Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Goal Setting
Business

كيفية التمسك بقراراتك للعام الجديد : 6 استراتيجيات لعام 2019

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Hussein Alasawedah (you can also view the original English article)

نحن الآن في بضعة أيام فقط من شهر يناير ، عندما أكتب هذا. كيف تسير القرارات؟ هل تلتصق بهم أم أن نواياك الحسنة تخسر بالفعل الحرب مع طقس يناير البائس؟

how to stick to new year resolutions
فشل العديد من الناس في الحفاظ على قراراتهم في العام الجديد. (مصدر الصورة: Envato Elements)

سواء كنت تبحر على طول الطريق أو كنت بالفعل على وشك الاستسلام ، دعنا نلقي نظرة على سبب فشل قراراتك للعام الجديد في بعض الأحيان. ثم سنستكشف بعض الاستراتيجيات الرئيسية التي ستعلمك كيفية الالتزام بقرارات العام الجديد.

لماذا تفشل قرارات العام الجديد؟

إذا كنت تتساءل "إلى متى تستمر قرارات العام الجديد؟" الجواب بالنسبة لمعظمنا هو "ليس طويلا."

الغالبية العظمى من الناس تفشل في التمسك بقراراتهم. يختلف عدد الأشخاص الذين يفشلون في الاحتفاظ بقراراتهم بالاعتماد على الإحصاءات التي تبحث عنها. في مكان ما بين (وفقًا لـ Forbes) و 20٪ (وفقًا لتقرير US News & World Report) ، نحققها بالفعل: وهذا يعني أن ما بين 80٪ إلى 92٪ من الأشخاص يرغبون في الاعتراف بنهاية العام أنهم لم ينجزوا ما قرروا القيام به. سأقول أن الرقم أعلى من ذلك عندما تضع في الاعتبار الأشخاص الذين لا يعترفون أنهم فشلوا أو نجحوا في تحقيق هدف أقل بكثير. 

هذا الفشل ليس مجرد مشكلة في قرارات العام الجديد. إنها مشكلة عامة مع الأهداف. الناس حقا سيئة في الالتصاق بها مرة واحدة  خاصة عندما تزول الإثارة الأولية.  جزء كبير من المشكلة هو أن الناس هم حقا  سيئون في صنع قرارات جيدة للسنة الجديدة. يقرروا القيام بأشياء مثل:

  • خسران الوزن
  • يأكلون أكل صحي
  • يذهبون الى النادي الرياضي 5 مرات اسبوعيا
  • يقضون وقت أقل على الفيسبوك
  • يشارك في سباق ماراثون
  • وأشياء أخرى لا حصر لها من تحسين الذات

على الرغم من أن كل هذه الأمور قد تبدو قرارات معقولة ، إلا أن كل واحد منها محكوم عليه بالفشل لسبب واحد بسيط: فهي ليست أهدافًا ذكية.

نظرًا لدراستنا التعليمية حول تحديد الأهداف وكذلك دليلنا لقرارات العام الجديد الجيدة ، فإن الهدف الجيد هو ذكي : محدد وقابل للقياس وقابل للتحقيق وذو صلة بالموضوع ومقيّد بالوقت. لذا يجب أن يكون هدفك:

  • محدد. هدفك محدد و واضح. فقدان الوزن ليس محددًا جدًا. كم الوزن؟ و متى؟
  • قابلة للقياس. يمكنك تتبع كيف تفعل؟ ماذا يعني "تناول الطعام الصحي" حتى يعني؟ هل يعني سعرات حرارية أقل ، سكر أقل ، أو المزيد من البروتين؟ أم أنها تقطع الأغذية والألبان المصنعة؟ أنت في حاجة إلى أرقام.
  • قابل للتحقيق. يجب أن تكون الأهداف قابلة للتحقيق بالنسبة لك الآن. إذا لم تكن في العادة ممارسة الرياضة بانتظام ، فلا تقرر الذهاب إلى صالة الألعاب الرياضية خمس مرات في الأسبوع. يوف تمل قبل انتهاء الأسبوع الأول. بدلا من ذلك ، الذهاب مع هدف قابل للتحقيق لمدة يومين في الأسبوع في صالة الألعاب الرياضية بالإضافة إلى نزهة طويلة واحدة في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. كلما أصبحت أكثر رشاقه يمكنك الذهاب إلى صالة الألعاب الرياضية أكثر.
  • ذو صلة. يجب أن تكون الأهداف ذات صلة بأهدافك الأوسع. "لا تقضي وقتًا أقل في فيسبوك" ليس جيدًا كثيرًا إذا انتقلت إلى Instagram أو YouTube بدلاً من ذلك. ما هو هدفك الحقيقي هنا؟ لاستخدام وقتك بشكل أفضل؟ اذا حاول قراءة 20 صفحة في اليوم بدلاً من ذلك: فسوف يقل وقتك على الشبكات الاجتماعية تلقائيًا.
  • وقت مقيد. ركض سباق الماراثون هو قرار قيم. سوف أجري نصف ماراثون بنفسي هذا العام (أنا أكره الركض على الإطلاق ، لذا فهو اختبار حقيقي لإرادتي). والشيء هو ، متى ستفعل ذلك؟ من الجيد أن تتعهد بالقيام بماراثون في وقت ما من هذا العام ، ولكن بحلول منتصف فصل الصيف ، ستدرك أنه ليس لديك وقت كافٍ للتدريب ، وحتى لو فعلت ذلك ، لا أريد أن أدير سباقات الماراثون في شهر أكتوبر الرطب البارد ، لذلك ربما كان من الأفضل تركها لعام 2020 ، ثم المفاجأة ، قرار آخر في السنة ذهب هبائا منثورا. الحل هو اختيار ماراثون الآن ، في وقت ما في بداية الصيف ، والاشتراك ، ودفع رسوم التسجيل ، ووضع علامة عليه في التقويم الخاص بك.

إذا فجأة كنت تعيد تقييم قراراتك بعد قراءة هذا ، حسنًا! نحن هنا للمساعدة. دعنا نرى بعض الأساليب لمساعدتك على الالتزام بقرارات العام الجديد:

1. إعادة تقييم قرارات السنة الجديدة

الخطوة الأولى هي إعادة تقييم جميع قرارات السنة الجديدة. من السهل أن تتورط في "السنة الجديدة ، أنا جديد" سرعه وتعهّد بملايين الأشياء الغامضة المختلفة. انتقل إلى ما قررت القيام به وقارنه بمعايير الذكاء أعلاه. هل هي محددة؟ إذا لم يكن كذلك ، فقم بتحديدها. إذا لم تكن قابلة للقياس ، فاختر طريقة لتتبعها. هل أنت متأكد من أنك تستطيع فعلها؟ إذا لم يكن كذلك ، فاستقر على قرارات أصغر في الوقت الحالي. هل القرار ذو صلة؟ هل هو حقا ما تريد تركيز طاقتك عليه؟ إذا لم يكن كذلك ، اعتمدها. وأخيرًا ، ضع بعض القيود الزمنية. نهاية السنة بعيدة جدًا عن أن تكون حدًا زمنيًا واقعيًا. إذا كنت ترغب في إنقاص وزنك ، ضع لنفسك هدفًا مقداره 3 أرطال في يناير وانتقل من هناك.

2. بناء ببطء

على الرغم من عدم وجود بيانات تدعم هذا ، إلا أن شكوكي الشخصية تكمن في أن عددًا كبيرًا من الأشخاص يفشلون في قراراتهم لأنهم يلتزمون بشيء مثير للسخرية ، ويحبطون تمامًا عندما يفشلون في غضون الأسبوع الأول أو الأسبوعين ، ثم يتوقفون عن المحاولة . أعرف هذا وقد حدث لي من قبل.

هنا مثال على قرار سنة جديدة فشل. حاولت لسنوات لإنشاء مجلة. في كل مرة أعيد المحاولة، أضع لنفسي هدفاً لكتابة 500 كلمة قبل الإفطار أو القيام بعمل صحفي لمدة ثلاثين دقيقة أو هدف آخر صعب للغاية. ما كان يعمل بالنسبة لي هو الرجوع إلى الوراء وتحديد أسهل هدف ممكن: كتابة شيء - أي شيء - في مجلتي كل يوم. يمكن أن تكون كلمة أو جملة أو نص من ألفي كلمة حول السبب في أن توم كروز هو الممثل الأكثر استخفافا بقدره من الجيل. لل يهم كم هو طويل ، في وقت ما من اليوم ، فتحت جريدتي ، التقطت قلمًا ، وكتبت.

