Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Public Speaking

15+ مهارة وتقنية خطابة فعالة يجدر بك أن تحترفها

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Fundamentals of Public Speaking (101) Introduction Guide.
How to Write a Great Speech for Public Speaking in 7 Steps
10+ Top Public Speaking Tips (To Help You Improve Quickly)

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

ربما كنت تعتقد أن المتحدث الفعال يولد بهذا الشكل. ولكنك مخطئ! الخطابة والتحدث أمام جمهور هي مهارة يمكنك تعلمها.

معظم المتحدثين الناجحين والمؤثرين عملوا بجد لكي يحترفوا مهارات تحدثٍ فعالة وتقنيات خطابةٍ جيدة. وربما قضى البعض منهم الساعات على التمرن، العمل مع مدرب، او على أخذ دروسٍ في التحدث أمام الجمهور.

Principles of Public Speaking
يمكنك أنت أيضاً أن تصبح خطيباً مؤثراً. (مصدر الصورة: Envato Elements)

الأخبار الجيدة هي أنه بإمكانك، باستخدام تقنيات الخطابة الصحيحة، أن تحسن من مهاراتك وأن تصبح متحدثاً مؤثراً. في هذا الدرس قمنا بذكر ما يزيد عن 15 تقنية خطابةٍ مختلفة يمكن لها أن تساعدك على تعلم كيف تصبح متحدثاً ذا تأثير.

ما هي الخطابة (التحدث أمام جمهور)؟

الخطابة تحدث عندما تلقي خطاباً أمام جمهورٍ موجودٍ معك. وهي تختلف عن وسائل التحدث الأخرى، كالفيديوهات، والتي قد تكون مسجلة. كما أنها تختلف عن العروض التقديمية الموجودة على الشبكة، والتي يتم تصميمها أولاً ومن ثم يتم رفعها إلى الإنترنت.

هنالك الكثير من الفوائد للخطابة، مثل زيادة مستوى ثقافتك ومنحك الفرصة للدفاع عن قضية تهمك. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعلمك لمهارات خطابةٍ مؤثرة يمكن أن يساعدك على إيجاد وظيفة. الكثير من الوظائف، مثل مدرب او خبير مبيعات، تتطلب منك التحدث أمام جمهور. حتى لو لم يتضمن الوصف الوظيفي لوظيفةٍ ما تحدثاً أمام جمهور، فإن الموظِفين سيقدرون مهارات الخطابة المؤثرة. لقد أظهرت إحصائيةٌ شملت 600 موظِف بأن الموظِفين يشعرون بأن مهارات التواصل الجيدة كانت أهم بمرتين من المهارات الإدارية.

ربما تسأل نفسك في هذه المرحلة السؤال التالي: "ما الذي يجعل من أحدهم متحدثاً ناجحاً؟" الإجابة قد تبدو بسيطة: المتحدث الجيد يستعمل مهارات خطابة مؤثرة. ما هي هذه المهارات؟ هذا ما سنتحدث عنه في هذه المقالة.

قبل مناقشة مهارات الخطابة الفعالة، قم بتحميل كتابنا الإلكتروني الجديد: الدليل الكامل إلى تصميم عروضٍ تقديمية رائعة. الكتاب متوافر للتحميل بشكل مجاني عند اشتراكك برسالة Tuts+ الإخبارية للأعمال. تعلم كيف تكتب، تصمم، وتقدم العرض التقديمي المثالي.

Complete Guide to Presentations

دعنا الآن نلقي نظرة حول كيفية تقديم عرضٍ رائع باستعمال تقنيات الخطابة الفعالة.

15+ تقنية خطابة فعالة

يمكنك أن تتعلم كيف تصبح متحدثاً فعالاً باستعمال التقنيات الصحيحة وعن طريق التدرب على هذه التقنيات. إليك بعض التقنيات التي يجدر بك تعلمها:

1. اهتم بالموضوع الذي تتحدث عنه

الشغف سيساعدك كثيراً عندما يتعلق الأمر بكونك متحدثاً مؤثراً. يمكن للجمهور أن يشعر بك في حال لم تكن مبالياً بموضوعك. إذا لم تهتم به، فلن يهتموا به أيضاً. والأسوء من ذلك أنهم قد يعتبرونك شخصاً مزيفاً أو مخادعاً.

