Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Content Marketing
Business

內容營銷指標:如何衡量你的投資回報率

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Shu Wu (you can also view the original English article)

在最近的幾週裡,我們有知道什麼是內容營銷,如何撰寫一個精細的營銷計畫,還有如何開一個公司博客

但是人們經常面臨的問題之一是這些是否真正適用。 你或你的團隊花了數十個小時寫博客、 創建電商活動宣傳並與人在社交媒體上互動,但你怎麼知道這一切是否值得?

問題不是缺乏資訊,而是知道要跟蹤哪些資訊。 你應該關心的讚的數量、 粉絲、 評論、 分享、 網頁瀏覽量、 電子郵件註冊數,購買率,或別的東西?

如果你不確定,不要擔心 — 因為你和大多數人一樣。 一個2016年內容營銷研究所的報告發現︰

  • 只有30%的B2B營銷人員說,他們企業的內容營銷是有效的。
  • 只有44%知道什麼是成功的內容營銷或成效如何。

所以在這篇教程裡,你將了解跟踪哪些內容營銷指標以及如何計算內容營銷ROI(投資回報率)。 我們一步一步,教你如何確定你內容的營銷目標,以便你可以決定如何跟蹤信息。 然後我們會看看如何使用不同的度量,如何計算成本,以及如何確定投資回報率。 我們將完成一個現實檢查,看看哪些是不能衡量的

Content Marketing Metrics ROI
計算內容營銷銷度量值 (圖形

在本教程結束之前,你將有能力衡量你的內容營銷工作的成功與否,確定哪些有效,哪些不成功,並確保你的業務正在為你的內容營銷帶來最大的衝擊。

1.確定你的目標

確定你內容市場營銷工作的第一步是,你意味著什麼是你的"工作"。 換句話說,你的目標是什麼?

內容營銷研究所下面的圖表所示,做內容營銷有各種不同的理由

Organizational Goals for Content Marketing

你的目標取決於使用不同的度量標準。 例如,如果你的目標是“銷售”,那麼這個指標就是很清楚的:你需要實現多少的銷售量就是你的內容營銷的結果? 但是,如果是“潛在客戶”,那麼你可能希望跟踪他註冊的電子郵件或以其他方式。 如果你的目標是“參與”,那麼也許你想跟踪你的帖子所產生的意見,分享或讚的數量。

這些只是一些簡單的例子,我們將在下一節中詳細介紹不同的指標。 現在,你只需要定義內容營銷的目標,以便在下一節中,我們可以為其分配適當的指標。 有關更多信息以及如何適應更廣泛的內容營銷策略,請參閱勞倫 · 霍利迪的教程:

2.營銷績效評價指標的內容

一旦你知道什麼對妳來說是最重要的,你如何來衡量它?

營銷顧問傑伊 · 貝爾在為Ceros寫的文章中,內容行銷標準來思考提供了一個良好的框架︰

  1. 消費指標
  2. 分享指標
  3. 潛在客戶生成指標
  4. 銷售指標

讓我們來看看各項的細節吧。

消費指標

這項指標主要是衡量有多少人讀了或看了你的內容。

所以,如果你運行一個博客,這可能是一個簡單的流量衡量,如網頁瀏覽量或訪問者,儘管其它的數據,如“平均頁面停留時間”也是有用的。 如果你製作YouTube視頻,則可以跟踪觀看次數,如果你的內容營銷涉及Facebook帖子,推文或其他社交媒體的帖子,則許多平台可以提供了衡量你的帖子“達到目標”的方法。

分享指標

內容營銷和傳統廣告相比一個最大優點是人們經常分享你的內容,這樣帶來免費的宣傳和推薦。 所以這些指標需要看人們在Facebook,Twitter,Pinterest和其他網站上分享你的內容的頻率。

跟蹤這些數據的一個簡單的方法是通過像Buzzsumo這樣的網站,在那裡你置入你網站的 URL和看到大多數分享的帖子。 例如,下面是tutsplus.com上的數據

Buzzsumo Sharing Results for tutsplus

潛在客戶生成指標

這是開始轉換的讀者或觀眾成為客戶的關鍵。 就我個人而言,我不太喜歡“銷售渠道”的比喻 - 聽起來像是工業化的待人方式 - 但是基本理念是將你的潛在客戶吸引到渠道的頂端,當他們墜落時加以漏斗處理,並在另一端輸出為付費客戶。

