Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Invoicing
Business

ما هي الفاتورة الإحترافية؟ دليلٌ شامل للمبتدئين

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

إذا استطعت أن تجد عميلاً، أتممت بعض العمل، والآن حان الوقت لكي يتم الدفع لك. رائع! هذا أفضل جزءٍ من العمل.

بالرغم من ذلك، يمكن لإرسال الفاتورة أن تكون عمليةً مخيفةً لأول مرة. قد يكون لديك عدد من الأسئلة التي لم تحتاج إلى إجابة عنها، مثل: كيف تبدو الفاتورة الاحترافية؟ كيف يمكنك أن تصمم واحدة؟ ما المعلومات التي يجب أن تضمنها فيها؟

لذا في هذا الدرس، سأبدأ من الصفر وسأطلعك على الخطوات الأساسية لتصميم فاتورةٍ إحترافية. في البداية سنقوم بتعريف ما هي الفاتورة، ومن ثم سنطلع على المعلومات الأساسية التي يجب أن تتذكر دوماً إضافتها للفاتورة.  ثم سأنهي بالتحدث عن مظهر الفاتورة، وسأقدم لك بعض القوالب والتطبيقات المفيدة التي يمكنك استعمالها.

قبل البدء بالدرس، إذا كنت تبحث عن قالب فاتورة يحتوي على جميع مكونات الفاتورة الإحترافي مضمنةً فيه، فقم بتصفح مجموعتنا من قوالب الفواتير لكي تجد القالب الصحيح المناسب لما يحتاجه عملك.

لنبدأ الآن بالقسم الأول: ما هي الفاتورة بالضبط؟

1. ما هي الفاتورة؟

لكي تفهم ما هي الفاتورة وما الغرض الذي تخدم، لنلقي نظرةً على مثالٍ من الحياة اليومية.

إرسال الفاتورة: تعريفٌ بسيط

لنقل أنك ذهبت لتناول العشاء في مطعم بيتزا. أكلت بالقدر الذي تشاؤه، وفي نهاية الوجبة، جلب النادل لك فاتورة (أو إذا كنت في الولايات المتحدة فإنك ستحصل على الشيك -- إنه نفس الفاتورة!).

تقوم الفاتورة بذكر كل شيءٍ أعطاك إياه المطعم، سعر كل عنصر، والمجموع الكلي لما عليك دفعه. عندما يعطيك النادل الفاتورة في يدك، فإن ذلك يكون بمثابة طريقةٍ مهذبة لكي يقول: "لقد اشتريت جميع هذه الأشياء منا. حان الوقت الآن لكي تدفع سعرها."

الأمر نفسه يحدث في عملك. تقوم بإنجاز بعض العمل لعميل، والآن يجب أن يتم الدفع لك. لذا تقوم بذكر كل شيءٍ قمت به، تذكر بشكلٍ مفصل الأسعار، وتوفر المقدار الكلي لما يجب أن يدفعه العميل لك.

غالباً لن تسلم الفاتورة للعميل في يده بشكلٍ مباشر ولن تقبض المال مباشرةً، وبسبب ذلك فإن عليك تضمين معلوماتٍ أخرى، مثل كيف سيتم الدفع، أين يجب أن يتم إرسال المبلغ، متى يجب أن يرسل، إلخ. سنناقش كل هذا في القسم التالي. لكن كتعريف بسيط، يمكن أن تعتبر الفاتورة قائمة بالخدمات التي قدمتها مع سعر كل خدمة.

Clean - professional invoice template
Clean، قالب فاتورة إحترافي على GraphicRiver.

الغرض من الفاتورة

الغرض الأساسي من الفاتورة، إذا، هو أن تطلب المال، لكنها تخدم أغراضاً أخرى.

فالفاتورة هي بمثابة سجل للعمليات التجارية كالبيع والشراء بين كلا الطرفين. كما ذكرت في دليلي حول أساسيات إدارة الحسابات، سترغب في الاحتفاظ بالفواتير كدليلٍ على العمل الذي قمت به ومقدار المال الذي طلبته مقابلها -- من أجل الأمور التي تخص الضرائب وفي حال عاد العميل لاحقاً بطلبات أو استعلامات عن عملٍ جديد. دليل البيع (الذي يتم تقديمه من المصرف) هو أمرٌ هامٌ أيضاً، لكن الفاتورة تفصل في العمل الذي تم تنفيذه وكم كانت تكلفته. سيرغب العميل الخاص بك باستلام فاتورة منك للأسباب المذكورة نفسها.

