Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Sales
Business

Wie Sie Ihre Angst vor Verkauf und Ablehnung überwinden können

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

Der Erfolg Ihres Unternehmens hängt von Ihren Verkaufskompetenzen ab. Alles von Ihren Profiten bis zur Effektivität Ihres Marketings hängt von Ihrer Verkaufsmöglichkeit ab. Aber nur weil Sie Unternehmer oder Freiberufler sind, heißt das nicht, dass Sie sich auf den Verkauf freuen.

Selbst die meisten professionellen Verkäufer sind nicht zuversichtlich in ihren Verkaufskompetenzen. Eine Studie von Krauthammer, einem Beratungs- und Trainingsunternehmen, bestätigt, dass nur 27 Prozent der Vertriebsmitarbeiter das Gefühl haben, die Grundlagen des Verkaufs zu beherrschen.

Es ist daher nicht verwunderlich, dass Leute, die keine professionellen Verkäufer sind, nervös, ängstlich oder zögerlich sind, etwas zu tun, was für den Verkauf relevant ist - ob es nun von Angesicht zu Angesicht verkauft wird, Anrufe getätigt werden oder Verkaufskopien geschrieben werden.

How to handle fear of rejection in sales
Wie gehen Sie mit der Angst vor Ablehnung im Vertrieb um? (grafische Quelle)

Um gegen diese Art von Verkaufsangst anzukämpfen, sollten Sie genau angeben, wovor Sie Angst haben, und dann Schritte unternehmen, um jedes Problem einzeln zu lösen. Verwenden Sie den folgenden Leitfaden und das kostenlose PDF-Arbeitsblatt, um Ihre Verkaufshürden zu identifizieren und was Sie tun können, um sie aus dem Weg zu räumen. Erfahren Sie, wie Sie die Angst vor Versagen und Ablehnung überwinden und im Verkauf besser werden.

1. Angst vor Ablehnung im Verkauf

Eine der häufigsten Herausforderungen von Menschen, die einen Verkauf tätigen möchten, ist die Angst vor Ablehnung. Hier ist, wenn Sie wissen, dass das Potenzial für die Ablehnung Sie lähmt:

  • Ihr Fokus liegt auf der möglichen Ablehnung - Sie haben eine wichtige Frage im Hinterkopf: "Was ist, wenn sie Nein sagen?" Sie denken nicht über kritischere Bedenken nach, wie zB: Passt der Kunde zu Ihrem Ziel? Markt?  Womit kannst du ihnen helfen? Warum sollten sie sich für andere Unternehmen entscheiden, die billigere Angebote haben? Es sind diese anderen Fragen, die Ihnen helfen können, den Verkauf zu landen oder mit dem Schlag der Ablehnung umzugehen.
  • Jede Ablehnung fühlt sich wie ein Zeichen des Scheiterns an - Sie haben normalerweise das Gefühl, dass Ablehnung ein Zeichen dafür ist, dass Sie in Ihrem Unternehmen nicht gut sind oder dass Ihr Produkt oder Ihre Dienstleistung nicht gut genug ist. Sie fühlen sich auch so, auch wenn Kunden nur nicht mehr reagieren oder auf Kauf verzichten.
  • Sie brauchen Tage, um sich von der Ablehnung zu erholen - Immer wenn eine Führungskraft Ihr Angebot nicht annehmen möchte, liegt es mehr als einen Tag in Ihrem Hinterkopf.  Es ist möglich, dass Sie die Interaktion sogar wiederholen, um zu sehen, was Sie gesagt oder getan haben könnten, um den Verkauf abzuschließen. Sie können sogar eine gewisse Verbitterung gegenüber der Person oder den Verkäufen im Allgemeinen fühlen.

