Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business
Business

كيف تقوم بإنشاء بيئة عمل إيجابية لشركتك

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Faraj Boudir (you can also view the original English article)

هل تتوفر شركتك على بيئة عمل إيجابية؟ هل موظفيك سعداء و فخورون بالعمل لديك؟

إذا كان الجواب "لا" أو أنك غير متأكد, إذن إستمر بالقراءة لتعرف ما يشكل بيئة عمل إيجابية. ولم هذا الأمر مهم, و كيف تقوم بإنشاء بيئة عمل إيجابية لموظفيك, سواء بالمكتب,المتجر أو المصنع.

القيام بهذا سيعود بنتائج ملموسة على عملك, متل الزيادة في الإنتاج, و تقليل معدل الغياب عن العمل لدى العمال, و حتى تقليل تكاليف التغطية الصحية.

Positive work environment
العمال السعداء يقدمون خدمة أفضل (المصدر: عناصر إنفاتو)

لكن الأمر ليس بالسهولة التي يبدو عليها. كمدير, لا يمكنك الطلب من الناس الإبتسام أو أن تأمرهم بأن يصبحوا أكتر إيجابية. يجب عليك تطبيق عدة طرق مختلفة, و التي عندما تطبق مع بعضها البعض, ستساعدك على خلق جو عمل إيجابي. في هذا الدرس, ستتعلم كيف تفعل ذلك.

لماذا خلق بيئة عمل إيجابية هو بالأمر المهم

قبل أن نغوص في تفاصيل خلق بيئة عمل إيجابية, لنلقي نظرة على المنافع.

العلم واضح في هذا الأمر : كلما كانت بيئة العمل إيجابية كلما زادت الإنتاجية. كما يقول مقال لجامعة هارفرد :

"جزء كبير و متنامي من البحوت حول السيكولوجية المؤسساتية الإيجابية يظهر على أن البيئة المليئة بالكراهية ليست فقط مضرة بالإنتاجية على مر الزمن, بل البيئة الإيجابية ستؤدي إلى منافع دراماتيكية لرؤساء العمل,الموظفين, و الجميع."

هذه المنافع تأتي على عدة أشكال :

  1. الموظفين السعداء الذين يعملون ببيئة عمل إيجابية يميلون للتفاعل بشكل أكتر و تقديم عمل أفضل.
  2. أماكن العمل الإيجاية لديها نسبة غياب للعمال منخفضة.
  3. تقل إحتمالية مغادرة الأشخاص عندما يعملون في أماكن ذات بيئة عملية جيدة, مما يعني تكاليف الغياب تنخفض بالنسبة للشركة.
  4. في أماكن العمل الإيجابية, يقل توتر الأشخاص, مما يعني إنخفاض تكاليف التغطية الصحية إذا كنت توفر التأمين الصحي لموظفيك.
  5. الموظفين الإيجابيون يقذمون خدمة أفضل لزبنائك, مما يقود إلى مستويات أعلى لرضى الزبناء و إعادة التعامل.

فضلا عن الفوائد الصغرى, بالطبع, هنالك الجوائز الملموسة بشكل أقل. عندما تنشئ أو تدير عمل ما, أنت مسؤول عن خلق البيئة التي سيقضي العشرات أو حتى المئات من الأشخاص جزء كبير من وقتهم فيها.

يمكنك إختيار نوع هذه التجربة. هل تريدها أن تكون مخيفة و إرتيابية, مع تقافة إلقاء اللوم على الأخر؟ أشك في ذلك. أنت على الأرجح تريد من الناس الأستمتاع بالقدوم إلى العمل, وأن يشعروا بالوفاء و الفخر بالعمل لديك, و أن يشكلوا علاقات صداقة مع زملائهم.

كيف تحقق ذلك؟ سنلقي نظرة على 12 طريقة مجربة في الجزء القادم.

ما الخطوات التي تؤدي إلى بيئة عمل إيجابية

الأن بعد أن رأينا سبب أهمية بيئة العمل الإيجابية, لنلقي نظرة حول طريقة تحقيق ذلك. في هذا الجزء, ستتعرف على 12 تقنية لتنمية بيئة العمل الإيجابية التي ستمنح السعادة لموظفيك, و يحسون فيها بالتقدير و التفاعل.

