Unlimited PowerPoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Freelance

دليل العامل الحر لإعداد الميزانية بشكلٍ فعال

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Freelance Financial Bootcamp.
What to Charge? A Freelancer's Guide to Giving an Estimate
A Freelancer’s Guide to Handling Debt Responsibly

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

وظائف العمل الحر يمكن أن تكون مثل حافلات لندن: تنتظر لساعات، ومن ثم تأتي ثلاثة حافلات بنففس الوقت. على العملاء أيضاً أن يدفعوا وفقاً لجداول زمنية متفاوتة، من نفس اليوم إلى نفس السنة إذا كنت محظوظاً.

اجمع هذين العاملين مع بعضهما، وستحصل على عدم استقرار كبير في مصدر الدخيل. في شهرٍ واحد قد تحصل على مرتب مصرفي المؤسسات، وفي الشهر التالي كنت لتكسب مالاً أكثر لو عملت في مطاعم ماك دونالدز (McDonald's).

لذا في هذا الدرس، سأظهر لك كيف تبني وتشكل ميزانية متينة تأخذ في حسابها هذه التقلبات، مع التأكد من توفيرك لما يكفي في الأوقات الجيدة لكي تغطي الشهور التي لا تعمل فيها أو يتم إنهاء المشاريع الكبيرة فيها.

سأستفيد من خبرتي الخاصة ككاتبٍ يعمل بشكلٍ حر، بالإضافة إلى بعض مبادئ إعداد الميزانية التي تعلمتها من الكتابة عن إدارة الأموال الشخصية في The Wall Street Journal. لكن التقنيات يمكن تطبيقها مهما كان مجال العمل الذي تعمل فيه. لذا أيها المصورون، المصممون، المطورون وأي أحدٍ آخر يعمل بشكلٍ حر -- تابعوا القراءة، وتعلموا كيفية إعادة كلمة "حر" إلى العامل الحر!

1. ابني دخلاً منتظم

أول شيء سنقوم به هو تحويلك إلى موظِف براتب. بهذه الطريقة يمكنك أن تمتلك أفضل العمول من كلا العالمين: مرتب منتظم ويمكن توقعه، مع القدرة على العمل وأنت ترتدي ملابس النوم الخاصة بك.

هل يبدو ذلك جيداً جداً لدرجة أنه لا يصدف؟ حسناً، ربما هو كذلك، إلى درجة ما. كما ذكرت سابقاً، الدخل غير المنتظم هو خاصية أساسية في حياة العمل الحر. لكن يمكننا معالجة الدخل غير المنتظم بطريقة تجعله منتظماً لأغراض الميزانية خاصتك.

إليك مثالاً لكي أظهر لك كيف يعمل ذلك.

الق نظرةً على متوسط دخلك

لنقل أن دخلي خلال السنة الماضية بدا بهذا الشكل:

الشهر الدخل
مايو (أيار) 2014 3498 دولار
يونيو (حزيران) 2014  7010 دولار
يوليو (تموز) 2014 1256 دولار
اغسطس (آب) 2014  3425 دولار
سبتمبر (أيلول) 2014 5500 دولار
أكتوبر (تشرين الأول) 2014 2900 دولار
نوفمبر (تشرين الثاني) 2014 4854 دولار
ديسمبر (كانون الأول) 2014 4204 دولار
يناير (كانون الثاني) 2015 1085 دولار
فبراير (شباط) 2015 5850 دولار
مارس (آذار) 2015 6210 دولار
أبريل (نيسان) 2015 2208

يالها من فوضى! لا يوجد نمط، لا يوجد تقدم. في شهرٍ واحد حصلت على أكثر من 7000 دولار، وفي الشهر التالي كسبت 1256 دولار.

لذا كي أجعله أكثر انتظاماً، سآخذ المتوسط. اجمع كل هذه الأرقام مع بعضها وسيكون الناتج هو 48 ألفاً في هذه السنة. بتقسيمه على 12 فإنني حصلت على دخلٍ شهري وسطي قيمته 4000 دولار.

