Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Sales
Business

如何克服对销售和拒绝的恐惧

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Laura (you can also view the original English article)

你生意上的成功取决于你的销售技巧。从利润到营销效率的一切都取决于你的销售能力。 但仅仅因为你是一个企业家或自由职业者, 并不意味着你期待去做销售。

即使最专业的销售人员对他们的销售技巧也不自信。咨询培训公司 Krauthammer 研究证实, 只有27%的销售人员认为他们已经完全掌握了销售的基本原理

非专业销售人士紧张、 害怕,、或犹豫做任何与销售相关的事情--无论是面对面销售, 电话销售, 还是写销售文案,这一点也不奇怪。

How to handle fear of rejection in sales
你如何处理在销售中被拒绝的恐惧?(图片来源)

为了对抗这种对销售的恐惧, 就要具体了解你害怕的是什么, 然后努力依次解决每一个问题。 使用如下指南和一份免费 PDF 工作表来识别销售障碍, 以及你能做些什么来摆脱困境。学习如何克服对失败和拒绝的恐惧, 在销售中做得更好。

1. 在销售中被拒绝的恐惧

人们在尝试销售时最常见的挑战之一是害怕被拒绝。如果你发现自己处于如下时刻,被拒绝的可能性正在削弱你:

  • 你重点关注可能的拒绝-一个主要问题占据了你的脑海: "如果他们说不怎么办?”你不是在考虑更重要的问题, 比如: 客户是否很好地符合你的目标市场? 你能帮他们做什么?为什么他们要选择你的业务, 而不是其他可能有更便宜报价的业务 ?这些问题, 可以帮助你获得销售或应付被拒绝的打击。
  • 每次被拒绝都像是失败的征兆--你通常觉得拒绝是你不擅长你的业务, 或者是你的产品或服务不够好的征兆。即使客户只是没有反应或推迟购买, 你也会有这种感觉。
  • 你需要几天的时间才能从拒绝中恢复--每当领导不想接受你的提议, 你会不止一天都在想这件事。 你甚至可能重演情景, 看看你本可以说什么或做什么来让他同意。你甚至可能会对这个人或整个销售感到有些痛苦。

你如何处理销售中的拒绝?如果以上迹象中的任何一个看起来很熟悉, 那么害怕被拒绝正在阻止你在销售方面变得更好、更自信。以下方法可以减轻或消除这种恐惧:

步骤1:列出你对销售的恐惧

要熟悉你对销售的恐惧。列出你认为在你的销售尝试中会出错的所有事情--不管多么愚蠢或不可能。

然后, 对每件事都问自己: 发生的可能性有多大?如果发生这种情况, 现实生活的后果是什么?如果我不害怕, 我该怎么做呢? 注意你对第二个问题的回答。这将给你一些线索,你需要做什么来摆脱这种恐惧。

如果你对自己的恐惧和你的目标有一个清晰的视角, 你就能更好地处理销售中的拒绝。 例如, 你可能会担心你永远无法进行任何销售。请仔细浏览以下问题:

  • 发生的可能性有多大?-如果你以前做过销售, 不管是在这家公司还是以前的合资企业中, 你都不可能不会再次进行销售。 成交也不仅是获得报酬, 还要帮助人们做出决定。你有没有改变过别人的想法?你有没有让其他人关心他们以前不关心的事情? 如果你能够做这些事情, 那么你就有能力或多或少做销售, 不管你被拒绝多少次。
  • 如果发生这种情况, 现实生活的后果是什么?-考虑一下如果你再也不卖东西会意味着什么。一些最坏的情况可能有得到一份根本不涉及销售的工作, 为你的企业招聘销售人员, 或者获得外部帮助来改善你的销售技巧。 当你跟随你的恐惧, 想象最坏的结果时, 你会发现它们并没有你想象的那么灾难性。
  • 如果我不害怕, 我该怎么做呢?-试想一下, 如果你没有这种恐惧, 你会成为什么样的人。 包括从你内心感觉到的一切, 你将如何看待自己, 以及你为你的销售任务将准备些什么。还要注意身体对于销售的反应。 例如, 如果你在尝试销售时紧张出汗, 感到手足无措, 那么想一下如果你不害怕, 你又会如何反应。 虽然这不会消除你的恐惧反应, 你至少知道你的下一个行动应该是什么, 尽管你恐惧, 但你应该如何去做。