Wie gehen Sie mit Ablehnung im Vertrieb um? Wenn Ihnen eines dieser Zeichen bekannt vorkommt, dann spielt die Angst vor Ablehnung eine große Rolle, um zu verhindern, dass Sie beim Verkauf besser und selbstsicherer werden.Hier ist, was Sie tun können, um diese Angst zu verringern oder zu beseitigen:

Schritt 1. Listen Sie Ihre Verkaufsängste 

Machen Sie sich mit Ihrer Verkaufsangst vertraut. Listen Sie alles auf, was Ihrer Meinung nach bei Ihren Verkaufsversuchen schiefgehen wird - egal wie dumm oder unwahrscheinlich es ist.

Dann fragen Sie sich für jeden Gegenstand: Wie wahrscheinlich ist es? Was sind die tatsächlichen Konsequenzen, wenn das passieren würde? Wenn ich der Typ Mensch wäre, der keine Angst davor hat, wie würde ich handeln?  Achte auf deine Antwort auf die zweite Frage. Dies wird Ihnen Hinweise geben, was Sie tun müssen, um jede Angst zu überwinden.

Sie können besser daran arbeiten, mit Ablehnungen im Verkauf besser umzugehen, wenn Sie eine klare Sicht auf Ihre Angst haben und darauf, was Sie stattdessen anstreben sollten. Zum Beispiel könnten Sie befürchten, dass Sie überhaupt keine Verkäufe tätigen können. Gehen Sie jede der vorgeschlagenen Fragen durch:

  • Wie ist wahrscheinliches geschehen? - Wenn Sie bereits Verkäufe getätigt haben, unabhängig davon, ob es sich um ein Geschäft oder ein vorheriges Unternehmen handelt, ist es unwahrscheinlich, dass Sie nie wieder einen Verkauf tätigen.  Beim Abschlussverkauf geht es nicht nur darum, bezahlt zu werden, sondern auch darum, Menschen zu helfen, eine Entscheidung zu treffen. Hast du jemals jemandes Meinung geändert? Haben Sie jemals andere Leute dazu gebracht, sich um Dinge zu kümmern, die ihnen vorher egal waren?  Wenn Sie in der Lage waren, diese Dinge zu tun, sind Sie in der Lage, mindestens ein paar mehr Umsatz zu machen, unabhängig davon, wie viele Ablehnungen Sie bekommen.
  • Was sind die realen Folgen, wenn das passieren würde? - Überlegen Sie, was es bedeuten würde, wenn Sie nie wieder einen Verkauf tätigen würden. Einige Worst-Case-Szenarios können sein, einen Job zu bekommen, der überhaupt keine Verkäufe beinhaltet, einen Verkäufer für Ihr Unternehmen einzustellen oder externe Hilfe zu holen, um Ihre Verkaufstechnik zu verbessern. Wenn Sie Ihren Ängsten nachgehen und sich die schlimmsten Konsequenzen vorstellen, werden Sie sehen, dass sie nicht annähernd so katastrophal sind wie Sie sich vorstellen.
  • Wenn ich die Art von Person wäre, die sich nicht davor fürchtet, wie würde ich handeln? - Denken Sie über die Art von Person nach, die Sie wären, wenn Sie diese Angst nicht hätten. Enthalten Sie alles, was Sie innerlich fühlen werden, wie Sie sich selbst tragen und was Sie tun werden, um sich auf die Verkaufsaufgabe vorzubereiten. Beachten Sie auch, wie Ihr Körper auf die Verkaufsidee reagiert.  Zum Beispiel, wenn Sie verschwitzt und Schmetterlinge in Ihrem Bauch fühlen, wenn Sie versuchen, einen Verkauf zu machen, denken Sie daran, wie Sie stattdessen reagieren würden, wenn Sie keine Angst hätten. Während dies deine Angstreaktionen nicht beseitigen wird, wirst du zumindest eine Vorstellung davon haben, wie deine nächste Handlung sein sollte und wie du dich trotz deiner Angst tragen solltest.

Fühlen Sie sich frei, diese Übung regelmäßig zu machen oder bevor Sie eine vertriebsbezogene Aufgabe versuchen, sei es ein Anruf, ein persönlicher Termin oder das Schreiben einer Verkaufskopie.