في المقابل، إذا اهتممت بصدق بموضوعك فإن الجمهور سيلاحظ ذلك أيضاً. سيراك الجمهور كشخص مؤثوقٍ أكثر وجديرٍ بالتصديق. سيستمعون لك بتركيز أكثر لكي يتكشفوا سبب كون هذا الموضوع مهماً بالنسبة إليك. وسيميلون أكثر إلى التغاضي عن الأخطاء الصغيرة التي قد ترتكبها أثناء تحدثك.

2. تذكر الهدف الذي تتحدث من أجله

كلنا على الأغلب استمعنا لمتحدثٍ واحدٍ على الأقل، والذي بدا بأنه يتحدث بشكلٍ متكرر ودون توقف عن أمرٍ غير محدد. واحدٌ من التفسيرات لذلك هو أن الخطاب لم يركز على شيءٍ معين بما يكفي. المتحدث كان يحاول أن يغطي الكثير مما جعله يبدو مملاً بالنسبة لمستمعيه.

حدد هدفك من التحدث في أوائل عملية تحضير خطابك. واعمل على الالتزام بهذا الهدف خلال عرضك التقديمي. لا تخرج عن الموضوع الرئيسي ولا تنشغل بمناقشة موضوعٍ جانبي.

3. ادعم أفكارك الرئيسية

يجب أن تدعم كل فكرةٍ تطرحها أثناء تحدثك بمثال، رسمٍ توضيحي، أو بمجموعةٍ من الحقائق. عندما تحاول دعم فكرةٍ ما، فإنه من الأفضل أن تسعى للدقدة قدر الإمكان.

على سبيل المثال، إذا كنت تتحدث عن أهمية المياه النظيفة، فإن عبارة مثل هذه ستبدو غامضةً جداً:

"الكثير من الناس لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى مصدر مياهٍ نظيفة."

الاستشهاد بهذه الإحصائية من المركز الأمريكي للسيطرة على الأمراض سيكون طريقةً فعالةً أكثر لكي تدعم فكرتك:

"حول العالم، هنالك ما يقارب 780 مليون شخص لا يستطيعون الوصول لمصدر مياهٍ نظيفة."

4. ارو قصة

الناس يحبون القصة الجيدة. لذا إذا كنت ترغب بأن تكون متحدثاً مؤثراً أكثر، فإن عليك أن تروي قصة.

روي القصص يعتبر طريقةً رائعة لجعل مادتك جذابةً أكثر ولكي يكون جمهورك ارتباطاً بها. تأكد من أن قصتك ذات صلةٍ بالموضوع ويمكن لجمهورك فهمها والتعاطف معها.

إذا كنت تريد التحدث عن عملك، فإليك بعض الأمثلة لقصصٍ يمكنك التحدث عنها:

  • قصة زبون. قصة حول تلبية منتجك أو خدماتك حاجة زبونٍ معين أو حلها لمشكلةٍ ما. الزبائن الراضون غالباً ما يكونون سعداء بمشاركة هذه القصص.
  • قصة شركتك. قصة تطور شركتك. يمكن أن تكون هذه القصة مؤثرةً بشكلٍ خاص في حال تمحورت حول الزبون.
  • قصة تطوير منتجٍ ما. قصة توفيرك لمنتجٍ جديد (أو خدمة).

بدون شك يوجد العديد من أنواع القصص الأخرى التي يمكنك أن ترويها بالإعتماد على نوع المادة التي تلقيها.

5. استعمل أدوات العروض التقديمية بحكمة

عروض الشرائح التقديمية معروفة بكونها مملة غالباً، ولكن هذا يعود لعدم معرفة المتحدثين بإمكانيات أدوات العروض التقديمة ولأنهم لا يستعملون كل الميزات بأفضل شكل. لكي تجذب جمهورك بشكلٍ أكبر، يجدر بك أن تتعلم كيفية استعمال الميزات المتقدمة الموجودة في أداتك.