请随时定期进行此练习, 或者在您打算尝试与销售相关的任务之前, 无论这个任务是电话销售、面对面销售还是写销售文案。

步骤2: 接受说 "不" 是正常的

请记住, 只有25%的几率达成交易。在竞争最激烈的行业中, 百分比甚至更小。 无论您做的是什么业务, 都可能会得到比成交还多的拒绝。想想您对拒绝的恐惧是否比经营自己事业的愿望更强烈。

步骤3: 实现最小成功

当恐惧太过强烈使你无法做上述练习时, 列出一些更容易完成的小成功。 这些小的成功不一定得是销售任务, 但它们应该与获取客户或培养潜在客户相关。以下是一些建议:

  1. 将一些新内容上载到您业务的社交媒体页面。只要它符合您的品牌的定位, 任何简短的东西都可以。 它可以一个文章的链接、网站上特定产品页面的链接、鼓舞人心的话语或有趣的 GIF 图。
  2. 优化您的社交媒体页面, 如果您还没有做的话。
  3. 对那些要了解您产品或者服务更多信息的潜在客户的邮件进行答复。提供他们所要求了解有的信息, 不需要公开发布。
  4. 阅读与企业家、销售、市场营销或行业相关的一章书。
  5. 在网站上找到改进一到两种产品或服务的产品页面的方法。使用一个或多个这些心理诱因来激发购买欲。

完成这些小的成功可以帮助你感到更自信, 特别是如果他们最终实现了销售。然后, 你更可以以一种更直接的方式解决你对拒绝的恐惧。

2. 害怕在销售中出现 "咄咄逼人"的情况

当你想到销售的时候, 如果你感到有点厌恶, 那你不是一个人。大多数人认为销售是咄咄逼人或低俗的。 Dan Pink 作为发起人进行了一项调查, 询问7000人 "当你想到销售的概念或销售时, 想到的第一个词是什么?" 下面是词云的前25个得到的形容词,。

Fear of selling relates to worries of being pushy
你对销售的恐惧与担心被强迫有关吗?

如果你遇到以下任何情况, 你的恐惧与咄咄逼人、受人摆布和低俗感有关:

  • 除了销售,你做其他任何事-你不是业务里强有力的支撑着, 你只是一个解说员。你可以详尽地描述你的产品或服务, 但你不能直接对客户说, 像 "你准备买?" 还是 "能否成交?" 这样的话。
  • 当谈话转向金钱时, 你会犹豫--当你向顾客收取费用、滞纳金, 或者要更多的钱 (通过追加销售或提高价格) 时, 你会犹豫不决--尽管这些活动是正常的商业惯例。 
  • 你对试图推销的想法感到厌恶--厌恶与恐惧不同,认为销售是错误的, 不道德的, 或有失身份。

如果你知道你的业务提供了价值, 并且你也不会做任何事情来操纵或误导你的客户, 那么有一些事情你可以做, 这样你就不会觉得你的销售尝试是咄咄逼人的:

步骤1。记住你所热爱的

如何克服害怕咄咄逼人, 需要你自己深入挖掘。我们会认为销售是一种受人摆布或低俗的事情, 是因为我们经常认为它不诚实。 虽然确实有不道德的人想要挣快钱, 但事实是, 如果这让你感觉不舒服, 那么意味着你不太可能是那种人。