Schritt 2. Akzeptieren Sie, dass "Nein" normal ist

Denken Sie daran, dass nur 25 Prozent der Leads zu Verkäufen werden. In den am stärksten umkämpften Branchen ist der Anteil noch geringer.  Unabhängig davon, welches Geschäft Sie ausführen, werden Sie wahrscheinlich mehr Ablehnungen erhalten als geschlossen. Überlegen Sie, ob Ihre Angst vor Ablehnung stärker ist als Ihr Wunsch, Ihr eigenes Geschäft zu führen.

Schritt 3. Erziele kleine Gewinne

Wenn die Angst zu groß ist und Sie nicht die Kapazität für die oben genannten Übungen haben, listen Sie einige kleine Gewinne auf, die Sie leichter erreichen können.  Diese kleinen Gewinne müssen keine Verkaufsaufgaben sein, aber sie sollten für die Kundenakquisition oder Lead-Förderung relevant sein.Hier sind ein paar Ideen: 

  1. Laden Sie neue Inhalte in die Social Media-Seiten Ihres Unternehmens hoch. Alles, was kurz ist, reicht, solange es der Stimme Ihrer Marke entspricht. Dies können Links zu einem Artikel, ein Link zu einer bestimmten Produktseite auf Ihrer Website, ein inspirierendes Zitat oder ein lustiges GIF sein.
  2. Optimieren Sie Ihre Social-Media-Seiten, wenn Sie es noch nicht getan haben.
  3. Antworten Sie auf Nachrichten von potenziellen Kunden, die nach mehr Informationen zu Ihren Produkten oder Dienstleistungen fragen. Gib ihnen die Informationen, die sie brauchen, keine Notwendigkeit, offen zu verkaufen.
  4. Lesen Sie ein Kapitel in einem Buch über Unternehmertum, Verkauf, Marketing oder Ihre Branche.
  5. Suchen Sie nach Möglichkeiten, die Produktseiten von ein bis zwei Produkten oder Services auf Ihrer Website zu verbessern. Verwenden Sie einen oder mehrere dieser psychologischen Auslöser zur Inspiration.

Wenn Sie mit diesen kleinen Gewinnen fertig sind, können Sie sich selbstsicherer fühlen, besonders wenn sie letztendlich zu Verkäufen führen. Dann wären Sie eher in der Lage, Ihre Angst vor Ablehnung direkter anzugehen.

2. Angst vor "Pushy" im Verkauf

Wenn Sie ein wenig Abscheu fühlen, wenn Sie an Verkäufe denken, sind Sie nicht allein. Die meisten Leute betrachten Verkäufe als aufdringlich oder schmierig. Autor Dan Pink hat eine Umfrage durchgeführt, in der 7.000 Menschen befragt wurden "Wenn Sie an das Konzept von Verkauf oder Verkauf denken, was ist das erste Wort, das einem einfällt?" Unten ist eine Wortwolke der Top 25 Adjektive, die als Ergebnis herausgekommen sind.

Fear of selling relates to worries of being pushy
Bezieht sich Ihre Verkaufsangst auf Sorgen, aufdringlich zu sein?

Deine Angst, dass du aufdringlich, manipulativ und schmierig bist, stört dich, wenn du eines der folgenden Probleme hast:

  • Sie tun alles andere als Fragen Sie nach dem Verkauf - Sie sind kein Cheerleader für Ihr Geschäft, Sie sind ein Erklärer. Sie können Ihr Produkt oder Ihre Dienstleistung ausführlich beschreiben, aber Sie können Kunden nicht direkt Sätze wie "Sind Sie bereit zu kaufen?" Oder "Haben wir einen Deal?" sagen.
  • Sie zögern, wenn die Konversation zu Geld wird - Sie scheuen sich, wenn es an der Zeit ist, Kunden zu belasten, verspätete Zahlungen zu sammeln oder nach mehr Geld zu fragen (über ein Upselling oder eine Gehaltserhöhung) - obwohl diese Aktivitäten normale Geschäftspraktiken sind.
  • Sie fühlen sich angewidert mit der Idee, zu versuchen zu verkaufen - Ekel unterscheidet sich von Angst. Es ist das Gefühl, dass der Verkauf falsch, unethisch oder unter Ihnen ist.

