Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business

Wie kann man behinderte Arbeitnehmer einstellen? (+5 Geschäftsvorteile)

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Complete Small Business Human Resources (HR) Guide.
15 Important HR Basics for Every Small Business Owner
10 Best HR Software Solutions for Your Small Business (2018)

German (Deutsch) translation by Katharina Grigorovich-Nevolina (you can also view the original English article)

Heute ist der Internationale Tag der Menschen mit Behinderungen, der von den Vereinten Nationen als Tag zur Förderung der Rechte behinderter Menschen weltweit bezeichnet wird. Genauer:

"Ziel ist es, die Rechte und das Wohlergehen von Menschen mit Behinderungen in allen Bereichen der Gesellschaft und Entwicklung zu fördern und das Bewusstsein für die Situation von Menschen mit Behinderungen in allen Aspekten des politischen, sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Lebens zu schärfen."

Einer der wichtigsten Bereiche, in denen wir alle Fortschritte zum Wohle behinderter Menschen und der Gesellschaft insgesamt erzielen können, ist der Arbeitsplatz. Obwohl jeder fünfte Mensch weltweit eine Behinderung hat, ist Diskriminierung weit verbreitet. Hier sind einige Statistiken aus dieser schockierenden Zusammenstellung:

  • Die Armutsquote für Menschen mit Behinderungen beträgt 47%.
  • Die Beschäftigungsquote für behinderte Menschen im erwerbsfähigen Alter beträgt nur 35%, verglichen mit 78% für nicht behinderte Menschen.
  • Ungefähr jeder vierte Menschen mit einer Behinderung wird jeden Tag mindestens einem Diskriminierungsvorfall ausgesetzt sein.
  • 38% der Menschen glauben, dass jemand mit einer Behinderung eine Belastung für die Gesellschaft darstellt.
  • In Großbritannien werden schätzungsweise täglich über 100 Hassverbrechen gegen Menschen mit Behinderungen begangen.

Was können Sie also tun, um die Rechte und das Wohlergehen von Menschen mit Behinderungen zu fördern? Wenn Sie ein Unternehmen führen oder in der Lage sind, Mitarbeiter einzustellen, ist es wichtig, behinderten Arbeitnehmern Möglichkeiten zu bieten.

Hiring disabled workersHiring disabled workersHiring disabled workers
Die Einstellung behinderter Arbeitskräfte ist eine gute Geschäftspraxis. (Bildquelle)

Die gute Nachricht ist, dass dies das Richtige ist - nicht nur aus ethischer Sicht, sondern auch aus rein geschäftlicher Sicht.

In diesem Tutorial werden einige der Vorteile der Einstellung von Arbeitnehmern mit Behinderungen erläutert und anschließend untersucht, wie Sie dies effektiv tun können. Wir werden uns den Einstellungsprozess, einige Kundenbindungsstrategien und einige Erfolgsgeschichten von Unternehmen ansehen, die in diesem Bereich gute Arbeit geleistet haben.

1. Die Vorteile der Einstellung behinderter Arbeitnehmer

Hier sind fünf einfache Gründe, warum es in Ihrem Interesse liegt, Menschen mit Behinderungen einzustellen.

Starke Leistung

Mehrere Umfragen haben ergeben, dass Arbeitgeber die Leistung ihrer behinderten Arbeitnehmer sehr hoch bewerten. Darüber hinaus haben behinderte Mitarbeiter stärkere Anwesenheitslisten und bessere Rückhalteraten.

Eine Studie des Instituts für Unternehmensproduktivität (I4CP) ergab beispielsweise Folgendes:

  • Mehr als drei Viertel der Arbeitgeber bewerteten Arbeitnehmer mit geistigen und entwicklungsbedingten Behinderungen (IDD) in Bezug auf Leistungsfaktoren als gut oder sehr gut.
  • 73% gaben eine positive Erfahrung mit der Beschäftigung von Personen mit IDD an.
  • Die Top-Qualitäten von Mitarbeitern mit IDD waren Zuverlässigkeit (89%), Integration mit Mitarbeitern (87%) und Motivation (86%).