不要把精力放在销售上, 而是重新审视什么让你对自己的事业充满激情。你最喜欢你提供的产品或服务是什么?你对这些事情越有激情, 越好。

步骤2。练习向朋友解释说明

查看您在上面练习中所列的清单。如果你只想表达你的激情而不是销售, 你会如何向朋友解释说明?然后记下你想对你的朋友说的话。

将这个与您对客户的经验进行比较。您如何向潜在客户解释您的报价?他们能看出你热爱你的事业吗? 只要你知道你在为你的客户提供正确的解决方案, 而你们一同享有你所爱的产品和服务, 那就没有什么好强求的了。

3. 不知道说什么销售恐惧

一些企业家有销售的医院。阻止他们的是他们不知道从哪里开始。这就好像他们需要一个脚本开始实现销售, 发送建议, 或定位产品。

克服这类恐惧需要你承担一些风险。问题是, 没有一个销售脚本可以适用于所有情况,甚至是大多数情况。 大部分时间您需要学习如何 "展翅" 。如果您认为您是那种准备做销售的企业家, 只是缺少方法, 以下是要留意的迹象:

  • 你急于开始, 却没有采取任何行动-你感到精力充沛, 可以开始行动。尽管你有动力, 但你还没有真正拿起电话, 发送销售电子邮件, 或开始你的销售文案。
  • 你在电话销售中笨手笨脚--你已经对销售任务采取行动了, 但即使对产品和服务怀有真正的热情, 你似乎也不能清楚地表达你的想法。 也许你突然产生了语言混乱, 比如结巴或者多次说 "嗯" 。又或者, 如果这是一个书面的销售任务, 你可能会犯排版错误或措辞拙劣。
  • 你因消极的后见之明痛苦-事后才意识到, 当你进行销售感觉困难时, 其实有很多事情你本可以说或做的。 几乎只要你完成了你的销售互动, 你就会意识到你的错误和错失的机会。当这种情况发生时, 你无法去适应当时的销售情况。

如果你想在做销售时更好地用正确的方式说正确的事情, 请尝试以下方式:

步骤1。选择一个资源来提升销售能力

如果你开始在网络上查阅如何销售的课程、书籍和指南, 那将会令你不知所措的。为了避免将你压垮, 一次只选择一个资源。 选择一门课程、一个篇章或一篇文章。应用你所学。然后, 寻找另一个可以学习的资源。尝试一次练习一个销售技巧, 并跟踪结果。

最好先从低门槛的资源开始。选择一些简短的, 现成的, 不会花费太多时间来实现的。 如果要快速执行此项, 请从查找销售信函模板或销售脚本开始。根据您的业务定制它们。 虽然它们不适用于所有方案, 但您至少可以使用一些公式或措辞作为基础。下面的教程也可以是一个好的开始:

步骤2。在销售时一次只改变一件事

写下一件你想改变的关于你的销售方法的事, 运用你从本教程中学到的内容。 详述要改变的内容、预期发生更改的截止日期以及您将如何改变。请确保您要进行的改变易于验证。

比方说, 你想在电话销售中更加自信。但是很难确切定义到底 "自信意味着什么"。 最好是缩小成你认为一个自信的推销员听起来像什么, 他们可能会说什么。您可以进行许多改变:

  1. 记住提供的每种产品或服务的独特卖点,
  2. 列出需要问客户的问题, 这样您就可以做出明智的决定,
  3. 销售时放慢语速,
  4. 和顾客交谈时, 请微笑 (即使是在打电话)。

从清单中选择一个进行改变。一旦你在现实生活中应用了它, 检查你的结果。然后, 选择另一个改进领域。这是在销售技巧上进行增量改变的快速而简单的方法。

步骤3。做销售管理实践

知道说什么是一回事, 但你需要学会如何说才好。刚开始销售时会感觉不自然, 但是一旦你更多地去练习, 就像你业务的另一项任务。 做电话销售和电子邮件排演练习,记录或者评估你的试验,然后去反馈自己哪里可以做的更好。

