Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Environmental
Business

ما هي الأخلاقيات البيئية بالنسبة لمجال الأعمال؟ +10 قضايا مهمة

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Haifaa Ali (you can also view the original English article)

يُصادف غداً ذكرى يوم الأرض وهي مناسبة سنوية يقوم خلالها مليار شخص في 192 دولة بأنشطة لدعم حماية البيئة التي نقتات منها.

حسناً، ما علاقة ذلك بعملك؟ إنّ له علاقة كبيرة كما ستكتشف في هذا المقال، حيث تُظهر الدراسات الحديثة أنّ 100 شركة فقط هي المسؤولة عن 71٪ من انبعاثات الغازات التي تسبب الاحتباس الحراري العالمي منذ عام 1988، لذا فمن الواضح أنّ تغيير الممارسات المتَّبعة في العمل قد يكون له تأثير كبير على استمرارية الحياة البشرية على سطح الأرض.

ولكن حتى لو كنت تمتلك شركة أصغر من الشركات المذكورة في تلك القائمة أو تعمل فيها فما زال هناك الكثير مما يمكنك فعله كي يكون لك أثر إيجابي على البيئة، ويتراوح ذلك من فحص سلسلة الإمداد الخاصة بشركتك إلى تغييرات تتعلق باستهلاك الطاقة أو بوسائل النقل؛ فالتغييرات الصغيرة يمكن أن يكون لها تأثيرات كبيرة.

Earth Day Recycling
يمكن لعملية إعادة التدوير أن تساعدك على استخدام الموارد بشكل أفضل. (مصدر الصورة: Envato Elements)

في هذا المقال سنقوم بتعريف الأخلاقيات البيئية، كما سنوضح كيف يمكن تطبيقها في عالم الأعمال، ثم سنلقي نظرة على عشر قضايا مهمة متعلقة بالأخلاقيات البيئية في مجال الأعمال والتي يمكنك فيها أن تتخذ إجراءات بسيطة لتحسين البيئة، ليس فقط في يوم الأرض ولكن على مدار السنة.

1. ما المقصود بالأخلاقيات البيئية؟

في البداية دعونا نعرِّف الأخلاقيات البيئية. على الرغم من أنّ المصطلح يحتمل معانٍ مختلفة فإنّ الورقة البحثية التي أعدَّها Laszlo Zsolnai في جامعة بودابست تحتوي على ملخص جيد له:

المبدأ الأساسي الذي تقوم عليه الأخلاقيات البيئية هو أنّ للطبيعة قيمة جوهرية، وهذا يعني أنّ الطبيعة وأجزاءها ليست مجرد وسيلة لتحقيق أغراض المرء، بل هي غايات في حد ذاتها.

يبدو هذا بسيطاً للغاية، لكنّه في الواقع جاء بعد تغيرات جذرية في طريقة التفكير البشري التي امتدت على مدار قرون عديدة، فخلال عدة قرون مضت كان من السهل الاعتقاد بأنّ الطبيعة قد وُجدت لكي يستغلها البشر، وأنّه كلما قطعنا أشجاراً أكثر وحوّلناها إلى مبانٍ رائعة تحسّنت جودة حياتنا، وكلما استخرجنا كميات أكبر من الفحم للوقود زادت الطاقة المتوفرة لتشغيل المصانع وإنتاج المزيد من السلع التي تسهل الحياة، وفوق كل هذا أنّه بغض النظر عن مقدار ما نستهلكه يتوفر هنالك الكثير دوماً.

لكن في العقود الأخيرة أصبح من الواضح أنّ هذا لم يعد صحيحاً؛ فمع نمو اقتصاداتنا ازداد تأثيرنا على البيئة إلى درجة أنّنا نستنفد مواردها المتاحة محدثين بذلك انقراض آلاف الأنواع الحيوانية، وتغيير المناخ على كوكبنا.

ومع ذلك، واصلت العديد من الشركات العمل وفق النموذج التقليدي. تهدف الأخلاقيات البيئية إلى التشكيك في الافتراض الأساسي الذي يقول بأنّ الطبيعة وُجدت لمنفعتنا من خلال إذكاء التساؤل التالي: إذا كان للطبيعة قيمة جوهرية فكيف لذلك أن يغيّر من طريقة استهلاك الشركة التي تعمل بها للطاقة أو من طريقة تعبئة وتغليف المنتجات أو التعامل مع الحيوانات؟ في الواقع، يمكن أن يكون لذلك انعكاسات كبيرة على طريقة قيامك بعملك، وسنلقي نظرة على كل ذلك في الجزء المتبقي من هذ المقال.

