Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Finance

Самые эффективные пути выхода из бизнеса

Scroll to top
Read Time: 7 min

Russian (Pусский) translation by Yuri Yuriev (you can also view the original English article)

У вас есть план свёртывания?

Найдётся много советов по созданию успешного бизнеса, но ни слова о том, как из него выйти.

Хотя поводы для такого желания возникают постоянно. Возможно, вы нашли что-то получше и затеяли новое предприятие. Может быть, вы хотите уйти в отставку или сократить объёмы. Возможно, дела идут хорошо, но нет желания ими заниматься. Может, срочно понадобились деньги и продажа бизнеса - единственный способ их найти.

Даже если вы не планируете уходить в ближайшее время, стоит продумать разные варианты выхода. У каждого есть свои конкретные преимущества и недостатки.

В этом уроке вы узнаете, каким образом владельцы бизнеса могут избавиться или выйти из своих фирм, увидите плюсы и минусы каждого подхода и узнаете о некоторых важных вещах на случай свёртывания дел.

1. Передача дел

В семейных фирмах обычно передают право собственности младшим. Но и здесь не всё бывает гладко. Надо знать некоторые вещи.

Преимущества

Преемственность - главное преимущество передачи бизнеса родственнику. Никаких посторонних: передавая дело, вы уверены, что оно останется в семье для следующих поколений. Отличный способ обеспечить будущее ваших детей, если семейный бизнес - это то, что их интересует.

Если все на это согласны, передача дел происходит просто. Вам не нужно долго искать покупателей, торговаться и ждать окончания процесса. Это будет плавный переход с постепенной передачей управления.

Недостатки

К сожалению, не всегда передача дел родственникам проходит гладко. Ваш сын или дочь могут иметь разные взгляды на ведение бизнеса и спорить, кто будет главным.

Бывает, что в спорах о разделе имущества рушатся семьи. В прошлом году судились отец и сын - владельцы сети отелей класса люкс в Великобритании, отец предъявил иск своему сыну на £50 миллионов за то, что он выдавил его из собственного бизнеса

Не забывайте о возможных налоговых последствиях. Если вы передаёте право собственности без оплаты, либо по символической цене, налоговые органы могут расценить это как передачу в дар и назначить налог на дарение. Есть тонкости, поэтому обязательно проконсультируйтесь с экономистами и убедитесь, что вы всё делаете так, чтобы ваш преемник не имел сложностей с налогами.

Полезные советы

Зная свою семью, принимайте взвешенное решение. Консультанты по вопросам управления Ernst & Young рекомендуют привлекать советников для объективного составления плана передачи с учётом интересов всех сторон.

Убедитесь, что преемник обучен и владеет всеми навыками ведения бизнеса, подумайте о создании «круглого стола» или семейного совета для принятия важных решений и предупреждения любых разногласий.

2. Выкуп руководителями или коллективом

Если семейный вариант передачи бизнеса не подходит, найдите "лояльного покупателя" среди ваших управленцев или сотрудников. Они могут выкупить предприятие вскладчину.

Преимущества

Вариант выкупа сотрудниками тоже хорош в плане преемственности. Это люди, которые знают свою работу и имеют все шансы успешно продолжить дело. Пусть они даже немного изменять стратегию, но переход всё равно получится плавным. К общему удовольствию: хозяева часто переживают о судьбе работников после своего ухода, а тут они сами становятся полноправными владельцами, что может быть лучше?

Недостатки

Во-первых, для выкупа нужны деньги. Могут возникнуть затруднения, особенно с крупным предприятием. Тогда коллективу менеджеров или служащих не обойтись без кредита, который бывает сложно получить.

Они могли бы рассчитываться в рассрочку из своей доли прибыли компании, но тогда это не будет выгодно вам, поскольку растянется на неопределённое время и есть риск не получить своих денег, в случае, если дела пойдут хуже.

