Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Microsoft PowerPoint
Business

Comment faire des Pitch Decks gagnants (avec des modèles PowerPoint)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Make Great Pitch Decks (Startup Presentation Guide).
25 Best Keynote Pitch Deck Templates (Business Plan Presentation Designs)
How to Make Great Startup Pitch Deck Presentations in Apple Keynote

French (Français) translation by Othmane Laoulida (you can also view the original English article)

Avez-vous besoin d'utiliser un pitch deck pour votre présentation ?

Au cours des dernières années, les tabliers de tangage ont explosé en cours d'utilisation, parallèlement à la rampe de démarrage. Vous trouverez le plus souvent des pitch decks de startups et de petites entreprises cherchant à obtenir le soutien d'investisseurs.  Si vous démarrez une entreprise et que vous avez besoin du soutien d'autres personnes, ce format est généralement attendu en réunion.

PowerPoint Pitch Startup Deck

Dans ce tutoriel, je vais vous apprendre à utiliser les modèles PowerPoint pour construire rapidement un pitch deck gagnant.  Vous en apprendrez davantage sur le format d'un pitch deck et utiliserez un thème pré-construit pour accélérer le processus. Nous allons commencer par répondre à la question : qu'est-ce qu'un pitch deck ?

Guide to Making Great Presentations (Téléchargement gratuit du livre électronique)

Avant de poursuivre votre lecture, n'oubliez pas de vous procurer notre eBook gratuit : The Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations. Il vous aidera à maîtriser le processus de présentation, depuis l'idée initiale jusqu'à la rédaction, la conception et la livraison avec impact.

 Free eBook PDF Download Make a Great Presentation

Voyons maintenant comment faire des pitch decks gagnants :

Qu'est-ce qu'un Pitch Deck ?

Le terme " pont de tangage " peut signifier une variété de choses. Le plus souvent, l'idée est que le pitch conduira à un investissement dans votre entreprise en échange d'une partie de celle-ci. Mais, ce n'est pas la seule fois que vous pouvez utiliser le format pitch deck.

En général, considérez le pitch deck comme une action inspirante pour votre entreprise. Vous pourriez être à la recherche de nouvelles affaires, d'investissements dans votre entreprise, ou même de nouveaux employés à se joindre à nous.  Le fait est que vous partagez la vision que vous avez de ce que vous faites avec le public et que vous l'inspirez à vous rejoindre.

Pitch Decks en action

Il y a beaucoup de pitch decks à succès qui ont aidé à lancer des entreprises en faisant une forte impression. Voyons quelques-unes des meilleures plates-formes utilisées par les entreprises pour une levée de fonds et le soutien des investisseurs.

1. Airbnb

Connu à l'époque sous le nom d'AirBed&Breakfast, ce pitch deck est un premier regard sur la façon dont Airbnb est devenu l'un des principaux moyens de réserver un hébergement. Jetons un coup d'oeil au pont de lancement de l'Airbnb :

Une chose que j'aime beaucoup dans ce jeu, c'est que l'idée est résumée en une phrase sur la diapositive d'ouverture : "Réservez des chambres avec des locaux, plutôt que des hôtels."

Ce jeu de cartes permet d'évaluer les opportunités qui existent sur le marché de la location en montrant combien de voyages sont réservés. Il montre également les avantages concurrentiels qui existent pour Airbnb, illustrant pourquoi ils sont dignes d'être investis.

2. Mint

La menthe est l'un des outils de finances personnelles et de budgétisation les plus populaires, et il est facile de voir que la vision a été conçue dès le début dans ce jeu de cartes. Voici le pitch deck de la Monnaie royale :

La partie la plus importante de ce dossier est d'illustrer en quoi la Monnaie diffère des autres outils (diapositive 6.) Par rapport à d'autres outils, la Monnaie a offert un ensemble de caractéristiques uniques qu'aucun autre outil ne pouvait accomplir à lui seul.

3. Mixpanel

Vous n'avez peut-être pas entendu parler de Mixpanel, mais il s'est taillé une place de choix dans la course aux analyses comme peu d'autres entreprises. Examinons le jeu de diapositives de Mixpanel :

Non seulement ce pitch deck montre les réalisations passées, mais il a aussi un objectif très clair sur l'orientation de l'entreprise. Les investisseurs peuvent facilement voir comment leur capital sera déployé pour faire croître Mixpanel.

