Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business
Business

如何为您的企业创造积极的工作环境

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by infoVision_Jason (you can also view the original English article)

你们公司是否有积极的工作环境?你的员工为给你工作而感到高兴和自豪吗?

如果答案是 "不",或者你不确定,那么请继续阅读,以发掘是什么形成了积极的工作环境,为什么它很重要,以及如何为您的员工创造一个更积极的环境,无论是在办公室,零售业,或者工业工作场所。

这样做将为您的业务带来切实的成果,例如更高的生产率,更低的流动率,甚至更低的医疗成本。

Positive work environment
幸福的员工工作往往做得更好。(图像来源:Envato 元素)

但它并不像听起来那么容易。作为一名管理者,你不能哄骗人们微笑或只是告诉他们更积极。 你需要使用一整套不同的方法,当组合在一起时,将有助于创建一个积极的工作环境。在本教程中,你将学习如何做到这一点。

为什么积极的工作环境很重要

在我们深入研究创造积极的工作环境之前,让我们先来了解一下好处。

研究表明:更积极的工作环境可以提高生产力。 正如“哈佛商业评论”的一篇文章所述:

大量关于积极组织心理学的研究表明,不仅恶劣的工作环境会对生产力产生长期有害影响,而且积极的环境将为雇主,员工和利润带来巨大的利益。

这些好处有以下几种形式:

  1. 在积极的环境中工作的员工往往更积极参与,并做得更好。
  2. 积极的工作环境缺勤率较低。
  3. 当人们在良好工作环境下工作时,不太可能离开,这意味着企业人员流失率的降低。
  4. 在积极的工作场所,人们压力较小,这意味着如果您为员工提供健康保险,医疗费用会降低。
  5. 积极的员工为客户提供更好的体验,从而提高客户满意度和回头率。

当然,除了利润之外,还有不太明显的回报。 当你创建或管理一个企业时,你有责任创建一个环境,在这个环境中,几十个或几百个人将度过他们生活的大部分时间。

你可以选择那样的经历。你想用一种充满责备和推卸责任的文化,让它变得可怕和不被信任吗?我对此表示怀疑。 你可能希望人们喜欢上班,为给你你工作而感到自豪和充满忠诚,并与同事建立亲密的关系。

如何做到这一点?我们将在下一节中介绍12种经过试验和测试的技术。

什么能创造积极的工作环境

既然我们已经知道为什么创建积极的工作环境很重要,让我们来了解一下如何实现这一目标。 在本节中,你会发现12种培养积极工作环境的技巧,让员工感到快乐,有价值感并充分参与。

1. 改善物理工作环境

你办公室照明色温是多少? 如果你不知道这没关系 - 这不是大多数企业主想到的事情。 但研究表明,冷色调的光线可以提高人们的工作效率,而暖色调的光线则可以让人感觉更加舒适和放松。

因此,考虑在主工作区使用较冷的灯光,在休息室或自助餐厅使用较温暖的灯光。可以通过增加自然光量或安装特殊的“蓝色”灯泡来实现冷光线,使用橙色或黄色灯泡来产实暖色调光线。

还要考虑空气质量等问题 - 定期检查空调或供热系统,过滤器是否清洁? 空气质量差会影响员工注意力集中并降低活力。

2. 提供员工友好的设施

除了修复主要工作环境外,还要考虑提供旨在改善健康的设施。 例如,您可以提供托儿服务,健身房,瑜伽课程,健康食品和饮料等。

你可能认为这些事情听起来很昂贵,但即使预算很少,也可以实现其中的一部分。 例如,即使你不能建一个设备齐全的健身房,你可以建一个会议室,并以低成本装上运动垫和一些基本设备。 甚至可能有一些员工可以在午餐时间带领做瑜伽或冥想课程,或者你也可以不用花很多钱雇个教练。 即使不能建立一个完整的自助餐厅,你也可以从当地的供应商处订购水果和健康零食。

要做到这一点有很长的路要走。重要的不是拥有最先进的设备,而是表现出你关心你的员工作是人,而不仅仅是生产工具,并尽力提供促进他们健康的设施。

3. 授予自主权

创造积极的工作环境的最佳方法之一是为员工提供自主权。 避免给他们布置得事无巨细,而是让他们有一些空间和自由来做出决策,贡献想法,管理自己的工作量,并且在没有持续监督的情况下工作。 结果将是更快乐、更积极的员工创造出更积极的工作环境