كمثال، إليك بعض الطرق التي يمكن أن تستعمل فيها PowerPoint وGoogle Slides (مع روابط لدروس ذات صلة):

وهذه الميزات هي رأس الجبل الجليدي فقط. لكي ترفع من مستواك في الخطابة، فإن عليك أن تتعلم كل شيءٍ يمكن لأداة العروض التقديمية الخاصة بك القيام به. سلاسل دروسنا حول Google Slides وPowerPoint هي نقطة بدايةٍ جيدة.

6. استعمل قالباً احترافياً

وبما أننا نتحدث عن أدوات العروض التقديمية، فدعنا نتحدث عن شكل عرضك التقديمي. التصميم الخاص بعرضك التقديمي سيؤثر على كيفية رؤية جمهورك لك. حتى لو حفظت خطابك، وألقيته بشكلٍ إحترافي، وكان موضوعك رائعاً -- يمكن أن ينتقدك الجمهور في حال كان تصميم العرض خاصتك فوضوي وغير احترافي.

بكل تأكيد يمكنك استعمال قالبٍ قياسي (القالب الذي يستعمله كل شخص) أو تصميم قالبك الخاص (خيارٌ مكلف ويستهلك الكثير من الوقت). لكن الخيار الأفضل هو استعمال قالب عرضٍ تقديمي مصممٍ بإحترافية والذي يمكنك تخصيصه بسهولة. قوالب العروض التقديمية من Envato Elements وGraphicRiver، مثلاً، سهلة الاستعمال، موثوقة، وإحترافية. وهنالك المئات لكي تختار منها -- مما يعني أنك ستجد القالب المناسب لإحتياجاتك بكل تأكيد.

7. تدرب على خطابك

التدريب هو غالباً أهم تقنية خطابة ومع ذلك هو التقنية التي يتم التغاضي عنها معظم الأوقات. إذا كنت تتوقع أن تكون متحدثاً مؤثراً من دون التدرب على خطاباتك، فإنك مخطئ. إن تجربة إلقاء خطاب لم تتدرب عليه ولا تعرف الكثيرعنه هي واحدةُ من أسرع الطرق لتجنب الفشل في التحدث أمام الجمهور.

المقولة القديمة، "مع التدريب يأتي الإحتراف،" مهمةٌ جداً عندما يتعلق الأمر بتطوير مهاراتك في الخطابة. كلما تدربت على خطابك، كلما كان مألوفاً بالنسبة إليك وكلما كنت مرتاحاً أكثر وأنت تلقيه. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، التدرب على خطابك هو الطريقة الوحيدة لاكتشاف مقدار الوقت الكافي لإلقاء خطابك ولمعرفة الأماكن التي يجب أن تتوقف فيها عن الحديث مؤقتاً.

8. اعمل مع مدرب (اختياري)

إذا كنت تريد تطوير مهاراتك في التحدث أمام جمهور بشكلٍ جدي، فإنه لا يوجد أفضل من العمل مع مدرب أو استاذ خطابة. يمكن للمدرب أن يعلمك مبادئ الخطابة وأن يشير إلى أخطائك التي لم تكن مدركاً لها.

قد تعتقد أن المدرب هو خيارٌ مكلفٌ جداً (وهنالك مدربون خاصون سيعلمونك الخطابة)، إلا أنك قد تكون قادراً على الحصول على مساعدةٍ بسعرٍ مقبول من قبل واحدةٍ من المنظمات التالية:

ولربما هنالك مصادر إضافية أقرب إليك.

9. استرخ!

من الطبيعي أن تتوتر عند التحدث أمام الناس. الأرقام متنوعة، ولكن قدرت دراسة من المركز الوطني لمعلومات التقانة الحيوية أن ما يقارب 77% من الناس يخافون من التحدث أمام جمهور. الأمر شائعٌ جداً لدرجة وجود عبارةٍ تقنيةٍ فعلية للخوف من الخطابة -- غلوسوفوبيا (رهاب التكلم أو Glossophobia).

