Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Entrepreneurship
Business

كيف تجهز لعملك في 8 خطوات بسيطة

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

اذا أردت افتتاح عمل ولا تعرف من أين تبدأ، فلا تقلق -- هذا الدرس لك.

عدم معرفة من أين تبدأ هي مشكلة شائعة. على سبيل المثال، وجدت إحصائية من RBC في كندا أن 84% من الذين بدؤوا بعمل قالوا أنهم يفضلون العمل بنفسهم بدلاً من العمل عند أحد آخر. لقد كانت العوائق الأساسية لبدء عمل هي:

  • لا يوجد رأس مال\مال للبدء في الشركة: 44%
  • الحاجة لدخل ثابت\مستقر: 38%
  • الخوف من الفشل: 29%
  • لم يعرفوا كيف يبدؤون: 28%

لقد نشرنا بعض الدروس في السابق لمساعدتك على التغلب على بعض من هذه العوائق، مثل تأمين الموارد المالية، وضع ميزانية لشركة ناشئة، والتخطيط بشكل حذر لتجنب الفشل.

في هذا الدرس، سنتعامل مع العنصر الآخير على هذه القائمة، عندما معرفة من أين تبدأ. سنطلع على بعض الخطوات الإدارية الاساسية التي تحتاج الى اتخاذها عند التجهيز لعملك.

بدون شك، ستختلف الخطوات المحددة كثيراً اعتماداً على الدولة التي تقيم فيها وتفاصيل العمل الذي تبدأ به. وغالباً ما سيكون هنالك اختلافات اقليمية حتى ضمن الدولة الواحدة -- في الولايات المتحدة على سبيل المثال تختلف القوانين قليلاً من ولاية لأخرى.

لذا اعتبر هذا الدرس بمثابة دليل عام للخطوات الرئيسية التي يتضمنها بدء عمل ما، لكن ارجو ان تتذكر دوماً انني لا استطيع تغطية الحالات الخاصة في كل بلد من هذا العالم، لذا ستحتاج للقيام ببعض الأبحاث الإضافية لمعرفة القوانين بشكل دقيق في منطقتك.

في حال كانت حالتك معقدة او لم تكن متأكداً من كيفية المتابعة في أمر ما، فقد يستحق الأمر استشارة من محام او أي محترف آخر ممن لديهم الخبرة في تفاصيل بدء عمل ضمن منطقتك. يمكنك ايضاً الحصول على بعض المعلومات الرائعة من من بعض المنظمات المهنية ومنظمات التجارة المحلية.

كمثال، باعتباري كاتب مقيم في المملكة المتحدة، فإنني عضو في مجمع المؤلفين، والذي يقدم الإرشاد والنصح حول جميع قضايا الضرائب والمشاكل العملية الأخرى مقابل اشتراك سنوي قيمته 102 جنيهاً استرلينياً. لذا قم بالبحث عن منظمة مشابهة في بلدك وصناعتك، وتعرف على التفاصيل الدقيقة التي تحتاجها.

ايضاً، لاحظ أن هذا الدرس يركز على الخطوات الإدارية التي تتضمنها عملية التجهيز لشركة ما. من أجل الحصول على صورة أكبر لعملية البدء بعمل، بدءاً من الحصول على فكرة وكتابة خطة عمل وحتى القيام بالحملة التسويقة التي تسبق إطلاقه، قم بقراءة هذا الدرس الشامل:

ومع كل ما قيل، لنقم بالمرور على كيفية تجهيز عمل ما!

1. اختر بنيتك

هناك العديد من الطرق المختلفة التي يمكنك التجهيز فيها لعملك. الطريقة التي تختارها ستؤثر بشكل كبير على أمور مثل مقدار الضرائب التي تدفعها، مقدار المسؤولية التي تقع على عاتقك في حال جرت الأمور بشكل خاطئ، وكم هو مقدار العبء الإداري الذي ستتحمله.