الفاتورة مهمةٌ أيضاً في تحديد شروط الدفع: عندما تتوقع أن يتم الدفع لك، ماذا سيحدث إذا تم التأخر في الدفع، إلخ. هناك الكثير من الطرق المختلفة لطلب الدفع، وسأغوص فيها بعمق في درسي القادم. لكن مهما كانت شروط الدفع التي اخترتها، فإن الفاتورة تلعب دوراً مهماً في تحديدهم بوضوح من البداية (أهم شرط هو تاريخ الدفع)، وفي تجنب التأخير والارتباك غير الضروري.

وأخيراً، الفاتورة المصاغة بشكل جيد والتي ترسل في وقتها ستلعب دوراً ثانوياً ألا وهو إثارة إعجاب العميل. ستظهر الفاتورة أنك منظم، كفء ومحترف. وستزيد على الأغلب من احتمال دفعهم بسرعة، والانطباع الجيد الذي تركته قد يساعد حتى على تكرار العمل مع هذا العميل مستقبلاً.

2. ما الذي يجب أن تتضمنه الفاتورة الإحترافية؟

إذا أردت أن يتم الدفع لك على الوقت، فمن المهم جداً أن تتضمن الفاتورة كامل المعلومات الصحيحة. إذا لم تكن كذلك، فإن العميل سيضطر إلى الاستعلام عنها، وقد يؤدي هذا إلى تأخير مما قد يكلف المزيد من المال. وجدت دراسة أن 25% من الأعمال الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم كانت تمتلك على الأقل مبلغ 5000 دولار غير مدفوع نتيجةً لأخطاء عملية إرسال الفواتير ودفعها.

لذا في هذا القسم، سأقوم بذكر كل المعلومات التي يجب أن تتضمنها الفاتورة الإحترافية. بالاعتماد على الصناعة التي تعمل فيها ونوع العمل الذي تقوم به، فقد يكون هنالك بعض الأمور المعينة التي تحتاج إليها أو ترغب بإضافتها، وهذا أمر مقبول. هذه قائمة بالعناصر الأساسية التي يجب أن تكون موجودةً في جميع الفواتير، ويمكن دوماً أن تضع أشياء إضافية بناءً على ما تحتاجه بشكلٍ خاص.

لا تقلق حول موقع كل عنصر في الفاتورة -- سيصبح هذا الأمر واضحاً عندما نتكلم عن تنسيق وترتيب الفاتورة في القسم التالي.

اسمك ومعلومات العقد

يجب على أي فاتورة أن تتضمن اسم العمل، عنوانه، رقم هاتف العمل، بريده الإلكتروني، موقعه الإلكتروني، وشعاره. (وإذا كنت جزءاً من شركةٍ أكبر، فقم بوضع تفاصيل معينة حول الشخص ضمن الشركة الذي يجب أن يتواصل العميل معه في حال كان هنالك أي استفسارات.)

اسم عميلك وعنوانه

لا تنسى اسم عميلك! قد يبدو هذا واضحاً طالما أنك ترسلها إليه، لكن تذكر أن هذا هو تسجيل رسمي لعمليةٍ تجارية، وأن اسم العميل وعنوانه يجب أن يظهرا عليها.

رقم الفاتورة

صمم رقماً مرجعياً، بحيث يمكن تحديد الفاتورة الصحيحة بسهولة في حال وجود أي استعلامات. لا يهم حقاً ما هو هذا الرقم -- غالباً ما تعتمد أرقامي على التاريخ، مثلاً 08122915 (8 ديسمبر أو كانون الأول 2015). يمكنك أيضاً ببساطة أن ترقم الفواتير بشكلٍ متتالي، بدءاً من عددٍ عشوائي (أو من 0001 إذا كنت لا تكترث بإظهار عدم خبرتك!).