Und laut UN:

"Nationale Beschäftigungsstudien, einschließlich einer 30-Jahres-Analyse von DuPont de Nemours, zeigen, dass Menschen mit Behinderungen gleiche oder höhere Leistungsbewertungen, bessere Rückhalteraten und weniger Fehlzeiten aufweisen."

Erweitert den Talentpool

Wie jeder Arbeitgeber weiß, kann es schwierig sein, die richtige Person für eine offene Stelle zu finden. Es ist noch schwieriger, wenn Sie einen erheblichen Prozentsatz der Belegschaft absichtlich oder unbeabsichtigt aus Ihrem Talentpool streichen, weil eine Behinderung die Fähigkeit der Mitarbeiter, die Arbeit zu erledigen, möglicherweise nicht beeinträchtigt.

Es gibt Millionen von Menschen mit Behinderungen, die für die Arbeit qualifiziert sind, aber von vielen Arbeitgebern unterbewertet werden. So können Sie Menschen mit Fähigkeiten und Qualifikationen finden - und mit der Motivation und anderen Qualitäten, die in der obigen I4CP-Studie erwähnt wurden -, die Ihre Konkurrenten möglicherweise übersehen haben.

Beziehen Sie sich auf Ihre Kunden

Erraten Sie, was? Viele Ihrer potenziellen Kunden sind ebenfalls deaktiviert. Sie können ihnen besser dienen, wenn Sie eine Belegschaft haben, die die volle Vielfalt der breiteren Gemeinschaft widerspiegelt.

Mitarbeiter mit Behinderungen können Ihren Kunden nicht nur ein behindertenfreundliches Image vermitteln, sondern auch einfache Verbesserungen vorschlagen, z. B. eine barrierefreie Website oder eine klarere Beschilderung in Ihrem Geschäft, die Sie sonst möglicherweise übersehen hätten.

Laut einem UN-Factsheet:

„Mitarbeiter mit Behinderungen haben ein besseres Verhältnis zu Kunden mit Behinderungen. In den USA entspricht dies einer jährlichen Gesamtkonsumausgaben von 1 Billion US-Dollar. “

Nutzen Sie die Vorteile der Vielfalt

In einem früheren Artikel in unserer Reihe über Vielfalt am Arbeitsplatz habe ich die Vorteile der Förderung der Vielfalt in Ihrem Unternehmen untersucht.

Es stellt sich heraus, dass es viele greifbare Vorteile gibt, wie zum Beispiel:

  • Innovation fördern
  • bessere Entscheidungsfindung erreichen
  • mehr Geld verdienen
  • Verbesserung Ihres Rufs
  • und mehr

Behinderung ist eine der Schlüsseldimensionen der Arbeitsplatzvielfalt. Indem Sie also die Vertretung behinderter Menschen in Ihrem Unternehmen erhöhen, tragen Sie zur allgemeinen Arbeitsplatzvielfalt bei und stellen sich auf, um diese Vorteile zu erhalten.

Holen Sie sich Steuergutschriften und andere Anreize

In einigen Ländern können Sie sich für staatliche Anreize qualifizieren, wenn Sie Arbeitnehmer mit Behinderungen beschäftigen.

In den USA bieten beispielsweise der Disabled Access Credit, der Barrier Removal Tax Deduction und der Work Opportunity Tax Credit finanzielle Anreize für Unternehmen, die Beschäftigungshemmnisse für behinderte Menschen beseitigen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der IRS-Website. Wenn Sie anderswo ansässig sind, können Sie in Ihrem Land nach ähnlichen Details suchen.

Diese Anreize sind im Allgemeinen nicht groß genug, um als einziger Grund für die Einstellung behinderter Menschen zu gelten, aber sie bieten in Kombination mit den anderen oben genannten Gründen einen guten Süßstoff.

Es gibt mehr...

Es gibt noch viele weitere Gründe, Menschen mit Behinderungen einzustellen. Hier sind die Top-Ergebnisse laut einer Studie des Instituts für Unternehmensproduktivität (I4CP). "IDD" steht für geistige und Entwicklungsstörungen.