Wenn Sie wissen, dass Ihr Unternehmen einen Mehrwert bietet und Sie Ihre Kunden nicht manipulieren oder in die Irre führen, können Sie hier einige Dinge tun, die Ihnen nicht aufdringlich erscheinen:

Schritt 1. Denken Sie daran, was Sie lieben

Wie man die Angst, aufdringlich zu sein, überwindet, erfordert es, tief zu graben. Wir betrachten den Verkauf als etwas manipulativ oder schmierig, weil wir oft denken, dass es aus einem Ort der Unehrlichkeit kommt. Zwar gibt es sicherlich skrupellose Menschen, die versuchen, schnell Geld zu machen, aber die Tatsache, dass Sie sich schlecht fühlen, bedeutet, dass Sie wahrscheinlich nicht zu diesen Leuten gehören.

Anstatt sich darauf zu konzentrieren, den Verkauf zu machen, sollten Sie noch einmal nachdenken, was Sie für Ihr Geschäft begeistern kann. Was gefällt Ihnen am besten an den von Ihnen angebotenen Produkten oder Dienstleistungen? Je leidenschaftlicher du über diese Dinge bist, desto besser.

Schritt 2. Üben Sie das Erklären an einen Freund

Überprüfen Sie die Liste, die Sie in der obigen Übung erstellt haben. Wie würdest du einem Freund die obige Liste erklären - vor allem, wenn du nur deine Leidenschaft ausdrücken und nicht verkaufen willst? Schreib auf, was du deinem Freund sagen würdest.

Vergleichen Sie dies mit Ihren Erfahrungen mit Kunden. Wie haben Sie potenziellen Kunden Ihre Angebote erläutert? Hätten sie sehen können, was Sie an Ihrem Geschäft liebten? Solange Sie wissen, dass Sie Ihre Kunden mit den richtigen Lösungen verbinden und dass Sie mit ihnen Produkte und Dienstleistungen teilen, die Sie lieben, gibt es nichts Aufdringliches dabei.

3. Umsatz Angst nicht zu wissen, was ich sagen soll

Einige Unternehmer sind bereits bereit, den Verkauf zu machen. Was sie daran hindert, ist, dass sie nicht wissen, wo sie anfangen sollen. Es ist so, als ob sie ein Skript benötigen, um Verkäufe zu schließen, Vorschläge zu verschicken oder Produkte zu platzieren.

Um solche Angst zu überwinden, müssen Sie ein gewisses Risiko eingehen. Die Sache ist, es gibt kein Verkaufsskript, das für alle oder die meisten Situationen gilt. Sie müssen lernen, wie Sie die meiste Zeit "Flügel". Wenn Sie denken, dass Sie die Art von Geschäftsinhaber sind, der bereit ist, Verkäufe zu tätigen, aber nur wenig Technik hat, sind hier die folgenden Symptome zu beachten:

  • Sie fühlen sich begierig anzufangen, haben aber noch nichts unternommen - Sie fühlen sich energetisch, um den Ball ins Rollen zu bringen. Trotz Ihrer Motivation haben Sie nicht wirklich das Telefon abgeholt, eine Verkaufs-E-Mail gesendet oder mit Ihrer Verkaufskopie begonnen.
  • Sie fummeln bei Verkaufsgesprächen - Sie agieren bereits bei Ihren Verkaufsaufgaben, aber selbst mit echter Begeisterung für Ihre Produkte und Dienstleistungen können Sie Ihre Ideen nicht klar ausdrücken. Vielleicht entwickeln Sie plötzlich verbale Tics, wie Stottern oder "uhm" sagen. Oder, wenn es sich um eine schriftliche Verkaufsaufgabe handelt, könnten Sie Tippfehler machen oder Ihre Ideen ungeschickt formulieren.
  • Sie leiden unter negativem Nachhinein - Sie erkennen im Nachhinein, dass viele Dinge, die Sie gesagt oder getan haben könnten, als Sie den Verkauf machten, schwierig sind.  Fast sobald Sie Ihre Verkaufsinteraktionen beendet haben, erkennen Sie alle Ihre Fehler und verpassten Gelegenheiten. Sie können sich nicht an die Verkaufssituation anpassen.