أنا لا أخبرك بهذا لكي أجعلك أكثر قلقاً، ولكن لكي أجعلك تعرف أن بعض القلق قبل التحدث أمام الناس هو أمرٌ طبيعيٌ تماماً. مع ذلك، يمكنك محاولة الاسترخاء إذا كان بمقدورك ذلك. ستكون مرتاحاً أكثر، وسيفهمك الجمهور أكثر.

إذا كان هنالك شيءٌ قادرٌ على تهدئتك في الظروف الصعبة، فقم بتجربته قبل التحدث أمام الناس مباشرةً. هنالك بعض التقنيات الشهيرة للاسترخاء مثل:

  • التأمل
  • التمرين الرياضي
  • التأكيدات الإيجابية (Affirmations)
  • العلاج بالعطور والروائح
  • الموسيقا

الدروس التالية ستساعدك على التغلب على خوفك من الخطابة:

10. لا تقلق من أغلاطك

السبب الرئيسي لخوفنا من التحدث أمام الناس هو قلقنا من ارتكابنا لخطأ ما ومن إحراج أنفسنا أمام الجميع. إذا كان هذا هو ما تخاف منه، فلا تكترث به. معظم الناس سيتفهمونك إذا ارتكبت غلطاً ما. وإذا كان الغلط صغير فإن الجمهور ربما لن يلاحظه حتى.

بدون الشك، التدرب سيخفف بشكل كبير من احتمالية ارتكابك لخطأٍ معين. كلما تدرب كلما تعرفت على خطابك بشكلٍ أفضل -- وستقل إحتمالية الأخطاء.

ما الذي يجب أن تفعله في حال ارتكبت خطأً ما؟ إذا كان الخطأ صغير فلا تتوقف أو تعتذر لأن هذا سيلفت انتباه الجمهور. تابع وكأن شيئاً لم يكن. إذا كان الخطأ كبير، فحاول استعمال حس الدعابة لكي تضيع الموضوع وتابع إلقاءك للخطاب. سيعجب المستمعون بطريقتك العفوية والسلسة في التعامل مع الأمور.

11. تحكم بسرعتك

بالنسبة للخطابة، التحدث بسرعة كبيرة يعتبر خطأً شائعاً لدى المبتدئين. هذا يحدث عادةً بسبب التوتر وبسبب عدم إدراكك لسرعة تحدثك. التحدث بسرعةٍ كبيرةٍ جداً سيصعب على المستمعين فهم ما تقوله.

المتحدثون المؤثرون يعرفون كيف يتحكمون بسرعتهم. سيجدهم يتكلمون بسرعةٍ طبيعية وسيتخلل حديثهم فترات من التوقف قصيرة وطبيعية.

من المفيد أيضاً أن تتذكر أن تتنفس أثناء التحدث. عددٌ كبيرٌ من الناس يحبسون أنفاسهم من دون أن يدركوا ذلك عندما يشعرون بالتوتر (أنا واحدٌ منهم). لكن حبسك لنفسك سيزيد من توترك وقلقك. لذا تذكر أن تتنفس بعمق خلال فترات التوقف عن التحدث. إذا كان خطابك طويلاً، فمن المفيد أن تشرب بعض الماء خلال الاستراحات.

12. أضف بعض المعينات البصرية

المعينات البصرية يمكن أن تكون أداةً توضيحيةً قوية لخطاباتك. البشر يستعملون نظرهم أكثر من بقية الحواس. لذا إذا استطعت أن توصل فكرتك عن طريق عرضها للمستمعين بدلاً من وصفها لهم، فإن احتمال تذكرهم لها سيكون أكبر.

لكن الزم الحذر. لكي تكون مؤثراً، يجب أن يكون المعين البصري الخاص بك عالي الجودة ومرئيٌ بسهولة لجميع الحاضرين. تجنب إضافة رسومياتٍ رديئة أو منخفضة الجودة إلى عرضك التقديمي. بشكلٍ مشابه، لا تجعل حجم المعين البصري صغيراً جداً بحيث لا يتمكن المستمعون من رؤيته.