على سبيل المثال، في العديد من البلدان يمكنك ان تبدأ عملاً كـ "مالك وحيد" او "تاجر وحيد"، والذي يعني أن بإمكانك تجاوز الكثير من العقبات الإدارية الخاصة ببدء عمل وأن تقوم بتشغيله تحت اسمك الخاص. لكن هذا قد يكون خطراً، لأنك تتحمل المسؤولية الشخصية عن شركتك -- اذا تمت مقاضاة شركتك من قبل عميل غاضب، على سبيل المثال، فإنك قد تضطر للدفع من جيبك الخاص.

بينما مع الشركة المحدودة المسؤولية (بالإنجليزية Limited-Liability Company) فإن ممتلكاتك الشخصية تكون معفية من ديون ومسؤوليات الشركة. كما أن هذه البنية قد توفر مزايا في موضوع الضرائب. لكن بالمقابل، فإنها تجهيزها معقد أكثر ومكلف أكثر، وستحتاج الى التأكد من الإذعان الى المزيد من القوانين لكي يتم اعتبارك ش.م.م صالحة.

هناك العديد من الخيارات الأخرى ايضاً، مثل الشراكات (بالإنجليزية Partnerships)، التعاونيات (بالإنجليزية Cooperatives)، والانواع العديدة للمؤسسات التجارية (بالإنجليزية Corporations)، ولكن منها صفات مختلفة عن الآخر. لملخص عن هذه الانواع المختلفة من البنى القانونية وميزات ومساوئ كلٍ منها، اطلع على هذا الدرس:

2. سجل اسم شركتك

إن اختيار اسم لعملك يمكن أن يكون أمراً صعباً. فأنت بحاجة الى شيء مميز وسهل التذكر، وبنفس الوقات شيئاً سيجذب الزبون الذي تستهدفه، ويفضل أن، ويوصل رسالة حول شركتك او الطريقة التي تعمل بها.

بالإضافة الى ذلك فإنك ترغب بشيء يعمل جيداً على الشبكة (أي بإمكانك ان تجد اسم نطاق جيد له، وبنفس الوقت لن يتم الخلط بينه وبين شيء آخر في نتائج البحث). وتريد كذلك كلمة او عبارة بلفظ يعلق في الذاكرة ومرتبطٌ عند الناس بأمور جيدة.

هذا مقدار كبير من الأمور لكي تفكر بها -- واذا كنت تستهدف زبائن ممن يتكلمون لغات مختلفة، فإن مشاكلك هذه هي البداية فقط.

لحسن الحظ، لدينا درس سيساعدك:

لكن حالما اخترت الاسم المثالي، ما الذي ستقوم به بعد ذلك؟ بشكل عام، اذا كان اسم علمك هو اي اسم آخر غير اسمك الشخصي، فإن عليك تسجيله ضمن حكومتك المحلية او الوطنية. وغالباً من الممكن القيام بذلك على الشبكة.

في استراليا مثلاً، يمكنك التوجه نحو موقع الويب للهيئة الاسترالية للأوراق المالية والاستثمارات. في المملكة المتحدة قم بزيارة بيت الشركات. وفي الولايات المتحدة، غالباً ما تحتاج لتسجيل عملك على مستوى الولاية؛ وإليك قائمة مفيدة بمواقع الويب لزيارتها بحسب الولاية.

قد ترغب أيضاً بتسجيل اسم عملك كعلامة تجارية. لا يستحق الأمر أن تقوم بذلك دوماً، خصوصاً عندما تكون قد بدأت من فترة قصيرة، لكن اسماء العلامات التجارية يمكن في نهاية المطاف أن تكون قيمة جداً، لذا من المفيد أن تفكر بها. للمزيد حول مساوئ ومحاسن تسجيل اسم عملك كعلامة تجارية والتدابير العملية للقيام بذلك، اطلع على:

3. احصل على رقم ضريبي

مالم تكن محظوظاً بشكل كافي لكي تدير عملك في ملاذ ضريبي (بالإنجليزية Tax Haven) خارج بلادك، فمن المؤكد أن حكومتك سترغب بمعرفة كل شيء حول عملك الجديد، بحيث يمكنها البدء بأخذ الضرائب منك من اللحظة التي تبدأ فيها جني المال.

بشكل عام، هذا يعني التقدم بطلب الحصول على رقم ضريبي جديد والذي سيعطي هوية لعملك من أجل الأغراض الضريبية. او اذا كنت تدير عملك كمالك واحد، فإنك قد تكون قادراً على استعمال معرفك الضريبي الشخصي بدلاً من معرف العمل الخاص بك.

