Unlimited PowerPoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Small Business

Как стать успешным хозяином малого предприятия

by
Read Time:13 minsLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Yuri Yuriev (you can also view the original English article)

Если вы начали или подумываете начать новый бизнес, то, вероятно, знаете показатели мрачной статистики о провалах.

Многих это сдерживает от подобных начинаний. Опрос Gallup survey показал, что четверть американцев думали о своём бизнесе, но решили воздержаться. 66% из них сказали, что «были обеспокоены низкими шансами на успех».

Не нужно вовсе отказываться от своей мечты, вы не обречены на то, чтобы пополнить мрачную статистику. Если всё делать правильно с самого начала, можно стать успешным владельцем малого бизнеса, процветающей и прибыльной для себя и ваших клиентов компании.

Become a Successful Small Business OwnerBecome a Successful Small Business OwnerBecome a Successful Small Business Owner
Узнайте, как стать успешным владельцем малого бизнеса.

В этом уроке я дам вам несколько советов о том, как этого добиться и как эффективно двигаться вперёд. Коснёмся вопросов, которыми нужно задаться, как получить поддержку (как моральную, так и финансовую), как быстро заработать деньги и многих других.

В конце вы увидите несколько путей ведения бизнеса и, я надеюсь, почувствуете вдохновение и уверенность в том, что вы со своей компанией можете быть успешны.

1. Задайте себе несколько простых вопросов

Естественное началу деятельности желание побуждает сразу броситься к созданию своего первого продукта или услуги. Но стоит притормозить, чтобы задать себе пару вопросов для ясности.

Вот некоторые из самых важных на этом этапе. Лучше всего записать их и сохранить ответы, чтобы обратиться к ним позже.

Почему вы затеваете своё дело?

Этот вопрос может показаться очевидным или несущественным, но он важен. Если вы ответите вроде: «Потому что я ненавижу свою работу и хочу быть себе хозяином» или «Чтобы заработать деньги», это хорошее начало, а дальше? Почему именно это дело? Что в нём привлекательного? Как это будет выглядеть в случае успеха?

Надо постараться понять, что важно для вас, где ваш интерес и какова суть всего предприятия. В образе хозяина ИП легко увязнуть в счетах, создании веб-сайта, бесконечных правках копии веб-сайта, заполнении налоговых форм и т. д. Оцените общий вид этой картины.

Что вы предлагаете?

Одним словом, что вы станете делать? Чем оно будет будет отличаться от того, что делают другие фирмы и за что люди это полюбят?

Ваш ответ будет чем-то вроде знаменитого “elevator pitch” или, может быть, заявления о миссии. Не имеет значения, насколько он блестящ, важно, чтобы ваш ответ был ясным и понятным. Загорались ли глаза ваших друзей, когда вы им отвечали, чем занимаетесь? Может быть, они просили подробностей или, извинившись, тянулись за очередным бутербродом?

В качестве примера, вот Amazon’s mission statement:

Мы видим себя самой близкой клиенту компанией Земли; строим место, куда люди зайдут и обнаружат всё, что они захотят купить в Интернете.

Хотите любите Amazon, хотите нет, это довольно чёткая миссия. Придумайте собственную, а занимаясь делом, увлекайтесь не столько его техникой, сколько тем, что предлагаете людям в смысле улучшения их жизни.

Кто это купит?

Определившись с предложением, спросите себя, кто это купит. Создайте подробный «образ покупателя» - профиль вашего идеального клиента, включая его имя, возраст, пол, симпатии, антипатии, хобби, мечты и многое другое.

Образы покупателей стали довольно популярными, возможно, вы уже знакомы с концепцией. Если нет, подробности в этом уроке getting to know your customers.

В чем ваши достоинства?

Хорошо, если вы специалист своего дела. Например, если вы затеваете студию веб-дизайна, правильный ответ: «в проектировании веб-сайтов».

Но для успеха в бизнесе вам понадобится много других навыков. Предстоит налаживать связи, договариваться, продавать себя и свои продукты, вести учётные записи, давать указания и прочее.