13. البس ملابس مريحة، ولكن لا تنسى الأناقة

ما هو اللباس المناسب الذي يجدر بك أن ترتديه لكي تكون خطيباً مؤثراً؟

في الواقع لا يوجد إجابة واحدة ومحددة لهذا السؤال. ما ستلبسه يعتمد على نوعية جمهورك. لكن المبدأ الرئيسي الذي يجب اتباعه هو أن عليك أن تلبس بشكلٍ لائق لكي تعطي انطباعاً جيداً. لا تنسى أيضاً أن تعتني بتسريحة شعرك وبنظافتك العامة.

الكثير من الخبراء يرون أن عليك أن تلبس وفقاً لما يلبسه جمهورك. إذا كانت ملابس الجمهور رسمية، فمن غير اللائق أن ترتدي سروالاً قصيراً وتي شيرت. بشكلٍ مماثل، إذا كان جمهورك يرتدي سروايل قصير وتي شيرتات، فلا يجدرب بك أن تلبس ملابس رسمية.

14. تجنب عبارات الحشو

"همم"، "اه"، "مثل". تدخل عبارات الحشو هذه إلى محادثاتنا جميعاً دون أن ندرك ذلك حتى. لكن الإفراط في استعمال هذه العبارات خلال إلقائك لخطابٍ رسمي يمكن أن يجعلك تبدو كشخصٍ غير واثقٍ من نفسه. إذا كان بمقدورك، لا تعتد على استعمال هذه الكلمات لكي تصبح متحدثاً أفضل.

التمرين يمكن أن يساعدك على إزالة هذه الكلمات من حديثك، ولكنك قد تكون معتاداً عليهم لدرجةٍ لا تعود بعدها قادراً على ملاحظة استعمالك لهم. في مثل هذه الحالات سيكون مدرب الخطابة، أو واحدٌ من أصدقائك خياراً مفيداً جداً. بإمكانهم الاستماع لك وتنبيهك عند استعمالك لإحدى هذه العبارات.

15. استعمل الإيماءات (ولكن لا تفرط في ذلك

التحرك بشكلٍ طبيعي أثناء الخطاب هي صفةٌ من صفات الخطيب المؤثر. إيماءات اليد وحتى المشي قليلاً على خشبة المسرح يمكن أن تكون تقنيات جيدة طالما أنها طبيعية، ذات هدف، وغير متكررة بشكلٍ كبير.

يمكن للتحرك أن يجعلك تبدو أكثر ثقةً بنفسك وأن يساعد المستمعين على فهمك أكثر. على الأغلب صادفت مرةً هذا المتحدث المتيبس الذي يلقي خطابه وهو واقفٌ مثل العمود، ويداه مرخيتان على جانبيه. لمن قد تستمع أكثر؟ لهذا المتحدث المتيبس، أو للمتحدث الذي يتخلل حديثه من وقتٍ لآخر إيماءات يدين ذات معنى؟

16. اسمح بالأسئلة والأجوبة

تعتبر جلسات السؤال والجواب من أقل تقنيات الخطابة استعمالاً. معظم المتحدثين يقولون ما عندهم ومن ثم يجلسون. يا للخسارة!

جمال جلسات السؤال والجواب هو قدرتك على الاستماع لما يشغل جمهورك بشكلٍ مباشر مع القدرة على معالجته بشكلٍ علني، مما يدعم قضيتك بشكلٍ أكبر.

يمكن أن تحضر لجلسة سؤال وجواب عن طريق تحضير قائمتك الخاصة من الأسئلة والاعتراضات التي قد تكون لدى جمهورك (مع إجاباتٍ لها). ادرس القائمة بشكلٍ جيد لكي تألفها. إذا ذكر أحدهم نقطةً لم تفكر فيها فلا تفزع. لا يتوقع الجمهور منك أن تعرف كل شيء. من المقبول تماماً أن تأخذ معلومات الاتصال الخاصة بهم ومن ثم أن تخبرهم بأنك سترد عليهم حال حصولك على الإجابة.

مصادر إضافية حول الخطابة بشكلٍ مؤثر

إذا كنت جاهزاً لتعلم المزيد حول تطوير مهاراتك في الخطابة، فإن لدينا عدداً من الدروس التي بإمكانها مساعدتك:

قم بتحميل كتابنا الإلكتروني المجاني بصيغة PDF حول العروض التقديمية الرائعة

لدينا مكملٌ ممتاز لهذا الدرس، وسيساعدك على زيادة معلوماتك العملية حول العروض التقديمية أكثر. تعلم كيف تكتب، تصمم، وتقدم عروضاً تقديميةً رائعة.

