Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Spirit Day

ما يمكن لعملك القيام به لدعم يوم الروح

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Improve Diversity in Your Business (Essential Guide).
How to Build a Culture of Diversity and Inclusion in Your Workplace
What Is Generational Diversity? How to Embrace It & Avoid Ageism

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Ahmed Ali (you can also view the original English article)

اليوم هو يوم الروح، وهو اليوم الذي الملايين من الناس تتخذ فيه موقف ضد البلطجة ودعم الشباب لغبتك.

ما علاقة هذا بعملك ؟ كثير. هناك بعض أسباب جيده جدا بالنسبة لك لدعم هذا الحدث ، كما سنناقش في هذه المقالة. سنلقي نظرة فاحصة على ما هو يوم الروح وسبب أهميته، وبعد ذلك سنلقي نظرة على سبب دعم نشاطك التجاري. ثم سوف نذهب من خلال بعض الأشياء العملية البسيطة التي يمكنك القيام بها لإظهار تضامنك.

على الرغم من أنه بالفعل يوم الروح اليوم، فإنه لم يتأخر بعد لاتخاذ الإجراءات. يمكنك القيام ببعض الأشياء التي سنناقشها في هذه المقالة على الفور، بحيث يمكنك إظهار دعمك. للأشياء الأخرى التي تتطلب المزيد من التخطيط إلى الأمام قليلا، والنظر في هذا المورد الخاص بك لروح يوم 2018!

ما هو يوم الروح

وفي إحدى أمسيات الخريف في عام 2010، ترك تايلر كليمنتي البالغ من العمر 18 عاما غرفة نومه في جامعة روتجرز في نيو جيرسي، وذهب إلى طريق جورج واشنطن بريدج، وقفز إلى وفاته في النهر أدناه.

قبل يوم واحد من انتحار كليمنتي، كان زميله قد استخدم كاميرا ويب للتجسس عليه في غرفة نومه مع رجل آخر وشجع الآخرين على مشاهدتها على شبكة الانترنت. وفي نفس الشهر الذي قتل فيه كليمنتي، انتحر أربعة من المراهقين الأميركيين الآخرين بعد أن سخروا من كونهم مثليين.

للخروج من هذه الاحداث المروعة ، ولدت يوم الروح. طالب المدرسة الثانوية بريتاني ماكميلان تاسست علي انها يوم من الوعي ، والقبول ، والحب لمنع مثل هذه الماسي. وبمساعده من منظمه الدعوة الاعلاميه "غلاد" ، نما يوم الروح علي مر السنتين ، واليوم ، يحتفل الملايين من الناس بالحدث السنوي للوقوف متضامنين مع شباب المثليين.

Screenshot from Spirit Day website

الشركات المعروفة مثل ويلز فأرجو ، جونسون وجونسون ، كيلوغ واتحاد كره القدم الأميركي ، من بين أمور أخرى ، أصبحت أيضا شريكا في هذا الحدث ، والعديد من الشركات والافراد تظهر دعمها بطرق مختلفه. والهدف من ذلك هو زيادة الوعي بالمعاملة الرهيبة التي يتعرض لها الكثير من الشباب من الناس ، بحيث يمكن بصوره تدريجيه تغيير المواقف وإنقاذ الأرواح.

لماذا يوم الروح مهم

قبل ان أضربك بالإحصائيات ، سادعك تسمع من بيكي كولينز وابنها الشاذ زاك ، الذي عانى من تصاعد نمط البلطجة التي أدت إلى هجوم وحشي. انا متاكد من انك سوف توافق علي انه لا يجب علي الام أو الابن للذهاب من خلال أشياء من هذا القبيل.

ثم كان هناك مايكل مورونيس، وهو صبي يبلغ من العمر 11 عاما كان أصغر من أن يكون له هوية جنسية قوية، لكنه تعرض للتخويف لأنه "مثلي الجنس" لأنه يحب اللعب مع "لي ليتل بوني". حاول أن يعلق نفسه بربطة العنق، وعلى الرغم من أنه نجا، فقد تضررت دماغه وهو الآن في حالة نباتية دائمة. قصص مثل هذه، للأسف، ليست حالات معزولة - يمكنك أن تجد الكثير مثلهم.