مهما كان نظام الترقيم الذي تستعمله، فقط تأكد أن كل فاتورة لها رقمٌ مختلف -- إذا قمت بعمل فاتورتين برقمين متطابقين بالصدفة، فإن ذلك قد يؤدي إلى عالمٍ من الفوضى.

تاريخ الفاتورة

يعتبر هذا بمثابة خط أساسٍ هام -- فهو يحدد متى أرسلت الفاتورة، وأي شروط دفع (مثلاً ضمن ثلاثين يوم) ستبدأ من هذا التاريخ. (لاحظ: قد تضمن في مكان ما أيضاً داخل فاتورتك التاريخ الذي أنهيت فيه العمل، لكن تأكد أن تاريخ الفاتورة بارزٌ أكثر، لأنه أكثر أهمية لعملية الدفع.)

تاريخ الاستحقاق

كم هي السرعة التي تتوقع أن يتم الدفع لك بها؟ خلال 30 يوم هي فترةٌ شائعة، بالرغم من أنها قد تختلف بشكلٍ كبير بناءً على نوع العمل، حاجاتك الخاصة وتوقعات عميلك. سأتكلم أكثر عن هذا الموضوع في درسي القادم، لكن في الوقت الحالي، الشيء المهم هو أن تتذكر إضافة تاريخ استحقاق على فاتورتك.

المقدار الكلي لما يجب دفعه

هذا أهم قسم -- ما هو مقدار المال الذي يدينه لك العميل. يجب أن يكون بارزاً في الفاتورة. تحتاج أيضاً إلى تفصيل الأسعار، كما سنرى الآن.

Business professional invoice template
قالب فاتورة عمل، متوفرٌ للشراء على GraphicRiver.

تفاصيل العمل والتكاليف

يجب على أي فاتورة أن تتضمن تفاصيل أساسية حول العمل الذي تم تقديمه وتكلفة كل جزءٍ منه.

مقدار التفاصيل الذي تود تضمينه يعتمد على مدى تعقيد المشروع وعلى الطريقة التي تمت بها هيكلة عملية الدفع. إذا كان المشروع بسيطاً، مع مبلغ يدفع مرةً واحدة عند الإتمام، فإن الأمر قد لا يتطلب أكثر من سطرٍ واحد، مثل:

تصميم بطاقة عمل لشركة أ.ب.ج: 500 دولار

لكن إذا أتممت عدة مشاريع، أو مشروعاً واحداً مكوناً من عدة مكونات أو مراحل، فعندها يجب أن تذكر كلاً منها بشكلٍ منفصل وبجانب كل واحدة تكلفتها. على سبيل المثال:

  • تصميم بطاقة عمل: 500 دولار
  • تصميم موقع ويب: 1000 دولار
  • تصميم شعار: 500 دولار

وإذا كنت تسعر وفقاً للساعة، فإنك تحتاج لتقديم كامل التفاصيل حول الساعات التي عملتها، سعرك الساعي، ومع إظهار العملية الحسابية لحساب كامل المبلغ، مثل:

تصميم بطاقة عمل، 10 ساعات مع 50 دولار للساعة: 500 دولار

في نهاية الأمر، الهدف هو أن تتأكد أن يفهم عميلك تماماً كيف وصلت إلى هذا المقدار الكلي، وأن لا يكون لديه أي أسئلة.

الأمر مشابه لمطعم البيتزا: لا ترغب في أن تحصل على فاتورة مكتوبٌ عليها فقط: "50 دولار". أنت ترغب بمعرفة كم كلفت كل بيتزا وكل كأسٍ من النبيذ، بحيث يكون بإمكانك جمعهم والشعور بالراحة لأنك تعرف أنك تدفع المقدار الصحيح من المال.  من ناحية أخرى، لا ترغب أو تحتاج إلى فاتورة تفصل كل شيء: "تحضير العجينة، 50 سنت. إضافة الزيتون، 75 سنت..." فقط قم بتضمين ما يحتاج العميل إلى معرفته لكي يشعر أن الأسعار عادلة ودقيقة.