想要些证据吗?一项对2万名工人超过两年进行的研究发现,那些拥有更多自主权的员工可以获得更高的工作满意度和幸福感。

你可能需要逐步做出这样的改变。如果人们习惯于密切监督, 突然转向完全自治可能会导致混乱和士气丧失。 但是如果你逐渐放松缰绳, 让人们对自己的工作承担更多的责任, 你会看到对职场文化的积极影响。

4. 改善沟通

对大、小型企业来说,糟糕的沟通是许多问题的根源。 一项调查发现,86%的受访者将工作失败归咎于缺乏协作或无效沟通。

当人们不知道对他们的期望或公司的方向是什么时,他们就会挣扎和脱离。当他们彼此沟通不畅时,就会产生误解,工作环境也不会很积极。

幸运的是,你可以做很多事情来改善沟通,从使用技术工具到建立反馈机制和实践冲突解决。要了解所有这些技术,请阅读本教程:

5. 创造培训和发展机会

猜怎么着?如果你的员工缺乏学习和发展技能的机会, 你的雇员就不会对工作产生积极的态度。

让他们知道你看重他们, 并希望帮助他们提高以及在他们的职业生涯中前进, 另一方面, 你将有一个更快乐的劳动力。一项调查发现, 在组织中拥有学习文化是员工参与和忠诚的第一 动力。

培训也不必昂贵。当然, 如果你有预算的话, 你可以聘请昂贵的培训公司或赞助员工的大学学费。 但如果你没有, 你可以追求低成本的选项, 如内部培训, 指导, 和负担得起的在线培训项目, 如 Envato Tuts +

要了解有关所有这些选项的详细信息, 以及为每个员工创建个人技能清单和培训计划所涉及的步骤, 请参阅以下教程:

6. 表彰成就

当人们做好了一份工作时, 他们希望得到认可。职场文化中, 如果管理者和同事都能经常性地认识到别人的成就, 那么这很可能是一个积极的工作场所。

尽管这样,你要小心如何去做。一项有趣的哈佛商学院的研究发现, 一个工业公司出勤奖励计划导致生产率整体下降了1.4%。 一些员工找到了耍花招的方法, 并赢得了奖项, 这时那些完美出勤的员工就会变得消极,因为他们看到其他人仅做了他们认为的正常的行为而获奖。

教训: 细心设计你的识别程序, 不仅要考虑对被识别群体的影响, 也要考虑对那些谁被识别群体的影响。

有关此和其他 HR 问题的详细内容, 请参阅以下教程:

7. 给予实实在在的奖赏

研究表明, 许多员工并非主要出于金钱的驱使, 但这并不意味着金钱并不重要。 对他们的工作给予适当的奖励是一种尊重他们所做的事情的方式, 也是在向他们传达作为雇员的价值。得到加薪或奖金, 几乎可以保证让人脸上露出笑容!

需要认识到, 正确地方式做好这件事很重要。如果你只是普遍涨薪, 你可能发出了这样的信号:表现并不重要, 这会打消你的顶级员工的工作积极性。 最好将薪酬与绩效挂钩, 将加薪和奖金作为奖励良好业绩员工的工具。 您还可以将其与公司整体绩效挂钩, 例如通过启动利润分享计划, 使员工在业务良好时受益。

有关提供竞争性薪酬的更多内容, 请参见以下教程:

8. 允许灵活的工作安排

工作-生活平衡是商业中的一个热门话题, 而且理由充分。当人们在工作和生活的其他方面有很好的平衡时, 他们往往表现得更好, 身体状况更好, 对工作更积极。

有许多技巧可以实现工作与生活的平衡, 但允许员工利用灵活的工作安排是最有效的方法之一。让人们可以把工作和其他事务放在一起进行比较,以便他们去做更重要的事情, 这样你可以帮助他们过上更充实、更丰富的生活, , 并为积极的工作环境做出贡献。

更详细内容, 请参阅以下教程:

9. 鼓励强化关系

我们是社会性的生物 (即使是那些性格内向的人), 当我们与我们所在的群体中的其他成员建立了牢固、健康的关系时, 我们就会茁壮成长。因此, 鼓励员工发展友谊将对工作环境产生积极影响, 这不是什么令人吃惊的事情。

当然, 这并不容易。你不能强迫人们喜欢对方。但你可以创造发展友谊的机会。 例如, 您可以安排活动和郊游, 或者鼓励员工在工作以外的其他非正式场合见面。 你可以为团队(或小组)在当地的顶级餐厅吃午饭付费(要让他们更加放松的话,经历最好不要出席)

尽量安排各种各样的活动来吸引不同的人。例如, 周五下班后的饮品很棒, 但也要设法迎合那些不喝酒或有家庭负担, 导致他们很难在外面呆到很晚的人。

10. 培养多样性和包容性

当某些类型的人被排斥或感到不受欢迎时, 你怎么能有一个积极的工作环境呢?