Сделайте самоотчёт. Отвечая на вопросы, будьте полностью честны. Чем вы хороши, и чего вам не хватает? В чём ваша сила и в чём слабость?

Определив слабые места, составляйте план их ликвидации. Если вы не соображаете в цифрах, найдите того, кто понимает. Наймите бухгалтера или научитесь этому делу сами по super-simple accounting tutorials или другим урокам. Если слабы в дизайне сайтов, есть помощники hire someone to do it for you.

Главное здесь вовсю положиться на свои достоинства и найти помощников для компенсации слабостей.

Ещё важные вопросы для начала вы найдёте в этом уроке:

2. Ищите поддержку

Вам понадобится большая поддержка, если вы затеяли своё дело. Ваши предшественники, наделавшие типичных ошибок, поделятся своим опытом. Даже вдохновят, помогут разработать стратегию и познакомят с новыми возможностями.

Очень повезёт, если вы найдёте наставника. Самые успешные предприниматели много взяли от своих учителей. Вот quote от ведущего эксперта Bill George, со ссылкой на основателя Facebook Mark Zuckerberg:

Люди всегда спрашивают: Откуда у него такая мудрость, словно он лет на 20 старше? Ответ в том, что он очень рано нашёл хороших наставников.

Одним из них был Steve Jobs, который сам учился у Bill Campbell.

Чтобы узнать, как найти наставника, подойти к нему и как управлять отношениями, смотрите Lisa Hunter’s урок How to Find Great Mentors.

Можно даже назначить «личный консультативный совет» из нескольких доверенных советников. И поддержка на этом не заканчивается. Находите местные деловые ассоциации и сетевые группы, обращайтесь к людям на соответствующих социальных сетях или на других веб-сайтах.

Учитесь самостоятельно. У нас на Envato Tuts + есть большая и постоянно растущая библиотека уроков по бизнесу, так что вы можете ускориться по некоторым важным темам:

3. Финансируйте свою мечту

В упомянутом мною опросе Gallup две главные причины нерешительности были связаны с отсутствием денег.

Но это не может быть препятствием. Существует множество приемлемых sources of business funding, можно применить подход bootstrapping, сокращая затраты и развивая дело с ограниченными вложениями.

Имейте в виду, что для прибылей надо будет ещё и поработать. Можете определить время достижения рентабельности по моему уроку creating a financial model для бизнеса.

После создания модели бизнеса стоит заняться изучением финансов. Шотландский поэт Robert Burns когда-то написал:

The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley. (Лучшие планы мышей и мужчин часто идут вкривь и вкось.)

Конец обычно переводится, как «часто переезжайте», но вы понимаете смысл: независимо от ваших планов, события редко идут, как задумано. Мы живем в мире сложных переплетений и даже если вы всё сделали правильно, ваш бизнес может быть опрокинут внезапным кризисом, крахом недвижимости, скачком цен из-за войны на другом конце света, появлением мощного конкурента на вашей поляне и прочим.

Так что стелите соломку на тот случай, если что-то пойдёт не совсем так, как хотелось. Будет умнее и дешевле организовать финансирование заранее, чем на грани краха. Конечно, не надо платить проценты за ненужные кредиты, но есть варианты, например кредитные линии, когда вы платите только за активацию. В любом случае, все варианты надо изучить заранее.

4. Создание денежного оборота 

Когда люди только начинают, они концентрируются на сокращении расходов, в страхе, что их небольшие средства быстро растают.

Это правильная стратегия, но есть и другой способ иметь оборотные средства - получение дохода.

Главной особенностью интернет startups является возможность быстрого запуска продукта, которой нет у традиционной компании. Создайте минимально жизнеспособный продукт (MVP), отпустите его в мир и начните постепенно улучшать по мере продвижения.

Это эффективный способ разработки новых товаров и средство быстро получить деньги - если ваш продукт «жизнеспособен» настолько, что люди за него платят!

Дополнительно об этом в моём уроке The Lean, Agile Way to Build Your First Product.