1- تحسين مكان العمل

ما هي درجة حرارة الإضاءة في مكتبك؟ لا بأس إن كنت لا تعلم---فأغلب رؤساء العمل لا يفكرون بهذا الأمر. لكن البحوت أظهرت أن الضوء البارد يزيد من إنتاجية الأشخاص, بينما الضوء الأكثر حرارة يجعلهم أكتر راحة و إسترخاء.

لذا قم بوضع الضوء البارد في مكان العمل الرئيسي, و الضوء الساخن في أماكن الإستراحة و الكافتريا. يمكنك الحصول على ضوء أكتر برودة عبر زيادة حجم الضوء الطبيعي أو عبر تركيب مصابيح خاصة, بينما الضوء الأكتر سخونة يأتي عبر مصابيح صفراء أو برتقالية.

عليك الأنتباه لبعض الأمور متل نوعية الهواء--هل يتم التحقق من نظام التهوية و الحرارة بشكل دوري, وهل يتم تصفية الفلاتر؟ جودة هواء ضعيفة قد تأتر على التركيز و تقلل من مستويات الطاقة.

2- توفير مرافق صديقة للعمال

بجانب إصلاح بيئة العمل الرئيسية, يجب الأخد بالإعتبار توفير مرافق مخصصة لتحسين الوضعية. متلا, يمكنك توفير منشأة للعناية بالأطفال, صالة رياضية, دروس لليوغا, مأكولات و مشروبات صحية, إلخ...

ربما تفكر بكون هذه الأشياء مكلفة, لكن يمكنك توفير البعض منها رغم صغر حجم  الميزانية. حتى لو لم تستطع توفير صالة رياضية كاملة التجهيزات, يمكنك متلا أن تجعل إحدى غرف الإجتماعات صالة رياضية بمعدات بسيطة و بتكلفة منخفضة. يمكنك أيضا أن تجعل أحد الموظفين أن يدرس صفوف اليوغا أو التأمل خلال الإستراحة, أو يمكنك توظيف أحدهم بدون الضغط على الميزانية. و حتى لو لم تستطع بناء كافيتريا كاملة التجهيز, يمكنك طلب الفواكه و الوجبات الصحية من أحد المتاجر المحلية.

القليل يحقق الكثير هنا. التوفر على معدات عالية الجودة ليس بالأمر المهم, لكن أن تظهر أنك تهتم بموظفيك و كونهم كائنات إنسانية, و ليسوا فقط وسائل للإنتاج, و القيام بكل ما في وسعك لتوفير منشأت تهتم بوضعيتهم هو أمر مهم. 

3- منح الإستقلالية

أحد أفضل الطرق لخلق بيئة عمل إيجابية هو منح موضفيك بعض الإستقلالية. تفادى إدارتهم بشكل مدقق, عوض ذلك إمنحهم بعض المساحة و الحرية لأخد القرارات, المساهمة بالأفكار, التحكم بكم العمل الخاص بهم, و العمل بدون إشراف مستمر.  النتيجة ستكون موظفين أكتر سعادة و تفاعل و يساهمون أكتر بمكان عمل إيجابي.

هل تريد بعض الأذلة على ذلك؟ دراسة حول 20.000 موظف لآكتر من سنتين وجدت أن الأشخاص ذوي إستقلالية أكبر أحسوا بشعور أكبر بالرفاهية و بالرضا عن العمل.

قد تحتاج إلى القيام بهذا التغيير بشكل تدريجي. إذا إعتاد الناس على الإشراف الدقيق, التغيير المفاجئ للإستقلالية الكاملة قد يسبب الإرتباك و تدني الروح المعنوية. لكن إن قمت بتخفيف المقاليد بشكل تدريجي و سمحت للأشخاص بأخد قدر أكبر من المسؤولية حول كيفية القيام بعملهم, ستلاحظ تأتير إيجابي على تقافة العمل.

4- تحسين التواصل

التواصل السيئ هو سبب للعديد من المشاكل سواء للشركات الكبيرة أو الصغيرة. أحد الإستطلاعات أظهر أن نسبة 86% من المستطلعين ألقوا اللوم على قلة التعاون أو التواصل الغير الفعال لكونهم السبب في إخفاقات أماكن العمل.