确保你正在创造一个更好的工作场所的努力考虑到所有员工的需要, 不论年龄、种族、性别和其他方面的多样性

一开始可能并不容易, 但从长远来看, 这会造就一个更积极、更具包容性的工作场所。这是一个很大的话题, 但是你可以在我们的提高你业务多样性系列教程中找到更多这方面的信息。

11. 告诉他们为什么

研究表明, 意义和目的对于培养积极的工作环境是很重要的。在工作和生活中, 当人们对未来有一个愿景和一种使命感时, 他们会更快乐, 更投入。

因此, 确保员工知道他们的工作与未来愿景的匹配程度就显得相当重要。这意味着不仅要与他们沟通战略, 还要让他们的个人目标与更大的公司目标保持一致, 这样每个人都能看到他们的贡献。 如果他们理解这一点, 他们很可能会对他们的工作更加积极。

例如, 在维护和更新计算机系统时, 看上去可能显得抽象和毫无意义, 但如果员工理解系统的健康对公司实现其目标是至关重要的, 并且许多员工和客户都依赖它, 那么这项工作就有了更多的意义和目的, 员工则更有可能以积极的态度对待它。

12. 倾听!

在本教程中, 我列出了创建一个积极的工作环境的一些常用技巧。这些技术能应用在各种不同的企业和行业中。

但总有一些特别的事情能改善您的特定业务环境。 找出这些东西的最好方法是倾听自己的员工的心声。不是给他们你认为他们想要的, 相反,问他们想要什么。

你可以通过常规的员工调查、非正式反馈会议、匿名建议以及其他技巧来完成此项活动。你的员工是每天都在体验你的工作场所的人,他们最知道如何改善工作环境, 所以听听他们的话, 让他们的建议引导你努力改善工作环境。

结论

在本教程中,你已经发现了创建积极工作环境的12条技能。首先,你已经看到了什么可以造就一个积极的工作环境, 以及为什么在你的企业中有这样的环境如此重要。

下一步是在自己的企业中实施其中一些想法。 其中大多数都很容易以低成本完成,而其他可能需要更长时间,但可以从今天开始。

所以还在等什么呢?试一下这些想法,看看你是否能创造一个更好、更快乐、更有生产力的工作环境。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business
Business

How to Create a Positive Work Environment for Your Business

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Does your company have a positive work environment? Are your employees happy and proud to work for you? 

If the answer is “no” or if you’re not sure, then read on to discover what makes a positive work environment, why it’s important, and how you can go about creating a more positive environment for your employees, whether in an office, retail or industrial workplace.

Doing so will have tangible outcomes for your business, such as higher productivity, lower turnover, and even lower healthcare costs. 

Positive work environment
Happy employees tend to do a better job. (Image Source: Envato Elements)

But it’s not as easy as it sounds. As a manager, you can’t cajole people into smiling or just tell them to be more positive. You need to employ a whole set of different approaches that, when put together, will help to create a positive work environment. In this tutorial, you’ll learn exactly how to do that.

Why a Positive Work Environment Is Important

Before we get into the specifics of creating a positive work environment, let’s look at the benefits.

The science is clear on this: a more positive work environment leads to greater productivity. As a Harvard Business Review article concludes:

“A large and growing body of research on positive organizational psychology demonstrates that not only is a cut-throat environment harmful to productivity over time, but that a positive environment will lead to dramatic benefits for employers, employees, and the bottom line.”

Those benefits come in several forms:

  1. Happy employees who work in a positive environment tend to be more engaged and to do a better job. 
  2. Positive workplaces have lower rates of absenteeism.
  3. People are less likely to leave when they work somewhere with a good working environment, meaning lower turnover costs for the business.
  4. In positive workplaces, people are less stressed, meaning lower healthcare costs if you provide health insurance for your employees.
  5. Positive employees provide a much better experience for your customers, leading to higher levels of customer satisfaction and repeat business.