如果你有员工, 你可以和他们一起练习。你也可以尝试与商务教练或一个企业家的朋友练习。

更好地销售

最后, 销售是一种实践技能, 而不是与生俱来的天赋。即使你害羞, 紧张, 或者不知道从哪里开始, 你也可以练习变得更好。每个人都可以变得更好。 每一位企业家、创意人士或顾问都可以找到提高销售技能的方法, 即使他们的业务已经有大量利润。你可以克服你对销售的恐惧, 并且学会在销售中出类拔萃。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Sales
Business

How to Overcome Your Fear of Sales and Rejection

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

The success of your business depends on your sales skills. Everything from your profits to the effectiveness of your marketing relies on your ability to sell. But just because you’re an entrepreneur or a freelancer, it doesn’t mean that you look forward to selling.

Even most professional salespeople aren’t confident in their sales skills. Research from Krauthammer, a consulting and training company, confirms that only 27-percent of salespeople feel that they’ve fully mastered the fundamentals of sales

It’s no surprise then that people who aren’t professional salespeople are nervous, afraid, or hesitant to do anything relevant to sales—whether it’s selling face-to-face, making calls, or writing sales copy

How to handle fear of rejection in sales
How do you handle fear of rejection in sales? (graphic source)

To fight this type of fear of selling, be specific about what you’re afraid of, then work on steps to overcome each issue one at a time. Use the following guide and free PDF worksheet to identify your sales obstacles and what you can do to get them out of the way. Learn how to overcome fear of failure and rejection, and become better at sales.

1. Fear of Rejection in Sales

One of the most common challenges of people trying to make a sale is the fear of rejection. Here’s when you know that the potential for rejection is crippling you:

  • Your Focus Is on the Possible Rejection - You have one major question at the back of your mind: “What if they say no?” You’re not thinking about more critical concerns, such as: Is the client a good match for your target market? What can you help them with? Why should they choose your business over other  businesses that might have cheaper offers? It’s these other questions that can help you land the sale or deal with the blow of rejection.
  • Every Rejection Feels Like a Sign of Failure - You usually feel like rejections are a sign that you’re not good at your business or that your product or service isn't good enough. You also feel this way even when customers are merely unresponsive or defer on buying.
  • You Take Days to Recover From Rejection - Whenever a lead doesn’t want to take your offer, it’s at the back of your mind for more than a day. It’s possible you even replay the interaction to see what you could have said or done to close the sale. You might even feel some bitterness towards the person or sales in general.

How do you handle rejection in sales? If any of these signs seem familiar, then fear of rejection plays a major part in preventing you from becoming better and more confident at sales. Here’s what you can do to lessen or eliminate this fear:

Step 1. List Your Fears of Selling

Get familiar with your fear of selling. List everything that you think will go wrong during your sales attempts—no matter how silly or unlikely.

Then, for each item, ask yourself: How likely is it to happen? What are the real-life consequences if this were to happen? If I were the type of person who wasn’t afraid of this, how would I act? Pay attention to your answer to the second question. This will give you clues on what you need to do to get past each fear.

You can work on how to handle rejection in sales better, if you have a clear perspective on your fear and what you should be aiming for instead. For example, you could be afraid that you’ll never be able to make any sales at all. Go through each of the suggested questions:

  • How Likely Is It to Happen? - If you’ve made sales before, regardless of whether it’s in this business or a previous venture, then it’s unlikely that you’ll never make another sale again. Closing sales is also more than just getting paid, it’s also about helping people make a decision. Have you ever changed someone’s mind? Have you ever got other people to care about things they previously didn’t care about? If you’ve been able to do these things, then you are capable of making at least a few more sales, regardless of how many rejections you get.
  • What Are the Real-Life Consequences if This Were to Happen? - Consider what it would mean if you never make a sale again. Some worst-case scenarios might include getting a job that doesn’t involve sales at all, hiring a salesperson for your business, or getting outside help to improve your sales technique. When you follow through on your fears and imagine the worst-case consequences, you’ll see that they’re not nearly as catastrophic as you imagine.
  • If I Were the Type of Person Who Wasn’t Afraid of This, How Would I Act? - Think about the type of person you’d be if you didn’t have this fear. Include everything from what you’ll be feeling internally, how you’ll carry yourself, and what you’ll do to prepare for the sales task. Note also how your body responds to the idea of sales. For example, if you get sweaty and feel butterflies in your stomach when trying to make a sale, think about how you’ll react instead if you weren’t afraid. While this won’t eliminate your fear responses, you’ll at least have an idea about what your next action should be and how you should carry yourself despite your fear.