Если у вас не интернет startup или такие меры вам не подходят, есть иные способы быстрого оборота и получения прибыли. Если вы работаете в сфере услуг, можете заключать договоры предоплаты или по частям, а не по факту выполнения. Денежные поступления особенно важны в долгосрочных проектах. Рассчитайте скидки и сроки выполнения клиентам, заключившим контракты заранее. 

Чем больше денег вы получите в первые дни своей работы, тем быстрее окупите начальные вложения и сможете вкладывать средства в продвижение.

5. Разносите молву

Для маленькой новой фирмы существует очевидная проблема: никто не знает о вашем существовании.

Благодаря множеству маркетинговых возможностей в Интернете, это не проблема. Многие из них, конечно, бесплатны или дёшевы, но не забывайте, что ваше время тоже деньги. Поэтому не делайте ошибки, подписываясь на каждый сайт в социальных сетях и тратя своё драгоценное время на твиты и обновления статуса.

Займитесь главным. Определите цели, составьте план их достижения, в котором распишите стратегию и этапы продвижения. Воспользуйтесь, конечно же, бесплатными возможностями, но не забывайте о тех, которые могут сэкономить вам кучу времени с минимальными тратами.

Подробнее об этом смотрите в marketing tutorials на Envato Tuts+:

6. Соблюдайте отчётность

Мы живём в век информации. Ещё в 2010, Google CEO Eric Schmidt famously said что каждые два дня выходит больше данных, чем их появилось от начала истории до 2003 года. И с тех пор количество информации продолжает расти.

Хотя ваш малый бизнес, вероятно, не будет завален Тб данных, всё равно их будет достаточно для анализа. Появятся финансовые отчёты, записи о клиентах, трафик веб-сайтов, участие в социальных сетях, переходы по кликам, коэффициенты конверсии, регистрации и многое другое.

Конечно, всё отследить не получится, можно сойти с ума. Остановитесь на ключевых показателях, которые определяют ваши бизнес-цели и составьте график их отслеживания на регулярной основе. С этим вам помогут мои статьи key metrics every business should track.

Создайте свою методику определения измеримых целей, анализа вашего прогресса, корректировки целей или создания новых. Лучше всего вести ежемесячный отчёт по самым важным позициям. Всё должно быть согласовано с общим бизнес-планом (у вас ведь есть business plan?), а данные, которые вы собираете, должны помогать его обновлению.

7. Развивать и перестраивать 

Обычно всё начинается с одного продукта. Если продукт имеет успех, возникает благодушный соблазн продолжать в том же духе. В мире стремительно развивающихся технологий это может быть чревато.

Вот пример от Envato, компании, которая управляет этим сайтом. Envato начинал десять лет назад, как рынок FlashDen, где авторы предлагали свои активы Adobe Flash, а люди могли покупать их для веб-сайтов.

Он был очень успешным и быстро развивался несколько лет, даже после того, как был вынужден изменить своё название с FlashDen на ActiveDen. Учредителям компании было бы легко заниматься одним сайтом, чтобы превратить его в лучший Flash-рынок.

Но они сделали не так. Вместо этого они разбили его на потоки, создав рынки для множества различных продуктов, от WordPress themes до royalty-free music, graphics, рынка фриланса на Envato Studio, а также учебных материалов и курсов на Envato Tuts +, конечно же.

Оглядываясь назад, это было сделано правильно. Flash has declined упал с примерно половины всех сайтов в 2011 году до менее, чем четверти в 2015.   Поскольку оборот рынка сократился, Envato объявила о закрытии ActiveDen.

How the ActiveDen website looks todayHow the ActiveDen website looks todayHow the ActiveDen website looks today
Как ActiveDen выглядит сегодня.

Если бы основатели компании хранили все яйца в одной корзине, почти все они были бы раздавлены падением Flash, осталось бы только оплакивать свои потери. Но, создав несколько потоков дохода, они обеспечили успех компании, даже если одно из основных направлений пошло на убыль.

