Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Presentations
Business

Как использовать Google слайды (краткое руководство)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Use Google Slides (Ultimate Tutorial Guide).
What Is Google Slides? Great (Free) Online Presentation Software
10+ Google Slides Presentation Tools: To Learn How to Use (Now)

Russian (Pусский) translation by Svetlana (you can also view the original English article)

Когда речь заходит о презентациях, PowerPoint и Keynote получают всю прессу. Документы Google часто упоминаются как отличная альтернатива Word, и есть множество советов об уникальных способах использования Google Sheets, но Google Slides едва упоминается. Это позор, поскольку на самом деле это очень хороший инструмент для презентаций, и он доступен бесплатно.

Вы можете подумать: «Что такое Google Slides?» В этом руководстве Google Slides мы ответим на этот вопрос, и я научу вас, как создать презентацию в Google Slides, а также расскажу о преимуществах использования Google Slides по сравнению со стандартными приложениями для презентаций на рабочем столе.

Если вы хотите увидеть более глубокое сравнение между PowerPoint, Keynote и Google Slides, обратитесь к этой статье:

Теперь перейдите к этому учебному пособию, чтобы узнать больше о том, что такое слайды Google и как их использовать.

Шаг 1. Начиная 

Google Slides - это ведущее приложение Google для презентаций, которое находится в браузере как часть Google Docs. Это абсолютно бесплатно - единственное требование для использования - это наличие учетной записи Google.

Благодаря тому, что Google Slides является бесплатным веб-приложением, оно не так полнофункционально, как настольные приложения, такие как Microsoft PowerPoint и Keynote. Тем не менее, это компенсирует недостаток эстетических функций, поскольку может похвастаться очень сильными возможностями совместной работы - если не лучшими.

Кривая обучения для Google Slides также намного ниже, чем у полнофункционального настольного приложения из-за того, что оно содержит самые важные функции и избавляет от большинства ошибок.

Давайте рассмотрим, как использовать Google Slides для создания вашей презентации, поскольку это отличный выбор программного обеспечения для онлайн-презентаций.

Шаг 2. Создание новой презентации

После того, как вы вошли в свою учетную запись Google, перейдите на Google Drive. Там создайте презентацию, нажав «Создать»> «Google Slides». Вы будете перенаправлены на новую страницу с пустой презентацией.

How to use google slide to create a new presentation
Создание новой презентации.

1. Формат презентации

Первым шагом в создании новой презентации является настройка ее внешнего вида, поэтому давайте взглянем на боковую панель «Темы», которая появляется при создании презентации.

Google Slides поставляется с предустановленными различными темами для слайдов. Хотя большинство из них не так эстетичны, как в настольных приложениях, особенно в последней версии Keynote, они функциональны и предлагают широкий выбор базовых тем для презентаций.

Боковая панель Темы появляется в правой части пустой презентации. Используйте полосу прокрутки для перемещения по различным темам.

A few of Google Slides default themes
Несколько тем по умолчанию для Google Slides.

Если ни одна из основных тем в Google Slides не соответствует вашим потребностям, у вас есть множество дополнительных опций.

Вы можете найти десятки прекрасных новых тем Google Slides на GraphicRiver, которые сделаны профессиональными дизайнерами. Или просмотрите нашу коллекцию последних бестселлеров темы презентации найти тех, которые тенденции, как эти бестселлеров:

Best Google Slides Themes on GraphicRiver
Лучшие шаблоны Google Slides, доступные для продажи на GraphicRiver.

Кроме того, вы можете загрузить оригинальную тему в Google Slides, нажав кнопку «Импортировать тему» ​​на панели запуска. Откроется окно Импорт тема. Вы можете использовать тему из предыдущей презентации, перетащить тему в окно «Импорт темы» со своего компьютера или выбрать файл со своего компьютера.

The Import theme window appears
Вы можете загрузить оригинальную тему в Google Slides, используя окно «Импорт темы».

Google поддерживает загрузку до 50 МБ в форматах .ppt, .pptx, .pptm, .ppsx, .pot, .potx, .odp и Google Slides.