As well as the bottom-line benefits, of course, there are the less tangible rewards. When you create or manage a business, you're responsible for creating the environment in which dozens or perhaps hundreds of people will spend a big chunk of their lives. 

You can choose what that experience will be like. Do you want it to be fearful and mistrustful, with a culture of blame and passing the buck? I doubt it. You probably want people to enjoy coming to work, to feel a sense of pride and loyalty in working for you, and to form close relationships with their colleagues.

How do you achieve that? We’ll look at 12 tried and tested techniques in the next section.

What Makes a Positive Work Environment

Now that we’ve seen why creating a positive work environment is important, let’s look at how to achieve that. In this section, you’ll discover 12 techniques for fostering a positive work environment in which your employees feel happy, valued, and fully engaged.

1. Improve the Physical Workspace 

What colour temperature is your office lighting? It’s OK if you don’t know—it’s not something that most business owners think about. But research has shown that cooler light makes people more productive, while warmer light makes them feel more comfortable and relaxed.

So consider having cooler light in the main workspace, and warmer light in breakout rooms or cafeterias. You can achieve cooler light either by increasing the amount of natural light or by installing special “blue-enriched” light bulbs, while warmer light comes from orange or yellow bulbs.

Also consider things like air quality—are your air conditioning or heating systems regularly checked, and are the filters cleaned? Poor air quality can affect concentration and reduce energy levels.

2. Provide Employee-Friendly Facilities 

As well as fixing the main working environment, also consider providing facilities aimed at improving wellbeing. For example, you could offer childcare, a gym, yoga classes, healthy food and drink, etc. 

You may be thinking that those things sound expensive, but you can implement some of them even on small budgets. Even if you can’t stretch to a fully equipped gym, for instance, you could take a meeting room and fit it with exercise mats and some basic equipment at low cost. You may even have someone on staff who can lead yoga or meditation classes at lunchtime, or you could hire someone without breaking the bank. And even if you can’t build a full cafeteria, you could order in fruit and healthy snacks from a local provider.

A little goes a long way here. What’s important isn't having state-of-the-art equipment, but showing that you care about your employees as human beings, not just instruments of production, and doing your best to provide facilities that promote their wellbeing. 

3. Grant Autonomy 

One of the best ways to create a positive working environment is to give your workers autonomy. Avoid micromanaging them, and instead allow them some space and freedom to make decisions, contribute ideas, manage their own workload, and work without constant supervision. The result will be happier, more engaged employees who contribute to a more positive workplace.

Want some evidence for that? A study of 20,000 workers over two years found that those with more autonomy experienced greater job satisfaction and wellbeing.

You may need to make this change gradually. If people have become accustomed to close supervision, a sudden shift to complete autonomy could cause confusion and a loss of morale. But if you gradually loosen the reins and allow people to take more responsibility for how they do their own jobs, you’ll see a positive impact on the workplace culture.

4. Improve Communication 

Bad communication is at the root of so many problems for businesses both small and large. One survey found that 86% of respondents blamed lack of collaboration or ineffective communication for workplace failures.

When people don’t know what’s expected of them or what the company’s direction is, they flounder and disengage. When they don’t communicate well with each other, misunderstandings ensue, and the workplace environment won't be very positive.

Fortunately, there’s a lot you can do to improve communication, from using technological tools to establishing feedback mechanisms and practising conflict resolution. To learn about all of those techniques, read this tutorial:

5. Create Training & Development Opportunities 

Guess what? Your employees aren't going to be very positive about working for you if they're starved of opportunities to learn and develop their skills. 

Show them that you value them and want to help them improve and move forward in their careers, on the other hand, and you’ll have a much happier workforce. A Bridge survey found that having a culture of learning in an organization was the #1 driver of employee engagement and loyalty.

Training needn’t be expensive either. Sure, you could hire expensive training companies or sponsor employees’ college tuition if you've got the budget for it. But if you don’t, you can pursue lower-cost options like in-house training, mentoring, and affordable online training programs like Envato Tuts+.

To learn more about all of these options, as well as the steps involved in creating individual skills inventories and training plans for each employee, see the following tutorial:

6. Recognise Achievements 

When people do a good job, they want to be recognised for it. A workplace culture in which both managers and coworkers regularly recognise people’s achievements is likely to be a positive place to work.