Feel free to do this exercise regularly, or before you’re about to attempt a sales-related task, whether it’s a call, a face-to-face appointment, or writing sales copy. 

Step 2. Accept That “No” is Normal

Remember that only 25-percent of leads become sales. In the most competitive industries, the percentage is even smaller. Regardless of what business you run, you're likely to get more rejections than closes. Consider if your fear of rejection is stronger than your desire to run your own business.

Step 3. Accomplish Small Wins

When the fear is too much and you don’t have the capacity for the above exercises, list some small wins you can accomplish more easily. These small wins don’t have to be sales tasks, but they should be relevant to customer acquisition or lead nurturing. Here are some ideas:

  1. Upload some new content into your business’ social media pages. Anything short will do, as long as it fits the voice of your brand. This could be links to an article, a link to a specific product page on your site, an inspirational quote, or a fun GIF.
  2. Optimize your social media pages, if you haven't done it yet.
  3. Respond to messages from potential customers who are asking for more information about your products or service. Give them the information they need, no need to overtly sell.
  4. Read a chapter of a book related to entrepreneurship, sales, marketing, or your industry.
  5. Find ways to improve the product pages of one to two products or services on your site. Use one or more of these psychological triggers for inspiration.

Getting done with these small wins can help you feel more confident, especially if they do end up leading to sales. Then, you’d be more capable of tackling your fear of rejection in a more direct way.

2. Fear of Appearing "Pushy" in Sales

If you feel a bit of disgust when you think of sales, you’re not alone. Most people view sales as pushy or sleazy. Author Dan Pink conducted a survey asking 7,000 people “When you think of the concept of sales or selling, what’s the first word that comes to mind?” Below is a wordcloud of the top 25 adjectives that came out as a result.

Fear of selling relates to worries of being pushy
Does your fear of selling relates to worries of being pushy?

Your fear s related to being pushy, manipulative, and sleazy is getting in your way if you experience any of the following:

  • You Do Anything but Ask for the Sale - You’re not a cheerleader for your business, you’re an explainer. You can go at lengths describing your product or service, but you’re unable to directly say to customers phrases like “Are you ready to buy?” or “Do we have a deal?” 
  • You Hesitate When the Conversation Turns to Money - You balk when it's time to charge customers, collect on late payments, or ask for more money (via an upsell or a raise)—even though these activities are normal business practices.
  • You Feel Disgusted With the Idea of Trying to Sell - Disgust is different from fear. It's feeling that sales is wrong, unethical, or beneath you. 

If you know that your business provides value and that you wouldn’t do anything to manipulate or mislead your customers, here are some things you can do so that you won’t feel like your sales attempts are pushy:

Step 1. Remember What You Love

How to overcome fear of being pushy requires you to dig deep. We think of sales as something manipulative or sleazy because we often think it’s coming from a place of dishonesty. While there are certainly unscrupulous people trying to make a quick buck, the fact that this makes you feel bad means that you aren’t likely to be one of those people.

Instead of focusing on making the sale, revisit what makes you passionate about your business. What do you like best about the products or services you offer? The more passionate you are about these things, the better.

Step 2. Practice Explaining to a Friend

Review the list you made in the exercise above. How would you explain the above list to a friend—especially if you only wanted to express your passion rather than make a sale? Write down what you would say to your friend.