Выбрав тему, определите соотношение сторон слайдов в Google Slides. В меню «Файл»> «Параметры страницы» доступны параметры «Стандартный 4: 3», «Широкоэкранный 16: 9», «Широкоэкранный 16:10» и «Пользовательский».

Выберите соотношение сторон, которое наилучшим образом соответствует экрану, который вы будете использовать при презентации слайд-шоу. Как правило, стандартное соотношение сторон слайдов Google лучше всего подходит для проецируемой презентации, а широкоэкранное соотношение сторон лучше всего подходит для презентаций с компьютером или широкоэкранным телевизором.

Select the slide size best fit for the mode of presentation
Выберите размер слайда, наиболее подходящий для вашего режима презентации.

Нажмите OK, как только вы определитесь с темой и соотношением сторон вашей презентации. Для этого урока Google Slides я буду использовать тему книги в мягкой обложке и соотношение сторон 16: 9.

Примечание. Темы и пропорции могут быть изменены позже, нажав «Слайд»> «Изменить тему».

Я рекомендую переименовать вашу презентацию, как только вы определились с первоначальной темой. Для этого нажмите Презентация без названия в левом верхнем углу экрана и введите новое имя.

Rename the presentation
Переименуйте презентацию.

Шаг 3. Навигация по Google Slides

Давайте посмотрим, как использовать инструменты Google Slides. Google Slides работает во многом как настольные приложения для презентаций. На левой боковой панели Google Slides отображаются слайды, которые вы сделали, а в теле экрана отображается слайд, над которым вы сейчас работаете.

How to Use Google Slides interface
Интерфейс Google Slides похож на интерфейс приложений для настольных презентаций.

Для наших целей первым слайдом будет титульный слайд. Чтобы добавить заголовок, щелкните там, где он говорит, и введите заголовок презентации. Вы также можете добавить субтитр или оставить его пустым. Поля, оставленные пустыми, не будут отображаться в финальной презентации, поэтому вам не нужно удалять дополнительные элементы.

Add a title to your Google Slides presentation
Добавьте заголовок в свою презентацию Google Slides.

При выборе текста новые параметры появляются на панели инструментов выше. Значки в центре панели инструментов позволяют редактировать внешний вид текстового поля, например, цвет фона и границы. Значки с правой стороны позволяют редактировать внешний вид самого текста, например шрифта, размера шрифта, цвета и стилей, таких как полужирный, подчеркивание и курсив.

How to Use Google Slides Toolbar formatting functions
1. Функции, которые редактируют внешний вид текстового поля. 2. Функции, которые редактируют внешний вид текста.

1. Добавление и удаление слайдов

Как только вы довольны внешним видом титульного слайда, вы можете добавить больше к своей презентации. Чтобы добавить новые слайды, нажмите кнопку + в левом верхнем углу экрана. Это создает новый слайд с заголовком и макетом тела.

Press to add a new slide
Нажмите «+» для добавления нового слайда.

И наоборот, слайды можно удалить, выбрав слайд и щелкнув «Изменения»> «Удалить», или щелкнув правой кнопкой мыши по миниатюре слайда на боковой панели и выбрав «Удалить слайд», или просто нажав клавишу «Удалить», когда слайд выбран.

2. Добавление текста

Новый слайд будет слайд информации. Добавьте заголовок, соответствующий информации, которую вы поместите на слайд.

Что касается основного текста, вы захотите сделать дополнительное форматирование. В конце концов, это презентация, а длинные абзацы умаляют эффективность слайда. Щелкните текстовое поле основного текста, чтобы отобразить параметры текста, затем нажмите «Еще», чтобы открыть дополнительные параметры текста. Это позволяет создать маркированный список.

Create a bulleted list by clicking More Bulleted List
Создайте маркированный список, нажав (More) Дополнительно> Маркированный список.

Теперь, когда тело отформатировано правильно, добавьте информацию на слайд. Если вы еще не исследовали тему, о которой говорится в презентации, в Google Slides есть инструмент для исследования в приложении, доступный через Инструменты> Исследовать.