Reasons for hiring people with IDDReasons for hiring people with IDDReasons for hiring people with IDD

2. Wie kann man Arbeitnehmer mit Behinderungen anstellen?

Wie gehen Sie vor, wenn Sie behinderte Arbeitnehmer einstellen möchten?

Schreiben Sie Ihre Stellenanzeigen neu

Während ein Teil des Ausschlusses behinderter Menschen vom Arbeitsplatz auf völlige Diskriminierung zurückzuführen ist, ist ein Teil auch auf einfache Fehler zurückzuführen.

Machen Sie beispielsweise in Ihren Stellenanzeigen einen dieser Fehler, der einige qualifizierte Kandidaten mit Behinderungen ausschließen kann?

  • Das Erfordernis eines Führerscheins beim Fahren ist nicht der Schlüssel zur Rolle
  • Veröffentlichung auf einer Website, die nicht vollständig zugänglich ist
  • mit einer kleinen Schriftart
  • keine alternativen Formate für Anwendungen anbieten

Weitere Artikel dieser Art finden Sie in Abschnitt 4.1 dieses Leitfadens der britischen Regierung.

Denken Sie auch sorgfältig über die Sprache Ihrer Anzeige nach, die bestimmte Gruppen unbeabsichtigt ausschließen kann. Werkzeuge wie Textio können Ihnen dabei helfen, sich dessen bewusster zu werden.

Partner mit behindertenbezogenen Organisationen

Gehen Sie dorthin, wo Ihre Zielgruppe ist. Wenn Sie mit Interessenvertretungsorganisationen zusammenarbeiten, können diese Sie mit qualifizierten Kandidaten verbinden, Sie über die besten Ansätze beraten und vieles mehr.

Sie können auch an Jobmessen und Konferenzen im Zusammenhang mit Behinderungen teilnehmen, Anzeigen in Magazinen oder auf Websites schalten, die von Organisationen für Behindertenvertretung erstellt wurden, oder bestimmte Jobbörsen wie das Workforce Recruitment Program in den USA finden, ein Regierungsprogramm, das Arbeitgeber mit Studenten verbindet und Absolventen mit Behinderungen.

Erstellen Sie eine Gleichstellungsrichtlinie

Dies ist grundlegend, aber kleine Unternehmen haben es möglicherweise noch nicht in Betracht gezogen. Wenn Sie wirklich eine inklusive Einstellungsrichtlinie haben, geben Sie diese im Voraus an. Erstellen Sie eine Richtlinie zur Chancengleichheit, veröffentlichen Sie sie auf Ihrer Website und beziehen Sie sich in all Ihren Einstellungsmaterialien darauf.

Weitere Informationen hierzu und zu anderen Einstellungstipps finden Sie im folgenden Tutorial:

Weitere Ressourcen zur Einstellung von Arbeitnehmern mit Behinderungen finden Sie auf der Website der Society for Human Resource Management.

Stellen Sie sicher, dass der Interviewprozess fair ist

Ein weiterer Bereich, in dem Sie unbeabsichtigt Personen ausschließen können, ist der Interviewprozess.

Beispielsweise:

  • Wenn Sie von Personen verlangen, dass sie einen Test machen, geben Sie ihnen dies im Voraus bekannt und erlauben Sie den Leuten, ihn bei Bedarf in einem anderen Format abzulegen?
  • Stellen Sie Fragen, die sich ganz auf die Leistung der Jobfunktion konzentrieren?
  • Machen Sie Annahmen darüber, wie eine Behinderung die Person daran hindern würde, bestimmte Aufgaben zu erledigen, oder geben Sie ihnen die Möglichkeit zu zeigen, was sie kann?

Auf der EARN-Website finden Sie eine hervorragende Anleitung zum Interviewprozess.

3. Wie kann man einen integrativen Arbeitsplatz erstellen und die Kundenbindung verbessern?

Die Einstellung behinderter Arbeitskräfte bedeutet natürlich nichts, wenn sie bald danach abreisen. Obwohl behinderte Arbeitnehmer, wie wir gesehen haben, im Allgemeinen eine hohe Rückhalterate aufweisen, müssen Sie dennoch einige Maßnahmen ergreifen, um sicherzustellen, dass Ihr Arbeitsplatz einladend ist. In diesem Abschnitt erfahren Sie, was zu tun ist.