في الولايات المتحدة على سبيل المثال يمكنك استعمال رقم الضمان الإجتماعي (بالإنجليزية Social Security Nummber) لعملك في حال كنت المالك الوحيد. لكن لأي بنية قانونية أخرى، ستحتاج الى التقدم لرقم تعريفي لصاحب عمل (بالإنجليزية Employer Identification Number) ، والذي يمكنك القيام به من خلال موقع دائرة الإيرادات الداخلية للولايات المتحدة.

حتى الملاك الوحيدون قد يحتاجون لرقم التعريف هذا اذا ارادوا القيام بأمور مثل توظيف الموظفين او شراء عمل آخر. وكما اشار المحامي ستيفن فيشمان (Stephen Fishman)، قد ترغب بالحصول على رقم تعريفي لصاحب العمل حتى لو لم تحتج لواحد، من أجل تجنب عملية سرقة الهوية، تأسيس وضع كمقاول مستقل، ولتسهيل الأمور عند التعامل من المصارف.

اذا كنت تعيش في بلد مختلف، فإن اسم المعرف الخاص بك سيختلف، لكن من المحتمل انك ستحتاج واحداً لذا راجع السلطات الخاصة في الضرائب لمعرفة ما هي القوانين.

4. سجل نطاق اسم لموقع الويب الخاص بك

حتى لو لم تكن تخطط للقيام بعمل على الشبكة، فإنك ستحتاج على الأقل لموقع ويب بسيط يقدم معلومات حول شركتك. في هذه الأيام يتوقع الزبائن ذلك، وسيعطيك مستوى من المصداقية والاحترافية التي لا يمكن لصفحة فيسبوك أو ذكرك على موقع ويب آخر أن يقوم به.

كما أن تجهيز ذلك سهل حقاً -- مع موقع WordPress وثيم احترافية المظهر من مكان ما مثل متجر Envato، فيمكنك أن تكون جاهزاً وتشغل الموقع بوقت لا يذكر. إنها طريقة سهلة لزيادة وصولك للناس ولجذب المزيد من الزبائن.

لكن قبل أن تتمكن من القيام بذلك، بدون شك، فإنك ستحتاج الى اسم نطاق لعملك.

السنوات الأخيرة شهدت تزايداً كبيراً في النطاقات عالية المستوى، او الاضافات (بمعنى آخر، ليس على كل عمل أن يكون "dot com" -- يمكنه أن يكون "dot io"، او "dot xyz"، الخ.). لذا لم تعد المنافسة كما كانت سابقاً. لكنك ما زلت بحاجة الى أن تسجل اسم النطاق باكراً، للتأكد من أن الاسم الذي ترغبه متوافر ولن يستولي عليه أي أحد لاحقاً.

اذا كنت ترغب بتجربة بعض الأمزجة المختلفة لكي تجد اسم النطاق المناسب، جرب Bust a Name، حيث يمكنك أن تدخل عبارات أساسية وترى بعض الاقتراحات لاسماء النطاقات المتوافرة. لكن الأمر يعمل مع عدد محدود من الإضافات فقط، رغم ذلك.

اذا كنت تعرف حالياً اسم النطاق الذي ترغب به، وتريد أن ترى فقط ما هو متوافر وبأي سعر، فإن افضل خيار لك هو Domcomp، والذي يقارن التوافرية والاسعار لأكثر من 2000 نطاق مستوى علوي ضمن أكثر من 30 مسجل اسماء نطاقات. (مسجل اسماء النطاقات هي ببساطة شركة يمكنك من خلالها تسجيل اسم نطاق مقابل رسم سنوي.)

اتباع الروابط التي تظهر في Domcomp سيأخذك الى موقع الويب الخاص بالمسجل، حيث يمكنك ان تسجل اسم النطاق بخطوات بسيطة قليلة.

طبعاً ما تزال بحاجة الى استضافة على الويب وإعداد للموقع، لكنك على الأقل سجلت اسم النطاق، ولم تعد بحاجة الى القلق من أن يأخذه أحد غيرك، ويمكنك اضافة الرابط في اي مواد تسويقية تقوم بتحضيرها.