Так что планируйте своевременную перестройку. Подумайте о рисках, о технологиях и о том, как изменения в конкурентной среде могут сбить вас с курса. Придумайте способы создания нескольких источников дохода, чтобы, если один продукт или услуга пошли на убыль, другие выбрали слабину.

Ваш путь к успеху

Это был обзор высшего уровня о том, как стать успешным владельцем малого бизнеса. Вы узнали о цели своего дела, об оценке сильных и слабых сторон, о финансировании, о рекламе, о путях к успеху и многом другом.

Мы затронули множество тем со ссылками на большое количество уроков для подробного изучения деталей. Я советую поглубже изучить их и подписаться на наш информационный бюллетень (в footer есть форма), чтобы быть в курсе наших последних публикаций по бизнесу. На подходе много интересного!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Small Business
Business

How to Become a Successful Small Business Owner

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

If you’ve just started or are thinking of starting a new business, you’ve probably heard plenty of gloomy statistics about small business failure rates.

Often, this can lead people to give up before they begin—a Gallup survey found that a quarter of Americans had thought about starting a business but decided against it. Of those people, 66% said they were influenced by “worry that the odds of success of a new startup are very low”.

But you don’t have to give up on your dream, nor are you doomed to add to the gloomy statistics. If you do things right from the start, you can become a successful small business owner, running a thriving, profitable company that serves both you and your customers.

Become a Successful Small Business Owner
Discover how to become a successful small business owner.

In this tutorial, I’ll give you some tips on how to achieve this and how to move forward effectively from the start. I’ll look at some of the questions you need to ask yourself, how to get support (both moral and financial), how to get money coming in quickly, and more.

By the end, you’ll be equipped with some practical strategies to use as you run your business, and I hope you’ll also feel inspired and confident that you and your company can be a success.

1. Ask Yourself Some Simple Questions

When you’re starting a business, it’s natural to be excited about what you’re doing and want to jump right into creating your first product or service right away. But it pays to take the time to ask yourself some questions first, so that you have some clarity.

Here are some of the most important questions to ask yourself. It’s best if you write the questions and answers down somewhere and save them to refer to later on.

Why Are You Starting the Business?

It may seem obvious or unimportant, but this is a crucial question to start with. If you answer something like “Because I hate my job and want to be my own boss” or “To make money”, that’s a good start, but push yourself further. Why this business? What attracted you to the idea? If you’re wildly successful, what will it look like?

The idea here is to get clear about what’s important to you, where exactly your passion lies, and what the point of the whole venture is. As a small business owner, it’s easy to get caught up in the minutiae of paying bills, writing the website copy, changing the website copy several dozen times, filling out tax forms, and so on. Don’t lose sight of the big picture.

What’s Your Offer?

In one sentence, what exactly do you do? How is it different from what other companies already do, and why will people love it?

Your answer will be something like the famous “elevator pitch”, or maybe a mission statement. It doesn’t matter whether it’s perfectly polished yet, but it is important that your answer is clear and easy to understand. If you were talking to your neighbours at a barbecue and they asked you what you do, would your answer make their eyes light up or glaze over? Would it make them ask for more details, or hurriedly excuse themselves to grab another burger?

As an example, here’s Amazon’s mission statement:

Our vision is to be Earth's most customer centric company; to build a place where people can come to find and discover anything they might want to buy online.

Whether you love or hate Amazon, that’s a pretty clear mission. Come up with your own, and as you’re doing so, try to focus not so much on the mechanics of what you do as on what you’re offering to customers and how it will improve their lives.

Who Will Buy It?

Once you’re clear on what you’re offering, ask yourself who will buy it. Get as specific as possible here, creating a detailed “customer avatar”—a profile of your ideal customer, including their name, age, gender, personality, likes, dislikes, hobbies, dreams, and more.

Customer avatars have become quite popular, so maybe you’re familiar with the concept already. If not, or if you want more details, check out this tutorial on getting to know your customers.

What Are You Good At?

It helps if you’re good at what you want to do in your business. For example, if you’re setting up a web design studio, it would help if the answer to this question includes the phrase “designing websites”.

