Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Accounting
Business

متى يلزمك توظيف محاسب مشارع صغيرة

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

عندما يأتي وقت توظيف محاسب، يسأل العديد من مالكي المشاريع الصغيرة الأسئلة الخاطئة.

في البدايات، سيكون هناك ضيق في المال ويجب أن تكون حريصا حول كل بنس أو سنت تنفقه. لذا يسأل الناس أحيانا، "هل أستطيع تحمل تكلفة توظيف محاسب؟"

هذه الطريقة ليست الأفضل للنظر للموضوع. السؤال الأفضل فعليا هو: "في أية مرحلة يمكن لتوظيف المحاسب أن يوفي بتكلفته؟"

Should you hire an accountant for your small business
هل يجب عليك توظيف محاسب لمشروعك الصغير؟ (مصدر فوتوغرافي)

من الواقعي، بالنسبة للمشاريع الصغيرة جدا ذات المصاريف المالية الصغيرة جدا، أن توظيف المحاسب عبارة عن مصروف غير ضروري. ولكن مع بدء نمو مشروعك، ستصبح التعقيدات المالية وعدد القواعد الضريبية التي يجب أن تلتزم بها أمرا مربكا. في هذه الحالة، يصبح توظيف المحاسب أمرا أقل من كونه مصروفا زائدا وأقرب لكونه استثمارا سيوفي بربحية سريعة.

سأعرض عليك في هذا الدليل التدريبي كيف تتبين فيما إذا كنت في هذه المرحلة من مشروعك. سأتحدث عما يفعله محاسبو المشاريع الصغيرة، فوائد توظيفهم، كم يكلف توظيف المحاسب، وكيف يمكنك حساب هل هذا الاستثمار معقول بالنسبة لمشروعك أم لا.

في النهاية، سيكون لديك وضوح حول ما يمكن للمحاسب القيام به لمشروعك الصغير، وستفهم الحسابات البسيطة التي يمكنك إجراؤها لتقرر فيما إذا كان توظيف المحاسب مجديا.

1. ما هو دور محاسب المشاريع الصغيرة؟

بداية، ما هي وظيفة المحاسب؟ ما هي المهمات التي يمكنه القيام بها لمشروعك الصغير؟

سنتطرق لبعض الأمثلة المحددة لاحقا، ولكن إليك ملخصا عاما حول ما يمكن للمحاسب القيام به ليساعد مشروعك الصغير:

التعامل مع ضرائبك

هذه هي المهمة الرئيسية التي يلجأ فيها مالكو المشاريع الصغيرة للمحاسبين. حتى لو كنت تتعامل مع حسابات يومية لمشروعك، فمعرفة الأعباء القانونية لضرائبك أشبه بالكابوس.

إذا وظفت محاسبا، يمكنك ببساطة إعطاء سجلاتك له ليقوم بكل الحسابات ويملأ جداول العوائد الضريبية في نهاية العام. المحاسب الجيد يعرف كل القواعد المتعلقة بالموضوع، لذا يمكنك التأكد أنه لن يهمل شيئا.

إضافة لذلك، يساعد المحاسب في الإجابة عن تساؤلات حول الضرائب على مدار العام. مثلا، يمكنه نصحك حول التبعات الضريبية للعديد من قرارات العمل، أو يساعد في التخطيط للضريبة، أو يتأكد من أنك تتبع القواعد المتعلقة بضرائب المبيعات لكل عملية بيع أو شراء.

إعداد الميزانية والتخطيط

يساعد المحاسب فيما هو أكثر من الضرائب. يمكنه المساعدة في بعض مهمات التخطيط الأساسية التي تلزم لإكمال المشروع.

كما ذكرت سابقا في الدليل التدريبي حول كتابة خطة عمل، المكون الرئيسي للتخطيط الفعال هو إنشاء خطة مالية مفصلة والقيام بتوقعات واقعية حول الدخل، تدفق رأس المال وتوازن الحسابات في السنوات القليلة القادمة، إذا أصبت هدفك.