عندما لا يعرف الأشخاص ما هو المتوقع منهم أو ما هو توجه الشركة, يتخبطون و يتفككون. عندما لا يتواصلون مع بعضهم البعض بشكل جيد, يحدت سوء تفاهم, مما يجعل بيئة العمل غير إيجابية.

لحسن الحظ, يمكنك فعل الكثير لتحسين التواصل, من إستخدام الوسائل التكنولوجية إلى تأسيس أليات ردود الفعل و التدرب على حل الصراعات. لتتعلم كل ما يتعلق بهذه التقنيات, تابع هذا الدرس:

5- خلق فرص للتدريب و التطوير

إحزر؟ لن يكون موظفيك في غاية الإيجابية حول العمل لديك إن كانوا محرومين من فرص التعلم و تطوير مهاراتهم.

يجب عليك أن تثبت لهم أنك تقدرهم و تريد مساعدتهم على التحسن و التقدم في مسيرتهم المهنية, من جهة أخرى, و ستكون لديك قوى عاملة سعيدة جدا. وجد أحد الإستطلاعات أن التوفر على تقافة التعلم في المؤسسة هو الدافع رقم واحد لدى الموظفين للتفاعل و الوفاء.

و لا يجب أن يكون التدريب مكلف أيضا. بالطبع يمكنك تعيين شركات تدريب مكلفة أو دعم مصاريف الجامعة للموظفين إذا كنت تتوفر على الميزانية للقيام بذلك. لكن إذا لم تكن تتوفر عليها, يمكنك التوجه نحو الخيارات الأقل كلفة متل التدريب الداخلي, التوجيه, و برامج التدريب على النت التي في المتناول  متل دروس إنفاتو+

لتعرف المزيد حول هذه الخيارات, و كذلك خطوات إنشاء إختبارات المهارات و خطط التدريب لكل موظف, ألق نظرة على الدرس التالي :

6- الإشادة بالإنجازات

عندما يقوم الأشخاص بعمل جيد, فإنهم يريدون أن يتم الإعتراف بمجهودهم و الإشادة به. تقافة العمل التي يتم الإعتراف بالمجهود فيها سواء من طرف الزملاء أو المدراء من المرجح أن تكون بيئة عمل إيجابية.

كن حذرا حول كيفية القيام بالأمر. دراسة متيرة لجامعة هارفرد وجدت أن برنامج جوائز للحضور الجيد في شركة صناعية قاد إلى إنخفاض الإنتاجية بنسبة 1.4%. بعض الموظفين يجدون طرق لخداع النظام و الفوز بالجوائز, بينما الموظفين ذوي نسبة الحضور المتالية  فقدوا الحافز عند رؤيتهم للأخرين يفوزون بالجوائز لما يعتبرونه هم سلوك عادي بالنسبة لهم.

الدرس هنا : كن حذرا حول كيفية تصميم أنظمة الجوائز, وخد بعين الإعتبار التأتير على الأشخاص المشاد بهم و الغير مشاد بهم أيضا.

للمزيد حول هذا الموضوع و مواضيع الموارد البشرية الأخرى, قم بمتابعة الدرس التالي:

7- تقديم جوائز ملموسة

كشفت الأبحات عن أن عدة موظفين لا يتحفزون بالمال بالدرجة الأولى, لكن هذا لا يعني أن المال غير مهم. مكافأة الناس بشكل مناسب على عملهم هي طريقة لإظهار الإحترام لما يقدمون و إيصال فكرة أنهم موظفين يتم تقديرهم. و الحصول على علاوة أو مكافأة يجعل الأشخاص سعداء بكل تأكيد.

كما هو الحال مع الإعتراف, يجب القيام بهذا بالطريقة الصحيحة. إذا كنت توزع علاوات بشكل عشوائي, قد ترسل رسالة مفادها أن الأداء ليس مهم مما يؤدي إلى خفض معنويات موظفيك المميزين. لذا من الأفضل ربط تقديم المال بالأداء, مستخدما العلاوات و المكافأت كأدوات للمكافأة على الأداء الجيد. يمكنك أيضا ربط الأمر بأداء الشركة ككل, بإنشاء برنامج للمشاركة الربح حتى ينتفع موظفيك حينما تنتفع الشركة أيضا.