Исследование боковой панели позволяет выполнять поиск в приложении Google. Вы можете также отфильтровать поиск, чтобы только включать материал с сети, Изображений или Google Drive. Использование ссылки Просмотреть все результаты в Google в нижней части боковой панели позволяет перейти к полному окну поиска Google. Вы можете просмотреть ссылки прямо с боковой панели и вставить ссылки прямо в презентацию прямо с самой боковой панели.

Get information on the topic in-app using the Explore sidebar
Получите информацию о теме в приложении, используя боковую панель Explore.

Добавьте информацию, которую вы хотите отобразить в ваших слайдах. Примечания к презентации могут быть добавлены в поле внизу для легкого доступа к дополнительной информации, не загромождая слайды.

3. Добавление средств массовой информации

Следующий слайд будет слайд с медиа-элементов. Поскольку на этот слайд будут добавлены медиафайлы, макет по умолчанию будет не лучшим вариантом. Для этого слайда нажмите кнопку со стрелкой рядом с кнопкой + и выберите другой макет для слайда, наиболее предпочтительно один из нижнего ряда. Я буду использовать подпись.

How to Use Google Slides and Select a slide layout
Выберите расположения слайда.

Нажмите кнопку со стрелкой рядом с кнопкой «+», чтобы просмотреть дополнительные макеты.

Совет. Макеты могут быть изменены позже с помощью кнопки «Разметки» на панели инструментов.

Давайте посмотрим, как использовать Google Slides для добавления изображений в вашу презентацию. Чтобы добавить изображение, нажмите кнопку «Изображение» на панели инструментов или выберите «Вставка»> «Изображение».

Есть несколько способов добавить изображения в вашу презентацию. Вы можете загрузить свое собственное изображение со своего жесткого диска, из своей учетной записи Google+ или Google Drive; Вы можете сделать снимок с помощью веб-камеры; или вы можете выполнить поиск в Google, фотоархиве журнала LIFE или на складе фотографий на панели «Вставить изображение».

The Insert image panel in Google Slides
Выберите источник изображения на панели «Вставить изображение».

Примечание. При загрузке изображений обратите внимание на любые ограничения интеллектуальной собственности. Например, под стоковыми изображениями ищите слова «Показанные результаты доступны только для личного или коммерческого использования в Google Диске и не могут быть независимо распространены или проданы».

Найдя понравившееся изображение, нажмите на него и нажмите «Выбрать» (из архивов или изображений) или «Открыть» (из опции «Загрузить»), чтобы вставить его в презентацию. Там изображение можно изменить и повернуть по своему вкусу.

Images may be easily resized using the anchors
Размер изображения можно легко изменить с помощью якорей рядом с фотографией.

4. Добавление анимации

Если вы хотите немного оживить презентацию, в Google Slides есть несколько различных анимаций, которые вы можете использовать как для элементов слайдов, так и для переходов между слайдами.

Вот как использовать Google Slides для добавления анимации в вашу презентацию. Добавьте переход, нажав кнопку «Переход» на панели инструментов. Появится боковая панель «Анимации», и оттуда вы сможете настроить анимацию в своей презентации.

Меню «Слайд» управляет анимацией между слайдами. Доступны шесть вариантов перехода; выберите один из выпадающего меню. Затем вы можете выбрать скорость, с которой происходит переход, с помощью ползунка «Медленно-быстро» под раскрывающимся меню. Ползунок отображает длину перехода, когда вы подстраиваете ее по своему вкусу; переходы могут длиться от нуля до пяти секунд.

Click Transition to add transitions between slides
Нажмите «Переход», чтобы добавить переходы между слайдами.

Совет. Легко применяйте переходы между всеми слайдами, нажав кнопку «Применить ко всем слайдам» на боковой панели «Анимации».

Отдельные объекты на слайдах тоже можно анимировать. Выберите объект на слайде, щелкнув по нему, а затем нажмите «Выбрать объект для анимации» на боковой панели «Анимации».

Click Select an object to animate to animate individual objects
Нажмите «Выбрать объект» для анимации отдельных объектов.