أحب أن أكون متحفظاً عند إعدادي للميزانية، لأن حياتي لا تجري بالشكل الذي أرغبه دوماً. لذا بناءً على هذه الأرقام، سأخطط على الأغلب لدخل شهري وسطي قدره 3500 دولار في السنة القادمة. اسعى دوماً لزيادة دخلي، لكنني أفهم أن بعض الأمور تقع خارج نطاق سيطرتي، لذا أشعل براحةٍ أكبر مع رقمٍ أقل بقليلي لأغراض ميزانيتي.

لكن لسوء الحظ، 3500 دولار لن يكون مرتبي. لا تنسى أن الموظفين الذين يتقاضون مرتباً تتم اقتطاع الضرائب منه أوتوماتيكياً. كعاملٍ حر، يجب عليك الدفع في فترة لاحقة بشكلٍ عام، لكنني قلت أننا سنعمل على تحويلك إلى موظفٍ براتب، لذا نحتاج إلى تقبل الأمور الجيدة والسيئة في الحياة.

المقدار الذي سيتم اقتطاعه يعتمد على دخلك وعلى المكان الذي تعيش فيه، بالإضافة إلى حزمة كاملة من المتغيرات مثل الذي تطلبه نفقات العمل الخاصة بك. هنالك حاسبات لمساعدتك، مثل هذه الخاصة بالولايات المتحدة وهذه الخاصة بالمملكة المتحدة. ولأنني أحب الأرقام التامة، فإنني سأحتفظ بـ 1000 دولار شهرياً للضرائب، مما يترك لي راتباً شهرياً قدره 2500 دولار.

قم بإعداد نظام

هنالك عددٌ من الطرق المختلفة التي يمكنك أن تدفع عن طريقها هذا المرتب لك، لذا استعمل فقط أي طريقة ترتاح معها بأكبر قدر.

الطريقة التي تحاكي بأكبر شكل التوظيف براتب هي عن طريق إعداد حسابين مصرفيين. قم بتوجيه كامل دخل عملك الحر إلى حساب مصرفي واحد (يفضل أن يكون حساب توفير، إذا أمكنك إيجاد حساب يوفر معدل جيد لائق هذه الأيام). ومن ثم قم بتحويل مرتباتك إلى حساب الشخصي، الذي ستأخذ منه المال، تدفع منه الضرائب، وتقوم بكلِ شيءٍ آخر من خلاله.

إذا لم ترغب بأن تربك نفسك بحسابين منفصلين، فإن بإمكانك ببساطة استعمال حساب واحد، وأن تتعقب مرتباتك في جدول بيانات أو في برنامج المحاسبة الذي تفضله.

بعض الناس يجدون أن المال النقدي هو أفضل طريقة للإلتزام بميزانية معينة -- لديك مقدارٌ معين من المال لهذا الشهر، وعندما ينتهي، فإنه انتهى. لذا قد يكون لديك خيارٌ آخر وهو سحب مرتبك من ماكينة الصراف الآلي (على الأغلب ستسحبه على دفعاتٍ أصغر، لكي تقلل من إحتمالية أن تتم سرقتك).

مهما كانت الطريقة التي تستعملها، فإن النقطة هي امتلاك نظام يجعلك تشعر أن لديك دخلاً منتظماً. بهذه الطريقة لن تفرط في الإنفاق في الأشهر الجيدة، ولن يكون عليك تجوع في الأشهر السيئة. وعن طريق اقتطاع الضرائب من مرتبك، فإنك أوتوماتيكياً تدخر المال للحظات المرعبة التي يحين فيها موعد دفع ضرائبك أو مدفوعاتك الأخرى.

طبعاً، هنالك مشكلة واضحة في هذه الخطوة. ماذا لو كان الراتب الذي تدفع لنفسك لا يغطي كل التكاليف؟ سنتعامل مع هذا في القسم التالي.

2. احسب نفقاتك

لقد اطلعنا على الدخل، لذا الخطوة التالية هي التعامل مع نفقاتك.

هذه الخطوة بسيطة جداً، لكنها مملة. تتضمن فقط ذكر كل نفقاتك -- المنتظمة منها والتي تحدث لمرة واحدة. لأنها مضجرة، يتجنبها الكثير من الناس، أو لا يقومون بها بشكلٍ شامل. لكن المهم جداً أن تعرف وبشكلٍ دقيق كل مصاريفك الشهرية. حتى المقادير الصغيرة يمكن أن تتراكم، لذا ضمن كل شيء.