أعطيت بعض النصائح حول إعداد نموذج مالي بسيط، في كل من هذا الدليل التدريبي وفي نسخة سابقة منه:

لكن قد تكون هذه العملية معقدة، وإذا لم تشعر بالراحة في التعامل مع الجداول المالية والحسابات، يمكن للمحاسب أن يقوم بها غالبا بشكل أسرع وأكثر فاعلية.

تحضير البيانات المالية

هل سمعت من قبل بالبيانات المالية الموحدة؟ هي بيانات الدخل، جداول الموازنة، وبيانات تدفق المال التي تنتجها الشركات في نهاية كل عام لتلخيص أدائها. يمكنك الحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حولها في سلسلتنا حول أساسيات البيانات المالية.

قد لا يحتاج البائع بالتجزئة أو صاحب مشروع صغير جدا لإنتاج هذه البيانات في البداية، ولكن مع البدء بالنمو، قد يصبح من اللازم وجودها، أو قد تكون مفيدة ببساطة للحصول على صورة أكبر للمشروع. يمكن للمحاسب المساعدة في إعداد هذه البيانات. كما يمكن له المساعدة في إعداد أنظمتك بشكل صحيح لتسجيل البيانات اليومية:

إعطاء نصائح في العمل

يمكن للمحاسب أن يعطيك نصائح عامة للعمل. إذا كنت تفكر بالتوسع في سوق جديد أو شراء شركة أخرى، يستطيع المحاسب مساعدتك في التفكير بالتبعات المالية لهذا الاستثمار واتخاذ القرار فيما لو كان ذلك مفيدا لمشروعك.

بعض الساعات من عمل المحاسب ذات جدوى كبيرة في هذه الحالة، وذلك بمساعدتك في تجنب أخطاء مكلفة أو تحديد فرص مثيرة للاهتمام.

2. كم يكلف محاسب المشاريع الصغيرة؟

بالطبع ستختلف تكلفة توظيف محاسب لمشروعك الصغير بشكل واضح تبعا لموقعك، حجم المشروع، ونوع الخدمة المطلوبة منه.

ولكن من المساعد وجود فكرة تقريبية لديك حول التكلفة، إليك بعض الأمثلة. يمكنك الحصول على المزيد من المعلومات المفصلة حول التكلفة لحالتك الخاصة بالتواصل مع المحاسبين في منطقتك والسؤال حول الأسعار – سأعطي نصائح لاحقا في هذا الدليل حول كيفية إيجاد محاسب.

في الولايات المتحدة، وفقا لمعلومات CostHelper، يمكنك توقع دفع ما بين 150$ حتى 400$ في الساعة لمحاسبي المشاريع الصغيرة. قد يبدو هذا الرقم كبيرا، لكن لو كانت حاجاتك بسيطة، قد لا تحتاج لعدد كبير من الساعات. يقول الموقع:

" تقوم مالكة محل بيع بالتجزئة في شمال كاليفورنيا لديها 12 موظف بإنتاج بياناتها المالية شهريا باستخدام برنامج QuickBooks ولكن تدفع حوالي 300$-400$ سنويا لقاء ساعتي حساب مع محاسبها. "

في المملكة المتحدة، يتقاضى بعض المحاسبون مبلغا ثابتا مقابل بعض الخدمات. مثلا، محاسبو SJD Accountancy، وهي شركة استشارات محاسبات مختصة، تتقاضى مبلغ 120£ شهريا إضافة إلى VAT (ضريبة القيمة المضافة) لقاء خدمة شاملة كليا، متضمنة استشارات غير محدودة وجها لوجه. تتقاضى KPMG Small Buisness مبلغا شهريا بقيمة 145£ إضافة إلى VAT لقاء الخدمات الأساسية.

إذا كنت تريد خدمة محددة، مثلا عائدات الضرائب، يجب أن تكون التكلفة أقل. مثلا، تعطي Ainsworth & CO تقديرا لقاء 100-200£ إضافة إلى VAT للقيام بتقييمات بسيطة لعائدات الضرائب. يكلف تحضير وإرسال مجموعة من الحسابات مبلغا يبدأ من 600£ إضافة إلى VAT.