حمل الدليل الكامل لتصميم عروضٍ تقديميةٍ رائعة مجاناً مع الاشتراك برسالة Tuts+ الإخبارية للأعمال. اجمع أفكارك في عرضٍ تقديمي قوي قادرٍ على تحريك جمهورك.

 Free eBook PDF Download Make a Great Presentation

خاتمة

الآن وبعد أن عرفت كيف تحسن من مهاراتك في الخطابة، أصبحت جاهزاً لكي تبدأ!

يمكنك استعمال القائمة المذكورة في الأعلى كقائمة تحقق لتقنيات الخطابة الجيدة التي يجب أن تعمل عليها، أو ركز فقط على المهارات التي تتقدم فيها بصعوبه. بكلتا الحالتين، مع القليل من المجهود من طرفك ستكون قادراً على أن تصبح متحدثاً أكثر تأثيراً.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Business
  2. Public Speaking
Business

15+ Effective Public Speaking Skills & Techniques to Master

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Fundamentals of Public Speaking (101) Introduction Guide.
How to Write a Great Speech for Public Speaking in 7 Steps

You may think effective speakers are born that way. You'd be wrong! Public speaking is a skill that can be learned.

Most effective public speakers have worked hard to master effective speaking skills and good public speaking techniques. They may spend hours practicing, working with a coach, or taking speech courses.

Principles of Public Speaking
With practice you too could become an effective public speaker. (Image Source: Envato Elements)

The good news is that, with the right public speaking techniques, you can improve your public speaking skills and become an effective speaker. In this tutorial, we've listed over 15 different public speaking techniques that can help you learn how to become an effective speaker.

What Is Public Speaking?

Public speaking occurs when you give a speech before a live audience. It differs from other types of speaking, such as videos, which may be recorded. It's also different from online presentations, which are created and then uploaded to the Internet.

Public speaking has many advantagesincluding improving your confidence level and giving you the opportunity to champion a cause you care about. Plus, having effective public speaking skills can help you find a job. Many jobs, such as an instructor or sales professional, require you to speak in public. Even when a job doesn't include public speaking in the job description, employers still value candidates with effective public speaking skills. In one survey of 600 employers participants indicated that they felt good communication skills were twice as important as managerial skills

At this point you may be asking "what makes a good public speaker?" The answer might seem easy: A good public speaker makes use of effective public speaking techniques. What are those effective public speaking techniques? That's what we're going to talk about in the rest of this tutorial.

Before we dive into our discussion of effective public speaking techniques, download our new eBook: The Complete Guide to Making Great PresentationsIt's available for FREE with the Tuts+ Business Newsletter. Learn how to write, design, and deliver the perfect presentation. 

Complete Guide to Presentations

Now, let's look at how you can deliver an awesome presentation by using effective speaking techniques.

15+ Effective Public Speaking Techniques

You can learn to become a more effective speaker by using the right techniques and practicing your public speaking skills. Here are some techniques to follow:

1. Care About Your Topic

Passion goes a long way when it comes to being an effective speaker. The audience can tell if you're apathetic. If you don't care, they won't care either. Even worse, you can come across as a fake.

On the other hand, if you sincerely care about your topic the audience will pick up on that too. They'll view you as being more authentic and believable. They'll listen more closely to discover why your subject is so important to you. And they're more likely to forgive any minor mistakes you might make.

2. Remember Your Speaking Goal

We've all probably listened to at least one speaker who seemed to go on and on forever about nothing in particular. One reason why this happens is because the speech isn't focused enough. The speaker is trying to cover too much and ends up boring their listeners.

Early in the process of developing your speech, identify the reason why you're speaking. Make it a point to stick to this goal during your presentation. Don't get sidetracked or off-topic.

3. Support Your Main Points

Every point you make in your speech needs to be supported with either an example, an illustration, or facts. When you're supporting a point, it's best to be as specific as you can be.