2. كيف تُطبَّق الأخلاقيات البيئية في مجال الأعمال؟

لماذا ينبغي عليك مراعاة الأخلاقيات البيئية في عملك؟ حتى لو كنت تُقر أنّ حماية البيئة أمر مهم، أليست تلك مهمة الأنظمة الحكومية؟ ألا ينبغي على الشركات أن تعمل بناءً على دافع تحقيق أكبر قدر من الأرباح؟ وألن ينتهي الحال بهذه الأخلاقيات البيئية المزعجة إلى تقليصها إلى الحد الأدنى؟

العوائق التي تحول دون مراعاة الأخلاقيات البيئية

تُمثِّل التكلفة بالنسبة للعديد من الشركات الصغيرة مصدر قلق، وقد وجدت دراسة أنّ 78% من الشركات الصغيرة ليس لديها نظام إدارة بيئية، وعلى الرغم من ذلك فإنّ معظم أرباب الأعمال كانوا يرغبون بالفعل في تقليل تأثيرهم على البيئة، ولكنّهم كانوا مقيدين بـ "القيود المفروضة على الموارد" فضلاً عن عوامل أخرى مثل قلة الدعم والإرشاد.

وتعتبر الضغوط التنافسية عائقاً آخراً؛ فإذا كان منافسوك يستوردون بضائع قليلة التكلفة دون مراعاة الاستدامة البيئية، ألن تفقد ميزاتك إذا أصررت على الالتزام بأعلى المعايير الأخلاقية؟

هذه المخاوف في محلها؛ فحتى لو لم يكن العمل كله يتعلق بالربح فإنّه يحتاج فعلياً إلى تحقيق مقدار من الربح لكي يبقى قائماً، وعلى الرغم من أنّ بعض السياسات البيئية قد يكون لها تأثير إيجابي بجانب تحقيق الحد الأدنى من الربح يمكن لسياسات بيئية أخرى أن تزيد من التكلفة. الأمر المهم هو النظر إلى الأثر الإجمالي لعملك بما في ذلك الآثار الإيجابية التي سنلقي الضوء عليها الآن.

فوائد مراعاة الأخلاقيات البيئية

هناك العديد من الفوائد الجانبية لكون عملك يؤدي إلى شيء آخر غير الربح.

فقد تتمتع بسمعة تجارية مميزة بحيث يشتري العملاء منتجاتك حتى لو كانت أثمن قليلاً من المنتجات المنافسة. على سبيل المثال: تبيع شركة Brothers We Stand التي يوجد مقرها في المملكة المتحدة ملابس رجالية تأتي مع شرح مفصل للأثر الاجتماعي والبيئي لعملية إنتاجها. يمكنك بسهولة العثور على قمصان أقل سعراً من سلاسل متاجر التجزئة بمعايير أكثر مرونة، ولكن الكثير من العملاء مستعدون لدفع المزيد من أجل راحة البال التي تأتي من شراء شيء ينسجم مع قيمهم الخاصة.

قد تكون أيضاً قادراً على استقطاب موظفين أفضل إذا لبّيت قيمهم الخاصة ونصّبت شركتك كمكان رائع للعمل فيها لأسباب أخلاقية إضافة إلى الأسباب المالية، ووجدت الدراسات الاستقصائية أنّ جيل الثمانينيات والتسعينيات -على وجه الخصوص- يحركهم دافع القيم أكثر من المال. تلخّص هذه المقالة التي كُتبت عام 2015 البحوث الحديثة كما يلي:

يقول أكثر من 50٪ من جيل الثمانينيات والتسعينيات أنّهم مستعدون أن يحصلوا على رواتب منخفضة مقابل أن يجدوا عملاً يتناسب مع قيمهم، بينما يرغب 90٪ منهم باستخدام مهاراتهم في سبيل الخير.