للمزيد حول تقديم مكافأت تنافسية, قم بمتابعة الدرس التالي:

8- السماح بترتيبات عمل مرنة

الموازنة بين الحياة الشخصية و العمل هو موضوع شائك, ولسبب وجيه. عندما يوازن الأشخاص بين العمل و الحياة الشخصية بشكل جيد, يميلون لتقديم أداء أفضل, و أن يكونوا بحالة جسدية أفضل, و أن يكونوا أكنر إيجابية حول عملهم.

هناك العديد من التقنيات للحصول على توازن أفضل بين العمل و الحياة الشخصية, لكن السماح للموظفين لإستغلال مرونة ترتيبات العمل هو أكترها فعالية. عند السماح للناس بجعل عملهم يتناسب مع إرتباطاتهم الأخرى, يمكنك مساعدتهم على عيش حياة عامرة و غنية, و القيام بما هو مهم لهم, و المساهمة في إنشاء بيئة عمل إيجابية.

للمزيد, تابع الدرس التالي :

9- شجع العلاقات القوية

نحن مخلوقات إجتماعية (حتى الخجولين منا), و نزدهر حينما نتوفر على علاقات قوية و صحية مع الأخرين من أية مجموعة نتواجد بها. لذا لا تتفاجأ من أن تشجيع موظفيك على الحصول على صداقات سيكون لديه تأتير إيجابي على بيئة العمل.

بالطبع هذا ليس بالأمر السهل. بحيت لا يمكنك إجبار الناس على إستلطاف بعضهم البعض. لكن يمكنك خلق الفرص لكي تتطور الصداقات. يمكنك ترتيب الأحدات و التجمعات, على سبيل المتال, أو يمكنك تشجيع الموظفين على الإلتقاء ببعضهم البعض خارج إطار العمل. يمكنك دفع تمن وجبة غداء في مطعم محلي رائع (ربما بدون وجود المدراء أو بمجموعات صغيرة إذا كان ذلك يجعل الأشخاص يشعرون براحة أكبر).

حاول تنظيم عدد كبير من الأحدات للتواصل مع أشخاص مختلفين. فمتلا, مشروبات بعد العمل في ليلة الجمعة هو أمر رائع, لكن حاول أن تقدم المشروبات للأشخاص الذين لا يشربون الكحوليات أو الذين لديهم إرتباطات تمنعهم من البقاء لوقت متأخر. 

10- تعزيز التنوع و الشمول

كيف يمكنك الحصول على بيئة عمل إيجابية بينما هنالك نوع من الأشخاص معزولين أو يشعرون بأنهم غير مرغوب فيهم؟

من المهم ضمان أن جهودك لخلق مكان عمل جيد أن تأخد بعين الإعتبار كل موظفيك, بغض النظر عن السن,العرق,الجنس,وعدة أبعاد للتنوع.

ربما يكون الأمر صعب في الوهلة الأولى, لكن سيؤدي ذلك إلى مكان عمل إيجابي و شامل على المدى البعيد. هذا موضوع كبير, لكن يمكنك معرفة المزيد من خلال سلسلة تحسين الأختلاف في عملك خاصتنا.

11- أخبرهم بالسبب

إقترحت الأبحات أن المعنى و الهدف هما أمران مهمان لتعزيز بيئة عمل إيجابية. في العمل كما في الحياة, الناس يكونون أكتر سعادة و تفاعل عندما يتوفرون على رؤية مستقبلية دات معنى و إحساس بالهدف.

لذا من المهم أن يعرف الموظفون أن عملهم يسير مع الصورة الكبرى. هذا لا يعني التواصل معهم حول الإستراتيجية فقط, بل حتى جعل أهدافهم الخاصة تتماشى مع الأهداف الكبرى للشركة, حتى يتسنى للجميع رؤية مساهمتهم. إذا إستطاعوا فهم ذلك, من المرجح أن يصبحوا أكتر إيجابية حول عملهم.