Compare this with your experiences with clients. How have you explained your offers to potential customers? Would they have been able to see what you loved about your business? As long as you know that you’re pairing your customers with the right solutions, and that you’re sharing with them products and services you love, there’s nothing pushy about that.

3. Sales Fear of Not Knowing What to Say

Some entrepreneurs are already willing to make the sale. What stops them is that they don’t know where to begin. It’s as if they need a script to start closing sales, sending proposals, or pitching products.

How to overcome fear of this type requires you to take some risk. The thing is, there’s no such thing as a sales script that applies to all or even most situations. You’ll need to learn how to “wing it” most of the time. If you think that you’re the type of business owner who is ready to make sales, but just lacks technique, here are the symptoms to look out for:

  • You Feel Eager to Start but Haven’t Taken Any Action - You feel energetic to get the ball rolling. Despite your motivation, you haven’t really picked up the phone, sent a sales email, or gotten started on your sales copy.
  • You Fumble During Sales Calls - You already act on your sales tasks, but even with genuine enthusiasm for your products and services, you can’t seem to express your ideas clearly. Maybe you suddenly develop verbal tics, such as stutters or saying “uhm” a lot. Or, if it’s a written sales task, you could be making typographical errors or phrasing your ideas awkwardly.
  • You Suffer From Negative Hindsight - Realizing in hindsight that a lot of things you could have said or done when you were making the sale is difficult. Almost as soon as you’ve finished your sales interactions, you realize all your mistakes and missed opportunities. You’re unable to adapt to the sales situation as it happens.

If you want to get better at saying the right things in the right way when you’re making sales, try the following fixes:

Step 1. Pick One Resource to Improve in Sales

It’s going to be overwhelming if you start trawling the web for courses, books, and guides on how to sell. To avoid overwhelm, go at it one resource at a time. Pick one course, chapter, or article. Apply what you learn. Then, look for another resource to learn from. Experiment with practicing one sales technique at a time and keep track of your results.

It’s best to start with resources that have a low barrier to entry. Choose something short, readily available, and wouldn’t take too much of your time to implement. If you want to do this quickly, start by looking for sales letter templates or sales scripts. Customize them according to your business. While they won't be applicable to all scenarios, you'll at least have some formulas or phrases to use as a foundation. The following tutorials can also be a good start:

Step 2. Change Only One Thing at a Time in Your Sales

Write down one thing you’ll change about your sales approach as a result of what you’ve learned from this tutorial. Specify what it is you want to change, a deadline for when you expect the change to happen, and what you’ll do to change it. Make sure that the change you want to make is easily verifiable. 

Let’s say you want to be more confident during sales calls. It's difficult to spot what exactly "confident means". It's best to narrow down what you think a confident salesperson sounds like and what it is they are likely to say. You can make a number of changes:

  1. Memorize the unique selling point of each product or service you offer,
  2. List questions you need to ask clients so that you can make an informed decision on what to pitch and how,
  3. Slow down your voice when making a sale, 
  4. Smile as you’re talking to customers (even on the phone).

Pick one change from your list. Once you’ve applied it in real life, review your results. Then, pick another area of improvement. This is a quick and simple way to make incremental changes in your sales technique.

Step 3. Do a Practice Sales Run

Knowing what to say is one thing, but you need to get comfortable practicing how to say it. Selling will feel unnatural at first, but once you get more practice, it will feel like just another task for your business. Do a dry run of your sales calls and emails, record or evaluate your trials, and get feedback on what you can do better.

If you have employees, you can practice with them. You can also try practicing with a business coach or a friend who is also an entrepreneur. 

Get Better at Selling

At the end of the day, sales is a practiced skill and not an inborn talent. Even if you’re shy, nervous, or don’t know where to start, you can practice to become better. And everyone can be better. Every entrepreneur, creative, or consultant can find ways to improve their sales skills, even if their business is already profitable. You can overcome your fear of selling, and learn to excel at sales.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.