لحسن الحظ، أصبحت هذه الخطوة أسهل بكثير مما كانت عليه. النصيحة التقليدية هي أن تحمل قلماً ودفتر ملاحظات، وأن تكتب كل نفقاتك. في هذه الأيام، هنالك العديد من التطبيقات والحزم البرمجية التي يمكن أن تساعدك، مما يجعل من السهل أكثر أن تسجل نفقاتك وأن ترتبها في فئات. شخصياً استعمل Toshl Finance، لكن هنالك الكثير من البرامج الأخرى التي ستقوم بهذه المهمة. أو خذ راحتك واستعمل القلم ودفتر الملاحظات إذا كنت تفضل ذلك!

كلما قمت بهذا لمدة أطول، كلما كانت نتائجك أكثر دقة. الشيء الهام هو أن تكتب النفقات الفعلية من حياتك اليومية، وليس تقديراتك لما يمكن أو يجب أن تنفقه. تقديراتنا تميل إلى أن تكون تفاؤلية بشكلٍ مفرط، وتعقب نفقاتك الفعلية سيكشف غالباً عدداً من المفاجئات.

هدفنا هو أن تنتهي بقائمة بسيطة لما أنفقته في فئات مختلفة، مع مجموع كلي. إليك مثالاً مبسطاً:

الأجرة 1000 دولار
الخدمات (ماء، كهرباء، الخ...) 250 دولار
التأمين 250 دولار
النقل 200 دولار
الطعام 500 دولار
العلاقات الإجتماعية 500 دولار
الترفيه 200 دولار
الهدايا 100 دولار
المقدار الكلي 3000 دولار

هيوستن، لدينا مشكلة. نفقاتي الشهرية هي 3000 دولار، لكن مرتبي هو 2500 فقط.

هذا يوضح بشكلٍ مثالي لماذا من المهم أن تمتلك ميزانية. إذا لم أتعقب هذه الأمور، فإنني لن أتمكن من النجاة مع هذا المستوى من الإنفاق إلا لفترة قصيرة، ظناً مني أن كل شيء يسير على ما يرام (تذكر، دخلي الوسطي كان مبلغاً كبيراً قدره 4000 دولار). لكنني لم أكن لأدخر ما يكفي للأيام الماطرة، أو لدفع الضرائب الخاصة بي.

من الواضح أن عليي القيام بخطوة ما. إما علي أن أذهب وأبحث عن المزيد من العمل، أو علي أن اقتطع بعضاً من نفقاتي. يجب القيام بأحد الأمرين.

في هذا الحالة، اطلعت على مصاريفي وقررت أن بإمكاني اقتطاع 500 دولار مما انفقه على العلاقات الإجتماعية والترفيه. لذا سأبقي مرتبي كما هو، وسأخفض من نفقاتي لكي تصبح 2500 دولار.

رغم ذلك، من الواضح أن تغطية التكاليف الشهرية المنتظمة فقط ليس كافياً.  أرغب أيضاً بدفع الدين المتراكم علي، بتوفير بعض المال للتقاعد، بالتخطيط للحالات الطارئة، وبامتلاك مالٍ متوافر للأحداث الكبيرة مثل الإجازات وحفلات زفاف الأصدقاء. سنلقي نظرة على هذا في القسم التالي.

3. توقع أسوء الحالات

لقد اطلعنا على كلٍ من الدخل والنفقات حتى الآن، لكننا اطلعنا على الماضي فقط. الميزانية هي وثيقة تتطلع للأمام، تبني توقعات حول المستقبل وتساعدك على تقدير كم ستجمع الشهر التالي أو في الثلاثة أشهرٍ التالية.

لذا في هذه الخطوة، سأستعمل المعلومات التي جمعناها حتى الآن لوضع توقعاتٍ حول المستقبل.