For example, in a speech about the importance of clean water this statement is too vague:

 "Many people don't have clean water."

Stating this statistic from the U.S. Center for Disease Control is a more effective way to support your point:

"Worldwide, 780 million people do not have access to an improved water source."

4. Tell a Story

People love a good story. So, if you want to be a more effective speaker, tell a story.

Storytelling is a great way to make your material more engaging and to relate to your audience. Make sure your story is relatable and relevant.

If you're speaking is about your business, here are some examples of stories you may be able to tell:

  • A customer story. The story of how your product or services met a need for a specific customer or solved a problem. Satisfied customers are often happy to share this.
  • Your company story. The story of how your company came to be. This can be especially effective if it's customer-oriented.
  • A product development story. The story of how you came to offer a new product (or service).

Of course, there are many other types of stories you could tell depending on the type of speaking you are doing.

5. Use Presentation Tools Wisely

Slide presentations often get a reputation for being dull, but that's because many speakers are unaware of what their presentation tools can do and don't make the best use of all the features. To better engage your audience, learn how to use the more advanced features of your tool.

As an example, here are just a few ways you can use PowerPoint and Google Slides (with links to related tutorials):

And these features are just the tip of the iceberg. To really elevate your public speaking techniques, you'll want to learn everything your presentation software tool can do. Our tutorial series on Google Slides and PowerPoint are a good place to start. 

6. Use a Professional Template

While we're talking about presentation tools, let's also talk about presentation design. Your presentation design affects how your audience perceives you. Even if you've memorized your speech, give it perfectly, and have the most amazing topic--your audience might still judge you negatively if your presentation design is sloppy and unprofessional.

Of course, you could use a standard template (the same ones that everyone uses) or design your own template (costly and time-consuming). But a better plan is to use a professionally designed presentation template that you can easily customize. The presentation templates from Envato Elements and GraphicRiver, for example, are proven, easy-to-use, and professional. And there are hundreds to choose from--so you're bound to find one that meets your needs.

7. Practice Your Speech

One of the most important public speaking techniques is often one of the most overlooked--practice. If you expect that you'll be an effective speaker without practicing your speech, you'd be wrong. One of the quickest ways to avoid public speaking failure is to try and give a speech you don't really know and haven't practiced.

The old saying, "practice makes perfect," really is true when it comes to developing effective speaking skills. The more you practice your speech, the more familiar it will be to you and the more comfortable you'll be giving it. Plus, practicing your speech is the only way to discover how long the speech will take and where you need to pause.

8. Work With a Coach (optional)

If you're really serious about developing effective speaking skills, there's no better way than working with a speech coach or a speech teacher. A coach or teacher can teach you the principles of public speaking and point out mistakes in your public speaking techniques that you wouldn't be aware of otherwise.

While you may be thinking that a speech coach is too pricey (and there are private coaches who'll teach you public speaking), you may be able to find reasonably priced public speaking help through one of the following organizations:     

There may even be additional resources close to you.

9. Relax!

It's normal to be nervous about public speaking. The numbers vary, but one study from The National Center for Biotechnology Information estimates that as many as 77% of us have a fear of public speaking. It's so common there's an actual technical term for fear of public speaking--glossophobia.

I'm not telling you this to make you more anxious, but rather to let you know that having some anxiety before giving a speech is perfectly normal. Still, you should try to relax if you can. You'll be more comfortable, and the audience will relate to you better too.

If there's something that normally calms you down in stressful situations, try using it right before you're due to speak. Popular calming techniques include:

  • Meditation
  • Exercise
  • Positive affirmations
  • Aromatherapy
  • Music

The following tutorials can also help you fight your fear of public speaking:

10. Don't Worry About Mistakes

One of the reasons so many of us fear public speaking is because we're worried that we'll make a mistake and embarrass ourselves in front of everyone. If this is your fear, let it go. Most audiences will understand if you make a mistake. And if it's a small mistake, the audience may not even notice it.

Of course, practice can dramatically reduce the likelihood of you making a mistake. The more you practice the better you'll know your speech--and mistakes will be less likely.