على سبيل المتال, العمل على إصلاح و تحديث نظام الحاسوب, قد يبدو غير دي معنى, لكن إذا فهم الموظف أن صحة النظام هو أمر مهم للشركة كي تحقق أهدافها و أنه هناك العديد من الموظفين و الزبناء يعتمدون عليه, حينها يكون العمل ذا معنى و هدف, و من المرجح أن يتعامل الموظف مع الموقف بشكل إيجابي.

12- أنصت

في هذا الدرس, لقد عرضت بعض التقنيات لخلق بيئة عمل إيجابية. هذه التقنيات تعمل في عدة مشاريع و صناعات مختلفة.

لكن هنالك بعض الأشياء المحددة التي قد تحسن البيئة في مشروعك. و أفضل طريقة لمعرفة ماهية هذه الأشياء هي الإنصات إلى موظفيك. بدل إعطائهم ما تظن أنهم يريدون,قم بسؤالهم عنه.

يمكنك فعل ذلك عبر الإستطلاعات العادية, جلسات ردود الفعل الغير رسمية, الإقتراحات المجهولة,وعدة تقنيات أخرى. موظفيك هم من يجربون مكان العمل كل يوم و يعرفون ما قد يحسنه, لذا أنصت لهم ودع إقتراحاتهم تقود مجهوداتك لتحسين بيئة العمل.

الخاتمة

في هذا الدرس, إكتشفت 12 تقنية لخلق بيئة عمل إيجابية. و رأيت ما يخلق بيئة عمل إيجابية في الأصل, و أهمية الحصول على بيئة عمل إيجابية لمشروعك.

الخطوة القادمة هي تطبيق بعض من هذه الأفكار على مشروعك الخاص. معظمهم سهل التطبيق بتكلفة منخفضة, والبعض الأخر قد يأخد بعض الوقت لكن يمكن البدأ بتطبيقه من اليوم.

إذن ما الذي تنتظره؟ قم بتجربة بعض الأفكار لترى إذا كان بإمكانك خلق بيئة أفضل و أسعد و أكتر إنتاجا.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Business
Business

How to Create a Positive Work Environment for Your Business

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Does your company have a positive work environment? Are your employees happy and proud to work for you? 

If the answer is “no” or if you’re not sure, then read on to discover what makes a positive work environment, why it’s important, and how you can go about creating a more positive environment for your employees, whether in an office, retail or industrial workplace.

Doing so will have tangible outcomes for your business, such as higher productivity, lower turnover, and even lower healthcare costs. 

Positive work environment
Happy employees tend to do a better job. (Image Source: Envato Elements)

But it’s not as easy as it sounds. As a manager, you can’t cajole people into smiling or just tell them to be more positive. You need to employ a whole set of different approaches that, when put together, will help to create a positive work environment. In this tutorial, you’ll learn exactly how to do that.

Why a Positive Work Environment Is Important

Before we get into the specifics of creating a positive work environment, let’s look at the benefits.

The science is clear on this: a more positive work environment leads to greater productivity. As a Harvard Business Review article concludes:

“A large and growing body of research on positive organizational psychology demonstrates that not only is a cut-throat environment harmful to productivity over time, but that a positive environment will lead to dramatic benefits for employers, employees, and the bottom line.”

Those benefits come in several forms:

  1. Happy employees who work in a positive environment tend to be more engaged and to do a better job. 
  2. Positive workplaces have lower rates of absenteeism.
  3. People are less likely to leave when they work somewhere with a good working environment, meaning lower turnover costs for the business.
  4. In positive workplaces, people are less stressed, meaning lower healthcare costs if you provide health insurance for your employees.
  5. Positive employees provide a much better experience for your customers, leading to higher levels of customer satisfaction and repeat business.

As well as the bottom-line benefits, of course, there are the less tangible rewards. When you create or manage a business, you're responsible for creating the environment in which dozens or perhaps hundreds of people will spend a big chunk of their lives. 

You can choose what that experience will be like. Do you want it to be fearful and mistrustful, with a culture of blame and passing the buck? I doubt it. You probably want people to enjoy coming to work, to feel a sense of pride and loyalty in working for you, and to form close relationships with their colleagues.