ويمكننا القول ببساطة أنّ هناك قيمة واضحة لعملك عندما تتبنى قيّماً فيه. يمكنك معرفة المزيد عن هذا الأمر في الدروس التعليمية التالية:

3. ما يمكنك فعله: 10 قضايا مهمة عليك مراعاتها

والآن بعد أن تحدثنا عن المقصود بالأخلاقيات البيئية وعلاقتها بعملك دعونا نبدأ في الحديث عن الأمور العملية، فما هي الأمور التي يمكنك القيام به لتضع الأخلاقيات البيئية موضع التطبيق في شركتك؟

قد تختلف التفاصيل تبعاً لنوع الشركة والمجال الذي تعمل فيه، ولكن هناك بعض الأمور المشتركة، وفيما يلي عشرة قضايا مهمة عليك مراعاتها متضمنة أفكاراً حول ما يمكنك القيام به لتحسين الممارسات البيئية التي تتبّعها:

1. حساب التكلفة الكلية

الفكرة الرئيسية التي تقوم عليها الأخلاقيات البيئية هي أنّ للطبيعة قيمة جوهرية ويجب ألا يتم التعامل معها على أنّها مجرد مصدر للثروات التي يتم استغلالها. لكنّ نظام المحاسبة التقليدي لا يتطابق مع هذه الرؤية؛ فهو يحسب التكاليف النقدية المباشرة فقط ولا يأخذ في الاعتبار أموراً كالتلوث ومخلفات البيئة والتي يشار إليها أحياناً بـ "العوامل الخارجية السلبية" في النظرية الاقتصادية.

لكي تتماشى مع الأخلاقيات البيئية ستحتاج إلى حساب تلك العوامل الخارجية. إحدى الطرق المستخدمة لذلك تُعرف باسم حساب التكلفة الكلية، وفي بعض الأحيان حساب التكلفة البيئية الكلية. هذه الطريقة تتسم بالتعقيد، ولكنّني أفضل تبسيطها من خلال التأمل في تلك اللافتات التي نراها أحياناً في المحال التجارية: "إذا كسرتها ستدفع ثمنها". تسعى طريقة حساب التكلفة الكلية إلى رصد التكاليف الحقيقية للشركة من خلال تقدير حجم الموارد التي تستهلكها، والنفايات التي تنتجها، والتلوث الذي تحدثه، وغيرها من الآثار الاجتماعية والبيئية.

لذا، ضع في اعتبارك حساب التكلفة الكلية في شركتك. إنّه ليس "حلاً سريعاً" بأي حال من الأحوال، ولكنّ الوقت الذي يستغرقه يستحق العناء. إنّ هذا الأمر -من بين جميع الأمور المذكورة في هذا المقال- هو على الأغلب أكثر ما سيساعدك في التفكير بطريقة مختلفة حول أسلوب عمل شركتك.

2. الكفاءة في استهلاك الطاقة

هل قلت للتو "حلاً سريعاً"؟ هذا البند يقع بالتأكيد ضمن ذلك التصنيف؛ حيث يمكنك ببساطة المساعدة في الحفاظ على البيئة وتوفير المال في الوقت نفسه عن طريق مراجعة استهلاكك للطاقة وإيجاد طرقاً أكثر كفاءة.

استخدم هذا الدليل Better Business Guide to Energy Saving ليرشدك للخطوات اللازمة. بشكل أساسي، ما عليك إلا التحقق من أنّ مكتبك أو متجرك أو مصنعك أو أي مكان عمل آخر يطبق معايير الطاقة الأساسية ويلتزم بها، فعلى سبيل المثال تحقق من الأمور التالية:

  • هل تستخدم مصادر إنارة موفرة للطاقة؟
  • هل يتم ضبط أنظمة التدفئة والتبريد بشكل صحيح بواسطة منظمات الحرارة؟
  • هل النوافذ والأبواب تعزل كل هذه الحرارة الباردة أو الدافئة المكلفة وتمنعها من التسرب؟
  • هل تعمل أجهزة الكمبيوتر الخاصة بك بكفاءة؟
  • هل تطفئ أنت وموظفوك الأجهزة باستمرار في حال عدم استخدامها؟

في حين كان البند الأول يتعلق بإعادة النظر في عملك من منظور الصورة الكاملة، فهذا البند يتعلق بالمكاسب الصغيرة التي يمكن أن تزيد من مدّخراتك بشكل ملحوظ. ألقِ نظرة على هذه النصائح المتعلقة بتوفير الطاقة في مكان العمل لتتعرف على المزيد من الأفكار.

3. مصادر الطاقة

بالإضافة إلى مراقبة استهلاك الطاقة، يمكنك تقييم ما إذا كانت مصادر الطاقة التي تستخدمها مناسبة. هناك الكثير من البدائل للوقود الأحفوري في هذه الأيام، ويمكنك بدلاً منها استيراد الطاقة من مزوّد يولّد الطاقة من المصادر المتجددة.