Выберите стиль анимации в первом раскрывающемся меню. Второе выпадающее меню управляет переключением отдельных анимаций. Анимации можно переключать вручную, выбрав параметр «При нажатии», или автоматически, выбрав «После предыдущего» или «С предыдущим». Скорость анимации контролируется слайдером Slow-Fast.

Animations can be toggled manually or automatically
Анимации можно переключать вручную или автоматически.

Для предварительного просмотра анимации нажмите «Воспроизвести».

Шаг 4. Сотрудничество

Теперь мы расскажем о том, как использовать функции совместной работы Google Slides, которые являются первоклассными для работы. Поскольку это веб-приложение, можно легко пригласить людей присоединиться к презентации и вместе поработать над ней в режиме реального времени, независимо от того, где находятся ваши коллеги.

Для совместной работы нажмите синюю кнопку «Поделиться» в правом углу экрана. Появится окно «Поделиться с другими», в котором будут предложены различные способы поделиться презентацией. Если вы щелкнете по значку Получить общедоступную ссылку (она выглядит как цепочка), Google создаст ссылку для вашей презентации, которой можно поделиться с людьми через Mail, Google+, Facebook или Twitter.

Вы также можете пригласить людей в документ вашей презентации, введя их адреса электронной почты (или, если они есть в ваших контактах, их имена) в поле Люди. Нажмите ссылку «Дополнительно» в правом нижнем углу экрана, чтобы просмотреть все параметры общего доступа.


Google Slides sharing settings
Как использовать настройки обмена Google Slides.

Презентацию можно открыть для общественности, нажав ссылку «Изменить» под полем «Кто имеет доступ». Откроется окно обмена ссылками. Там презентацию можно сделать доступной для всех, у кого есть ссылка, или сделать ее общедоступной, нажав кнопку «Публичная» в Интернете. Эти параметры отличаются от конкретных людей, потому что никто не должен войти в свою учетную запись Google, чтобы просмотреть презентацию.

Control the privacy of the presentation
Контролируйте конфиденциальность презентации, ограничивая возможности редактирования и просмотра.

Вы можете ограничить полномочия соавторов, выбрав в раскрывающемся меню «Просмотр» параметры «Можно просматривать», «Можно комментировать» или «Можно редактировать».

Когда вы будете довольны настройками совместной работы, нажмите кнопку «Сохранить» в окне «Обмен ссылками». Затем нажмите кнопку «Готово» в окне настроек общего доступа. Теперь вы можете начать сотрудничество в режиме реального времени.

Шаг 5. Представьте презентацию Google Slides

Теперь, когда вы закончили презентацию, нажмите кнопку Present, чтобы показать, что у вас есть.

A completed Google Slides presentation
Завершенная презентация Google Slides.

Если вы представляете презентацию без доступа к Интернету, вы можете экспортировать презентацию в виде файла .pptx, щелкнув Файл> Загрузить как> Microsoft PowerPoint.

Теперь, когда мы рассмотрели, что такое Google Slides, а также как использовать Google Slides, вы можете видеть, что с его помощью легко создавать веб-презентации. Хотя при использовании Google Slides вы можете потерять некоторые функции настольного приложения, встроенные средства поиска информации и фотографий, мощные инструменты совместной работы и повсеместное использование приложения делают приложение сильным конкурентом традиционному приложению для презентаций.

Чтобы узнать больше о Google Slides, обратитесь к этим учебным пособиям по Google Slides:

Кроме того, если вам нужна профессиональная тема для презентации, просмотрите наши лучшие темы Google Slides на GraphicRiver, чтобы найти отличный дизайн. Они надежны, оснащены множеством конструктивных особенностей, красивой графикой и созданы для быстрой работы.

Если у вас есть дополнительные вопросы или предложения по поводу Google Slides, не стесняйтесь оставлять комментарии.

Примечание редактора: Эта публикация была первоначально опубликована в 2014 году. Она была всесторонне пересмотрена, чтобы сделать ее актуальной, точной и актуальной нашими сотрудниками при особой поддержке Лоры Спенсер.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Presentations
Business

How to Use Google Slides (Quick Start Guide)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Use Google Slides (Ultimate Tutorial Guide).