مجدداً، هنالك الكثير من التطبقيات والحزم البرمجية المختلفة التي يمكنك استعمالها. إليك قائمة قصيرة جداً بالخيارات (هنالك الكثير من الخيارات الأخرى):

شخصياً استعمل جدول بيانات بسيط في Excel صممته بنفسه وقمت بملائمته معي مع مرور الزمن. لقد أرفقته مع هذا الدرس لكي تستعمله كقالبٍ إذا أحببت. إنه النموذج نفسه الذي استعمله، لكنني أزلت بياناتي الشخصية واستبدلها بأرقام تخيلية من مثالنا السابق.

إذا قمت بفتحه، سترى أنه يضع الأرقام شهراً بشهر، مع ذكر الدخل والنفقات في الماضي (ملونة بالرمادي) وتوقعات مستقبلية للعناصر نفسها. هنالك عمود منفصل حيث اتعقب فيه دخل ونفقاتي الفعلية في الشهر الحالية. عندما ينتهي الشهر، انسخ هذه الأرقام إلى "مايو-15"، وابدأ من جديد مع يونيو.

Freelance Budget - SpreadsheetFreelance Budget - SpreadsheetFreelance Budget - Spreadsheet
جدول بيانات - ميزانية عامل حر

أقوم بتوقع دخلي في الشهور القادمة، مع إدخال التواريخ التي أتوقع أن أتلقى المال فيها، مع إفتراضي أن الأسوء سيحصل. على سبيل المثال، أعمل على إنهاء مهمة قيمتها 1000 دولار للعميل 3 في مايو، وأتوقع أن يتم الدفع لي بعد شهر. لكن لكي أكون في وضعٍ آمن، فإنني أضعها في ميزانية يوليو.

بالنظر إلى التوقعات، يمكنني أن أرى بوضوح أنني قمت بتغطية مايو، لكنني علي أن أسرع أكثر لجلب المزيد من الدخل في يونيو ويوليو.

التخطيط للأمور التي تحدث مرةً واحدة

ستلاحظ أيضاً أن فئة "نفقاتي" تتضمن عدداً من السطور الإضافية، للـ "العطل" وللـ "العناصر الهامة التي تحدث مرةً واحدة". هنا أخطط لأمور مثل العطل (بشكلٍ واضح) وللنفقات الكبيرة الأخرى التي لا تناسب الفئات الإعتيادية.

بسبب كون هذه العناصر خارج الميزانية الإعتيادية، فإن عليي الإدخار لها. أقوم بذلك عن طريق صندوق الطوارئ. في الأمور المالية الشخصية، يتكلم الناس عادةً عن صندوق الطوارئ بكونه مخصصاً لأمور مثل انهيار السقف الخاص بك. لكنني أستعمله أيضاً للأمور المرحة مثل دعوة غير متوقعة لحفل زفاف أو للجانب الآخر من العالم.

لكي يعمل هذا، طبعاً، عليي أن أدخر القليل من المال الإضافي كل شهر لكي أضيفه إلى صندوق الطوارئ. بناءً على نفقاتي السابقة، يجب أن أضيف 6000 دولار إلى ميزانيتي لكي أضيفها إلى صندوق الطوارئ، سواءً للنفقات الكبيرة غير المخطط لها ولأمور مثل إنهيار السقف. مما يعني 500 دولار إضافية كل شهر.

كما أرغب بإدخار 500 دولار أخرى كل شهر لدفع الدين الخاص بي ولكي أوفر بعض المال للمستقبل (التقاعد، عندما تكون مريضاً غير قادرٍ على الأعمال، وللأحداث الأخرى غير السارة). لذا أحتاج إلى السعي لزيادة دخلي الشهري الوسطي من 4000 إلى 5000 دولار.

بهذه الطريقة يمكنني الاستمرار في الحصول على مرتب 2500 دولار، ويمكنني تغطية الضرائب، بالإضافة إلى امتلاك ما يكفي لدفع ديوني ولبناء صندوق طوارئ وللمدخرات طويلة الأمد.

4. نوع مصادر الدخل

هذا الشيء لا تسمعه كثيراً في مجال إعداد الميزانيات، لكنه وجدته مفيداً مئة في المئة.