الضرائب والتوصيل

تفاصيل الضرائب تختلف بشكل واسع لأجزاء مختلفة من العمل وفي أقسامٍ مختلفة من العمل، لذا لا يمكنني أن أغطي كامل التفاصيل هنا، لكن إذا كنت بحاجة لأخذ ضرائب على المبيعات أو شكلٍ آخر من الضرائب، فإن عليك بالتأكيدأن تضمن هذا في فاتورتك (قد تكون بحاجة إلى إضافة رقم تعريف ضريبي أيضاً).

وإذا كنت تشجن منتجاتٍ فيزيائية، لا تنسى أن تضع تكلفة الشحن والتوصيل في سطرٍ منفصل.

خيارات الدفع

كم يجب أن يدفع العميل لك؟ من المهم أن تحدد هذا، وأن تضيف المعلومات التي يحتاجها العميل. على سبيل المثال، أنا أكتب بشكل طبيعي، "الرجاء الدفع عن طريق PayPal" ومن ثم أضع رقم تعريف PayPal الخاص بي على الفاتورة. يمكنك أيضاً توفير خياراتٍ متعددة -- هناك الكثير من شركات الدفع حالياً، والتحويلات المصرفية أو التحويلات الإلكترونية الأخرى هي خيار مناسب أيضاً.

تأكد فقط من توفيرك لخيارٍ واحدٍ على الأقل شائع الاستخدام: إلا إذا كنت على علاقة قويةٍ جداً مع عميل وتقوم بالكثير من الأعمال معه، فمن غير الواقعي أن تتوقع منه التسجيل في شركة دفع غير معروفةٍ كثيراً فقط ليوفر عليك بعض الدولارات في الرسوم.

شروط دفعٍ إضافية

العنصر الأخير ليس إلزامياً، لكن غالباً ما يكون تضمين شروط وأحكام إضافية لفاتورتك فكرة جيدة، كوسيلة لتشجيع الناس على الدفع مبكراً. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن توفر حسماً للناس الذين يدفعون في أول عشرة أيام، أو يمكنك أن تفرض فائدةً أو غرامةً على عمليات الدفع المتأخرة.

3. كيف يجب أن تبدو الفاتورة الإحترافية؟

الآن جاء وقت تنسيق وترتيب الفاتورة. كيف يجب أن تبدو فاتورتك.

لكي تفهم ذلك، لنعد إلى مثال مطعم البيتزا. كيف تبدو الفاتور في مطعم بيتزا؟

في الحقيقة، على الأغلب أنك رأيت الكثير من الأنماط المختلفة. إذا كان مطعم بيتزا بسيط، فإن الفاتورة قد تكون مجرد قائمةٍ على دفتر ملاحظات النادل مكتوبةً بدون ترتيب وبشكلٍ يصعب قراءته، مع المقدار الكلي في أسفلها ومحاطٌ بدائرة. إذا كان المكان أكثر رقياً، فغالباً ما ستأتي الفاتورة مكتوبةً بشكل أنيق أو مطبوعة، مع اسم المطعم، شعاره وتفاصيل التواصل معه في أعلاها مع عبارة "شكراً لك" ودودة في الأسفل.

أنا متأكدٌ أنك تريد التؤكد من أن يبدو عملك راقياً، وليس عادياً، لذا سنتجاهل فكرة دفتر الملاحظات غير المرتب. لكن كما أنه لا يوجد تنيسقٌ محدد لفواتير مطاعم البيتزا، فإنه لا يوجد تنسيقٌ محدد لفواتير العمل أيضاً. هناك بعض المخططات الشائعة، لكن هنالك اختلافٌ كبير في الأنماط والأشكال. النقاط الهامة هي:

  • استعمل قالباً بمظهرٍ إحترافي للتأكد من مظهر وشعور ثابت.
  • إذا كان عملك يمتلك شعاراً، علامة تجارية ومخطط ألوان خاصة به، فتأكد أن تكيف القالب بحيث يتضمن كل هذه العناصر.
  • قم بتضمين جميع العناصر الرئيسية المذكورة في الأعلى.
  • ضع كل المعلومات بشكلٍ واضح، بحيث تتأكد أن العميل بإمكانه إيجاد وقراءة النقاط الهامة بسهولة.