But to be successful in business, you’ll need other skills too. You’ll need to communicate, negotiate, promote your business, sell yourself and your products, keep the accounts, stay organized, and much more.

So run a self-inventory here. The answers are for your eyes only, so be completely honest. What are you good at, and what are you not good at? What are your strengths and weaknesses?

If you identify areas of weakness, you’ll need to make a plan for dealing with them. If you don’t have a head for figures, perhaps you could partner with someone who does. Or you could hire an accountant, or improve your own skills by checking out some of our super-simple accounting tutorials or doing other training. If you’re no good at designing websites, hire someone to do it for you.

The key here is to make the most of your own strengths, and to make sure you get the necessary support to compensate for your weaknesses.

You can find more important questions to ask yourself in the following tutorial:

2. Get Help

Speaking of getting support, you’ll need plenty of it if you’re running a business. Other people have been there before and made many of the mistakes that are common among new business owners, and they can help you avoid them. They can also provide inspiration, help you develop strategy, and even introduce you to new opportunities.

A great way to do this is to find a mentor. Many of the most successful entrepreneurs have relied heavily on mentors. Here’s a quote from leadership expert Bill George, referring to Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg:

People always ask, How does he have the wisdom of someone 20 years older? The answer is, he sought out really good mentors, early on.

One of those mentors was Steve Jobs, who himself was mentored by Bill Campbell.

To find out how to identify and approach a mentor and how to manage the relationship, see Lisa Hunter’s tutorial on How to Find Great Mentors.

You could even appoint a "personal advisory board" of several trusted advisor. And the support doesn’t end there. Find local business associations and networking groups, and reach out to people on relevant social media or other websites.

Don’t forget self-help either. We have a large and growing library of business tutorials here on Envato Tuts+, so you can get up to speed on some important business topics:

3. Fund Your Dream

In that Gallup survey I mentioned earlier, the top two reasons for not starting a business were connected to lack of money.

But it doesn’t have to be a barrier. There are plenty of sources of business funding you could explore, and you could also apply the bootstrapping approach, keeping expenses tight and developing your business with limited investment.

Keep in mind that it can take some time for a business to become profitable. You can work out how long it will take for you to break even in my tutorial on creating a financial model for your business.

Even if you’ve created a model and think you’ve got enough saved, it may still be worth exploring funding. That’s because of something the Scottish poet Robert Burns once wrote:

The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.

The last part is often translated as “often go awry”, and I’m sure you understand the sense: no matter how carefully you plan, things rarely go as expected. We live in a complex, interconnected world, and even if you do everything right, your business could be knocked sideways by a sudden economic meltdown, a real estate crash, a war on the other side of the world that raises prices for your raw materials, the sudden entry of a powerful competitor into your turf, and much more.

So it pays to have a comfortable cushion, just in case things don’t pan out as expected. And it’s much easier and cheaper to arrange funding when times are good than it is when you’re desperate. Of course, you don’t want to be paying interest on unnecessary debt either, but there are funding options, like lines of credit, that you only pay for when you activate them. In any case, it’s worth researching your options early on.

4. Jump-Start Cash Flow

When people are just starting out, they often focus on keeping expenses tight because they don’t want to burn through their initial funds too quickly.

That’s a valid strategy, but another way to free up more money for the business, of course, is to get revenue coming in quickly.

A common strategy, particularly with internet startups, is to build and launch a product much more quickly than traditional businesses would have done. Instead of making something perfect, create a Minimum Viable Product (MVP), release it to the world, and start improving it gradually as you go along.

This can be an efficient way of developing new products, but it also has the benefit of allowing you to bring in money quickly—assuming your product is “viable” enough that people will pay for it!

For more on this, see my tutorial The Lean, Agile Way to Build Your First Product.

But even if you’re not an internet startup or these techniques don’t feel right to you, you can still take steps to get money coming in quickly. If you run a service-based business, you can structure contracts so that clients have to pay a certain amount up front or at agreed milestones, instead of all at the end. With long-running projects, this can make a big difference to your cash flow. You can also offer special discounts and limited-time offers for people who sign up as early customers.