5. احص على التصاريح والرخص الضرورية

اذاً قمت بتسجيل اسم شركتك واستحوذت على معرف ضريبي في وقت باكر، اليس كذلك؟ لكن انتظر، لم تنتهي الحكومة منك بعد. اذا لم تحصل على التراخيص والتصريحات الصحيحة لتشغيل عملك، فإنك قد تواجه غرامات قاسية او حتى، في اسوء الحالات، اغلاق العمل الخاص بك.

وبينما تبدو مثل هذه المتطلبات كإجراءات بيروقراطية كثيرة، فإنها تخدم هدفاً محدداً: حماية الزبائن. الحصول على رخصة يظهر بأنك اجتزت اختبارات الحكومة وفي بعض الحالات يدل على امتلاكك للمؤهلات الضرورية للقيام بهذه الوظيفة.

موقع الويب الخاص بحكومتك هو المكان الذي يجب أن تبدأ فيه لمعرفة التصاريح المطلوبة. في كندا مثلاً، يمكنك ايجاد هذه قائمة بها على موقع شبكة كندا للأعمال. في الولايات المتحدة، تقوم إدارة الأعمال الصغيرة بتجميع روابط للمواقع الخاصة بجميع الولايات.

6. جهز حساب مصرفياً لعملك

اذا اخترت اياً من البنى القانونية المعقدة، فمن المؤكد أنك ستحتاج الى حساب مصرفي. اذا كنت تدير العمل كمالك وحيد، فمن الممكن استعمال حسابك المصرفي الشخصي، لكنها ليست بالفكرة الجيدة.

من اجل شيء واحد، ستقوم بجعل بقية الأشياء اصعب عندما يتعلق الامر بفصل أرباح عملك ونفقاته عن اموالك الشخصية. قد تعاني ايضاً عند محاولتك اقناع السلطات الضريبية بأنه عمل قانوني وأن أي نفقات تقوم باقتطاعها هي حقاً متعلقة بالعمل. وخلط مورادك المالية من الممكن أن يلغي فائدة أي خطوات اخرى اتخذتها للتقليل من مسؤوليتك الشخصية القانونية.

تقليدياً، تقوم المصارف بأخذ رسوم اعلى على الحسابات المصرفية للأعمال أكثر من الحسابات الشخصية، ولكن ليس هذا ما يجري دوماً. الكثير من حسابات الأعمال المصرفية متوافرة الآن دون اي رسوم شهرية. اداة البحث هذه تبين بعضاً من أفضل العروض المتوافرة بين مصارف الولايات المتحدة. لذا ليس هنالك عذر لعدم تجهيز حساب مصرفي لعملك الخاص.

7. جهز نظام محاسبة بسيط

قبل أن تبدأ بتشغيل عملك، فإنك تحتاج الى تجهيز نظام بسيط لتعقب الدخل الذي تجنيه والمصاريف التي تتحملها.

عبارة "محاسبة" من الممكن أن ترعب بعض الناس، لكن الأمر لا يحتاج الى يكون معقداً جداً. هنالك الكثير من التطبيقات التي يمكنك استعمالها هذه الأيام لتبسيط الامور، وضمن ابسط مستوى، للأعمال الصغيرة جداً، يمكنك ببساطة ان تستعمل جدول بيانياً مع قائمة بعناصر الدخل والانفاق مع التواريخ والتفاصيل التي تميز كلاً منها.

عندما تكون قد بدأت للتو، فلن تكون بحاجة الي امتلاك الحل المثالي في موضعه، خصوصاً اذا كنت تبداً على نطاق صغير. لكن عليك أن تمتلك بعض الحلول في مواضعها. تعقب المال الذي يدخل ويخرج من علمك هو امر سهل اذا قمت به تدريجياً ومن البداية، لكنه كابوس اذا كان عليك العودة وإعادة بناءه لاحقاً.

لذا جهز شيئاً من البداية، مهما كان اولياً او غير متطور. للمزيد من الإرشاد حول هذا الموضوع، شاهد هذه الدروس:

8. احصل على التأمين الصحيح

بالنسبة لمعظم مالكي الأعمال، فإن "التأمين" تأتي مباشرة بعد "محاسبة" في قائمة الكلمات التي لا يسمعونها.