الآن بعد أن التقينا ببعض الأشخاص المعنيين، وهنا تلك الإحصائيات التي وعدت بها:

Spirit Day stats on LGBTQ youth bullying
المصدر: موقع يوم الروح .

وأمل ان تكون هذه القصص والأرقام كافيه لتبين لكم لماذا هذا اليوم هو المهم. وتعاني اعداد كبيره من الشباب معاناه فظيعة بسبب ميولهم الجنسية أو هويتهم الجنسية ، ويدفع بعض هؤلاء الشباب حتى الآن ويشعرون بالعزلة وإلياس لأنهم سينهيون حياتهم. أقل ما يمكننا القيام به هو اتخاذ يوم واحد في السنة لتبين لهم دعمنا.

لماذا عملك يجب أن يدعم يوم الروح

ولكن حتى لو كنت دعم الروح اليوم شخصيا ، لماذا ينبغي ان تدخله في عملك ؟

هناك عدة أسباب وجيهة. لشيء واحد، الشركة هي أكثر من مجرد كيان لتحقيق الربح. الأعمال التجارية لها هوية ولها قيم، ويمكنك أن تقرر ما هي تلك القيم.

إذا كان هذا ليس شيئا كنت قد فكرت كثيرا حتى الآن ، هل يمكن ان تجرب جوليا ميلميبروسي التعليمي علي تحديد قيم العلامة التجارية الاساسيه الخاصة بك. وهو يرشدك خلال عمليه توضيح قيم عملك ويمنحك ورقه عمل PDF مجانية لمساعدتك في تعريف هذه القيم.

وبمجرد الانتهاء من ذلك، فمن المحتمل أن تجد أن واحدة على الأقل من القيم الخاصة بك محاذاة مع يوم الروح. على سبيل المثال، قيم إنفاتو لا تذكر على وجه التحديد للشباب المثليين، ولكن القيمة "المتنوعة والشاملة" في محاذاة واضحة مع يوم الروح. هناك أيضا قيمة "العودة العادلة":

فكل فرد يستحق فرصة متساوية وفرصة عادلة. في العمل، على مواقعنا، وفي الحياة ونحن نسعى جاهدين لتكون عادلة ومتسقة في كل ما نقوم به.

هذا يبدو وكأنه الحس السليم، وحتى الآن في كثير من الأحيان، والناس لا يحصلون على نزاهة. يبدو واضحا جدا أن تايلر كليمنتي ومايكل مورونيس لم يفعل ذلك. حتى يوم الروح هو صالح .

ولكن لا يكفي أن يكون لديك بيان القيم على موقع ويب-عليك أن تعيش تلك القيم. عليك أن تلتصق عنقك ودعم الأسباب التي تتماشى مع روح ونية شركتك.

عند القيام بذلك ، سوف تري علي الأرجح بعض الفوائد الأخرى. كما راينا في سلسله لدينا علي التنوع ، وبناء ثقافة حقيقية من التنوع والشمول ليست سهله. إذا كان هذا هو شيء كنت تتصارع مع، ودعم يوم الروح يمكن أن ترسل رسالة مؤيدة للتنوع قوية لموظفيك والعملاء. انها طريقة بسيطة من "المشي سيرا على الأقدام".

وتظهر بيانات الاستطلاع في جميع أنحاء العالم أن العديد من الموظفين قد انسحبوا من وظائفهم، حيث أظهر استطلاع أجرته مؤسسة غالوب مؤخرا للعمال البريطانيين أن 8٪ فقط منهم كانوا يعملون في العمل. يمكن أن يكون إشراك الأشخاص المشاركين في إثارة القضايا المهمة، وتعزيز المحادثات وإنشاء الروابط وسيلة فعالة لزيادة رضا الموظفين ومشاركتهم.