Comment construire un Pitch Deck

Dans ce tutoriel, nous allons utiliser l'impressionnant thème Pitch Werk pour construire un pitch deck. Vous pouvez saisir ce thème dans le cadre d'un abonnement à Envato Elements.

Lorsque vous souscrivez à Elements, vous avez accès à plus de 400 000 ressources créatives dans le cadre d'un abonnement à faible coût. Cela inclut plus de 750 thèmes PowerPoint différents que vous pouvez utiliser comme une longueur d'avance sur la conception à partir de zéro.

Pitch Werk PPT Template
Dans ce tutoriel, nous allons utiliser le modèle Pitch Work d'Elements pour créer un pitch deck de démarrage.

Un thème pré-construit offre de nombreux avantages. Si vous êtes une startup qui se prépare pour un pitch à venir, il est probable que le temps presse. L'utilisation d'un thème vous permet de commencer avec un modèle de base et de permuter dans votre propre contenu.

En utilisant Pitch Werk, nous allons construire un exemple de jeu de pitch pour une entreprise fictive.  Créez une présentation classique de style pitch deck pour demander du financement à des investisseurs potentiels. Nous prendrons les diapositives existantes et les retravaillerons pour nos propres besoins.

1. Présenter l'équipe

On dit souvent que les investisseurs n'investissent pas dans les idées, mais dans les équipes. L'examen des titres de compétences et des accolades de votre équipe renforcera la confiance en vos capacités.

Beaucoup d'investisseurs croient que si vous mettez la bonne équipe autour d'une idée, des solutions créatives verront le jour. Il est logique de commencer par présenter l'équipe que vous avez constituée pour travailler sur votre produit.

Pour cette diapositive, j'aime beaucoup la diapositive 19. Chacune de ces cases pourrait être utilisée pour énumérer un membre de l'équipe et son rôle dans l'entreprise.

19-Before sample pitch deck slide
Le point de départ de cette diapositive pour le pitch deck est constitué de six cases pour présenter une équipe.

Dans mon exemple de pitch deck, j'ai en fait décidé d'utiliser les boîtes du haut pour les photos des employés et la boîte du bas pour partager plus d'informations à leur sujet. Dans la capture d'écran ci-dessous, voyez comment j'ai simplement supprimé les espaces réservés à l'image et utilisé ces espaces pour la description des équipes.

19 after sample pitch deck slide
J'ai ajouté mes propres images et textes pour prendre la place de plusieurs boîtes et présenter l'équipe.

Lorsque vous utilisez un thème PowerPoint comme Pitch Werk, vous devez garder à l'esprit que chaque diapositive de départ peut être facilement personnalisée. Peu importe qu'il n'y ait pas de diapositive "Team" intégrée, il suffit de trouver quelque chose avec les espaces réservés dont vous avez besoin et d'y déposer votre propre contenu.

Un autre choix de diapositive : la diapositive 30 a une approche plus traditionnelle pour lister les membres de l'équipe.

2. Décrire le problème existant

Même les investisseurs les plus avisés ne connaissent pas toutes les opportunités de marché qui peuvent exister pour une nouvelle entreprise. Une partie d'un pont de tangage bien construit consiste à sensibiliser l'auditoire au problème à résoudre.

Si vous avez des données et des statistiques sur la taille du marché dans lequel votre entreprise sera présente, n'hésitez pas à partager ces statistiques. Lorsque les entreprises sont valorisées et que les opportunités sont évaluées, cela aide les investisseurs à comprendre la taille du marché que cela peut desservir.

La diapositive 14 est un excellent choix à cet effet. Avec des cercles concentriques (qui se chevauchent), vous pouvez décrire les différents marchés ou niches pour le problème en question.  Utilisez les cercles pour décrire la taille du marché (revenu potentiel) que vous pourriez obtenir.

14 before sample pitch deck slide
Vous pouvez utiliser la conception 14 de glissière du plateau de tangage pour dimensionner le problème que vous cherchez à résoudre.

Plus important que de décrire le problème : faites-en une opportunité. Les opportunités sont la façon dont vous créez de nouvelles entreprises. Lorsque les investisseurs ou les conseillers potentiels verront qu'il y a un besoin légitime pour ce que votre entreprise offrira, ils seront plus enclins à s'engager.