على سبيل المثال: يوجد في المملكة المتحدة العديد من الشركات، مثل شركة Ecotricity وشركة Good Energy، التي تزوّد المنازل والشركات بالكهرباء من مصادر للطاقة كالرياح والألواح الشمسية. يوجد مزودون مماثلون في بلدان أخرى، لذلك ما عليك إلا أن تبحث قليلاً لكي تعثر على المزودين في منطقتك وتحصل منهم على عرض الأسعار، وتعتبر هذه طريقة بسيطة أخرى للحد من التأثير البيئي لشركتك ومن انبعاثات الكربون.

4. سلسلة الإمداد

عندما تنظر الشركات إلى أثرها البيئي فإنها غالباً ما تركز على إسهاماتها المباشرة، ولكن -كما رأينا- تتطلب الأخلاقيات البيئية نظراً أكثر شمولية.

لذا، تفحّص سلسلة الإمداد بأكملها بمعنى: جميع الشركات التي تزوّدك بكل المكونات اللازمة لمنتجاتك النهائية، واسأل نفسك:

  • كيف بُنيت هذه المكونات؟
  • كيف تُنقل؟
  • كيف تم الحصول على المواد الأصلية؟
  • كيف تتم العملية برمتها منذ لحظة استخراج المواد الخام إلى لحظة وصول المنتج النهائي للمستهلك؟

راقب كل خطوة من خطوات العملية وحدد الأثر البيئي الكامل في كل مرحلة، ثم ابحث عن فرص للتحسين، وإذا كانت المعلومات غير متوفرة فاطلب الحصول عليها. إذا كان أحد المزودين لا يرغب في الامتثال لأفضل الممارسات البيئية فابحث عن مزود سيمتثل لها. هذا البند أيضاً سيأخذ وقتاً ولكن له مكاسب كبيرة.

5. التعبئة والتغليف

تمحور تركيز يوم الأرض لهذا العام بشكل خاص حول وضع حد للتلوث البلاستيكي؛ حيث ينتهي المطاف بأغلب البلاستيك في العالم في المحيطات، وهناك ينقسم إلى قطع صغيرة تقتل الحياة البحرية. هناك 51 تريليون جزيء دقيق من البلاستيك منتشرة في المحيطات في يومنا هذا - وهذا العدد أكبر بـ 500 مرة من عدد النجوم في مجرتنا.

يُعزى الكثير من هذا إلى التعبئة أو التخزين بدون داعٍ، فعلى سبيل المثال: يتخلص الأمريكيون من أكياس البقالة البلاستيكية التي يقدر عددها بحوالي 100 مليار كل عام، ويستخدم كل كيس منها لمدة 12 دقيقة فقط بينما يستغرق الأمر سنوات حتى تتحلل. (يمكنك أن تجد هذه الحقائق والمزيد من خلال هذا الرابط Earth Day Pollution Quiz).

هل يساهم عملك في التلوث البلاستيكي أو يساعد على التخفيف منه؟ إذا كنت تساهم في حدوثه فابحث عن بدائل:

  • توقف عن تعبئة وتغليف منتجاتك في حال عدم الضرورة.
  • استبدل العبوات البلاستيكية بمواد صديقة للبيئة تتحلل بسرعة، والخيار الأمثل هو استبدالها بحاويات مستدامة يمكن إعادة استخدامها.
  • نظِّم حملات أو قدِّم حوافز لتشجيع عملائك على إعادة استخدام العبوات أو إعادة تدويرها.

6. الرفق بالحيوان

تنطبق الفكرة الأساسية التي تقوم عليها الأخلاقيات البيئية - أن للطبيعة قيمة جوهرية - على الحيوانات أيضاً. فالكائنات الأخرى ليست موجودة على الأرض لكي نستغلها؛ فهي لديها الحق في الحصول على معاملة حسنة.

ما يعنيه ذلك من الناحية العملية هو أن تعمل وفقاً للإطار الأخلاقي الخاص بك؛ حيث يفضل بعض الناس تجنب أي استخدام للمنتجات الحيوانية، في حين يصر آخرون على أن الحيوانات يتم التعامل معها بطريقة إنسانية.

