Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Planning
Business

كيفية تشغيل أعمال صغيرة صحية-مع قائمة المراجعة الشهرية 

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

عندما تقوم بتشغيل شركة صغيرة، كن متأكداً من شيء واحد : لن تكون أبدا قادراً على القيام بكل شيء .

ولذلك إحدى مخاطر إطالة لائحة المهام هو أنك في نهاية المطاف ستفقد تركيزك. إنك تندفع كل يوم للانتهاء من المهام ، ولكن هل هي المهام الصحيحة ؟ هل أعطيت الأولوية للأشياء التي من شأنها أن تساهم حقا في نجاح طويل الأجل لعملك؟ هل أعطيت الأولوية للأشياء التي من شأنها أن تساهم حقا في نجاح طويل الأجل لعملك؟

إحدى الطرق المفيدة للرجوع إلى الوراء لمكافحة حرق المراحل يوما بعد يوم والعودة بنفسك مرة أخرى إلى المسار الصحيح هي إجراء مراجعة للأعمال الشهرية.

ولكن ما الذي ينبغي أن تستتبعه تلك المراجعة بالضبط ؟ ما هي المجالات الرئيسية التي يجب أن تنظر إليها كل شهر، وما هي أنواع الأسئلة التي يجب أن تسألها ؟ هذا ما سنبحث فيه في هذا البرنامج التعليمي. سوف أمضي خلال كل خطوة بالتفصيل ، ولقد قدمت أيضا ملخصا للأعمال الصغيرة المرجعية كملف بي دي إف لتتمكن من تحميله.

Monthly checklist for small businesses
قائمة مرجعية شهرية للشركات الصغيرة

1. راجع خطة العمل

يجب أن يكون لكل مشروع خطة. ليس من الضروري أن تكون خطة عمل رسمية مكونة من 30 صفحة مع مخططات ورسوم بيانية مشرقة، ولكنها تحتاج إلى شرح واضح لما تفعله في نشاطك التجاري، وكيف سيجذب العملاء، ما هي الأهداف التي لديك، وكيف ستحقق تلك الأهداف.

هناك أكثر من ذلك بكثير من ذلك، بطبيعة الحال-إذا كنت تريد المزيد من التفاصيل، تحقق من الدروس التالية:

وإذا كنت بدأت للتو بخطتك، يمكنك أيضا العثور على بعض قوالب خطة عمل مفيدة على إنفاتو السوق.

حالما يكون لديك خطة، فإن الشيء الأكثر أهمية الذي يمكنك القيام به كل شهرهو استعراضها وقياس التقدم المحرز لديك. بعض أصحاب الأعمال يكتبون خطة لغرض معين، مثل جمع الأموال، ومن ثم تركه ليجمع الغبار عليه على الرف. لكن لكي تكون فعالة حقا، يجب أن تكون وثيقة حيوية.

لذلك، كل شهر، راجع الأهداف طويلة الأجل التي حددتها لنشاطك التجاري، فضلا عن أي أهداف أكثر إلحاحا قمت بتعيينها. من الناحية المثالية، يجب أن يكون تحقيق أهدافك طويلة الأجل وصولا الى معالم اكتمالها على فترات زمنية أقصر تدريجيا. لذلك أهداف الخمس سنوات توضع في أهدافك لمدة ثلاث سنوات، ومن ثم لمدة سنة واحدة، وأهداف شهرية.

كل شهر، قم بتقييم التقدم المحرز لديك إزاء أهم الأهداف في خطة عملك، ومن ثم ضع أهداف جديدة للشهر المقبل تتماشى مع الخطة الشاملة لديك.

أيضا، لا ننسى إعادة تقييم الخطة ككل. اسأل نفسك عما إذا كان قد تغير أي شيء جوهري خلال الشهر. هل تحتاج إلى تغيير الاتجاه، أو إضافة أي شيء إلى خطتك؟ هل تحتاج أهدافك إلى التغيير؟ ماذا عن القيمة الإجمالية المقترحة؟ هل حدث أي شيء يعني أنك بحاجة إلى تغيير ذلك؟

يمكن أن يكون هناك إغراء للالتزام بالخطة، بغض النظر عن التغيير الذي يمكن أن يشعر به مثل الضعف أو قبول الهزيمة. ولكن أفضل الخطط هي السلسة والتي يتم تحديثها لحساب الحالات المتغيرة، لذلك لا تخف من إجراء تغييرات كلما لزم الأمر. التفكير في هذه الأمور على أساس منتظم يضمن أيضا أنها قمة العقل  بالنسبة لك طوال الشهر.