Un autre choix de diapositive : la diapositive 15 est une approche similaire de " dimensionnement des opportunités ", mais avec une présentation différente.

3. Offrir une solution

Vous avez donc préparé le terrain pour le problème qui existe actuellement et sur lequel votre équipe travaille. Les investisseurs potentiels devraient maintenant avoir une idée à la fois du problème existant et de la raison pour laquelle il s'agit d'un domaine qu'une entreprise doit impérativement résoudre.

Maintenant, il est temps d'offrir une solution. Pour que votre idée soit une entreprise convaincante, vous devez trouver l'intersection de l'opportunité et des outils possibles pour la saisir.

Lorsque vous proposez une solution, il y a vraiment deux éléments clés que les gens doivent voir :

  • Comme tu es différent. Des solutions ont été essayées pour pratiquement tous les problèmes, mais cela ne veut pas dire qu'elles ont fonctionné. Pourquoi votre solution au problème fonctionnera-t-elle si d'autres ont échoué ?
  • Pourquoi vous êtes la bonne équipe pour le faire. Qu'est-ce qui rend votre équipe différente ? Si ces équipes ont déjà échoué à résoudre un problème, pourquoi l'équipe que vous avez formée est-elle plus apte à le faire que celles du passé ?

Ces deux points sont des raisons clés lorsque des investisseurs ou des employés potentiels décident d'appuyer votre mission et votre vision. Quand il s'agit de conception de diapositives, nous pourrions vraiment utiliser beaucoup des diapositives qui sont intégrées dans Pitch Werk.

Utilisons la diapositive 85 à cette fin, puisque nous présentons une application qui fournit une solution. Je vais simplement déposer une image de prévisualisation et mettre à jour les points pour correspondre au but.

85 sample pitch deck slide
La diapositive 85 vous permet d'inclure une image avec vos points de solution.

Autre choix de diapositives : la diapositive 90 est un choix plus minimaliste pour mettre en valeur votre produit.

4. Offrez le Comment

Si vous recueillez des fonds, les investisseurs parient sur votre solution à un problème. Si vous avez défini le problème et la solution, ils sont probablement intéressés par la mécanique de la façon dont vous allez accomplir la solution.

Dans cette diapositive, il est temps de retirer un peu le rideau et de partager au moins certains des plans à venir sur la façon dont vous allez atteindre votre objectif.

Pour des diapositives comme celle-ci, je recommande la diapositive 24 dans Pitch Werk comme la meilleure façon de montrer le chemin que prend votre entreprise.  Chacune des étapes pourrait décrire un jalon que vous avez déjà franchi. Vous pouvez également utiliser plusieurs des points de la ligne du temps pour montrer les objectifs futurs potentiels que vous avez.

Dans mon cas, je vais montrer plusieurs étapes clés dans le développement de mon produit. Chacun d'entre eux fournit une vision claire de la façon dont le problème est résolu grâce à votre produit.

Finwiz Story So far
Cette chronologie des applications montre les progrès réalisés par mon application et ma société, et que nous sommes arrivés.

Un autre choix de diapositive : la diapositive 25 est similaire mais plus minimaliste à la présentation d'une ligne du temps.

5. Demander de l'action

Pourquoi faire une présentation si vous ne demandez pas aux participants d'agir ? À la fin de la présentation, il est temps de demander ce dont vous avez besoin pour réussir.

Qu'il s'agisse de financement, de services consultatifs ou d'un partenaire potentiel de l'entreprise, vous avez besoin d'une diapositive qui explique clairement vos intentions. Votre public ne peut pas vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs s'il ne sait pas ce qu'ils sont.

Pour cette présentation de discours, utilisons la diapositive 10 comme point de départ de notre diapositive d'action. Il s'agit d'une diapositive simple et propre qui comprend des espaces réservés pour plusieurs images au besoin.

Slide 10 Before View
Cette glissière de pitch deck simple et propre comprend des emplacements pour plus d'une image.