When it comes to presentations, PowerPoint and Keynote get all the press. Google Docs is often mentioned as a great Word alternative, and there's tons of tips out there about unique ways to use Google Sheets, but Google Slides barely ever get mentioned. That's a shame since it's actually a very good presentations tool and it's available for free.

You may be thinking to yourself, "what is Google Slides?" In this Google Slides tutorial we answer that question, and I teach you how to create a presentation in Google Slides, as well as walk you through the benefits of using Google Slides over your standard desktop presentation apps.

If you'd like to see a deeper comparison between PowerPoint, Keynote, and Google Slides refer to this article:

Also, for a helpful companion to this tutorial, download our new eBook: The Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations. It's available for FREE with the Tuts+ Business Newsletter. Learn how to write, design, and deliver the perfect presentation.

Free eBook PDF Download Make a Great Presentation

Now jump into this tutorial to learn more about what Google slides is and how to start using it.

Step 1. Getting Started

Google Slides is Google's flagship presentation app that lives inside the browser as a part of Google Docs. It's completely free—the only requirement to use is to have a Google account.

Due to being a free web app, Google Slides isn't as full featured as desktop apps like Microsoft PowerPoint and Keynote. However, it makes up for a lack of aesthetic features by boasting very strong collaboration features—if not the best. 

The learning curve for Google Slides is also much lower than that of a full-featured desktop app due to the fact that it hosts the most essential of features and gets rid of most of the fluff. 

Let's look at how to use Google Slides to make your presentation, as it's a great choice of online presentation software to work with.

Step 2. Creating a New Presentation

Once you've signed into your Google Account, head to Google Drive. There, create a presentation by clicking New > Google Slides. You will be redirected to a new page with a blank presentation.

How to use google slide to create a new presentation
Create a new presentation.

1. Formatting a Presentation

The first step in creating a new presentation is configuring how it looks, so let's take a look at the Themes sidebar that pops up upon creating a presentation.

Google Slides comes preloaded with different themes for slides. While most of them are not as aesthetically pleasing as those found in desktop apps—especially those found in the latest version of Keynote—they are functional and there is a good selection of many kinds of basic presentation themes available.

The Themes sidebar appears on the right side of your blank presentation. Use the scroll bar to move through the various themes available.

A few of Google Slides default themes
A few of Google Slides default themes.

If none of the basic themes in Google Slides suit your needs, you have plenty of additional options.

You can find dozens of beautiful new Google Slides themes at GraphicRiver, which are made by professional designers. Or, browse through our collection of the latest best-selling presentation themes to find those that are trending, like these best-sellers: 

Best Google Slides Themes on GraphicRiver
Best Google Slides templates, available for sale on GraphicRiver.

Moreover, you may upload an original theme to Google Slides by pressing the Import theme button on the launcher. The Import theme window appears. You can use a theme from a previous presentation, drag a theme onto the Import theme window from your computer, or Select a file from your computer.

The Import theme window appears
You can upload an original theme to Google Slides using the Import Theme window.

Google supports uploads up to 50MB in .ppt, .pptx, .pptm, .ppsx, .pot, .potx, .odp, and Google Slides formats.

Once you've selected the theme, determine the Google Slides aspect ratio of your slides. From File > Page setup, there are the options of Standard 4:3, Widescreen 16:9, Widescreen 16:10, and Custom

Select the aspect ratio that best fits the screen you'll be using when you present the slideshow. Typically, the standard Google Slides aspect ratio is best if the presentation is being projected, and the widescreen aspect ratio is best suited if you're presenting with a computer or widescreen TV.

Select the slide size best fit for the mode of presentation
Select the slide size best fit for your mode of presentation.

Click OK once you are settled with the theme and aspect ratio of your presentation. For this Google Slides tutorial, I will use the Paperback theme and the 16:9 aspect ratio.

Note: Themes and aspect ratios may be changed later on by clicking Slide > Change theme.

I recommend renaming your presentation once you have decided on the initial theme. To do so, click on Untitled presentation in the top left corner of the screen, and type in a new name.