因此,“潛在客戶”的指標可以捕捉你的內容營銷吸引人們成為客戶或潛在客戶的衡量標準。 一般來說,當他們表達有興趣聽取更多的信息時,他們就會成為潛在客戶,所以這裡的指標可能是註冊你的電子郵件通訊錄,填寫聯繫表或註冊你網站上的免費會員。

如果你的內容營銷是基於社交媒體的,你可以查看跟隨者(粉絲)數量,但請注意,你需要一個很長的時間才能將Twitter跟隨者(粉絲)轉換為付費客戶。 你獲得的聯繫越直接,他們對妳的興趣度就越高。

如果您想了解有關銷售渠道的更多詳細信息(不考慮我稍微懷疑的評論),請參閱本教程:

銷售指標

現在,我們開始處理錢的問題。 當人們最終決定要從你這買東西,你需要瞭解有多少購買來自你內容營銷的結果。

例如,你可以跟踪從電子郵件銷售到你網站的點擊次數,並查看其中有多少點擊率造成銷售。 同樣,在Google Analytics(分析)等程序中,你可以看到人們如何瀏覽你的網站,以及有多少最終客戶來自你的博客。

你可能希望跟踪來自內容營銷的收入,或者你指標的百分比轉化率 - 你的觀眾和讀者成為付費客戶的比例。

其他指標

雖然這個框架很有用,但它並不涵蓋所有指標。 例如,也許你的目標定位是增加你網站的可信度,在這個案例中,你希望衡量某些關鍵字在搜索引擎排名。 正如我之前提到的,如果你需要客戶的參與,你可能對博客評論或社交媒體評論的內容感興趣。

將這些做為開端,而不要侷限在此。 這裡有很多的資料提供給你,但最重要的事情是你選擇你所制訂的目標指標。

3.規劃成本

查看頁面瀏覽量和社交媒體的分享是很常見的,但不要忘記將創建所有內容的費用加起來。 這是,我們很快會計算的回報的"投資"。

如果你正在招聘自由職業者為你創建內容,那麼產生的這些費用是必須要衡量的。 如果你自己製作,或者讓你公司的人員創建它,那麼你將不得不考慮花費的時間成本。

例如,如果你每週需要支付你的營銷經理1,000美元,並且每週花費40個小時的時間來進行內容營銷活動,那麼內容營銷的成本是每週250美元。 如果是你自己在做,你需要估計自己的時間值多少錢,並進行類似的計算。

不要忘記計算所有的相關費用,例如你博客的託管費用,使用酷炫社交媒體管理工具的月費,僱用設計師的費用,一般辦公室的開銷等等。

4.計算你的內容的營銷投資回報 ROI

為了計算你的投資回報率,你只需計算內容營銷中獲取的金額和你付出成本的百分比。 這裡是投資回報率計算公式︰

投資回報率 = (收入 − 成本) / 成本

所以,例如,如果你從內容營銷中獲得了1,000美元,並且花費800美元的成本,則你的投資回報率將是:

投資回報率 = ($1,000 — 800 美元) / $800 = $200 / $800 = 25%

你可以在一段時間內計算整體內容營銷的投資回報率,或者如果你有足夠的數據可用,則可以給特定渠道或甚至是特定內容計算投資回報率。

當然,這些都需要根據你的目標和你要跟踪信息來計算,有可能你的指標可能沒有任何價值。 如果是這種情況,計算投資回報率依然有用,為了確保你可以正常計算,你需要為你的指標分配一個美元的價值。

畢竟,你在跟蹤它的信息,因為它可以為妳的業務帶來價值,難道不是嗎? 所以你只需要決定它的價值是多少而已。

例如,如果你正在跟踪潛在客戶,你可以翻看一些和業務相關的過去統計的信息,了解每個潛在客戶的價值。 你會發現,例如有10%的潛在客戶最終會轉化為付費客戶,而這些客戶的平均支出為100美元。

所以,在這種情況下,每個潛在客戶的價值就是10 美元 ($100 的 10%)。 如果你獲得了50個新的潛在客戶,那麼你投入投資回報率公式的“收入”數字就是$ 500(50 x $ 10)。

5.擁抱未知

你可能知道一句古話:

“花在廣告上一半的錢被浪費了;問題是我不知道是哪一半。“

這句話源於印刷傳統廣告的日子,幾乎沒有辦法知道在哪個報紙或廣告牌,有哪些人看到你的廣告,並且其中有多少成為了最終客戶。

但是通過互聯網上的內容營銷,我們有更多的方式跟踪客戶的行為並以此來衡量你的成功率。 在本教程中我們已經看過其中的一些衡量標準了,而且還有更多的指標 - 我們現在是數據時代。

但是不要被豐富的數據所誤導,讓妳以為你可以瞭解所有的事情。 有時候,人們會閱讀你的博文或觀看你的視頻,雖然也許他們會發現這些博文或視頻非常有用或有趣,但是他們不會有任何實質行動來讓妳衡量這些內容。 沒有評論,沒有註冊,就沒有銷售。 數據將顯示潛在的客戶被丟失。

但是後來,當他們再次遇到你的公司的相關內容時,他們會對它有積極的反應,因為你過去提供的這個好的內容對他們造成有意識或無意識的影響。 也許在那個時候,或者也許是第七或第十七次他們遇到你的內容,他們終於會採取行動。 在你之前的統計數據中,因為他們看了你的內容,但數據卻顯示沒有效果,但最終卻產生了銷售結果。 所以,這點傳統廣告商很清楚︰ 這就是為什麼廣告會不停的重複。

因此,你需要記住的最後一點是衡量內容營銷成功的指標,有時候根本無法衡量。 當你將文章或視頻或其他內容放入社會的時候,結果有可能是意想不到的。

除了以意想不到的方式擁有了新客戶,你還可能會發現自己被邀請在會議中發表講話,或者你的言論在報紙上被引用,或者吸引新的商業夥伴,這一切都來源於你寫了一篇好的文章。 這種無形的力量在建立權威和品牌知名度是非常強大的。

我們的Envato Tuts +資料分析師,邁克爾 · 詹姆斯 · 威廉斯,最近在一系列文章中解釋了數據可能會導致有誤導作用。 我希望你能讀讀他們

結論

在這篇文章中,你學會如何去丈量你內容營銷的標準。 你了解到明確定義你目標的重要性,並確保你的指標與這些目標保持一致。

我們分析了使用的各種不同的指標,並向你介紹如何計算內容營銷投資回報率。 最後我們討論了一些內容營銷無形的力量和意想不到的好處。

最後要注意的一件事是:內容營銷是一項長期戰略目標。 一開始,可能很難得到任何關注,但如果你堅持幾個月或幾年,你可以開始看到一個雪球效應,因為你獲得更多的粉絲,而那些粉絲會合其他人分享你的內容,讓你更多的粉絲。

所以如果你發現自己在最初幾個月的是負的投資回報率,不要驚慌, 因為這是完全正常的。 它可能需要一年或更多的時間讓妳看到努力結出果實。 和任何商業項目一樣,你最終都希望看到一個可衡量的結果,但請在初期耐心等待。 關鍵因素是確認你選擇的指標或指標正朝著正確的方向前進,你可以用這些結果來了解哪些類型的內容最適合妳的目標受眾群體,並為他們提供更多相關的內容。

我希望這篇教程能夠幫到你。 如果妳有任何疑問,在這裡或在論壇中,隨時留下評論。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Content Marketing
Business

Content Marketing Metrics: How to Measure Your ROI

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

In recent weeks, we’ve looked at what content marketing is, how to create a content marketing plan, and how to start a company blog.

But one of the problems people often face is knowing whether it’s working. You or your team have put in the hard hours writing blog posts, creating email campaigns and engaging with people on social media, but how do you know whether it’s all been worth it?

The problem is not a lack of information; the problem is knowing which information to track. Should you care about the number of likes, followers, comments, shares, page views, email signups, purchases, or something else?

If you’re not sure, don’t worry—you’re in the majority. A 2016 Content Marketing Institute report found that:

  • Only 30% of B2B marketers say their organizations are effective at content marketing.
  • Only 44% even know what content marketing success or effectiveness looks like.

So in this tutorial, you’ll learn which content marketing metrics to track and how to calculate a content marketing ROI (return on investment). We’ll take it step by step, starting with defining your content marketing goals so that you can decide what to track. Then we’ll look at different metrics you could use, how to calculate costs, and how to determine the ROI. We’ll finish with a reality check, looking at some of the things you can’t measure.