Vous pouvez utiliser cette diapositive et énumérer les détails de l'état d'avancement de votre collecte de fonds actuelle. Dans de nombreux pitch decks, c'est le but ultime : demander du financement en échange d'une part de l'entreprise.  Dans la plupart des événements de collecte de fonds de démarrage, plusieurs investisseurs mettront en commun des fonds pour financer l'entreprise, de sorte qu'il peut être utile de montrer à d'autres investisseurs qui sont déjà à bord.

Si vous demandez des conseils ou des membres du conseil d'administration de votre entreprise, modifiez le design en conséquence. Vous pourriez donner des raisons à puces pour expliquer pourquoi votre entreprise vaut la peine d'être aidée et ce que vous offrez en retour.

Un autre choix de diapositives : la diapositive 57 a un diagramme circulaire si vous voulez une présentation plus axée sur les données à proximité de votre présentation de pitch.

Dans les diapositives d'exemple que j'ai partagées plus tôt, vous pouvez voir qu'il y a beaucoup d'autres diapositives que vous pouvez inclure un pitch deck. Rien ne vous empêche de construire plus en détail, mais ces cinq diapositives sont essentielles au succès.

Si Pitch Werk n'est pas votre style, n'hésitez pas à consulter d'autres thèmes PowerPoint disponibles sur Envato Market. Il y a une variété de styles de présentation de hauteur qui fonctionneraient bien pour pratiquement n'importe quel but.

6. En savoir plus avec notre eBook de présentation

Vous pouvez également trouver plus d'informations sur la création d'une présentation dans notre nouvel eBook sur la façon de faire d'excellentes présentations. Téléchargez ce fichier PDF dès maintenant GRATUITEMENT avec votre abonnement à la Newsletter de Tuts+ Business :

Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations

Il vous aidera à maîtriser le processus de présentation, depuis les idées créatives initiales jusqu'à la rédaction, la conception et la livraison avec impact.

Récapitulation et apprentissage continu

Un pitch deck réussi renforce la confiance et augmente vos chances d'être soutenu. En utilisant les conseils et les thèmes que j'ai partagés dans ce tutoriel, suivez le cadre simple pour créer un pitch deck professionnel.

Chez Tuts+, nous avons constitué une bibliothèque d'outils PowerPoint qui peuvent vous aider à vaincre vos craintes de faire une présentation. Une ressource que vous devriez certainement consulter est le Guide ultime du meilleur PPT, un tour d'horizon complet du meilleur contenu PowerPoint que nous avons.

Consultez également les didacticiels suivants pour en savoir plus sur la façon de créer une présentation qui vous inspire confiance :

Avez-vous déjà fait une présentation avec un pitch deck ? Si oui, j'aimerais recevoir un conseil de votre part dans la section commentaires ci-dessous.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Unlimited Powerpoint templates, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Microsoft PowerPoint
Business

How to Make Winning Pitch Decks (With PowerPoint Templates)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Make Great Pitch Decks (Startup Presentation Guide).
20 Best Keynote Pitch Deck Templates (Business Plan Presentation Designs)
20 Best Startup Pitch Deck Examples: Famous in Tech (For 2019)

Do you need to use a pitch deck for your presentation?

Pitch decks have exploded in use alongside the startup boom in recent years. You'll most often find pitch decks from startups and small businesses seeking to gain support from investors. If you're starting a company or business and need support from others, this format is commonly expected in meetings. 

PowerPoint Pitch Startup Deck

In this tutorial, I'm going to teach you to use PowerPoint templates to rapidly build a winning pitch deck. You'll learn more about the right deck format for a pitch presentation PPT and use a pre-built theme to speed up the process. We'll start by answering the question: what is a pitch deck?

Guide to Making Great Presentations (Free eBook Download)

Before you read on, be sure to grab our free eBook:  The Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations. It will help you master the presentation process, from: initial idea, through to writing, design, and delivering with impact.

 Free eBook PDF Download Make a Great Presentation

Now, let's look at how to make winning pitch decks:

What Is a Pitch Deck?

The term "pitch deck" can mean a variety of things. Most often, the idea is that the pitch will lead to investment in your company in exchange for a piece of it. But, that's not the only time that you can use the pitch deck format.

In general, think of a pitch deck as inspiring action for your business. You could be pitching for new business, investment in your company, or even new employees to come on board. The point is that you share the vision you've got for what you do with the audience and inspire them to join you. 