إذا كنت قلقا بشأن ما إذا كان موظفوك سوف يرغبون في المشاركة، فكر في أن محنة الشباب قضية تثير صدى الجميع. قد يكون هناك موظفين الذين لا يريدون دعم قضية المثليين بسبب المعتقدات الدينية أو الشخصية الأخرى ، ولكن تذكر ان يوم الروح لا يطلب من الناس لتغيير معتقداتهم الشخصية. ببساطة يطلب منهم الوقوف على الشباب الذين يتعرضون للهجوم بسبب من هم. انها متوافقة تماما مع أي نظام المعتقدات الإنسانية.

كيف يمكنك دعم يوم الروح في عملك: قائمه من الأفكار

بالطبع، يمكنك اختيار لدعم يوم الروح بأي شكل من الأشكال التي تشعر الحق بالنسبة لك. كلما زاد عدد الأفراد، كان ذلك أفضل! ولكن إذا كنت عالقة، وهنا بعض الأفكار لتحصل على الذهاب:

1. انتقل للأرجواني

هذا هو على الارجح أبسط شيء يمكنك القيام به. موضوع يوم الروح هو اللون الأرجواني، لذلك يمكنك بسهولة إظهار الدعم الخاص بك فقط عن طريق "الذهاب الأرجواني" ليوم واحد.

على سبيل المثال، يمكنك تغيير لون صور الملف الشخصي لشبكة التواصل الاجتماعي إلى اللون الأرجواني للاحتفال باليوم. أو يمكنك تحويل موقعك على الويب إلى اللون الأرجواني لهذا اليوم، إما كليا أو جزئيا (على سبيل المثال، رأس أرجواني، وبانر أرجواني، وأضواء أرجوانية، وما إلى ذلك). أو يمكنك إنشاء نسخة أرجوانية من شعار شركتك واستخدامها على موقعك الإلكتروني وملفاتك الشخصية في الشبكات الاجتماعية وفي أي رسائل بريد إلكتروني ترسلها.

إذا كان عملك لديه موقع فعلي مثل مكتب أو متجر، هل يمكن أن أكليل مع البالونات الأرجواني، لافتات الأرجواني، أو أي شيء آخر يمكنك وضع يديك على. يمكنك تشجيع الموظفين على ارتداء الملابس الأرجواني للعمل.

يمكنك أيضا جعل التعهد العام للذهاب الأرجواني على موقع يوم الروح (فقط انقر على أيقونة اليد حيث تقول خذ التعهد).

2-تثقيف نفسك والآخرين

جزءا رئيسيا من يوم الروح هو رفع مستوي الوعي ، لذلك تثقيف نفسك وغيرهم حول مساله البلطجة من الشباب المثليين هو خطوه كبيره الاتخاذ.

يمكنك العثور علي بعض الموارد المفيدة علي موقع يوم الروح--انقر علي تعلم الحقائق لتحميل مجموعه من الموارد الحرة التي سوف تساعدك علي معرفه المزيد. وهناك الكثير من هناك علي شبكه الإنترنت والكتب ، لذلك فقط الحصول علي البحث والقراءة والتعلم.

أما بالنسبة لتعليم الآخرين، يمكن أن تكون بسيطة مثل بدء المحادثات وتقاسم ما تعلمته. أو يمكن أن تذهب أبعد من ذلك وتنظيم المناسبات الرسمية، وربما دعوة الخبراء أو ضحايا البلطجة لتأتي والتحدث إلى موظفيك أو للعملاء في متجرك.

3. العمل وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية

تغيير صوره ملف التعريف الخاص بك هو بداية جيده ، ولكن يمكنك ان تفعل الكثير علي وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية للحصول علي كلمه.

على سبيل المثال، يمكنك كتابة مشاركات تفيد دعمك بشكل أكثر وضوحا. إليك بعض النص المقترح من موقع يوم الروح على الويب:

اتخاذ موقف ضد البلطجة ودعم الشباب #LGBTQ عن طريق الذهاب  ل # يوم الروح في 19 أكتوبر: http://glaad.org/spiritday

كالمعتاد على وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية، رسالة شخصية أكثر صداقة من المحتمل أن تعمل بشكل أفضل، ولكن النص المقترح هو نقطة انطلاق جيدة.