Be careful how you do it, though. An interesting Harvard Business School study found that an award program for good attendance at an industrial firm led to an overall 1.4% drop in productivity. Some employees found ways to game the system and win the awards, while employees who already had perfect attendance were demotivated by seeing others winning awards for what they considered normal behaviour.

The lesson: be careful how you design recognition programs, and consider the effect not only on the people being recognised but also on those who aren’t being recognised. 

For more on this and other HR issues, see the following tutorial:

7. Give Tangible Rewards 

Research has shown that many employees are not primarily motivated by money, but that doesn’t mean that money’s not important. Rewarding people properly for their work is a way of showing respect for what they do and communicating to them that they're valued as employees. And getting a raise or a bonus is pretty much guaranteed to put a smile on people’s faces!

As with recognition, the important thing is to do it the right way. If you just hand out blanket pay increases, you may send the message that performance isn't important and demotivate your top employees. It’s better to link pay to performance, using raises and bonuses as tools for rewarding good performance. You can also link it to the performance of the company as a whole, e.g. by starting a profit-share program so that employees benefit when the business does well.

For more on providing competitive pay, see the following tutorial:

8. Allow Flexible Working Arrangements

Work-life balance is a hot topic in business, and for good reason. When people have a good balance between work and the rest of their lives, they tend to perform better, to be in better physical shape, and to be more positive about their work.

There are many techniques to achieve better work-life balance, but allowing employees to take advantage of flexible working arrangements is one of the most effective. By letting people fit their work around other commitments, you can help them to lead fuller, richer lives, to do what matters to them, and to contribute to a positive work environment.

For more, see the following tutorial:

9. Encourage Stronger Relationships 

We're social creatures (even those of us who are introverts!), and we thrive when we've got strong, healthy relationships with other members of whatever group we’re in. So it shouldn’t come as a surprise that encouraging your employees to develop friendships will have a positive impact on the environment at work.

This isn’t easy to do, of course. You can’t force people to like each other. But you can create the opportunity for friendships to develop. You can arrange events and outings, for example, or encourage employees to meet in other informal settings outside of work. You can pay for the team to have lunch at a great local restaurant (maybe without the managers present or in smaller groups if that would help people to feel more relaxed). 

Try to arrange a wide range of events to appeal to different people. For example, after-work drinks on a Friday are great, but also try to cater for people who don’t drink alcohol or who have family commitments that make it difficult to stay out late.

10. Foster Diversity & Inclusion 

How can you have a positive work environment when certain types of people are excluded or made to feel unwelcome?

It’s important to ensure that your efforts at creating a better workplace take into account the needs of all your employees, regardless of age, race, gender, and the other dimensions of diversity.

It may not be easy at first, but it'll lead to a more positive, inclusive workplace in the long run. This is a big topic, but you can find out much more about it in our series on improving diversity in your business.

11. Tell Them Why 

Research suggests that meaning and purpose are important in fostering a positive work environment. In work as in life, people are happier and more engaged when they've got a meaningful vision of the future and a sense of purpose. 

So it’s important to make sure that employees know how their work fits in with the bigger picture. That means not just communicating with them about strategy, but also having their goals aligned to the larger goals of the company, so that everyone can see how they’re contributing. If they understand that, they’re likely to be more positive about their work.

For example, working on maintaining and updating a computer system, could seem abstract and meaningless, but if the employee understands that the system’s health is vital for the company to meet its goals and that many employees and customers rely on it, then the work takes on more meaning and purpose, and the employee is more likely to approach it with a positive attitude.

12. Listen!

In this tutorial, I’ve laid out some common techniques for creating a positive work environment. These techniques should work in a variety of different businesses and industries.

But there may also be some specific things that would improve the environment in your particular business. The best way of finding out what those things are is to listen to your own employees. Instead of giving them what you think they want, ask them what they want.

You can do this through regular employee surveys, informal feedback sessions, anonymous suggestions, and other techniques. Your employees are the ones who experience your workplace every day and know what would improve it, so listen to them and let their suggestions lead your efforts at improving the working environment.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you’ve discovered 12 techniques for creating a positive work environment. You’ve seen what makes a positive work environment in the first place, and why having one in your business is so important.

The next step is to go ahead and implement some of these ideas in your own business. Most of them are quite easy to do at low cost, while others may take a little longer but can be started today.

So what are you waiting for? Try out some of these ideas and see if you can create a better, happier, more productive workplace. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.