Полезные советы

Как и в первом случае, есть опасность, что личные отношения перевесят выгоду. Трудно торговаться с близкими людьми, так что в конце можно остаться с пустыми хлопотами. Придерживайтесь деловых отношений и пригласите сторонних советников для оценки и заключения сделки. После передачи дел воздержитесь от желания порулить ещё немного, даже если попросят. Лучше, если новые владельцы сразу поставят работу по-своему.

3. Продажа прав

Этот вариант предполагает продажу другой компании - возможно, одному из ваших конкурентов или крупной фирме, желающей приобрести долю в вашей отрасли.

Преимущества

Продажа прав может быть лучшим способом получения правильной цены. Если другая компания увидит качество вашего стратегического подхода, то будет готова заплатить хорошие деньги. Возьмите пример, как Facebook недавно заплатил $19 billion за компанию WhatsApp с её 55 сотрудниками. Это очень дорого, но такова цена для Facebook за доступ к более молодой, мобильной клиентской базе.

Если вы удачливы и популярны, между конкурентами разгорится война на торгах, что поднимет цену вашей фирмы до высот, невозможных при других вариантах.

Недостатки

Ни ваша семья, ни работники больше не владельцы фирмы. Покупатель может оказаться старым противником или крупной компанией, чуждой вашим ценностям. После того, как дело будет сделано, может произойти что угодно: перемена профиля, слияние или полное закрытие. Весь штат служащих попадёт под сокращение.

Конечно, так происходит не всегда, зачастую работа спокойно продолжается после короткого перерыва. Но у вас уже нет контроля над судьбой вашей компании, что с трудом переживают многие бывшие хозяева.

Кроме того, вам могут предложить на подпись весьма ограничивающее "соглашение" с обязательством не создавать подобный бизнес в том же районе в течение определённого времени и не нанимать старых сотрудников.

Полезные советы

Чтобы ваш бизнес стал привлекательным для других компаний, могут понадобиться крутые перемены. Например, вы не получите хорошую цену, если все дела фирмы завязаны на вас лично, тем более, когда вы решили уйти после завершения сделки. Покупатели заинтересованы в стабильной работе.

Убедитесь, что ваши внутренние дела скрыты от посторонних. Потенциальный покупатель сделает всё, чтобы обследовать ваш бизнес и убедиться, что он здоров, а досужие разговоры и сплетни могут сбить цену или вовсе сорвать сделку. Обычно утечка происходит после "дружеского" знакомства с некоторыми документами и небольшого поощрения сотрудников или родственников.

4. Ликвидация

После всей работы, которую вы вложили в создание своего бизнеса, его закрытие и распродажа, вероятно, не тот выход, который вы имели в виду. Как правило, это последнее средство в случае, если дела пошли плохо, а других вариантов решения нет. Но и тут бывают свои плюсы.

Преимущества

Ликвидация - это простое, чистое решение. Там нет плана передачи, нет покупателей, нет переговоров. Вы просто продаёте все свои активы списком, хоть клиентам, хоть конкурентам или через аукцион. Вся выручка от продажи, после оплаты кредиторам и акционерам, принадлежит вам. Это быстрый способ выхода из бизнеса и получения хотя бы части стоимости.

Недостатки

При ликвидации вы вряд ли получите адекватную цену. С одной стороны, вы продайте только физические активы. Тогда как главную ценность бизнеса составляют репутация, сотрудники, ноу-хау и связи, а эти вещи не продаются.

Да и физические активы не продаются за свои деньги. Мы все видели быстрые распродажи «Closing Down» в местных магазинах по очень сниженным ценам. Даже если у вас не магазин розницы, всё равно ликвидация фирмы - тот же “Closing Down”. Покупатели знают, что вам нужно продать быстро и по любой стоимости.

Полезные советы

Поскольку ликвидация - это крайний вариант, её план должен быть представлен на одобрение кредиторам и акционерам. После проведения подробной инвентаризации можно подумать о наилучшем способе распродажи имущества. Это может быть продажа непосредственно конкуренту или поставщику, оптом одному дилеру, через аукцион или в розницу. Подробнее о правильной ликвидации читайте в пособии, подготовленном Small Business Administration.