Verbesserungen der Barrierefreiheit

Arbeitgeber sind oft besorgt über die Kosten für die Unterbringung von Menschen mit Behinderungen. Die Kosten sind hoch und Geschäftsinhaber möchten keinen großen Teil des Gewinns für Änderungen am Arbeitsplatz verwenden.

Die gute Nachricht ist jedoch, dass die Kosten im Allgemeinen viel niedriger sind als Sie denken. Nochmals aus diesem UN-Factsheet:

„Eine Umfrage unter Arbeitgebern aus dem Jahr 2003 ergab, dass die Kosten für die Anpassung an behinderte Arbeitnehmer 500 USD oder weniger betrugen. 73% der Arbeitgeber gaben an, dass ihre Mitarbeiter überhaupt keine besonderen Einrichtungen benötigten. “

Denken Sie darüber nach. Wie viel würde es wirklich kosten, eine Rampe am Eingang Ihres Büros zu installieren oder Bildschirmlese-Software oder modifizierte Telefone bereitzustellen? Wenn Sie es im Zusammenhang mit den Gesamtkosten für die Einstellung eines neuen Mitarbeiters betrachten, werden alle Unterkünfte, die Sie vornehmen müssen, wahrscheinlich einen sehr kleinen Teil des Gesamtkuchens ausmachen.

Der hilfreiche Leitfaden der britischen Regierung zur Beschäftigung behinderter Menschen empfiehlt die folgenden einfachen Verbesserungen:

  • Änderungen am Arbeitsmuster einer behinderten Person vornehmen
  • Bereitstellung von Schulungen oder Mentoring
  • Änderungen an den Räumlichkeiten vornehmen
  • Sicherstellen, dass Informationen in zugänglichen Formaten bereitgestellt werden
  • Ausrüstung ändern oder erwerben
  • zusätzliche Zeit bei der Auswahl von 'Tests' einplanen

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Behinderungen, daher variieren auch die Strategien, um Ihren Arbeitsplatz zugänglich zu machen. Sie können viel recherchieren, um sich im Voraus vorzubereiten, und dann in Zusammenarbeit mit Ihrem neuen Mitarbeiter herausfinden, was er benötigt, und es ihm zur Verfügung stellen.

Auf der Website der Regierung von Ontario finden Sie auch eine nützliche Vorlage zum Erstellen eines individuellen Unterkunftsplans.

Einstellungsänderungen

Umfragen nach Umfragen haben gezeigt, dass unsere Gesellschaften immer noch Vorurteile gegenüber behinderten Menschen haben. Es ist also ziemlich unvermeidlich, dass einige dieser voreingenommenen Überzeugungen in Ihren Mitarbeitern existieren. Sie können sogar einige von ihnen selbst halten, unabhängig davon, ob Sie sich ihrer bewusst sind oder nicht.

Neben physischen und technologischen Anpassungen müssen Sie sich und Ihre Mitarbeiter auch weiterbilden, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie produktive Beziehungen pflegen und Ihre neuen Mitarbeiter optimal nutzen.

Es gibt einige Selbsttests, die Sie online durchführen können, z. B. den Harvard Implicit Bias-Test, mit dem Sie unbewusste Vorurteile oder nicht hilfreiche Einstellungen gegenüber behinderten Menschen erkennen können. Sie können sich auch an gemeinnützige Organisationen in Ihrer Nähe wenden, um bei Bedarf Schulungen zu arrangieren.

Es gibt auch einige hervorragende Online-Ressourcen zur Verbesserung Ihres Bewusstseins, wie das vom US-Arbeitsministerium finanzierte Employer Assistance and Resource Network zur Inklusion von Behinderungen (EARN).