2. تحقق من السيولة النقدية لديك

عندما يتعلق الأمر بتمويل عملك، فإن السيولة النقدية هي أهم شيء يجب تتبعه. هذا صحيح بشكل خاص بالنسبة للشركات الصغيرة جدا. وفقا ل دان & برادستريت، 90٪ من فشل الأعمال الصغيرة ناجم عن ضعف السيولة النقدية.

وقد يكون لدى الشركات الكبيرة، رغم كل شيء، احتياطيات عميقة للاستفادة منها، وفي الأزمة يمكن أن تقترض عادة المزيد من الأموال أو تجمعها بطرق أخرى. ولكن الشركات الصغيرة غالبا ما يكون لديها خيارات محدودة. إذا نفذت السيولة النقدية لديك، تنتهي اللعبة ، حتى لو كنت تفعل كل شيء آخر بشكل صحيح.

لذلك تحقق من السيولة النقدية لديك  شهريا، وتوقع ذلك للشهر المقبل، للتأكد من أنك تمتلك القدر الكافي منها. ووفقا لورقة بنك أميركا بيبر، فإن الشركات التي تقوم بتخطيط السيولة النقدية الشهرية لديها معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة بنسبة 80٪، مقارنة مع 36٪ لأولئك الذين يخططون مرة واحدة في السنة.

ولكي نكون واضحين، فإن السيولة النقدية هي ببساطة تدفق الأموال من وإلى نشاطك التجاري. عندما تتلقى المال من العملاء، فهذا هو التدفق النقدي الإيجابي. عندما يكون لديك دفع ذلك على شكل إيجار ورواتب وإمدادات أو نفقات أخرى ، فانها تدفق نقدي سلبي.

الفرق بين السيولة النقدية والربح هو في معظمه حول التوقيت. فكر في حياتك الشخصية لفهم الفرق. إذا كنت تحصل على 3000 $ راتب الشهري وعليك أن تدفع الإيجار وغيرها من النفقات 2000 $، فإن 1000 $ هي ربح طيب. ولكن ماذا يحدث إذا كان الإيجار مستحقا قبل أن يدفع راتبك الى حسابك المصرفي؟ ستكون في ورطة. على الرغم من أنك تكسب أكثر مما تنفقه، فقد أصابتك أزمة سيولة نقدية، ومن غير المرجح أن يتعاطف معك مالك العقار.

الشيء نفسه يمكن أن يحدث مع الأعمال التجارية. في الواقع، إنه أكثر احتمالا، لأن الشركات غالبا ما تضطر إلى الاستثمار مقدما في المعدات والمواد الخام وخلق المدفوعات العادية للإيجار والموظفين ، ولكن قد تدفع من قبل العملاء بعد شهر أو اثنين فقط من إرسال الفاتورة.

لذلك، قم كل شهر بتحليل السيولة النقدية لشركتك للشهر السابق، وتوقع السيولة النقدية لديك للشهر المقبل. حاول التخطيط للأسوأ، وإذا رأيت أي أزمات محتملة تلوح في الأفق، فحاول إيجاد طرق لتأخير الإنفاق أو تسريع التدفقات الداخلة.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول إدارة السيولة النقدية بكفاءة، حول التنبؤ بدقة، وحول التدابير التي يمكنك اتخاذها إذا كانت الأمور تسير على نحو خاطئ، راجع البرنامج التعليمي التالي: 

3. قم بمراجعة المقاييس الرئيسية الأخرى

نحن نعيش في عصر البيانات. حتى لو كنت تدير شركة صغيرة ولم تستثمر في حلول "البيانات الكبيرة" المعقدة، فإن كمية البيانات المتاحة على الفور لك ربما تقزم ما يمكن لأصحاب الأعمال الوصول إليه في الأجيال السابقة.

في هذا السياق، فإن الشيء الصعب ليس هو العثور على البيانات، ولكن أن تقرر ما الذي تركز عليه. لذا، فإن أفضل ما يجب فعله هو اتخاذ قرار بشأن بعض المقاييس الرئيسية التي تحدد نجاح نشاطك التجاري.