مراعاة الأخلاقيات البيئية تعني أن تضع في اعتبارك أثر الممارسات التي تتبعها في عملك على الكائنات الأخرى وأن تحدد السياسات التي يجب تطبيقها للتخفيف من الأثر السلبي أو إحداث أثر إيجابي. على سبيل المثال: هل تستخدم أنت أو الذين تستورد منهم منتجات تم تجربتها على الحيوانات؟ وهل تقتضي عمليات الإنتاج الخاصة بك اجتثاث الأشجار وتدمير موائل الحيوانات؟

بعد أن تقيّم ذلك، قرر ما الحدود التي عليك ألّا تتعداها وما هي معايير الرفق بالحيوان التي ستطالب شركتك ومورديك بالالتزام بها.

7. التلوث

من المحتمل أن تسبّب شركتك التلوث بطرق متعددة تمتد من استهلاكك للطاقة إلى التلوث الناتج بشكل مباشر عن عمليات التصنيع. لذا، ابحث عن طرق للحد من ذلك.

على سبيل المثال: يمكنك التفكير ملياً في طرق لتصنيع منتجاتك بانبعاثات أقل، أو تقليل انبعاثات الكربون الكلية التي تسببها من خلال تطبيق التغييرات المتعلقة باستهلاك الطاقة التي تحدثنا عنها سابقاً أو تغيير سياسات النقل الخاصة بشركتك (سنتحدث عن المزيد عن هذا لاحقاً).

إذا لم تستطع تقليل التلوث الناجم عن عملك يمكنك التفكير في استخدام التعويضات، وهي تبرعات تقدمها لكي تُستثمر في الطاقة النظيفة أو في زراعة الأشجار للتعويض عن الضرر الذي أحدثته. يمكنك أن تجد أحد الأمثلة على الموقع الإلكتروني Carbonfund.org الذي يسمح لك بحساب الأثر الذي سببته شركتك وتقديم تبرعات خيرية للتعويض عنها.

8. وسائل النقل

إنّ وسائل النقل مصدر رئيسي للتلوث وغيره من الآثار البيئية السلبية، لذلك قم بتفحص الطريقة التي يتم بها نقل الأشخاص والمنتجات في شركتك. هل يمكنك تقليل الحاجة إلى النقل (على سبيل المثال: عن طريق التحويل إلى مورّد محلي) أو استبدال وسائل النقل بأخرى أكثر ملاءمة للبيئة (مثل استخدام القطار بدلاً من الطائرة)؟

يمكنك أيضاً التفكير في طرق تشجع من خلالها الموظفين على استخدام وسائل نقل صديقة للبيئة، فعلى سبيل المثال: تقدم بعض الشركات حوافز لموظفيها لتشجعهم على الذهاب إلى العمل بواسطة وسائل النقل العام بدلاً من السيارات، أو على التشارك في الركوب بدلاً من الذهاب ركوباً بمفردهم. يمكنك أيضاً التوفير (على الصعيد البيئي والمالي) من خلال عقد المزيد من الاجتماعات عبر الفيديو بدلاً من نقل الأفراد بواسطة الطائرة إلى المناطق المختلفة، كما أنّ السماح لهم بالعمل من المنزل قد يمنع حدوث التلوث الناجم عن التنقل.

9. استهلاك الموارد

لقد تحدثنا عن التعبئة والتغليف سابقاً، لكنّ الشركات تستهلك الكثير من الموارد الأخرى. لذا، تفحّص الممارسات الخاصة بشركتك وحدد المواضع التي يمكنك تحسينها، على سبيل المثال:

  • هل يمكنك إعادة تدوير المزيد؟
  • هل يمكنك استهلاك موارد أقل في البداية؟
  • هل يمكنك ألّا تستخدم الورق في مكتبك، أو على الأقل أن تقلل المعاملات الورقية غير الضرورية؟

قلل من اهتمامك بالمواد التي تستعمل لمرة واحدة واهتم أكثر بالتي يعاد استعمالها. على سبيل المثال: إن كنت تدير مقهى فإنّ تغييراً بسيطاً كتقديم الطعام والشراب في عبوات قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام بدلاً من تلك التي يتم التخلص منها بعد أول استعمال يمكنه أن يحدث فرقاً كبيراً على مر الزمن.

10. وضع ما سبق موضع التطبيق

جميع الأمور التي تحدثنا عنها مهمة ولكن لا يمكنك تطبيقها بمفردك؛ فحتى تنجح  ستحتاج إلى المساعدة من موظفيك والتأكد من فهمهم لأهمية الأخلاقيات البيئية ومعرفتهم بما عليهم القيام به لدعمها.