العمل مع عميلٍ واحد بشكلٍ متكرر هو أمر رائع، لكن عليك أن تفهم أن وظيفة العمل الحر غير مستقرة بطبيعتها. عندما تحتاج الشركات إلى التخفيض من النفقات، فإن العمال الأحرار هم غالباً أول من يتم التخلص منهم. على عكس الموظفين الإعتياديين الذين يتقاضون راتب، لا يوجد تأمين وظيفي، لا تعويضات، ولا فترة إشعار مسبق (إلا في حال كانت وظيفة منتظمة بشكلٍ كبير وكان هذا محدداً في عقد العمل الخاص بك).

لذا فكر في إحتمالية أنك ستستيقظ في صباح ما متلقياً رسالة بريد إلكتروني تخبرك، "نحن نحب العمل الذي كنت تقوم به، لكن..."

كيف ستستجيب؟ هنا يأتي دور تنويع مصادر الدخل.

إذا كانت هذه الوظيفة تمثل 90% من دخلك، فإنك على الأغلب ستدخل في وضعٍ من الذعر واسع النطاق. ستواجه حدث دفع كل الفواتير التي حددتها مسبقاً، لكن عن طريقٍ جزءٍ صغير من دخلك.

من ناحية أخرى، إذا كانت هذه الوظيفة واحدة من خمس أو ست وظائف منتظمة تقوم بها، فإن رسالة "عزيز جون" ستكون غير سارة، لكنها لن تسبب الدوار لك. ستكون قادراً على دفع الأجرة والمصاريف الأساسية الأخرى أثناء بحثك عن المزيد من العمل لاستبدال العقد الذي فقدته.

لهذا السبب أنصحك بتجربة تنويع مصادر دخلك من العمل الحر عن طريق العمل مع ثلاثة أو أربعة عملاء منتظمين (بالإضافة إلى دخل ثابت من الوظائف التي تقوم بها لمرة واحدة إن أمكن الأمر). حاول أن لا تجعل عميلاً واحداً يعطي أكثر من 50 بالمئة من دخلك.

(علي أن أعترف بأنني أتجاوز القاعدة الخاصة بي في هذه اللحظة. فأنا أقوم بالكثير من العمل لصالح Tuts+، وإذا لم تجري هذه الأمور بالشكل الصحيح، فسيكون لديك فجوة كبيرة في ميزانيتي. لكن التعهد بعمل منتظم إلى درجة كبيرة لدى الشركة التي أحبها كان مغرياً جداً، لذا قمت بهذا الاستثناء. مع ذلك أستمر في نصحك باتباع قاعدة الـ 50% إن أمكن، لكن لا تترد في كسرها إذا حصلت على عرضٍ رائع.)

5. سيطر على الأمور

في درسي حول إدارة سيل المال للأعمال، ذكرت القاعدة العامة التي تقول "كل ما كان وضعك النقدي غير مستقر، كلما وجب أن تكون توقعاتك دقيقة أكثر."

بالنسبة للأفراد الذين يعملون بشكلٍ حر، تنطبق القاعدة نفسها عليهم بدقة. بسبب كون وضعك غير مستقر بطبيعته، فإنك على الأغلب ستقضي وقتاً أكثر على إعداد الميزانية مقارنةً بصديقك المرتبط بمكتبه. إنه جزء من عملية المقايضة.

كم عدد المرات التي تحتاج فيها إلى وضع الميزانية يعتمد على وضعك الشخصي. إذا كان لديك صندوق طوارئ جميل ممتلء بالمال وكنت تحصل على دخل منتظم يسمح لك بتغطية نفقاتك المعتادة مع توفير قسم منه، فمن ثم يمكنك أن تترك الأمور تجري بدون تخطيط إلى حد ما. لكن إذا كنت تعتمد على الحصول على عملٍ جديد كل شهر لتغطية أقساطك ولدفع ديونك، فإنك على الأغلب ستجد نفسك ملتصقاً بالجدول البياني أو التطبيق البرمجي أكثر مما ترغب.

مهما كان الوقت الذي تقضيه، فإن الشيء الأساسي هو تسجيل كل عنصرٍ من دخلك (ستحتاج إلى القيام بهذا لأغراض الضرائب على أي حال)، وامتلك صورة دقيقة عن نفقاتك المتوقعة. ومن ثم راقب بشكلٍ منتظم للتأكد من حصولك على ما يكفي لدفع مرتبك، وأن هذا المرتب يغطي كل المصاريف.

