: it’s all about timing.

Money flows into and out of your business on a daily basis, as you get payments from customers and settle bills with suppliers and staff. Then there are the overheads, and taxes, and a thousand other payments to keep track of.

Timing is important because even if your business is profitable, you can run into problems if the payments from customers come in too slowly, and you have too many outflows while you’re waiting for the check that you’ve been promised that is in the mail. 

This is particularly critical for small businesses, which often have small reserves of cash and credit to fall back on. According to Dun & Bradstreet, 90% of small business failures are caused by poor cash flow.

So in this tutorial, we’ll explore cash flow in detail, and give you some tools to help you forecast your cash flows accurately for the next 90 days. Then we’ll give some practical tips on improving your company’s cash flow, either by speeding up the inflows or slowing down the outflows.

By the end of this tutorial, you’ll understand why the timing of cash flows is so important to a business. You’ll be able to manage and forecast cash flow effectively, and will know what steps to take if cash starts to run short. 

1. What is Cash Flow?

First of all, let’s get clear on what cash flow is. 

Cash flow simply refers to the way a business receives money and pays it out. Whereas profit looks at when a sale was made or an expense was incurred, cash flow looks at when the company actually received the money or paid it out. The two can be quite different, as we’ll see later on.

In a previous tutorial, we looked at the cash flow statement, and saw that it was a summary of all the flows of cash over the course of a year. 

But a year is a long time in business. Even if a company has a positive cash flow over the year, it could face the business equivalent of those months where the fridge needs replacing, the mortgage is due, and there’s a delay receiving your paycheck. So in this tutorial, we’re going to look in more detail at the ebb and flow of cash over shorter periods.

2. How to Forecast Cash Flows

If you want to understand something and manage it effectively, you first have to measure it. In the cash flow world, that means keeping track of your current cash balance, and forecasting all the money you expect to receive and everything you’ll have to pay out in the coming weeks and months.

According to this Bank of America paper, businesses doing monthly cash flow planning have an 80% survival rate, compared with 36% for those only planning once a year. Not having a regularly updated cash flow forecast is the business equivalent of flying blind.

Fortunately, keeping track of your cash flows is not difficult. It’s quite similar to what you do with your own personal finances every month, working out when your salary will come in and when the credit-card payment is due, and making sure you have enough in your account at all times. Business accounts tend to be more complicated, and cash flows can be more unpredictable, but the basic principle is the same.

There are tools to help you as well. Small-business accounting software like QuickBooks has cash flow forecasting built in, or you can use specialized cash flow management applications like Pulse, Float or PlanGuru

If you don’t want to invest in dedicated software, an Excel spreadsheet will also do the job. Microsoft Excel has included a cash flow forecasting template in all versions from 2007 onwards. Other templates are available online, for example this Excel template from the business education nonprofit SCORE.

Here’s a cash flow forecast for a fictional company, CoolGadget Corp., adapted from the template that comes bundled with Excel. You can also download this example as a spreadsheet

As you can see, CoolGadget plans to start the month of February with $5,000 in its account, but will have a slim positive balance of just $1,000 at month end. As we read down into the details, we can see why. The company expects to receive $15,000 during the month, but pay out $19,000.

We then take that $1,000 balance and see what will happen to it in March, and then in April. In March, the cash receipts are slightly higher than the money paid out, so the cash balance inches up to $1,250. But in April, the company will drop into the red. Its sales are rising, but a planned advertising spend of $5,000 is more than the company can afford right now.

That’s why cash flow forecasting is important. Companies can run into trouble even when sales are rising, simply because they can’t afford the investments. CoolGadget needs to delay some of that spending, or try to get the money coming in faster.

It might also be necessary for the company to start forecasting on a weekly or even daily basis, because even in February and March it’s sailing very close to the wind. It ends the month with a slim positive balance, but if the timing of the payments isn’t favorable, it could dip into the red during the course of the month.

If you find yourself needing to forecast more frequently, you can use the same basic template, and just change the headings at the top from months to weeks. The template we’ve used allows for monthly planning for the next 12 months, but you could easily change that to weekly planning for the next 12 weeks. You can also change the categories down the side to whatever makes the most sense for your business.

Generally, the more precarious your cash position, the more detailed your forecasts should be. It’s the same as with personal finances: if you’re struggling to make ends meet, you have to budget for every trip to the supermarket, whereas when you have a healthier bank balance you can afford to be a little more hands-off.

3. Tips for Improving Cash Flow

So what can you do if, like CoolGadget, you see that dreaded splash of red ink on the cash flow forecast?

Remember, it’s all about timing. If a business has healthy sales and profit but poor cash flow, it’s generally because the timing is off, and money is going out faster than it’s coming in. To improve cash flow, you either need to get payments coming in more quickly, or delay paying money out. 

Let’s look at some practical ways of doing that.

Speed Up the Inflows

Companies make sales in different ways, so how you handle this depends on your business model. A consumer-facing business like a restaurant or café takes payment from customers immediately, so to take money in faster it needs to increase sales, perhaps by offering a special limited-time promotion. 