وهذا يعني إنشاء سياسة بيئية واضحة لشركتك تتضمن جميع النقاط التي ناقشناها بالإضافة إلى أي نقاط أخرى ترغب بإضافتها، وبعدها ستحتاج إلى تعزيز ذلك عن طريق تدريب الموظفين والتأكيد على التزامك من خلال التأكيد المستمر على أهمية الأخلاقيات البيئية أثناء تواصلك مع الموظفين. يمكنك استغلال مناسبة يوم الأرض كوسيلة رائعة للانطلاق - سنتحدث عن المزيد من الأفكار المتعلقة بما عليك فعله في منشور الغد.

من السهل قول الشيء الصحيح، ولكن القيام به يتطلب غرس الاحترام للبيئة في جميع جوانب العمل وهذا يستغرق وقتاً وجهداً وتنظيماً.

الخلاصة

تعلمت في هذا المقال كل ما يتعلق بالقضايا الأخلاقية البيئية في مجال الأعمال، وقد ألقينا نظرة على المقصود بالأخلاقيات البيئية وكيفية تطبيقها في عالم الأعمال، كما تحدثنا عن عشرة أمور يمكنك القيام بها لكي تضع الأخلاقيات البيئية موضع التطبيق في شركتك.

وكما ذكرت، يمكن أن تختلف التفاصيل بصورة كبيرة باختلاف الشركات والصناعات، ولكنني آمل أن يكون هذا المقال قد قدّم إطاراً مفيداً يمكنك من خلاله النظر بشأن الأخلاقيات البيئية ووضع سياسات بيئية مناسبة لعملك بصفة خاصة.

غداً، سيتمحور تركيزنا على يوم الأرض نفسه وسنتعرف على طرق للاحتفال بهذه المناسبة. أراك لاحقاً!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Cyber Monday Sale! 50% off themes, plugins, graphics, audio + video! Cyber Monday Sale! Download Now
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Environmental
Business

What Is Environmental Ethics for Business? +10 Important Issues

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Tomorrow is Earth Day, an annual event at which 1 billion people in 192 countries take action to support the protection of the environment on which we all depend.

So, what does that have to do with your business? Plenty, as you’ll discover in this article. Recent research shows that just 100 companies are responsible for 71% of global greenhouse gas emissions since 1988, so clearly, changing business practices could have a huge impact on the sustainability of human life on earth.

But even if you own or work at a much smaller company than the ones on that list, there’s still plenty you can do to have a positive impact on the environment. From examining your supply chain to changing your energy usage or modes of transportation, small changes can have large impacts.

Earth Day Recycling
Recycling can help you use resources better. (Image Source: Envato Elements)

In this article, we’ll look at environmental ethical issues in business. We’ll define environmental ethics and explain how it can be applied to the business world, and then we’ll look at ten important issues on which you can take simple action to improve the environment, not just on Earth Day but all year round. 

1. What Is Environmental Ethics?

First, let’s define environmental ethics. Although the term can have different meanings, a good summary is in this paper by Laszlo Zsolnai at the University of Budapest.

The underlying principle of environmental ethics is that nature has intrinsic value. This means that nature and its parts are not merely means for accomplishing one’s purposes but are ends in and for themselves.

This sounds simple enough, but it’s actually quite a radical reversal of centuries of anthropocentric thought. For centuries, it was easy to believe that nature existed for human beings to exploit. The more trees we could cut down and convert into magnificent buildings, the better our quality of life. The more coal we could mine for fuel, the more energy we had available to power factories and produce more life-enhancing goods. And best of all, no matter how much we used, there was always plenty more available.

But in recent decades, it’s become clear that this is no longer true. As our economies have grown, our impact on the environment has grown to the point where we are depleting the available resources, causing the extinction of thousands of animal species, and altering the climate of our planet.

Many businesses, however, have continued to operate on the traditional model. Environmental ethics aims to question the basic assumption that nature is there for our benefit. If nature has intrinsic value, how should that change the way your company uses energy or packages its products or treats animals? It can actually have large implications for the way you do business. We’ll look at all of that in the rest of this article.

2. How Environmental Ethics Applies to Business

Why should you consider environmental ethics in your business? Even if you accept that protecting the environment is important, isn’t that the job of government regulation? Shouldn’t a business just operate according to the motive of maximizing profit? And won’t these pesky environmental ethics end up eating into the bottom line?

Barriers to Considering Environmental Ethics

For many small businesses, cost is a concern. One study found that 78% of small businesses had no environmental management system. Despite that, most business owners actually wanted to reduce their environmental impact, but were held back by “resource constraints” as well as other factors like lack of support or guidance.