الآن ، أنا أكتب كل يوم. إنني أتطلع إلى ذلك. عادة ، أكتب لمدة 20 دقيقة. معظم مدخلاتي يصل طولها على الأقل بضع مئات من الكلمات. إذا فاتني يومًا من وقت لآخر ما لأنني أسافر ، فلا بأس: أنا متحمس لأكتب في اليوم التالي.

عليك أن تفعل الشيء نفسه مع قراراتك. ابدأ بطيئًا واعمل من هناك. البداية هي في كثير من الأحيان الجزء الأصعب. بمجرد ان العجلة بدأت بالدوران ، ستجد صعوبة في التوقف. اعتاد على الذهاب إلى الجيم لمدة يومين في الأسبوع ، وبعد بضعة أسابيع ، ستشعر بالقلق في الأيام التي لا تذهب إليها. عندها نضيف ذلك اليوم الثالث ، ثم اليوم الرابع ، ثم في النهاية ، اليوم الخامس.

3. لا تحاول أن تفعلهم كلهم مرة واحدة

لا يوجد الكثير يمكنك القيام به في وقت واحد. إذا كانت قائمة قرارات العام الجديد أطول من قائمة تسوق البقالة ، فهذا يعني أنك تواجه مشكلة. انه من غير الممكن ان تنقص الوزن ، أو اكتساب العضلات ، أو التدريب على الماراثون ، أو التوقف عن التدخين ، أو تصبح نباتي ، أو قراءة كتاب أسبوعي ، أو كتابة روايتك مرة واحدة. تحتاج إلى تحديد الأولويات.

بدلاً من استخدام قرارات العام الجديد كقائمة صارمة من الأنشطة التي يجب أن تبدأ في 1 يناير ، أفضل استخدامها كطريقة لوضع إرشادات للسنة المقبلة. إذا كنت ترغب في إنقاص الوزن ، واكتساب العضلات ، وتدريب الماراثون ، فإن أفضل طريقة للقيام بذلك هي التدريب على الماراثون في أوائل الصيف (والذي سيساعدك على إنقاص الوزن) ، ثم قضاء النصف الثاني من السنة في العمل على تدريب القوة. لن تكون قادرًا على رفع مستوى التمرين بشكل كبير في نفس الوقت الذي يتم فيه تغيير نظامك الغذائي بشكل جذري ، لذلك ربما بدلاً من الذهاب لتصبح نباتي بشكل كلي مرة واحده ، فإنك تعمل على تقليل كمية اللحم الخاصة بك مع مرور الوقت.

انظر إلى قائمة قرارات العام الجديد وقرر ما تريد إنجازه الآن وما هو الأفضل للتعامل معه في وقت لاحق من السنة. الآن ، هذا ليس إذنًا لإبعاد الأشياء بعيدا عن المسار: لا تزال بحاجة إلى تحديد الأهداف ولديك خطة قوية لتحقيق ذلك القرار لاحقًا ، ويفضل أن يتم الاحتفاظ به من خلال تذكيرات التقويم.

4. جد رفيقا بالمسؤولية و راجع شهريا

وهناك سبب آخر أظن أن الكثير من الناس يفشلون في قراراتهم في العام الجديد هو أنهم ببساطة ينسون أنهم حددوا اهدافا. أعرف ذلك فعندما جلست هذا العام للنظر إلى الكيفية التي انتهيت بها العام الماضي ، فوجئت برؤية ذلك ، نعم ، لقد قررت تسلق أعلى جبل في أيرلندا. كان هذا بالطبع أمرًا صيفيًا ، ولكن في الوقت الذي كان فيه الصيف فعلًا ، كنت قد نسيت تمامًا ذلك. كان بإمكاني بسهولة حجز القطار وذهبت إليه خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع - إنه نزهة على التلال وليس تسلقًا - ولكنه لم يتبادر إلى ذهني للقيام بذلك.

هذا هو السبب أن هذين العنصريين المرتبطين مهمين:

  • رفيق المسؤولية
  • المراجعه الشهرية

 Accountabilibuddy هو ببساطة ما يبدو: صديق يبقيك مسؤولاً. عادة ، تجد صديقا مقربا ، كل منهما يخبر كل منهما الآخر بقراراتك ويتعهد بالاحتفاظ ببعضه البعض في الاتجاه المستقيم والضيق. من اصعب جدا ان تضيع اهدافك وتتركها  عندما تعترف بها لشخص آخر. يمكنك حتى استخدام خدمات مثل Stickk للمساعدة.