Wenn Sie die richtigen Dinge beim Verkauf besser sagen wollen, probieren Sie die folgenden Korrekturen:

Schritt 1. Wählen Sie eine Ressource aus, um den Umsatz zu verbessern

Es wird überwältigend sein, wenn Sie das Internet nach Kursen, Büchern und Anleitungen durchsuchen, um zu verkaufen.Um zu vermeiden, dass Sie überwältigen, gehen Sie eine Ressource nach der anderen an. Wählen Sie einen Kurs, ein Kapitel oder einen Artikel aus. Wende an, was du lernst. Suchen Sie dann nach einer anderen Ressource, von der Sie lernen können. Experimentieren Sie mit dem Üben einer Verkaufstechnik und verfolgen Sie Ihre Ergebnisse.

Am besten beginnen Sie mit Ressourcen, die eine niedrige Einstiegshürde haben. Wählen Sie etwas kurz, leicht verfügbar und würde nicht zu viel Zeit in Anspruch nehmen. Wenn Sie dies schnell tun möchten, suchen Sie zunächst nach Verkaufsbriefvorlagen oder Verkaufsskripten. Passen Sie sie an Ihr Unternehmen an. Sie werden zwar nicht auf alle Szenarien anwendbar sein, aber Sie müssen zumindest einige Formeln oder Phrasen als Grundlage haben. Die folgenden Tutorials können auch ein guter Anfang sein:

Schritt 2. Ändern Sie jeweils nur eine Sache in Ihren Verkäufen

Schreiben Sie eine Sache auf, die Sie aufgrund Ihres Lernprogramms in Bezug auf Ihren Verkaufsansatz ändern werden.  Geben Sie an, was Sie ändern möchten, geben Sie an, wann die Änderung erwartet wird und was Sie tun werden, um sie zu ändern. Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Änderung, die Sie vornehmen möchten, leicht verifizierbar ist.

Nehmen wir an, Sie möchten während der Verkaufsgespräche sicherer sein. Es ist schwer zu erkennen, was genau "selbstbewusst bedeutet".  Es ist am besten, einzuschränken, wie ein selbstbewusster Verkäufer klingt und was er wahrscheinlich zu sagen hat. Sie können eine Reihe von Änderungen vornehmen:

  1. Merken Sie sich das Alleinstellungsmerkmal jedes von Ihnen angebotenen Produkts oder Dienstes
  2. Listen Sie Fragen auf, die Sie den Kunden stellen müssen, damit Sie eine fundierte Entscheidung darüber treffen können, was und wie
  3. Verlangsamen Sie Ihre Stimme, wenn Sie einen Verkauf tätigen,
  4. Lächle, während du mit Kunden sprichst (sogar am Telefon).

Wählen Sie eine Änderung aus Ihrer Liste. Sobald Sie es im wirklichen Leben angewendet haben, überprüfen Sie Ihre Ergebnisse. Dann wählen Sie einen anderen Bereich der Verbesserung. Dies ist eine schnelle und einfache Möglichkeit, schrittweise Änderungen in Ihrer Verkaufstechnik vorzunehmen.

Schritt 3. Machen Sie einen Übungsverkauf

Zu wissen, was man sagen soll, ist eine Sache, aber man muss sich daran gewöhnen, wie man es sagt. Das Verkaufen wird sich zunächst unnatürlich anfühlen, aber sobald Sie mehr Übung haben, wird es sich wie eine andere Aufgabe für Ihr Geschäft anfühlen.  Führen Sie Ihre Kundenanrufe und E-Mails trocken aus, erfassen oder bewerten Sie Ihre Testläufe und erhalten Sie Feedback dazu, was Sie besser machen können.