إذا كنت قلقا بشأن التمسك بعملائك الحاليين، على سبيل المثال، يمكنك تتبع معدل الإزدحام الشهري. إذا كنت تستثمر في الجهود التسويقية للوصول إلى عملاء جدد وتريد تقييم نجاحه، يمكنك النظر في أشياء مثل تكلفة اكتساب العملاء أو القيمة الدائمة للعميل. إذا كنت تريد أن تصبح أكثر كفاءة في عمليات الإنتاج الخاص بك، ربما تفحص اتجاه المخزون أو استخدام القدرات.

إذا لم تكن متأكدا من هذه المقاييس أو كيفية حسابها، يمكنك العثور على تعريفات وصيغ لهذا وغيرها الكثير في سلسلتنا حول المقاييس الرئيسية التي يجب على كل نشاط تجاري تتبعها:

أيا كانت المقاييس التي تستقر عليها باعتبارها الأكثر ملاءمة لنشاطك التجاري، فاستخلص طريقة سريعة وغير مؤلمة لجمعها في لوحة تحكم لمراجعتها كل شهر. ثم حدد بعض الأهداف، وبعد ذلك يمكنك كل شهر مراجعة التقدم المحرز لديك إزاء تلك الأهداف واتخاذ قرار بشأن الإجراءات التي يجب اتخاذها إذا كنت لا تحققها.

4. قم بمراجعة التزامات العملاء

من هم عملائك؟ ما الذي يفكرون فيه؟ هل هم سعداء بالخدمة التي تقدمها؟

إذا لم يكن لديك إجابات فورية على هذه الأسئلة، قد تفقد شيء مهم. بمقتضى ذلك، لا يأخذ العديد من العملاء من الوقت ما يمكنك من معرفة أنهم غير راضين - إنهم فقط يمضون إلى مكان آخر. إذا كنت تستطيع تحديد القضايا في وقت مبكر، فإن لديك فرصة لحلها والحفاظ على العميل سعيداً. يمكنك أيضا الكشف عن الفرص، مثل الخدمات الجديدة التي يحبها العميل لتقديمها. إنك لن تعرف أبدا حتى تسأل.

بطبيعة الحال، هناك توازن يجب الحفاظ عليه. إنك لا تريد أن تكون مثل اولئك النوادل الذين يقطعون وجبتك خمس مرات ليسألوا إذا كان كل شيء على ما يرام. الوصول إلى كل زبون كل شهر قد يكون مبالغا فيه. ولكن إذا كان لديك 20 عميلا رئيسيا، فإن التحقق من ذلك مع اثنين منهم كل شهر يمكن أن يكون هدفا جيدا، وسيضمن لك إجراء اتصال مع كل واحد منهم مرة واحدة على الأقل في السنة.

إذا كان لديك أكثر من قاعدة عملاء جماهيرية، يمكنك إرسال استطلاعات دورية - لمزيد من المعلومات حول تصميم هذه الدراسات الاستقصائية، راجع هذه الدروس:

ولكن لا نقلل من اللجوء الى البريد الإلكتروني الشخصي ايضاً. تخيل كيف تشعر إذا حصلت على رسالة بريد إلكتروني حقيقية من الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة أبل تيم كوك، لمجرد التحقق وسؤالك ما إذا كان لديك أي ملاحظات على الاي فون الخاص بك. من الواضح أن هذا النوع من الأشياء ليس قابلا للتوسع ، ولكنه يمكن أن يكشف عن بعض الأفكار المثيرة للاهتمام ، ويساعدك على استشعار مكامن القوة الحيوية ، وبناء علاقات قوية مع العملاء.

لذا، راجع كل شهر ارتباطات العملاء خلال الفترة السابقة. هل حققت أهدافك في الوصول إلى عملائك ؟ هل كشفت العملية عن أي مشاكل أو فرص؟ ما الإجراءات التي ستتخذها ردا على ذلك ؟ وما الذي ستفعله للتعامل مع عملائك في الشهر القادم؟

5. تحقق من جهودك التسويقية

الآن بعد أن تحققنا من قاعدة عملائنا الحالية، حان الوقت للوصول إلى عملاء جدد أيضا. بغض النظر عن مدى سعادة العملاء الحاليين لديك، هناك دائما فرصة أنهم سوف يوقفون أو يخفضون إنفاقهم، حتى لو كان ذلك لأسباب لا علاقة لها إطلاقاً بالخدمةالتي تقدمها. لذلك سوف تحتاج إلى إمدادات مستمرة من العملاء الجدد فقط للحفاظ على عملك، وسوف تحتاج حتى الى المزيد منهم إذا كنت ترغب في النمو.