Another barrier is competitive pressure. If your competitors are importing low-cost goods with no regard for environmental sustainability, won’t you be at a disadvantage if you insist on the highest ethical standards?

These are valid concerns. Even if a business is not all about profit, it does need to make a profit to survive. And although some environmental policies can also have a positive bottom-line impact, others can add to cost. What’s important is to look at the overall impact for your business, including the positive effects, which we’ll look at now.

Benefits of Considering Environmental Ethics

There are many side benefits to being a business that stands for something other than profit.

You may enjoy a positive brand image, so that customers will buy your products even if they’re a little more expensive than competing ones. For example, UK company Brothers We Stand sells men’s clothing that comes with a full breakdown of the social and environmental impact of its production. You can easily find cheaper shirts from retail chains with looser standards, but plenty of customers are willing to pay more for the peace of mind that comes from buying something in tune with their own values.

You may also be able to attract better employees if you appeal to their own values and position yourself as a great place to work for ethical as well as financial reasons. Surveys have found that millennials, in particular, are more motivated by values than money. Consider this 2015 article summarizing the recent research:

More than 50% of millennials say they would take a pay cut to find work that matches their values, while 90% want to use their skills for good.

To put it simply, there is a clear business value to having business values. You can find out more about this in the following tutorials:

3. What You Can Do: 10 Important Issues to Consider

So now that we have covered what environmental ethics means and how it relates to your business, let’s get practical. What can you do to put environmental ethics into practice at your company?

The specifics may vary depending on what kind of company it is and what industry you’re in, but there are some common threads. Here are ten important issues for you to consider, with ideas on what you could do to improve your environmental practices.

1. Full Cost Accounting

The main idea of environmental ethics is that nature has intrinsic value and shouldn’t be treated merely as a resource to be used up. But traditional accounting doesn’t match up with that vision. It only measures direct monetary costs, with no accounting for things like pollution and environmental waste, which are sometimes referred to as "negative externalities" in economic theory.

To be consistent with environmental ethics, you would need to account for those externalities. One approach is called full cost accounting, or sometimes environmental full cost accounting. It’s a complex area, but I like to simplify it by thinking of those signs you sometimes see in shops: “If you break it, you pay for it.” Full cost accounting aims to capture a business’s true costs by measuring the resources it uses, the waste and pollution it generates, and other social and environmental impacts.

So, consider implementing full cost accounting for your business. It’s not a ‘quick fix’ by any means, but the time it takes will be worth it. Of all the things listed in this article, this is the one that’s most certain to help you think differently about how your business operates.

2. Energy Efficiency

Did I just say ‘quick fix’? This next item definitely falls into that category. Simply by reviewing your energy usage and identifying ways to be more efficient, you can help the environment while also saving money.

Use this Better Business Guide to Energy Saving to help you walk through the steps. Basically, you just need to check your office, shop, factory or other workplace for compliance with basic energy common sense. For example:

  • Are you using energy-efficient lighting?
  • Are your heating and cooling systems properly controlled by thermostats?
  • Are windows and doors insulated to stop all that expensive cooling/heating from escaping?
  • Is your computer equipment operating efficiently?
  • Are you and your employees regularly switching things off when not in use?

Whereas the first item was about rethinking your business in terms of the big picture, this one is about small wins that can add up to significant savings. Check out these workplace energy-saving tips for more ideas.

3. Energy Sources

As well as looking at energy usage, you could evaluate the sources of that energy. There are plenty of alternatives to fossil fuels these days, and you could switch to an energy supplier that generates its energy from renewable sources.

For example, in the UK, there are several companies, such as Ecotricity and Good Energy, that provide electricity for homes and businesses from sources like wind power and solar panels. Similar providers exist in other countries too, so do some research to find them in your area and get a quote. This is another simple way to reduce your business’s environmental impact and carbon footprint.

4. The Supply Chain

When businesses look at their environmental impact, they often focus on their own direct contributions. But, as we’ve seen, environmental ethics demands a more holistic approach.

So, examine your entire supply chain: all of the companies that provide all of the components for your final products. Ask yourself:

  • How are those components built?
  • How are they transported?
  • How were the original materials obtained?
  • What does the entire process look like from the mining of the raw materials through to the finished item reaching the consumer?