لكن، كما هو الحال مع المحاسبة، لا داع لأن يكون التأمين معقداً. هناك عدد من الانواع الاساسية التي تتعلق بالأعمال، مثل تأمين المسؤولية العام، تأمين المسؤولية المهنية، والتأمين على الممتلكات التجارية.

أنواع مختلفة من الشركات قد تحتاج ايضاً الى تأمين على المركبات، تأمين على تعويضات العمال، تأمين العمل في المنزل، او انواع اخرى من انظمة التأمين المتخصصة. بعض الانظمة قد تكون مطلوبة من قبل القوانين الحكومية.

لمعرفة المزيد حول معنى أنواع التأمين هذه وما اذا كنت بحاجة اليها، اقرأ هذا الدرس:

الخطوات التالية

بالاعتماد على حالتك، فقد يكون هنالك بعض الخطوات الإضافية اللازمة لتجهيز عمل صغير. على سبيل المثال، قد تحتاج ان تجد موقعاً لعملك او قد تحتاج لشراء او استئجار معدات خاصة. او ربما تحتاج لتوظيف موظفين، وفي هذه الحالة ستحتاج الى القفز فوق عدد من المطبات الإدارية، كما ذكرت في القسم الأخير من درسي حول توظيف اول موظفيك. وكما ذكرت في البداية، قد يكون هنالك بعض المتطلبات الخاصة في دولتك والتي يجب عليك تنفيذها.

لكن هذا الدرس قام بتغطية الخطوات الإدارية الرئيسية التي يتضمنها البدء بعمل صغير. لقد تعلمت عن:

  • اختيار بنية قانونية
  • تسجيل اسم شركتك
  • الإعداد للضرائب
  • تسجيل نطاق اسم موقع الويب الخاص بك
  • الحصول على التراخيص والتصريحات الضرورية
  • تجهيز حساب مصرفي للعمل
  • تصميم نظام محاسبة بسيط
  • الحصول على التأمين الصحيح

رغم ذلك، تذكر دوماً أن الخطوات الإدارية هي فقط جزء من عملية البدء بعمل. اذا اردت أن تكون ناجحاً، فإنك بحاجة الى امتلاك فهم واضح لمن هم عملاؤك المستهدفون، كيف ستخدمهم، كيف ستجني المال، وغير ذلك المزيد.

اذا لم تنجز كل ذلك بعد، فإن الدرس التالي قد يكون درساً جيداً لكي تقرأه بعد هذا:

الرسومات

Sequence مصممة من قبل Peipei Feng من Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Entrepreneurship
Business

How to Set Up a Business in 8 Simple Steps

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

If you want to start a business but don’t know where to begin, don’t worry—this tutorial is for you.

Not knowing where to start is a common problem. In a survey by RBC in Canada, for example, 84% of those who had not started a business said they would rather work for themselves than for someone else. The top barriers to starting a business were:

  • No capital/start-up money: 44%
  • Need steady/reliable income: 38%
  • Fear of failure: 29%
  • Did not know how to start: 28%

We’ve published tutorials in the past to help overcome some of those barriers, such as securing funding, budgeting for a startup, and planning carefully to avoid failure.

In this tutorial, we’ll deal with the final item on that list: not knowing where to start. We’ll look at some of the basic administrative steps you need to take when setting up a business.

The specific steps, of course, vary a lot depending on which country you’re in and the details of the business you’re starting. And often there’ll be regional differences even within countries—in the U.S., for example, the rules vary slightly in each state.

So consider this a general guide to the main steps involved, but please keep in mind that I can’t cover the specific situation in each country of the world, so you’ll need to do some additional research to find out exactly what the rules are in your jurisdiction.

If your situation is complex or you’re unsure how to proceed, it may be worth consulting a lawyer or other professional who’s familiar with the details of starting a business in your location. You can also get some great information from local trade and professional organizations. 

As a writer based in the UK, for example, I’m a member of the Society of Authors, which provides guidance and advice on all sorts of tax issues and other practical problems in exchange for a £102 annual subscription. So look for a similar organisation in your country and industry, and find the specific details you need.