وهذا يعني أنه يجب أن يكون هناك تركيز مستمر على التسويق ، وانه شيء سوف تحتاج إلى التحقق منه كل شهر. ماذا فعلت من أجل ذلك ؟ ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟ ماذا تعلمت، وما الذي يمكنك أن تفعله بشكل مختلف؟ هل تحتاج إلى استثمار المزيد من جهودك التسويقية ، سواء من حيث الوقت أو المال؟ ما الذي سوف تلتزم به في الشهر القادم؟

لمزيد من المعلومات حول تصميم خططك التسويقية وقياس نجاح جهودك، راجع: 

6. قياس الخط السفلي

بطبيعة الحال، إن الخط السفلي من عملك هو الربح. الشركات تعمل عن طريق بيع المنتجات أو الخدمات بأكثر من التكلفة الإجمالية لإنتاجها. يمكن للشركات الناشئة البقاء على قيد الحياة لفترة من الوقت دون تحقيق الربح، ولكن الربح يجب أن يأتي في نهاية المطاف.

وبالتالي فإن الشيء الأخير الذي يجب القيام به كل شهر هو التحقق من إيرادات الشركة والنفقات والربح إزاء أهدافك. كما هو الحال مع البنود الأخرى، كن صادقا في تقييمك للتقدم، ولا تخف من إعادة تقييم الأهداف الخاصة بك كلما لزم الأمر. إذا فشلت في تحقيق ما تشعر أنك بحاجة إليه ، يجب أن تلقم هذه المعلومات الى أهدافك الأخرى في العمل - الذي يمكنك فيه ابتكار طرق لخفض التكاليف، على سبيل المثال، أو تخطيط حملة التسويق للفوز بأعمال تجارية جديدة.

لمزيد من المعلومات عن تقييم النتيجة النهائية لشركتك، راجع البرامج التعليمية التالية:

الخطوات التالية

حتى الآن لقد رأيت أهم الأشياء التي تتحقق منها كل شهر كما قمت بمراجعة الأعمال التجارية الصغيرة وتقدمها.

الخطوة التالية هي جدولة الوقت في التقويم لكل شهر لإكمال هذه العملية. وبمجرد الانتهاء من تعيين ذلك، فإنه لا ينبغي أن يستغرق التحقق من قائمة الاعمال الصغيرة وقتا طويلا كل شهر وتتأكد من أنك على الطريق الصحيح.  ولكن من السهل ترك شيء مثل هذا ينزلق ، لذلك تأكد من إعداد موعد متكرر في التقويم الخاص بك، وحافظ على هذا التعيين بنفسك. من المنطقي إجراء المراجعة في نهاية كل شهر ووضع أهداف جديدة للشهر القادم، ولكن بالطبع يمكنك أن تفعل ذلك في أي يوم يكون منطقيا بالنسبة لك. والشيء المهم هو أن يكون التزاما منتظما.

تذكر أيضا أن قائمة التحقق هذه ليست سوى نقطة البداية. في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، قمنا بتغطية أهم العناصر للأعمال التجارية الصغيرة بشكل عام، ولكن يجب عليك قضاء بعض الوقت في التفكير في شركتك وأي عناصر محددة تريد تتبعها.

إذا كنت مسؤولا عن الكثير من بيانات العميل، على سبيل المثال، قد ترغب في مراجعة سلامة تلك البيانات كل شهر والتأكد من أن لديك التدابير المناسبة في مكانها للحفاظ على أمنها. إذا كنت تعمل في صناعة سريعة التغير حيث التدريب على المهارات أو البرامج الجديدة هو المهم، قد ترغب في تتبع أن كمية التدريب لك ولموظفيك قد أكملت.

ويمكن بسهولة التعامل مع هذه الأمور كجزء من مراجعة خطة العمل العامة، ولكن سحبها لتتبعها كبند منفصل يمكن أن يساعد على زيادة التركيز على تلك البنود والتأكد من التعامل معها بجدية.

هذا كل شيء! آمل أن يكون هذا البرنامج التعليمي مفيد بالنسبة لك، وإذا كان لديك أي اقتراحات لعناصر أخرى لإضافتها إلى قائمة مراجعة الأعمال التجارية الشهرية، يرجى إضافتها في التعليقات أدناه.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Planning
Business

How to Run a Healthy Small Business—With a Monthly Review Checklist

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

When you run a small business, one thing’s for sure: you’ll never be short of things to do.