الخطوات التالية

الخطوات التالية

كما ذكرت، التقنيات المحددة التي تستعملها يمكن أن تختلف. هنالك الكثير من التطبيقات والقوالب وحزم البرمجيات التي يمكنها مساعدتك، أكثر بكثير من المساحة المتوافرة لدي هنا. لذا لا تتردد في استعمال أي مصدر مناسبٍ لك، ومن ثم ملائمة طريقتي في إعداد الميزانية مع احتياجاتك الخاصة.

فقط ابق في ذهنك أكثر المبادئ أهمية:

  • ادفع لنفسك مرتباً شهرياً.
  • امتلك إدراكاً واقعياً لنفقاتك.
  • توقع، وافترض الأسوء.
  • لا تنسى التخطيط للضرائب، العطل والحالات الطارئة.
  • نوع مصادر دخلك قدر الإمكان.
  • قم بتحديث كل شيء، بحيث تعرف تماماً على ماذا تقف.

مصادر

الرسومات: أيقونة Finance مصممة من قبل Creative Stall من Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Freelance
Business

A Freelancer's Guide to Effective Budgeting

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Freelance Financial Bootcamp.
What to Charge? A Freelancer's Guide to Giving an Estimate
A Freelancer’s Guide to Handling Debt Responsibly
Freelance jobs can be like London buses: you wait ages, and then three come along at once. Clients also pay on varying schedules, from same-day to same-year-if-you’re-lucky.

Add those two factors together, and you get a whole lot of income instability. One month you might have the income of a corporate banker, and the next month you’d have made more money working at McDonald’s.

So in this tutorial, I’ll show you how to construct a rock-solid budget that accounts for these ups and downs, making sure you save enough in the good times to cover the months when no work comes in or a big project gets cancelled.

I'll be drawing on my own experience as a freelance writer, as well as a few budgeting principles I’ve learned from writing about personal finance for The Wall Street Journal. But the techniques will apply no matter what field you’re in. So freelance photographers, designers, developers and more—read on, and learn to put the “free” back in freelance!

1. Create a Regular Income

The first thing we’re going to do is convert you into a salaried employee. That way you can have the best of both worlds: a regular, predictable paycheck, and the ability to work in your pajamas.

Does that sound too good to be true? Well, maybe it is, to some extent. As I mentioned, irregular income is a feature of the freelance life. But we can treat that irregular income in a way that makes it regular for your budgeting purposes.

Here’s an example to show you how it works.

Look at Your Average Income

Let’s say that my income over the past year looked like this:

Month Income
May 2014 $3,498
June 2014 $7,010
July 2014 $1,256
August 2014 $3,425
September 2014 $5,500
October 2014 $2,900
November 2014 $4,854
December 2014 $4,204
January 2015 $1,085
February 2015 $5,850
March 2015 $6,210
April 2015 $2,208

What a mess! No pattern, no progression. One month I’m earning more than $7,000, and the next month I’m earning $1,256.

So to make it more regular, I’ll take an average. Add up all those figures and they come to $48,000 for the year. Divide by 12 and I made an average monthly income of $4,000.

I like to be conservative when I’m budgeting, because life doesn’t always work out the way you want it to. So based on these figures, I’d probably plan for an average monthly income of $3,500 for the coming year. I always aim to increase my income, but I understand that some things are out of my control, so I feel more comfortable with a slightly lower figure for budgeting purposes.

But unfortunately, $3,500 won’t be my paycheck. Don’t forget that salaried employees have taxes deducted automatically. As a freelancer, you generally get to pay later, but I said we’re converting you to a salaried employee, so we need to take the rough with the smooth.

The amount to deduct will depend on your income and where you live, as well as a whole lot of variables like how much you claim for business expenses. There are calculators to help you, like this one for the USA and this one for the UK. Because I like round numbers, I’ll set aside $1,000 a month for tax, leaving me with a monthly paycheck of $2,500.

Set Up a System

There are a few different ways you could pay yourself these paychecks, so just use whichever one you’re most comfortable with.

The one that most accurately mimics salaried employment is to set up two different bank accounts. Direct all your freelance income into one bank account (preferably a savings account, if you can find one that actually pays a decent interest rate these days). Then transfer your paychecks into your personal checking account, from where you’ll take out cash, pay your bills, and do everything else.