المراجعات الشهرية متشابهة. في نهاية كل شهر ، يجب أن تتراجع ، وأنظر إلى قرارات السنة الجديدة الخاصة بك ، وانظر إلى مدى نجاحك في تحقيقها.  هل فقدت وزن هذا الشهر؟ هل ذهبت إلى الصالة الرياضية قدر ما تريد؟ إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، فأنت بحاجة إلى تقييم الخطأ الذي حدث والنظر في كيفية إصلاحه للشهر التالي.

5. فشل ، والمضي قدما

معظم الأشخاص الذين لا يلتزمون بقراراتهم يخفقون بحلول شهر فبراير. ضربوا بضع الانتكاسات وأستسلموا. من الصعب الوصول إلى صالة الألعاب الرياضية عندما تكون متعبًا ، ولديك عمل يجب أن تفعله ، ومظلم. ستكون هناك دائمًا أيام عندما يحدث شيء غير متوقع - ربما أنت مريض أو ابنتك - وعلى الرغم من كل نواياك الحسنة ، لا تأتي الأمور بشكل صحيح. وتعلم ماذا؟ الأمور على ما يرام.

من المهم جدًا إدراك ذلك. لا بأس بالفشل. المهم هو ما تفعله بعد ذلك. إذا وقعت في دوامة هبوطية لأنك فاتتك صالة الألعاب الرياضية عدة مرات هذا الأسبوع ، فإنك لن تعود أبداً. بدلا من ذلك ، تحتاج إلى التفكير في سبب فشلك ، وسامح نفسك ، واستمر في التقدم. إذا كانت قراراتك صعبة للغاية ، فعليك إعادة تقييمها وجعلها أكثر قابلية للتحقيق.

6. لم يفت الوقت لتبدأ

حسنًا ، إنه يونيو الآن ، لم تفكر في قرارات العام الجديد خلال أشهر ؛ وماذا في ذلك؟ تعتبر السنة الجديدة وقتًا مناسبًا إلى حد ما لتقييم الأشياء ، ولكنها بعيدة كل البعد عن الوقت الوحيد من العام الذي يمكنك فيه البدء في بناء عادات جيدة. لمجرد أنه شهر يونيو ، وكنت قد تجاهلت قراراتك لبضعة أشهر ، فهذا لا يعني أنك بحاجة إلى الانتظار حتى السنة الجديدة القادمة قبل أن تقرر تحسين نفسك.

بدلا من ذلك ، قم بأخذ المبادرة ، ضع لنفسك بعض أهداف الذكية ، وابدأ اليوم. ليس غدًا ، ليس الاثنين القادم ، وليس الشهر المقبل: اليوم.

تعلم المزيد حول الإنتاجية

تعلم كيف الحفاظ على قرارات السنة الجديدة  يمكن ان يساعدك في أن تكون أكثر إنتاجية. إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد عن كيفية تحسين إنتاجيتك ، لدينا المزيد من المقالات على  +Envato Tuts لمساعدتك. هنا فقط بعض منهم:

اختر قرارات سنة جديدة جيدة هذه السنة

أحب استخدام السنة الجديدة كوقت للنظر إلى الوراء ، والتأمل ، وتحديد الأهداف والكثير من الأشخاص الآخرين يفعلوها أيضًا. الأمر هو ، من المهم الحفاظ على هذا السلوك الإيجابي ، وتحسين الذات طوال العام كله. قرارات السنة الجديدة هي للحياة ، وليس فقط للعطلات.

لقد تعلمت للتو كيفية الالتزام بقرارات العام الجديد. أكبر نصيحة هي أن القرارات هي مجرد أهداف. يمكنك تديدها في أي وقت. تأكد فقط من أنها ذكية : محددة وقابلة للقياس ويمكن تحقيقها وواقعية ومقيدة بالوقت. راجعها شهريًا وستفاجأ بمدى التقدم الذي بدأت تحقيقه.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Goal Setting
Business

How to Stick to Your New Year’s Resolutions: 6 Key Strategies for 2019

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

We’re now just a few days into January as I write this. How are the resolutions going? Are you sticking to them or are your good intentions already losing the war with the miserable January weather? 

how to stick to new year resolutions
Many people fail to keep their New Year's resolutions. (Image source: Envato Elements)

Whether you’re cruising along or are already on the point of giving up, let’s look at why your New Year's resolutions sometimes fail. Then we'll explore some key strategies that'll teach you how to stick to your New Year resolutions.