بشكل عامٍ، يظهر اسمك والمعلومات الخاصة بالتواصل معك تماماً في أعلى الفاتورة، مع اسم العميل وعنوانه تحتهم، وبجانبهم رقم الفاتورة وتاريخها. ومن ثم ستستهلك تفاصيل العمل معظم الصفحة، مع المقدار الكلي في أسفل الصفحة، بالإضافة إلى تفاصيل أخرى مثل الضرائب، التوصيل، خيارات الدفع، تاريخ الاستحقاق والعناصر الأخرى.

لكن جميع هذه التفاصيل ليست محفورةً في الصخر. طالما أنك تقوم بتضمين كل المعلومات الهامة بشكلٍ واضح، فإن بإمكانك أن تستعمل أي تنسيق فاتورة إحترافي المظهر.

Professional Invoice Design Template
قالب تصميم فاتورة، متوافر على GraphicRiver.

يمكنك البدء بتصفح مجموعة من قوالب الفواتير إحترافية المظهر لكي ترى ما هو متوافر. يمكنك تحسين البحث الخاص بك مع أوسمة مثل مرتب (Clean)، حديث (Modern)، للشركات (Corporate)، أو مبتكر (Creative)، ولاحظ كيف تتغير التصاميم.

لديك خيارٌ آخر وهو تصميم الفاتورة الخاصة بك مع تطبيق مثل Harvest، أو برنامج محاسبة مثل QuickBooks أو FreshBooks. هذه التطبيقات وحزم البرامج عادةً ما تحتوي على بعض الصيغ والتنسيقات الجيدة مضمنةً فيها.

خاتمة

في هذا الدرس، تعرفنا على الفاتورة، العناصر الرئيسية التي يجب أن تتضمنها، وكيف يجب أن تبدو الفاتورة. لقد اطلعت على مجموعةٍ من القوالب التي يمكنك استعمالها لتصميم التنسيق الذي ترغب أن يمتلكه عملك، اعتماداً على علامتك التجارية.

لكن، تصميم الفاتورة هي مجرد جزءٌ واحد من العملية. إذا أردت أن تعرف كيف تتعامل مع أمورٍ مثل كيف يجب أن تتصرف مع الفواتير التي لم يتم دفعها أو الفواتير المتأخرة، فاطلع على دليلي حول كيف تجعل الزبائن يدفعون لك على الوقت. وفي درس مستقبلي، سأفصل أكثر في شروط الدفع التي يمكنك استخدامها لحث الناس على الدفع على الوقت.

مصادر

الرسوم: أيقونة Invoice مصممة من قبل أليكس أودا سامورا (Alex Auda Samora) من Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Invoicing
Business

What Is a Professional Invoice? A Complete Beginner’s Guide

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

So you’ve found a client, completed some work, and now it’s time to get paid. Great! That’s the best part.

Invoicing, though, can be a daunting process the first time. You may have a number of questions you need answered, such as: What does a professional invoice look like? How can you create one? What information should you include?

So in this tutorial, I’ll start from the very beginning and take you through the basic steps of creating a professional invoice. To start with I’ll define an invoice, and then I’ll go through the key pieces of information you should always remember to include. I’ll finish by talking about how your invoice should look, and introduce you to some helpful templates and apps that you can use.

Before we begin the tutorial, if you're looking for an invoice template that has all the components of a professional invoice built in, browse through our collection of invoice templates to find just the right one for your business needs.

Now let’s get started with the first part: What exactly is an invoice?

1. What Is an Invoice?

To understand what an invoice is and what purpose it serves, let’s look at an example from everyday life.

Invoicing: A Basic Definition

Let’s say you go for dinner at your local pizzeria. You eat to your heart’s content, and at the end of the meal, the waiter brings you the bill (or if you’re in the U.S., you’ll get the check—it’s the same thing!).

The bill/check lists everything the restaurant gave you, the price of each item, and a total of what you owe. When the waiter hands you the bill, it’s a polite way of saying: “You’ve bought all these things from us. Now it’s time for you to pay for them.”