3. كيف تحسب فيما إذا كان من المجدي توظيف محاسب

إذا كيف تعرف فيما إذا كان توظيف محاسب سيكون مجديا؟

في الفقرة السابقة، أعطيت بعض الأمثلة التقريبية لتكلفة توظيف محاسب. ستختلف هذه الأرقام بالطيع، لذا أنصحك بالتواصل مع بضعة محاسبين في منطقتك والسؤال عن التسعيرة بناء على وضعك الخاص وحاجتك. اجمع عدة تسعيرات مختلفة، كما تفعل عادة مع خدمات أخرى، وقارن التكاليف ومستوى الخدمة.

الخطوة التالية هي حساب الزمن الذي يلزم منك أو من أحد أفراد طاقمك لإنجاز مهمات المحاسبة. تذكر الزمن الذي قضيته في السنة الماضية في التفكير حول توظيف محاسب خارجي. لا تنسى حساب الزمن الذي قضيته في إصلاح الأخطاء، والتواصل مع سلطات الضرائب، وغيرها.

ثم قرر ما هي تكلفة وقتك – تبنى عادة على ما يمكنك جنيه أو ما هي القيمة التي يمكنك إضافتها لعملك بالقيام بأمر آخر.

على سبيل المثال، لنقل أنك تقضي 15 ساعة بالإجمال في التحضير لعائد الضريبة السنوي، وأن قيمة ساعتك هي 50$ للساعة. ستكون عندها تكلفة إعداد عائد الضريبة بنفسك:

تكلفة تحضير عائد الضريبة = 50 × 15 =750$

عندها المعادلة بسيطة. إذا كان توظيف محاسب سيكلفك أقل من 750$، فعندها ستوفر المال بالقيام بذلك. إذا كلف المحاسب أكثر من ذلك، لا تقم بتوظيفه.

حتى لو كلف المحاسب أكثر من قيامك بالعمل بنفسك، فقد ترغب بتوظيفه بجميع الأحوال للحصول على منافع أخرى، والتي سنتطرق لها في الفقرة التالية. إذا كانت تكلفة المحاسب أقل فالأمر واضح ولا يحتاج للتفكير.

4. كيف تنتفع من توظيف محاسب

إضافة للمعادلة المالية البسيطة التي تتعلق فيما لو كانت الاستعانة بمحاسب أرخص من القيام بالعمل بنفسك، هناك عدة منافع إضافية لتوظيف محاسب قادر على مساعدتك بحيث تميل كفة الميزان لصالح توظيفه.

تحديد الحسومات في الضرائب

لا يتولى المحاسب الجيد مسألة تحضير عائدات الضرائب فحسب، بل يوفر لك المال أحيانا من فاتورة الضرائب.

في النهاية قانون الضرائب معقد وقد يكون هناك حسومات خاصة أو مصاريف لا تدري بها. أو ربما ببناء أعمالك أو عمليات البيع بطريقة مختلفة، يمكنك القيام بالعمل بطريقة أكثر فاعلية من جهة الضرائب.

تجنب العقوبات

تتعرض المشاريع الصغيرة بسهولة للسعات من العقوبات المؤلمة نتيجة تخلفها عن الالتزام ببعض تنظيمات الضرائب، أو القيام بأخطاء في عائدات الضرائب، أو التأخر في المواعيد. بوجود محاسب مؤهل، يمكنك بكل تأكيد تجنب هذه العقوبات.

توفير الوقت

هل تذكر كل هذه الساعات التي حسبتها في الفقرة السابقة؟ بتحريرك لها، يمكنك تطبيقها لنشاطات أخرى عملية قد تكون ذات منفعة كبيرة لمشروعك. يمكنك أيضا الحصول على حرية ذهنية إضافية وتركيز، دون وجود أفكار مقلقة تدور في ذهنك بخصوص موضوع الحسابات.