Why Do New Year's Resolutions Fail?

If you're wondering "how long do New Year's resolutions last?" the answer for most of us is "not long."

The vast majority of people fail to stick to their resolutions. The number of people who fail to keep their resolutions varies depending on which statistics you're looking at. Somewhere between 8% (according to Forbes)  and 20% (according to U.S. News & World Report) of us actually achieve them: that means that between 80% to 92% of people are willing to admit at year’s end that they didn’t achieve what they set out to do. I’d say the number is even higher when you factor in the people who won’t admit they failed or succeeded at a much lower goal.

This failure isn’t just an issue with New Year’s resolutions. It’s a general problem with goals. People are really bad at sticking to them once the initial flush of excitement wears off. A big part of the problem is that people are really really bad at making good New Year's resolutions. They decide to do things like:

  • lose weight
  • eat healthy
  • go to the gym five days a week
  • spend less time on Facebook
  • run a marathon
  • and countless other vague self-improvement ideas

While these all might sound like reasonable resolutions, each of them is actually pretty much doomed to failure for one simple reason: they’re not SMART goals. 

As we looked at in our tutorial on setting goals and also our guide to good New Year’s resolutions, a good goal is SMART: specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-constrained. So your goal should be:

  • Specific. Your goal is well defined and clear. Lose weight isn’t very specific. How much weight? By when? 
  • Measurable. Can you keep track of how you’re doing? What does “eat healthily” even mean? Does it mean less calories, less sugar, or more protein? Or is it cutting out processed food and dairy? You need numbers.
  • Achievable. Goals should be achievable for you now. If you aren’t in the habit of regularly exercising, don’t decide to go to the gym five times a week. You’ll burn yourself out before the first week is done. Instead, go with an achievable goal of two days a week in the gym plus one long walk at the weekends. As you get fitter you can go to the gym more.
  • Relevant. Goals have to be relevant to your broader aims. “Spend less time on Facebook” isn’t much good if you just go to Instagram or YouTube instead. What’s your real goal here? To use your time better? Then try and read 20 pages a day instead: your social media time will fall automatically.
  • Time-Constrained. Running a marathon is a worthy resolution. I’m going to run a half-marathon myself this year (I absolutely loath running so it’s a real test of my willpower). The thing is though, when are you going to do it? It’s all well and good to pledge to do a marathon at some point this year but, by the time it’s mid-summer, you’ll have realised that you don’t have enough time to train, and even if you did, you don’t want to run a marathon in cold, wet October, so maybe it’s better left for 2020, and then bam, another New Year's resolution bites the dust. The key is to pick a marathon now, at some point in the early summer, and sign up, pay the registration fee, and mark it in your calendar. 

If you’re suddenly reevaluating your resolutions after reading this, good! We’re here to help. Let’s at some techniques to help you stick to your New Year's resolutions:

1. Reassess Your New Year’s Resolutions

The first step is to reassess all your New Year’s resolutions. It’s easy to get caught up in the “New Year, New Me” rush and pledge to do a million different vague things. Go through what you’ve resolved to do and compare them to the SMART criteria above. Are they specific? If not, make them specific. If they’re not measurable, come up with a way to track them. Are you sure you can do them? If not, settle for a smaller resolution for now. Is the resolution relevant? Is it really what you want to focus your energy on? If not, cut it. And finally, put some time-constraints in. The end of the year is way too far away to be a realistic time limit. If you want to lose weight, set yourself a target of 3lbs in January and go from there.

2. Build Slowly

While I’ve no data to back this up, my personal suspicion is that a huge number of people fail with their resolutions because they commit to something ludicrous, get totally disheartened when they fail within the first week or two, and then just stop trying. I know this has happened to me before. 

Here's an example of a New Year's resolution that failed. I tried for years to keep a journal. Every time I restarted, I’d set myself a goal of writing 500 words before breakfast or journalling for thirty minutes or some other ridiculously difficult target. What worked for me was to step back and set the easiest goal possible: to write something—anything—in my journal every day. It could be a word, a sentence, or a 2,000-word screed about why Tom Cruise is the most underrated actor of a generation. It didn’t matter as long as, at some point that day, I opened my journal, picked up a pen, and wrote. 

Now, I journal every day. I look forward to it. Normally, I write for about 20 minutes. Most of my entries are at least a few hundred words long. If I very occasionally miss a day because I’m travelling, it’s okay: I’m excited to journal the next day.