If you don’t want to bother with separate accounts, you could simply use a single account, and keep track of your paychecks in a spreadsheet or your financial software of choice.

Some people find cash to be the best way to stick to a budget—you have a certain amount of cash for the month, and when it’s gone, it’s gone. So another option would be to withdraw your paycheck from the ATM (probably in smaller installments, to reduce the chances of being mugged).

Whichever method you use, the point is to have a system that makes you feel as if you have a regular income. That way you don’t overspend in the good months, and you don’t starve in the bad months. And by deducting tax from your paycheck, you’re automatically setting money aside for those dreaded moments when your tax bill or estimated payments are due.

Of course, there’s an obvious problem with this step. What if the salary you pay yourself doesn’t cover your costs? We’ll deal with that next.

2. Work Out Your Costs

We’ve looked at income, so the next step is to get a handle on your costs.

This step is very simple, but very tedious. It just involves listing all your expenses—both regular and one-off. Because it’s tedious, many people skip it, or don’t do it comprehensively. But it’s very important to get an accurate view of all your monthly outgoings. Even the small amounts can add up, so include everything.

Fortunately it’s a lot easier than it used to be. The traditional advice was to carry around a pen and notebook, and jot down all your expenses. Nowadays, there are so many apps and software packages that can help you, making it easier to record expenses and sort them into categories. Personally I use Toshl Finance, but there are plenty of others that would do the job. Or feel free to use that pen and notebook if you prefer!

The longer you can do this for, the more accurate your results will be. The important thing is to go with your actual, real-life spending, not your estimates of what you think your spending could or should look like. Our estimates tend to be over-optimistic, and tracking your actual spending often reveals surprises.

The goal here is to end up with a simple list of your spending in different categories, with a total. Here’s a simplified example:

Rent $1,000
Utilities $250
Insurance $250
Transport $200
Food $500
Socializing $500
Entertainment $200
Gifts $100
TOTAL $3,000

Houston, we have a problem. My monthly spending is $3,000, but my paycheck is only $2,500.

This perfectly illustrates why it’s important to have a budget. If I weren’t keeping track of things, I could survive for a while at this spending level, thinking everything was fine (remember, my average income was a healthy $4,000). But I wouldn’t be setting aside enough for rainy days, or for paying my tax bill.

It’s obvious that I need to take action. Either I go out and search for more work, or I cut my expenses. Something has to give.

In this case, I look at my expenses and decide that I could trim $500 by cutting some of my spending on socializing and entertainment. So I’ll keep my paycheck the same, and trim my expenses to $2,500.

Clearly, however, just covering my regular monthly costs is not enough. I also want to pay down debt, save for retirement, plan for emergencies, and have money available for major events like vacations and friends’ weddings. We’ll take a look at that in the next section.

3. Make Worst-Case Projections

We’ve looked at both income and expenses now, but only in the past. A budget is a forward-looking document, making projections into the future and helping you estimate how much you’ll make next month or three months from now.

So in this step, we’ll use the information we’ve gathered so far to make some projections into the future.

Again, there are plenty of different apps and software packages you can use. Here’s a very short list of options (there are lots of others):

Personally I use a simple Excel spreadsheet that I created myself and have adapted over time. I’ve attached it to this tutorial for you to use as a template if you want. It’s the exact model I use, but I’ve taken out my personal data and replaced it with the fictional numbers from our example.

If you open it, you’ll see that it goes month by month, listing income and expenses in the past (shaded grey), and the same items projected into the future. There’s a separate column where I track my actual income and expenses for the current month. When the month is over, I’ll copy those numbers into “May-15”, and start fresh for June.

Freelance Budget - Spreadsheet
Freelance Budget - Spreadsheet

I project my income for the coming months, entering the dates when I think I’ll get paid, and assuming the worst. For example, I’m completing a $1,000 assignment for Client 3 in May, and expect to get paid about a month later. But to be on the safe side, I’m putting it in the budget for July.

By looking at the projections, I can see that I’ve got May covered, but I need to hustle to bring in more income for June and July.