ولأن صور تميل إلى كسب المزيد من الاهتمام على وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية، لماذا لا تنشر صورة لنفسك أو موظفيك مزينة في الأرجواني أو الانتظار رسائل الدعم؟

أو يمكنك اتخاذ خطوات أبعد من ذلك، وإنشاء بعض الصور المقنعة مثل الصورة الرمزية الأرجوانية مع رسالة (هذا هو واحد من العام الماضي، كما ترون، ولكن هل يمكن أن تخلق شيئا مماثلا لعام 2017):

Purple Spirit Day avatar

أو ربما صوره لنفسك أو شخص من عملك في الأرجواني:

Purple portrait for Spirit Day

يمكنك معرفه كيفيه إنشاء مثل هذه الصور في الدروس التالية:

أشياء مثل هذه تاخذ المزيد من الوقت لخلق ، بطبيعة الحال ، وانها تتطلب بعض المهارات التصميم ، ولكن من المرجح ان تحصل علي المشاركة علي نطاق أوسع علي وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية--المساعدة علي نشر كلمه عن يوم الروح.

المزيد من المشاركة ، بطبيعة الحال ، يعني أيضا فرصه لتعزيز الشركة الشخصية. ولكن تاكد من ان اي شيء تفعله هو حقيقي ويركز علي الوقوف مع الشباب المثليين وقبل كل شيء. أي محاولة شفافة ل "نقد في" على حدث مثل هذا لكسب الخاصة بك ليست باردة، ومن المرجح جدا لنتائج عكسية.

4-اذهب للتسوق

الموقع يوم الروح لديه متجر علي الإنترنت حيث يمكنك شراء البضائع مثل تي شيرت ، قبعات البيسبول وأكواب--كل ذلك في الأرجواني ، بطبيعة الحال. يمكنك طلب بعض هذه العناصر وتوزيعها علي الموظفين أو العملاء.

وهناك بعض المزايا لهذا النهج:

  1. المال الذي تنفقه يذهب لدعم الروح اليوم والجهود المبذولة علي مدار السنه غلاد لمكافحه البلطجة.
  2. وتشمل بعض البنود شعارات مثل "ضد البلطجة" ، والمساعدة في الحصول علي الرسالة عبر أكثر وضوحا للناس الذين قد لا يكون علي بينه من اهميه ارتداء ببساطه الأرجواني تي شيرت عادي.
  3. الجميع يحب الهدية الترويجية! من خلال إعطاء هذه البنود للموظفين و/أو العملاء ، وكانت أيضا بشكل غير مباشر للمساعدة في بناء علاقات هامه.

5-كتابة رسالة

إن القيام بما يمكنك من أجل الحصول على كلمة كبيرة ودعم القضية هو عظيم، ولكن في بعض الأحيان يمكنك تحقيق المزيد من خلال إقناع شخص مع المزيد من السلطة لاتخاذ إجراءات.

في مجموعه الموارد الحرة التي ذكرتها سابقا ، يمكنك العثور علي رسائل نموذجيه يمكنك إرسالها إلى المسؤولين العموميين ، وتطلب منهم المساعدة في جعل المدارس أكثر أمانا للأطفال.

ولأن العديد من الرسائل هي أفضل من واحد، هل يمكن أيضا تنظيم حدث كتابة الرسالة حيث يمكنك تشجيع الموظفين والعملاء أو الناس من المجتمع المحلي لإرسال رسائلهم الخاصة.

6. التبرع وجمع الأموال

هبه بسيطه يقطع شوطا طويلا--يوم الروح نفسها ياخذ المال لتنظيم ، والغلاد أيضا العمل الهام علي مدار السنه لدعم الشباب LGTBQ. يمكنك بسهوله التبرع عبر الإنترنت من خلال موقع الروح اليوم (انقر فقط علي التبرع الرابط في الجزء العلوي).