Also, note that this tutorial focuses on the administrative steps involved in setting up a company. For a fuller picture of the process of starting a business, from coming up with an idea and writing a business plan through to running a pre-launch marketing campaign, see this comprehensive tutorial:

With that said, let’s run through how to set up a business!

1. Choose Your Structure

There are various different ways in which you can set up your business. Which one you choose can make a big difference to things like how much tax you pay, how much liability you have if things go wrong, and how much administrative burden you have.

For example, in many countries you can run a business as a “sole proprietor” or “sole trader”, which means you can skip many of the administrative hurdles of starting a business and just operate it under your own name. But this can be dangerous, because you have personal liability for your company—if the firm gets sued by an angry client, for example, you may have to pay out of your own pocket.

With a limited-liability company, on the other hand, your personal assets are shielded from the company’s debts and liabilities. There may also be tax advantages to this structure. But on the other hand, they’re more complex and expensive to set up, and you’ll need to make sure you comply with more rules to be considered a valid LLC.

There are several other options, too, like partnerships, cooperatives, and various types of corporations, all with their own distinctive characteristics. For a summary of these different types of legal structure and the pros and cons of each, see this tutorial:

2. Register Your Company Name

Choosing a name for your business can be tough. You need something unique and memorable, but also something that will appeal to your target customer and that, ideally, communicates something about your company or the way you do business. 

You also want something that will work well online (i.e. you can find a good domain name for it, and it won’t get confused with something else in search results). And you want a word or phrase with a catchy sound and good associations.

It’s a lot to consider—and if you’re also targeting customers who speak different languages, your problems are only just beginning.

Fortunately, we’ve got a tutorial to help you:

But once you’ve chosen the perfect name, what do you do then? Generally, if the business name is anything other than your own personal name, you’ll have to register it with your national or local government. Often it’s possible to do this online.

In Australia, for example, you can go to the Australian Security & Investments Commission website. In the UK, you’ll want to visit Companies House. And in the U.S., you’ll generally need to register your business at the state level; here’s a useful list of the websites to visit for each state.

You may also want to trademark your business name. It’s not always worth doing this, especially when you’re just starting out, but brands can end up being extremely valuable, so it’s worth considering. For more about the pros and cons of trademarking your business name and the practicalities of doing it, see:

3. Get a Tax ID

Unless you’re lucky enough to operate in some offshore tax haven, it’s almost certain that your government will want to know all about your new business, so that it can start taxing you from the moment you start making money.

Generally, that means applying for a new ID number that will identify your business for tax purposes. Or if you’re running the business as a sole proprietor, you may be able to use your individual tax ID for your business instead.

In the U.S., for example, you can use your Social Security Number for your business if you’re a sole proprietor. But for any other legal structure, you’ll need to apply for an Employer Identification Number (EIN), which you can do through the IRS website.

Even sole proprietors will need an EIN if they do things like hiring employees or buying other businesses. And as attorney Stephen Fishman points out, you may want to get an EIN even if you don’t need one, in order to avoid identity theft, establish independent contractor status, and make things easier when dealing with banks.

If you live in a different country, the name of the ID will differ, but it’s likely that you’ll need one, so check with your tax authorities to see what the rules are.

4. Register Your Website Domain Name

Even if you don’t plan to do business online, you need at least a basic website to provide information about your company. Customers expect it these days, and it gives you a level of credibility and professionalism that a Facebook page or a listing on another website simply can’t.

Getting set up is pretty easy, too—with a WordPress site and a professional-looking theme from somewhere like Envato Market, you can be up and running in no time. It’s an easy way to increase your reach and attract more customers.

But before you can do that, of course, you’ll need a domain name for your business.

Recent years have seen a proliferation of top-level domains, or extensions (in other words, not every business has to be a “dot com”—you can be a “dot io”, “dot xyz”, etc.). So competition is not what it once was. But you’ll still need to register your domain name early, to make sure that the one you want is available and that nobody else snaps it up later on.

If you want to try out some different combinations to find the right domain name, try Bust a Name, where you can enter your key terms and see some suggestions of available domain names. It only works with a limited number of extensions, though.