Learn more about presentation pitch PPTs and slide decks: 

5 Visual Design Tips (For Better Pitch Decks)

Building your next business pitch doesn't have to be so daunting! With a few key tips, you can remove the anxiety from designing slides and refocus your energy on the pitch deck's content. Cut down on the design work and get prepared for your big pitch.

Let's take a look at five of my favorite tips that'll help you build great-looking pitch decks in less time than ever before:

1. Outsource the Design Work

If there's only one tip you remember from this article, make it this one: use a business pitch template to skip far ahead in the design process.

There's nothing wrong with turning over the design work to others. Using a pre-built business pitch template doesn't exclude you from adding all of the customization and design elements that bring your idea to life.

The round-up below has options (free and premium) to take great pitch decks and make them your own:

2. Use Infographics to Illustrate Key Processes 

An infographic is a visual that helps you show off processes or key data. It breaks from traditional charts like line graphs or bar charts with more custom visuals that explain the a concept.

Take, for example, the slide below. You could just as easily show market sizes with bullets on a slide. But with these overlapping circles, you have room to explain the size of a market in an intuitive format.

Steart presentation
Use an infographic from a template like Steart to show off key ideas in audience-friendly formats.

An infographic could be used to explain the steps in your business or how the parts of your company fit together. Check out infographic elements and chain them together to jazz up a presentation.

3. Add a SWOT Slide for Visual Strategies

One of my favorite visuals for a pitch deck is a SWOT slide. This type of analysis includes highlighting your strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. 

When you're giving a pitch, you want the potential employeer or investor to know that you've considered the challenges that lie ahead. It's also important that they know that you understand your strengths. That's why including a SWOT is a great visual for your next presentation.

Learn how to build an excellent SWOT slide that you can include in your presentation in the tutorial below:

4. Fewer Elements Lead to More Attention

I love PowerPoint as a tool to build exciting pitch decks. But the key to making them noticeable to an audience is to strip out the elements that aren't the focus of your slide.

It feels like a bit of a shortcut, but try removing any element on your slide that isn't crucial to understanding. Convert a few visuals to speaking points and ease the visual burden of your slide.

Fewer Elements Slide
A great example of a minimal slide is Pitch Werk, which eschews many bullets or visuals for a simple, impactful punchline.

5. Tell Stories with Data

Rounding out my selection of recommendations for pitch presentations, I think it's important to use data to tell stories about your business. Big tables of data or statistics will quickly cause most audience members to glaze over!

Luckily, many sets of data convert beautifully to charts. Taking numbers and statistics and putting them in a chart or graph will ultimately drive the message to your audience and create an understanding.

Use the tutorial below to craft visual showcases of your data for your next pitch deck:

3 Pitch Decks (Example PPTs) in Action

There are plenty of successful investor-ready pitch decks that have helped launch companies by making a strong impression. Let's see some of the top pitch decks (example PowerPoint PPT presentations) used by companies for a pivotal round of fundraising and investor support.

1. Airbnb

Known as AirBed&Breakfast at the time, this pitch deck is an early look at how Airbnb became one of the leading ways to book accommodations. Let's take a look at the Airbnb pitch deck:

One thing I love about this deck is that the idea is summed up in one sentence on the opening slide: "Book rooms with locals, rather than hotels."

This deck does a great job sizing the opportunity that exists in the rental market by showing how many trips are booked. It also shows the competitive advantages that exist for Airbnb, illustrating why they're worthy of investment.

2. Mint

Mint is one of the most popular personal finance and budgeting tools, and it's easy to see that the vision was crafted early on in this pitch deck. Here's Mint's pitch deck:

The strongest part of this deck is illustrating how Mint differs from other tools (slide 6.) Compared to other tools, Mint offered a unique feature set that no other single tool could accomplish.

3. Mixpanel

You might not have heard of Mixpanel, but it has carved a cornerstone in the analytics race like few other companies. Let's examine the slide deck from Mixpanel:

Not only does this pitch presentation PPT deck show past accomplishments, it also has a very clear goal for where the company is going. Investors can easily see how their capital will be deployed to grow Mixpanel. 

Now that we've look at some great pitch deck examples PPTs, it's time to walk through how to create your own. 