أو ، كما هو الأمر مع الرسائل وغيرها من الأفكار ، يمكنك ان تتخذ خطوه أخرى وتنطوي علي اعداد أكبر من الناس. ويمكنكم تنظيم فعاليات لجمع الأموال في اليوم ، مما سيساعد علي تعظيم الأثر ، سواء من حيث الوعي أو التبرعات.

7. تصبح شريكا في اليوم الروح

كما ذكرت سابقا ، فانه من الممكن للشركات لشريك مع اليوم الروح--يمكنك ان تري أسمائهم المدرجة علي الموقع.

لمعرفه المزيد حول ما ينطوي عليه الأمر ، اتصل غلاد أو أملا استمارة تسجيل الشريك.

8. الحصول على اهتمام وسائل الإعلام

كشركة محلية، كنت في وضع أفضل للحصول على قصة في صحيفة محلية أو على الراديو أو التلفزيون من فرد خاص سيكون. إذا كنت تفعل شيئا خاصا ليوم الروح، نهج وسائل الإعلام المحلية الخاصة بك لإعلامهم ومعرفة ما إذا كانوا يريدون تغطية ذلك.

أو يمكنك كتابة مقالة أو مقالة رأي مقال للورقة المحلية أو للمجلات، بلوق، والمواقع الإخبارية، وما إلى ذلك هذه هي طرق رائعة للحصول على كلمة.

الاستنتاج

في هذه المقالة ، كنت قد تعلمت المزيد عن الروح اليوم: ما هو عليه ، لماذا من المهم ، والسبب في عملك ينبغي الحصول علي المشاركة ودعمها.

لديك أيضا الآن الكثير من الأفكار حول ما يجب القيام به في يوم الروح ، من بسيطه وفورية لأكثر تعقيدا. وتذكر ، هذه ليست قائمه شامله بأي وسيله. انا متاكد من انك يمكن استخدام هذا كنقطه القفز لتاتي مع أفضل بكثير من الأفكار الخاصة بك. ويمكنك العثور علي المزيد من المساعدة والمعلومات عن موقع يوم الروح.

ماذا تفعل يوم الروح؟ اسمحوا لنا أن نعرف في التعليقات.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Spirit Day
Business

What Your Business Can Do to Support Spirit Day

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Improve Diversity in Your Business (Essential Guide).
How to Build a Culture of Diversity and Inclusion in Your Workplace

Today is Spirit Day, a day when millions of people take a stand against bullying and in support of LGBTQ youth.

What does this have to do with your business? Plenty. There are some very good reasons for you to support this event, as we’ll discuss in this article. We’ll take a close look at what Spirit Day is and why it matters, and then we’ll look at why your business should support it. Then we’ll go through some simple, practical things you can do to show your solidarity.

Even though it’s already Spirit Day today, it’s still not too late to take action. You can do some of the things we’ll discuss in this article immediately, so that you can show your support. For the other things that require a little more forward planning, consider this your resource for Spirit Day 2018!

What Spirit Day Is

One fall evening in 2010, 18-year-old Tyler Clementi left his dorm room at Rutgers University in New Jersey, made his way to the George Washington Bridge, and jumped to his death in the river below.

The day before Clementi’s suicide, his roommate had used a webcam to spy on him in his bedroom with another man and had encouraged others to view them on the internet. In the same month as Clementi’s death, four other American teenagers committed suicide after being taunted about being gay.

Out of these horrific events, Spirit Day was born. High-school student Brittany McMillan founded it as a day of awareness, acceptance, and love to prevent such tragedies. With the help of LGBTQ media advocacy organization GLAAD, Spirit Day grew over the years, and today, millions of people mark the annual event to stand in solidarity with LGBTQ youth.

Screenshot from Spirit Day website

Well-known companies like Wells Fargo, Johnson & Johnson, Kellogg’s and the NFL, among others, have also become partners of the event, and many businesses and individuals show their support in a variety of ways. The aim is to raise awareness of the terrible treatment that many young LGBTQ people experience, so that gradually, attitudes can change and lives can be saved.