How do you achieve that? We’ll look at 12 tried and tested techniques in the next section.

What Makes a Positive Work Environment

Now that we’ve seen why creating a positive work environment is important, let’s look at how to achieve that. In this section, you’ll discover 12 techniques for fostering a positive work environment in which your employees feel happy, valued, and fully engaged.

1. Improve the Physical Workspace 

What colour temperature is your office lighting? It’s OK if you don’t know—it’s not something that most business owners think about. But research has shown that cooler light makes people more productive, while warmer light makes them feel more comfortable and relaxed.

So consider having cooler light in the main workspace, and warmer light in breakout rooms or cafeterias. You can achieve cooler light either by increasing the amount of natural light or by installing special “blue-enriched” light bulbs, while warmer light comes from orange or yellow bulbs.

Also consider things like air quality—are your air conditioning or heating systems regularly checked, and are the filters cleaned? Poor air quality can affect concentration and reduce energy levels.

2. Provide Employee-Friendly Facilities 

As well as fixing the main working environment, also consider providing facilities aimed at improving wellbeing. For example, you could offer childcare, a gym, yoga classes, healthy food and drink, etc. 

You may be thinking that those things sound expensive, but you can implement some of them even on small budgets. Even if you can’t stretch to a fully equipped gym, for instance, you could take a meeting room and fit it with exercise mats and some basic equipment at low cost. You may even have someone on staff who can lead yoga or meditation classes at lunchtime, or you could hire someone without breaking the bank. And even if you can’t build a full cafeteria, you could order in fruit and healthy snacks from a local provider.

A little goes a long way here. What’s important isn't having state-of-the-art equipment, but showing that you care about your employees as human beings, not just instruments of production, and doing your best to provide facilities that promote their wellbeing. 

3. Grant Autonomy 

One of the best ways to create a positive working environment is to give your workers autonomy. Avoid micromanaging them, and instead allow them some space and freedom to make decisions, contribute ideas, manage their own workload, and work without constant supervision. The result will be happier, more engaged employees who contribute to a more positive workplace.

Want some evidence for that? A study of 20,000 workers over two years found that those with more autonomy experienced greater job satisfaction and wellbeing.

You may need to make this change gradually. If people have become accustomed to close supervision, a sudden shift to complete autonomy could cause confusion and a loss of morale. But if you gradually loosen the reins and allow people to take more responsibility for how they do their own jobs, you’ll see a positive impact on the workplace culture.

4. Improve Communication 

Bad communication is at the root of so many problems for businesses both small and large. One survey found that 86% of respondents blamed lack of collaboration or ineffective communication for workplace failures.

When people don’t know what’s expected of them or what the company’s direction is, they flounder and disengage. When they don’t communicate well with each other, misunderstandings ensue, and the workplace environment won't be very positive.

Fortunately, there’s a lot you can do to improve communication, from using technological tools to establishing feedback mechanisms and practising conflict resolution. To learn about all of those techniques, read this tutorial:

5. Create Training & Development Opportunities 

Guess what? Your employees aren't going to be very positive about working for you if they're starved of opportunities to learn and develop their skills. 

Show them that you value them and want to help them improve and move forward in their careers, on the other hand, and you’ll have a much happier workforce. A Bridge survey found that having a culture of learning in an organization was the #1 driver of employee engagement and loyalty.

Training needn’t be expensive either. Sure, you could hire expensive training companies or sponsor employees’ college tuition if you've got the budget for it. But if you don’t, you can pursue lower-cost options like in-house training, mentoring, and affordable online training programs like Envato Tuts+.

To learn more about all of these options, as well as the steps involved in creating individual skills inventories and training plans for each employee, see the following tutorial:

6. Recognise Achievements 

When people do a good job, they want to be recognised for it. A workplace culture in which both managers and coworkers regularly recognise people’s achievements is likely to be a positive place to work.

Be careful how you do it, though. An interesting Harvard Business School study found that an award program for good attendance at an industrial firm led to an overall 1.4% drop in productivity. Some employees found ways to game the system and win the awards, while employees who already had perfect attendance were demotivated by seeing others winning awards for what they considered normal behaviour.