But one of the dangers of a lengthening to-do list is that you can end up losing your focus. You rush around every day completing tasks, but are they the right tasks? Have you prioritized things that will truly contribute to the long-term success of your business?

One useful way to step back from the day-to-day firefighting and get yourself back on track is by conducting a monthly business review.

But what exactly should that review entail? What are the key areas that you should look at every month, and what kinds of questions should you be asking? That’s what we’re going to look at in this tutorial. I’ll go through each step in detail, and I’ve also provided a summary small business checklist as a PDF for you to download.

Monthly checklist for small businesses
Monthly review checklist for small businesses

1. Review the Business Plan

Every business should have a plan. It doesn’t have to be a formal, 30-page business plan with snazzy charts and graphs, but it does need to explain clearly what your business does, how it will attract customers, what goals you have, and how you will achieve those goals.

There’s much more to it than that, of course—if you want more detail, check out the following tutorials:

And if you’re just getting started with your plan, you can also find some useful business plan templates on Envato Market.

Once you have your plan in place, the most important thing you can do each month is review it and measure your progress. Some business owners write a plan for a specific purpose, like raising funds, and then leave it to gather dust on a shelf. But to be truly effective, it needs to be a living document.

So, every month, review the long-term goals you set for your business, as well as any more immediate objectives you’ve set. Ideally, you should be breaking your long-term goals down into milestones to be completed over progressively shorter time periods. So five-year goals feed into your three-year, one-year, and monthly objectives.

Each month, assess your progress against the most important goals in your business plan, and then set new goals for the coming month that are aligned with your overall plan.

Also, don’t forget to reassess the plan as a whole. Ask yourself whether anything substantial has changed during the month. Do you need to change direction, or add anything to your plan? Do your goals need to change? How about your overall value proposition? Has anything happened that means you need to change that?

There can be a temptation to stick to the plan, no matter what—change can feel like weakness or an admission of defeat. But the best plans are fluid and are updated to account for changing situations, so don’t be afraid to make changes whenever necessary. Thinking about these things on a regular basis also ensures that they are top of mind for you throughout the month.

2. Check Your Cash Flow

When it comes to the finances of your business, cash flow is the most important thing to keep track of. That’s especially true for very small businesses. According to Dun & Bradstreet, 90% of small business failures are caused by poor cash flow.

Large companies, after all, may have deep reserves to draw on, and in a crisis they can usually borrow more or raise funds in other ways. But small businesses often have limited options. If you run out of cash, it's game over, even if you're doing everything else right.

So check your cash flow monthly, and forecast it for the month ahead, to make sure you won’t run short. According to this Bank of America paper, businesses doing monthly cash flow planning have an 80% survival rate, compared with 36% for those only planning once a year.

To be clear, cash flow is simply the flow of money in and out of your business. When you receive money from customers, that’s a positive cash flow; when you have to pay it out in the form of rent, salaries, supplies or other expenses, it’s a negative cash flow.

The difference between cash flow and profit is mostly about timing. Think about your personal life to understand the difference. If you get a $3,000 monthly salary and have to pay out rent and other expenses of $2,000, that’s a nice profit of $1,000. But what happens if your rent comes due before your paycheck hits your bank account? You’re in trouble. Even though you’re earning more than you’re spending, you’ve hit a cash-flow crisis, and your landlord is unlikely to sympathise.

The same thing can happen with a business. In fact, it’s even more likely, because companies often have to make upfront investments in equipment and raw materials and make regular payments for rent and staff, but may only get paid by customers a month or two after sending out an invoice.

So, each month, analyse your company’s cash flow for the prior month, and forecast your cash flow for the month ahead. Try to plan for the worst, and if you see any potential crises looming, work out ways to delay spending or speed up inflows.

For more on managing cash flow efficiently, on forecasting it accurately, and on the measures you can take if things are going wrong, see the following tutorial:

3. Review Other Key Metrics

We live in the age of data. Even if you run a small business and haven’t invested in complex “big data” solutions, the amount of data instantly available to you probably dwarfs what business owners could access in previous generations.

In such a context, the hard thing is not to find data, but to decide what to focus on. So the best thing to do is to decide on some key metrics that define success for your business.