Schauen Sie sich zum Beispiel die Seite dieser Website zum Theme "Einstellungsbewusstsein" an. Es ist eine hervorragende Zusammenfassung einiger Hindernisse für die Zugänglichkeit von Arbeitsplätzen, wie z. B.:

  • Das Mitleid. Die Menschen haben Mitleid mit dem Mitarbeiter und sind deshalb bevormundet.
  • Heldenverehrung. Menschen betrachten eine Person mit einer Behinderung, die unabhängig lebt, als „besonders“.
  • Multisensorischer Affekt. Die Menschen gehen davon aus, dass die Behinderung des Mitarbeiters seine anderen Sinne beeinträchtigt.
  • Und mehr.

Die Seite enthält auch Links zu weiteren Ressourcen für die Organisation von Schulungen zur Sensibilisierung für Behinderungen an Ihrem Arbeitsplatz.

4. Erfolgsgeschichten

Lassen Sie uns zum Schluss einige Unternehmen betrachten, die der Einstellung und Bindung von Arbeitnehmern mit Behinderungen Priorität eingeräumt haben. Wie haben sie es gemacht und was waren die Vorteile? Hier sind einige Beispiele.

Ernst & Young (Ernst und Jung)

Der Beratungs- und Buchhaltungsriese Ernst und Jung (EY) wurde von einem Gründer mit Behinderungen gegründet. Arthur Young war taub und hatte eine Sehbehinderung, was es ihm unmöglich machte, erfolgreich als Anwalt im Gerichtssaal zu praktizieren. Also wandte er sich der Buchhaltung zu und erzielte enorme Erfolge.

Heutzutage führt EY spezielle Programme für behinderte Mitarbeiter durch, z. B. EY AccessAbilities und das Abilities Champion Network.

Lori B. Golden, Leiterin der Strategie für Fähigkeiten, sagte gegenüber der Huffington Post:

„Untersuchungen haben auch ergeben, dass Organisationen, die Menschen mit Behinderungen beschäftigen, eine höhere Moral und ein höheres Engagement der Mitarbeiter aufweisen, von denen wir wissen, dass sie die Rentabilität steigern. Schließlich verfügen Menschen mit Behinderungen häufig über fundierte Fähigkeiten zur Problemlösung und ein gewisses Maß an Anpassungsfähigkeit, die im sich schnell ändernden Geschäftsumfeld von heute besonders wertvoll sind. “

Dover Downs Hotel und Casino

Gehen wir jetzt nach Delaware, wo das Dover Downs Hotel und Casino eine Partnerschaft mit Autism Delaware und seinem POW und R-Programm (Productive Opportunities for Work und Recreation) eingegangen ist.

Es begann damit, Job-Coaches von Autism Delaware vor Ort zu beauftragen, offene Stellen zu überprüfen, was dazu führte, dass eine junge Erwachsene mit einer Behinderung in einen Job in Dover Downs versetzt wurde, der ihren Fähigkeiten entsprach. Das Programm wuchs und heute beschäftigt das Unternehmen 12 Personen im Autismus-Spektrum. Das Unternehmen führt auch ein Sommercamp für Kinder mit Behinderungen durch, um ihnen zu helfen, einen bestimmten Job vorübergehend auszuprobieren.

Peter Bradley, Vizepräsident von Dover Downs, sagte gegenüber EARN:

„Für Dover Downs war die Beschäftigung von Menschen mit Behinderungen ein Gewinn. Wir haben durch die Praxis hochproduktive und zuverlässige Mitarbeiter gewonnen - alle mit relativ geringen Anpassungen oder Änderungen in unserer Arbeitsweise. “

Einzelhändler in South Dakota

Zum Schluss hier ein großartiges Video, das einige alltägliche Geschichten von behinderten Mitarbeitern zeigt, die in kleinen Unternehmen in South Dakota arbeiten.

Es ist eine Erinnerung an die einfache Wahrheit, dass behinderte Arbeitnehmer sich wirklich nicht so sehr von anderen Arbeitnehmern unterscheiden. Sie können viele Jobs machen, und in einigen Fällen können sie sie sehr gut machen. Wie einer der Geschäftsinhaber sagt:

"Ich sehe das nicht so, als würden wir ihm eine Gelegenheit bieten. Ich sehe es so, als würde er uns eine Gelegenheit bieten. "

Wenn Sie weitere Erfolgsgeschichten lesen oder ansehen möchten, besuchen Sie die EARN-Website.