Content Marketing Metrics ROI
Calculating content marketing metrics (graphic)

By the end of this tutorial, you’ll be equipped to measure the success of your content marketing efforts, decide what’s working and what isn’t, and make sure your business is getting the most bang for your content marketing buck.

1. Define Your Goals

The first step in determining whether your content marketing is working or not is to define what “working” means to you. In other words, what are your goals?

As the following chart from the Content Marketing Institute shows, there are a variety of different reasons for doing content marketing.

Organizational Goals for Content Marketing

Depending on what your goal is, you may want to use very different metrics. For example, if your goal is “sales”, then the metric is pretty clear: how many sales did you achieve as a result of your content marketing? But if it’s “lead generation”, then you might want to track the number of people who signed up to your email newsletter or in some other way registered interest in your products. If your goal is “engagement”, then maybe you want to track the number of comments, shares or likes your posts achieve.

These are just a few quick examples—we’ll go into more depth on different metrics in the next section. For now, you just need to define the objectives of your content marketing, so that in the next section we can assign the appropriate metrics to them. For more on this and how it fits into a broader content marketing strategy, see Lauren Holliday’s tutorial:

2. Content Marketing Metrics

So once you’ve decided what’s important to you, how do you measure it?

Marketing consultant Jay Baer provides a good framework for thinking about content marketing metrics in his article for Ceros:

  1. Consumption metrics
  2. Sharing metrics
  3. Lead generation metrics
  4. Sales metrics

Let’s look at each of those in more detail.

Consumption Metrics

This type of metric is simply about measuring how many people are reading or watching your content.

So if you run a blog, it could be a simple measure of traffic, like the number of page views or unique visitors—although other measures like “average time on page” can also be useful. If you produce YouTube videos, you’d track the number of views, and if your content marketing involves Facebook posts, Tweets or other social media posts, many platforms provide ways of measuring the “reach” of your posts.

Sharing Metrics

One of the big advantages of content marketing over traditional advertising is that people often share your content, giving you free publicity and recommendations. So these metrics look at how often people are sharing your content on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and other sites.

A simple way of tracking this is through a site like Buzzsumo, where you can put in your site’s URL and see the most shared posts. For example, here are the results for tutsplus.com:

Buzzsumo Sharing Results for tutsplus

Lead Generation Metrics

This is about starting to convert readers or viewers into customers. Personally I don’t much like the metaphor of a “sales funnel”—it seems too industrial a way of looking at human beings—but the basic idea is that you attract leads into the top of your funnel, process them as they fall down the funnel, and spit them out at the other end as paying customers.

So the “lead generation” metrics capture how effectively your content marketing is attracting people to become leads, or potential customers. Generally people become leads when they express an interest in hearing more from you, so the metric here could be the number of people signing up for your email newsletter, filling in a contact form, or signing up to a free membership area of your site.

If your content marketing is heavily social media based, you could look at things like follower counts here, but keep in mind that you’ll need a very long funnel to convert a Twitter follower into a paying customer. The more direct the contact you have and the firmer the expression of interest, the better.

If you want to know more details about the sales funnel (without my slightly skeptical commentary), see this tutorial:

Sales Metrics

OK, this is where we start dealing with dollars and cents. When people finally decide to buy from you, you can track how many of those purchases were a result of your content marketing.

For example, you can track clicks through from your emails to your website and see how many of them result in sales. Similarly, in programs like Google Analytics, you can see how people navigate through your site, and how many of your eventual customers came from your blog.

You might want to track the dollar amount of revenue derived from content marketing, or your metric could be a percentage conversion rate—how many of your viewers and readers become paying customers.

Other Metrics

While this framework is useful, it doesn’t cover every metric out there. For example, the goal of your content marketing may be to increase your website’s authority, and in that case you may want to measure your search engine ranking for certain keywords. And as I mentioned earlier, if you’re looking for customer engagement, you may be interested in things like blog comments or social media conversations.

So use these ideas as a starting point, but don’t be limited by them. There’s a lot of data available to you, and the most important thing is to align the metrics you choose to the objectives you’ve set out.

3. Define the Costs

It’s common to look at page views and social shares, but don't forget to add up the costs of all this content you’re creating. That’s the “investment” on which we’ll soon be calculating the return.

If you’re hiring freelancers to create the content for you, then those costs will have to be measured, of course. If you’re producing it yourself, or getting members of staff to create it, then you’ll have to factor in the time spent.