Wenn Sie Mitarbeiter haben, können Sie mit ihnen üben. Sie können auch versuchen, mit einem Business-Coach oder einem Freund, der auch ein Unternehmer ist, zu üben.Besser beim Verkaufen

Besser beim Verkaufen

Am Ende des Tages ist der Verkauf eine geübte Fähigkeit und kein angeborenes Talent. Selbst wenn Sie schüchtern oder nervös sind oder nicht wissen, wo Sie anfangen sollen, können Sie üben, besser zu werden. Und jeder kann besser sein. Jeder Unternehmer, Kreative oder Berater kann Wege finden, seine Verkaufskompetenz zu verbessern, auch wenn sein Geschäft bereits profitabel ist. Sie können Ihre Angst vor dem Verkauf überwinden und lernen, beim Verkauf zu glänzen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Sales
Business

How to Overcome Your Fear of Sales and Rejection

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

The success of your business depends on your sales skills. Everything from your profits to the effectiveness of your marketing relies on your ability to sell. But just because you’re an entrepreneur or a freelancer, it doesn’t mean that you look forward to selling.

Even most professional salespeople aren’t confident in their sales skills. Research from Krauthammer, a consulting and training company, confirms that only 27-percent of salespeople feel that they’ve fully mastered the fundamentals of sales

It’s no surprise then that people who aren’t professional salespeople are nervous, afraid, or hesitant to do anything relevant to sales—whether it’s selling face-to-face, making calls, or writing sales copy

How to handle fear of rejection in sales
How do you handle fear of rejection in sales? (graphic source)

To fight this type of fear of selling, be specific about what you’re afraid of, then work on steps to overcome each issue one at a time. Use the following guide and free PDF worksheet to identify your sales obstacles and what you can do to get them out of the way. Learn how to overcome fear of failure and rejection, and become better at sales.

1. Fear of Rejection in Sales

One of the most common challenges of people trying to make a sale is the fear of rejection. Here’s when you know that the potential for rejection is crippling you:

  • Your Focus Is on the Possible Rejection - You have one major question at the back of your mind: “What if they say no?” You’re not thinking about more critical concerns, such as: Is the client a good match for your target market? What can you help them with? Why should they choose your business over other  businesses that might have cheaper offers? It’s these other questions that can help you land the sale or deal with the blow of rejection.
  • Every Rejection Feels Like a Sign of Failure - You usually feel like rejections are a sign that you’re not good at your business or that your product or service isn't good enough. You also feel this way even when customers are merely unresponsive or defer on buying.
  • You Take Days to Recover From Rejection - Whenever a lead doesn’t want to take your offer, it’s at the back of your mind for more than a day. It’s possible you even replay the interaction to see what you could have said or done to close the sale. You might even feel some bitterness towards the person or sales in general.

How do you handle rejection in sales? If any of these signs seem familiar, then fear of rejection plays a major part in preventing you from becoming better and more confident at sales. Here’s what you can do to lessen or eliminate this fear:

Step 1. List Your Fears of Selling

Get familiar with your fear of selling. List everything that you think will go wrong during your sales attempts—no matter how silly or unlikely.

Then, for each item, ask yourself: How likely is it to happen? What are the real-life consequences if this were to happen? If I were the type of person who wasn’t afraid of this, how would I act? Pay attention to your answer to the second question. This will give you clues on what you need to do to get past each fear.

You can work on how to handle rejection in sales better, if you have a clear perspective on your fear and what you should be aiming for instead. For example, you could be afraid that you’ll never be able to make any sales at all. Go through each of the suggested questions:

  • How Likely Is It to Happen? - If you’ve made sales before, regardless of whether it’s in this business or a previous venture, then it’s unlikely that you’ll never make another sale again. Closing sales is also more than just getting paid, it’s also about helping people make a decision. Have you ever changed someone’s mind? Have you ever got other people to care about things they previously didn’t care about? If you’ve been able to do these things, then you are capable of making at least a few more sales, regardless of how many rejections you get.
  • What Are the Real-Life Consequences if This Were to Happen? - Consider what it would mean if you never make a sale again. Some worst-case scenarios might include getting a job that doesn’t involve sales at all, hiring a salesperson for your business, or getting outside help to improve your sales technique. When you follow through on your fears and imagine the worst-case consequences, you’ll see that they’re not nearly as catastrophic as you imagine.
  • If I Were the Type of Person Who Wasn’t Afraid of This, How Would I Act? - Think about the type of person you’d be if you didn’t have this fear. Include everything from what you’ll be feeling internally, how you’ll carry yourself, and what you’ll do to prepare for the sales task. Note also how your body responds to the idea of sales. For example, if you get sweaty and feel butterflies in your stomach when trying to make a sale, think about how you’ll react instead if you weren’t afraid. While this won’t eliminate your fear responses, you’ll at least have an idea about what your next action should be and how you should carry yourself despite your fear.

Feel free to do this exercise regularly, or before you’re about to attempt a sales-related task, whether it’s a call, a face-to-face appointment, or writing sales copy. 

Step 2. Accept That “No” is Normal

Remember that only 25-percent of leads become sales. In the most competitive industries, the percentage is even smaller. Regardless of what business you run, you're likely to get more rejections than closes. Consider if your fear of rejection is stronger than your desire to run your own business.

Step 3. Accomplish Small Wins

When the fear is too much and you don’t have the capacity for the above exercises, list some small wins you can accomplish more easily. These small wins don’t have to be sales tasks, but they should be relevant to customer acquisition or lead nurturing. Here are some ideas:

  1. Upload some new content into your business’ social media pages. Anything short will do, as long as it fits the voice of your brand. This could be links to an article, a link to a specific product page on your site, an inspirational quote, or a fun GIF.
  2. Optimize your social media pages, if you haven't done it yet.
  3. Respond to messages from potential customers who are asking for more information about your products or service. Give them the information they need, no need to overtly sell.
  4. Read a chapter of a book related to entrepreneurship, sales, marketing, or your industry.
  5. Find ways to improve the product pages of one to two products or services on your site. Use one or more of these psychological triggers for inspiration.

Getting done with these small wins can help you feel more confident, especially if they do end up leading to sales. Then, you’d be more capable of tackling your fear of rejection in a more direct way.

2. Fear of Appearing "Pushy" in Sales

If you feel a bit of disgust when you think of sales, you’re not alone. Most people view sales as pushy or sleazy. Author Dan Pink conducted a survey asking 7,000 people “When you think of the concept of sales or selling, what’s the first word that comes to mind?” Below is a wordcloud of the top 25 adjectives that came out as a result.

Fear of selling relates to worries of being pushy
Does your fear of selling relates to worries of being pushy?

Your fear s related to being pushy, manipulative, and sleazy is getting in your way if you experience any of the following:

  • You Do Anything but Ask for the Sale - You’re not a cheerleader for your business, you’re an explainer. You can go at lengths describing your product or service, but you’re unable to directly say to customers phrases like “Are you ready to buy?” or “Do we have a deal?” 
  • You Hesitate When the Conversation Turns to Money - You balk when it's time to charge customers, collect on late payments, or ask for more money (via an upsell or a raise)—even though these activities are normal business practices.
  • You Feel Disgusted With the Idea of Trying to Sell - Disgust is different from fear. It's feeling that sales is wrong, unethical, or beneath you. 

If you know that your business provides value and that you wouldn’t do anything to manipulate or mislead your customers, here are some things you can do so that you won’t feel like your sales attempts are pushy:

Step 1. Remember What You Love

How to overcome fear of being pushy requires you to dig deep. We think of sales as something manipulative or sleazy because we often think it’s coming from a place of dishonesty. While there are certainly unscrupulous people trying to make a quick buck, the fact that this makes you feel bad means that you aren’t likely to be one of those people.

Instead of focusing on making the sale, revisit what makes you passionate about your business. What do you like best about the products or services you offer? The more passionate you are about these things, the better.

Step 2. Practice Explaining to a Friend

Review the list you made in the exercise above. How would you explain the above list to a friend—especially if you only wanted to express your passion rather than make a sale? Write down what you would say to your friend.