How to Build a Great Pitch Deck (Quickly)

In this tutorial, we're going to use the impressive Pitch Werk theme to build out a pitch deck. You can grab this PPT presentation design as part of a subscription to Envato Elements. It gives you a number of professional slide designs that will help you make your startup pitch PowerPoint presentation deck fast!

Pitch Werk PPT Template
In this tutorial, we're going to use the Pitch Work template from Elements to create a startup pitch deck.

When you subscribe to Elements, you get access to over 400,000 creative assets as part of one low cost subscription. This includes over 750 different PowerPoint templates that you can use as a major head start over designing from scratch. Discover more great PowerPoint pitch deck template designs

A pre-built theme offers many advantages. If you're a startup preparing for an upcoming pitch, it's likely that time is in short supply. Using a theme allows you to start with a basic template and swap in your own content.

Using the startup PowerPoint template Pitch Werk, we're going to build out a sample pitch presentation PPT deck for a fictitious business. Let's create a classic pitch deck style presentation to ask for funding from potential investors. We'll take existing slides and rework them for our own purposes.

1. Introduce the Team

It's often said that investors don't invest in ideas, they invest in teams. Reviewing the credentials and accolades of your team will build confidence in your abilities.

Many investors believe that if you put the right team around an idea, creative solutions will arise. It makes sense to start off by introducing the team that you've put together to work on your product.

For this slide, I really like slide 19. Each one of these boxes could be used to list a team member and their role at the company.

19-Before sample pitch deck slide
The starting point for this pitch deck slide features six placeholder boxes to introduce a team.

In my sample pitch deck, I actually decided to use the top boxes for employee photos and the bottom box to share more about them. In the screenshot below, check out how I simply removed the image placeholders and used those spaces for team descriptions.

19 after sample pitch deck slide
I've added my own images and text to take the place of several boxes and introduce the team.

When you use a startup pitch PowerPoint presentation template like Pitch Werk, you've got to keep in mind that each starter slide can be easily customized. It doesn't matter if there's no "Team" slide built-in; simply find something with the placeholder boxes you need and drop in your own content.

Another pitch deck template PowerPoint slide choice: slide 30 has a more traditional approach to listing team members.

2. Describe the Problem That Exists

Even the savviest investors don't know every market opportunity that may exist for a new business. Part of a well-constructed pitch deck consists of making the audience aware of the problem at hand.

If you've got data and statistics about the size of the market that your business will be in, feel free to share those statistics. When companies are valued and opportunities are scoped, it helps investors to understand what size market that this potentially services.

Slide 14 is a great choice for this purpose. With concentric (overlapping) circles, you can describe the various markets or niches for the problem at hand. Use the circles to describe the size of the market (potential revenue) that you may be able to garner.

14 before sample pitch deck slide
You can use pitch deck slide design 14 to size the problem that you're out to solve.

More important than describing the problem: shape it as an opportunity. Opportunities are how you create new businesses. When investors or potential advisers see that there's a legitimate need for what your company will offer, they'll be more inclined to get on board.

Another slide choice: slide 15 is a similar "opportunity sizing" approach, but with a different presentation.

3. Offer a Solution

So, you've set the stage for the problem that currently exists that your team is working on. By now, the potential investors should have an idea of both the problem that exists, and why it's a compelling area for a company to solve.

Now, it's time to offer up a solution. For your idea to be a compelling business, you've got to find the intersection of opportunity and possible tools to bridge the opportunity.

When you propose a solution, there are really two key parts that people need to see:

  • How you're different. Solutions have been attempted for practically every problem, but that doesn't mean they worked. Why will your solution to the problem work if others have failed?
  • Why you're the right team to do it. What makes your team different? If those teams have already failed at solving a problem, why is the team that you've assembled more fit to solve it than those in the past?

Both of these points are key reasons when investors or potential employees are deciding to back your mission and vision. When it comes to slide design, we really could use many of the slides that are built into Pitch Werk.

Let's use slide 85 for this purpose, since we're showing off an app that provides a solution. I'll simply drop in a preview image and update the points to match the goal.

85 sample pitch deck slide
Pitch PPT Deck: Slide 85 allows you to include an image with your solution points.

Another slide choice: slide 90 is a more minimalist choice for showcasing your product.

4. Offer the How

If you're raising funds, investors are betting on your solution to a problem. If you've defined the problem and the solution, they're likely interested in the mechanics of how you'll accomplish the solution.