Why Spirit Day Is Important

Before I hit you with the statistics, I’ll let you hear from Becky Collins and her gay son Zach, who suffered an escalating pattern of bullying that led to a brutal attack. I’m sure you’ll agree that no mother or son should have to go through things like this.

Then there was Michael Morones, an 11-year-old boy who was too young to have a strong sexual identity but was bullied for being “gay” because he liked playing with “My Little Pony”. He tried to hang himself with a necktie and, although he survived, his brain was damaged and he is now in a permanent vegetative state. Stories like this are, unfortunately, not isolated cases—you can find plenty more like them.

Now that we’ve met some of the people involved, here are those statistics I promised:

Spirit Day stats on LGBTQ youth bullying
Source: Spirit Day website.

I hope that these stories and figures are enough to show you why this day is important. Large numbers of young people are suffering horribly because of their sexual orientation or gender identity, and some of those young people are pushed so far and feel so isolated and hopeless that they end their own lives. The least we can do is take one day a year to show them our support.

Why Your Business Should Support Spirit Day

But even if you support Spirit Day personally, why should your business get involved?

There are several good reasons. For one thing, a company is more than just an entity for making profit. A business has an identity and it has values, and you get to decide what those values are.

If this isn’t something you’ve thought about too much yet, you could try Julia Melymbrose’s tutorial on defining your core brand values. It walks you through the process of clarifying your business’s values and gives you a free PDF worksheet to help you define those values.

Once you’ve done that, it’s likely that you’ll find that at least one of your values aligns with Spirit Day. For example, Envato’s values make no specific mention of LGBTQ youth, but the “Diverse and Inclusive” value is in clear alignment with Spirit Day. There’s also the “Fair Go” value:

Everyone deserves an equal chance and a fair opportunity. At work, on our sites, and in life we strive to be fair and consistent in everything we do.

This sounds like common sense, and yet so often, people don’t get a fair go. It seems pretty clear that Tyler Clementi and Michael Morones didn’t. So Spirit Day is a natural fit.

But it’s not enough to have a values statement on a website—you have to live those values. You have to stick your neck out and support causes that align with the spirit and intention of your company.

When you do that, you’ll probably see some other benefits. As we’ve seen in our series on diversity, building a genuine culture of diversity and inclusion is not easy. If this is something you’re grappling with, supporting Spirit Day can send a powerful pro-diversity message to your staff and customers. It’s a simple way of “walking the walk”.

Survey data across the world shows that many employees are disengaged from their jobs—a recent Gallup poll of British workers found that only 8% of them were engaged at work. Getting people involved in raising important issues, fostering conversations and creating connections can be a powerful way of raising employee satisfaction and engagement.

If you’re worried about whether your staff will want to be involved, consider that the plight of young people is an issue that resonates with pretty much everyone. There may be staff members who don’t want to support an LGBTQ cause because of religious or other personal beliefs, but remember that Spirit Day doesn’t ask people to change their personal beliefs. It simply asks them to stand up for young people who are under attack because of who they are. It’s completely compatible with any humane belief system. 

How You Can Support Spirit Day in Your Business: A List of Ideas

Of course, you can choose to support Spirit Day in any way that feels right for you. The more individual, the better! But if you’re stuck, here are some ideas to get you going:

1. Go Purple

This is probably the simplest thing you can do. The theme of Spirit Day is the color purple, so you can easily show your support just by “going purple” for a day.

For example, you could change the color of your company’s social media profile pictures to purple to mark the day. Or you could turn your website purple for the day, either in whole or in part (e.g. a purple header, purple banner, purple highlights, etc.). Or create a purple version of your company logo and use that on your website, social media profiles, and in any emails you send out.

If your business has a physical location like an office or shop, you could festoon it with purple balloons, purple banners, or anything else you can lay your hands on. You could encourage staff to wear purple clothing to work.

You can also make a public pledge to go purple over on the Spirit Day website (just click on the hand icon where it says Take the Pledge).

2. Educate Yourself and Others

A key part of Spirit Day is raising awareness, so educating yourself and others about the issue of the bullying of LGBTQ youth is a great step to take.