But many businesses don’t get immediate payment from their customers. That’s particularly the case for business to business transactions. CoolGadget, for example, doesn’t sell directly to consumers. Instead it sends a crate of gadgets to an electronics wholesaler, and that company will send payment within an agreed amount of time, like 30 days.

And that’s where the problem comes in for many businesses. A 2012 survey by the National Federation of Independent Business showed that 64% of small businesses had invoices that had gone unpaid for at least 60 days. These delays can really hurt a company’s cash flow.

In this case, the most effective way of improving cash flow is by collecting money faster. You can do this in a number of ways:

A. Better Invoicing

Many small businesses view invoicing as a tedious administrative task, but getting it right is a key component of success. You need to send out an invoice immediately after you’ve supplied the goods, and include all the necessary information, especially payment terms such as what late fees and interest you’ll charge, and a prominent due date. 

One survey found that 25% of small businesses had at least $5,000 a month in revenue delayed due to invoicing errors. This really is low-hanging fruit. Sending out accurate invoices as early as possible is a straightforward way of improving a business’s cash flow. QuickBooks, the accounting software mentioned earlier, includes an invoicing function, or you could try an online service like FreshBooks or Invoiceable.

B. Contact Late-Paying Customers

This can be tricky, because you want to have good relationships with your clients. But if a payment is due, the Small Business Administration advises being polite but firm. Send a new invoice, including late fees and interest. Call and check that the invoice was received, and ask whether anything is unclear. Keep a friendly tone, but don’t hang up until you get an agreed payment date, which you can then confirm by email or in writing.

C. Renegotiate Payment Terms

Ideally, you want to negotiate payment terms with your customers that are at least equal to, and preferably shorter than those you have with your suppliers. For example, if you have to settle your bills within 30 days, you want your customers to pay within 30 days too, or perhaps even less. You certainly don’t want to be making payments within 30 days, and receiving them in 45 days. 

It can be tricky for small businesses, especially when dealing with larger companies that have a stronger bargaining position. But you can start by being clear about what your terms are, and paying attention to the wording of contracts and invoices. There’s some helpful advice on payment terms in this UK government fact sheet.

Slow Down the Outflows

As well as making payments come in more quickly, another way to maximize your cash flow is to slow down the outflows. Here are some options:

A. Delay Investments

If your business is doing well, it’s tempting to invest in new equipment or marketing in an attempt to boost growth even more. But sometimes even an investment that would be profitable in the long-term can cripple a business in the short term. 

With our CoolGadget example, it was a $5,000 advertising payment that tipped the company over into the red. Although that advertisement would probably bring in more sales and be good for the long-term health of the company, it needs to be delayed for a month or two, until the company has enough cash to cover the spending.

B. Renegotiate Terms

Just as you renegotiated with your customers, you can also try it with suppliers. See if you can get them to agree to a longer payment window, say 45 days instead of 30. That could be just the cash cushion your business needs. 

Even if you can’t get an extension, you can make sure you’re taking as long as possible to pay. You need to be careful here, because you don’t want to breach any deadlines that you’ve agreed with suppliers. That puts them in cash flow difficulties of their own, and is bad for your reputation. And you certainly want to make sure you always pay your staff on time.

But if you’ve been given 30 days to pay for some goods, take the full 30 days. Allow that money to sit in your account for as long as possible, giving you more of a safety net in case you have other unexpected expenses.

C. Minimize Inventory

With our fictional company CoolGadget, we discovered from its balance sheet that it had $100,000 in inventory. That’s $100,000-worth of unsold gadgets just sitting in its warehouse. 

A more efficient way of managing cash flow is to keep inventory to a minimum. You want enough to satisfy demand, but no more. If CoolGadget had built up a more reasonable inventory of $20,000, it would have been left with an additional $80,000 to cover its other expenses, and its cash flow would be more healthy.

D. Borrow

Companies with cash flow difficulties may find it difficult to borrow money, but it’s worth exploring any possibilities. Even if you can’t borrow more, it might be possible to refinance existing debt to longer terms with lower payments. 

If you can negotiate a line of credit or even a bank overdraft with reasonable interest rates, that can give you some extra flexibility in the months where you suffer an unexpected expense, or your major customer delays payment.

4. Striking the Right Balance

With all of these cash flow management techniques, it’s important to balance the short-term and long-term needs of your company.

To ensure short-term health, the best ploy would be to have a huge cash balance sitting in your account, along with loans and credit lines just in case.

But that could be a long-term drag on the growth of your business. The excess cash could often be put to better use, for example by investing in new equipment for your business, spending money on advertising and marketing, or paying down debt.

Learning to forecast cash flows accurately and manage them efficiently helps you to maintain the right amount of cash at all times. Using the forecasting tools you’ve learned about in this tutorial, you can see when you can afford to invest in your business, and when you need to be more cautious. You can play with the assumptions, seeing what would happen under a “worst case” scenario. More importantly, you can take steps to avert a possible cash flow problem, before it becomes a crisis that threatens your business’s future.

By managing cash flow efficiently, you can strike the right balance between the short term and the long term. You can feel confident investing money in the future, because you know you’ve also kept enough cash on hand to manage the short-term ups and downs.

References

Graphic Credit: Outfall designed by Luis Prado from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.