مساعدتك على النمو

كما ذكرت سابقا، يمكن للمحاسبين أن يعطوك نصائح متعلقة بالعمل. قد تعمل أحيانا مع نفس المحاسب لسنوات، لذا سيصبحون على معرفة بعملك وسيصبحون قادرين على توفير منظور مفيد لقراراتك. يمكنهم مساعدتك باتخاذ خطوات صحيحة والتأسيس للنمو والازدهار.

مساعدتك لتصبح فاعلا في جوانب أخرى

يساعدك المحاسبون في مهمات أخرى عديدة مرتبطة بعملك. إذا كنت تخطط لمشروع، يمكنهم مساعدتك على القيام بذلك بطريقة صحيحة والوصول لتوقعات مالية واقعية. إذا كنت تقرر بخصوص البنية القانونية الصحيحة، يمكنهم نصحك بإيجابيات وسلبيات كل منها ومساعدتك في تأسيسها. إذا كنت تبيع وتشتري مشروعا، أو تقوم باستثمارات كبيرة، أو تحاول تأمين تمويل، يمكنهم مساعدتك عبر كل خطوة من هذه المشاريع الكبيرة.

6. كيف تجد محاسب مشاريع صغيرة جيد

إذا قررت توظيف محاسب، يجب أن تتأكد أنك توظف الشخص الصحيح.

من الأماكن الجيدة للبحث عن محاسب هي رابطة المحاسبين المحلية في بلدك. يمتلك العديد منها أدوات بحث على الانترنت، وستحصل على فوائد مضافة تضمن أن المحاسب الذي تجده مؤهل بشكل جيد وعضو في هذه الرابطة.

يمكنك في الولايات المتحدة على سبيل المثال زيارة موقع المعهد الأمريكي للمحاسبين المؤهلين CPA، الذي يتضمن روابط للروابط المحلية في ولايتك. إذا أردت التحقق من مصداقية مصدر معين، يمكنك زيارة CPA Verify.

يقدم معهد المحاسبين المجازين في انكلترا وويلز في المملكة المتحدة خدمة بحث بسيطة على الانترنت يمكنك إيجاد عضو في شركة محاسبة قريب من عنوانك البريدي.

عندما تجد احتمالات متعددة لمحاسبين، وتحصل على تسعيرات، وتختر بعض المرشحين، لا تنس أن تسألهم بعض الأسئلة للتأكد من أنهم مناسبين لك. يضع المحاسب المؤهل كريج أتكنسون بعض الاقتراحات الجيدة، ويمكنك إضافة سؤالك الخاص بناء على حاجاتك وهمومك المعينة. قد تعمل مع محاسب لعدة سنوات، لذا تأكد أنها علاقة صحيحة بالنسبة لك منذ البداية.

الخطوات التالية

أتمنى أنك وجدت هذا الدليل التدريبي مفيدا. لو قمت بعملي بطريقة صحيحة، يجب أن يكون واضحا لديك الآن ما هي وظيفة المحاسب، ويجب أن تكون واعيا لبعض الوضعيات التي يمكن للمحاسب أن يكون مفيدا فيها لمشروعك الصغير.

يجب أن تتوافر لديك أيضا فكرة تقريبية حول تكاليف المحاسبين وأن تكون جاهزا للبحث عن محاسب. بالإضافة لذلك، والأكثر أهمية، أصبح لديك إمكانية لاتخاذ قرار حول توظيف محاسب بناء على الحسابات بدلا من التوقعات.

إذا كان لديك أية أسئلة أو تحب مشاركة معلومات إضافية مع القراء الآخرين، لو سمحت علق في الأسفل، أو قم بزيارة المنتديات.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Accounting
Business

When You Need to Hire a Small Business Accountant

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

When it comes to hiring an accountant, many small business owners ask the wrong question.

Money is often tight in the early days, and you have to be careful about every penny or cent you spend. So people often ask, “Can I afford to hire an accountant?” 

That isn't the most helpful way to look at it though. Really, a better question is: “At what point does hiring an accountant pay for itself?”

Should you hire an accountant for your small business
Should you hire an accountant for your small business? (graphic source)

It’s true that, for very small businesses with very simple financial affairs, hiring an accountant may be an unnecessary expense. But as your business starts to grow, the financial complexity and the number of tax rules you have to comply with can quickly become overwhelming. In this situation, hiring an accountant becomes less like an expense and more like an investment that will pay rapid dividends.