5. Другие варианты

Это основные пути полного выхода из бизнеса, но у вас есть и другие возможности. Возможно, вы не хотите вовсе отходить от дел, а, взяв часть денег, участвовать только в управлении.

В этом случае вашего внимания заслуживает наша  серия Funding a Business. Например, некоторые хозяева предлагают private equity firms вложиться в свой бизнес в качестве частичной стратегии выхода. Они продают большую часть акций и оставляют себе участие в управлении. Частные инвесторы повышают рентабельность в течение пяти-семи лет, а затем организуют продажу или IPO, после чего владельцы уходят окончательно, либо остаются в качестве заинтересованного меньшинства.

IPO также могут быть использованы как стратегии выхода. Первоначальные владельцы часто остаются на месте после IPO, но некоторые пользуются этим, чтобы продать основную часть своей доли и передать все полномочия.

Следующие шаги

Как вы поняли, выбор возможности выхода зависит от ваших целей и предпочтений.

Хорошо будет передать дело родственнику, если есть подходящий преемник, но может возникнуть конфликт и его необходимо предвидеть. Выкуп руководством или сотрудниками сохраняет преемственность в бизнесе и вознаграждает лояльных работников, но трудно осуществим при высокой стоимости компании.

Продажа прав часто даёт лучшую цену, но означает потерю контроля. А ликвидация, как "крайнее средство" чистого выхода из бизнеса, не даёт реальной выгоды.

Независимо от выбора варианта, главное всё спланировать заранее. Что вы сделаете в случае изменения жизненных обстоятельств? Убедитесь в своей готовности выйти из бизнеса, когда наступит время.

Включая материальную обеспеченность после ухода от дел. Недавнее исследование показало, что почти 70% предпринимателей не откладывают на пенсию. Если вы продаёте свой бизнес за миллионы, не вопрос. Но если дешевле или передаёте родственнику по договорной цене, тогда стоит подумать о себе.

Эта и многие другие причины повлияют на ваш выбор, поэтому лучше заранее начать планирование и консультации с вашим финансовым советником. Если вы поступите верно, то выход из бизнеса окажется входом в новую жизнь.  

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Business tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Finance
Business

The Most Effective Exit Strategies For Your Business

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Do you have an exit strategy?

You’ll find plenty of advice on building a successful business, but people don’t talk so much about how to leave it behind.

And yet there are many good reasons for wanting to exit a business. Maybe you’ve found a better opportunity elsewhere, and want to start a new venture. Maybe you want to retire or scale back. Maybe your business has just run its course, and you don’t have the passion for it any more. Maybe you need to raise cash quickly, and selling your business is the only way.

Even if you don’t plan to leave any time soon, it’s worth thinking through your exit options and having a strategy in place. Each one has its own particular advantages and disadvantages.

In this tutorial, you’ll learn about the various strategies business owners can use to sell or exit from their companies, will see the pros and cons of each approach, and will learn some important things to keep in mind if you decide to go ahead and exit your business.

1. Pass It On

The natural transition for many family businesses is simply to pass ownership on to the next generation. In reality, however, it’s often not quite so simple. Here are some things to be aware of.

Advantages

When you pass your business on to a family member, the main advantage is continuity. No outsiders need to be involved: you can pass on your business to someone you trust, and see it stay in the family for another generation. It’s also a great way to provide for your children’s future, if running the family business is something that interests them.

Also it can be relatively simple to complete the transition, if everyone is in agreement. You don’t have to go in search of external buyers, negotiate a sale, and endure a complex due diligence process. It can be a smooth transition with minimal impact on the running of the business.

Disadvantages

Unfortunately, not all transitions to the next generation go so smoothly. Sometimes your son or daughter may have different ideas about how to run the business, or there can be conflict between siblings over who has control.