An invoice is exactly the same thing. You’ve done some work for a client, and now you need to get paid. So you list everything you’ve done, detail the prices, and provide the total amount that the client owes you.

Because you’re probably not handing the invoice to a client directly and expecting cash in your hand, an invoice also needs to include other information, like how to make a payment, where to send it, when to send it, etc. We’ll go through all of that in the next section. But as a basic definition, it’s helpful to think of an invoice as being like a bill for services you’ve provided.

Clean - professional invoice template
Clean, professional invoice template from GraphicRiver.

The Purposes of an Invoice

The main purpose of an invoice, then, is to ask for money, but it also serves some other purposes.

For one thing, it acts as a record of the transaction for both parties. As I mentioned in my guide to basic bookkeeping, you’ll want to hang on to invoices as proof of the work you did and the amount you charged for it—both for tax purposes and in case the client later comes back with queries or requests for new work. The proof of payment is also important, but it’s the invoice that breaks down the details of what was done and how much it costs. Your client will want to receive an invoice for similar reasons.

An invoice is also important in defining the payment terms: when you expect payment, what happens if the payment is late, and so on. There are many different ways of asking for payment, and I’ll delve more deeply into those in my next tutorial. But whichever payment terms you choose, the invoice is important in defining them clearly from the outset (most importantly the due date), and avoiding unnecessary delay and confusion.

And finally, a prompt, well-formatted invoice serves the subsidiary purpose of impressing your client. It shows that you are organized, efficient and professional. It makes it more likely that you’ll get paid quickly, and the good impression you create may even help you get more repeat business from that client in the future.

2. What Should a Professional Invoice Include?

If you want to get paid promptly, it’s crucial that your invoice includes all the right information. If it doesn’t, the client will have to query it, and it could lead to delays that cost you money. One survey found that 25% of small and medium-sized businesses had at least $5,000 a month delayed due to invoicing errors.

So in this section, I’ll list all the key pieces of information that a professional invoice should include. Depending on the industry you work in and the type of work you do, there may be some particular things that you need or want to add, and that’s fine. This is a checklist of basic items that all invoices should include, and you can always add extra things based on your particular needs.

Don’t worry for now about where each item should go—that will become clear when we talk about formatting in the next section.

Your Name and Contact Information

Any invoice should include your business’s name, address, phone number, email, website, and logo. (And if you’re part of a larger company, give specific contact details for the person within the company whom the client should contact with any queries.)

Your Client’s Name and Address

Don’t forget to name your client! It may seem obvious since you’re sending it to them, but remember that this is also a formal record of the transaction, and the client’s name and address should appear on it.

Invoice Number

Create a reference number, so that the correct invoice can easily be identified in case of queries. It doesn’t really matter what this number is—I often base mine on the date, e.g. 08122015 (8 December 2015). You could also simply number your invoices sequentially, starting from a random number (or from 0001 if you don’t mind showing your lack of experience!).

Whichever numbering system you use, just make sure that each invoice you create has a different number—if you create two with identical numbers by accident, it could lead to a world of confusion.

The Invoice Date

This is an important baseline—it establishes when you sent the invoice, and any payment terms (e.g. pay within 30 days) start from this date. (Note: you may also include somewhere on your invoice the date when you actually did the work, but make sure that the invoice date is more prominent, because it’s more important to the process of getting paid.)

A Due Date

How quickly do you expect to be paid? Within 30 days is quite common, although it can vary widely depending on the type of work, your needs and the client’s expectations. I’ll talk more about this in my next tutorial, but for now, the important thing is to include a due date on your invoice.

Total Amount Due

This is the important part—how much money the client owes. It should be prominent on the invoice. You’ll also need to give a breakdown of the charges, as we’ll see next.

Business professional invoice template
Business invoice template, available for purchase from GraphicRiver.

Details of the Work and the Charges

Any invoice must include basic details of the work you provided and how much you’re charging for each component.