So in this tutorial I’ll show you how you can tell whether you’re at that stage for your own business. I’ll cover what small business accountants do, the benefits of hiring them, how much an accountant costs, and how you can calculate whether the investment makes sense for your business.

By the end, you’ll be clear about what an accountant can do for your small business, and you’ll understand the simple calculations you can perform to decide whether it’s worth hiring one.

1. What Does a Small Business Accountant Do?

First of all, what does an accountant do? What sort of tasks can they take on for your small business?

We’ll go through a few specific examples later on, but here’s a brief overview of what an accountant can do to help your small business:

Handle Your Taxes

This is perhaps the main task for which small business owners turn to an accountant. Even if you can handle the day-to-day bookkeeping for your business, figuring out your tax liability can be a nightmare.

If you hire an accountant, you can simply turn over your records and have them do all the calculations and fill out your tax return at the end of the year. A good accountant will know all the relevant rules, so you can be sure you’re not missing anything.

Beyond that, an accountant can also help you with tax questions throughout the year. For example, they can advise you on the tax implications of various business decisions, or help you with tax planning, or make sure you’re complying with the relevant regulations for sales tax on each transaction.

Budgeting and Planning

An accountant can help you with much more than taxes, however. They can help you with some of the fundamental planning tasks you need to complete for your business.

As I mentioned in my tutorial on writing a business plan, a key component of effective planning is to create a detailed financial plan and make realistic projections about what your income, cash flow and balance sheet will look like for the next few years, if you hit your targets.

I gave some advice on putting together a basic financial model, both in that tutorial and in an earlier one:

But the process can be quite complex, and if you’re not comfortable with spreadsheets and calculations, an accountant can probably do it more quickly and effectively.

Preparing Financial Statements

Ever heard of consolidated financial statements? That’s the income statement, balance sheet, and cash flow statement that companies produce at the end of each year to summarize their performance. You can find out more in our series on the fundamentals of financial statements.

A sole trader or very small business may not need to produce these at first, but once you start to grow, you may be required to have them, or it may simply be useful to have the big picture of the business that they provide. An accountant can help you produce those statements. They can also help you set up your systems correctly for day-to-day bookkeeping:

Give Business Advice

An accountant can also give you more general business advice. If you’re thinking of expanding into a new market or buying another company, they can help you think through the financial implications of the investment and decide whether it’s right for your business.

A few hours of an accountant’s time can really pay off here, by helping you avoid expensive mistakes or identify exciting opportunities.

2. How Much Does a Small Business Accountant Cost?

Of course, the cost of hiring an accountant for your small business will vary quite a bit depending on your location, the size of your business, and the type of services you want.

But it helps to have a rough idea of what it will cost, so here are a few examples. You can find more specific information on the cost for your particular situation by contacting accountants in your area and asking for quotes—I’ll give tips later in this tutorial on how to find an accountant.

In the U.S., according to CostHelper, you can expect to pay between $150 and $400 an hour for a small business accountant’s time. That may sound like a lot, but if your needs are quite simple, you may not need too many hours. The site says:

The owner of an established Northern California retail store with 12 employees generates her own monthly financial statements using QuickBooks software but budgets about $300-$400 annually for two hours of consultation with her accountant.”

In the UK, some accountants charge fixed fees for defined services. For example, SJD Accountancy, which specializes in accounting for contractors, charges £120 a month plus VAT for a fully inclusive service, including unlimited face-to-face consultations. KPMG Small Business charges £145 a month plus VAT for the basic package.

If you just want a particular service, such as a tax return, it should be cheaper. For example, Ainsworth & Co gives an estimate of £100 to £200 plus VAT for completing a simple Self Assessment tax return. Preparing and submitting a simple set of accounts will cost from £600 plus VAT.

3. How to Calculate Whether It’s Worth Hiring an Accountant

So how do you know whether hiring an accountant will pay for itself?