Schlussfolgerung

In diesem Tutorial haben wir einige Tipps zur Einstellung von Arbeitnehmern mit Behinderungen erhalten. Wir haben uns einige Vorteile für Ihr Unternehmen angesehen und anschließend die Grundlagen der Einstellung und Bindung von Mitarbeitern untersucht. Und schließlich haben wir einige Erfolgsgeschichten von verschiedenen Unternehmen gesehen.

Weitere Tipps und Ratschläge finden Sie in unserer Reihe zur Vielfalt am Arbeitsplatz und zur Personalabteilung für kleine Unternehmen. Oder sehen Sie sich diese nützlichen Ressourcen an:

Was tun Sie, um den Internationalen Tag der Menschen mit Behinderungen zu feiern? Lassen Sie es uns in den Kommentaren wissen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business
Business

How to Hire Workers With Disabilities (+5 Business Benefits)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Complete Small Business Human Resources (HR) Guide.
15 Important HR Basics for Every Small Business Owner

Today is the International Day of Persons with Disabilities, designated by the United Nations as a day for promoting the rights of disabled people worldwide. More specifically:

“It aims to promote the rights and well-being of persons with disabilities in all spheres of society and development, and to increase awareness of the situation of persons with disabilities in every aspect of political, social, economic and cultural life.”

One of the most important areas in which we can all make progress for the benefit of disabled people and society as a whole is in the workplace. Although one in every five people worldwide has a disability, discrimination is rife. Here are a few statistics taken from this shocking compilation:

  • The poverty rate for people with disabilities is 47%.
  • The employment rate for disabled people of working age is just 35%, compared with 78% for non-disabled people.
  • About one in four people with a disability will face at least one incident of discrimination every day.
  • 38% of people believe that someone with a disability is a burden on society.
  • In the UK, it's estimated that over 100 hate crimes are committed daily against individuals with disabilities.

So, what can you do to promote the rights and well-being of persons with disabilities? Well, if you run a business or are in a position to hire people, an important thing you can do is to give opportunities to disabled workers.

Hiring disabled workers
Hiring disabled workers is a good business practice. (Image Source)

The good news is that this is the right thing to do--not just from an ethical point of view, but also from a strictly business perspective. 

In this tutorial, we’ll go over some of the benefits of hiring workers with disabilities, and then we’ll look at how you can do it effectively. We’ll look at the hiring process, some retention strategies, and some success stories from companies that have done a good job in this area.

1. The Benefits of Hiring Disabled Workers

Here are five simple reasons why it’s in your interests to hire people with disabilities.

Strong Performance

Multiple surveys have found that employers rate the performance of their disabled employees very highly. In addition, disabled employees have stronger attendance records and better retention rates.

For example, a study by the Institute for Corporate Productivity (I4CP) found that:

  • More than three-quarters of employers rated employees with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) good or very good on performance factors.
  • 73% reported a positive experience employing individuals with IDD.
  • The top qualities of employees with IDD were dependability (89%), integration with coworkers (87%), and motivation (86%).

And according to the UN:

“National employment studies, including a 30-year analysis by DuPont de Nemours, show that persons with disabilities have equal or higher performance ratings, better retention rates and less absenteeism.”

Expands the Talent Pool

As any employer knows, finding the right person for an open position can be tough. It’s even tougher when you cut a significant percentage of the workforce out of your talent pool, either intentionally or unintentionally, because of a disability that may not affect their ability to do the job.

There are millions of people with disabilities out there who are qualified to work, but are undervalued by many employers. So, you can find people with skills and qualifications—and with the motivation and other qualities mentioned in the I4CP study above—whom your competitors may have overlooked.

Relate to Your Customers

Guess what? Many of your potential customers are disabled too. You can serve them better if you've got a workforce that reflects the full diversity of the wider community.

Employees with disabilities will not only be able to project a disability-friendly image to your customers, but they’ll also be able to suggest simple improvements—such as an accessible website or clearer signage in your store—that you may otherwise have overlooked.