How much detail to include depends on how complicated the project was and how the payment was structured. If it was a simple project with a single, one-off payment on completion, then it could be just a single line, such as:

Business card design for XYC Corp: $500

But if you completed multiple projects, or a single project with many separate components or milestones, then you should list each one separately and show the price of each one. For example:

  • Business card design: $500
  • Website design: $1,000
  • Logo design: $500

And if you’re charging by the hour, you’ll need to provide full details of the hours you worked, your hourly rate, and show your calculation of the total, such as:

Business card design, 10 hours @ $50/hour: $500

Ultimately, the purpose is to ensure that your client understands exactly how you arrive at your total amount due, and doesn’t have any questions.

It’s like in the pizzeria: you don’t want to get a bill saying just: “$50”. You want to see how much each pizza and glass of wine cost, so that you can add it all up and feel comfortable that you’re paying the right amount. On the other hand, you don’t want or need a bill that breaks down everything: “Making the dough, 50 cents. Adding olives, 75 cents....” Just include what the client needs to know in order to feel that your charges are fair and accurate.

Tax & Delivery

Tax details vary widely for different parts of the business and in different parts of the world, so I can’t cover specifics here, but if you need to charge sales tax or some other form of tax, you should definitely include that on your invoice (you may need to include a tax ID number too).

And if you’re shipping physical products, don’t forget to charge for delivery as a separate line item.

Payment Options

How should the client pay you? It’s important to specify this, and to include any information the client will need. For example, I normally write, “Please pay by PayPal” and include my PayPal ID on the invoice. You could also offer multiple options—there are plenty of other payment processors out there, and bank transfers or other electronic transfers are also an option.

Just be sure to offer at least one option that’s widely used: unless you have a very strong relationship with a client and do lots of business together, it’s unrealistic to expect them to sign up for a little-known payment processor just to save you a few bucks in fees.

Additional Payment Terms

This last item is not a must, but it’s often a good idea to include additional terms and conditions on your invoice, as a way of encouraging early payment. For example, you could offer a discount for people who pay in the first 10 days, or you could impose interest or penalties on late payments. 

3. What Should a Professional Invoice Look Like?

So now for the formatting. What should your invoice look like?

To understand, let’s go back to our pizzeria example. What does the bill in a pizzeria look like?

In truth, you’ve probably seen all sorts. If it’s a basic kind of pizzeria, it may be just a list scribbled down on the waiter’s notepad in illegible scrawl, with the total at the bottom circled in pen. If it’s a classier place, it usually comes neatly typed or printed, with the restaurant’s name, logo and contact details at the top and a friendly “Thank you” message at the bottom.

I’m sure you want your business to be seen as classy, not basic, so we’ll ignore the scribbled notepad idea. But just as there’s no single format for pizzeria bills, there’s no prescribed format for business invoices either. There are some common layouts, but there’s wide variation in styles. The important points are:

  • Use a professional-looking template to ensure a consistent look and feel.
  • If your business has its own logo, branding and colour scheme, make sure you can adapt the template to include those.
  • Include all the key items mentioned above.
  • Enter all the information clearly, ensuring that the important points are easy for the client to find and read.

In general, your name and contact information usually appear right at the top, with the client’s name and address underneath, and the invoice number and date nearby. Then the details of the work take up most of the page, with the grand total at the bottom, along with the other details like tax, delivery, payment options, due date and other terms.

But none of this is set in stone. As long as you include all the important information clearly, you can use any professional-looking invoice format you like.

Professional Invoice Design Template
Invoice Design Template, available on GraphicRiver.

You could get started by browsing a collection of professional invoice templates to see what’s available. You can refine your search with tags like clean, modern, corporate, or creative, and see how the designs vary.

Another option is to create your invoice with an invoicing app such as Harvest, or accounting software like QuickBooks or FreshBooks. These apps and software packages will usually have some good formats built in.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you’ve seen what an invoice is, the key items it should include, and what an invoice should look like. You’ve seen a collection of templates that you can use to create the format you want for your business, depending on its brand.

Creating the invoice is just one part of the process, however. If you want to know how to handle things like following up on unpaid invoices and dealing with late payments, see my guide to getting paid on time. And in a future tutorial, I’ll go into more detail on the payment terms you can use to encourage prompt payment.

Resources

Graphic Credit: Invoice icon designed by Alex Auda Samora from the Noun Project.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.