In this slide, it's time to pull back the curtain a bit and share at least some of the upcoming plans for how you'll accomplish the goal.

For slides like this, I recommend slide 24 in Pitch Werk as the best way to show the path that your company is taking. Each of the steps could describe a milestone that you've already accomplished. You could also use several of the points on the timeline to show potential future objectives you have.

In my case, I'm going to show several key milestones in my product development. Each of these provides a clear vision of how the problem is solved through your product.

Finwiz Story So far
This app timeline shows the progress that my app and company are making, and that we've arrived 

Another slide choice: slide 25 is similar but a more minimalist choice to presenting a timeline. It's one of the quick slides to use from this startup pitch deck template PPT.

5. Ask for Action

Why give a pitch if you aren't asking for action from the attendees? At the end of the presentation, it's time to ask for what you need to succeed.

Whether this is funding, advisory services, or a potential partner in the business, you need a slide that makes your intentions clear. Your audience can't possibly help you meet your goals if they don't know what they are.

For this pitch presentation PPT deck, let's use slide 10 as the starting point for our action slide. It's a simple and clean slide that includes placeholders for multiple images as needed.

Slide 10 Before View
This clean and simple pitch deck slide includes placeholders for more than one image.

You could use this slide and list the details of the status of your current fundraising round. In many pitch decks, this is ultimately the goal: asking for funding in exchange for a share of the company. In most startup fundraising events, multiple investors will pool money to fund the company, so it may help to show other investors that are already on board.

If you're asking for advice or board members for your company, tweak the design accordingly. You could offer bulleted reasons of why your company is worth helping and what you offer in return.

Another excellent slide choice: slide 57 has a circle chart. It's great if you want a more data-driven close to your pitch presentation PPT.

In the example slide decks I shared earlier, you can see that there are plenty of other slides you can include a pitch deck. There's nothing stopping you from building in more detail, but these five slides are crucial to success.

If Pitch Werk isn't your style, don't hesitate to spend time checking out some other PowerPoint templates on Envato Elements. Or browse through trending PPT themes available on Envato Market. There are a variety of startup pitch PowerPoint styles and trending presentation designs that would work great for practically any purpose.

6. Learn More With Our Presentation eBook

You can also find more information about creating a presentation in our new eBook on making great presentations. Grab this PDF Download now for FREE with your subscription to the Tuts+ Business Newsletter:

Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations

It will help you master the presentation process, from: initial creative ideas, through to writing, design, and delivering with impact.

Learn More About Making Great Pitch Decks & Using PowerPoint

A successful pitch deck builds confidence and increases your chance of getting backed. Using the tips and themes I shared in this tutorial, follow the simple framework for creating a professional startup pitch deck in PowerPoint. Here are two more ways to learn more about creating pitch decks in PowerPoint:

1. Complete Course: How to Make a Winning Pitch Deck With Microsoft PowerPoint

Recently, we launched a feature-length course that'll walk you through the process of building a winning pitch deck. This course has a complete case study that takes you through the process of creating a PowerPoint pitch deck.

This course is included as a part of Envato Elements, the all-you-can-download subscription service for creatives. You can use this service to grab a template for your pitch deck, then take the course for a single flat rate.

Check out the How to Make a Winning Pitch Deck with Microsoft PowerPoint course below:

 

2. Learn More About PPT Presentations With Other Tuts+ Resources

Want to learn more general tips for building a presentation? At Tuts+, we've been building up a library of PowerPoint tools that can help you conquer your fears of giving a presentation. One resource you should definitely check out is the Ultimate Guide to the Best PPT, a comprehensive roundup of the best PowerPoint content we have.

Also, check out the following tutorials to learn more about how to create a presentation that you'll feel confident about:

Build a PowerPoint Pitch Deck Today With Templates

As we wrap up this article, I hope you've found the confidence you need to launch your next venture. Packaging it together in a business pitch template is the way that you can find funding and support to get your idea off the ground.

Remember, you can use a business pitch template to save hours of design work. Jump over to Envato Elements now to start building your pitch deck. You'll find that these templates have all of the ideas and blueprints you need to succeed with your big pitch.

Editorial Note: This post was originally published in January of 2018. It has been revised to make it current, accurate, and up to date by our staff.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.