The more money you can get coming through the door in the early days, the quicker you can break even on your original investment, and the more funds you’ll have available to invest in growth.

5. Get the Word Out

For a small, new business, there’s an obvious problem: nobody knows you exist.

Overcoming this problem is easier than it used to be, thanks to the plethora of marketing opportunities on the internet. Many of them, of course, are free or low cost, but don’t forget that your time is also an investment. So don’t make the mistake of signing up for every social media site out there and letting your valuable time dribble away in tweets and status updates.

Instead, get strategic. Make a marketing plan that identifies what you want to achieve and sets out the strategies and the channels you’ll use to achieve it. Take advantage of free opportunities, of course, but don’t neglect opportunities that can save you a bunch of time for a minimal investment.

For more on this, see our marketing tutorials on Envato Tuts+, such as:

6. Hold Yourself Accountable

We live in an age of data. Back in 2010, Google CEO Eric Schmidt famously said that every two days, we create more data than we did from the dawn of history up to 2003. And our data production has continued to grow since then.

While your small business will probably not be creating exabytes or zettabytes of data, there will still be plenty for you to analyze. You’ll have detailed financial records, customer records, website traffic, social media engagement, click-throughs, conversion rates, sign-ups, and much more.

Of course, you can’t track everything, and you’d go crazy if you tried. So pick some key metrics that are most closely aligned to your overall business goals, and make a plan to track them on a regular basis. For more help with this, see my series of tutorials on the key metrics every business should track.

Also make sure you have a structured process for setting measurable objectives, reviewing your progress, and adjusting the objectives or setting new ones. A good way is to keep a simple monthly checklist of the most important items. All of this should be driven by your overall business plan (you do have a business plan, don’t you?), and you should use the data you collect to help you keep the plan constantly updated.

7. Grow and Diversify

Often, a business starts out with one product. If that product is a success, it can be tempting to stick to doing what you do well. But that can also be dangerous, particularly in a world of fast-moving technology.

Here’s an example from Envato, the company that runs this site. Envato started out ten years ago as FlashDen, a marketplace where creators could upload Adobe Flash assets and people could buy them to use on their websites.

It was hugely successful and grew rapidly for the first few years, even after it was forced to change its name from FlashDen to ActiveDen. It would have been easy for the company’s founders to have kept investing in that one site, focusing on becoming the best Flash marketplace out there.

But they didn’t do that. Instead, they diversified into multiple income streams, creating marketplaces for lots of different products, from WordPress themes to royalty-free music, graphics, and more—as well as a freelance marketplace on Envato Studio, and tutorials and courses here on Envato Tuts+, of course.

In retrospect, that was a very good strategy. Use of Flash has declined from about half of all websites in 2011 to less than a quarter in 2015. As usage of the marketplace declined too, Envato announced the closure of ActiveDen last year.

How the ActiveDen website looks today
How the ActiveDen website looks today

If the company founders had kept all their eggs in one basket, the decline of Flash would have pretty much smashed all those eggs, and they would have been left bemoaning their bad luck. But by creating multiple income streams, they ensured that the company would still be successful even if one of its main products went into decline.

So think about how you can diversify your own business. Think about the risks you’re subject to, the technologies you’re dependent on, and how changes in the competitive landscape could blow you off course. Then come up with ways in which you can create multiple income streams, so that if one product or service is no longer popular, others can pick up the slack.

Your Journey to Small Business Success

This has been a high-level overview of how to become a successful small business owner. You've learned how to get clear on your business's goals and your own strengths and weaknesses, how to fund your business, how to get the word out, how to measure success, and more.

We’ve touched on a lot of different topics, of course, and I’ve linked to more tutorials so that you can dig into the details in each area. I’d encourage you to read some of those tutorials to go deeper into the key subjects, and to subscribe to our newsletter (there’s a form down in the footer) to stay up to date with the latest business tutorials published here. We've got plenty more on the way!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.