The lesson: be careful how you design recognition programs, and consider the effect not only on the people being recognised but also on those who aren’t being recognised. 

For more on this and other HR issues, see the following tutorial:

7. Give Tangible Rewards 

Research has shown that many employees are not primarily motivated by money, but that doesn’t mean that money’s not important. Rewarding people properly for their work is a way of showing respect for what they do and communicating to them that they're valued as employees. And getting a raise or a bonus is pretty much guaranteed to put a smile on people’s faces!

As with recognition, the important thing is to do it the right way. If you just hand out blanket pay increases, you may send the message that performance isn't important and demotivate your top employees. It’s better to link pay to performance, using raises and bonuses as tools for rewarding good performance. You can also link it to the performance of the company as a whole, e.g. by starting a profit-share program so that employees benefit when the business does well.

For more on providing competitive pay, see the following tutorial:

8. Allow Flexible Working Arrangements

Work-life balance is a hot topic in business, and for good reason. When people have a good balance between work and the rest of their lives, they tend to perform better, to be in better physical shape, and to be more positive about their work.

There are many techniques to achieve better work-life balance, but allowing employees to take advantage of flexible working arrangements is one of the most effective. By letting people fit their work around other commitments, you can help them to lead fuller, richer lives, to do what matters to them, and to contribute to a positive work environment.

For more, see the following tutorial:

9. Encourage Stronger Relationships 

We're social creatures (even those of us who are introverts!), and we thrive when we've got strong, healthy relationships with other members of whatever group we’re in. So it shouldn’t come as a surprise that encouraging your employees to develop friendships will have a positive impact on the environment at work.

This isn’t easy to do, of course. You can’t force people to like each other. But you can create the opportunity for friendships to develop. You can arrange events and outings, for example, or encourage employees to meet in other informal settings outside of work. You can pay for the team to have lunch at a great local restaurant (maybe without the managers present or in smaller groups if that would help people to feel more relaxed). 

Try to arrange a wide range of events to appeal to different people. For example, after-work drinks on a Friday are great, but also try to cater for people who don’t drink alcohol or who have family commitments that make it difficult to stay out late.

10. Foster Diversity & Inclusion 

How can you have a positive work environment when certain types of people are excluded or made to feel unwelcome?

It’s important to ensure that your efforts at creating a better workplace take into account the needs of all your employees, regardless of age, race, gender, and the other dimensions of diversity.

It may not be easy at first, but it'll lead to a more positive, inclusive workplace in the long run. This is a big topic, but you can find out much more about it in our series on improving diversity in your business.

11. Tell Them Why 

Research suggests that meaning and purpose are important in fostering a positive work environment. In work as in life, people are happier and more engaged when they've got a meaningful vision of the future and a sense of purpose. 

So it’s important to make sure that employees know how their work fits in with the bigger picture. That means not just communicating with them about strategy, but also having their goals aligned to the larger goals of the company, so that everyone can see how they’re contributing. If they understand that, they’re likely to be more positive about their work.

For example, working on maintaining and updating a computer system, could seem abstract and meaningless, but if the employee understands that the system’s health is vital for the company to meet its goals and that many employees and customers rely on it, then the work takes on more meaning and purpose, and the employee is more likely to approach it with a positive attitude.

12. Listen!

In this tutorial, I’ve laid out some common techniques for creating a positive work environment. These techniques should work in a variety of different businesses and industries.

But there may also be some specific things that would improve the environment in your particular business. The best way of finding out what those things are is to listen to your own employees. Instead of giving them what you think they want, ask them what they want.

You can do this through regular employee surveys, informal feedback sessions, anonymous suggestions, and other techniques. Your employees are the ones who experience your workplace every day and know what would improve it, so listen to them and let their suggestions lead your efforts at improving the working environment.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you’ve discovered 12 techniques for creating a positive work environment. You’ve seen what makes a positive work environment in the first place, and why having one in your business is so important.

The next step is to go ahead and implement some of these ideas in your own business. Most of them are quite easy to do at low cost, while others may take a little longer but can be started today.

So what are you waiting for? Try out some of these ideas and see if you can create a better, happier, more productive workplace. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.