Rename the presentation
Rename your presentation.

Step 3. Navigating Google Slides

Let's look at how to use Google Slides tools. Google Slides works much like desktop presentation applications. The left sidebar of Google Slides displays the slides that you have made, and the body of the screen displays the slide you are currently working on.

How to Use Google Slides interface
Google Slides interface is similar to that of desktop presentation applications.

For our purposes, the first slide will be the title slide. To add a title, click where it says to and type in the title of the presentation. You may also add a subtitle or leave it blank. Fields left blank will not show in the final presentation, so you don't have to delete the extra elements.

Add a title to your Google Slides presentation
Add a title to your Google Slides presentation.

When selecting text, new options appear in the toolbar above. The icons on the center of the toolbar allow for editing the appearance of the text box, such as background color and a border. The icons on the right side allow for editing the appearance of the text itself, such as typeface, font size, color, and styles like bold, underline, and italic.

How to Use Google Slides Toolbar formatting functions
1. Functions that edit the appearance of the text box. 2. Functions that edit the appearance of the text..

1. Adding and Deleting Slides

Once you're happy with the appearance of the title slide, you can add more to your presentation. To add new slides, click the + button on the upper left side of the screen. This creates a new slide with a Title and Body layout.

Press  to add a new slide
Press "+" to add a new slide.

Conversely, slides may be deleted by selecting the slide and clicking Edit > Delete, or by right-clicking on the slide thumbnail in the sidebar and clicking Delete slide, or simply by pressing the Delete key while the slide is selected. 

2. Adding Text

The new slide will be an information slide. Add a title that's relevant to the information that you'll put on your slide.

As for the body text, you'll want to do some additional formatting. It's a presentation, after all, and long paragraphs detract from the effectiveness of the body of the slide. Click the body text box to reveal text options, then click More to reveal additional text options. This allows you to create a bulleted list.

Create a bulleted list by clicking More Bulleted List
Create a bulleted list by clicking More > Bulleted List.

Now that the body is formatted correctly, add information to the slide. Given you haven't researched the topic the presentation is about, Google Slides has an in-app researching tool accessible via Tools > Explore.

The Explore sidebar allows you to Google search in-app. You may also filter the search to only include material from the Web, Images, or Google Drive. Using the See all results on Google link at the bottom of the sidebar sends you to a full Google search window. You can preview the links right from the sidebar and insert links directly into the presentation right from the sidebar itself.

Get information on the topic in-app using the Explore sidebar
Get information on the topic in-app using the Explore sidebar.

Add the information you'd like to display to your slides. Presentation notes may be added in the field at the bottom for easy access to additional information without cluttering your slides.

3. Adding Media

The next slide will be a slide with media elements. Since media will be added to this slide, the default layout won't be the best fit. For this slide, click the arrow button next to the + button, and select a different layout for the slide, most preferably one from the bottom row. I'll use Caption.

How to Use Google Slides and Select a slide layout
Select a slide layout.

Click the arrow button next to the "+" button to view additional layouts.

Tip: Layouts may be altered later using the Layouts button in the toolbar.

Let's look at how to use Google Slides to add images to your presentation. To add an image, click the Image button in the toolbar, or go to Insert > Image.

There are several ways to add images to your presentation. You can upload your own image from your hard drive, your Google+ account, or Google Drive; you can take a picture using a webcam; or you can search Google, LIFE magazine photo archives, or stock photos in the Insert image panel.

The Insert image panel in Google Slides
Select an image source from the Insert image panel.

Note: When downloading images, pay attention to any intellectual property restrictions. For example, below the Stock images search the words "Results shown are available for personal or commercial use only in Google Drive, and may not be independently redistributed or sold" display.

Once you find the image you like, click on it and press Select (from archives or stock images) or Open (from the Upload option) to insert it into the presentation. There, the image may be resized and rotated to your liking.

Images may be easily resized using the anchors
Images may be easily resized using the anchors alongside the photo.

4. Adding Animations

If you wish to spice up your presentation a bit, Google Slides hosts a few different animations you can use for both slide elements and transitions between slides. 