In extreme cases, families can be torn apart by disputes over the direction of the business. The father-and-son owners of a luxury hotel chain in the UK ended up in court last year, with the father suing his son for about £50 million, claiming he had excluded him from his own business.  

Also consider the tax implications. If you transfer ownership of the company either for no payment or for less than its market value, the tax authorities may view it as a gift and charge gift tax. The rules are complicated, so be sure to check with your accountant or financial advisor and ensure that you make the transfer in a way that doesn’t land your successor with a large tax bill.

Tips for Success

Know your family, and make a decision based on what’s right for the business. Management consultants Ernst & Young recommend taking on external advisors to get a more objective view, as well as creating a formal succession plan to ensure that expectations are set clearly on all sides.

Also ensure that you’ve passed on all the necessary skills and training to your successor, and consider creating a “roundtable” or family board to ensure that major decisions are made fairly, with involvement of all family members, and that any potential conflict is quickly defused.

2. Management or Employee Buyout

If passing your business on to a family member is not an option, consider another “friendly buyer” like your existing managers or a group of employees. They can pool their funds and buy the business from you.

Advantages

A management or employee buyout is also great for continuity. These are people who know exactly how your business is run, and have the skills to continue running it successfully. They may pursue a slightly different strategy, but it’s still likely to be a smooth transition. It’s also satisfying: business owners often worry about what will happen to their long-term employees when they leave, and what better way to know they’re well taken care of than for them to be the new owners?

Disadvantages

For your employees to buy you out, they have to get the money together first. This can be a problem, especially with larger, high-value businesses. In some cases, the group of managers or employees will need to take out a large loan to fund the purchase, which can be difficult to arrange.

One solution is for them to pay your gradually over time out of the company’s profits, but this is an obvious disadvantage for you as a seller, both because there’s a delay in receiving the money, and because there’s a risk that the company will struggle and they won’t be able to pay you the full amount.

Tips for Success

As with option one, the main danger here is in letting personal relationships cloud your judgment. Negotiating a price can be difficult with people you know well, and you may end up leaving money on the table. So try to keep things strictly business, and bring in outsiders to value the business and draw up a fair agreement. When the deal is completed, resist the urge to stay involved, unless you’re asked to of course. Generally it’s better to step away and let the new owners run things in their own way.

3. Trade Sale

This option involves selling to another companyperhaps one of your competitors, or a larger firm looking to acquire a subsidiary in your industry.

Advantages

A trade sale can be an efficient way of getting the best price for your business. If another company sees your business as the perfect strategic fit, it may be willing to pay well over the odds. To take an extreme example, Facebook recently paid $19 billion for messaging company WhatsApp, a relatively new company with just 55 employees. It’s very expensive, but Facebook’s willing to pay that much for access to a younger, mobile customer base.

If you’re lucky, or just popular, a bidding war may develop between rival companies, sending the price of your company much higher than it would be in the other options.

Disadvantages

You’re not passing your business on to family or employees any more. The buyer could be your arch competitor, or a large company that doesn’t care about your values or goals. Once the deal is done, you may see your business run in a completely different way, merged into a larger firm, or even broken up. The employees you worked with for so long could be laid off.

This doesn’t always happen, of coursethere are plenty of amicable trade sales in which the firm continues with little disruption. But the point is that you don’t have control over the destiny of your company, and that can be painful for many business owners.

Also, on a personal level, you sometimes have to sign “non-compete agreements,” pledging not to set up a rival business in the same area for a certain time period or to hire away your old employees, and in some cases they can be quite restrictive.

Tips for Success

To make your business attractive to other companies, you may need to make some tough changes. For example, a company that is overly reliant on your own skills and expertise won’t fetch a good sale price, especially if you’re planning to step aside after the deal is done. Buyers want to see a company that can function independently.