If you’re worried about holding onto your existing customers, for example, you could track your monthly churn rate. If you’re investing in marketing efforts to reach new clients and want to assess their success, you could look at things like the Cost of Customer Acquisition or the Lifetime Value of a Customer. If you want to become more efficient in your production processes, perhaps check your inventory turns or capacity utilization.

If you’re not sure what these metrics are or how to calculate them, you can find definitions and formulas for these and many more in our series on the key metrics every business should track:

Whichever metrics you settle on as being the most relevant for your business, come up with a quick, painless way to gather them in a dashboard for your review each month. Then set some targets, and then each month you can review your progress against those targets and decide on actions to take if you’re not meeting them.

4. Review Customer Engagement

How are your customers? What are they thinking? Are they happy with the service you’re providing?

If you don’t have immediate answers to these questions, you may be missing something important. After all, many customers don’t take the time to let you know that they’re unhappy—they just go elsewhere. If you can identify issues up front, you have a chance to resolve them and keep the client happy. You may also uncover opportunities, such as new services a client would love you to offer. You never know until you ask.

Of course, there’s a balance to be struck. You don’t want to be like those waiters who interrupt your meal five times to ask if everything’s OK. Reaching out to every customer every month might be overkill. But if you have 20 major clients, checking in with a couple of them each month could be a good goal, and would ensure that you make contact with each of them at least once a year.

If you have more of a mass client base, you could send out periodic surveys—for more on designing those surveys, see these tutorials:

But don’t underestimate the appeal of a personal email either. Imagine how you’d feel if you got a genuine email from Apple CEO Tim Cook, just checking in and asking if you had any feedback on your iPhone. Clearly, that sort of thing is not very scalable, but it can reveal some interesting insights, help you keep your finger on the pulse, and build strong relationships with customers.

So each month, review your customer engagement over the previous period. Did you hit your goals for reaching out to your clients? Did the process reveal any issues or opportunities? What actions will you take in response? And what will you do to engage with your customers in the coming month?

5. Check Your Marketing Efforts

Now that we’ve checked in on our current customer base, it’s time to reach out to new customers too. No matter how happy your existing clients are, there’s always a chance that they’ll stop or reduce their spending, even if it’s for reasons completely unrelated to the service you offer. So you’ll need a constant supply of new customers just to maintain your business, and you’ll need even more of them if you want to grow.

That means that marketing must be a constant focus, and it’s something you’ll need to check in on each month. What have you done to get the word out? How successful was it? What did you learn, and what could you do differently? Do you need to invest more in your marketing efforts, either in terms of time or money? What will you commit to doing in the coming month?

For more on designing your marketing plans and measuring the success of your efforts, check out:

6. Measure the Bottom Line

Of course, the bottom line of your business is profit. Businesses operate by selling products or services for more than the total cost of producing them. Startups can survive for a while without making a profit, but the profit has to come eventually.

So the final thing to do each month is to check your company’s revenue, expenses and profit against your targets. As with the other items, be honest in your assessment of progress, and don’t be afraid to re-evaluate your targets whenever necessary. If you’re falling short of what you feel you need, that information should feed into your other goals for the business—you may devise ways to cut costs, for example, or plan a marketing drive to win new business.

For more on assessing your company’s bottom line, see the following tutorials:

Next Steps

So now you’ve seen the most important things to check every month as you review your small business and its progress.

The next step is to schedule time in your calendar every month to complete this process. Once you’ve set it going, it shouldn’t take very long to go over the small business checklist every month and make sure you’re on track. But it’s easy to let something like this slip, so make sure you set up a recurring appointment in your calendar, and keep that appointment with yourself. It makes sense to do the review at the end of each month and set new goals for the coming month, but of course you could do it on any day that makes sense for you. The important thing is for it to be a regular commitment.

Also, remember that this checklist is only a starting point. In this tutorial, we’ve covered the most important items for a small business in general, but you should spend some time thinking about your own company and any specific items that you want to track.

If you are in charge of a lot of client data, for example, you may want to review the safety of that data every month and make sure that you have the right measures in place to keep it secure. If you work in a fast-changing industry in which training in new skills or software is important, you may want to keep track of the amount of training you and your staff have completed.

These things could easily be dealt with as part of the general business plan review, but pulling them out to track as a separate item can help to increase your focus on those items and make sure you treat them seriously.

So that’s it! I hope this tutorial has been useful for you, and if you have any other suggestions for items to add to a monthly small business review checklist, please add them in the comments below.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.