Here's how to use Google Slides to add animations to your presentation. Add a transition by clicking on the Transition button in the toolbar. An Animations sidebar will appear, and from there you are able to customize the animations in your presentation.

The Slide menu controls animations between slides. There are six transition options available; pick one from the drop-down menu. You can then choose the speed at which the transition occurs using the Slow-Fast slider beneath the drop-down menu. The slider displays the transition length as you adjust it to your liking; transitions may last between zero to five seconds.

Click Transition to add transitions between slides
Click Transition to add transitions between slides.

Tip: Easily apply transitions between all slides by clicking the Apply to all slides button in the Animations sidebar.

Individual objects on slides can be animated, too. Select an object on the slide by clicking on it, then press Select an object to animate in the Animations sidebar.

Click Select an object to animate to animate individual objects
Click Select an object to animate to animate individual objects.

Select an animation style from the first drop-down menu. The second drop-down menu controls the toggling of individual animations. Animations may be toggled manually by selecting the On click option, or automatically by selecting the After previous or With previous options. Animation speed is controlled by a Slow-Fast slider.

Animations can be toggled manually or automatically
Animations can be toggled manually or automatically.

To preview your animations, press Play.

Step 4. Collaboration

Now we cover how to use Google Slides collaboration features, which are top-notch to work with. Since it's a web app, it's easy to invite people to join the presentation and work on it together in real time, no matter where your peers may be located. 

To collaborate, click the blue Share button in the right corner of the screen. The Share with others a screen will pop up and offer different ways to share the presentation. If you click the Get shareable link icon (it looks like a chain), Google generates a link for your presentation which can be shared with people via Mail, Google+, Facebook, or Twitter.

You can also invite people to the document your presentation by entering their email addresses (or, if they are in your contacts, their names) in the People field. Click the Advanced link in the lower right of the screen to view all the sharing options.


Google Slides sharing settings
How to use Google Slides sharing settings.

The presentation can be opened to the public further by clicking the Change link under the Who has access field. The Link sharing window displays. There, the presentation may be made available for Anyone with the link or made totally public by clicking Public on the web. These options differ from Specific people because no one needs to sign into their Google account to view the presentation.

Control the privacy of the presentation
Control the privacy of the presentation by restricting editing and viewing powers.

You're able to restrict the powers of collaborators by selecting either Can view, Can comment, or Can edit options from the Can view drop-down menu.

Once you're happy with the collaboration settings, click the Save button on the Link sharing window. Next, click the Done button on the Sharing settings window. You may now begin collaboration in real time.

Step 5. Present Your Google Slides Presentation

Now that you've finished the presentation, click the Present button to show off what you've got.

A completed Google Slides presentation
A completed Google Slides presentation.

If you're presenting somewhere without internet access, you may export the presentation as a .pptx file by clicking File > Download As > Microsoft PowerPoint.

Now that we've covered what is Google Slides, as well as how to use Google Slides, you can see that it makes it easy to create web-based presentations. Though in using Google Slides you may lose some desktop app features, the in-app information and photo search engines, strong collaboration tools, and ubiquity of the application make the app a strong competitor to the traditional presentation app.

To learn even more about Google Slides, refer to these Google Slides tutorials:

Also, if you need a professional presentation theme to start with, browse through our best Google Slides themes on GraphicRiver to find a great design. They're robust, packed with loads of design features, beautiful graphics, and made to work with quickly.

If you have any further questions or suggestions about Google Slides, feel free to leave a comment.

Download Our Free PDF eBook on Making Great Presentations

Keep in mind though, presentation software is only one component you need to master. We have the perfect compliment to this tutorial, that will help you learn how to write, design, and deliver great presentations. 

Download The Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations for FREE with a subscription to the Tuts+ Business Newsletter. Get your ideas formed into a powerful presentation that will move your audience. 

Free eBook PDF Download Make a Great Presentation

Editorial Note: This post was originally published in 2014. It has been comprehensively revised to make it current, accurate, and up to date by our staff—with special assistance from Laura Spencer.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.