In the previous section, I gave you some rough estimates of the cost of hiring an accountant. It will vary, of course, so I recommend contacting a few accountants in your area and asking for quotes based on your own situation and what you need. Gather a few different quotes, as you would with any other service, and compare the prices and the level of service on offer.

The next step is to calculate how much time you or a member of your staff spend on accounting tasks right now. Keep track of the time you’ve spent over the past year on everything that you’re thinking of outsourcing to an accountant. Don’t forget to factor in time for fixing mistakes, communicating with the tax authorities, etc.

Then decide how much your time is worth—usually based on how much you could earn or how much value you could add to your business by doing something else.

For example, let’s say that you spent 15 hours overall in preparing your annual tax return, and you value your time at $50 an hour. Then the total cost of preparing your tax return yourself would be:

Cost of preparing the return = $50 x 15 = $750

So then the equation is simple. If it will cost you less than $750 to hire an accountant, you’ll end up saving money by doing that. If the accountant will cost more than $750, you won’t.

Even if the accountant costs more than doing it yourself, you may still decide to hire an accountant for some of the other benefits, which we’ll look at in the next section. If the accountant costs less, then it really is a no-brainer.

4. How You Can Benefit From Hiring an Accountant

Beyond the simple financial equation of whether it’s cheaper to outsource than to do your accounting tasks in-house, there are several benefits of hiring an accountant that may help to tilt the scales more towards outsourcing.

Identifying Tax Savings

A good accountant not only takes the hassle out of preparing a tax return, but can also sometimes save you money on your tax bill.

Tax law is complex, after all, and there may be special deductions or allowances that you’re not aware of. Or perhaps by structuring your business or your transactions differently, you can do business in a more tax-efficient way.

Avoiding Penalties

Small businesses can easily get stung with painful penalties by failing to comply with the relevant tax regulations, by making errors on tax returns, or by missing deadlines. With a qualified accountant, you should definitely not be incurring these penalties.

Saving Time

Remember all those hours you calculated in the last section? By freeing them up, you can apply them to other business activities that may be of great benefit to your business. You can also have more mental freedom and focus, without all those accounting worries swirling around in your head.

Helping You Grow

As I mentioned earlier, accountants can give more general business advice. Often you’ll be working with the same accountant for years, so they’ll get to know your business and will be able to offer an informed perspective on your decisions. They can help you make the right steps and foster growth and profitability.

Making You More Effective in Other Situations

Accountants can help you with many other important tasks in your business. If you’re writing a business plan, they can help you do it right and come up with realistic financial projections. If you’re deciding on the right legal structure, they can advise you on the pros and cons of each one and help you set it up. If you’re buying or selling a business, or making major investments, or trying to secure funding, they can help you through each of these major projects.

6. How to Find a Good Small Business Accountant

If you’ve decided to hire an accountant, you want to make sure you’re hiring the right one.

A good place to start when looking for an accountant is the local accounting association in your country. Many of them have online search tools, and you get the added benefit of ensuring that the accountant you find is properly qualified and is a member of this association.

In the U.S., for example, you can visit the American Institute of CPAs website, which includes links to your local state’s association. If you want to check the credentials of a particular provider, you can visit CPA Verify.

In the UK, the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales offers a simple online search function where you can find a member firm near you by entering your postcode.

When you’ve found a few possible accountants, received quotes, and decided on some likely candidates, don’t forget to ask them a few questions to make sure they’re right for you. Chartered accountant Greg Atkinson makes some great suggestions, and you can always add your own questions based on your own specific needs and concerns. You may be working with your accountant for many years, so make sure it’s a relationship that’s right for you from the start.

Next Steps

I hope you’ve found this tutorial useful. If I’ve done my job correctly, you should now be clear about what an accountant does, and you should be aware of some particular situations in which an accountant can be helpful for your small business.

You should also have a rough idea of what an accountant costs and be ready to go out and search for one. And, most importantly, you’re equipped to make the decision about hiring an accountant based on calculations rather than guesswork.

If you have any questions or would like to share extra information with other readers, please leave a comment below, or visit the forums.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.