Planning for One-Off Items

You’ll also notice that my “expenses” category includes a couple of extra lines, for “Vacations” and “Major one-off items”. This is where I plan for things like vacations (obviously) and other big expenses that don’t fit in the regular categories.

Because these items are outside the normal budget, I need to save up for them. I do that with an emergency fund. In personal finance, people usually talk about an emergency fund as being for things like your roof caving in. But I also use it for fun stuff like an unexpected invitation to a wedding on the other side of the world.

For this to work, of course, I’ll need to save a little extra each month to add to the emergency fund. Based on my prior expenses, I’ll budget $6,000 a year for adding to my emergency fund, both for major planned expenses and for stuff like the roof caving in. So that’s an extra $500 a month.

I also want to put aside another $500 a month for paying off my debt and saving for the future (retirement, being too ill to work, and other unpleasant prospects). So I need to aim to increase my average monthly income from $4,000 to $5,000.

That way I can still pay myself a $2,500 paycheck, and I can still cover my tax bill, but I’ll also have enough left over to pay off my debts and build up an emergency fund and long-term savings.

4. Diversify

This is not something you hear very often in the context of budgeting, but I’ve found it to be absolutely essential.

Getting regular work from one client is fantastic, but understand that any freelance gig is inherently unstable. When companies need to cut costs, the freelancers are often the first to go. Unlike with regular salaried jobs, there’s no job security, no compensation, no notice period (unless it’s a very regular job and it’s specified in your contract).

So consider the possibility that you’ll wake up one morning and get an email saying, “We love the work you’ve been doing, but...”

How would you respond? This is where diversification comes into play.

If that job represents 90% of your income, then you’ll likely go into full-scale panic mode. You’ll be faced with the prospect of paying all those bills you identified earlier, but with a fraction of the income.

On the other hand, if that job is just one of five or six regular jobs you have going, the “Dear John” email will be unpleasant, but not vertigo-inducing. You’ll still be able to pay the rent and other essential expenses while you search for more work to replace the contract you lost.

That’s why I recommend trying to diversify your freelance income stream among at least three or four regular clients (plus a steady stream of one-off jobs if possible). Try not to let any single client account for more than 50% of your income.

(I have to admit that I’m violating my own rule at the moment. I’m doing a lot of work for Tuts+, and if things go wrong, I’ll have a big hole in my budget. But the promise of so much regular work for a company I like was too enticing, so I made an exception. I’d still recommend the 50% rule if possible, but feel free to bend it if you get a great offer.)

5. Stay on Top of Things

In my tutorial on managing cash flow for businesses, I mentioned the general rule that “the more precarious your cash position, the more detailed your forecasts should be.”

For individual freelancers, exactly the same rule applies. Because your position is inherently more precarious, you’ll probably have to spend more time on budgeting than your office-bound friends do. It’s just part of the trade-off.

How often you need to budget also depends on your individual position, however. If you have a nice juicy emergency fund set aside and are pulling in a regular income that allows you to cover your regular expenses and add to your savings, then you can afford to be more hands-off. But if you’re depending on getting new work each month to cover your rent and pay down debt, you’ll likely find yourself glued to that spreadsheet or app more often than you’d like.

No matter how much time you spend, the key thing is to record every item of income (you’ll need to do that for tax purposes anyway), and have an accurate view of your expected expenses. Then monitor regularly to make sure that you have enough coming in to pay your paycheck, and that the paycheck covers all your expenses.

Next Steps

In this tutorial I’ve shown you how to budget for a fluctuating freelance income. You’ve learned how to pay yourself a regular paycheck, how to put aside money for taxes, savings, emergencies and major expenses, and how to adjust your budget to ensure that you’re meeting all your goals.

As I’ve mentioned, the specific techniques you use can vary. There are plenty of apps and templates and software packages that can help you, far more than I had space to mention here. So feel free to use whichever resources work for you, and adapt my budgeting method to suit your own needs.

Just keep in mind the most important principles:

  • Pay yourself a regular paycheck.
  • Have a realistic grasp of your costs.
  • Make projections, and assume the worst.
  • Don’t forget to plan for taxes, vacations and emergencies.
  • Diversify your income as much as possible.
  • Keep everything updated, so that you know exactly where you stand.

Resources

Graphic Credit: Finance icon designed by Creative Stall from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.