If you already know which domain name you want, and you just want to see what’s available and at what price, your best bet is Domcomp, which compares availability and pricing for almost 2,000 top-level domains across more than 30 registrars. (A registrar is simply a company through which you can register your domain name in return for an annual fee.)

Following the links from Domcomp will take you to the registrar’s website, where you can register your domain name in a few simple steps.

You’ll still need to find a web host and set up your site, of course, but at least once you’ve registered the domain name, you don’t have to worry about someone else taking it, and you can include the URL in any marketing materials you’re preparing.

5. Pick Up the Necessary Licences and Permits

So you registered your company name and acquired a tax ID earlier, right? But wait, the government hasn't finished with you yet! If you don’t get the right permits and licences to run your business, you could face heavy fines or even, in extreme cases, the closure of your business.

While these requirements may seem like a lot of bureaucracy, they do serve a purpose: protecting customers. Getting a licence shows that you have passed the government’s checks and in some cases that you have the necessary qualifications to do your job.

Your government website is the place to start when finding which permits you need. In Canada, for example, you can find a list on the Canada Business Network site. In the U.S., the Small Business Administration compiles links to all the state websites.

6. Set Up a Business Bank Account

If you set up any of the more complex legal structures, you’ll definitely need a bank account. If you operate as a sole proprietor, it’s possible to use your personal bank account, but not a good idea.

For one thing, you’ll make things harder for yourself when it comes to separating business profits and expenses from personal ones. You may also struggle to convince the tax authorities that it’s a legitimate business and that any expenses you deduct are truly business-related. And mingling your finances can also negate any other steps you may have taken to reduce your personal legal liability.

Traditionally, banks have charged much higher fees for business bank accounts than for personal ones, but that's not always the case now. Many business bank accounts are now available for no monthly fee. This search tool highlights some of the best offers available among U.S. banks. So there's no excuse not to get a bank account set up for your business.

7. Set Up a Basic Accounting System

Before you start operating your business, you need to set up a basic system for tracking the revenue you make and the expenses you incur.

The word “accounting” can give some people chills, but it doesn’t have to be very complicated. There are plenty of apps you can use these days to make things simple, and at the most basic level, for a very small business, you could simply use a spreadsheet with a list of revenue and expense items with dates and identifying details.

When you’re first starting out, you don’t have to have the perfect solution in place, particularly if you’re starting small. But you do have to have some solution in place. Keeping track of the money flowing in and out of your business is easy if you do it as you go along, but a nightmare if you have to go back and reconstruct it later.

So get something in place right from the start, no matter how rudimentary. For more guidance, see these tutorials:

8. Get the Right Insurance

For most business owners, “insurance” comes right after “accounting” in the list of words they don’t want to hear.

But, as with accounting, insurance doesn’t have to be complicated. There are several basic types that are relevant to businesses, such as general liability insurance, professional liability insurance, and commercial property insurance.

Different types of companies may also need vehicle insurance, workers’ compensation insurance, in-home business insurance, or a variety of other specialist insurance policies. Some policies may even be required by government regulations.

To find out what these types of insurance mean and whether you need them, read this tutorial:

Next Steps

Depending on your situation, there may be extra steps involved in setting up a small business. For example, you may need to find a location for your business and buy or lease special equipment. Or you may need to hire employees, in which case you’ll need to jump through a number of administrative hoops, as I mention in the last section of my tutorial on hiring your first employees. And, as I mentioned at the beginning, there may be particular requirements in your country that you’ll need to meet.

But this tutorial has covered the main administrative steps involved in starting a small business. You’ve learnt about:

  • choosing a legal structure
  • registering your company name
  • getting set up for tax
  • registering your website domain name
  • getting the necessary licences and permits
  • setting up a business bank account
  • creating a basic accounting system
  • getting the right insurance

Keep in mind, though, that the administrative steps are only a part of the process of starting a business. If you want to be successful, you’ll need to have a clear understanding of who your target clients are, how you will serve them, how you’ll make money, and much more.

If you haven’t done all of that yet, the following tutorial would be a good one to read next:

Graphic Credit

Sequence designed by Peipei Feng from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.