You need to do the same with your resolutions. Start slow and work from there. Starting is often the hardest part. Once you get the ball rolling, you’ll find it hard to stop. Get into a habit of going to the gym two days a week and, after a few weeks, you’ll be restless on the days you don’t go. That’s when to add that third day, then the fourth day, then finally, the fifth day.

3. Don’t Try to Do Them All at Once

There's only so much you can do at once. If your list of New Year’s resolutions is longer than your grocery shopping list, then you’ve got a problem. It’s just not possible to lose weight, gain muscle, train for a marathon, stop smoking, go vegan, read a book a week, and write your novel at once. You need to prioritize. 

Rather than using New Year resolutions as a strict list of activities that must commence on January 1st, I prefer to use them as a way to set guidelines for the year ahead. If you want to lose weight, gain muscle, and train for a marathon, then the best way to probably do it is to train for a marathon in the early-summer (which will help you lose weight), then spend the second half of the year working on strength training. You won’t be able to massively up your level of exercise at the same time as radically altering your diet, so maybe instead of going full vegan all at once, you work to cut down your meat intake over time. 

Look at your list of New Year's resolutions and decide what you want to accomplish now and what is perhaps better addressed later in the year. Now, this isn’t permission to kick things down the line: you still need to set goals and have a solid plan for achieving that resolution later on, preferably backed up by calendar reminders. 

4. Get an Accountabilibuddy and Review Monthly

Another reason I suspect that many people fail at their New Year’s resolutions is that they simply forget they made them. I know when I sat down this year to look back at how I’d done last year I was surprised to see that, oh yeah, I had decided to climb Ireland’s highest mountain. That was obviously a summer thing but, by the time it was actually summer, I’d totally forgotten about it. I could easily have booked the train and gone and done it over a weekend—it’s a hill walk not a climb—but it just didn’t cross my mind to do that. 

This is why two related things are important: 

  • accountabilibuddies
  • monthly reviews

An accountabilibuddy is simply what it sounds like: a buddy who keeps you accountable. Normally, you find a close friend, each tell each other your resolutions and pledge to keep each other on the straight and narrow. It’s much harder to mess up when you've got to admit it to someone else. You can even use services like Stickk to help.

Monthly reviews are similar. At the end of every month you should step back, look at what your New Year resolutions were, and see how well you did at achieving them. Did you lose weight this month? Did you make it to the gym as much as you wanted to? If not, then you need to assess what went wrong and look at how to fix it for next month.

5. Fail, and Move On

Most people who don’t stick to their resolutions fail out by February. They hit a couple of setbacks and just give up. It’s hard to get to the gym when you’re tired, you’ve got work to do, and it’s dark out. There will always be days when something unexpected comes up—maybe you’re sick or your daughter is—and, despite all your good intentions, things don’t line up right. And you know what? That’s okay.

It’s super important to recognise that. It’s okay to fail. What’s important is what you do next. If you get caught in a downwards spiral because you missed the gym a few times this week, then you’ll just never go back. Instead, you need to think about why you failed, forgive yourself, and keep going. If your resolutions are really too hard, reassess them and make them more achievable.

6. It’s Never Too Late To Start

Okay it’s June now, you haven’t thought about your New Year’s resolutions in months; so what? New Year is just a somewhat convenient time to take stock of things, but it's far from the only time of year when you can start building good habits. Just because it’s June and you’ve ignored your resolutions for a few months, it doesn’t mean you need to wait until the next New Year before deciding to better yourself. 

Instead, take stock, set yourself some SMART goals, and start today. Not tomorrow, not next Monday, not next month: today. 

Learn More About Productivity

Leaning how to keep New Year's resolutions can help you to be more productive. If you want to learn more about how to improve your productive, we've got more articles on Envato Tuts+ to help you. Here are just a few of them:

Choose Good New Year's Resolutions This Year

I love using the New Year as a time to look back, reflect, and set out goals and lots of other people do too. The thing is, it’s important to keep that positive, self-improvement attitude throughout the whole year. New Year's resolutions are for life, not just for the Holidays.

You've just learned how to stick to New Year resolutions. The biggest takeaway is that resolutions are just goals. You can set them any time. Just make sure they’re SMART: specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, and time-constrained. Review them monthly and you’ll be surprised at how much progress you start to make.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.