You can find some useful resources on the Spirit Day website—click on Learn the facts to download a free resource kit that will help you learn more. And there’s plenty more out there on the internet and in books, so just get searching and reading and learning.

As for educating others, that can be as simple as starting conversations and sharing what you’ve learned. Or you could go further and organize formal events, perhaps inviting experts or victims of bullying to come and speak to your staff or to customers in your store.

3. Work Social Media

Changing your profile picture is a good start, but you can do a lot more on social media to get the word out.

For example, you can write posts stating your support more explicitly. Here’s some suggested text from the Spirit Day website:

Take a stand against bullying and support #LGBTQ youth by going purple for #SpiritDay on Oct. 19: http://glaad.org/spiritday

As usual on social media, a more personal, heartfelt message will probably work better, but the suggested text is a good starting point.

And because visuals tend to gain more attention on social media, why not post a photo of yourself or your staff decked out in purple or holding up messages of support?

Or you could take things a step further and create some compelling images like a purple avatar with a message (this one is from last year, as you can see, but you could create something similar for 2017):

Purple Spirit Day avatar

Or maybe a portrait of yourself or someone from your business in purple:

Purple portrait for Spirit Day

You can find out how to create images like this in the following tutorials:

Things like this take more time to create, of course, and they require some design skills, but they’re likely to get shared more widely on social media—helping to spread the word about Spirit Day.

More sharing, of course, also means a chance to boost your company’s profile. But be sure that anything you do is genuine and focuses on standing with LGBTQ youth first and foremost. Any transparent attempt to “cash in” on an event like this for your own gain is not cool, and is very likely to backfire.

4. Go Shopping

The Spirit Day website has an online shop where you can buy merchandise like T-shirts, baseball caps and mugs—all in purple, of course. You could order some of these items and distribute them to your staff or customers.

There are a few advantages to this approach:

  1. The money you spend goes to support Spirit Day and GLAAD’s year-round efforts to combat bullying.
  2. Some of the items include slogans like “Against Bullying”, helping to get the message across more clearly to people who may not be aware of the significance of simply wearing a plain purple T-shirt.
  3. Everyone loves a freebie! By giving out these items to staff and/or customers, you’re also indirectly helping to build important relationships.

5. Write a Letter

Doing what you can to get the word out is great and support the cause is great, but sometimes you can achieve more by convincing someone with more power to take action.

In the free resource kit I mentioned earlier, you can find sample letters you can send to public officials, asking them to help make schools safer for LGTBQ kids.

And because many letters are better than one, you could also organize a letter-writing event where you encourage staff, customers or people from your local community to send their own letters.

6. Donate and Raise Funds

A simple donation goes a long way—Spirit Day itself takes money to organize, and GLAAD also does important year-round work to support LGTBQ youth. You can easily donate online via the Spirit Day website (just click the Donate link at the top).

Or, as with the letters and other ideas, you could take it a step further and involve larger numbers of people. You could organize fund-raising events on the day, which will help to maximize the impact, both in terms of awareness and donations.

7. Become a Spirit Day Partner

As I mentioned earlier, it’s possible for companies to partner with Spirit Day—you can see their names listed on the website.

To find out more about what’s involved, contact GLAAD or fill out the partner signup form.

8. Get Media Attention

As a local business, you’re in a better position to get a story in the local newspaper or on radio or TV than a private individual would be. If you’re doing something special for Spirit Day, approach your local media outlets to let them know and see if they want to cover it.

Or you could write an article or op-ed opinion piece for the local paper or for magazines, blogs, news sites, etc. Those are great ways of getting the word out.

Conclusion

In this article, you’ve learned more about Spirit Day: what it is, why it’s important, and why your business should get involved and support it.

You also now have plenty of ideas of what to do on Spirit Day, from the simple and immediate to the more complex. And remember, this is not an exhaustive list by any means. I’m sure you can use this as a jumping-off point to come up with much better ideas of your own. And you can find more help and information on the Spirit Day site.

What are you doing for Spirit Day? Let us know in the comments.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.