So, what should you do if you do happen to make a mistake? If it's a minor mistake, don't stop or apologize for your mistake as that only calls attention to it. Just continue on. If you make a big mistake, try using humor to diffuse the situation and then continue your speech. Your listeners will be impressed with how gracefully you handled things.

11. Pace Yourself

When it comes to public speaking, a common newbie error is to speak too quickly. This is usually caused by a combination of nerves and not realizing how fast you're actually speaking. But talking too fast makes it harder for your listeners to understand what you're saying.

Effective public speakers know to pace themselves. They'll speak at a natural pace and work short, natural pauses into their speech.

It also helps if you remember to breathe during your speech. A surprising number of people hold their breath without realizing it when they're nervous (I'm one of them).  But holding your breath will only increase your anxiety. So, remember to breathe deeply during the breaks in your speech. If your speech is a long one, taking a sip of water during a break can also help.

12. Add Visual Aids

Visual aids can serve as a powerful illustration of your speech. Humans use their sight more than any other sense. So, if you can make your point by showing it to your listeners rather than describing it, they are more likely to remember it.

Be careful though. To be effective, your visual aid must be of high-quality and easily visible to all members of your audience. Avoid incorporating sloppy graphics into a slide presentation. Likewise, don't hold up a visual aid that's physically too small for those listening to see.

13. Dress Comfortably, But Professionally

What's the right outfit to wear if you want to be an effective public speaker?

Well, there's no one answer. How you dress depends on who your listeners will be. But the general principle is that you want to dress professionally to make a good impression. Make sure to observe good grooming and hygiene rules too.

Many experts feel you should dress according to how your audience dresses. If the audience is dressed formally, you don't want to show up in shorts and a tee shirt. Likewise, if the audience is wearing shorts and a tee shirt, don't dress formally.

14. Avoid Awkward Fillers

"Um," "uh," "like." We all slip these filler words into our conversations without even realizing it. But overuse of these words during a professional speech can make you sound less than confident. If you can, break the habit of using these words to become a better public speaker.

Practice can help you eliminate these words from your speech patterns, but you may be so used to using them that it's hard to notice when you're doing it. This is where a speech coach, teacher, or friend would come in handy. They could listen for these words and help you break the habit of using them.

15. Use Gestures (But Don't Overdo)

Natural movement during a speech is a sign of an effective public speaker. Hand gestures and even taking a few steps across the stage can be good public speaking techniques as long as they're natural, purposeful, and not overdone.

Movement can make you appear more comfortable and help your audience relate to you. You've probably seen the stiff speaker who delivers their speech while standing stock still, hands hanging limply by their side. Which would you rather listen to? That stiff speaker, or a speaker who punctuates their speech from time to time with meaningful hand gestures?

16. Allow a Q & A

Question and answer sessions (Q & A) are one of the most underused public speaking techniques. Many speakers just say what they're going to say and then sit down. What a waste!

The beauty of Q & A is that you get to hear your listeners' concerns directly and address them publicly, further strengthening your case.

You can prepare for a Q & A session by creating your own list of questions and possible objections that audience members may have (with answers). Study the list carefully so that you're familiar with it. If someone does bring up a point that you hadn't thought of, don't panic. They don't expect you to know everything. It's perfectly acceptable to take their contact information and tell them that you'll get back to them once you've got the answer.

Additional Resources on Effective Public Speaking

If you're ready to learn more about developing effective speaking skills, we've got a number of tutorials on public speaking that can help:

Download Our Free PDF eBook on Making Great Presentations

We have the perfect complement to this tutorial, that will help you take your presentation know-how further. Learn how to write, design, and deliver great presentations. 

Download The Complete Guide to Making Great Presentations for FREE with a subscription to the Tuts+ Business Newsletter. Get your ideas formed into a powerful presentation that will move your audience. 

 Free eBook PDF Download Make a Great Presentation

Conclusion

Now that you know that you can improve your effective public speaking skills, you're ready to get to work!

You can use the list above as a checklist of good public speaking techniques to work on, or just tackle those specific speaking skills that you're struggling with. Either way, with a little effort on your part you'll be on your way to becoming a more effective speaker.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.