Look at every step of the process and identify the full environmental impact at each stage, and then look for opportunities for improvement. If information is not available, then ask for it. If a supplier doesn’t want to comply with the best environmental practices, look for one that will. This is another item that will take time, but have big payoffs.

5. Packaging

This year’s Earth Day has a particular focus on ending plastic pollution. The majority of the world’s plastic ends up in oceans, where it breaks up into small pieces that kill marine life. There are 51 trillion microplastic particles in the ocean today—500 times more than the number of stars in our galaxy.

Much of this is due to unnecessary packaging or storage—for example, Americans throw away an estimated 100 billion plastic grocery bags each year, with each bag being used for just 12 minutes and taking years to decompose. (You can find these facts and more in the Earth Day Plastic Pollution Quiz.)

Does your business contribute to plastic pollution or help to alleviate it? If you are contributing, then look at alternatives:

  • Cut out unnecessary packaging of your products.
  • Replace plastic packaging with eco-friendly materials that will decompose quickly or, ideally, durable containers that can be reused.
  • Run campaigns or provide incentives to encourage your customers to reuse or recycle packaging.

6. Animal Welfare

The main idea of environmental ethics—that nature has intrinsic value—applies to animals too. Other species are not put on earth for our exploitation; they have a right to fair treatment.

What that means in practice is for you to work out according to your own ethical framework. Some people will want to avoid any and all uses of animal products, while others may prefer to insist that animals are treated humanely.

Considering environmental ethics means considering the impact of your business practices on other species and deciding what policies to put in place to mitigate or improve that impact. For example, do you or your suppliers use products that were tested on animals? Do your production processes involve clearing land and destroying animals’ habitats?

Once you’ve assessed the impact, decide where to draw the line and what animal welfare standards to demand from your own business and your suppliers.

7. Pollution

It’s likely that your business creates pollution in multiple ways, from the energy you use to direct pollution from manufacturing processes. So, examine ways to reduce that.

For example, you could look at ways to manufacture your products with fewer emissions, or reduce your overall carbon footprint by implementing the energy changes we talked about earlier or changing your transportation policies (more on that next).

Or if you can’t reduce pollution, you could look into using offsets. These are donations that you make to invest in clean energy or planting trees to offset the damage you’ve done. One example is at Carbonfund.org, where you can calculate your company’s footprint and make a charitable donation to offset it.

8. Transportation

Transportation is a major source of pollution and other negative environmental effects, so examine the way people and products are transported within your company. Can you reduce the need for transportation (for example, by switching to a local supplier) or switch to more eco-friendly transportation (e.g. train instead of plane)?

Also consider ways to encourage staff to use eco-friendly transport options. For example, some businesses provide incentives for their staff to commute to work via public transport instead of car, or to share a ride instead of driving individually. You can also make savings (both environmental and monetary) by holding more meetings via videoconference instead of flying people to different locations. And allowing people to work from home can avoid pollution from the commute.

9. Resource Usage

We talked about packaging already, but businesses use a lot of other resources. So, examine your practices and see where you can make improvements. For example:

  • Can you recycle more?
  • Can you use less to begin with?
  • Can you go paper free in your office, or at least reduce unnecessary paperwork?

Think less in terms of one-off items and more in terms of repeating processes. For example, if you run a café, a small change like providing food and drinks in reusable instead of disposable containers could make a huge difference over time.

10. Putting It Into Practice

All of the things we’ve talked about are important, but you can’t do them on your own. In order to be successful, you’ll need to get your staff on board, ensuring that they understand the importance of environmental ethics and know what they need to do to support it.

That means creating a clear environmental policy for your business, incorporating all of the points we’ve discussed, along with any others you want to add. Then you’ll need to support that with staff training and reinforce your commitment by constantly emphasizing the importance of environmental ethics in your communication with employees. You can use Earth Day itself as a great way to kick things off—more ideas on what to do in tomorrow’s post.

It’s easy to say the right thing, but doing the right thing involves embedding respect for the environment in all aspects of the business, and that takes time, effort, and organization.

Conclusion

In this article, you’ve learned all about environmental ethical issues in business. We’ve looked at what environmental ethics means and how it can be applied to the business world, and we’ve covered ten things you can do to put environmental ethics into practice in your business.

As I mentioned, the specifics can vary a lot for different companies in different industries, but I hope this post has given you a useful framework with which to think about environmental ethics and to construct environmental policies that make sense for your particular business.

Tomorrow, we’ll focus in on Earth Day itself and look at how you can mark the occasion. See you then!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.