Compare this with your experiences with clients. How have you explained your offers to potential customers? Would they have been able to see what you loved about your business? As long as you know that you’re pairing your customers with the right solutions, and that you’re sharing with them products and services you love, there’s nothing pushy about that.

3. Sales Fear of Not Knowing What to Say

Some entrepreneurs are already willing to make the sale. What stops them is that they don’t know where to begin. It’s as if they need a script to start closing sales, sending proposals, or pitching products.

How to overcome fear of this type requires you to take some risk. The thing is, there’s no such thing as a sales script that applies to all or even most situations. You’ll need to learn how to “wing it” most of the time. If you think that you’re the type of business owner who is ready to make sales, but just lacks technique, here are the symptoms to look out for:

  • You Feel Eager to Start but Haven’t Taken Any Action - You feel energetic to get the ball rolling. Despite your motivation, you haven’t really picked up the phone, sent a sales email, or gotten started on your sales copy.
  • You Fumble During Sales Calls - You already act on your sales tasks, but even with genuine enthusiasm for your products and services, you can’t seem to express your ideas clearly. Maybe you suddenly develop verbal tics, such as stutters or saying “uhm” a lot. Or, if it’s a written sales task, you could be making typographical errors or phrasing your ideas awkwardly.
  • You Suffer From Negative Hindsight - Realizing in hindsight that a lot of things you could have said or done when you were making the sale is difficult. Almost as soon as you’ve finished your sales interactions, you realize all your mistakes and missed opportunities. You’re unable to adapt to the sales situation as it happens.

If you want to get better at saying the right things in the right way when you’re making sales, try the following fixes:

Step 1. Pick One Resource to Improve in Sales

It’s going to be overwhelming if you start trawling the web for courses, books, and guides on how to sell. To avoid overwhelm, go at it one resource at a time. Pick one course, chapter, or article. Apply what you learn. Then, look for another resource to learn from. Experiment with practicing one sales technique at a time and keep track of your results.

It’s best to start with resources that have a low barrier to entry. Choose something short, readily available, and wouldn’t take too much of your time to implement. If you want to do this quickly, start by looking for sales letter templates or sales scripts. Customize them according to your business. While they won't be applicable to all scenarios, you'll at least have some formulas or phrases to use as a foundation. The following tutorials can also be a good start:

Step 2. Change Only One Thing at a Time in Your Sales

Write down one thing you’ll change about your sales approach as a result of what you’ve learned from this tutorial. Specify what it is you want to change, a deadline for when you expect the change to happen, and what you’ll do to change it. Make sure that the change you want to make is easily verifiable. 

Let’s say you want to be more confident during sales calls. It's difficult to spot what exactly "confident means". It's best to narrow down what you think a confident salesperson sounds like and what it is they are likely to say. You can make a number of changes:

  1. Memorize the unique selling point of each product or service you offer,
  2. List questions you need to ask clients so that you can make an informed decision on what to pitch and how,
  3. Slow down your voice when making a sale, 
  4. Smile as you’re talking to customers (even on the phone).

Pick one change from your list. Once you’ve applied it in real life, review your results. Then, pick another area of improvement. This is a quick and simple way to make incremental changes in your sales technique.

Step 3. Do a Practice Sales Run

Knowing what to say is one thing, but you need to get comfortable practicing how to say it. Selling will feel unnatural at first, but once you get more practice, it will feel like just another task for your business. Do a dry run of your sales calls and emails, record or evaluate your trials, and get feedback on what you can do better.

If you have employees, you can practice with them. You can also try practicing with a business coach or a friend who is also an entrepreneur. 

Get Better at Selling

At the end of the day, sales is a practiced skill and not an inborn talent. Even if you’re shy, nervous, or don’t know where to start, you can practice to become better. And everyone can be better. Every entrepreneur, creative, or consultant can find ways to improve their sales skills, even if their business is already profitable. You can overcome your fear of selling, and learn to excel at sales.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.