Also make sure your internal processes will stand up to scrutiny from an outsider. A potential buyer will do extensive “due diligence” work to investigate your business and make sure it’s healthy, and the informal practices of some entrepreneurs can derail a deal, or at least reduce the price. Common red flags include “handshake” deals with little or no formal documentation, and employing friends or family members as favors.

4. Liquidation

After all the work you’ve put into building your business, closing it and selling off all the assets is probably not the exit you had in mind. Generally it’s a last resort, when the business is failing and the other exit options are not viable. Here’s a look at when it’s a good idea, and what the disadvantages are.

Advantages

Liquidation is a simple, clean solution. There’s no transition plan to worry about, no buyers to negotiate with. You just list all your assets and sell them off, either to customers, competitors and suppliers, or in an auction. Anything that’s left from the proceeds of the sale, after paying off all your creditors and any other shareholders in the business, belongs to you. It can be a quick way to exit a business and extract at least some of the value.

Disadvantages

With a liquidation, you’re almost certainly not getting anywhere near the full value of your company. For one thing, you’re usually only selling the physical assets. Often a large part of a business’s value is in things like its reputation, its employees, its knowhow and its relationships with customers, and those things are hard to liquidate.

Also, even the physical assets are typically not sold at full value. We’ve all seen those “Closing Down” sales at local stores, where the merchandise is deeply discounted so that it sells quickly. Even if you don’t run a retail store, liquidating your company is the equivalent of running a “Closing Down” sale. Buyers know that you need to sell quickly, and you’ll struggle to get good prices.

Tips for Success

Because liquidation is likely to generate less value than other exit options, it’s important to present your liquidation plan to creditors and shareholders, and get their approval before you act. Then it’s about conducting a detailed inventory of all your assets, and deciding on the best way to sell them. Options include selling directly to a competitor or supplier, selling all your goods in bulk to a dealer, holding an auction, or holding a retail sale to customers. For more detail on how to liquidate successfully, read the useful step-by-step guide prepared by the Small Business Administration.

5. Other Options

These are the main options for a total exit from your business, but you do have other alternatives, particularly if you’re looking for a partial exit. Perhaps you don’t want to walk away from your business, but just want to take some money off the table and take more of a back seat in the running of the business.

In that case, some of the options we looked at in our recent Funding a Business series could be worth looking into. Some business owners, for example, invite private equity firms to invest in their business as a partial exit strategy. They sell a large portion of company stock to the PE firm, and hand over some of the managerial control. The idea is that the private equity investors make the firm more valuable during their five-to seven-year involvement, and then arrange a sale or IPO, at which point the owners can either fully exit themselves, or stay on as minority stakeholders.

IPOs, as well, can be used as partial or even full exit strategies. The original owners often stay in place after an IPO, but some take the opportunity to sell the bulk of their stock and pass on the management reins to someone else.

Next Steps

As you’ve seen, the route you take depends on what you want to achieve, and what’s important to you.

Passing a business on to a family member is a good idea if you have a willing and able successor, but can sometimes cause conflict, and needs to be carefully managed. Management or employee buyouts keep some continuity in the business and reward loyal employees, but can be difficult to arrange if the company has a high valuation.

Trade sales often offer the best price for a company, but mean loss of control. And liquidation is a “last resort” option for exiting a business cleanly, but usually without realizing its true value.

The key, no matter which option you choose, is to plan early. If your life circumstances changed suddenly, what would you do? Make sure you have a strategy mapped out, so that you’re prepared to exit your business when the time comes.

That includes making provision for life after business ownership. A recent survey found that nearly 70% of entrepreneurs and self-employed people are not savingregularly for retirement. If you sell your business for millions, that won’t be a problem. But if the sale amount is smaller, or if you want to pass the business on to a family member for a token amount, then you’ll need to make other provision for yourself.

These and many other personal choices will affect the type of exit you choose, so it’s best to start planning and consulting your financial advisor as soon as possible. If you start early and do it right, exiting a business won’t be a headache, but a smooth transition to the next phase of your life.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.