For example, if your marketing manager gets paid $1,000 a week, and she spends 10 of her 40 hours a week on content marketing activities, then content marketing is costing you $250 a week. If you’re doing it yourself, you’ll need to estimate how much your own time is worth and perform a similar calculation.

Don’t forget to bake in all the associated costs like hosting fees for your blog, monthly fees for those cool social media management tools you’re using, money you spent on hiring designers, general office overheads, and so on.

4. Calculate Your Content Marketing ROI

To calculate the return on your investment, you simply look at the money you’ve earned from content marketing as a percentage of your costs. Here’s the ROI formula:

ROI = (Revenue − Cost) / Cost

So, for example, if you’ve earned $1,000 from content marketing, and it cost you $800 to produce, then your ROI would be:

ROI = ($1,000 – $800) / $800 = $200 / $800 = 25%

You could calculate the ROI for your content marketing as a whole for a certain time period, or if you have good enough data available, you could calculate it for particular channels or even specific pieces of content.

Of course, depending on your objectives and what you’re tracking, your metrics may not have a dollar value. If that’s the case, it can still be useful to calculate ROI to make sure you’re on track, but what you’ll need to do is assign a dollar value to the metric.

After all, you’re tracking it because it’s worth something to your business, right? So you just need to decide how much.

For example, if you’re tracking lead generation, you could look at some past statistics from your business to see what each lead is worth. You might find, for example, that 10% of leads end up converting into paying customers, and that those customers end up spending on average $100 each.

So the value of each lead in that case would be $10 (10% of $100). If you gained 50 new leads, then, the “revenue” number you’d plug into the ROI formula would be $500 (50 x $10).

5. Embrace the Unknown

You’ve probably heard that famous old saying:

“Half the money I spend on advertising is wasted; the trouble is I don't know which half.”

It originates from the days of print advertising, when there was almost no way of knowing which people had seen your ad in which newspaper or billboard, and how many of them became customers as a result.

With content marketing on the internet, of course, there are many more ways of tracking your customers’ behavior and measuring your success. We’ve looked at some of them in this tutorial, and there are plenty more metrics out there—we’re awash in data these days.

But don’t let the abundance of data fool you into thinking you can know everything. Sometimes, people will read your blog post or watch your video, and although they find it incredibly useful or entertaining, they’ll take no measurable action whatsoever. No comment, no signup, no sale. The data will show a potential customer lost.

Later on, however, when they come across your company again, they’ll have a positive reaction to it, due to the conscious or unconscious memory of that great content you provided in the past. And on that occasion, or maybe the seventh or the seventeenth time they come across your content, they’ll finally take action. All of that content they saw before that will show in your stats as having been ineffective, but it led to a result in the end. Again, this is something traditional advertisers knew very well: that’s why ad campaigns are so repetitive.

So the final thing to remember about measuring the success of content marketing is that some things simply can’t be measured. When you put articles or videos or other content out into the world, the results can be unexpected.

As well as getting new customers in unexpected ways, you may also find yourself being invited to speak at conferences, or getting quoted in newspapers, or attracting new business partners, all on the strength of a good article you wrote. The intangible benefits of building authority and brand awareness can be very powerful.

Our Envato Tuts+ data analyst, Michael James Williams, has recently explained some of the other ways in which data can be misleading in a fascinating series of articles. I’d recommend reading them:

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you’ve learned how to measure the success of your content marketing. You’ve seen why it’s important to start by clearly defining your objectives and ensuring that your metrics are aligned to those objectives.

We looked at a variety of different metrics to use, and covered how to calculate your content marketing ROI. And finally we covered some of the intangible and unexpected benefits of content marketing.

Here’s one last thing to keep in mind: content marketing is a long-term strategy. In the beginning, it can be very difficult to get any attention, but as you do it consistently for months and years, you can start to see a snowball effect, as you gain more followers, and those followers share your content with other people, gaining you even more followers.

So don’t panic if you find yourself with a negative ROI in the first few months—that’s completely normal. It may take a year or more for your efforts to bear fruit. As with any business project, you’ll want to see a measurable effect eventually, but be patient in the early days. The most important thing is that your chosen metric or metrics are heading in the right direction, and that you use the results to understand which types of content work best with your target audience and give them more of that content.

I hope this tutorial has helped you. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment, either here or in the forum.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.