According to a UN factsheet:

“Employees with disabilities relate better to customers with disabilities. In the United States, this represents $1 trillion in annual aggregate consumer spending.”

Reap the Benefits of Diversity

In an earlier article in our series on diversity in the workplace, I looked at the benefits of promoting diversity in your business.

It turns out that there are many tangible benefits, such as:

  • boosting innovation
  • achieving better decision-making
  • making more money
  • improving your reputation
  • and more

Disability is one of the key dimensions of workplace diversity, so by increasing the representation of disabled people in your business, you’re contributing to overall workplace diversity and lining yourself up to receive those benefits.

Get Tax Credits and Other Incentives

In some countries, you may qualify for government incentives if you employ workers with disabilities.

In the US, for example, the Disabled Access Credit, the Barrier Removal Tax Deduction, and the Work Opportunity Tax Credit all offer financial incentives to companies that remove barriers to employment for disabled people. More information is available on the IRS website, and if you’re based elsewhere, you can look for similar details in your own country.

These incentives generally aren’t big enough to qualify as the only reason to hire disabled people, but they provide a nice sweetener when combined with the other reasons above.

There's More... 

There are plenty more reasons to hire people with disabilities. Here are the top ones, according to a study by the Institute for Corporate Productivity (I4CP). "IDD" stands for intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Reasons for hiring people with IDD

2. How to Hire Workers With Disabilities

So, if you want to hire disabled workers, how do you go about it?

Rewrite Your Job Advertisements

While some of the exclusion of disabled people from the workplace is due to outright discrimination, some of it's also due to simple mistakes.

For example, in your job adverts, are you making any of these errors that may exclude some qualified candidates with disabilities?

  • requiring a driving licence when driving isn't key to the role
  • posting it on a website that isn't fully accessible
  • using a small font
  • not offering alternative formats for applications

You can find more items like this in section 4.1 of this UK government guide.

Also think carefully about the language of your ad, which can unintentionally exclude certain groups. Tools like Textio can help you become more aware of that.

Partner With Disability-Related Organizations

Go where your target audience is. If you partner with advocacy organizations, they can connect you with qualified candidates, advise you on the best approaches to take, and more.

You can also attend disability-related job fairs and conferences, post ads in magazines or on websites produced by disability advocacy organizations, or find specific job boards like that of the Workforce Recruitment Program in the US, a government program that connects employers with college students and recent graduates with disabilities.

Create an Equal Opportunities Policy

This is basic, but small businesses may not have considered it before. If you truly have an inclusive hiring policy, then state it up front. Create an equal opportunities policy, post it on your website, and refer to it in all your hiring materials.

For more on this, and on other hiring tips, see the following tutorial:

And you can find more resources on hiring workers with disabilities at the Society for Human Resource Management website.

Make Sure the Interview Process Is Fair

Another area where you can unintentionally exclude people is in the interview process.

For example:

  • If you require people to take a test, are you giving them advance notice and allowing people to take it in a different format if necessary?
  • Are you asking questions that are focused squarely on the performance of the job function?
  • Are you making assumptions about how a disability would prevent the person completing certain tasks, or are you giving them a chance to show what they can do?

You can find an excellent guide to the interview process on the EARN website.

3. How to Create an Inclusive Workplace and Improve Retention

Of course, hiring disabled workers means nothing if they leave soon after. Although, as we saw, disabled workers generally have high retention rates, you’ll still need to take some measures to ensure that your workplace is welcoming. This section takes you through what to do.

Accessibility Improvements

Employers are often worried about the cost of accommodating people with disabilities. Costs are tight, and business owners don’t want to divert a big portion of profits to making changes to the workplace.

But the good news is that the costs are generally much lower than you’d think. From that UN factsheet again:

“A 2003 survey of employers found that the cost of adaptation to accommodate employees with disabilities was $500 or less. 73% of employers reported that their employees did not require special facilities at all.”

Think about it. How much would it really cost to install a ramp at the entrance to your office, or to provide screen-reading software or modified telephones? When you look at it in the context of the overall cost of hiring a new employee, any accommodations you need to make will likely be a very small slice of the overall pie.

The UK government’s helpful guide to employing disabled people recommends the following simple improvements:

  • making changes to a disabled person’s working pattern
  • providing training or mentoring
  • making alterations to premises
  • ensuring that information is provided in accessible formats
  • modifying or acquiring equipment
  • allowing extra time during selection ‘tests’

There’s a wide range of disabilities out there, so the strategies for making your workplace accessible vary widely too. You can do plenty of research to prepare in advance, and then work in collaboration with your new employee to find out what they need and provide it to them.

You can also find a useful template on the Ontario government website for creating an individual accommodation plan.

Attitude Changes

Survey after survey has shown that our societies are still rife with prejudice towards disabled people. So, it’s pretty much inevitable that some of those prejudiced beliefs will exist within your staff members. You may even hold some of them yourself, whether you’re conscious of them or not.

So, as well as making physical and technological adjustments, you’ll also need to educate yourself and your staff to ensure that you engage in productive relationships and get the most out of your new employees.

There are some self-tests you can do online, such as the Harvard Implicit Bias test, which will help you to identify unconscious bias or unhelpful attitudes towards disabled people. And you can also contact nonprofit organizations in your area to arrange training where necessary.

There are also some excellent online resources for improving your awareness, such as the Employer Assistance and Resource Network on Disability Inclusion (EARN), funded by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Check out that site’s page on Attitudinal Awareness, for example. It’s an excellent summary of some of the barriers to workplace accessibility, such as:

  • Pity. People feel sorry for the employee and are patronizing as a result.
  • Hero Worship. People consider a person with a disability living independently to be “special.”
  • Multi-sensory affect. People assume that the employee’s disability affects his or her other senses.
  • And more.

The page also links to further resources for arranging disability awareness training in your workplace.

4. Success Stories

Let’s finish by taking a look at a few companies that have prioritized recruitment and retention of workers with disabilities. How have they done it, and what have the benefits been? Here are some examples.

Ernst & Young

The consulting and accounting giant Ernst & Young (EY) was created by a founder with disabilities. Arthur Young was deaf and had low vision, which made him unable to successfully practice as a courtroom lawyer. So, he turned to accounting, and achieved enormous success.

These days, EY runs dedicated programs for disabled employees, such as EY AccessAbilities and the Abilities Champion Network.

Abilities Strategy Leader Lori B. Golden told Huffington Post:

“Research has also found organizations employing people with disabilities have higher morale and employee engagement, which we know drives profitability. Finally, people with disabilities often have well-honed problem solving skills and a degree of adaptability that are especially valuable in today’s fast-changing business environment.”

Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Let’s head to Delaware now, where the Dover Downs Hotel & Casino formed a partnership with Autism Delaware and its Productive Opportunities for Work & Recreation (POW&R) Program.

It started with getting on-site job coaches from Autism Delaware to review open positions, which led to one young adult with a disability being placed in a Dover Downs job that matched her skills. The program grew, and today the firm employs 12 individuals on the autism spectrum. The company also runs a summer camp for kids with disabilities to help them try out a particular job on a temporary basis.

Dover Downs Vice President Peter Bradley told EARN:

“For Dover Downs, the employment of individuals with disabilities has been a win/win. We have gained highly productive, reliable employees through the practice—all with fairly minor adjustments or changes to the way we operate.”

South Dakota Retailers

Finally, here’s a great video showing some day-to-day stories of disabled employees working at small businesses in South Dakota.

It’s a reminder of the simple truth that disabled workers really aren't that different from other workers. They can do plenty of jobs, and in some cases they can do them very well. As one of the business owners says:

“I don’t look at this as us providing an opportunity for him. I look at it as him offering us an opportunity."

If you want to read or watch more success stories, check out the EARN site.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, we’ve been through some tips on hiring workers with disabilities. We’ve looked at some the benefits of it for your business, and then examined the nuts and bolts of hiring and retention. And finally, we’ve seen a few success stories from various companies.

You can find some more tips and advice in our series on diversity in the workplace and on HR for small business. Or check out these useful resources:

What are you doing to mark the International Day of Persons with Disabilities? Let us know in the comments.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.